burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 269 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

4.3/5
True To Size
January 30, 2023

Very comfortable, wears well

Very comfortable

January 30, 2023

37 Stars!

I rate this product 37 out of 5 starts. So flippin' soft and cozy. And recycled, to boot! My first Patagoinia fleece lasted me 18 years, and this seems just as good.

January 29, 2023

Bad sizing

The small was too small and this medium was too big. Didn't work out.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2023

Hi Noah, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry neither of these sizes worked out, but happy to see you're returned them. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative or provide specific measurements so you can feel confident about finding the right fit.

January 25, 2023

I enjoy this jacket for

I enjoy this jacket for its coziness, wind protection and warmth. I wear it everywhere in all situations. I am a member of the local ski patrol and our uniforms need to be black and red. It fits well under my red patrol vest.

January 24, 2023

Warm and improved

I've been wearing an earlier version of similar design made of recycled synchilla for the past year or two and have been happy and comfortable in my nighttime four-mile walks. This current model seems warmer, at least in its first few months, than my older one. But, to me and my some-times chilled fingers, I am delighted this new one has large... Read Morer gauge zipper, less of a chore to zip up in that dark night chill- makes a huge improvement over the smaller plastic zips on the last one (and several other Patagonia coats and vests I use). Bravo! And still made of 100% recycled fabric.

January 23, 2023

WARM

I bought this jacket for my brother. He loves this jacket.

January 21, 2023

Good looking and warm

I definitely recommend this jacket to anyone. Its very comfortable and good quality. You could wear this jacket for any occasion and you would look good with it. I decided to order another one !!

January 19, 2023

Comically Small

I'm a medium-smallish woman (5'5", wear a woman's m or 6) and I got a size Small. It's so small, I could barely zip it over a tee shirt. In this photo a 6'1" man is wearing a M that looks loose - which is straight up unbelievable. Looks like a great jacket otherwise, I'm sad they've sold out of my prefer... Read Morered color and I have to return this.

January 19, 2023

Looks great. Versatile piece. Not for athletic builds, runs small.

Great hand feel and looks great. Tried both a medium and large and both ran small through the arms and shoulders, unexpected with the raglan sleeves. I would classify this one a slim fitting. More of a women's fit.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2023

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear that the fit and sizing aspects were disappointing. If you haven't already returned it, please contact our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 19, 2023

Everything about the item is

Everything about the item is working for me.....the color, the size, the warmth, the quality of the material and the speed at which it was delivered after i ordered it. the same is true regarding the other item i bought. Patagonia is very well recognized and definitely deserves to be praised. in addition, if i needed some other item i would go to t... Read Morehe Patagonia website first.....

January 17, 2023

OMG ! This was a

OMG ! This was a gift for my 79 year old sweetheart & he loves it! The deep true navy compliments his "Elvis" long white hair. What sold me on ordering was all the zippers and of course your great sale prices. Thank you

January 16, 2023

Insanely comfortable

I would easily recommend this jacket to anyone looking for a casual everyday outer layer thats also perfect for day hiking.

January 16, 2023

Great look

I think its overpriced for what it is nice looking, but for cost I think it should possibly have lining & elastic on sleeves.

January 14, 2023

Not the best Patagonia quality

Have worn this jacket a handful of times. Looks great but the fleece is so thin and has already matted in spots also sheds everywhere. Not really warm or windproof on its own. Bought the jacket because of Patagonias commitment to the environment but the quality is so cheap on this jacket I don't think it will last long let alone the rest of th... Read Moreis winter. 2 stars because it does look good but it just wont hold up to long.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2023

Hi Kevin! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the fleece. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. If you're looking for a similar fleece that is heavier and windproof we'd suggest our [Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23056.html?dwvar_23056_color=NAT&cgid=root). Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 13, 2023

Fleece color deceiving

The black fleece this season, and this spans across all the high pile Patagonia pieces all have a deep navy undertone. Not true black. When I returned this piece to my local Patagonia store and explained. They themselves echoed this feedback and have also had numerous online returns with the same reasoning.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2023

Thank you for this feedback, John. We're sorry that color wasn't what you were hoping for, but glad to hear you were able to return it at the store. Please let us know if we can be of any further help here!

January 12, 2023

Absolutely perfect

Patagonia style- as perfect as ever, as Ive experienced over the past 20 years

January 11, 2023

Very warm & stylish!

Very warm & stylish!

January 11, 2023

Super cool!

very warm, light and soft.

January 11, 2023

My nephew loved this Christmas gift!

My 17 year old nephew wears this all the time since he received it for Christmas! So happy that it was true to size and is great quality.

January 9, 2023

Wish it fit

So soft and warm. Sadly, the Large was huge on me and the medium too small. :(

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

Thank you for this sizing feedback, Marc. We're sorry to hear neither worked for you! We will reach out to you to help you return the Medium.

January 7, 2023

All around jacket

True to size, very warm and comfortable to wear for any occasion.

January 6, 2023

Very warm and soft! Love it!

.

January 5, 2023

Classic Look

Bought this for my son as a present. He loves it!!! He has worn it everyday since it arrived. We live in the mountains of Colorado, so its a perfect weight for those colder winter days. I love the classic look of the retro pile. Reminds me of my old Patagonias back in the day-which are still in perfect shape, Ive just grown out of them, lol. We hav... Read Moree washed it once but hung it to dry. I love the quality of Patagonia merchandise (and the company mission). Im sure hell be asking for future items as this has become a wardrobe favorite.

January 5, 2023

First time upgrade to Patagonia

Overall is not impressed me for my very first owned Patagonia fleece. People review it snug and small but still big for my asian size. Quality nowhere near my gf Patag fleece felt or felt any special compare to my current cheaper cloth brands. Ship back for return.

January 4, 2023

Comfortable with great looking

Colors of the zipper made good contrast to the clothes thus it made the person who wears it still in low profile but also bright in the other way.

January 4, 2023

Son in law loves it

This was a gift for my firefighter son in law. He lives it. Patagonia nut like me.

January 3, 2023

Warm new favorite fleece

Great fleece , warm and great fit.

January 2, 2023

Love this fleece

Very warm and comfortable, I love it

January 1, 2023

Never want to take it off

Very good fit, very comfortable, strong zippers , warm , moves well when I am active.

January 1, 2023

Warm Fleece for Stylish Dads

Bought this coat in the natural color for my dad. He loves it!

December 31, 2022

Great coat with one major exception

I love this coat. Super warm and comfortable however, there is one major issue. It sheds. Sheds and sheds and sheds. I have washed it 4 times so far and it still sheds. I have other Sherpa coats that never shed. I think they need new material.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2023

Hi Rick, we're bummed to hear that you're experiencing a shedding issue with your fleece. If you find this too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [return or or free exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

December 31, 2022

My 14 year old son

My 14 year old son loves his jacket. He said it is very warm. Jacket is very well made. True fit to size.

December 30, 2022

Very warm and cozy

I got this as a gift for my sister and she really enjoyed the oversize feel of it. The arms are long but obviously so since it is a mens XL and she is on the shorter side. i also initially had an issue of a lost package and patagonia sent over a new one right away. I offered to provide proof of theft in my building but the customer rep literally ... Read Moresaid "I trust you friend" which was refreshing and new! living in a big building in a big city package theft is common and usually retailers are way less gracious about it.

December 30, 2022

I used the jacket as

I used the jacket as under- layer under my ski jacket very warm ,but cannot be used as a wind breaker. inside the house perfectly warm. excellent quality ,a bit pricey

December 28, 2022

My son loved this product

My son loved this product

December 27, 2022

An awesome layer!

A warm, comfortable and cozy jacket. It does need something over it if it's windy and cold, because the wind does get through, but is perfect for everyday wear! An awesome layer!

December 27, 2022

Stylish and warm

I got this for my son as a Christmas gift. He absolutely loves it!! Its very light, but warm and stylish. My son is 19 years old, 6 feet 2 inches and I got him a size L. The off white and green color combination is perfect!!

December 26, 2022

Very warm

It's everything I would expect from Patagonia. I enjoy it so much I ordered one like it for my wife.

December 25, 2022

Perfect except ...

Absolutely warm, great texture, great color, great seams and zippers, but ... a smidge short. If you're 6' tall or more, you might find the torso length to be a bit short. Ditto on the sleeves. I otherwise love this jacket. Can you design this in a tall size @Patagonia? If so, count me in for two!

December 23, 2022

Terrible cutting

Was very excited for this jacket when I ordered it but was sorely disappointed when I received it and tried it on. First off, the material is much thinner than I expected so its not that warm. Worst part was the cutting of the shoulder area. As soon as I put it on, it felt like the shoulders were pulled in and it left this weird gap between the sho... Read Moreulders and the neck. Very uncomfortable. Immediately took the jacket off and sent it back for a refund.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with this product. Please rest assured that we will be passing along your feedback to our Product Designers so they are aware of these issues and can take a deeper look into the product.

December 21, 2022

Great looking jacket for a casual cool night out. Very complimentary with many outfit options

Great jacket to wear on a cool night or a chilly evening or day. Not ideal for very cold or windy days.

December 20, 2022

Nice and snuggly!

This makes the perfect layer for cold days. I bought it a bit larger than I needed--thinking I would need more layers--but this is hardly the case. I've had to remove my layers on most occasions because this is so warm! It is my new favorite article about clothing. Thank you! It is comfy and warm, and stylish!

December 19, 2022

Very warm and stylish but material sheds

I really dig the retro look on this jacket. The jacket is very warm and the colors are spectacular. Sadly its not going to survive very long with the way its shedding the wooly fabric. Its everywhere, in my car, on my sofa.

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2022

Hi Venkata, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear your jacket is shedding excessively! Many customers find their fleece sheds less over time. If it continues, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

December 17, 2022

Poor fit

I originally ordered a medium and it was way too small ! I normally wear a medium in all tops . I have a medium jacket I bought from yall 6-8 years ago and it fits perfect . I exchanged this product for a large , and it was 2 times too big ! Since I have sent that item back in exchange for another medium. Still waiting on the third item

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2022

We're very sorry to hear about the sizing issues on this regular fit jacket. The Retro Pile fabric has almost no stretch, so you may prefer one of our other fleece jackets in a slim or relaxed fit, in addition to one that has an element of stretch in the material. We will reach out to you privately to offer more assistance.

December 16, 2022

Annoying to put on - sleeves are not lined

The sleeves are not lined with anything, so the fleece gets stuck on whatever shirt you're wearing under. Bit annoying as its a fleece jacket that goes on top of a shirt.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2022

Hi Christian, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear these sleeves are causing you frustration! We're reaching out to you on email to help you return it, if you wish.

December 15, 2022

Comfy

This is a cozy fleece zip up jacket and nicely detailed. Hi quality like all Patagonia products.

December 14, 2022

Really Confortable

I wear it all the time but different occasions, work, going out, or just chilling at my house. Very stylish that can go with a lot of different combinations

December 11, 2022

Super cozy!

I absolutely love this jacket! I chose the mens version as I loved the combo of the cream fleece with the blue and red trim detail- and I prefer that the mens doesnt have a curved notch at the base of the jacket on each side of the center-front zipper. I usually wear a size 8/medium in womens and the mens size small was perfect! The only odd thing ... Read Moreis the neck construction- there is a VERY steep vertical angle from shoulder up to neck seam- basically, the only way one could fill up the space is if they had massive trapezoids! Im taking it to a tailor to get the fit adjusted, as everything else about it is perfect. So warm and delightful!

December 11, 2022

The Perfect Fleece

Doesn't get much better than this. Wear it everywhere. It is a gem of a clothing article.

December 6, 2022

Great warmth and comfort

It is a great product but does tend to shed a little at the beginning. When sitting in my computer chair I noticed a lot of fuzzies came off of the back of it.

December 2, 2022

My old fleece jacket is

My old fleece jacket is by far a better quality jacket. The new one is very thin in the fleece department. I would rather pay more and get a better quality thicker fleece than what I just bought! I am pretty disappointed in Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2022

Hello Robert, thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear of your disappointment! We see that there was a redesign in Fall 2019 when we went from 11.5-oz 100% polyester double-sided solid shearling to a 8.7-oz Polartec 100% recycled polyester double-sided solid shearling. The intention behind this redesign was to make a softer material with more stretch. If you are unhappy with this change, all items are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so feel free to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 29, 2022

Fantastic Fit

Fits perfect. Warm, but somehow breathable as well. Stylish. Layerable. A great add to my closet.

November 18, 2022

Soft and warm

This jacket provides good warmth as a stand alone garment for cool temps and makes a great layer under rain gear. Very happy with the fit and quality.

November 14, 2022

Nice but...

I'm about 5'10" 195 lbs and large fits great. It's pretty warm but need an extra long sleeve layer if the temp gets down into the 40s. Quality is good as well. But my one issue is the collar which constantly falls in on itself. It should be stiffer so it stays up.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2022

Hey Matt, thank you for this feedback. If you find that this fleece jacket is not working out, you're welcome to begin a return on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 13, 2022

Great fleece jacket, feels so

Great fleece jacket, feels so soft inside and warms so good from cold temps

November 3, 2022

not very warm

This jacket looks great and reminds me of my ski bum days in the early 90's. However, when I wear it in Seattle in a breeze, it is cold. The wind comes right in. I can't wear it alone over a t-shirt when temps are in the 40's. And in the 50's, if it is windy, it isn't warm either. I really want to wear this with just a t-sh... Read Moreirt to get the cozy comfyness, but I have to wear another layer under and sometimes I wear another micro fleece jacket under this one when it's windy.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2022

Hi Chris! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that the jacket wasn't quite warm enough for you. If you're looking for something similar, but warmer we'd encourage you to take a look at our [Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23056.html?dwvar_23056_color=NAT&cgid=root). It's windproof so it will provide much more warmth on breezy days. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your Retro Pile Jacket.

November 2, 2022

Great detail work

Nice fit, I am 6' 2" 170lbs and this slim fit is perfect. I bought a medium. Nice and warm not to bulky. Getting lots of compliments! great colors.

November 2, 2022

Runs small

I am 6ft 230lbs this runs a bit small will return for a larger size.

October 12, 2022

Pilling

I received this jacket as a gift. It looks terrible after wearing a few times. The amount of pilling on this jacket is ridiculous and makes the jacket appear incredibly dirty. I would not recommend this jacket to anybody.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the fabric issue on your jacket! While all knit fabrics are subject to pilling, we have some [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) tips that can help. We'll reach out to you by email to discuss your options to return it. Thanks for your review, Lexi!

October 11, 2022

Very nice

This fleece is very nicely made, comfortable, and warm. The color is beautiful and is accurately shown on the site. I would say that it runs a little small, as I'm 5'6", 150 LBS, and I ended up having to scramble and get a Medium. I have broad shoulders and chest, so the Small wasn't quite right in that area. But in general I&#x... Read More27;m very happy with it and would recommend it. I've only recently started buying Patagonia clothes and I'm honestly pretty impressed.

October 11, 2022

Light comfortable feel. Great design

Light comfortable feel. Great design around neck. Feels a little loose bellow for slim frame. Overall a great product.

September 30, 2022

Shredding

I havent even washed my jacket yet and its already shredding Not happy about it

Response from Patagonia
October 6, 2022

Hi Cody, thank you for submitting this review. A certain amount of shedding is normal with these fibers, but it sounds like this one is doing it excessively. We're sorry your jacket isn't working for you! We have reached out to you on email about return options.

September 24, 2022

Comfy and warm!

Comfy and warm!

September 23, 2022

Nice Fir

This jacket is very nice and warm. I would have rated 5 stars but the color was much darker online than in person. A little too medium lighter green. Was hoping for the photo of a darker green.

September 20, 2022

Bought for an anniversary gift

Bought for an anniversary gift for my husband. Its really comfortable and warm for those fall days

September 14, 2022

It was ok

I wanted to love this jacket, and I loved the martial on the outside. The reason I returned it was because of the mesh material in the inside of the jacket. The material is used for the pockets and it is very itchy/scratchy. I wish it was made of cotton or modal. I would have kept it if the material was softer on the inside.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2022

Hey Anthony, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that it didn't work out with this jacket, and we appreciate your observations. We'll make sure to pass along the word about the interior material used. If you're still in the market for a cozy, soft and warm jacket; we recommend checking out the [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=root).

September 8, 2022

Fast dry

Good, warm, dries fast after rain. Cleaning is a little touchy. May not last if you was often.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2022

Hi James, thank you for submitting this review. In general it's best for your clothing to not wash it too frequently, and when you do, we recommend machine washing this jacket on Warm with a mild detergent, no bleach, and tumble dry on Low. Please reach out to us if we can be of any help at all!

September 8, 2022

Great fit

The 3xl was true to size compared to other 3xl jackets I have. The fleece was just the right thickness. Very well made. The stitching was excellent and I highly recommend this jacket.

September 6, 2022

After-surf warmth

Ive been wearing Patagonia since 1980. The clothing is true to fit and has outstanding longevity (I still wear items I got in 1990!) Beyond the clothing being fantastic the fact the company is dedicated to preserving the planet makes it that much better. The Retro Pile Fleece jacket is a superb piece of attire thats ideal for after-surf wear on daw... Read Moren patrols. I highly recommend it to all!

August 17, 2022

Super warm and perfect fit

I will recommend to my friends.

August 6, 2022

Fantastic Fleece

This jacket is the best by far! The material it is made from is a nice texture! The color is very vibrant! I love my Patagonia jacket I am obsessed and happy I purchased it and at a great price!!

May 15, 2022

comfortable, great fit

Love this jacket have two of them. Want the navy blue when you get the bigger sizes back in stock. Love the material. Wasn't familiar with Patagonia. Use to buy from (competitor) but they didn't adapt with the times I'm about 6' 2" about 270. They (competitors) never had any 3XL or 4 XL. Just sizes for small guys or skinny ... Read Moremodels. I like the fact that you make products to fit big guys. I wear them all the time great product. Thanks.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hey Andrew, thank you for sharing this review! We're happy to hear you're so pleased with this jacket! We've been gradually expanding the size range for a number of our products, based on what customers seem to want. We're currently expecting that New Navy to be back in stock in 3X around mid-June. If you like, you can get on the notification list by clicking "Join Waitlist" on the product page.

May 8, 2022

Warm & comfy

Wore it spring fishing on the Bitterroot as an outer garment. Kept me warm throughout the day, when wind picked up, put my rain jacket over it. All I needed. Would recommend this jacket to anyone.

April 30, 2022

The perfect fleece

This might be the perfect fleece jacket. It is more comfortable than the better sweater and a little more breathable. It is cut perfect and has sturdy zippers. The 3xl runs true to size.

April 28, 2022

I returned the product. Disappointed about material.

Unfortunately very bad quality.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2022

We're sorry to hear that this jacket was a disappointment. We'll reach out to you privately to find out more about the lack of quality in the materials.

April 17, 2022

Cool sweater

Very warm Shoulders and neck are a little strange on the fit

April 11, 2022

Too Snug in Armpits

I liked everything, but the fit in the arm pits. Way too snug for comfort. I have other Patagonia XL jackets and vests that fit well. This jacket is definitely cut differently. My wife is 4 inches shorter than me and it fit her, so she took it.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the fit was off from previous products, and we very much appreciate your feedback on all aspects of the jacket. Please do reach out to our Customer Service in the event that this happens in the future, as we are always happy to facilitate a return or exchange and can offer measurements on alternate products. We're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

April 5, 2022

Just Right

Just the right weight for a jacket. It is very warm and good for wearing with layers . I can dress it up or wear casually.

March 23, 2022

Very cozy and warm

Runs a tad small. But fits me perfectly and is really warm. Got it towards the end of winter, but used it a few times and have totally enjoyed it.

March 12, 2022

bad fit

this jacket was cut very tight in size large. It cut right up into my armpits. All of my other large patagonias [15] fit perfectly. This was the last one in stock. Makes me wonder.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2022

Hi Cathy, we're so sorry to hear that the fit was odd on the Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. We want you to feel comfortable in your gear, so please don’t hesitate to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you find it too bothersome. We'll reach out to you privately, just in case you need some additional help.

March 11, 2022

Very Comfortable

Great fleece that doesn't need much to compliment it. Good for hiking. Chest pocket fits cell phone or other small items comfortably.

March 9, 2022

Poor quality fabric

This is my first Patagonia product. I was surprised by the quality; after everything I've heard, I was expecting much better. The fabric is flimsy, so thin as to be almost see-through. Also, the neck opening is very large and the collar is very high - unflattering, and I know it won't keep me as warm as I would like. It's going right... Read More back.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

We're sorry that this jacket was a disappointment. If you haven't already returned it to your local Patagonia-owned retail store location, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to recommend a different product as well as [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with the return process. Thanks for your review, Jeffrey!

February 22, 2022

Sheds everywhere

This fleece jacket is very comfortable. However, I cannot recommend it. The fleece sheds everywhere when wearing it and that is very frustrating. Not the quality I expect from Patagonia.

February 21, 2022

GREAT JACKET

I ordered the Retro Pile Fleece Jacket, I'm happy with it,it's warm,comfortable and it's a sharp looking jacket. It reminds me of a Patagonia Fleece jacket that I had years back but I think this one is even better. I've been a Patagonia customer and fan for several decades! yep and I have never been disappointed, the brand holds... Read More up to its good name every time I purchase something. My jacket shipped fast too which was a plus. If you order this jacket I think you'll be very happy with it.

February 10, 2022

Comfy Jacket

Purchased to be a grab and go casual jacket for cold mornings. I love the feel of the fleece - its like wearing my favorite blanket. Very comfortable! I look forward to years of use as the jacket becomes an old favorite.

January 29, 2022

Great jacket

Quality products from a quality company.

January 28, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Excellent both for getting out in the cold city and for staying at home

January 25, 2022

Love it

Two of the other Patagonia fleeces that I have had for well over 12 years both had the zipper fail in the few last months. Needed a new one and this be it! Only brand to buy for me!

January 15, 2022

Cozy

Perfect under a winter coat, also keeps me warm around the house during the colder months

January 10, 2022

A warmer, fluffier version of the Better Sweater

I'm seeing some recent reviews complaining about sizing and/or lack of warmth. Having bought at least a dozen fleeces from Patagonia, here's how I think the Retro Pile Fleece Jacket stacks up: it fits about the same as the Better Sweater, is obviously softer, and I'll guestimate is about 25% warmer. I got it in black before it sold o... Read Moreut and like it enough that I may get it in another color. The negative reviews I'm seeing seem to be more of a matter of people ordering the wrong size for their body type.

January 10, 2022

Must buy.

I bought this sweater for my husband for Christmas who loves Patagonia. He needed a neutral colored sweater for everyday wear and its so soft on the inside, definitely worth the price.

January 8, 2022

Walm and toast

Enjoy this Walm and toast fleece which I use daily while running errands

December 29, 2021

Don't Recommend-Please Avoid

I am writing this review on behalf of my husband who is 6'2", around 195 lbs., and purchased an XL. It's probably a 1/5 stars on him, but it's a fantastic 4/5 on me. I am 5'4", 126 lbs and in my 2nd trimester. It's a perfect oversized fleece on me that covers my butt and the shoulders weirdly fit. It has a very fe... Read Moreminine fit on my husband, is INCREDIBLY short, and very tight around shoulder area. I do not recommend this for any males who are above 6 feet tall and especially if you have a long torso. I don't think sizing up will do much help, I would simply just pass on this fleece. Within 2 days of wear, we unfortunately encountered 2 almost identical holes (1 on each side of the sleeve opening), and initially thought they were "thumb holes" but instead saw that it was poorly missed in the threading. Please avoid unless you also plan to hand it down to your smaller-sized partner.

December 7, 2021

odd fit

The M runs small. It was fairly tight, and narrow across the chest/shoulders. I do have broad shoulders but this seemed more like a women's cut. When zipped up all the way the area where the shoulder meets the collar did not actually lay flat -- there was a space on each side between my shoulders and the fabric, because it was pulled so tight.... Read More Perhaps this would have stretched and conformed more to my shape but I returned it and got the Retro X jacket which I love and which runs much bigger (and is so warm!).

December 7, 2021

Perfect

Bought this for my partner and he absolutely loves it. So well made and perfect fit!

November 21, 2021

Looks nice online but not on the body

I thought I would like this fleece jacket. However, I did not. The irregular fit in the shoulders is an odd design. I had to return it. I do not understand why this version fits differently than my other Patagonia jackets.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2021

We're sorry to hear that the fit was so disappointing, but we appreciate your feedback. It's possible that your other jackets have a "slim" or "relaxed" fit and this particular fleece is a "regular" fit. Otherwise, it could be that the raglan sleeve design doesn't work well for you. We hope the return was painless and that we can [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you make a more successful choice next time!

November 19, 2021

Retro?

Feels great, nice and warm.

November 19, 2021

Super cozy

Very nice, warm and super cozy!

November 17, 2021

Too snug

Runs small. Need larger size

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

We're sorry to hear this one wasn't a good fit, but we appreciate the review, Gary. If you haven't already returned or exchanged it, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help!

November 17, 2021

Perfect weight

I purchased for my son who is a college freshman @ a school very close to Lake MI. It can be pretty chilly not only in the winter months but also in the Fall & Spring as well. Hes also in & out of various buildings on campus all day thus prompting him to request to me that I try to find him a fleece jacket that was not only warm but also no... Read Moret too bulky and that can be tucked away in his backpack. This jacket is all that & then some!!

November 15, 2021

Warm

I have an older pullover which I like the fit, feel and warmth. I was interested in a zipped version. So I ordered a medium. The fit was a bit small upon arrival. So decided to return for a large. It fits much looser. I am going to keep it, but will wear my old medium pullover version as my go to. There appears to be a decline in fabric on newer ve... Read Morersion. Still love Patagonia.

November 15, 2021

Thin material

Not very thick material so not super warm.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2021

Hey Molly, we're so sorry to hear the Retro Pile wasn't warm enough for you. We're always happy to help find the right garment for your needs when you call us at 800-638-6464 or chat with us on patagonia.com. With that said, we want you to be stoked on your gear so feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at your earliest convenience.

November 14, 2021

Cozy and pretty

I just got this 2 weeks ago and I wear it all the time. The borealis green is a nice color.

November 13, 2021

I'm liking it

Kinda small in the shoulders, I wear a shell over it in windy conditions and I've stayed warm zipped up to my neck. Comfortable to wear everywhere.

November 12, 2021

Super warm

The fleece keeps me really warm but not overly so and is extremely comfortable.

November 2, 2021

Super warm

Great quality !! I bought 2 one for my son and also for my son in-law for Christmas!!!

November 1, 2021

Rxcellent as always

I buy Patagonia productos all year long from tshirts,pants to jackets Every time I am completely satisfied

October 31, 2021

Great fall wear

I love the way it looks, how it feels and it fits perfect. I will definitely be getting more.

October 31, 2021

Light Jacket

Great fit and style. Extra happy with purchase.

October 29, 2021

Very Comfortable

This is a great 3rd season jacket very comfortable and light. The sleeves run a little long.

October 29, 2021

Really comfortable

Love the look and all Patagonia fleeces are great mine never wear out.

October 20, 2021

Perfect in design

This polar fleece is perfect for winter bicycling and hiking. Full zip front allows ventilation when overheated. Pull long sleeves to the elbow to relieve even more heat.For maximum warmth, zips all the way up to to fully cover neck . Add a polar fleece vest underneath for those extra cold days.

October 20, 2021

Great fishing jacket

I love and am devoted to Patagonia's fleece pile. A little more bulk, but requires fewer layers for insulation and blocks wind perfectly. My go-to in our cold high desert conditions.

October 18, 2021

Love Jacket

I am right between a xxla nd 3xl. Runs a bit big

October 14, 2021

Super warm and comfy.

I got it like a gift and very happy with it. It is very soft and warm.

October 1, 2021

Shoulders small

Im 6,2 200lb climber/weightlifter I got big shoulders and arms and had to size up to xl, and arms are still a little tight. When I tried on xxl the torso was way too big so maybe this isnt for every body type.

September 30, 2021

Nice jacket.

Patagonia's hooded fleece jackets have been my family's go-to jackets for past many years but recently I see a trend of the hood been removed. I still remember years ago there were women and men's R3 hooded fleece jacket that we love so much and wish they could be available again. This jacket fits well and looks nice, and I especiall... Read Morey like the dark burgundy color I picked. But that been said---will definitely adore it more if it comes with the hood.

September 19, 2021

Am a bit short but I still like it

I am a bit short and the sleeves are just a bit longbut besides that it seems lovelyreally hasnt been chilly enough for a proper testI purchased these and the gloves/mittens on a whim when Patagonia stood up to the weirdos in Jackson hole. So thats a first for me.

September 17, 2021

Instant Classic

Super comfortable, warm, excellent quality, haven't taken it off, cuffs keep the breeze out, size M is spot on - @175lbs, enough said, pizza for dinner tonight!

September 17, 2021

Full Zip Fleece

Toasty warm and versatile.

September 14, 2021

Great product

Great product. Very comfortable and serves well during cool and cold (Not freezing) conditions. I got caught in a light rain and the Jacket held up well.

September 12, 2021

Snug and warm

For late days on the beach, this is perfect. Snug and warm feels good as the Fall season approaches. I love the extra chest pocket and the soft plush feel the jacket provides.

September 7, 2021

Nice, snuggling, and warm

Love this jacket. I had a similar one that I wore out years ago. I finally found a replacement. You just feel all snuggly in it, so nice!

September 6, 2021

Really comfy

I love wearing this jacket. It's comfortable and regulates body temp fairly well.

September 3, 2021

Almost There

Bought this medium size retro fleece zip up as I had purchased one, still functional, but showing wear, over 7 years ago & was very happy with it. I ordered a medium believing the sizing was the same. This new model was tight in the arms & a little short in the arm length. Returned it for a large size thinking it would be too large & ho... Read Moreping I wouldn't have to return it, but shoulders & arm diameter & length were good, but the body & waist were loose. Took the risk & washed & dried it on delicate & permanent press dryer settings & it came out much better in the body & waist with no detrimental loss in arm fit. This new retro model is thinner material, but seems to offer the same warmth as my older model. I've only worn it a few times but will keep it & see how it wears. Close, with only disappointments being the change in fit from my old model, which has always fit perfectly, & the thinner material, the latter being only a feel issue with functionality the same.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hi Daniel, if you do feel that the fit isn't working for you, please don't hesitate to begin a return or exchange for the correct size, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 27, 2021

No shoulder seams pulls shoulders down

There are no "shoulders" on this fleece. For example, look at the women retro pile fleece. There are actual shoulder seams that attach the arm to the body of the fleece. The men's don't have that which "pull" the shoulders of the wearer down. I returned my medium because of this. Not a great design choice.

July 28, 2021

Favorite jacket

Perfect all around jacket, so comfortable I purchased two.

July 28, 2021

Super soft and warm

Would recommend this to all. Super comfortable and was exactly what I was looking for

July 7, 2021

Great Purchase

This jacket was a gift for my husband and he loves it! He's tall, 225 lbs., broad shoulders & long arms. The jacket covers the length of his arms well and is roomy enough for him to wear it with a sweater underneath if he chooses. This is his go to jacket for 58/60 to 68° weather. The color is a beautiful green. Easy to wash and care for!

July 2, 2021

Best quality!

Its such a good cozy and soft sweatshirt. First of all I bought a M size and it turned out kinda tight around of chest and shoulders but the length was good, so I switched to the L , which it was a best idea, but kinda roomy in hips. The exchange was also super fast which I really appreciate it!!

May 9, 2021

Mesh Lining

My husband likes everything about this jacket except the mesh lining on the sides and pockets. He's not sure if keys, etc. will rip the lining. His hands are rough from work too and they tend to snag on the mesh lining when he tried it on. He likes the solid linings in your other jackets (he has many) and is not sure why you would have switche... Read Mored to the mesh. It will be the fall before he wears it, so we'll see then how the lining holds up.

May 6, 2021

Excellent jacket

I bought a size Large and it was huge on me. I even had to roll up the sleeves! Fantastic customer service exchanged for a size Medium. Perfect fit now! Thanks for working with me to get it right!!! Gary Smith

April 29, 2021

Comfortable

comfortable, warm, stylish, functional,

April 24, 2021

Happy with my fleece

I happy with my purchase, but l went to the Patagonia store in Santa Monica CA. A week and a half after l got mine on line at full price. The Santa Monica Patagonia store had the same fleece at %30 discount.

April 22, 2021

Quality of fabric has declined

Two or three years ago I bought the pullover version of this product. It is such an excellent piece that I added the zipped jacket version to my wardrobe. Unfortunately, the fabric has changed and not in a positive way. The fabric is noticeably thinner and, after three months of wear, the weave of the fabric is visible through the pile. Also, the f... Read Moreibers must be shorter as the jacket is pilling far more than my pullover. Overall the fabric just appears to be of lower quality.

April 21, 2021

Snuggly

I've purchased Patagonia products for many years now. So I'm kind of biased. This item I only wear indoors. Very comfy. Like the larger zippers. Like the full length zipper. Haven't washed it yet, so the jury's out on that aspect. Don't see any obvious washing instructions. If shrinkage is an issue, then that would be impor... Read Moretant to me. I like to wash most things together(except Wool). I have a Rincon Hoody that I've worn for many years. That thing is practically Bullitt proof. Never wears out. I did buy another Retro pile fleece jacket as a gift for a friend. So that should tell you how much I like it. Ciao

March 29, 2021

Great fleece

I am tall enough so that I generally need tall sizes, but the large Patagonia fleeces are long enough in the arms and bodies to fit me. It has slight stretch, fitting snugly across the chest, but comfortably, and looks sharp. The fleece is thick enough so that with a wind breaker over it I am comfortable outside with the temperature in the 30'... Read Mores. I also have a sweater fleece that is medium thickness and not quite as warm. I expect this one to pill a bit, but it still is my current favorite fleece.

March 23, 2021

Super Comfy and Super Warm

It's my go to jacket now for casual wear. It's amazing in Spring and just great to have on for outdoors. I love it.

March 22, 2021

Great jacket!

Both of my boys have this and totally love - easy to wear, looks great and washes well.

March 20, 2021

Warm Fleece

The jacket is warm and fits well. Sometimes the sleeve length is too long for me but the length and tapered sleeves are good. Not sure about the best way to care for the jacket. Service representatives are always friendly and helpful!

March 18, 2021

Great looking and true to size

I love the style and look of the jacket, for sure. Patagonia makes the best apparel out there, but the shedding on this one is not something I wouldve expected. Im going to try washing it again, but Im hoping putting it in a dryer will prevent the excessive shedding. Ill never give up on Patagonia products!

March 16, 2021

Love Patagonia!

Super cozy!

March 12, 2021

Too short for me.

I like the material but it was just too short. The large was too wide. Would love it if the med was few inches longer in the torso. But patagonia has always fit me that way. It's either spot on or too short in the waist.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on fit, sizing and fabric, Dan! You may prefer our "slim" fit fleece options like our R1, R2, Lightweight Better Sweater or Los Gatos Hoody. Please let us know if you'd like [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return or exchange it.

March 9, 2021

Fuzzy warm

Seems to be cut smaller than older Patagonia fleece jackets Ive gotten over the years. The somewhat looser weave seems to be let a bit more wind through on a windy day. Good as an under layer under a windbreaker though.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for leaving us a review on our Retro Pile Fleece Jacket. If you're interested in checking out a windproof fleece, we'd recommend the [Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23056.html?dwvar_23056_color=KSCT&cgid=mens-fleece).

March 8, 2021

Perfect fit

Great product nice fit awesome quality

March 2, 2021

Perfect in every way but...

I'm 5'4" with a 6'2" upper body. shoulders, waist hands head, I'm a big guy in a short frame. There's a reason for this but a long terrifying story. The only things I can buy off the shelf that fit are shoes, socks, and underwear. If the sleeves were 1.5" shorter and the length was 3" shorter this Jacket... Read More would be perfect for me. It's not your fault or mine actually but if you had a "custom club" at say 1.5 x the price$, I gladly pay the extra for your quality.

February 25, 2021

Fleece

I have purchased several items from Patagonia but have returned approximately half due to restrictive sleeves or overall shirt length. I feel like the sizes are borderline slim when I , personally, prefer a traditional/ baggie fit. Pataloha, from several years ago, was a purchase that sold me on the brand. I also love the baggie shorts and fleece. ... Read MoreThanks

February 22, 2021

Absolutely Beautiful!

Wanted one for a very long time, so now I have one and its perfect, comfortable and beautiful and will last me a long while. Thank you

February 21, 2021

Nice but not worth a buy

This garment peals so much. I think the fabric is hardly standing the test of such a short time let alone a season. Cute colors , cute cut bad fabric

February 19, 2021

Super comfortable

Let me tell you how much I love this jacket. I LOVE IT A LOT! Its very soft, super warm, and I love the color. I tend to buy a lot of the mens clothes, because I am not always a fan of the colors and patterns that are available for womens clothes. I much prefer the colors and patterns available in the mens section. With that, it doesnt matter if ... Read Moreyoure a her, him, or they, clothes are not only for the gender they are displayed as. I do wish there were more similar patterns and colors available in both sections, because the womens clothes do fit my body better, but I am often disappointed in the options available.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches