burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Point Peak Trail Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Point Peak Trail Pants - Regular

4.0/5
Kinda Small
December 30, 2022

Sizing issues

I was hoping these would replace the 8-year old Simple Guide pants I have that have been great for winter hiking and XC skiing. The fabric weight is key - those were 6.2oz. These 6.5. The issue is the 31" inseam - at least 32" would be great (and more 'normal'). Also my Simple Guide pants are 32" waist, I got 33" in th... Read Moreese and they are much too tight (I still fit the Simple Guide). Simple Guide has a bit of stretch, extended there's a full 2" more in total circumference than this 33" waist. The suggestion of Altvia Alpine pants does not offer the same warmth (thickness) of fabric - it's nearly 2oz lighter weight... so I guess I'll be returning these and continuing to wait for a 6oz+ performance fabric in a 32" inseam...

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2023

We're sorry to hear these pants have been a disappointment in comparison to your Spring 2014 softshell Simple Guide Pants, and we appreciate your attention to detail in seeking a suitable replacement. We hope to have a mid-weight, slim fit pant for you in the near future! Meanwhile, we're always happy to talk product and help with returns, exchanges or repairs so please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks Jonathan!

December 25, 2022

Great do it all pant (finally a trim fit)

I am thrilled to have the new updated fit for pants from Patagonia. I can wear these pants on hikes and light rock scrambles, then to the cafe. Super comfy and with the thicker material, this makes a great PNW winter pant.

November 11, 2022

Great Pants!

I love the pants! They fit very well and they are very warm. The zippered pockets are a big plus.

October 16, 2022

Too short

I tried these pants on and liked everything about them except that they are too short. Inseam 31 is not long enough. Could you please make a version that is 32 or 33 inseam

Response from Patagonia
October 18, 2022

We're sorry the length on these pants was disappointing. We recommend you take a look at our similar [Men's Altvia Alpine Pant](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-altvia-alpine-pants-regular/82960.html) with a 33" inseam. Please let us know if you'd like any assistance with product measurements, returns or exchanges. We'll be happy to help!

August 17, 2022

Hiking pants

I use these pants a lot. Love the look. I wear them at work, casually and actively as well. My go to hiking pants. I have 3 of them. Had toreturn them few times due the stitching coming out around the back pocket area and front zipper area. Kind of disappointed about cause I love them and hate returning stuff if I dont have too. Spend quite a bit o... Read Moref money on these so expect them to have a bit stronger stitching. Would love to get them fix that problem. You guys know to get in touch with me, would Love to help! The inner thigh area starts to get a wear pretty quickly.

June 25, 2022

Great pant

Wore these pants almost every day during our trip to Iceland; amazing pant. The DWR took on the waterfalls and rain with ease. My only complaint is that the button fell off after only 3 days of wear. Once I sewed the button back on, no complaints here. Great pant.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

Hi Eric! Thank you for taking the time to send us a message. We're really sorry to hear that the button fell off your pants after a few days of wearing them. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear. We'll share this with our design crew so they can take a further look into it. If you have any further trouble with the pants don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

June 9, 2022

Get a bigger size

I normally wear a 34, but had to go up to 36 in these pants. Not sure what the deal is, as other Patagonia pants fit just fine at 34. A little thick for hot summer days, but super durable and worth the price.

May 26, 2022

A tad tight fitting

Real nice flexible fabric, waist tabs available for adjustments but waist is rather tight. I ended up exchanging for wider size. I noticed the front pockets are not deep enough to secure coins without spilling out if you sit down. The zipper fly is too short if nature calls. Very neat appearance, zipper closures in back and front pockets, real cool... Read More.

May 25, 2022

Amazing look

I got them right for a Utah trip to the big parks. They are amazing it was very hot and very cool there in the same day but I was perfectly comfortable. I wish there were a few more colors I think the grey is my next pair.

March 31, 2022

Solid, Stretchy, maybe a bit long (31 inseam version)

Got these pants for light outdoor activities. Dog Walking/Hiking/XC ski. Im 510 160. I was hoping to be able to use these for more casual wear but the 31 inseam version is a bit long and bunches up. They work great for exercise though. I use the hook to hold them to my shoes which is great. Would have wanted to try the 29in so I could wear them mor... Read Moree casually (and use the hook + ample stretch to keep the pants in place when exercising) But the grey color I wanted wasnt available. Great pants for the purpose otherwise. But misses a bit on the casual wear side.

February 27, 2022

Excellent pants

I love these pants.

February 26, 2022

Close fit

I love Patagonia products but this one isnt for me. The length at 31 is just a tad short for me and they were too tight fitting for me. They seemed like they would be okay when hiking but prefer the Crestview pant. These were a bit lightweight as well where the the Crestview pant were heavier and roomier. When hiking the Appalachian Trail in early ... Read Morespring the Crestview meets the demands of the AT!

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

Hi Brian, thank you for sharing this review for the Point Peak Trail Pants. We're so sorry that fit wasn't good for you! If you haven't returned them already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them, and find something that will work better for you.

February 11, 2022

Only Technical Trail Pant That Fits Me!

When I ordered these, I was initially skeptical that they would fit me properly (especially when the size guide says the fit closer to a 29). However, they fit perfectly because they run small and slim. Im 5'3 and 110lbs so most 28s are huge on me. Also, most trail pants are so baggy on me that they are uncomfortably big over my small legs. Th... Read Moreese are slim enough to be comfy and big enough to add layers under. The velcro waist adjustment doesn't bunch up the top of the pants either when I have to draw them in more. They are light, comfortable, breathable, and durable. 10/10 the only pants I'll be wearing for backpacking and hiking form now own.

February 8, 2022

Great pant with smart features!

I'm really excited about these pants and think I may have finally found my ideal hiking pant. While I've yet to wear them for their true intended use (multi-day backpacking, hiking, etc), I am excited by their potential. This pant is slim fitting, which for me is their top feature. I'm a slim guy and hate the industry standard &quo... Read Moret;balloon" leg hiking pants and am thrilled to find a slim and contemporary fit. I tried on several other pants and liked this fit the best (they do fit differently from Quandary, Altvia, etc...so try them all on). They seem true to size, as I typically wear 31" or 32" waist. The 32" fits very well without any changes to the waist adjustment straps. This is great, because this gives me room to tighten the waste on long trips where the pants might stretch out from continued wear (or dropped trail lbs). I don't love wearing belts when carrying packs, so having an alternative waist adjustment is intriguing. Other says it can slip, but I'm hopeful I won't actually have to use it much, since the pants are nice and snug without any adjustments so far. The pockets! Having both standard hip pockets and zipper pockets (right below them) is such a cool feature. I like zipper pockets for keeping things from getting lost, but don't love them as regular pockets for hands. Cool to see Patagonia giving you both options. The internal shape of the regular, non-zipped, pockets is a bit restricting, but I don't think that will be a problem. Reinforced fabric for high contact areas is smart. I brought the blue color and the higher contact areas are a different shade, giving them a nice contrast look. I'm not sure how the boot hook will perform, especially when worn with trail runners, but don't see that as an issue either. Overall this is a well thought out pant with lots of built in features and a contemporary slim fit. Excited by their potential!

January 31, 2022

Point Peak Trails Pant initial thoughts

Fit: I'm 5'10 and 170 +/- lbs, depending on my beer consumption and miles ridden on any given week... With that being said, a 32" waist has been my max waist in almost every clothing brand I support. These are pretty snug, but not a deal breaker. Color: The Black color is awesome. It's not a stark black with some brown in it; g... Read Moreiving them some character. Primary uses: Cold gravel night rides in Northern Colorado and bike packing trips. Overall, I am quite satisfied with the Peak Trail Pants and am looking forward to see how they hold up down the road.

November 23, 2021

generally good, waist adjustment fails

Purchased for winter mountain biking in southern Oregon (mild to cold temps, dry to damp conditions, big climbs and descents). Bought over-sized expecting typical Patagonia small-running sizes, but pants are loose in the waist on me, so sizing is probably about right. Pros: material comfortable, motion-compliant, and seems durable after ~5 rides.... Read More Having both a ip and open pockets is nice for town-based rides, rare combo. Shoe lace hook and adjustable cuffs are great for riding, especially for damp conditions. Cons: Velcro waist adjustment just does not work well - should be hook and loop or a friction draw string. Without a belt this can be very distracting on the trail during any and every stop. The material also seems to stretch and loosen considerably over the course of a ride. Overall, I think that if the waist adjustment system were hook and loop instead of velcro these would be great riding pants. The waist adjustment velcro is just not adequate, and distracts from sport. I would guess this is true for their intended use as hiking pants as well. 3.5 stars.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on fit, sizing, features and function. You may wish to reach out to our Patagonia-owned store in your area for either a repair, or a return under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll be happy to help! Velcro is the brand name for a hook-and-loop closure, but our design team will consider another fastener in the future.

November 19, 2021

All around pants.

Nice stretchy pants. Great for traveling, hiking and even around the snow.

October 17, 2021

Great pants great company!

These pants fit great, feel great and look great. Love how they added secure pockets! Patagonia makes awesome clothes and has very important and admirable values

October 16, 2021

the pants i been waiting for

for reference im 5 foot 11 inches, 155lbs, and 30/31 inch waist. i wear size 30 in everything pstagonia puts a numerical size too (like the qaundary shorts, lightweight all wear hemp shorts, etc). i found these fit just like the rest, perfect. i been waiting for patagonia to release a slim/trim fit pair of hiking trousers with tapered legs. i love... Read More everything about these pants. so much i bought each color twice. they have great articulation without sacrificing durability, super breathable, functional as well as adjustable so you dont need to wear a belt. im actually scratching my head to some of the negative comments about these pants. these are a game changer in my opinion, and i think patagonia should expand on the point peak line like they have with the altvia. point peak trail shorts with 8 inch inseam please! also, more colors. ill be giving them a more thorough test this winter walking the 800+ miles of the Shikoku Henro Trail in Japan. in the mean time i been doing shorter trails and bike packing trips with these and they been bomb proof.

September 17, 2021

Poor fit

The waist runs oddly small. I am a 31-32 and I purchased the 33 because the 32's are tight, even with the velcro loose. I love the look and feel but the butt area is too loose and baggy and they simply look too big. The Altivia 32's fit perfectly. I wish these fit the same. Off to return them...

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2021

We're really glad you like the fit of the Altvia's. Thank you for the feedback Peter.

May 4, 2021

nice hiking pants

Would give these pants 5-stars but they are not offered in long length and are a bit too short.

March 29, 2021

I wanted to like these pants...

Most Patagonia stuff fits me pretty well, is of high quality, and well designed. Most of that is true with these pants, with the exception of the open pockets at sides. For some reason they puff out (do not lay flat) and look absolutely ridiculous, to the point where I am embarrassed to wear them anywhere but the backcountry. Pant performance is ve... Read Morery good. Appearance leaves a LOT to be desired. Never had this problem with a pair of pants before. Kinda disappointed...

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Thank you for this thoughtful and valuable feedback on the sizing, quality and design of the pants, Brian! If you find that the pocket feature is a dealbreaker, we encourage you to return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches