Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Happy Hike Shorts - 4"

Write Your Review

4.75 /5

Filter Reviews

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Happy Hike Shorts - 4"

4.75
True To Size
September 16, 2020

Great fit, versatile style

The shorts have a nice stretch, look great for a casual day around town or hiking. Versatile style. Fit well in waist, nice length.

September 10, 2020

Great all purpose short

I have an unhappy history of short ownership since I have ample hips and thighs which normally get pinched when I sit in shorts. These shorts have none of those issues. I tried a L and XL and ultimately went with the L. I wear them everyday for my quarantine walks. They are not the most stylish shorts but they are so comfy - they fit basically like... Read More maternity shorts with a big soft elastic band across your belly. The pockets are actually large enough that I can keep a big phone in them while I walk. I'm considering getting a second pair.

September 3, 2020

Great looking shorts

Love these shorts. I don't really consider myself an XS in all clothing but from the reviews I read I decided XS would be the right fit and it was. I may get the longer version, too.

September 1, 2020

You kind of forget you're wearing drawers.

At first I wasn't sure about the high waistband, but everything else seemed on-point and I took a chance. I was surprised and happy to find that the waistband stretch on these is comfy and gentle. The back zipper pocket is jussst big enough for my phone (would it fit larger models???) The best thing about these shorts, though, is that you kind... Read More of forget you're wearing them. Nothing pinches, nothing binds, and nothing sags. Sizing was a bit of a guessing game...based on the size chart and the fact that I have a big cyclist booty, I figured I'd need a large, but I was swimming in them and opted for a medium instead. Whatevs. I'm super happy to have found some shorts that look crisp and pulled-together but are comfy enough that I could easily sleep in them.

August 27, 2020

Love these shorts!

I bought these originally because I wanted a new hiking short.... but now Im wearing them all the time, they are apart of my new work from home attire! Super comfortable and they look stylish too.

August 18, 2020

Chefs Kiss

Ive written less than a handful of reviews for anything in my life, but I love these shorts so much I felt obligated to sing praises from the rooftops. I went into this purchase looking for easy shorts to wear on hikes since my well-loved denim cutoffs werent doing it for me anymore. What I ended up with is a pair of shorts I want to wear every day... Read More, regardless of what Im doing. Its to the point of my boyfriend having accepted them as a new physical feature of mine. Theyre perfect for hiking, of course. Theyre also perfect for yoga, napping, film or video game marathons, calling my mom, cleaning out the fridge, voting, impromptu living room dancing, road trips, petting dogs, jogging and anything else I could possibly conceive of doing. Theyre so easy and comfortable I legitimately forget sometimes that Im wearing anything but my skivvies. These are set to be my favorite shorts for life or until I wear them to tatters which, knowing Patagonias quality, will probably mean the rest of my life anyway. I love these. You wont regret buying them. 10/10. Thank you. (Oh, and I bought mine in Kale Green and they pair wonderfully with pretty much everything as theyre a really pretty neutral green.)

July 24, 2020

Love love love

I've owned the happy hike long pants for a few years and LOVE them. They are my go-to adventure pants (and they are also great period pants; black, sort of baggy, look more dressed up than they are, hold up in the wash). I'm so happy now to have discovered the SHORTS version of that pant! I wasn't sure I'd like them based on the... Read More model shot (they look a little like formal shorts in the image to me), but they are way better in person! They are a little baggier on me in a way that I like. Easy to pull up, flattering and high waisted, comfortable, quick drying, and the perfect length. I can't wait to test these out at my cabin this summer. And if you like these shorts, definitely get the pants version too!

July 23, 2020

Great Postpartum

Love how the fit skins along my body and the high waist is super-flattering - a relief to find, especially following my c-section. Very versatile - I wear them almost every day. Have worn in lieu of bathing suit bottoms and they dry quickly. Would definitely purchase more if you designed them in brighter colors/prints.

June 23, 2020

The old version was awesome!

I love the fabric and the cut! I have 4 of the older versions with the zip up and button. Can you please re-introduce them? The pull up's aren't as convenient.

June 13, 2020

High waisted heaven

I decided to try these on a whim and ordered along with several pairs of baggies. The baggies went back - I LOVE these happy hike shorts. The waistband is high waisted and they fit so comfortably. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed. They've quickly become my summer go-to short for casual and hiking wear.

June 9, 2020

The Best Shorts

I just bought these shorts and right when I tried them on I fell in love. They're so comfortable and have a lot of stretch but still conform to the body. Theyre the perfect length and very lightweight. Im 58 and about 125lbs and Im usually a S but these do run big so the XS is perfect although I almost wish they had an XXS. One of the back poc... Read Morekets is open while the other has a zipper which I really like for keeping things like keys and money safe while still having the accessibility of the other open pocket. Overall these are my favorite shorts and Im so glad I bought them! Im ordering another pair in black and pairs for both my sister and mom!

January 28, 2020

high waist and no extra ties and zips

These will be great for backpacking and hiking. They feel super comfy! I am petite, slim and hourglass and the cuts on most Patagonia seem to be for a more straight figured woman. As a backpacker, I appreciate that these just pull on and don't waste extra weight with unnecessary draw strings, buttons and zips. Also won't cause problems wi... Read Moreth my backpack's hip belt. Good design. I took one star off because the dull color palette choices weren't my thing. How about a deep rich brown or a forest green or a clear navy? I ended up with the kale green which is kind of dull but it will do. Also, the two back pockets with zips are unnecessary for me. I rarely hike without a pack so don't need TWO zippered pockets and would rather save the weight. the 4" leg inseam is perfect. The waist on the xs is too big but they fit great elsewhere. I'm 26.5" waist 35" hips. Also, if they didn't have those zips, in the back these would be great for yoga AND hiking. I'm taking them to Kaua'i this week and will also be eager to see how well they dry. I usually go on hikes where there is swimming involved and don't want to have to wear a suit under shorts and then have a wet suit to hike back in.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches