burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Capilene® Air Gaiter

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Capilene® Air Gaiter

4.5/5
True To Size
July 22, 2022

Perfect

I was looking for a gaiter that wasn't too heavy or thick. The Cap Air Gaiter is perfect. It keeps my neck warm during night ballgames and morning rounds of golf. There's enough material that it can be used as a snood if the weather turns bad

May 19, 2022

cozy

I coach outdoors in the mid-atlantic region, I keep one of these in my bag and it's saved my face and nose from a chill on more than a few nights earlier this spring. The material has a generous stretch that has held up through a few gentle washes so far. The gaiter is is a bit thin but I've found it more than suitable for my needs. I&#x2... Read More7;ll definitely be using it again in the fall.

May 16, 2022

Perfect fit, great comfort and very light weight

Multi-purpose can be used as a beanie, to cover face and neck. Greta product and highly recommended!

May 2, 2022

The Goldilocks Gaiter

I call this the Goldilocks gaiter because it's just right for cold weather conditions. Fleece gaiters hold too much condensation and then freeze, the thin buff style gaiters often don't provide enough warmth. The Cap Air Gaiter sits right in the middle, the woven "Air" material allows my breath (and the associated moisture) to e... Read Morescape but still provides enough warmth that my face doesn't freeze.

April 29, 2022

Inspires Neck- and Head Gear Innovation

Capilene Air is such a lovely, innovative, and warm fabric, I decided to grab one of these when I saw them on salea black one. I'm experiencing unanticipated surprises and lots of fun with all the possibilities. One of them inspires my wife to call me Sister Larry. Good work, Patagonia!

April 25, 2022

Perfect for warmth and jacket protection

This material is perfect. Breathable and warm. I use this to keep my ears and neck warm. While protecting my jacket from my sweat and grime hitting my water proof jackets. So nice and clutch for early morning runs too.

March 27, 2022

Warm and Cool

Ill just up and say I do enjoy this product very much and I hope everyone who buys this understands the need to take very good care of it because of how thin it is. My only nitpick is I would like it to be a couple inches longer.

March 14, 2022

Best gaiter - warm - easy on/off comfortable

By far the best gaiter in my collection - easiest on/off (good stretch), the warmest (traps heat very well) and washes brilliantly (washing is often the test of a garment). Am sorry waited so long to order.

March 13, 2022

warmer and more protective than you'd thnk

For such lightweight material, it's quite warm and protects against wind. Good fit. No complaints.

March 10, 2022

great

It is thin but warm and easy to breath through. I live on one of the great lakes and it is perfect for the weather. I can't wear alot of wool products right on my skin but I have not issue with this one.

February 6, 2022

Too thin

Just got back from a ski trip. Not good for windy conditions. Might be good as an extra over later over a ski mask.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2022

Hey Mario, we appreciate the review on the Capilene Air Gaiter. The primary function of this gaiter is to keep you warm, but since it's made from our "air" material it's also meant to be ultra breathable which can affect it's windproofing abilities. Since the gaitor is intended to cover your mouth, you won't find any made with a windproof material to allow for that breathability. Nonetheless, we'll pass the feedback along, thank you!

February 6, 2022

Light and warm

Light and easy to put on and wear throughout the day. Not restrictive on the neck.

February 6, 2022

Warm but not great next to skin

Great shape and stretchiness, but I'm not a fan of this fabric next to my skin. It's not especially soft! I didn't try it on for long, but I was already glad to get it off. Good concept, versatile shape and construction, but not the right material, alas!

February 2, 2022

Very comfortable and versatile

I love this neck gaiter! I needed a new one and decided to try this one. It is thin and very light weight, yet surprisingly very warm. I use it for skiing. The material is quite stretchy - I can wear it in a normal fashion (around my neck), but have also stretched it over my head like a hat (under my helmet) and around the front of my neck on a rea... Read Morelly cold day. Yes, it's expensive, but I feel that it is totally worth it.

January 24, 2022

Warm and well made

Warm and well made.

January 23, 2022

Great product.

Great product. Comfortable.

January 5, 2022

solid

not necessarily the warmest gaiter, but very soft and breathable. would recommend if you need to use as an extra layer for colder ski days or using on it's own during spring skiing, backcountry, or cross country.

December 23, 2021

Stretch and warmth

The neck gaiter has stretch to slip on or off. The merino wool traps warmth but not dampness and warms that space between your hat and your outer layer. It's so comfortable I forget to take it off inside.

December 4, 2021

Just what I needed

All I want is a light weight gator and this is perfect.

December 1, 2021

Great Gaiter

Really like the comfort and breath ability for high output activities. It is a little on the thin side so maybe not suited for idle winter activities.

March 20, 2021

Good weight, not too warm.

Remains comfortable while skiing, and can work as a mask in lift lines. Stretches easily over my head but remains in place w/o feeling tight or restrictive.

December 20, 2020

warm and versatile

Out of the package, it seemed too light to be warm enough. I soon found that impression to be wrong! This gaiter is featherweight but will keep you warm. It can be worn just around the neck or configured to fit over the mouth and nose or even as a hat. It is very effective in protecting from frigid wind and looks good doing it.

December 17, 2020

Stretches out, doesn't stay up

As many skiers this year I have been purchasing and trying different gaiters to follow ski resort guidelines. Unfortunately this is my least favorite. Initially I thought it would be great, since it's warm, breathes well and seemed to fit. Unfortunately about a third of the way through my first day using it the gaiter wouldn't stay up on ... Read Moremy face unless I trapped it under my goggles. This product is good if you only want it to protect your neck throughout the day. I will be donating mine to the local Mission.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2021

We are so sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with this gaiter and appreciate the feedback. Please note, you're always welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back you're unsatisfied with and we are always happy to help.

December 3, 2020

Warm and style

Great warmth, soft and comfortable, used for winter camping.

November 26, 2020

Fragile workhorse

Its an oxymoron, but true. Its performance is superb, but as is well known cap air fabric looks scrappy after just a few wears, even just doing casual light duty around the house, you can fall asleep on the couch and it will pill. I dont know how they will attempt the repair a 3D knit garment once it eventually gives out, but Im gonna see what they... Read More say. Is it 20 bucks better than a merino buff? hell no but Im a wool freak and I figured they wouldnt be popular so I got it before they discontinue it (like it seems that are doing now) its thicker than a buff so its better for scarfing since it stacks on the neck. Its an EXCELLENT run gaiter, on cold runs its a superb hood that breathes & covers the ears and neck...The gaiter plus crew neck is a more versatile kit than the hoody, more expensive but well worth it

November 25, 2020

Awesome weave, nice weight

I run pretty hot, so usually having a scarf or gaiter on is too much, but this one does a great job of hitting the perfect middle groundit both insulates and breathes well. I wouldn't wear it for sub-0ºF conditions, but for general hiking and walking when it's below freezing, it has become a go-to.

November 11, 2020

Soft

Soft and comfortable. Not for really cold weather.

November 2, 2020

Not worth the money

It is an average grade piece of fabric sewn into a loop. Definitely not worth the exuberant amount of money asked.

September 1, 2020

Running gaiter

Very soft. Used it in my runs in the 80F degree and worked well. Mostly you don't realize it's there even in hot weather. I can already see it's going to work great during the colder months. It runs a bit loose, but does a good job in covering nose & mouth while running. Very soft and easy to breath through.

July 30, 2020

Perfect in 113F weather

Thumbs up

July 23, 2020

Awesome Wool Blend Gaiter

I have a full matching set of Capilene Air: bottoms and crew top. This neck-shroud is the final piece of the kit. Roll it up to wear as an ear-warmer/headband. Du rag it under other head-wear, or rock it solo; the large opening lets the wind toss the back end of my mullet quite nicely. Don it around the neck, or pull it up to your nose for extra fa... Read Morece shielding during those cold chairlift rides.

June 21, 2020

Great material, a little loose

The capilene material is truly excellent and comfortable. I bought it to be one of my COVID era face coverings. The only complaint I have is that it's a little loose on my face, so a little tricky to keep in place for extended periods of time. But the quality of construction is, like pretty much everything Patagonia does, top notch.

June 17, 2020

Gaiter/Face Cover

I purchased this gaiter to wear as a face cover while bike riding during the Covid19 pandemic. The material is very soft and comfortable. But I find that the gaiter is a little bit too loose and I thought the material would be a little heavier.

March 15, 2020

Great For Biking

This is the best, most comfortable, and versatile neck gaiter I have found for biking and I have three others made by major manufacturers. As a biker, I am very sensitive to the wind. For those who have expressed concern that the wind blows through the Capilene Air Gaiter, I will point out that it is long enough to pull up from the bottom (where it... Read More is not needed since it is under your jacket) so that it can be bunched up a little around your upper neck, chin, mouth, and even your nose. When bunched up it blocks the wind quite well. I also pull it up enough in the back and sides so that there is no gap between the gaiter and the thin earband I wear around my ears when it is cold. The combination works really well.

March 3, 2020

Capilene air neck gaiter: my new winter favorite

I love this neck gaiter. Its warm and Ive worn it almost every day this winter. Much less bulky than a scarf. Doesnt get stuck in the zipper of my parka. Soft, not itchy. Definitely worth the investment.

January 8, 2020

great winter neck gaiter

this is a great winter scarf / neck gaiter and my favorite capilene air form factor. i also have the crew neck, but not the hoody. the lofty knit structure makes it function much better as a neck scarf than typical merino gaiters. the knit structure is also easier to breathe through than a typical jersey knit, great for winter biking.

December 31, 2019

Excellent product for my college

Excellent product for my college baseball son. Will be using during a cold upcoming baseball season

December 28, 2019

Gaiter

Very soft, my son loved it!

December 22, 2019

Very nice!

Super warm, especially for how lightweight it is. Nice to have a neck gaiter with so little bulk. The only downside is that wind gusts cut through it.

December 3, 2019

Gaitor

Love this gaiter, not too bulky, nice fabric, and ethically conceived and sold!

November 15, 2019

Love my Capilene Gaiter

I bought this gaiter to ride commute 7.5 miles through Queens, Brooklyn and Manhattan spanning 3 bridges each day. This gaiter helps keep my neck warm and protects me from the wind on and off the bridges. I would highly recommend this product.

November 10, 2019

Winter fishing magic

Is it a hat? Is it a gaiter? Well it's both, perfect for those cold breezy days on the water when I need my ears covered, but don't want to wear to much bulk.

October 29, 2019

Poor product

I purchased a men’s neck gaiter and for the price expected it to be great quality. What I received was an extremely thin, no help with warmth, neck gaiter (scarf) that I honestly will not wear. Waste of money unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hello Russ, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the gaiter. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 26, 2019

So soft

Nice and soft- will be good for those cold days.,

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches