burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Pack In Jacket

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Pack In Jacket

4.8/5
True To Size
November 23, 2022

Perfect Travel Companion

The Pack In Jacket hits the mark for shoulder season casual wear to the pub or running to the plane. You could wear it as a layer, but why hide its understated style. Added a quick spray of water repellant to ward off any stains or sun showers with no changes to the color.

October 5, 2022

Fantastic, simple jacket

This is a great, no frills jacket. Got caught out in a rainstorm the other day and learned this is essentially waterproof. Its warm, but not a big puffy. Its my new go to for everyday wear and ventures out.

September 27, 2022

Fits like a tent

Very poor fit right out of the package. Baggy between the shoulders and the waist. Wife saw me in it and said youre not keeping that are you? Doesn't anyone make a decent synthetic shell jacket thats fleece lined? Everyone has no fleece in the sleeves so its easy on off with long sleeves. I wear short sleeves under my jackets and my arms are c... Read Moreold without the fleece in the arms.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2022

Hi Bruce, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry the fit of this jacket wasn't right for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so if you haven't returned it already we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. For a shell with a fleece lining you might check out the Reversible Woolyester Pile Fleece Jacket or the new Reversible Shelled Microdini Jacket. We should note, these jackets are also cut for a "regular" fit, so you might want to get guidance from our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via Live Chat on our website about specific measurements to see whether they will fit you the way you want them to. Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance!

September 10, 2022

fall/spring jacket

I think the warmth level will be good. There is enough room to wear a flannel shirt under and/or a vest over on cooler days. And cheers! it does not have a hood like almost every other peer jacket. My suggestion is to add simple instructions on the best way for self-packing into the left pocket.

August 5, 2022

straight gas

Im 5,5 and usually wear an XS in womens. I got this jacket and its amazing. Fits a bit big since its mens but its great. DWR so very water resistant. Fairly warm and amazing for layering. It fits over a womens s nano. A mens XS rain jacket (forget which one) fits great over it. Has sort of a quilt feel/look and love the cut and two tone. Not to men... Read Moretion it packs down! Just got it and already love it.

July 20, 2022

Go to jacket.

Love this jacket, great styling and very comfortable. Use it for shoulder seasons temps and a chilly summer day/night. Good mid layer under a shell too ( although you will miss a good) Did I mention comfortable?

July 4, 2022

Get one

Cool styling, good for into the 40s with a long-sleeve underneath and light enough for low 60s with short (I run cold). 5ft8, 170 pounds and medium is great.

June 24, 2022

Get one

I am only a week in, but love it so far. Perfect for cool weather and repels light rain. I run cold, so this is good for me with a short sleeve underneath down to 50 degrees. Colder than that will be ok with a long sleever. Plenty of room for a sweater, too. Nice fabric and finish, so I like this as a change from wearing a nano the last few years. ... Read MoreUsed the great trade-in program to get some credits toward this. Others mention the chest being tight and lack of elastic on waist, I have zero problem with either aspect. 5 ft 8, 165 and a medium is perfect.

May 23, 2022

Comfy Spring/Summer South Alaska Jacket

As we get some warmth after a wet and cold winter, this has become my go to jacket. Comfortable and stretchy, perfect for when a windy/chilly breeze suddenly kicks up. Clean looking, able, and again very comfortable, with plenty of pockets for bear spray, phone,etc.

May 6, 2022

So Comfortable

This jacket is seriously comfortable. The inner material is soft but smooth, and it is absolutely perfect layering over a t-shirt. Its also surprisingly warm for its weight, and hiking in this jacket over just a t-shirt is comfortable down to temperatures in the 40s. The wind and weather resistance is very good as well. My only complaint is I wish ... Read Moreit had a way to seal off the bottom, but this is relatively minor for such a great jacket.

April 30, 2022

Excellent looking jacket

This is one of my now favorite jacket for city wear / hikes etc. Initially brought a medium but it was a felt slightly large so gave it to my dad where it fitted nicely on him. I then got a small which fitted much better. Very comfortable, light and good for Spring / Fall weather. Probably, a bit too light for colder winter.

March 20, 2022

Really Comfy and warm yet light enough

I like this jacket so much as its light but warm enough. You can wear on its on most day and then use as inner wear when its cold! Definitely recommend it.

March 20, 2022

Very Goof, But Could've been better

I wish there Was a draw-sting at the hem to tight the lower part of the jacket. Otherwise, this is a very good product.

March 16, 2022

Perfect fit

Warm soft to touch. Exactly as pictured

March 14, 2022

Perfect light jacket

This light weight jacket is spot on. I almost dont want to wear it often, so it doesnt wear out to quickly. Please do not discontinue this. You knocked it out of the park with this one.

March 14, 2022

Multi use, multi smiles.

Initially used my jacket as a ski layer in the CO high country. Worked great. Then I found myself rolling into the local pub wearing it. Worked.great there too. Now, its a go to anytime I need some warmth. Long time customer, first time reviewer. Cheers.

February 23, 2022

Great Jacket

I got this jacket to be used as a mid layer under my hard shell ski jacket. Great for this purpose because it does not have a windproof outer layer, so much more breathability. And great for an outer layer when a light fleece is not enough. Love Patagonia!!

February 13, 2022

Versatile Jacket

Do everything go anywhere jacket. If its windy and cold I use it as a mid layer. Sheds light rain, very comfortable.

February 10, 2022

Runs just a little smaller than other Patagonia gear

I've been buying Patagonia for my entire adult life. Jackets are always a large, but this runs just wee bit smaller, especially around the armpits. Great everyday jacket.

January 26, 2022

Super Comfy

I own several Patagonia jackets. I was skeptical of buying this, but it was well worth it. Super light and warm. Great design and color

January 21, 2022

Minimal warmth.

Reading from previous reviews, I thought this item will be warmer / heavier. Very light / or minimal material . Hard to use when it gets chilly. At most this is a summer jacket.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Hello Al! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the warmth of the jacket. Our Pack In Jacket isn't the warmest jacket that we offer, so if you live in an extremely cold climate this isn't the best option. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket. Also, if you're interested in taking a look at a warmer option we'd suggest our [Men's Down Sweater Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-down-sweater-jacket/84674.html?dwvar_84674_color=DBGR&cgid=root).

January 6, 2022

Nice casual jacket

Love this new jacket. Very warm and low bulk. It has been a comfortable fit for working in and around town. I have not used it camping or backpacking yet but am looking forward to it.

December 15, 2021

Very Soft

The fit on this jacket is excellent. The materials used are also very comfortable and light yet keep you warm.

December 3, 2021

Its nice for whether in Reno area dry and cold.

It works when not to cold temperatures 50 - 60 degrees in dry weather. In the chest area it feels a little small. Thanks!

October 20, 2021

Warm, comfortable and stylish

Great as a layer or mid warmth jacket. Good styling; goes well for a night out or a day hiking.

October 18, 2021

Comforting

This jacket is unlike others. Temperatures for this jacket alone range from 70 degrees down to 35 degrees. Like the nano air, its super breathable, which also means wind penetrates quickly. This jacket is for around the town ventures, and in and out of the car for errands. For what the jacket is I give it a 10/10!

April 10, 2021

Perfect Jacket

Literally the perfect jacket!

March 1, 2021

Great Mid-Layer or Outerwear in Cool Temps

Terrific multi-purpose jacket that insulates and breathes like a Nano-Air vest (but with insulation for my arms). Keeps me plenty warm skiing under a shell (with a Capilene Cool baselayer), and I am comfortable wearing it over a tee-shirt when going for a walk outdoors (or other modest activity) in anything above 30 degrees.

February 25, 2021

Great jacket!

We found these jackets hugely versatile: able to layer above and below. Thin and flexible but surprisingly warm and wind resistant. And small enough to pack up. These jackets will see a lot of use in these parts. Well done.

February 25, 2021

Love this material!

This jacket is much warmer than I thought it would be. A great light weight jacket that is easy to pack for any hiking or fishing trip. It will keep you warm in cold conditions. The material is super soft and unlike any I have had for a jacket. I use this jacket to fly fish for Steelhead on cold fall mornings. Great for layering at any time of the ... Read Moreyear!

February 24, 2021

Excellent 40-50 degree jacket

For several years, I have been trying to replace my Northface Houdini jacket with an external chest pocket. I bought one of these back in November. I liked it so much I bought a second one. It doesn't have the external pocket but it is the perfect weight for a 40-50 degree day hike.

February 11, 2021

Perfect

Own 2 of these. Use for casual wear around home on cold mornings. Main use is as a shirt under a nano puff jacket or hoodie for cold weather fishing. Im always warm and comfortable.

February 1, 2021

Nice jacket but could use 1 big improvement

Nice jacket, fits well, very good warmth to weight ratio. The feature thats missing is the hem drawcord. Cold air gets up the back, I doubt this is supposed to be a feature for temperature regulation. Ive noticed the lack of the hem drawcord on a lot of the jackets recently, which I believe is a step back design wise.

January 4, 2021

Great jacket

Gave this to my son and he loves it. Not too bulky but warm.

January 1, 2021

Perfect Year Round; But Shell Pills Very Badly

This jacket is my go to. I wear it all year. I have a slim build and am 6' and wear the large and it is super comfortable and there is some room under it if I need to wear an extra layer or two. The pockets are a nice size and it can be stuffed in a backpack (or disc golf bag) easily. My only real complaint is the shell pills REALLY badly. It... Read More started pilling pretty quickly after I got it and the entire jacket eventually just looks really bad because of it. I bought a pumice stone to shave off the pills and that works pretty well but after 2 years of ownership there is a wear hole near the right pocket. I'm not sure if that is from shaving the pills or just regular wear/tear. Either way the pilling needs to be addressed. Mine is bright orange and I love the color.. A little disappointed that color isn't still available. I'd give this jacket a five star review if it didn't pill so bad/were a bit more durable.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Hi there, thanks for reaching out and we are so sorry to hear about the pilling. Sadly, pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. We recommend using a product like a Sweater Stone to remove pilling, but there are many other products and techniques you can use. If this doesn't help, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket back to us.

December 25, 2020

Light, comfortable,

This technical piece is very light and warm, cuts the wind pretty well, and is very comfortable. I have the hoody in L and its a tad big. 6/190 and the M fits great but on the tighter side. Recommend!

December 25, 2020

Light weight

Great jacket for cool days. I use it when ever it gets cold and Im able to layer up with it without looking too bulky. Highly recommend

December 1, 2020

Lightweight and amazingly warm

Been wearing this thing with a long sleeve Capilene air underneath, and keeps me warm outside in mid-to-high 40s. Haven't tried it in lower temps yet. Highly versatile, I wear it inside while working, and it easy transitions outside when I go to walk and bike an errand. Probably going to buy another one, or maybe one in each color, or maybe I&... Read More#x27;ll be happy with this one. Thanks for keeping me warm, looking cool, and thanks for giving a sh*t about what you put out in the world Patagonia.

November 30, 2020

Warm and light

Got this to replace my Nano Air Light Hybrid, which was worn down after repeated use and store was unable to repair. Great jacket, one of the best Ive had. Runs big so sized down one size. Light and warm down to mid-30s. Better looking than the Nano Air.

November 24, 2020

Very versatile.

This pack in jacket has been a welcome addition to my wardrobe. It has excellent insulative properties, comfort, and fairly reasonable protection against winds and the cold northeast low temperatures. I don't like buying jackets like this if it doesn't have a hood, but I broke that rule and I'm happy I did. It is easy to get in and o... Read Moreut of, and layers well under a rain layer. I'm trying to keep this item for a while and haven't used it while mountain biking, skiing, or other heavy use outings yet. But I suspect that won't last long and It will be packed up and worn for years to come. An inner chest pocket and a hood would take this jacket to the next level.

November 23, 2020

Love it

I truly love the feel of this jacket, warm and comfortable, Patagonia never disappoints.

November 19, 2020

Kept me warm in 50 degree weather

First of all, this blue color was majestic and provided the most amazing picture contrast against the iconic arches at Arches National Park. It seemed thin out of the packaging but it surprisingly kept me warm in 50 degree weather. I was impressed! Finally, the fit was perfect! I highly recommend this jacket.

November 19, 2020

Keeps me warm as required

The fit is good. Comfortable to wear and meets the purpose for which I bought the jacket

November 17, 2020

Light, warm and perfect for S. California "winter" .

This jacket is perfect for high 30's to 50's winter mornings and evenings in Southern California. It is lightweight and you can easily move around in it . Perfect for these temperatures

November 9, 2020

Very comfortable, but a bit large.

This jacket is very comfortable and I really like the materials, but the fit is a bit too big for me. I'm tall and skinny and it's a bit wide, near the bottom, around the waste.

November 5, 2020

My New Fave

This jacket is the best and my new go-to. Warmer than the nano, a better fit, and way more comfortable and softer. This will become a best-seller, no doubt.

November 4, 2020

Versatile and warm.

Very versatile lightweight jacket. Excellent warmth for its weight.

November 4, 2020

Soft, stretchy, and super comfortable

This is a very nice jacket. It is soft, stretchy, and very comfortable to wear and packs down so well due to not being a puff jacket. I bought this and a nano puff and kept this one. I needed/wanted a light weight jacket good to the low 50s with only a tshirt underneath and this one does the trick. Thin enough to layer under and heavier jacket you ... Read Moremay use. I bought a second choice color because of the awesome sale price but I love the jacket so much Ive been debating turning in the sale price and paying full price for my color choice. This says a lot for a bargain shopper! You will bot be disappointed with this jacket no matter what price you pay.

September 28, 2020

Love it

Love it - use it for fall steelhead fishing. Warm and comfortable.

September 21, 2020

Warm and comfy

Comfy, warm, light.

September 10, 2020

Love the feel of this jacket!

Super warm, soft and luscious! Fits almost perfect but *slightly long in sleeves.

September 3, 2020

Fits nice

I bought this for my husband after he indicated interest in it. It fits him really nicelynot tight and not too loose. He is longer in the torso. Hopefully it will hold up as the fabric is very soft and feels thin. Luckily, Patagonia has a great repair program if it does get a tear!

May 21, 2020

Excellent All Around

Super comfortable and versatile jacket. My new favorite.

January 31, 2020

Perfect fit and warmth.

Love it. The fit is perfect. I ordered a size large and am 6"4" tall and weigh 200 pounds. Plan on ordering another one for myself and one for my wife. Great jacket for around town.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches