burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Downdrift Parka Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Downdrift Waterproof Parka

4.8/5
True To Size
January 30, 2023

Super Warm, Great Parka!

This parka is very warm. I only wear a t-shirt underneath and it's incredibly warm. I wear it to walk my dog early in the morning and at night. I wish it had hood drawstrings to tighten the front of the hood but it's so warm I haven't had the need to do so.

January 30, 2023

Considered many but cant beat Patagonia

I been torn between Fjallraven and North Face and along with Patagonia parka is his winter. Ultimately went with Patagonia downdraft parka and I am happy with my decision. I did buy the jacket during 40% off timeframe so pricing and functionality standpoint, it is a perfect parka for me. I also normally have cold hands so this parka pocket warmer ... Read Moreis perfect for me along with the location of the pocket. Loving the purchase!

January 29, 2023

Very nice

I received my coat yesterday and wanted to leave my impressions of my first outing. The coat was shipped quickly. It looks nicer than the pictures. I ordered a black one but unfortunately I received the dark blue one. It looks good so I'll keep it. Ignore the model wearing the coat. I am 5'10, 175 pounds and average build. I used the fit ... Read Moreguide and it was accurate. I went with a large based on the guide and I'm glad I did. I usually wear my clothes loose fitting and the coat is a little more form fitting than I'm used to but it is not binding. The sherpa lining is great and actually extends down below your shoulders a few inches. I would like to find a similar coat that has the sherpa throughout because I like the cozy warm feeling it gives. The coat hits me mid thigh, right where I like it. The sleeves stop an inch below the bend in my wrist. The sleeves are tighter than I like but they are not binding. The cuff is small. It is almost too small to get my dress gloves inside and too big for my gloves to go over. They have a snap that allows you to make them quite snug and they seal up well that way. With my winter gloves over the top I got not drafts up my sleeves. I usually get an XL to get more room but then the neck is always made for the neck of an NFL lineman and it is way too drafty. The neck on the Large was perfect. The coat zips up snug around the neck and is tight against my chin. I love the hood but drawstrings would have made it perfect. The buttons are all crisp and hold well. The zipper works smoothly but the paddle is way too small to operate with winter gloves on. The pockets are nicely sized and located. I especially like the sherpa lined hand gloves. I went to the dog fields today to try it out. It is currently -5 F, 10mph winds out of the NE, sunny and windchill is -18F. I had a hooded sweatshirt on under it cause I always wear one. With a stocking cap and gloves I headed for the field. Initially I felt a little cool, comparable to being in a short sleeve shirt in the house set at 70. That's doable. I had the coat zipped up tight, wind to my back and sun in my face. My arms feel a little cooler than my core but it was tolerable. 10 minutes into the walk I had to unzip the coat about 10 inches because I began to overheat. On the return trip and facing the wind I left the zipper down for most of the walk. Eventually I zipped it back to the top and I remained very comfortable. The coat blocks the wind well, even along the zipper and flap. I felt no drafts going down my neck or up my backside from the bottom. My first outing went well. Admittedly, I was very active. I don't know yet how it will work for just milling around and standing around outside but I am optimistic. Overall I am very pleased. It is much more comfortable, fits better and is warmer than the $500 Northface coat I tried earlier this winter and I got it on sale for half the price of the NF coat. I am glad I bought it. I would recommend it to a friend and I think you will like it also.

January 24, 2023

Light weight but very warm

Love the light weight and lined pockets. Keeps me very warm. Hood and zipper helps regulate heat in less sever cold (missed the December cold front). The waterproofing proved effective even for longer walks.

January 19, 2023

Very Cozy

Fit is perfect and the material feel is awesome. Gets very warm and stays warm outside. Only complaint is that I would love if it had sleeve inserts instead of the button clip to tighten the sleeves at the wrist.

January 14, 2023

Worth the money

Pategonia delivering per usual. Im 6ft tall, athletic build/bigger shoulders. I got the jacket in blue and its not only super warm but also sleek! Expensive but you pay for what you get

January 14, 2023

Comfortable and warm

I would definitely recommend this parka, keeps you warm with no leakage for the wind

January 10, 2023

The Hunt for a Classic Parka is Over!

This parka is incredible! This winter, I've been in the hunt for the perfect winter parka and I've absolutely found it in the Downdrift. I tried on a lot of parkas from various technical brands but none seemed to fit the bill. Many were way too bulky and the ones that had a "slim fit" look felt too delicate and not as "all ... Read Morepurpose" as I was looking for. This parka is perfect in every way as it's about as classic as a classic parka gets - high pile hood and hand warmers, thigh length, multiple practical pockets, goose down interior and a tougher fabric exterior. I could not be happier with my purchase and the smolder blue is a very attractive color. I'm 5'11" around 188 lbs. and the medium fits great. It's truly a pleasure to put this on!

January 10, 2023

Excellent style and warmth

Excellent style and warmth. Highly recommend.

January 5, 2023

Receiver of gift, "It is

Receiver of gift, "It is perfect." "It is beautiful."

December 30, 2022

Warm and stylish

I really liked the way it fit when I first put it on. It is not too heavy or too bulky, has a nice texture at touch and had plenty pockets (the 2 chest pockets are insulated). Great hoodie coverage. I think overall it is very stylish.

December 29, 2022

Perfect Parka

I love this coat. The medium is a perfect fit for me (6ft, 175 lbs). Slim and stylish, yet not too tight. The thigh length is fantastic and works well when sitting down, do to the position of the zipper. The fleeced lined hood and hand pockets are super warm. The warmth of this parka is ideal for just wearing with a long sleeve shirt in 10-32 degre... Read Morees F.

December 25, 2022

LOVE this jacket! However, I

LOVE this jacket! However, I ordered it in navy to begin with and, after wearing it less than a week, the bottom part of the zipper pulled away from the seam. I have sent it back to be repaired. But I liked the jacket so much that I ordered another one in this green color (we live in VERY cold South Dakota so a backup is always good). But...the sam... Read Moree thing happened with this one - and again, less than a week after I received it. I am going to have this one repaired here because I don't want to wait another 4-6 weeks without a jacket. Again - I love the jacket but I do think this might be a manufacturing problem.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2023

We're very sorry to hear about the zipper that's occurred twice for this jacket. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so we will reach out to you by email to discuss all the options. Our Customer Service team is always here to help with any questions about product, shipping, warranty, repairs, exchanges or returns. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review!

December 15, 2022

Patagonia Has Another Winner!

Patagonia does it again with a warm comfortable coat that has received many compliments!

December 4, 2022

The parka is very warm

The parka is very warm and comfortable. I really love it.

November 15, 2022

My favorite winter coat

Fit is great, not overly baggy, more on the slim side without being constrictive. Love the thigh length and the warmth, great classic style

November 7, 2022

Fits exactly how I hoped.

Fits exactly how I hoped. Love that its warm but not too heavy, and the material is very moveable. Im not a fan of stiff jackets. Perfect purchase.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches