burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Retro Pile Fleece Pullover Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Pullover

4.8/5
True To Size
February 5, 2023

Totally Awesome

Ive always loved Patagonia - high quality, timeless styles, you get it. Saw this retro hoodie with the neon accents - it spoke to the 90s kid in me. Its super warm and washes really well (I hang dry). It does run a bit large. Im 6 ft 2, 220 lbs and I originally purchased the XL. It was too big. The exchange process was seamless and the size Large f... Read Moreits perfectly with enough room for base layers, a button-up, etc. Ill probably be getting another one I love it so much.

January 31, 2023

White surpa pull over very

White surpa pull over very warm a tad bit big but very well-made. I love the extra size pocket for my large phone. When I go outside, I use it as the last layer over a base layer because it. when I go outside, I use it as the last layer over a base layer because its large.

January 22, 2023

So comfortable!

This style is comfortable especially around the neck. No tightness across the shoulders and the sleeves are long enough too. The first wash in cold water, and medium dryer shrank it slightly but not enough to make it uncomfortable.

December 24, 2022

Really warm and comfy

Love this. I am 5'4" and about 220 lbs. XXL fits great if you like a relaxed fit. If you have wider hips (I don't) it will likely sit above the hips/butt as it is a bit tighter at the bottom. Love the hood and half zip. The water resistant pocket is great for a phone.

December 23, 2022

The best

It is a really good piece on its own or as a layer. While it may be a tad bulky, thats ok because its meant to keep you warm and comfortable. Strong wind will cut through it, but that is what shells are for! Get one, love the color I got, it gets me compliments daily-a bonus.

December 10, 2022

Warm

Definitely a comfy loose fit that is very warm.

November 14, 2022

Excellent fuzzy layer

I couldn't be much more stoked on this layer. Material is soft, but not super soft, warm, breathable, great fit. My only minor complaint is I wish it was a full zip, but I knew what I was getting myself into. Im excited to have this as a casual around town winter layer for many years to come.

October 30, 2022

I generally wear medium and

I generally wear medium and that was just too big. The snap for more like a medium to me. Thankfully I got what I needed. Well made

October 20, 2022

Great material, didnt fit

Drop a star because the small was just too short. I wanted it to fit - great fleece, excellent garment. Had to return.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2022

Hey Matt, thanks for the review. If you think a size up could work, feel free to begin an exchange on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if something like this happens in the future.

September 15, 2022

Very Warm

This coat is incredibly warm. Very good quality and true to size.

April 24, 2022

Perfect

I was looking for a quarter-zip fleece and the blue and orange one caught my eye. I ordered a medium because that's what most of my other clothes are and it fits me perfectly. It wasn't tight and it is super comfortable. I'm a little bit of a slimmer person at 6'0 165 or so but I think this would also fit comfortably for someone... Read More else bigger. When put in the wash it doesn't shrink and seemed to have about the same feel as when I first got it. For the price I was hesitant to get it but know I know it was worth it. I wear it more than I should and have definitely gotten my moneys worth.

April 15, 2022

Cozy, comfy, stylish

Absolutely love the Retro Pile line. Im a female who has several of the non-hooded versions. The horizontal chest pocket is by far my favorite feature; Ive been waiting for a hooded version for women but since there isnt one on the horizon, I purchased the mens extra small and have pretty much been wearing it ever since. Its practical, comfy, looks... Read More good. Its slightly large on me but I dont mind. Got my husband an XL. Hes 63, 220lbs. Fits perfectly.

April 5, 2022

soft touch well made

hi the fleece seems very comfy and soft . quite warm . only downside for me is the size i'm 83 kg 1.8 m height and its kinda large but overall i'm happy

March 31, 2022

Feels like a large knit blanket

Very comfortable hoody. Outside of casual wear though, It doesn't have too many applications. Too heavy for backpacking vs grid fleeces (like an R1), too large to layer well underneath other layers (maybe if you sized down it would work). That being said, its still great for casual wear.

March 18, 2022

Unique & stylish

My son picked this jacket out and he loves it. He said its really comfortable, so he wears it all the time. Hes never seen anyone else wearing this jacket and he receives lots of compliments.

March 15, 2022

Wish they made a womens version!!

Absolutely love the retro pile. Have the womens 1/2 zip and its by far my fave sweater. I wish they made this exact version for women. Love hooded sweaters with the sideways chest pocket. Kangaroo pockets added would be fabulous! Unfortunately womens version only comes as a full zip which I do not like. Purchased this one for my husband. Fits true ... Read Moreto size and looks fresh. Definitely the go to sweater!

March 1, 2022

Everyday throw on

I love a good quarter zip pullover. Its better suited for mild to colder weather. However, stronger winds will slightly penetrate the material. Still one of the most comfy and versatile pullovers. Wish that the hood was either a bit smaller or had feature to adjust. Overall though, highly recommend.

February 27, 2022

Excellent fleece

I have so many fleece jacket but this one become my favorite its very comfy warm stylish thanks Patagonia.

February 17, 2022

Great for dog walking

I bought a previous version of this and absolutely love it, especially the pouch and the hood. I walk my dog in it every chilly morning, put my coffee in the pouch for drinking at the park when he plays with his friends. It is super warm on these chilly AZ 30 degree mornings. I am so glad I got it.

February 17, 2022

Super Warm

Warm, comfortable, cosy. I wish Patagonia had pants to match.

Response from Patagonia
February 23, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Ken! While we don't have much inventory of fleece pants at the moment, we hope you'll check back with us in late Summer or early Fall for new 2022 product. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review!

February 7, 2022

Fit

I actually return the item its fits the way it supposed to. But I am a 3xl. Hopefully Patagonia makes a bigger size next year then I will be buying 3 of them

February 1, 2022

Impressed

Patagonia pulls through with this stylish and warm pullover sweatshirt. I love the styling with the large kangaroo pocket in front and hood. Its plenty warm for most Southern California winter days. If you live elsewhere, you probably would want to layer. Its roomy enough to do that comfortably though. Great sweatshirt!

January 12, 2022

Soft and warm

I've always wanted one of these because they look comfortable. This one is. Fits great, fells soft, and keeps me warm. Never want to take it off.

January 10, 2022

Best hoodie

My go to hoodie. Fashionable compared to other typical hoodies. Warm like other hoodies, but with capability of adjusting warmth using 1/2 zip. Highly recommended.

January 9, 2022

indoor good/outdoor unsatisfactory

I purchase both large and medium, kept the medium bc it fit perfect and was told it would not shrink. I hand wash and air dry (no dryer or washer) It did shrink some and now a bit snug. It works good for me indoors (cold in the morning I heat with a wood stove) but on my daily walk the hood isn't sufficient bc no draw string, if it's a bi... Read Moret windy my face will be cold, so this hoody does not work for me outdoors but nice indoors but it shrunk and now a bit snug, I'm thinking maybe return and get large and let it shrink, wish it had a draw string, seeking the perfect hoody for warmth, i know it's out there.

Response from Patagonia
January 19, 2022

Hi Joe, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that the pullover shrunk a bit and is now a bit snug. Also, we're bummed to hear that its not quite warm enough for your outdoor use. The feedback regarding adding a drawstring is greatly appreciated and we'll pass this along to our design crew. You're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the medium for a size large if you decide its too small.

January 7, 2022

Feels good

Love the fit and feel.

January 4, 2022

Great Fleece hoodie

I was gifted a thrift store fleece along time ago, that has definitely seen better days. I bought this to upgrade, the fabric and pocket/kangaroo pouch are amazing improvements! Definitely would recommend to a friend

January 4, 2022

Very cozy

This hoodie is very versatile and cozy yet still fashionable.

December 31, 2021

Very warm

First thoughts were that the cotton fuzziness of the jacket wouldnt hold up. I was wrong. A great casual coffee shop jacket. I love it. Even after several washes its holding up. A great gift too.

November 22, 2021

Super soft hoodie

Ive been eyeing a few of the thicker fleece items from Patagonia: this hoodie, a Retro-X jacket, or their retro pile full zip jacket. Both the Retro-X jacket and retro pile full zip were too tight on me with a size medium. When I tried the hoodie on it fit great! And its not a one-off: tried a few of these hoodies and the medium fit me just right. ... Read More The fabric is super soft both outside and inside. The chest zip pocket is a nice bonus. I keep my keys and headphone case in there when Im hiking or walking through the woods. Most recently I wore this on a very windy Chicago day. Temps were in the low 50s and the hoodie performed well. I wore only a t-shirt underneath it and my core stayed warm while my arms got a little cold. I think its because the fabric isnt backed by anything (like with the Retro-X jacket): wind can still get through when its blowing strong enough. But thats remedied easily enough with a long sleeve shirt. Im really happy with this fleece hoodie. I got the Dark Ruby color which I love! It goes well with blue jeans, khaki, and gray pants. Its quite the versatile color.

September 21, 2021

Perfection

This has to be the best fitting, coziest hoodie Ive ever owned. Its lightweight, super warm and simple. The pile is ultra soft inside and out and a nice feature in the pocket. Im a broad fella thats kind of in between sizes. I usually struggle with hoodies either being too short in a L or too baggy in an XL. My shoulders and arms like an XL but m... Read Morey torso does not. This hoodie fits my frame quite nicely. My shoulders dont feel the least bit constricted and its not baggy anywhere. Im also 6 1 with longer arms and the sleeves fit well right on my wrists. Most L size fleeces or hoodies I buy are short in the sleeves, not this one. Love it.

August 23, 2021

my favorite hoodie

i dont know if this piece has been released in the past before ill assume with no reviews it hasnt. i purchased the smolder blue in medium, and just like the classic retro-x pile fleece jacket this hoodie is very warm and comfortable! unlike the other jacket, this has a pile fleece lining. the retro-x lining resembled the bottom of a bathroom rug, ... Read Moreyou know that rubbery grid stuff that keeps the mat from sliding. it was still soft but never understood why patagonia didnt line the inside with pile fleece. i definitely recommend this piece.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches