Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.31 /5

Filter Reviews

All 51 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket

4.31
True To Size
September 18, 2020

Warm enough in normal cold weather

This jacket is excellent. Good warmth. Light weight. Quick dry. Looks nice for casual/daily wear. I recommend.

June 29, 2020

Shed like crazy!

I wish never purchased this product. Just like other reviews, it shed like crazy and ruins other clothes whatever I wear inside. Total waste of money!!!

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Mike! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to return the item to us for a full refund. To initiate your return online, check out our returns page here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 18, 2020

warm

The size is a little big , but quite warm.

March 4, 2020

Sheds More than a black lab

The tough bit about this review is that i want to love this jacket. I was hoping that it would replace an old better sweater in my lineup. It looks great, and its a comfortable and solid fitting layer. However, it sheds at an unbelievable rate. After driving my cat while wearing, it looked like the seat-belt was made of the same fabric as the coat,... Read More and bags and backpacks are covered in the fuzz as well. I thought a wash or two would help, but its still dropping fuzzy lint at the same pace as day one. Overall disappointed, because I have a retro pile fleece vest from many years ago that didn't shed even remotely in the same way.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Phil! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

February 21, 2020

Fits like a glove...

6'3'' 186lbs and L is the way to go. Roomy throughout but no floppy extra hang near the belt line. This is ideal for Southern California weather and even as a mid layer for snowboarding. WASH with care if you want this to last. Saw the other review that complained about the material. Hang dry to be safe, if not, use lower heat. Could... Read More see me having this piece for 20+ years

February 19, 2020

Good fit and warm, but sheds and pills a lot

I want to like this jacket, and it is functional, but after spending a few hours in a car wearing it and having fuzz all over the seat and seat-belt, it's tough to recommend at this price point. Maybe this will decrease with more wear and washings.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Eric! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 25, 2020

Bad design poorly executed

I am 6 ' tall and 165 #, in other words very slim, and yet the body is so snug that little else can be layered, also the sleeves are too tight to easily pass most other long sleeves. Then there is the extremely mis-cut front, which has the whole zipper off-set to the left about 2 inches, with the whole collar twisted left. I might have asked f... Read Moreor a replacement, maybe the mis-cut is a one time occurrence?, but the basic cut is way too skimpy. This should have been cut to allow layering.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Jim! We're really sorry this ended up being too tight. It sounds like you may need to size up to a Large. If you would like to try it on, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Medium back to us. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase. Thanks so much for your feedback!

January 17, 2020

Non stop shedding

I really love this sweater. It's light, it's warm and it looks great. However, since day one it has been shedding non stop. Leaving tons of fuzz on my seatbelt, girlfriends car and sweaters. I've only worn it 3 times and it just will not stop shedding.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Hi Ben, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 3, 2020

Wonderful jacket!

Soft, warm jacket.

January 1, 2020

Big Hit for Christmas

We gave this item as a gift and it was love at first site! Wonderful quality, as expected, but also so cozy and a terrific look as well.

December 30, 2019

Fit is weird and pills and frays like crazy

Nice looking jacket and definitely keeps you warm but on me the torso and sleeves were too long and the the material is easily susceptible to pilling and fraying only 2 days after wearing it.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Basel! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is pilling and fraying. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 29, 2019

Very Nice

This was purchased as a gift and it is a really nice product. Now I want one for myself.

December 28, 2019

Perfect Gifts

Everything I ordered was perfect!

December 27, 2019

Fabulous!

Gift was for my husband and he loves it!

December 22, 2019

Great jacket

Great jacket

December 20, 2019

Perfect gift

I loved the design and got it for my husband as a present. I then went to the store and got one for myself too :) it’s timeless and warm, great for the New England weather. I wish the women’s fit was a bit longer as I’m 5’8” but overall it’s great.

December 19, 2019

Perfect

6' 2" and 210lbs. LARGE fits perfectly and according to my girlfriend has a "slimming look". The cut of the garment is not baggy and with my size leaves room for a heavy base layer and that's about it. If you're looking for a fleece which to layer more underneath, consider sizing up. However the garment is sized perfec... Read Moret for a LARGE in my opinion. With is seemly range of comfortable temp range, I will use this for a long time and in a lot of situations. Patagonia continues to impress.

December 17, 2019

So happy

As the grandkids grow , PawPaw gives them a new coat. I like the design and individual uniqueness . Couldn’t be happier all round

December 14, 2019

Great

Great

December 9, 2019

Surprising warm

Excellent quality, modern fit and fashionable

December 8, 2019

great fleece jacket

bought . the fleece jackets for my husband and son, they both love their jackets !

December 5, 2019

Looks great Feels great

Looks great Feels great

December 3, 2019

Great looking jacket

Great looking Good fit Nice quailty

December 1, 2019

Excellent zip-up fleece

I love my Patagonia products, and they last forever. I’ve had a pullover fleece for more than 20 years that’s still in perfect shape. I’ve always wanted the same thing but with a zipper. Not sure why it took so long for me to find it or buy it, but now I’m happy.

November 29, 2019

Excellence

I've had a retro pile vest since the early 90s that still looks new. It's been a constant companion while hiking, sailing or on the hospital wards. Very happy to add this retro pile fleece to the rotation. Lifelong and very happy Patagonia fan.

November 25, 2019

Great Casual Jacket

I was searching for a pile jacket that was more light weight than the poofy ones you find in the women's department. However, I usually like jackets that don't have a hat attached to them so when I found this jacket in the men's/boy's section I was super happy! I wish the ladies section offered more neutral colors rather than gi... Read Morerly ones. Luckily I can fit a boy's XXL size so I also scored on a cheaper price than the men's version. Only difference was inner lining was tan instead of navy and the red zipper is more of a coral color than a dark red like in the men's version. Also, the jacket does create lint so make sure not to wear with dark colors. Overall, I love my purchase and it's a great everyday wear item.

November 22, 2019

Looks cool, for now...

Ordered 3 different mediums in different colors, all fit differently! Patagonia needs to work on quality control. Worn a few times and already getting those little material balls that you have to pick off, like on a wool sweater... warm and looks great otherwise though

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hey there Philip, thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Retro Pile Jacket and sorry to hear that each color is fitting a bit differently. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.) them at any point.

November 19, 2019

Retro Pile makes me smile!

I already own a retro x and got the retro for warmer weather, Love this pile under a shell, alone on cool ventures, casting Flies...works fine...mtb...very comfy...this jacket is a winner...will be a favourite for sure.

November 18, 2019

Great

Great

November 18, 2019

Great

I like the quality of the jacket and am very happy with my purchase.

November 18, 2019

Too Small

I have a couple of Patagonia pullovers that are size XXL. Ordered this jacket in the same size and it's way too small.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

We're sorry this was too small! You are welcome to return it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

November 17, 2019

Pills like crazy

I love the look of the jacket. It’s warm (comfortable down to the 40s with not much layering), and stylish. However, the fibers pill and fall off rather easily. After a day or wearing this jacket, my pants and top are covered with little fuzz balls. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way the jacket is shedding fuzz. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 12, 2019

Great

You know that feeling where you're lounging around on your coach on a lazy weekend with a cozy throw blanket? This jacket is exactly that but instead you can be in public. 4 stars because it runs small due to the elastic bands. Would recommend ordering a one size up.

November 11, 2019

Great jacket. Very comfy

Great jacket. Very comfy

November 10, 2019

Great jacket

Very warm and cozy

November 9, 2019

Great fit

The jacket is just what I hoped for and didn’t disappoint. Warm, fits well, stylish!

November 7, 2019

Patagonia Fleece

good texture and very warm

November 3, 2019

Love it, but hope the shedding stops.

Love the feel and the fit. Shedding from the start, hope that stops.

October 30, 2019

Love it!

He loves the warm thick pile of fleece and the longer leaner styling!

October 28, 2019

Great jacket and the fit

Great jacket and the fit it true to size.

October 27, 2019

A bit tighter than other

A bit tighter than other versions but very warm.

October 22, 2019

Great Product IF you know what you want.

I am 6'4" 200 lbs and have a long 'wingspan'. Dimensions for a large are just right on me, However...the fit is snug to the body like a sweater, it is not a bulky fleece jacket that you may want. I love the fit for going under a shell. The fit on the forearms might be a little too snug for me but I am getting used to it. So thin... Read Morek about the type of jacket you want and try it on to make sure the fit is for you. I am now wearing this all the time.

October 13, 2019

Really like it

This is a great jacket. I made the mistake of believing the review that said they run small and I order an XL. It was too big. Had a little trouble logging on to get a return label, but customer service was a big help. I reordered a large and it fits as intended-snug but it moves with you.

October 1, 2019

One of my favorites

I’m a big fan of retro pile, having purchased and used these jackets from their very first generation. Although the newer pile is shorter, it is just as warm, if not warmer, because the fabric is two sided and denser. The fabric is also recycled which means a lot to me. I really like the use of heavy duty “toothed” zippers for every application! My... Read More only issue is with the sizing.. It’s a perennial issue with Patagonia: the jacket is a bit small in the girth, and too long in the sleeves, for its size. Fortunately the material is stretchy, and that makes it work.

September 28, 2019

retro pile jacket

the fit is perfect and its warmer than I expected.

September 28, 2019

Great piece for fall. Fits

Great piece for fall. Fits true to size.

September 24, 2019

Love this fleece - but make sure to order a size up!

Glad I tried this on in the store before purchasing it... I'm 6'2" and normally wear an XL, but the XL was a big too snug for my taste and wasn't sure it would accomodate anything underneath it if I needed to layer with it. I tried on the XXL and it fit like I thought the XL would. One of the store employees confirmed that the s... Read Moreizes on this fleece run a little small. Excited to wear this as cooler weather approaches!

September 18, 2019

Great jacket- warm without being

Great jacket- warm without being bulky, well designed and comfortable to wear.

September 2, 2019

The Inside

Patagonia makes an exceptional product. This zipper jacket works well but could benefit from one or two inside pockets

August 20, 2019

Runs small

The Ms Retro Pile Jacket runs small compared to my Better Sweater. I ordered a medium. Had to return it. Also don't think it's worth the price so will not be re-ordering.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We're really sorry this didn't work out! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches