Back to Product

Patagonia Field Shorts

Write Your Review

3.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Field Shorts

3.5/5
Kinda Large
May 4, 2021

Enormous

I dont even know how these could be sold as medium? They were so enormous it wasnt even serious. Dont waste your time.

March 24, 2021

Like two skirts on your legs

I read the reviews before buying. In what universe or what sport would such wide leg openings be needed? Truly like they stitched two skirts together. I suppose if hiking in oppressively hot and humid conditions, these shorts, if worn commando, could be a good thing. I am afraid a guest of wind would sail me into the yonder.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review and sorry to hear these didn't work out. These were designed with Ultimate frisbee in mind, and the leg openings are large to account for full mobility, but we don't want you sailing away! If you're interested in checking out some other shorts, we'd recommend the [Men's Performance Gi IV Shorts - 8"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-performance-gi-iv-shorts-8-inch/57945.html?dwvar_57945_color=FGE&cgid=root). Feel free to send these back to us if you haven't already.

February 24, 2021

The Ultimate...

These are my go to sleepwear. I am not an ultimate frisbee player (what the shorts were made for), rather a ex-rugby player. Ive slept in my old rugby shorts for years, but these are much more comfortable. Sleeping is not an adventure sport (very often), but you asked me for my review!!

February 1, 2021

Not good at all

Material is akin to a plastic bag. The cut is extremely large and baggy. If it were the 90s MC Hammer would have enjoyed these.

January 25, 2021

Field Short

Flimsy fabric, cut very wide and has no pockets. I will be looking to return this item.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thanks for your feedback Abe! Your satisfaction is always guaranteed and you're more than welcome to [send them back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 29, 2020

Paper Thin

Disappointed in the quality of these shorts. Order in white for my brother and they feel and look like paper. Not the quality I expect from Patagonia.

December 7, 2020

Cheap Product

This is a flimsy and easily damaged product with poor design as it's very bulky and big no matter your size. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment with these and we thank you for the feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us as we always want to ensure you're satisfied with your purchases.

December 6, 2020

Amazing shorts- please do not discontinue

best shorts for ultimate frisbee according to my son he adores them-- only thing that could make them better would be pockets

November 12, 2020

Just okay

Just okay and the material is super thin. No pockets on the shorts make it uncomfortable to wear on a daily basis. I Will just wear it for the gym.

October 23, 2020

Very disappointing

Poor quality, not like other shorts by Patagonia. Runs large and is made from bad material. Definitely not what I paid for and I'm returning it. I guess there's a reason it's the cheapest shorts on this website, and it's still not worth it.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2020

Hi NC, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Patagonia Field Shorts. These were designed to be no-frills, ultralight and fast drying with a minimal design for high exertion sports. If you're looking for a short that has a bit more weight and more features like pockets, we suggest taking a look at the Men's Terrebonne Shorts, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-terrebonne-shorts-10-inch/24690.html?dwvar_24690_color=BLK. Also, if you feel that the Field Shorts did not perform to our standards, please feel free to begin a warranty return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 5, 2020

Very Disappointing

I ordered these shorts because they were the most affordable pair on the website. This was a big mistake, they are made of very cheap material and they are not the gym short texture I expected. I think I could sew a pair of shorts myself that would be nicer than these. I would not buy these again even if they were $10

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the disappointment and appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback. We hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us since they are not working for you.

August 16, 2017

Really comfy

I love these short but pockets are missed but still great shorts

June 4, 2017

Disappointed.

I returned these because they were really cheaply made and too big.

May 19, 2017

The Greatest

I wear nothing but these shorts to play ultimate. I have worn on the best brands to play in and these shorts reign supreme. They are super lightweight and dry faster than a hobo's mouth in the desert.

April 19, 2017

KISS shorts (keep it simple shorts)

I recently started taking boxing lessons. I do like to wear compression shorts as my first layer and then athletic shorts over top. These shorts layer w/o extra bulk,are long,loose and light. When we drop for crunches and other floor work I find the waistband is very comfortable with no bulky rear seam/label discomfort. I am definitely buying anoth... Read Moreer pair. I am only 5'6"/150 lbs. and these are a bit long on me but in a boxing gym that is a non-issue. I bought size Small but could easily fit into the XS.

September 3, 2016

Best for Ultimate

These shorts are by far the best ultimate shorts you can own. I got my first pair playing in college and 6 years later I still am wearing them. They are super light-weight and fast drying--perfect for playing through wet/muddy/wintery college season.

January 15, 2016

Best shorts in rain

I love these shorts- like all the other reviews say,they're so light you barely notice,and dry even in-between games at a rainy tournament. Something I want to highlight with these shorts in the rain is how well they handle with mud- when you're playing ultimate in the rain,mud will get on your shorts,and with shorts that are made out of ... Read Moremore "conventional" fabrics,like Five or VC,or even nike or adidas,mud can be a pain. On really muddy days,I've been able to pull large chunks of mud and grass out of more fabric-y shorts. But the material that these shorts are made of do not allow any mud to stick to them,and what little mud will be let washes off easily. Black and grey have no discoloration,and while I own a white pair,I haven't worn them enough to say for sure that they'll hold up as well. (Although so far,they do.) The one slightly negative aspect of my review was that they're a little big,I usually wear large shorts,but a medium is fine in these. And that's not enough to give these shorts any less than 5 stars.

June 1, 2015

Best ultimate short out there!

Love these shorts! They look good, wear well, and last forever. I have had a grey pair for 5 years now, and am considering ordering them for my team this season. Anybody know if the color of the grey has changed at all in the past few years? Ideal would be the pantone number from Patagonia...

May 25, 2015

Never Going Back

After you try out the field shorts, you will never want to go back to another company's ultimate shorts. Light. Dry extremely fast. Odor resistant. I feel uncomfortable wearing any other short while playing.

April 23, 2015

Good UL backpacking shorts

I heard about these shorts from my brother, who plays Ultimate - I use them for ultralight backpacking, for which they are amazing. I'm not sure why more UL backpackers aren't already wearing these shorts - tough, dry quickly, ventilate well, and under 3 oz?!? Yes, please. I pair these with Houdini pants and a rain skirt for backpacking -... Read More wake up in the morning, put on shorts and wind pants while I cook, eat, and pack up. Once I get hiking and warm up, take off the wind pants and stow them. If it's a rainy day, put on either rain skirt over shorts, or wind pants rain skirt over shorts. If it's really cold, keep my long john PJs on and just wear the wind pants over them. This combo is lighter weight (around 13 oz. total for all 4 pieces for lower body) , more versatile, breathes better, and keeps me drier than anything else I've tried. I've also been running in them a lot lately - the closest thing to running naked. Pockets? A liner? Come on, they'd just add weight. Already got black and grey (white is see through!) If they came in more colors, I'd buy one of each.

November 16, 2014

Like Running Naked

I don't play ultimate (I'm assuming "ultimate" refers to ultimate frisbee?) But I saw these and thought they'd be a good pair of shorts to wear around the house or to run in. They're great for wearing around the house or going on errands, pretty good for running in but I can imagine the way the bottoms rub against the ... Read Moretops of your thighs can get irritating eventually. The cut is a little funky but I dig it, they stay dry or dry out quickly, and the streamlined no pocket design is just what you need or want sometimes sometimes. One thing that should be mentioned, it kind of feels as though these shorts leave very little to the imagination.

November 9, 2013

The Best

Pata's Field Shorts are the best Ultimate Shorts on the market period. Better than VC / Five / Breakmark ect.. They also make great travel shorts as they are quick-drying, resist odor, and scrunch up to the size of a baseball. Highly recommended

April 20, 2013

My favorite athletic shorts

I first got a pair of these shorts at an ultimate tournament while in college, and they instantly became the only shorts I wore to tournaments. These shorts are durable, ultralight, and dry super fast'even after a layout on a sopping wet field or in the middle of a snowstorm. When my team ordered our jerseys the next season, I made sure we got... Read More these for our team shorts as well (and now I'm up to 4 pairs). That first pair is 6 years old and still going strong. No they don't stretch, but they move with your legs and won't get caught on your knees. You'll feel like you're not wearing shorts, but you'll look like you belong at Sarasota. Great for ultimate, or any other activity where you want lightweight, quick-drying shorts. Also great for screen printing team logos and numbers.

November 9, 2011

Simple and light

Whether I'm playing in 100 degree heat in Boulder or 35/raining in Madison, the field shorts continue to move with me throughout the day. Their lightweight material and simple, yet durable, construction makes them great for years of ultimate. I still regularly wear a pair of these shorts from the 2007 season.

November 6, 2011

For Real though...

These are the best shorts ever. I have two pairs. They are the only things I play in. Light as a feather, tough as nails. You only need one pair for the rest of your life (but buy a second because that's what you do with something you loooove.)

September 14, 2011

Excellent Field Shorts

The best shorts in the game. Super light weight - the best in the business.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches