burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Happy Hike Studio Pants

Write Your Review

3.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Happy Hike Studio Pants

3.0/5
True To Size
September 27, 2022

Incredibly Durable

I wear these for climbing and despite having not taken a hard whip in them, I did take a really good fall while hiking down the rocky approach. I had a puppy in my arms so I couldn't break my fall and took it all on my knees. Even though it was a hard enough fall to really scrape up my knees, the fabric on the pants held strong and there were ... Read Moreno holes or tears which was extremely impressive. They are comfy, flexible, and durable.

September 15, 2022

Cute and comfortable

I ordered these pants after I bought a pair of another color in the store. They are attractive and comfortable and can dress up or down. I initially got them to wear on a trip to Europe this fall, but have been wearing them around the house and to walk the dog. They don't wrinkle and are light weight. My only complaint is that the pockets show... Read More a lot under the thin fabric.

September 13, 2022

Bring the old one back! The cuff was amazing.

The Happy Hike Studio pants of the last couple years have been my absolute favorite. I own four different colors and wear them constantly. They hold up incredibly well. My absolute favorite feature is the way the cuff was finished at the ankle. It made these highly adaptable pants work in contexts where other joggers just can't. The new cuff ... Read Moremakes them look like every other athleisure jogger on the market and they simply cannot be dressed up. Bring back the old ankle cuff style, please!

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Tara. This feedback is immensely helpful to our product designers in making changes for future products. We're sorry this design change was a disappointment to you! We will reach out to you about some options.

September 11, 2022

Product design changed

Use to love, love, love these pants - 3 different pairs and wear them consistently. Unfortunately, the updated pants (2022s) no longer fit right and aren't as comfortable for me.

September 8, 2022

True size but weird

Although I originally ordered a M in this after reading reviews and wrote that it was huge except for the waist, today I tried a size S (my size in the old style) at the Patagonia store. This confirmed that I would wear the same size as the old design except that the pockets stick out just like they do on the girls that model it. I think maybe the ... Read Morehip is slightly smaller and as I said in original review the old ankle cuff is better. I didnt buy the new ones.

September 8, 2022

Bring old sizing back!

Where can I get the old sizing pants? I hate the new sizing!

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2022

Thank you so much for leaving this review! We will be more than happy to pass this along to our Product Designers so they are aware of the want/need for the sizing to be more similar to the older styles. Thank you so much for taking the time to send this our way, we truly appreciate it!

August 30, 2022

Please bring old version of them back !!!

Please, please, please bring the old Happy Hike studio pants cut. The new ones do not sit well, pocket parts stretch out and look not very flattering. The old version of those pants was fantastic!

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2022

Hi Ala, thank you for sharing this feedback on the redesign of the Happy Hike pants; we're sorry it missed the mark for you! We're sharing your thoughts with our product design team. Thank you for returning the pants that weren't working for you, and please let us know if we can be of any help in picking out an alternative!

August 30, 2022

Waist band will stretch after couple washes

I got 2 pants of the Happy Hike and Im very disappointed ! The size was perfect when I got them but after couple washes the waist band stretched and both pants are now loose on me and I cant wear them anymore !

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2022

Hi Nibal, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry to hear the waistbands on your Happy Hike Pants stretched! Most customers find that if any stretching occurs laundering the pants in Warm and drying on Low actually restores the fit. In any case, we want you to be happy with everything you get from us, and if we can be of any help with that return, please let us know!

August 29, 2022

super comfy best pants so far in my closet

I found these pants at dicks sportkng goods and i believe they are my favorite pants in my closet super comfy stretchy the crotch area is prefect its not loose like other brands nor is it all up in there I wore a M i got thighs and booty and it shapes it perfectly another thing i love about it is that it doesnt stick to my skin so that u can see th... Read Moree cellulite so i definitely love the fabric but not gonna lie the price is definitely up there a bit much hehe 10/10 for me

August 28, 2022

Favorites

I have two pair of these pants. Id like some more colors. The fit for me is perfect. The waist is flattering and not binding. They are not at all tight in the legs but instead, are loose fitting which is a nice change from leggings. I wear mine all year round. Ive worn these with a base layer underneath for winter activities and without the rest of... Read More the time. Maybe because Im 5 foot 2 inches, the length of the pant is a little longer on me which is just how I like them. I have worn them with high leg boots and with booties in winter. Both look cute. Summer, usually with sandals. These are my favorite pants, the ones I wear all the time, casual to hiking to outdoor winter. I hope they come in the blue again, loved that color, but it sold out fast. I have black and the gray. Perfect pants for all seasons. Not too hot in summer, loose enough fitting to be cool. Not cold in winter, and can fit the base layer underneath if needed. The band at the ankle is not at all too tight. It fits well. Fabric is also nice in that it does not pick up lint so I can wear black at home with cats and dogs. I hope these pants stay around for a long time.

August 27, 2022

Why redesign??

I *loved* my 2020 version. I own 4 pairs - 2 unlined (for summer) and 2 lined (for chillier months). Both VERY lightweight and flexible (especially non-lined) *and* sturdy - perfect combo for everything from backpacking (which I did a couple weeks ago) to lounging around at home. And stylish, to boot! Its true - when I wear the black pair around to... Read Morewn, depending on what else Im wearing, I can blend in with the best of the chicest Angelenos I live amongst! Even as a long and lean woman, one of the things I love about those (2020) pants is how loose they feel. Why redesign?? Isn't the very *point* for them to be loose?

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2022

We're sorry that the newest iteration has been a disappointment. We recommend you return them to your local Patagonia-owned store or reach out to our Customer Service team to return to our warehouse. Also check our Patagonia Outlets for the past season product. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 16, 2022

Sad they changed the fit

I have owned several pairs of happy hike pants, but they've changed the fit and they now have much less room in the thighs. I need a size larger. I wish they had kept the classic fit.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2022

We're sorry for the disappointment, Shea! Our online exchange process for color and size is free of charge, if you decide to get the larger one. We did redesign these for Spring 2022. There may be some of the past season versions in our Outlet Stores. We'd be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you look for those, in addition to suggesting other pants if you'd like to speak with our Customer Service team.

August 16, 2022

New model ok

My boyfriend calls these my dressy sweatpants! I wear a small in the old model, perfect fit. The new model is not all bad- they have less of a 'drop crotch' and the fabric has more stretch. Overall they are more practical. They do fit smaller. I can fit in the size small, they stretch at the seams a bit and the elastic waist is tight. The... Read More size medium fits me just fine but the looser fit looks a bit sloppy instead of tailored. I'm 5.4 and 130 lbs for reference.

August 14, 2022

New favorite pair of pants

I have never found a pair of hiking pants I loved until I bought these pants. They are SO comfortable, lightweight enough to not get hot but warm enough to be comfortable on a 40 degree day above treeline, stretchy enough to tackle rock scrambles, and cute enough to wear to work later in the week! I am 5'6" with an athletic build and was ... Read Morea little nervous ordering a small as I usually wear a medium but I went with the sizing guide measurements and was not led astray - the pants fit me perfectly. The ink black color is more of a dark gray, which I actually prefer over flat black. I love these pants and will probably be buying another pair in a different color because I want to wear them every day!

August 9, 2022

Weird Sizing

I have a pair of these from 2019 in an XS that fit me perfectly (5'5"/138lbs/athletic build). I initially purchased that size again and could barely get them over my hips. I exchanged the XS for a S and now it's borderline too big. I'm also not a big fan of the extra pocket on the side either, but they'll do fine for climbi... Read Moreng.. Just a little disappointed in the updates.

August 3, 2022

stretchy comfy blocks sun good pockets

Exactly what I hoped for! Bought for Eastern Sierra hiking/biking/RV camping trip. These were perfect for warmer day temps up to 90 deg, sun pro on hikes, lightweight, stretchy, comfy for sitting in the car. I bought the pink (stingray mauve) color and it keeps me cool on midday hikes. Pockets securely fit big ol' iPhone 6s plus. (my older hap... Read Morepy hike pants pockets were shallower and did not keep phone secure) The new zippered thigh pocket is much appreciated for key/credit card security during activities knowing they won't fall out. Also bought for working outside on the grass for helping a little goat. These pants are comfy sitting on the grass, bending over to support the goat, running while holding the goat. These pants keep me cool, agile, and protect me from sun and goat horns and hooves. I'm 5'3" ; 120# with a 27.5" inseam, a little mommy tummy and size small fits great.

July 26, 2022

Sizing has changed

I bought a pair of Happy Hikers last year and they became my go to pants for more than just hiking. Casual wear, travel, church, almost anywhere. I bought 2 more colors this year only to find the sizing has changed drastically. They now run small and had to be returned. I was extremely disappointed to say the least. In fact, I even went to a Patago... Read Morenia Store to try the different sizes and neither the XS or the S fit, I was in-between. Anyway, My rating is strictly for the sizing. Still love my "old" pants and if you find the right size get yourself a pair.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2022

We are sorry our revision of the Women's Happy Hike Studio Pants missed the mark with you! If you have any questions about your return, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Thank you so much for your feedback, LeAnne.

July 1, 2022

True Happy Pants

These are my "go to" pants for casual wear even though I purchased them for hiking. They were so comfortable that I gradually transitioned to my everyday, everywhere pants. I am 5'4" and 105# and the XS fits perfectly, although I would agree with those asking for a little bit longer length.

June 22, 2022

Super Cute

I really like these pants. Im 5'0 105 lbs the x-small fits me a little big. They are comfy and great for hiking. Wished they made this style in petite sizes.

June 15, 2022

Perfect mom-ing to hiking joggers

These joggers are just what I was looking for. The perfect light weight stretch fabric paired with a super comfy high rise + wide width waist band. I wear them to chase my kids around the park then straight to hike. I also love the 7/8 length! Will need a second color!

June 12, 2022

Awesome hiking pants

Relaxed fitting hiking pants. Stays cool on warm days & dries quickly if they get wet. I just wish the length was longer & came to my ankles. I also have a pair from last year & noticed that this newer pair has a much needed extra leg pocket.

June 7, 2022

Ran Small

I bought four pairs of these last year and lived in them. I ordered them again this year but they were at least two inches smaller in the waist band as the ones I bought last year. None fit. Too small so returned

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2022

Hey Nancy, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that the fit on these pants didn't work out for you. We double checked and we do see that there was a fit redesign for Spring '22. If you ever need to exchange out for size, the process is easy and could be started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We're also happy to provide garment measurements, you'll just want to reach out to our customer service team.

June 1, 2022

Versatile pants

I own two pairs of happy hike pants and two pairs of happy hike shorts and they are my absolute favorite. Ive worn them on day hikes to backpacking trips to long flights and they never disappoint! The pants are roomy enough to fit my capilene air baselayer on cold winter days but still look slim for every day wear. Huge fan of the elastic waistband... Read More that still fits my 5 months pregnant bump!

May 25, 2022

"Redesign" a Disappointment

I just ordered a fifth pair from REI because they had the "old" style. When you have a winning design, why "muck it up" with a "redesign". I was momentarily excited seeing a pink choice, then disappointed when I saw the new design and read the reviews from others. My five stars are for the old style, and I won't b... Read Moreother trying the new one.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Catharine. We're sorry to hear the revision wasn't a hit with you! We'll reach out to you about your pants.

May 20, 2022

I own 4 color ways

The Happy Hike Studio Pant keeps getting better. While I still hang on to the early iterations (black and grey) I continue to support the production of this piece by adding the new versions (olive last year, pink this year) for more options of the same favorite. I wear them almost everywhere that I'm not running. They layer over leggings for w... Read Morearmth, and are a great pant alone when temps start to "warm up" in the PNW (we are talking 60-70s). The pockets are great for temporarily holding things (like phone and small wallet), but I'll hang on to them when I sit down or trot across the street. Final thought, I have a hard time wanting to wear jeans ever again.

May 19, 2022

So comfortable

So soft, love these!

May 16, 2022

These are ok.

These pants are comfortable but I feel like they run a little bit smaller than the pair I purchased last year. They aren't too small that I would return them, i feel if I went up a size they would be too big. I do love the color.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear the Women's Happy Hike Studio Pants feel smaller with the redesigned style. We passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback. If you need help with a return, please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Experience Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Agents are available Monday-Friday, 6 am (PST) - 6 pm (PST) and Saturday and Sunday, 7 am (PST) - 3 pm (PST).

April 27, 2022

Nice looking pants

These pants are almost perfect. I just wish they were an inch longer. Theyre comfortable and fit well in the waist and hips. Fabric is dusty black and on the thin side.

April 22, 2022

Satisfied

I was a bit concerned about ordering a size small, because I've never bought that size in a pant before. But after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. So glad I went a size down. Maybe could be a tiny bit longer in the leg, but over all they are a good fit and very comfortable. They will make for comfy attire on a flight. I am look... Read Moreing forward to wearing them for my next adventure.

April 18, 2022

Don't like new design as much as old design

I have two pairs of the happy hikers that I wear them ALL the time so was excited to see the new design with added side zip pocket. Totally agree with other reviews that sizing has changed from previous years. My other two happy hikers (both from unique seasons) are size XS so I ordered this season's version in XS and they were super tight. Ex... Read Morechanging for Small but I'm not sure they will fit. (I'm 5'5+, 123lbs) Also, I'm not a fan of the new cuff on this redesign. I thought the old cuff design was perfect because it was snug enough to stay in place but not tight. This version makes the pant look more like a sweat pant design where the previous one could go from outdoor activity to the restaurant without a thought. Still, I'm giving this version a try. Bring back the old cuff with added side zip pocket and you've got a winner IMHO.

April 16, 2022

New Version Runs Small!

I love the Happy Hike Studio Pants I bought several years ago - so much so that I bought 4 pairs. I wear them all summer long. At that time they ran rather large, so I downsized from my usual Medium to a Small and the fit was perfect. This year, when I decided to increase/replenish my stock, all of the reviews had been cleared. I couldn't see ... Read Morewhat others had experienced with the newer version so I chose Small because that was the size I had ordered before. Good grief! They shrank! It was immediately obvious the new pants were much smaller - so I laid out an old pair on a flat surface for comparison. The waist of the 'new' small was well over an inch narrower than the old pair - and that's on a flat surface. The pant legs are probably about a half inch narrower. What a disappointment, especially since the color I want is already sold out in almost all sizes so I can't even exchange them for a Medium. I hope to find these someplace where I can try them on, as I don't even trust that the Medium would fit at this point. The newer version is lovely and well made with a couple of improvements - a small zip pocket on the side big enough for keys or a credit card, and one of the back pockets zips shut as well. Great pants, but I'm disappointed at the inconsistency in fit compared to prior years.

April 16, 2022

Good casual pant

Ive been eyeing these for a while and got them on sale, Im satisfied! I got them for running, biking, hiking and I will probably wear them in clinic with a nicer top. They are lightweight and the ink black is a dark grey color. Im 54/115lbs/0-2 and the extra small fits perfectly without being too tight.

April 15, 2022

I love Happy Hike pants.

I have seven pairs of these pants and they are wonderful. I ordered this pair as soon as I saw the color. Sadly the back of these are very small compared to all others. I am returning these and hoping they will come out with other great colors. I can wear them everywhere.

Response from Patagonia
April 18, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback on the redesigned Happy Hike Pants, Michelle. We're very sorry the current design isn't working for you! This feedback is very helpful to our product team. In the meantime, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

April 13, 2022

perfect light material for spring and summer

love these pants! they material is thin and they're very packable. I agree with other reviews that these do run small. I wear XS in most patagonia bottoms and these definitely feel tight. I will probably get another pair and size up

April 6, 2022

Runs small if you're not slender

I love the Happy Hike pants and have used my older pair for years. The newly designed pants are small and pull at the pockets if you are not slender. I used to have a size small (that ran a little big) and recently ordered a Medium and they are smaller than the size Small in the older design (confusing!!). If you're slender with no extra weigh... Read Moret they should be fine, but if not they'll be too small.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches