burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Altvia Trail Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Altvia Trail Pants - Regular

4.7/5
True To Size
January 31, 2023

Super Comfy and Tough

These pants are amazing. Bought a pair a few weeks ago, and they are so comfortable (like silk against the skin) and tough out in the hills (no scuffs or tears after a day of climbing and scrambling over granite and through brush in Colorado in the winter) that I just bought a second pair. Also they're great at work, look just fine for the off... Read Moreice even with all the pockets being zippered. New favorites for sure.

January 23, 2023

Great pants. Great look.

Great pants. Great look.

January 22, 2023

Comfy for clean trails

Feels really good. Got chewed up on my first hike through brushy non-trails. A shame.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear about what happened to your pants. Please feel free to start your [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time as we want to make sure these pants last you many more seasons to come.

January 14, 2023

comfy

Great fit and very comfortable for everyday use . Nice pockets and quality zippers .

December 27, 2022

Altvia Trail Pant

My husband was looking for a different option than his usual sweats / training pants. Something that could be dressed up a bit more & these are perfect. Will be buying more

December 13, 2022

Does Everything

Super versatile, for something that looks so nice it performs very well in a wide variety of casual and active pursuits. Makes for an ideal travel pant, you can do most anything in it.

November 9, 2022

Good fit and comfort

Fit well. Material is comfortable. Zipper is a tad weak and failed. Overall excellent

October 30, 2022

Light weight and comfortable

I've used these pants for hiking and travel - light weight, comfortable. I like all of the zip pockets. The colors show trail dust. A tan or khaki option would be nice.

October 29, 2022

I own all 3 colorways

Really appreciate the off size of the 33" waist. Perfect on the trail, climbing, or riding a bike for Tacos. Make more color and I'll likely add them to the fold.

October 23, 2022

Great everyday pant

Very light weight, stretchy, warmer than I thought and so great for Fall. It's so comfortable and easy I wear it pretty much every day. Really like the zip pockets. The only possible improvements would be a bigger/deeper pocket on the back; a strap opening for the leg pocket, instead of the zip; and more color options.

October 23, 2022

Grown-Up Sweatpants

Love the Patagonia Altiva Trail Pants. I use them as a daily wear and find them to be light-weight, no wrinkles, stain-resistant, comfortable, flexible, secure, and easy to care for. My dislikes include that the Black is actually a Gray and that the fabric sheen comes off much too sporty (think track suit). I will order more.

September 19, 2022

Great Fit

Great fit. 32 inch waist, with the 31 inch inseam was perfect. I thought that I needed a 32 inch inseam, which is NOT available. Once I started wearing them, I now know that the Patagonia designers had the sizing correct. Plenty of pockets, and I appreciate the extra one on the thigh. And the back pockets have zippers, which provides that additiona... Read Morel security. Love the fact that the fabric dries quickly, since I rarely carry rain pants, and a rain jacket always drains onto your pants. My new favorite pants!

September 15, 2022

Amazing Pants

These pants fit amazing. I always get warm while walking/hiking - these are the best pants I have found at keeping me cool. One really cool thing is the zipper dont hang, the snap one way of the other so they make zero noise when youre moving. Really nice.

September 9, 2022

Good looking at the office

I purchased this after having one for a number of years. I also have the Alvia Light pant and the Altvia Alpine pant. My favourite is the Altvia Light version with an elastic waste and loose fit. I bought this one for work in an office environment and have not tested it on the trails. It seems a little flimsy for the trails so I got the Alpine pant... Read Mores which seem a little more robust. It would be a five star if I thought this would make a great trail pant as well, maybe I should try it and see.

September 5, 2022

Perfect trousers for casual

Perfect fit for slim physique. I wear these trousers for airline travel -- love that the pockets all have zippers so I don't lose anything getting in/out of seats -- and love the no-wrinkle, light weight fabric. Probably will wear them a lot more when "shorts season" ends.

August 31, 2022

Multi-purpose

First time out with the pants and just finished a 3 day 28 mile hike through the alpine, super light weight, but concerned about durability, worked great in windy conditions, they shed light rain. Not sure why they have zippered cuffs. Pockets are well placed. The only complaint is I always wear 31" waist, but these run big, and I don't c... Read Moreare for belts because the hip belt on my pack grinds a belt into my hips.

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2022

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback. The zipper at the ankle is to allow for fit over more bulky hiking boots, if those are worn. We're sorry to hear that the waist is running big. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need to return. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 23, 2022

Great hiking and work pants

Was looking for new work pants that I could hike in as well, especially during hot weather. I appreciate the fit and the breathability, as well as it's subdued enough to wear for work. Awesome pants!

August 13, 2022

Very comfortable

Wore these for several days during an Alaskan fishing trip. Very comfy on the long plane ride to Alaska, then performed well in the rain and under hip waders. They are lightweight and great for warmer weather. Nice stretch both in the legs and waste. Great pants.

August 12, 2022

Love the Colors/Style

This is my second pair of these pants. I purchased believing yjey would the same as the first pair. Upon arrival, I noticed the inseam was much shorter than my first pair, and this is do to the cut bot being "long". While the pants fit, customer service informed me they no longer make this style "long." I still wear them, but t... Read Morehey do not feel as comfortable as the first pair bought, many years ago, in a different color.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2022

Hey Branden, thank you for the feedback. We recommend checking out our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=altvia) website, where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. We add to inventory everyday, so you might have some luck and find a long pair. If you're not seeing them now, definitely check back!

August 9, 2022

Outstanding Pant

I worn these pants through 14 days of Special Operations training in North Carolina summer and all I can say is wow. Durable. Flexible. Lightweight. Quick to dry. Odor resistant. Would recommend these pants to anyone who does things outdoors.

August 7, 2022

Super Comfortable!

Love the zip pockets and cargo pocket on the front of the leg. At first the slim fit was a little strange to me as I usually wear loser fitting pants, but I'm a believer now. The fit is great, and they really move with you. So comfortable!! They are also very breathable and stay comfortable even in hot, humid weather. I love them!

August 3, 2022

Snug fit in upper thighs but no problems

It's a bit snug in the upper thighs but after extended wear, I didn't have an issue. It helps that I didn't keep anything in the pockets either. Pants rolled up great when I waded barefoot in the river stream.

July 20, 2022

Please bring back the long version!

The 34 long (33 inches) was perfect. I have bought multiple pairs in various colors over the years. They were very comfortable and wore like iron. There is no way I can wear a 31 inch inseam. Please, please bring back the long.

July 20, 2022

After about two dozen wearings:

After about two dozen wearings: fabric is light but not flimsy, with moderate stretchiness, so I hardly know I have them on. Tailoring is simple, smart and functional. New summer favorite.

July 18, 2022

Good travel pant

My only gripe here is that the pant legs could taper a bit more. Not even close to approaching bell-bottom territory, just a personal preference.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2022

Hi Jake! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the fit in the legs. We rely on comments like this from our customers to improve things for future seasons. We'll share this with our design crew.

July 17, 2022

Great Pants

These pants are stretchy and breathable. I originally purchased the Quandary pants and returned them for these. They are worth the extra money.

July 16, 2022

Perfect lightweight pants

Super light weight, flexible for uninhibited movement, and look great too!

July 11, 2022

Awesome for Backpacking! Need lighter colors

I just returned from 6 days backpacking in the High Sierras and made these my NEW go-to backpacking pants. They are comfy, stretchy and handle the dirt well. I am a sorta Ultra Lighter so these were the only pants I wore for 6 days/5 nights straight and they held up perfectly. Now I am wearing them days later, all cleaned up in the office. Love th... Read Moree zippers. Perfect placement. Love the general comfort and stretch. I was nervous about lack of belt / cinch, but honestly found a good lightweight backpacking belt to use w/ the pants and found I now prefer it this way. The button on the pants is solid and does not have the risk of popping off like competing pants. One major recommendation/request. PLEASE add lighter colors like Stone/Beige or similar. The pant fabric is touch heavier than ideal and so that w/ the color can run you hot. The Navy looks great, but did run VERY hot at times in the High Sierra's sun. Lighter colors would work better. More importantly, at present, they only run two colors for those w/ SHORT inseam (like me) Black and Navy - so doubly important if they add more / lighter colors to keep in mind us shorter folk. Overall really love these pants. Nice one Patagonia!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

We really appreciate your feedback on all aspects of these pants and we hear you on the availability of lighter colors for the short version. Thanks for the review, Josh!

June 23, 2022

Great fitting pants

Feels like these pants were tailor fitted for me. Comfortable waist, flexible around knees. Zippered pockets keep everything safe and not slip out. The factories has a cooling sensation when the outdoors is warm. Real nice pants. Love the slim fit feature too, no baggy look but "neat" look.

June 21, 2022

Great comfortable, versatile pant. Zippers

Great comfortable, versatile pant. Zippers a big plus

June 16, 2022

Good Fit

Liked material feel and thought the pants did not feel warm on a hot day. Moved well on body and liked bottom zipper.

May 27, 2022

Exactly as described

Love the zippered pockets. Fit great

May 4, 2022

Found one of my favorite pants... finally!

These pants are great. They are light, stretchy, slim fit, wrinkle-free. I love wearing them. I purchased them two weeks ago and I have worn them since then. They are not the most warm piece, but for springtime, summer evening and fall, they are great. Highly recommended!

April 16, 2022

Functional and comfortable

A great lightweight pant that is true to size. Very comfortable.

April 5, 2022

Perfect pant

When I first wore them I immediately realized Id been waiting my entire life for these pants. The stretch of the material (and waist line!) is super comfortable and optimal for activity. Fantastic material

January 4, 2022

Perfect. Best fitting pants ive ever purchased

I love the slim fit. My mom asked me where i got such nice fitting pants!

January 3, 2022

Great light pant

Pants fit perfectly. Used for hiking or just hanging out. Oh, and they look smart, too!

December 27, 2021

Great Fit

One of my go to pants for work or outdoor activity. Highly recommend these for anyone with an active job. Love the fit, stretch of the fabric, and the pockets. 5 out of 5 stars.

December 22, 2021

Versatile, overall

Pants function great and the material that will alleviate overheating. The thigh pocket is kind of an obscure size that is too big for most phones or wallets, which will slosh in your pocket, also too small and delicate for something like a radio, gps, kestrel, etc. Overall, they're perfect for hot and mild days for most activities. The only... Read More strike against is that the price is outrageous for technical clothes.

October 9, 2021

Super comfortable!!

These pants run a bit snug. But, I went a size up from normal and they're super comfortable. The material is light weight but feels durable.

September 20, 2021

Light weight breathable

The fabric is quite stretchy. As a result the stylish slim fit doesnt sacrifice mobility at all. The first time I wear the pants, as I am walking outside I suddenly feel like I am not wearing any pants as if its a dream. Then I realize the pants is the most breathable and lightweight pants I ever tried. A few times I have to go off trail and walk t... Read Morehrough shrubs. That doesnt leave any tear on the fabric.

September 9, 2021

Stylish Comfort!

I love these pants, and refuse to take them off! They are light, not tight, fit close, and they are relaxing to wear! Great all around pant, go to work, ride you townie home, and stop for a bouldering problem at the park en route to happy hour, no change of pant necessary!

September 7, 2021

super comfortable

These pants are the greatest. Flexible, lightweight, pockets in all the right places and large enough. Durable. Love these pants.

September 6, 2021

Super comfortable

Fits perfectly, fabric is amazingly durable and flexible.

August 17, 2021

Yuck

I don't like skinny jeans. And not much in size selection. I would prefer a longer leg length. Sure this is a supply chain problem.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hi Bryce! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the fit. These specific pants are a slim fit, however we do offer quite a few hiking pants in regular fit. We'd encourage you to take a look at our [Quandary Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-quandary-hiking-pants-regular/55181.html?dwvar_55181_color=FGE&cgid=mens-pants-jeans-hiking).

August 11, 2021

Excellent Range of Motion

These pants fit great and move well. They are lightweight and perform well even in the alpine. They are my new favorite hiking pants.

June 29, 2021

M Altvia trail pants

Excellent fit in short. Comfortable material. Plenty of zipped pockets

June 26, 2021

Fabric doesnt breathe and clings

While I like the light fabric, I found that it clings to my legs and also doesnt breathe as much as I had wanted it to. Keep in mind that the size I wear is not tight fitting, but a rather relaxed fit. So is the compromise between light fabric and stretch versus breathability and less clinging? Perhaps the pants will be more suitable in a cooler cl... Read Moreimate.

May 5, 2021

Smooth!

It feels great! Stretchy, loose, breathable. Outstanding

May 5, 2021

Super flexible

The elastic waist makes a tight filling '36 true to size and there are plenty of deep pockets for carrying stuff. The material is lightweight, cool, and flexible. They wash nicely and dry quickly. All the pockets have zippers and that takes some getting used too. I wanted to purchase a second pair in black but they are sold out, I am told, unt... Read Moreil 10 June!

May 4, 2021

comfortable, light weight and durable

Comfortable, light weight, and durable.

May 3, 2021

Light and Flexible

These pants stretch but always go back to true form and never get stretched out. They are super light and comfortable. The zipper gets stuck A LOT. Its been easy to fix, but annoying. Im usually a 32/33 length. I got the 33 waist and it says its a 31 length. So if thats true they run a little long because these fit me great.

April 28, 2021

Altvia trail pants

I like the pants. That being said, they are more like warmup soccer pants than hiking pants...The material is very thin and extremely stretchy, and very comfortable...The fit is very athletic, which I like. The pockets are awesome. If you put these pockets on the Quandary pants, you would have the best hiking pants ever made! Patagonia changed the ... Read Moreregular inseam on these pants from a 32 to a 31, so if you're 6 ft. you will be wearing high waters. All in all, I like the pants alot!

April 15, 2021

Great style for casual wear, sports, hiking, or biking. Excellent fit. Pocket zippers provide for security on the trail.

Excellent fit, true to size. Great for casual night out, hiking, or biking. zippers on pocket provide for security on the trail.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches