Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 82 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

4.2/5
True To Size
May 18, 2022

Mom loved her Mothers Day gift

I got the jacket for my mom based mostly on the color. She loves the color and the feel of the jacket. She shows it off when she can and is a little bummed its getting warm so she cant wear it as much

May 14, 2022

So cozy!

Light, soft and super cozy. Great everyday jacket!

May 13, 2022

Great jacket!

This jacket is great. It is comfortable and a wonderful layer when its chilly outside. Im looking forward to wearing it often in the cold weather.

April 30, 2022

Lumpy looking

This jacket has an odd fit. There is a seam which runs above the bust line and caused a funny looking bulge near each arm pit. Very boxy in the shoulders and too snug under the arms. Pretty unflattering on me overall so I've returned it.

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the fit on this jacket was disappointing and we appreciate your feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team with questions about fit, sizing and measurements of any of our other [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece). We'll be happy to help!

April 12, 2022

Very Comfy

I love this jacket, perfect to wear over a turtleneck. I debated over a large or med because a lot of times for me tops are tight across the shoulders I went with the Med and the fit is great. I rember the first time pile fleece came out thanks for bringing it back.

April 4, 2022

Cozy and cute

Cozy enough to enjoy at home but tailored and nice enough to wear out and about. I wear it as a coat and also as a sweater at home or at work.

March 19, 2022

Very Comfortable

In the early morning hours the temperature is still very brisk this time of year - in the 30s. I reach for my Pile Jacket and head out the door, I like how soft it is and yet how warm it keeps me on my leisure walks. Its comfortable when sitting around a campfire in the early morning hours or later on in the evening. I like this jacket, its appropr... Read Moreiate for all situations: fancy shopping uptown or having coffee at the local gas pump, Id recommend this product to anyone. Siti

March 19, 2022

Bit of an odd fit

Love the pink color, very unique and beautiful in person. However, the shoulders are a bit boxy and the length is a bit too long. Great quality as usual though.

March 15, 2022

Cute

Everyone complimented me on the color (pink), its not very thick which I like

March 6, 2022

Cozy cute

I needed to update my fleece. I tend to buy the more colorful versions of things (done with all black), but then I tire of them and want (not need) a new one. I'm challenged with fit - my large nanos are too small and fleeces run big, but I forget which when ordering. Regardless, this is comfy and cute!

February 23, 2022

Warm, not super warm ... perfect for now in NY spring ...

Perfect ... love the color, softness, fit ... re-made I believe ... many thanks ... also love when my clothes do not end up in a landfill ... would like to pass on to needy people when time comes ?

February 16, 2022

Absolutely lovely !

Got this retro fleese for a Christmas gift this year from my kids & I love it ! Perfect color (rose) & perfect fit. Cozy sherpa material. I live in Michigan where the cold winter can be brutal. So I wouldn't recommend this jacket for below freezing weather because it tends to be on the thinner side. But still keeps me plenty warm.

February 13, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

Warm but I thought this was the heavier fleece I purchased over 20 years ago

February 11, 2022

Sleeves for a giant

58, approx 150 lbs. I ordered large because I dont like snug clothes and wanted to be able to wear something with bulk underneath. The body fit was fine but the sleeves are way too long, shoulders are droopy. Not sure who this would fit. Otherwise very nice jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2022

Hi Sarah, thank you for sharing your experience with the Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't wasn't what you needed! You always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you, and if you'd ever like to get specific measurements for a garment our Customer Service Team will be happy to help!

February 10, 2022

Soft

Love it, wearing it everywhere!

February 9, 2022

Perfect gift!

I got this as a gift for a family member. She could not have been more thrilled and it was perfect! She loves it and continues to wear regularly.

February 2, 2022

Fabulous

This jacket so warm and so comfortable, so lightweight. And color is fabulous. Fit well, close my but, not tight, not itchy. Just in love.

January 27, 2022

Cozy

Absolutely love this color! I probably could have ordered a medium but didnt want the fit to be too snug. This is super warm and cozy. My only complaint is that I dont like the feel of the insides of the pockets. Wish they were lined with a more tactile friendly fabric. But otherwise, very happy with this jacket!

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback on the fit, fabric and features of our Retro Pile, Rene!

January 26, 2022

Cozy and good looy

This jacket is true to size. I love it. It is cozy for weather 40 to 60°. It looks sharp too!

January 26, 2022

Inaccurate Measurements

I spent a number of chat visits asking what the length of this was. I was repeatedly told 27 3/4 or so inches. I dont recall the exact number. When it arrived it measured almost 32 inches long, with sleeves proportional. I called to inquire and learned that customer service did not include the collar of an additional 3 inches. This needs to be addr... Read Moreessed for future inquiries, please.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2022

Hi Lisa, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're so sorry the length of that jacket wasn't right for you; thank you for reaching out to Customer Service to return it. The length of our jackets is measured from the neck seam to the bottom, for both the front and back measurements, and do not include the collar. We hope we can help you find something that will work better for you in the future!

January 26, 2022

Super comfy

Everything about it, I just love. Very comfortable and easy to maneuver around the house while doing chores.

January 24, 2022

Warm and cozy!

Love this jacket! Normally Im a large but I got an extra large so I could fit a hoodie underneath :)

January 17, 2022

Great look

Love the blue accents with the cream fleece. Fit is good and perfect layer when I visit family in San Fran.

January 16, 2022

fleece jacket

love the jacket but the sleeves have a tight fit near the lower arm.

January 9, 2022

10 out of 10 gift

Love the color scheme. Super soft. Wonderful. Why Im a Patagonia customer for life.

January 5, 2022

Too big

Purchased this as a gift for my wife and it was way to big so she returned it for a refund. She usually fits a Large Patagonia and should have ordered a medium. Great quality and delivery otherwise I would have given it 5 stars!

January 4, 2022

A Merry Christmas Gift :-)

My wife loved it & your customer service is unrivaled by any other company in the industry. You set the bar as high as high can get. Bravo Patagonia. I salute you.

December 17, 2021

Lint everywhere

Even after I washed the jacket as per the care instruction, the lint comes off and sticks to everywhere - my pants, hair, seat belt, etc. Now I'm wondering if it's a defect or it's just mine only.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2021

Hello Joanne, thank you so much for writing a review and we are very sorry about the experience you are having with it. Shedding is something that does happen with fleece items, but this does not sound like a normal shedding problem. Please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we can get you taken care of!

December 5, 2021

Warm and fuzzy

A terrific, comfortable jacket, that has received great compliments. I selected one size too large so that I can wear a sweater underneath and will wear it almost all winter.

November 30, 2021

Nicer on the hanger than on

I loved how this fleece looks but was disappointed by the fit and lack of lining inside. The fit was too long and the shape is very boxy something about the shape of it didn't feel right. I ended up returning it and getting the Retro Fleece which had a more structured shape.

November 12, 2021

Soft Warm Hug Jacket and Handsome Too

People have commented that this jacket has an odd fit. It reminds me of the fit of the Micro Puff jacket with a tight elastic at the hips and a little puffy in the chest. I would like it better if the fit were trim and shapely like the Nano Puff jacket. Nevertheless, slightly odd fit and all, I love it! It is soft and warm and handsome. I got the N... Read Moreatural color.

November 3, 2021

So soft and cozy

This fleece is luxurious. Its so soft on both the inside and out. I love the gray color. My only complaint is that I wish the bottom was an inch or so wider - its a bit more snug around my hips than I would prefer. But it keeps me perfectly warm and cozy and works wonderfully under my rain jacket.

November 2, 2021

A go-to for warmth

Though a bit big for a size-small, it is warm, doesn't constrict movement and perfect for casual wear

November 2, 2021

Disappointed

The size fit fine. However the jacket piles, sheds & you can see the weave of the fabric in the many bald spots on this jacket. I bought this jacket last January 2021 & I cant wear it at all. It looks horrible. A lot of money for something that is 100% unwearable.

October 24, 2021

Too big

I returned it because it was just too big--shoulders, torso, length--everything. I have worn Patagonia fleeces for years, always a medium. This is the first I've ever returned.

Response from Patagonia
November 2, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit Alice. We're sorry it didn't work for you. This is a regular fit so it does run a bit more roomy than our slim fit fleeces.

September 29, 2021

Thin and piles- Not worth the Price tag

This is not up to the standard of quality I expect from Patagonia. It's a cute style so I fell for it, but it's paper thin, the wind cuts right through it. And it piles and sheds so easily- my seatbelt was covered in white fuzz from this "fleece." Don't bother.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2021

Hi Lauren, we're very sorry to hear about your experience with the Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. If you're looking for something with more wind-resistance and hardier for cold climates, try taking a look at our Women's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket. It has a windproof barrier and it's moisture wicking. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Retro Pile you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a return or exchange, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 10, 2021

Gorgeous color, super cozy, not a great fit

I really, really wanted to love this jacket. The color (rosebud) is gorgeous, the fleece is cozy, but the fit is just a little bit too sloppy for me. I always wear M in Patagonia, and if anything I normally size up. But with this jacket I'd need to go with a small to get the right fit for me.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hi Katie! If you're not pleased with the fit, feel free to begin a free exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 29, 2021

Super cozy

I tried it on for size, it was close to 85 degrees and I really didnt want to take it off. Incredibly cozy! Styling is classic, nice pockets, the navy was great. I was also want to say kudos to Patagonias customer service. I had been given another item for Mothers Day and it took a while to find the right thing, but they came through with flying... Read More colors. Awesome guys! Cant wait to buy more Patagonia stuff.

April 19, 2021

So comfy and warm

I'm one of those people that always runs between a medium and a large, so I decided to go for a large so I could wear it over thicker sweaters or other long sleeve shirts. It is a little on the bigger side, but it is just so warm and comfy that I don't even regret it. It's one of my new favorite jackets!

March 23, 2021

So comfortable

The perfect jacket for chilly weather. Very happy with this purchase.

March 19, 2021

Cozy

I enjoy hikes. Last hike I froze. I wanted something to keep me warm in all types of weather.

March 19, 2021

Light weight yet warm

I have no complaints. I wear this jacket daily.

March 9, 2021

Cozy

Lovely, cozy material. Kind of a boxy fit, particularly in the shoulders. If one is petite, like me, then it will be a bit long, hitting below the hips.

March 9, 2021

Comfortable

Very comfortable and looks classic

February 27, 2021

Very comfortable for winter season

Bought this for my wife for Valentines Day. Shes 56 and it fits her perfectly. She loves wearing it to work.

February 26, 2021

Great fabric, WEIRD fit

I wanted to love this so badly but its just such an awkward unflattering fit. It was too long and also too tight. It would have kept me warm but I wouldnt have reached for it often, so it went back. I spoke to Patagonia and they told me they are revamping fits for women, so Im hopeful they have discovered that some of us are athletic and not 510 an... Read Mored built like a wisp haha. As always - quality, customer service and mission get 5 stars!

February 22, 2021

Very comfortable

I bought this jacket to wear at work. It fits well and keeps me cozy. It is surprisingly warm and very comfortable!

February 22, 2021

Very warm

I live in Alaska and this keeps me pretty warm in sub-zero temps. Some downfalls: the fluff started falling out the first day I started wearing it. This jacket also runs much larger for Patagonia, I own and wear multiple Patagonia jackets and vests all size M, and this is the only jacket that is so big I have to wear a sweatshirt underneath. I trie... Read Mored on my friend's Patagonia size L jacket that is not the retro pile and it feels similar. Runs very big, fluff falls out very easily, otherwise very warm. My first minor disappointment with Patagonia.

February 19, 2021

Love this jacket.

Jacket is warm for 40 degrees and up. Looks nice on, super soft material. Love this jacket.

February 14, 2021

Not up to standard Patagonia

I Love Patagonia and have been wearing the gear for over 20 years! This jacket however has already started to fuzz/pill on the forearms. The cut is a bit tight in the armpits and the wrist on one side has already pulled on a side zipper...this has never happened to my Patagonia gear let alone the first week of wearing it.

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Hello Risa, we're sorry to hear about the issues you've had with your fleece! To prevent pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your fleece, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a [warranty return or a free repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 9, 2021

Perfect!

I love it! It's exactly what I needed for those chilly days and the navy color goes with everything.

February 5, 2021

Perfect for coastal SoCal winter chill

I love the fleece weight and the fit on this jacket. The color is really nice too. I'm 5'4 so appreciate when jackets aren't too long. This one isn't so short that it rides up, which is great. Not a 5-star review as I'm having a problem with the shedding. I've washed it a couple times now and keep hoping this will help... Read More contain the shedding, which I feel is a bit excessive. I've never had a this kind of issue (shedding) with Patagonia or Polartec fleece. Not sure what's going on, but am leaving a bit of a fleece trail wherever I go.

February 3, 2021

Cozy and warm

I love this jacket! It's way warmer than I had anticipated and often wear it running errands (I love in MN for reference). It's extremely cozy and has the perfect relaxed fit.

February 1, 2021

Super Warm!

I love my fleece.

February 1, 2021

Fun sweater for on the run

Comfy and warm. I mainly wear it as a light sweater for casual use but have used it skiing. It is a little bigger for a S in Patagonia sizing but not overly.

January 28, 2021

Feels like a warm hug

This sweater is great. Not too fluffy, washes well and wears even better. I would recommend it to anyone who lives in a mildly cold area during winter. Im in Ca. And I am totally warm in this sweater!

January 27, 2021

Great material, but fit was a little off

The material is extremely thick and soft which provides a lot of warmth. I initially ordered the small, which fit well everywhere except for across my back. There is a seam across the shoulder blades that felt tight so I returned it for a medium. The medium fits better across the back but now is a little big and sloppier looking everywhere else. Di... Read Moresappointed with the overall fit, but will keep to wear to keep warm in my cold house.

January 26, 2021

FEELING SO GOOD AND SO WARM

FEELING SO GOOD AND SO WARM

January 25, 2021

Warm and comfortable.

Nice and warm and cozy feel. Nice indoors and out depending on the temperature.

January 25, 2021

Perfect jacket!

I love this jacket! Very comfortable, very warm, quality made!

January 22, 2021

Perfect warm layer

Super warm and cute. Nice easy layer for errands or outdoor activities.

January 20, 2021

Great quality, runs small!

Love it! I bought the jacket hoping for it to be a bit oversized but was surprised by how short the sleeves were. I'm a lanky 5'8" so maybe i just have weirdly long arms LOL. It's great quality and super cozy, but if you want it oversized... size up! :)

January 19, 2021

This is the best product I ever buy

Love this jacket

January 12, 2021

Super warm

Super light and warm, love it!!

January 10, 2021

Warm but not fitted

It felt warm but I t looked more stylish online, the fit was bulky, perhaps an XS might be better but did not like the trim down the zipper. A little more fitting around the waist and shoulder would be great. It also ran long on me so a petite version would be nice. Ended up returning and will look for a different style.

January 6, 2021

Cute & comfy

Fits well with enough room to layer underneath

January 5, 2021

Super warm

Mom wearing it happily around the house and when she goes out. Sizing was accurate. She is normally M and a M fit perfectly

January 4, 2021

Everyday cozy

Christmas present for my wife who is always chilly, indoors and out. I got it large for extra coziness, but it runs true to size and is doing its duty keeping her warm

January 3, 2021

too large

Not an exciting jacket for the price. Not warm and runs big compared to down sweaters and vests. also other fleece.

January 3, 2021

Comfy jacket

I love this jacket. It does keep me warm and very comfortable. I'm 5"5 and 120 lbs and the jacket has room to wear a sweater underneath.

December 27, 2020

Soft and warm

Initially bought a large bc of my thick waist, but sized down and its perfect. I love the navy. I want to wear it every day, so Ill probably need another. ;)

December 23, 2020

Comfy & super warm

My boyfriend got me this jacket for Christmas. At first I was oh its cute but its thin didnt think of it anything special. I wore it to the city & mind you its winter time where I live , roughly around 30 degrees and I was so SURPRISED how WARN it kept me without having any layers under! Id say 10/10 for this sweater!! DEF OBSESSED!!!

December 22, 2020

not so great

I am normally a medium in other brands but have consistently worn a large in Patagonia clothing because they run small and narrow. Not the case with this. It is huge. I hope it shrinks when I wash it, There are no washing instructions on any tags or on the website. But since it's polyester I'm sure it can be washed and dried. When the zip... Read Moreper is all the way up, it is rough and scratches my chin. Overall, disappointing. If I had seen it in a store, I would not have purchased it.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Hello Angela, we're sorry to hear this fleece was not what you expected! We include the care instructions for all our items in the inner white silk tags. If you're having trouble deciphering the symbols, you can take a look at our [Product Care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) page on our website.

December 22, 2020

Poor Quality Fleece

Own a fair number of Patagonia products and haven't been disappointed except for this jacket. I've worn it for about a year and while it initially shed everywhere, it's really pilling up a storm. A bit unsightly when the pilled stands are dangling from high wear areas (under the arms).

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Pilling is a common problem with all fleece in high friction areas. You can remove the pills on a high pile fleece with a razor or a pair of cuticle scissors.

December 11, 2020

Love this jacket but it sheds

I LOVE this jacket and it's super warm, but wow does it shed. There are poofs of white wool floating around our car and any dark pants I wear with it.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Hi Michelle, we're so happy to hear that love your Women's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. We're sorry about that shedding, washing your item can help encourage the fleece to settle more quickly. To wash your fleece item, we recommend using cool to cold water on a gentle cycle in your washing machine. You can use a gentle powder detergent to wash that item, and we highly encourage you to check out our GUPPYFRIEND™ Washing Bag, https://www.patagonia.com/product/guppyfriend-washing-bag/GP001.html?dwvar_GP001_color=000&cgid=root. These help to prevent the number of microfibers that may enter rivers and oceans when washing. Once washed, you can place your item in your dryer on a low heat setting. Please note, drying down items can take a while, so you may need to use more than one dry cycle. You’re also welcome to hang dry if that works best for you.

December 11, 2020

Every Dang Day

Its soft, cozy, durable, and always feels appropriate for work, chillin, errands, etc.

December 8, 2020

Comfortable and warm

Beautiful jacket

December 3, 2020

Needs more room in upper body

I wear this jacket more than my other jackets. But I do wish the tailoring featured Ragland sleeves instead of the set in sleeves. It would be a more comfortable jacket for me.

November 28, 2020

Warm and Fuzzy

Love everything about this fleece! It is very warm and light. Highly recommend it for everyday use.

November 19, 2020

very warm

I live in California and the weather is not that cold. This jacket I purchase is very comfortable and very Cozy. I like it a lot.

October 30, 2020

Warm Light and Cozy Transition Jacket

This is a great transition weather jacket. Its warm, light, and super comfortable. I normally wear a small but bought the medium so I can wear a sweater inside. Love the burgundy color for fall.

October 20, 2020

Perfect Fall Jacket

This is a perfect fall jacket if you are looking for warm and light. The burgundy color is lovely. Its like wearing a warm blanket around town. I bought it in Medium (I usually wear a small) so I can wear a light sweater underneath.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches