Back to Product

Patagonia Recycled Wool Ear Flap Cap

Write Your Review

3.91 /5

Filter Reviews

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Recycled Wool Ear Flap Cap

3.91
Kinda Large
June 5, 2020

Big but wonderful

My head meets the exact measurement, and there is a 1/2 Inch of space all the way around... but this is warm and wooly and soft and lovely. Like a warm hug. And I suspect the wool will shrink a tad once wet to fit perfectly. Keeping it, hopefully forever.

January 23, 2020

Just what I wanted - almost

Cold days with bright sun is what I like about winter but really need a brim to shade my eyes. This had had that and the great earflaps. But the first one I ordered (S size) was too tight to pull all the way onto my head. Returned and ordered the Large size. It's way too big to wear comfortably so I bought a thin poly beanie and with it on my ... Read Morehead the hat fits snugly but not too tight. Plus I get a little more warmth. An acceptable workaround but a M size would be good. The only remaining day-day issue is that the brim doesn't fold and the hat is kind of hard to store if I go inside for a short time. When that happens I stuff it into a coat sleeve or leave it in the car and wear the beanie in and out of where I'm visiting.

December 30, 2019

Nice overall hat

Love this hat. Better than a beanie and looks good for casual wear. I use this hat a lot on Winter hikes in Alaska and keeps me warm throughout. I would recommend this hat.

December 26, 2019

Warm and great style

This is a great looking hat and fits true to size

December 26, 2019

Incredible Product. Will use for the rest of my life.

This is an incredible product. Made from recycled fabric too. The wool over-ear flap works great, and the design features a low-cap fit so that it looks more discrete. I will be wearing this for the rest of my life, or for the rest of its life!

December 25, 2019

Warm and simple

My head likes it, good fit and look.

December 23, 2019

Bought this cap for my

Bought this cap for my husband. He works golf course maintenance and is outside all day. He loves it, especially the flaps and that it can be tied. He gets a lot of "Elmer Fudd" jokes but he doesn't mind at all. He says it keeps him nice and warm.

December 13, 2019

Great Hat!

Needed a warm hat with a brim/visor (for Winter birdwatching). This one is perfect! Nice tailored look, with ear flaps for cold or windy days. Good looking. Good quality. Made with recycled fabrics. Female buyer.....men’s small is a bit looser than I was looking for, but I kept it anyway.......maybe re-design it with an interior adjustable feature ... Read Morein the future???

December 9, 2019

The hat is very handsome,

The hat is very handsome, but the flaps do not stay down unless you tie it very well under the chin. Snaps and adjustable straps would be better for those days when you need your ears covered..

December 3, 2019

Cozy sweater for your head

This hat is so comfortable and relaxing that it's almost difficult to stay awake while wearing it. The ear flaps are amazing, and the wool covers the back of your neck too. Much recommend :)

November 23, 2019

Wool ear flap cap

Terrific. I wear it for cold weather golf. Very warm and blocks the wind. One thing I'd like is for the size to be adjustable, if that were possible.

November 20, 2019

GreAt

Excited to use it in the backcountry !!

November 11, 2019

Warm head, cold ears

You'd get this hat to also keep your ears warm, right? Unfortunately this hat doesn't do that. As another review noted, air goes right by your ears, you can see it here on the pictures as well how loose they're hanging. The rope to tie it together doesn't work well enough and the fabric is highly uncomfortable. If you care for y... Read Moreour ears, let this one go. On the plus side, it is warm on top.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this isn't keeping your ears warm. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us, please feel free to do so. We appreciate your helpful feedback on this!

September 12, 2019

recycled wool ear flap cap

I have a big head so I ordered the large. I have NEVER put on a hat so big. It's way to big for this fathead. It's well made and good looking but unless you have a super big head, and I mean really really big, don't get the L/XL.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

February 27, 2019

Run large, works well

Not sure if the prior reviews are being fair. Great hat -- it just runs large!

February 20, 2019

Recycled Wool Ear Flap Cap - Fit a Major Issue

Patagonia really cheated out on this item. It is offered in just two sizes-- L/XL and S/M. I wear a size 7-1/2 fitted ball cap. The L/XL was way too big and the S/M was, of course, too small. Patagonia has basically cut me and many other loyal customers out of any possibility of fitting one of these caps.

January 1, 2019

Warm As Advertised -- Sizing An Issue

As others have mentioned, the Recycled Wool Ear Flap Cap runs large. I wear a 7-1/8 in numerically sized hats, and the S/M Ear Flap Cap is noticeably loose with the flaps up. Not a deal-breaker, but something to be aware of as you consider a purchase. Patagonia should offer a size XS, or re-engineer the hat to provide an internal adjustment on the ... Read Moresweatband. Aside from the fit, the cap is stylish and warm. I don't like to cover my ears unless it's really cold or windy, so I really like the options this hat affords.

December 11, 2018

Wish I could love this hat

It's a hit or miss with size. S/M too tight and L too big. Great if the wind is to you back but facing the wind cold air goes right by my ears. Brrrrrr! Looking for "style" get the hat hopping to keep your head AND ears warm go with a Patagonia beanie.

December 6, 2018

Nice fit on me

Hat runs quite large, I am a 2XL and the L/XL is perfect for me. Nice beefy construction and ear flaps are warm. Already one of my favorite hats.

November 23, 2018

Cool hat

I like it, fits great on my head, looks awesome too. Is warm but I have to put my hood up to get actual insulation out of it. I've only gotten commitments on it. My fiance trys to steal it sometimes too so I'll be buying her one in a different color. The ties are a little confusing but it's still cool.

November 17, 2018

Fit

Excited to get the hat but WAY too big! Need to return (which is a pain) but afraid to order the s/m. Disappointing.

November 16, 2018

Weird sizing.

I’m really confused by the sizing. I bought a small per my head measurements, and it’s so big. I can fit an entire hand in the hat while it’s on my head - easily. Also, I feel like it’s barely on my head. If the flaps are down, it’s really not too bad and luckily that’s the reason why I bought it so I will be keeping it. But I certainly won’t be ab... Read Morele to wear this with the flaps up. And if it’s a windy day - all will be lost, literally. I wish there was some way I could get this sized cause it really is a great hat! Just a strange fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches