Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

3.98 /5

Filter Reviews

All 56 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody

3.98
True To Size
May 19, 2020

PILING

I love all the pockets but the material starting shedding after one wear. I was wearing a backpack and a lot of the material just rubbed off onto my straps. There was also a lot of piling after one-time of wearing. I am very disappointed with this hoody.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Hello Elle. We're sorry to hear about the pilling issues you've been having. Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to it under warranty if needed.

May 8, 2020

Baggy fit

I bought this hoody because I love high pile retro fleece. Unfortunately I didn't like the fit on me. It was a frumpy unflattering fit. I prefer the fit of the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. If you like the baggy fit this would be a great casual wear jacket because it was very soft on the inside.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in this jacket. If you decide you aren't wanting to keep it because of the fit, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

February 29, 2020

Runs way too big and the pilling is BAD

This is a very cute fleece and I was so happy it went on sale in the color I wanted (red). I put it on and I was swimming in it! I wore it around the house and the fleece came off onto everything it touched. I washed it based on Patagonia's recommendation and it still pilled significantly, way too much for the first couple of days of owning it... Read More. The fit is BOXY, super weird. I really wanted to keep it, it is warm and I loved the overall function but I just looked like "honey I shrunk the kids" character in it! I'm 5'2" 98lbs and I'm typically XXS or XS but this one was just beyond acceptable fit! Oh and it's LONG! The jacket covered past my behind. Sadly I had to return it :(. Hopefully the next year's fit will be more reasonable. It's really hard to buy anything online with Patagonia because the fit is almost NEVER consistent anymore. :( Loyally sad customer.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece shed so much, and that the fit wasn't quite right. We will pass along your feedback to our product team.

February 25, 2020

Disappointed

I want to start off by saying that I love Patagonia and have bought many things from them. This is the first time I have had a problem. My jacket pills and sheds a ton. Even after washing it, my jacket gets red fibers everywhere. It fits great and is super comfortable, I just hate wearing it because it gets red fluff all over everything!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 9, 2020

Comfortable & Pilly

The hoody fits well, is comfortable and good for a variety of activities. I would recommend it highly except that it immediately begins to pill and I'm regularly pulling off pieces that start to dangle. I hope it holds up over the long-haul and doesn't look too ratty after more use.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Elana, thanks for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the hoody is already starting to pill. To prevent pilling we typically recommend a machine wash on warm and laying the fleece flat to dry. Also, a sweater stone is a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred. With that said, if the pilling gets worse and you're not longer happy with the quality you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

January 8, 2020

I like it but the cut is weird

I bought this to lounge around the house in because we keep our house pretty cold. I bought a size L because I wanted it to be spacious and comfy. It is spacious. So first the things I like. It is double faced so the fleece is nice and thick. I like the hood so you can run outside in cold temperatures to shovel snow and keep the snow off your head.... Read More It is very roomy. But there is a really weird cut to it. There is a seam along the top of my back that is tight, when everything else is loose and spacious. It feels uncomfortable across my back, like there is always something pulling back there. It is especially annoying if I reach forward or up for something. So in some ways I am pleased with the quality, but the cut makes this jacket uncomfortable and not what I was hoping for

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Stephanie! Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you found the back seam uncomfortable! If you'd like to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this item, you are certainly welcome to do so. A great alternative would be the pullover version of this hoody, the [Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-marsupial-pullover/22835.html?dwvar_22835_color=NENA&cgid=womens-fleece-casual#tile-12=&start=1&sz=36).

January 2, 2020

so WARM

Amazing jacket, have used it so much already and plan on having it a long time!

January 1, 2020

Nice love it

Always a pleasure to put on and wear !!

December 31, 2019

Perfect Fit and Feel

Purchased for wife for Christmas and she loves it. Has commented numerous times how it fits great and keeps warm/cozy on these cold winter days.

December 31, 2019

Very warm..very soft..great quality..must have!!

Originally, I ordered a size small since my Patagonia size is usually a small for hoodies, but the straight side seems in this jacket made it a little tight around the hips. The arms were also very fitted (and short), in the small, making it difficult to easily layer a long sleeve shirt underneath. I returned it and bought a medium. I’m thin built,... Read More 5’5” tall and weight about 140lbs. The medium fits perfectly and has a relaxed look with room to layer. The upper part of the jacket does have a slightly boxy shape but this is the style of this jacket considering the cut is very straight. I’ve worn this Patagonia constantly over the past few months and even fell asleep in it a few times on cold nights! So far, I’m very happy!! I’ve noticing some slight pills of fabric along the arms and sides from normal everyday movement and gently pluck them off and carry on! I recommend this jacket to everyone unless the straight cut and slight pilling of fabric bothers you. Honestly, if you don’t choose to own this Patagonia you will be missing out on comfort and warmth ;)

December 27, 2019

love the fabric

love the fabric

December 26, 2019

Perfect gift to myself!

I get cold easily so bought this jacket to stay warm around the house. It is warm and cozy with the usual Patagonia high-quality finish. It fits perfectly - I am tall and lean.

December 26, 2019

Ultimate comfy and stylish fleece

I love this hoody! I typically wear a Medium in longer tops because of my hips and the Medium fits very well. My only gripe is that the sleeves are a tad short for my long arms, but that is fairly typical for me. The fleece is soft and warm. I love the chestnut color. I will thoroughly enjoy wearing this for years.

December 25, 2019

Cute and comfortable

I bought this to wear alone or over the matching vest. It looks great, and is very comfortable. I plan on wearing them to Alaska.

December 22, 2019

Always get compliments and love wearing it.

Haven’t one in brown color which looks and feels very comfortable. Just ordered one for myself in red. Been waiting for this color. It is my favorite. Looking forward to Christmas so I can finally wear it. Women’s large.

December 21, 2019

Retro gift for mellenial

Bought for my 25 year old daughter in law . She wanted the Sherpa style. Well made and a lot of nice colors. I do like the retro look of the Sherpa.

December 19, 2019

couldn't be happier!

couldn't be happier!

December 15, 2019

Jacket fit fine. Bit long

Jacket fit fine. Bit long but I am only 5’2”. Comfy but warm up quickly. Have yet to try it back east. Hood helps offset the cold.

December 14, 2019

Loving it!

Super comfy, warm, and cool

December 13, 2019

Odd fit

I usually wear a XS or S in Patagonia, ordered this in an XS. It was very comfortable, warm, a great material, shed a little bit, but unfortunately the fit was too uncomfortable for me to keep it. The length was good, but the bottom of the jacket felt very boxy and large, while the arms were tiny. I didn't mind the boxier fit on the bottom, bu... Read Moret the arms became too difficult. It was hard to get the jacket on or off without having to hold onto, pull on, or rearrange my shirt underneath. Especially wearing a watch, the arms (specifically the forearms) were just too tight and I felt like the arms were pulling on the shoulders and the rest of the jacket. It became a jacket I could not wear with other layers underneath comfortably. The size S had more room in the arms, but still clung to me too tightly, and at that size the boxier bottom was much too large.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

We're sad to hear this hoody didn't work out for you! We definitely understand though and appreciate your feedback. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

December 9, 2019

Fuzzy Wazzhe

Cute details and this thing is WARM, only needed a t-shirt under it. I am always a Medium however the medium core was too big/bunched up. So I got a Small. Core area fits perfect but sleeves are tight....I do recommend trying this on before if possible

December 8, 2019

W's Retro Pile Hoody

Love this hoody. It fits well and is very comfortable and cozy. I ordered it in Molten Lava which is a great color.

December 7, 2019

Can’t take it off

This is beautiful and warm. Ever since it was delivered, I’ve worn it every day. No shedding yet. I love the red color and it’s definitely warmer than my other fleeces and sweaters. Great for under a windbreaker too. Got the XS and I’m usually in between s and CS. It fit well.

December 5, 2019

Material shed quite a bit.

Material shed quite a bit. I had to wash to reduce shedding onto my pants shirt and car seatbelt. Still shedding after washing. Very warm however wouldn’t recommend

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way your hoody is shedding. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 5, 2019

Love the color

Love the color so much, super comfy, only downside little red puff balls do come off, as stated in previous reviews, even after washing, can't wear in the car as it covers the seatbelt in puffy red lint balls! Still the color is great so will keep!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 2, 2019

bummer

Love the blue color and chunky fleece but pretty bummed on the inside seams. Not sure if it's a new material but unless you're wearing long sleeves the inside seam is extremely uncomfortable and distractingly scratchy in the arms and neck. Never had any issues with quality in other products but the seam and major shedding/pilling after 2 ... Read Morewears is a bummer.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi CC, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hoody. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it.

December 1, 2019

Comfy and Cute

Super cute and plenty warm enough for Santa Cruz winters. I've virtually worn it every day since I got it. Probably could have fit in a small (130 lbs, big chest) but I like it roomy for layering so opted for a small.

November 28, 2019

Patagonia fever

This is the most beautiful jacket!! Very warm and the heather grey is gorgeous, git it git my granddaughter and she loves it

November 24, 2019

Love it, Love it, Love

Love it, Love it, Love it! Cute, classy and warm!:)

November 16, 2019

Not worth it

Fur is keep going out!!! Everywhere is fur really my black clothes went crazy. I put it in the laundry two times but nothing is changed I don’t know what to do with this..

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are sorry that this jacket is shedding quite a bit. Usually after a couple of washes the excess fleece should come off, but if you are finding this is causing too big of an inconvenience, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us.

November 16, 2019

Super comfy

I love this fleece jacket! It keeps me warm and doesn’t require a lot of layers. It is soft and very comfy.

November 11, 2019

Love !! Comfy and so

Love !! Comfy and so warm. My dad loves it too. He said he one exactly like it in the 80s and it was his favorite shirt that lasted forever.

November 6, 2019

Great, in theory

I was super stoked to receive this in the mail. When it finally arrived, I was both cozy and warm inside of the soft, luxurious fleece this jacket provides. It's really great! As long as you have a 4 foot long torso and tiny arms. I ordered a small, which is usually my size because I'm 5'3 and 135lbs. Needless to say, I was swimming... Read More in this jacket. It was so long that it covered my butt. The shoulders were also oddly broad... I suggest measuring yourself and the jacket before ordering. I will be returning.

November 5, 2019

Sheds everywhere

Purchased this for my wife and returned it as the fabric shed fuzz everywhere; seatbelts, clothes, hair... it was everywhere! We returned it as we were not confident that there would be much fuzz left when it shed so much after only a week or so of wear. Though it was not the reason for the return she also felt the fit was more generous than antici... Read Morepated.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Sorry to hear the hoody didn't fit well and shed more than is normal. We recommend using a [GUPPYFRIEND](https://www.patagonia.com/product/guppyfriend-washing-bag/GP001.html?dwvar_GP001_color=000&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=guppy&lang=en_US&start=1) Washing bag for all polyester products, and following our [product care](https://is.gd/u0SeG0) instructions. We're glad you were able to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) it and we'll be happy to recommend a different item anytime!

November 4, 2019

Perfect Fall Jacket

I’ve been eyeing the retro pile fleece jackets since last year. I finally got one with a zip front and hood. I love it! It’s been my go too jacket since it arrived. I will definitely use this to layer under my parkas for when the temperature really drops. It’s so cozy. True to size, I’m a full sized 4 and the small fits perfect.

October 30, 2019

Love this sweater it is

Love this sweater it is my 4th one!

October 29, 2019

Love it by leaves little

Love it by leaves little fluffs everywhere

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're sorry to hear about your fleece shedding like that. If it's brand new, we typically recommend giving it it's first wash which will help. If the issue persists or becomes more of an issue you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 23, 2019

This is the best yet!!!

I have bought RETRO before... BUT this is the best! My old retros have been stiff, hard and not comfortable....I love color, texture, hood...ohhhh so warm.

October 23, 2019

Great Fleece with a major flaw

This super cozy fleece is almost perfect. Great style and color, but within the first hour of my wearing it started shedding and piling everywhere. I looked down and half of it had come off on my seat belt! I was extremely disappointed because I loved it, but was worried with this much fabric loss in such a short time, that is would last very long ... Read Moreand wind up looking pretty beat up well before it’s time. I sadly wound up returning it.

October 20, 2019

Inside seam is rough

Love everything about this jacket except that on the right arm the seam is so rough it’s very scratchy and super uncomfortable. Almost unbearable. Maybe I got a just a one off with a weird seam. If you’re wearing long sleeves under it you wouldn’t notice.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2019

Thank you for leaving your feedback, Bernadette! We're sorry to hear that the right arm seam is so uncomfortable. It definitely sounds like this could be a defect in the item. We went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

October 20, 2019

Great jacket for golf

The jacket I bought is soft,cozy,and very roomy.I love the large zipper pockets and the one on the chest.Patagonia quality is the best!!

October 14, 2019

Only wore the hoodie a

Only wore the hoodie a few times. It is pilling terribly . And lining of the pocket was not stitched with the binding, thus loose. Very disappointed quality, going to return this . And one armhole is stitched terribly, quality control should have caught this!!

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, and we are very sorry to hear that this item did not work out for you! I will follow up in a separate private message with return instructions.

October 3, 2019

Normal product

I thought hoody color is not white. So less gray plus white? Therefore the other point is perfect but I don’t like color.

September 22, 2019

Disappointed

I had this in a prior season color, and the fit was AMAZING. I didn’t realize they changed the fit, and I bought it in the new white color. The arms are too short, the fit is boxy and tends to bunch up vs the prior fit. Please please please go back to last year’s fit!!!! It was perfect!

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We're sorry to hear this seasons hoody isn't fitting quite right. You're more than welcome to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 20, 2019

Cool and Cozy

Looks amazing and keeps my sweetheart warm. Great, stylish, and fits her perfect.

September 16, 2019

Perfect for over and under Nano Puff

I wear Nano Puffs for working outside in all sorts of weather and this jacket was a nice addition for when the weather is cooler. I wear it under my nano puff for wetter days and over my nano puff for colder days. Washes really well and I like the over sized fit with leggings. I am 5' 125 lbs and bought a small so it falls comfortably around m... Read Morey hips (36").

September 16, 2019

Awesome addition for work

Bought this to go with my nano puffs I wear for work in all sorts of weather. I wear it under nano puff for wetter days and over for colder days. I ordered a small (5' 125lbs) so it falls comfortable over my hips (36"). Washes really well (hang dry only) and I have only noticed pilling under the arms which is to be expected but not bad at... Read More all for this kind of teddy style jacket.

September 11, 2019

Perfect!

This is exactly what I was looking for. I ordered this in the Pelican color, size large (my usual Patagonia size), and it fit just as described, less nipped in at the waist. I love how much freedom of movement I have in this fleece. Certainly not as warm or thick as the Retro X, but that’s what I was looking for. Love my Retro X fleeces, but find m... Read Moreovement to be restricted. I found no problem with the length of the arms. They’re just right and I have long arms. Sleeves fall at my wrists. The shoulders are a little more boxy than my other fleeces in size large but not so much that it’s really noticeable. This fleece also isn’t as thick as it appears in the pictures. Feels more airy but I’m into it. For size reference, I’m 5’9” and a size 12. I think if you’re looking for a slimmer fit you’d likely be fine ordering one size down in this, bit if you’re looking for comfort and want to layer and enjoy the benefits of a less nipped cut at the waist, your typical size will be just right.

September 7, 2019

Soft and comfy

I wanted that “in between” sweater/jacket. This serves the purpose. It’s great for cool days and nights. Fits nicely under a rain jacket for the days that require more protection. The hood fits nicely and does not obstruct vision. The neutral color and style works well with all types of casual and work out clothing.

September 5, 2019

Beech Brown in Extra Small

I ordered the Beech Brown in my usual size of an extra small. I am Petite, 5'1" with a small frame. The jacket is not meant for Petites, but the sleeves stop at my wrists and the length stops at my hips. The sleeves are not tight, but not too relaxed either. The body of the jacket is described as slim, but it's more relaxed than fitt... Read Moreed. I can wear a light-to-medium weight shirt/sweater underneath without being overly warm. The material is a soft, cozy fleece that's also on the interior and the hood. The zippered pockets are warm and they have room for my iPhone, keys, and other small items. The Beech Brown is a neutral that looks great with skinny jeans/pants, duck boots, Chelsea boots, knee-high boots, and sneakers. My only complaint is that I would've preferred metal zippers especially for the price. I'm happy with jacket and will get lots of use from it!

August 29, 2019

Fit was not as expected

I am 5’9” and 140lbs and ordered a Medium, since all my other Patagonia jackets and fleeces are Mediums but for whatever reason the sleeves on this hoody are shorter than the sleeves on other fleeces and jackets of the ‘relaxed fit’ category. I’m not sure if that was a feature of this retro style or not.

August 22, 2019

Fit is HUGE

I was so excited for this as it seemed to be an updated, more relaxed fit from last year’s style. I ordered an xs (my usual size) but when I tried it on I thought it was a mistaken order; it fit like a size medium, felt at least 2 sizes too big, was so huge. Sadly had to return. The fabric is SO soft though! And the navy color is beautiful. Really ... Read Morewanted this to work, was bummed.

August 20, 2019

Very short arms

I'm usually a small but I ordered this in a M so that I can wear it as a jacket in the fall. The body is really big and the arms are really short. I will be taking this back.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We're sorry this didn't work out! Please let us know if you need help with your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 20, 2019

Perfect for Fall but Not as Fluffly Expected

The jacket is super light and soft. This makes it perfect for fall layering. I wanted it to be super fluffy and thick like the synchilla pullovers. I got a medium which is perfect for pulling on over lightweight sweaters.

July 31, 2019

Fit is off from last year

So I hurried and bought the red color because I bought 3 of these hoodies last season and loved them. But I found that the fit is different from last year. The fit is boxier in the chest/torso area and the horizontal seams across the chest are not flattering. I'm still on the fence whether I will keep it. I bought the small, I'm 5'3&... Read Morequot; and a size 4/6.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with fit and appreciate that feedback. If you end up wanting to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), please feel free to do so. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches