Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.42 /5

Filter Reviews

All 118 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

4.42
True To Size
February 22, 2021

Absolutely Beautiful!

Wanted one for a very long time, so now I have one and its perfect, comfortable and beautiful and will last me a long while. Thank you

February 19, 2021

Super comfortable

Let me tell you how much I love this jacket. I LOVE IT A LOT! Its very soft, super warm, and I love the color. I tend to buy a lot of the mens clothes, because I am not always a fan of the colors and patterns that are available for womens clothes. I much prefer the colors and patterns available in the mens section. With that, it doesnt matter if ... Read Moreyoure a her, him, or they, clothes are not only for the gender they are displayed as. I do wish there were more similar patterns and colors available in both sections, because the womens clothes do fit my body better, but I am often disappointed in the options available.

February 18, 2021

Comfortable and Very Warm!

I've wanted this jacket for 30 years, even since receiving a Patagonia catalog in the mail as a teenager. I finally treated myself, and it's worth every penny! I love the material and color, of course! The fit is great  a good length, roomy sleeves, boxy in a good way through the torso (good for layering), high neck zipper and effective c... Read Moreollar. The pockets are big and easy to work even with gloves. One thing though is that this is *super warm*. The lining traps heat and blocks wind extremely well! Perfect for walking or casual wear, but too warm for even moderate cycling. (I was sweating while riding in this jacket on a minus-20 day here in Minnesota this week.) All in all, a wonderful jacket.

February 15, 2021

Comfort

Warm and dry paddle boarding in winter SF Bay

February 10, 2021

Chill wear !

I really enjoy the product. Its been tough to find clothes that fit well to someone who is between S and M size bud this item fit great! Its also very comfortable and Im wearing it almost every day.

February 9, 2021

Wow!

Super warm and super light. High quality zippers and seams. No complaints, I even bought one for my dad (62) who has long arms. This coat in large for him fit his arms perfectly.

February 3, 2021

Comfortably warm

Wearing Patagonia for many years here in Michigan and this jacket is versatile for chilly mornings and for bone cold fridged days of winter. It fits well, and is very comfortable to wear anywhere.

February 3, 2021

Love this item

I have been trying to simplify my wardrobe as of late. Ive sold some items and bought this one. This fleece is really warm to start, but also is perfect for layering. Ive been throwing a navy vest over it on -32 degree days and Im plenty cozy and warm. It also looks great casually. Im sure this will stay a central piece of my outer wear for years t... Read Moreo come. Absolutely love it! My only piece of feedback would be this: I am new to Patagonia and I am normally a medium in most things. Im six foot, thin, and have pretty broad shoulders. The medium fits, but it is right on the edge of not fitting how Id like, because of my build. Not Patagonias fault. Im just broad shouldered. Keep that in mind if most brands dont fit you in the shoulders.

February 1, 2021

Awesome piece

Great fluffy and soft fleece. Good as a midlayer or by itself . Cozy and warm and true to size

January 31, 2021

My favorite fleece

I bought this for my son who is in college in the northeast and he loves it. He wears it literally everywhere. And the blue accents are the perfect amount of color!

January 31, 2021

Great jacket!

My college age son loves this jacket for college. He wears it everywhere!

January 31, 2021

Comfy jacket!

Great gift. Its warm and comfortable. I like the fit and the style too.

January 31, 2021

Like the fit and its warm

Great jacket

January 28, 2021

Amazing jacket, warm and comfortable

My daughter has used your products and actually bought a nice jacket from you so I decided to try it. Great buy.

January 26, 2021

Great Jacket

The jacket looks very nice. I usually wear a medium but a large fit best. I plan to wear for casual outings.

January 21, 2021

Excessive shedding

Love the color, fit, and style. Unfortunately, it sheds so badly I cannot wear it.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. You may find that washing it and drying it will reduce the shedding.

January 20, 2021

This one is really COZY !!!

I love this jacket. I have an old very similar one I purchased years ago. After many many years of wear I sent the old one back for repair, as the original zipper finally gave up. the ghost after years of wear. I wanted to replace it, so I bought this one because, like its elderly "brother", also has the same zippered pockets that I love.... Read More Still have the old one, I use for gardening. Patagonia rocks !!

January 19, 2021

Absolute "go to" jacket. Very comfortable.

I found that the jacket runs small, the length is fine.

January 18, 2021

Its good

Nice for winter

January 16, 2021

Order up a size

Great jacket. Order one side up. Im 61 195. Order a large.

January 16, 2021

Shedding. Disappointed.

Got this jacket thinking it would be just what I was looking for. What I wasnt looking for is to be shedding all over the place. The shedding covers the seats and seatbelts in my car every time I wear it. It gets on my clothes too. I really like this jacket. Is it defective? Or is this a common issue?

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback on our Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. Unfortunately, it sounds like you have received defective product, this jacket should not be shedding excessively. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can set you up with a replacement.

January 16, 2021

Lint and Breezy

Sheds lint every time I wear it. Not wind resistant - which I like, because I run hot. But, I dont think that the average wearer would want this much ventilation. Good for indoor wear only.

January 15, 2021

Great jacket

This jacket is amazing! Its almost too warm. Got it for Christmas and it fits perfectly. Will definitely wear this jacket a lot!

January 14, 2021

Perfect.

Fit is on point. Its super comfy and extremely versatile. It is warm and really looks great with jeans and khakis. Ended up getting one for my wife and daughter!

January 13, 2021

functional, reliable

piece to carry me through all kinds of adventures

January 10, 2021

Quality Piece

I love it and its great for daily wear

January 10, 2021

Keep up the good work

Like the gear

January 8, 2021

Fabulous jacket!

The color and style are truly outstanding. The warmth and comfort exceptional, one of the finest items I have bought from Patagonia. Tempted to buy a second one.

January 7, 2021

Retro a Go Go!

Love the retro pile look. Reminds me of my 1st Patagonia shearling pile jacket 30+ years ago.

January 7, 2021

Great Jacket-

super warm and soft fleece - get one of these!

January 6, 2021

Perfect gift

Excelente product, isnt my first purchase from Patagonia. I love the jackets, colors are nice and quality of the fabric is outstanding

January 6, 2021

Great Jacket

Got this jacket for my husband, and he loves it. It is very warm and super soft. I would definitely recommend if you are interested in this jacket.

January 5, 2021

Super cozy

It's cozy enough to wear around the house. Durable enough to wear out on hikes.

January 5, 2021

Super Warm

Love the fleece, warm and soft. Perfect under a windproof jacket for the cold.

January 4, 2021

Love it!

Despite liking the way this jacket looks, I hesitated on ordering because several reviews talked about how it sheds. I'm glad I didn't listen to them because I love the jacket and it doesn't shed at all. Seriously, not even in the slightest amount. It is surprisingly warm, comfortable and light. I wear it pretty much all day during t... Read Morehe colder months in S. California.

January 2, 2021

Looks great, fuzz balls everywhere!

I love the way this looks, but it just isnt the same rugged quality as my other Patagonia gear. It literally leaves fuzz balls EVERYWHERE like a cotton shirt, my seatbelt, or just around the house. Hoping the fuzz balls slow down and it doesnt wither away to nothing!

Response from Patagonia
February 10, 2021

Thank you for the feedback, Joe! We're sorry to hear about the fuzz. While all knit fabrics pill to some degree, this jacket is high pile and may shed more than others. We recommend washing it in cool water with mild detergent, no fabric softener and either hang to dry or tumble dry on low to no heat. Washing it with soft items or in a Guppyfriend type of bag will cut down on the chance of unnecessary abrasion. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you'd like any [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with product care or a return!

January 1, 2021

Warm and cozy

It was a gift for my son and Its perfect! Supper warm and true to size.

December 29, 2020

Soft and warm

Fits like a glove, soft and warm. This is a little different than the classic Retro, which I wear as a jacket. This is the perfect heavy-duty, cool-looking winter sweater.

December 28, 2020

Yes-super confortable .

Love Patagonia products.

December 27, 2020

Stylish Mens Jacket

I bought this jacket in navy for my husband for Christmas. He loves it. Very comfortable and warm!

December 27, 2020

way to small

Very unhappy with the sizing. I have bought this item before and a medium was great. not any more. I have not put on that much weight. Where were they made. ????

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on our Retro Pile Jacket! We're sorry that the size you purchased didn't end up working out for you, we're working hard on streamlining all of our sizing to make it more consistent throughout the line. You can check out all of our suppliers for each item at the bottom of each product page. If you'd like to exchange your purchase for a bigger size, you can start that [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 27, 2020

Lightweight and very breathable

Just bought this as a Christmas gift to myself. It fits well over a single base layer. The inside is pretty clingy to that base layer so it is a bit of a struggle putting it on. I wear size large in shirts and this large fits well, snug but good freedom of movement. The fleece is lighter in weight and very breathable. The pile finish is deceptive,... Read More its a sweater-weight fleece but looks heavier. That makes it good for layering under a shell, but too light by itself unless you are really active. I wore it for walking the dog in 50 degree weather and was chilly. A light breeze cut right through.

December 27, 2020

More colors~

Im waitting for More colors!!! Love it!!

December 25, 2020

Warm

Patagonia is just a great all around company.

December 22, 2020

Best

Best

December 18, 2020

Amazingly light and warm.

This fleece is amazing. Its light, its warm and has become my go to COVID outfit. It does a surprisingly good job of not overheating as well.

December 11, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love this Jacket! I already had a fleece quarter-zip in a Large that was a bit small on me, so I wanted something that was a little bigger. This jacket is slightly big on me, which I wanted in case I wanted to layer underneath! I wear it around the house and on walks and it is super comfortable. The only issue is that the fleece pills a little, b... Read Moreut not too badly. Looks great too!

December 9, 2020

Awesome styling and really warm

Love the jacket. Lightweight, great styling, fits well, although the sleeve length is slightly long, but no real issues.

December 9, 2020

Comfortable and great style

I bought this for my 17 year old son. He loves it and wears to play paddle. Super comfortable. He loves that it is a full zip. He really likes the black color.

December 8, 2020

Great Product and Perfect Size

Super Cozy & Great for Lounge Wear as well as hiking

December 7, 2020

Warm & Comfortable

I absolutely love this jacket. It's delivers on everything it promises and then some. Highly recommended for the coldest temp.

December 3, 2020

Great looking jacket... and warm

I'm 5-11 and 160 pounds. Patagonia tops are a tricky fit for me. I had to go back and forth between medium and small a couple of times, but I finally realized small was the right size. It's just a super snug fit, so takes a little to get used to, but now that I have it's my fav jacket.

November 18, 2020

Good Outer Layer For California Winter

I bought an L for my husband who is 6ft 1 and on the slim side. It fits correctly, but without much extra room for winter wear - ie if he wears a sweater underneath, it feels and looks too snug. Ive ordered the XL instead. Love the quality and simple style.

November 16, 2020

Comfortable casual fleece

Love this fleece, looks great and has a retro style, as mentioned in the name. Its warm enough for days that aren't too cold and makes a great mid layer for colder days. Im tall and skinny and the large fits perfectly.

November 15, 2020

Cozy, cuddly and warm

I bought this at the outlet and didnt realize it was a mens until they told me when I checked out. I bought it anyway. Im 5ft 9 and 145 lbs and I liked how it was longer in the sleeves and overall length than the womens sizes plus I got it in black which they dont make in the womens. Its a little oversized but I love it and my husband wants to hug ... Read Moreme every time I wear it!

November 11, 2020

An old friend, 2.0!

I had an original pile fleece years ago, but it was, er, permanently borrowed by one of my sons, so when I saw the Reissue version in the catalog I jumped right on it! Happy to be reunited! Thanks, Patagonia model decisions folks, good call!

November 11, 2020

Great Cool Weather Jacket

I've been going back and forth on buying a jacket like this for years and I'm so glad I finally made the move. Super warm, but also lightweight and breathable- and hey, looking like a lil sheep is pretty cool too :)

November 8, 2020

Love love love

Ive owed many fleeces. Cant believe I waited so long for this. Im so in love with it. Looking for another,but I love the colors of this one.

November 8, 2020

Good looking jacket

I like the jacket. Patagonia tops run small so I had to return the small for a medium. A little looser fitting than I would like but manageable. One strange thing about this jacket is that the zipper sits about 1 to 2 inches to the left instead of down the center. I'm not sure if I got a bad cut, or if the jacket is meant to be a little random... Read More.

November 7, 2020

The coziest garment I own

Im 6 foot 3, 195 pounds with broader shoulders (44L in most suit jackets), and the large fits pretty well. I find the fit to be snug and even feels a little like a slim fit for me, which I like. The jacket itself might look a touch bulky because of the thickness of the fleece, but it feels snug and not at all baggy. I wouldnt be able to layer much ... Read Moreunderneath without sizing up, but its plenty warm for how I intend to use it. It is exactly what I was hoping for as it is great in that 45 to 65 degree range outside or just hanging out on the couch on a chillier day. The fleece is thick but not quite as soft as the Los Gatos stuff, and I find that to be a good thing. It has got a little more ruggedness and bounce to it which I really like. I look forward to wearing this for years to come.

November 1, 2020

Great but leaves lint everywhere

Its a great fitting jacket and keeps me warm. I really dont like how much lint it leaves on my clothing especially white clothing. Ive had it for a week and its already leaving lint balls all over the place. Love the design and comfort but not a fan of being covered in fuzz balls.

October 31, 2020

Nice but starting to pill on first wearing

I really like this fleece and there are some good features. The fit is good and pockets are spacious. Not entirely thrilled with the fleece fabric which is more open and fluffy. I wore it a couple times before the first washing and it is already starting to pill and form little dangling things. Its disappointing as I know it will soon be covered wi... Read Moreth them. Not the quality of my older fleeces.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2020

Thank you for the excellent feedback, Paul! While all knit fabrics pill, some will experience this sooner or to a greater degree than others. We recommend washing it with mild detergent in a Guppyfriend Bag or similar to avoid other items in the machine. Laying flat or hanging to dry is also preferable. You may use a fabric shaver or sweater stone on the pilled areas. Most importantly, your jacket is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please reach out to return or exchange it.

October 29, 2020

Excellent quality

This is a fantastic jacket! The quality is outstanding and the design is lovely. I wear this doing everything and its perfect!

October 28, 2020

Super comfy, super warm and true to size

This was my first Patagonia purchase and I'm obsessed. I will be wearing this frequently in the Fall/Spring. Highly recommending scooping one of these fleeces for yourself.

October 18, 2020

Sheds Too Much

I have been a happy customer for more than 30+ years, and almost all products I have purchased exceeded expectations. This one fell short. The pile/fleece sheds like crazy (and even after 2 washings). I will be returning it for the Retro-X, which last time I had one, did not suffer this problem. I would think about holding off on purchasing this on... Read Moree until the material choice is sorted out or a bad batch of fleece works through the system.

September 22, 2020

Doesn't stop shedding!

Don't get me wrong its a really nice jacket at first, but after my first wear this jacket just started shedding like crazy. Everywhere I went or even in the car it would leave a fuzziness trail. Ruined a couple of my shirts from the material attaching on.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2020

Hey there, it sounds like you've received a defective product. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can get you squared away.

September 18, 2020

Warm enough in normal cold weather

This jacket is excellent. Good warmth. Light weight. Quick dry. Looks nice for casual/daily wear. I recommend.

September 17, 2020

medium is too loose

hard to fit everyone but this jacket was too loose for a medium. I have older medium jackets but this one just hung too loose, The color is also too sharp, the retro pile is obvious enough but then the hard blue color makes the jacket too standout-ish.

June 29, 2020

Shed like crazy!

I wish never purchased this product. Just like other reviews, it shed like crazy and ruins other clothes whatever I wear inside. Total waste of money!!!

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Mike! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to return the item to us for a full refund. To initiate your return online, check out our returns page here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 18, 2020

warm

The size is a little big , but quite warm.

March 4, 2020

Sheds More than a black lab

The tough bit about this review is that i want to love this jacket. I was hoping that it would replace an old better sweater in my lineup. It looks great, and its a comfortable and solid fitting layer. However, it sheds at an unbelievable rate. After driving my cat while wearing, it looked like the seat-belt was made of the same fabric as the coat,... Read More and bags and backpacks are covered in the fuzz as well. I thought a wash or two would help, but its still dropping fuzzy lint at the same pace as day one. Overall disappointed, because I have a retro pile fleece vest from many years ago that didn't shed even remotely in the same way.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Phil! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

February 21, 2020

Fits like a glove...

6'3'' 186lbs and L is the way to go. Roomy throughout but no floppy extra hang near the belt line. This is ideal for Southern California weather and even as a mid layer for snowboarding. WASH with care if you want this to last. Saw the other review that complained about the material. Hang dry to be safe, if not, use lower heat. Could... Read More see me having this piece for 20+ years

February 19, 2020

Good fit and warm, but sheds and pills a lot

I want to like this jacket, and it is functional, but after spending a few hours in a car wearing it and having fuzz all over the seat and seat-belt, it's tough to recommend at this price point. Maybe this will decrease with more wear and washings.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Eric! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 25, 2020

Bad design poorly executed

I am 6 ' tall and 165 #, in other words very slim, and yet the body is so snug that little else can be layered, also the sleeves are too tight to easily pass most other long sleeves. Then there is the extremely mis-cut front, which has the whole zipper off-set to the left about 2 inches, with the whole collar twisted left. I might have asked f... Read Moreor a replacement, maybe the mis-cut is a one time occurrence?, but the basic cut is way too skimpy. This should have been cut to allow layering.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Jim! We're really sorry this ended up being too tight. It sounds like you may need to size up to a Large. If you would like to try it on, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Medium back to us. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase. Thanks so much for your feedback!

January 17, 2020

Non stop shedding

I really love this sweater. It's light, it's warm and it looks great. However, since day one it has been shedding non stop. Leaving tons of fuzz on my seatbelt, girlfriends car and sweaters. I've only worn it 3 times and it just will not stop shedding.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Hi Ben, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 3, 2020

Wonderful jacket!

Soft, warm jacket.

January 1, 2020

Big Hit for Christmas

We gave this item as a gift and it was love at first site! Wonderful quality, as expected, but also so cozy and a terrific look as well.

December 30, 2019

Fit is weird and pills and frays like crazy

Nice looking jacket and definitely keeps you warm but on me the torso and sleeves were too long and the the material is easily susceptible to pilling and fraying only 2 days after wearing it.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Basel! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is pilling and fraying. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 29, 2019

Very Nice

This was purchased as a gift and it is a really nice product. Now I want one for myself.

December 28, 2019

Perfect Gifts

Everything I ordered was perfect!

December 27, 2019

Fabulous!

Gift was for my husband and he loves it!

December 22, 2019

Great jacket

Great jacket

December 20, 2019

Perfect gift

I loved the design and got it for my husband as a present. I then went to the store and got one for myself too :) it’s timeless and warm, great for the New England weather. I wish the women’s fit was a bit longer as I’m 5’8” but overall it’s great.

December 19, 2019

Perfect

6' 2" and 210lbs. LARGE fits perfectly and according to my girlfriend has a "slimming look". The cut of the garment is not baggy and with my size leaves room for a heavy base layer and that's about it. If you're looking for a fleece which to layer more underneath, consider sizing up. However the garment is sized perfec... Read Moret for a LARGE in my opinion. With is seemly range of comfortable temp range, I will use this for a long time and in a lot of situations. Patagonia continues to impress.

December 17, 2019

So happy

As the grandkids grow , PawPaw gives them a new coat. I like the design and individual uniqueness . Couldn’t be happier all round

December 14, 2019

Great

Great

December 9, 2019

Surprising warm

Excellent quality, modern fit and fashionable

December 8, 2019

great fleece jacket

bought . the fleece jackets for my husband and son, they both love their jackets !

December 5, 2019

Looks great Feels great

Looks great Feels great

December 3, 2019

Great looking jacket

Great looking Good fit Nice quailty

December 1, 2019

Excellent zip-up fleece

I love my Patagonia products, and they last forever. I’ve had a pullover fleece for more than 20 years that’s still in perfect shape. I’ve always wanted the same thing but with a zipper. Not sure why it took so long for me to find it or buy it, but now I’m happy.

November 29, 2019

Excellence

I've had a retro pile vest since the early 90s that still looks new. It's been a constant companion while hiking, sailing or on the hospital wards. Very happy to add this retro pile fleece to the rotation. Lifelong and very happy Patagonia fan.

November 25, 2019

Great Casual Jacket

I was searching for a pile jacket that was more light weight than the poofy ones you find in the women's department. However, I usually like jackets that don't have a hat attached to them so when I found this jacket in the men's/boy's section I was super happy! I wish the ladies section offered more neutral colors rather than gi... Read Morerly ones. Luckily I can fit a boy's XXL size so I also scored on a cheaper price than the men's version. Only difference was inner lining was tan instead of navy and the red zipper is more of a coral color than a dark red like in the men's version. Also, the jacket does create lint so make sure not to wear with dark colors. Overall, I love my purchase and it's a great everyday wear item.

November 22, 2019

Looks cool, for now...

Ordered 3 different mediums in different colors, all fit differently! Patagonia needs to work on quality control. Worn a few times and already getting those little material balls that you have to pick off, like on a wool sweater... warm and looks great otherwise though

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hey there Philip, thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Retro Pile Jacket and sorry to hear that each color is fitting a bit differently. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.) them at any point.

November 19, 2019

Retro Pile makes me smile!

I already own a retro x and got the retro for warmer weather, Love this pile under a shell, alone on cool ventures, casting Flies...works fine...mtb...very comfy...this jacket is a winner...will be a favourite for sure.

November 18, 2019

Great

I like the quality of the jacket and am very happy with my purchase.

November 18, 2019

Too Small

I have a couple of Patagonia pullovers that are size XXL. Ordered this jacket in the same size and it's way too small.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

We're sorry this was too small! You are welcome to return it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

November 18, 2019

Great

Great

November 17, 2019

Pills like crazy

I love the look of the jacket. It’s warm (comfortable down to the 40s with not much layering), and stylish. However, the fibers pill and fall off rather easily. After a day or wearing this jacket, my pants and top are covered with little fuzz balls. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way the jacket is shedding fuzz. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 12, 2019

Great

You know that feeling where you're lounging around on your coach on a lazy weekend with a cozy throw blanket? This jacket is exactly that but instead you can be in public. 4 stars because it runs small due to the elastic bands. Would recommend ordering a one size up.

November 11, 2019

Great jacket. Very comfy

Great jacket. Very comfy

November 10, 2019

Great jacket

Very warm and cozy

November 9, 2019

Great fit

The jacket is just what I hoped for and didn’t disappoint. Warm, fits well, stylish!

November 7, 2019

Patagonia Fleece

good texture and very warm

November 3, 2019

Love it, but hope the shedding stops.

Love the feel and the fit. Shedding from the start, hope that stops.

November 1, 2019

A snowmakers post work dream wear.

love this warm and fuzzy pile fleece jacket. Bought this for after skiing and snowmaking to warm my body. This jacket does exactly what I wished. I recommend it to any cold human. Not wind proof, but it never claimed to be. Thanks!

October 30, 2019

Love it!

He loves the warm thick pile of fleece and the longer leaner styling!

October 28, 2019

Great jacket and the fit

Great jacket and the fit it true to size.

October 27, 2019

A bit tighter than other

A bit tighter than other versions but very warm.

October 22, 2019

Great Product IF you know what you want.

I am 6'4" 200 lbs and have a long 'wingspan'. Dimensions for a large are just right on me, However...the fit is snug to the body like a sweater, it is not a bulky fleece jacket that you may want. I love the fit for going under a shell. The fit on the forearms might be a little too snug for me but I am getting used to it. So thin... Read Morek about the type of jacket you want and try it on to make sure the fit is for you. I am now wearing this all the time.

October 13, 2019

Really like it

This is a great jacket. I made the mistake of believing the review that said they run small and I order an XL. It was too big. Had a little trouble logging on to get a return label, but customer service was a big help. I reordered a large and it fits as intended-snug but it moves with you.

October 1, 2019

One of my favorites

I’m a big fan of retro pile, having purchased and used these jackets from their very first generation. Although the newer pile is shorter, it is just as warm, if not warmer, because the fabric is two sided and denser. The fabric is also recycled which means a lot to me. I really like the use of heavy duty “toothed” zippers for every application! My... Read More only issue is with the sizing.. It’s a perennial issue with Patagonia: the jacket is a bit small in the girth, and too long in the sleeves, for its size. Fortunately the material is stretchy, and that makes it work.

September 28, 2019

retro pile jacket

the fit is perfect and its warmer than I expected.

September 28, 2019

Great piece for fall. Fits

Great piece for fall. Fits true to size.

September 24, 2019

Love this fleece - but make sure to order a size up!

Glad I tried this on in the store before purchasing it... I'm 6'2" and normally wear an XL, but the XL was a big too snug for my taste and wasn't sure it would accomodate anything underneath it if I needed to layer with it. I tried on the XXL and it fit like I thought the XL would. One of the store employees confirmed that the s... Read Moreizes on this fleece run a little small. Excited to wear this as cooler weather approaches!

September 18, 2019

Great jacket- warm without being

Great jacket- warm without being bulky, well designed and comfortable to wear.

September 2, 2019

The Inside

Patagonia makes an exceptional product. This zipper jacket works well but could benefit from one or two inside pockets

August 20, 2019

Runs small

The Ms Retro Pile Jacket runs small compared to my Better Sweater. I ordered a medium. Had to return it. Also don't think it's worth the price so will not be re-ordering.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We're really sorry this didn't work out! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches