burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 172 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody

4.1/5
True To Size
January 28, 2023

A quality stylish warm fleece everyday jacket!

I love the style of this jacket. As with all Patagonia products, it quality well made!

January 23, 2023

Warm, Runs Big

Bought this in the white/off white color and it looks really nice. Runs a little big but I will keep it coz if I wear a sweatshirt underneath it will still be comfortable.

January 19, 2023

Cuddly Soft!

This jacket is perfect! Love the color and texture. Very warm and cuddly soft! Would recommend!

January 8, 2023

Good

Very cozy

December 29, 2022

Is the hood suppto fit like this?

The body of the jacket fits generously but the hood opening is huge! Is it supposed to be this large? It is so loose and gaps around my face, one slight breeze and it will be off, feels totally unfunctional. There is no way to tighten it, is this how it was designed? There is no picture with the hood up.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Faye! Sadly, this product does not have an adjustable hood, we are very sorry about that. If you'd like, we would recommend taking a look at our Women's Shelled Retro-X® Fleece Pullover as this does feature an adjustable hood while remaining as warm as our Retro Pile Hoody. With that said, if you would like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item, please feel free to do so at any time!

December 29, 2022

Cozy

Warm and cozy! Looks good. Relaxed fit.

December 28, 2022

Almost five stars

I received this jacket as a Christmas present and have worn it almost every single day since getting it! It's a slightly boxy fit, not too warm either. I haven't experienced any shedding or pilling yet but seems like that's bound to happen based off other reviews... My biggest complaint with the jacket is that the zipper once fully z... Read Moreipped is so rough and scratchy, it hurts my chin and lips if I graze the top. I keep thinking I'll get used to it but not sure if I will. I've never had a Patagonia that's done this before. That's why I give it almost five stars!

December 27, 2022

My first Patagonia

I like my jacket a lot. Smooth, comfortable and elegant.

December 23, 2022

Runs too fitted and felt thin and cheap

Material felt very lacking . Didnt give u the cozy fleece feeling at all . Ran too fitted for me . Felt a bit cheap

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Jennifer! We will make sure to pass along this feedback to our Product Designers so they can take a deeper look into this product. In the meantime, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item at any time, as we want you to be completely satisfied with your Patagonia items.

November 27, 2022

Love it but the shedding.....everywhere

I bought this item some time ago and loved the look and how comfortable it is. I have worn it a couple of times and the shedding is terrible - the safety belt in my car is covered with the shedding. The steps on my back pack are covered with the material as well. Not sure how to fix this - I have followed the washing instructions in hopes that this... Read More would correct the issue - it has not - All of my winter gear is Patagonia - I love the brand and the philanthropic commitments which is one of the reasons I love Patagonia - but this jacket is messy and I cannot return it to the local store -

November 16, 2022

Cute and soft!

I got this jacket as just a cozy thing to throw on around the house or if I'm running out to do errands before it gets super cold where I live, and so far it's been great! I saw other reviews that talked about the jacket pilling a lot, even right away, and that did NOT happen with mine! It's maybe slightly boxier than what I'm u... Read Moresed to, but I wanted to be able to wear a sweatshirt under it, so I think it'll be great! The off-white color was a tiny bit darker than I thought it was, but still very cute.

November 2, 2022

Warm but not hot

I live in a cold climate and this jacket is the perfect weight for temps from october through november. I have long arms and am lean so although the medium fits me great in the body, the cuffs come right to my wrist when my arm is straight and have an inch reveal when I my arm is bent. I wish the arms could be a little longer. But the medium is per... Read Morefect - large would be too big. I love the color and the piping (I bought the caramel color). Overall very happy with the jacket!

November 2, 2022

Warm, comfortable, and flattering fit

I'm 117# and the xs fits great. Like my review title says warm, comfortable and stylish hits all the check boxes for me. I have the cream with blue piping. I have received so many compliments every time I wear it, - at least one person says they are going to go buy it. My new favorite uniform. I wear with the stretchy Patagonia cords!

October 4, 2022

It looked promising but its not

I bought this product only few days ago and I wore it immediately as it was getting cold but on my second day I noticed that the fabric down on my hip has already started peeling on both sides. It looked great and promising jacket but now the fabric feels cheap and I dont think it will last even a season. This is my first purchase from Patagonia an... Read Mored I am not sure if I want to buy their products.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hi Nina, thank you for submitting this review. We're so sorry to hear there's been a problem with this hoody! We're not sure what you mean by peeling, but we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn't work for you. We will reach out to you in email to discuss returning it under our Ironclad Guarantee.

September 23, 2022

Warm, Comfy, Great color and has Hood

This jacket is awesome because the color is great and matches with many other colors. It is very warm especially because it has a hood. It also is great for layering and for the oversized jacket look. However I got confused and for some reason thought it was going to be softer like their Los Gatos line. But it is still cozy enough. Minus one star b... Read Moreecause the material piles and leaves little lint balls around (stuck on jacket in places where it got rubbed) or around your car seat/house. Its not a lot but enough to notice once in a while.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the fit, comfort and fabric! Pilling occurs with many knit fabrics and can be mitigated by avoiding abrasion in laundry or day-to-day activities. We recommend washing in a Guppy Bag or laundry bag, in addition to these [product care tips](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/). Thanks for the review, Gina!

September 23, 2022

Perfect for Fall

Cozy and a great fit. Not too form fitting but not baggy - just right! Warm enough for a crisp fall morning.

September 3, 2022

Very cozy

I love how it feels, great jacket.

June 16, 2022

The stitching after 2 wears

The stitching after 2 wears started to break- past of the sleeves were rip of the jacket

Response from Patagonia
June 16, 2022

Hey Marcela, thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear that you're already encountering loose threads on your hoody. We've sent you an email to go over warranty and repair options; we appreciate you bringing this to our attention!

June 1, 2022

Really want to love this but....

I really want to love this jacket. It's super warm and cozy, and I love that. However, I've only had it for a month or so, and it's pilling like crazy under the arms and the cuffs are started to come off. I would love to figure out if this is a quality issue for just the particular one I have or across the board. Based on the reviews... Read More, it's making me wonder if there was a bad batch.

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about this pilling issue and unstitching of your cuff. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 13, 2022

Warm but pills and sheds!!

I have never experienced a quality issue with Patagonia but the pilling and shedding with this fleece are ridiculous. My seat belt is covered in fleece and it is so pilled all along the Arms. I just purchased in April. So disappointed and way overpriced.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Hello, thank you for leaving us a review on the Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. We're incredibly sorry to hear that it's pilling so badly. We've emailed you to gather some information so we could set you up for a warranty evaluation and ensure this is not a widespread issue. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

April 10, 2022

Nice fit

Very pleased and firs good and not too snug either! Just the right size!

March 19, 2022

Love it

Love the color so soft and warm- great after a chilly run

March 19, 2022

warm

Great quality, great fit!

March 19, 2022

Warm, cozy, nice color

Comfortable fit, and doesn't make me look overweight! The carmel color is very nice.

March 17, 2022

very insulating. warm but breathable.

no complaints. just one tip, put in the wash before first wear. it begins leaving lint and fuzz if worn straight from the package.

March 3, 2022

Favorite Every Day Jacket

I live in San Francisco and this is the best jacket for all the different temperature and conditions we face in a day. From cool mornings to warmer sunny days to windy foggy evening. The hood is such a good feature and doesn't slip off.

February 3, 2022

Elastic Seam Comes Undone

While this Hoody is super warm, after wearing it less than a dozen times it looks pretty gross. Pills like crazy. The elastic stretchy seam is coming undone around both wrists. I would take it in to get it sewn, but the last time I did that it took MONTHS to get back. I have been very careful about not wearing this hoody often and have not been rou... Read Moregh on it, but it still looks like it's years old and I've only had it for a few months. I would not repurchase this and am really disappointed for the amount of money I invested in it.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2022

Hi Kyrstin, we're so sorry to hear this Hoody is not performing as it should! If the elastic is coming undone and a sweater shaver still isn't helping enough with the pilling we'll be happy to help you return it. If you haven't done so already, you can start the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 29, 2022

Very Disappointing

1. Fabric looks very warm on the website. It is actually quite thin. I had hoped to wear it as a substitute for a lighter down jacket which I wear a lot the the temps are above 25º-30º. 2. I tried it on over a cotton L/S t-shirt. Almost impossible to get arms through sleeves. The jacket fabric sticks like glue. I absolutely could not get the jacket... Read More off. Finally I had to remove jacket + t-shirt, as if one garment, over my head. After they were off, I was able to work the t-shirt arms out of the jacket arms. The sleeves ought to be lined with a slippery fabric.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hi Roberta, thank you for sharing your experience with this hoody. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. If you like, our Customer Service Team can help you find an alternative that will work better for you. You can reach them at (800) 638-6464 or via secure chat on our website.

January 24, 2022

Comfortable and warm

I wanted a casual fleece with a hood that wasn't too thick and this one did the trick. I can wear it on its own or under my rain jacket if it's chilly. My only complaint is that I wish the zipper was lined. The zipper fabric is a little rough under my chin which I typically never have an issue with on Patagonia jackets so that was surpris... Read Moreing.

January 24, 2022

Perfect cozy, stylish fleece

This keeps me so cozy and warm - I wear it all day without taking it off! And I love that it is a little roomy and an upgrade (in style terms) from my usual fleece jackets.

January 20, 2022

I love Patagonia, BUT...

I received this sweater as a birthday gift and really love the look of it. However, it sheds like crazy and gets my undershirt very harry/fuzzy. Also, the sleeves and sides have been pilling like crazy. I'm afraid to wash it because of how much fuzz there is.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Ambere! Some pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers, especially in friction spots such as inner arm and back (if wearing a backpack). To help minimize pilling and shedding we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get unbraided. To remove pilling that has already occurred, and to make your jacket look as good as new, we recommend using a product like a fabric shaver (gentler on the fibers than a sweater stone), but there are many other products and techniques you can use. In any case, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if it’s not going to work for you we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 20, 2022

My favorite jacket

I got a blue jacket and loved it. Really nice color. The jacket is light weight and very warm. Im 54 and the length of the jacket is slightly longer than I expected.

January 11, 2022

Love it!

so easy to wear, keeps me warm and love that color . definitely my number one pick to wear every day . its a must have!!

January 7, 2022

light and warm

The sleeves /upper part were a bit tight.

December 10, 2021

super warm

Warmest fleece I've ever owned! Bought to use at work in freezers I need to frequent as a sales rep, and as a second layer as a dog walker. Love it!

December 6, 2021

So cozy!

Love this adorable jacket! Very cozy, warm and perfect for work. Love supporting a company with its values

December 3, 2021

Warm and cozy

Pros are warmth, comfort and looks. The only con for me is the boxy, loose fit. Not a fleece you would layer under a jacket.

November 26, 2021

Nice Pike, very warm

This fleece is nice and fluffy, great color and so soft and warm. Does not appear to shed.

November 16, 2021

Lower Quality Than Expected

The fit is good, color is nice. I have had it for a year now and only worn it gently/rarely and washed twice. It is pilling terribly and the stitching on both cuffs is coming unraveled so the cuff bands are detaching. I can sew them back on, however this is not what I expect from this pricey brand.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hi Sara, thank you for sharing your feedback! We're so sorry to hear you are experiencing excessive pilling. [Here](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Remove+Pilling+from+a+Patagonia+Sweater/19439) is a pilling removal guide you may find helpful. Regardless, please know all our garments are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee and you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us for a warranty evaluation.

November 6, 2021

Disappointed

I like the style and fit but I'm unhappy with the excessive pilling of the fabric. I was expecting better quality given the cost and that it's a Patagonia product.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2021

Hello Donna, thank you for reaching out to us. We're very sorry to hear about the pilling on your Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. We do have a handy guide that you're welcome to check out [here](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Remove+Pilling+from+a+Patagonia+Sweater/19439) on how to remove pilling. If you find that you're unsatisfied, please don't hesitate to send back as all items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 6, 2021

Super Comfy and Soft

I love the feel of this jacket. It's a little big on me-I bought a M because I wanted it to be a little baggy and not tight. Perfect for walking my dog in the mornings and evenings, and great for traveling in.

October 18, 2021

Perfect for outdoors

Perfect for colder nights. Bought this for a Fall trip to Yosemite it was perfect for the day. I usually wear a size L but went a size bigger for layering. It was longer than I wanted but not a deal breaker.

September 15, 2021

Well made (of course), very comfortable, nice pockets, great hood

Another excellent fleece from Patagonia - somewhat boxy fit, great for layering, roomy hood. Great for flatwater kayaking on NorCal coast.

June 28, 2021

Great Jacket

This jacket is great for all activities from casual wear to outdoors. It is really warm and thats coming from someone who runs cold, so its great. I would recommend this item.

June 21, 2021

Fleecy & Nostalgic Hoodie

Such a cute piece from the experts at Patagonia. Perfect for Fall fire pit hangouts, meadow walks, apple picking, and sipping warm cider on the deck. Bought a large - that way I can easily layer underneath. Love that it has a hoodie. Warm and soft. Fits TTS.

June 13, 2021

Ended up returning

I felt like this seemed a little itchy and to me like a jacket that had been washed multiple times. I loved the style and the fit, but ended up returning it because I was hoping for something a bit softer. I have since bought another one that is softer that I love. I think it just depends on the fabric you prefer!

May 25, 2021

Doesn't fit/feel like Patagonia quality

The fleece seems cheap and the cut is big.

May 2, 2021

It runs big

I'm an XS in most Patagonia gear but this hoody runs large! I can fit my XS down sweater under it. Because of this, I don't use it for anything adventurous. Still very cozy and warm but bigger than expected!

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2021

Thanks for feedback on the fabric and sizing, Kayla! If you decide you'd prefer a more slim-fitting fleece, please let us know. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return this one!

April 26, 2021

My favorite hoodie

This hoodie is super warm and comfy. The only thing is that zipper a bit scratchy at the top in case you want to hide your chin when its cold. Still love it nonetheless.

April 19, 2021

Super Comfy and Warm

This is a great hoodie for cool morning hikes or late night walks with the dogs. Nice deep pockets with zipper to hold in your mask, keys and phone. Quite warm for most spring mornings in Northern California. Second hoodie-different color. Does pill up.

April 5, 2021

So comfy

This jacket is so comfy and I have room to layer

April 1, 2021

Beautiful Piece

Love it, versatile, functional and really nice on. Extremely comfortable. Normally Im a medium, I can wear a bulky sweatshirt or sweater under this piece. Size down if you want a snug fit. Loved it so much I bought one for a family member. Great piece to have, extremely useful.

March 31, 2021

Super cuddly

This is my comfort jacket. I love it. I really like the hood too. My husband has the mens version and he wishes it also had a hood.

March 29, 2021

Very Nice!!!

I've always liked fleece garments for the most part but find them not too suitable for windy conditions. And I've not been partial to "hoodies" however after wearing the Retro Pile Fleece Hoody I was elated to see that it actually did cut the cold wind, even the hood. It was all I had with me at the time and it surpassed my expe... Read Morectations and I was smiling throughout my errands !!! I would purchase another one and/or tell someone who's considering another fleece garment that they may be surprised!!

March 29, 2021

Great jacket!

I am so happy to have gotten this jacket. I did a lot of research and decided on this one. This is definitely my go to jacket for warmth and comfort.

March 21, 2021

super soft and warm but sheds like a golden retriever

This is a nice cozy jacket but I'm going to return it. It sheds constantly, and worse knowing it's shedding plastic microfibers.... I thought a cold wash/hang dry might help but my t-shirt under the jacket is still covered in fiber, as is the back of the couch after sitting down. I have had many patagonia jackets that I've loved and ... Read Moreused for years, but this isn't one of them...

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. What you're describing sounds like a warranty issue and we're happy to have our return team do a warranty evaluation, this is not the standard that we hold our products to. While we're evaluating, we recommend checking out the [Women's Los Gatos Hooded Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-los-gatos-hooded-fleece-pullover/25245.html?dwvar_25245_color=NGRY&cgid=root) as a cozy alternative that will not excessively shed.

March 15, 2021

Very cozy

Very cozy, right size

March 9, 2021

Nice and Cozy

I had been looking for a jacket like this for a while. I love this one because its not too fluffy and a great shape - by that I mean that it is not too form fitting, not curvy. Good length. Hits just below the hip. The hood is super warm and comfy and the zipper pockets really practical. I wear it out to the park in the morning when Im walking the ... Read Moredog. Right now under a heavy coat but as the weather warms up a little, as the outer layer. Washes and dries well also. Love my purchase.

February 27, 2021

Warm

Soft and warm

February 25, 2021

Yummy!

I love this jacket, and am wearing it every day! My only complaint is that it's beginning to molt.

February 25, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Love this fleece sweatshirt its very warm and comfortable especially for the morning walks. Perfect for shopping and daily activities especially with covid and staying home wearing almost every day

February 24, 2021

Not warm enough

I have prior retro fleece jackets, from the 90s and compared to this new version, they seem a lot warmer. I expected the jacket to be a little thicker.

February 17, 2021

Material is linty

Super cute sweater, I received it as a Christmas gift and I love how it looks, super warm and goes with anything. Im not sure if Im the only one but Theres one thing I dont like about it and its how much lint it leaves on the shirt I wear under, car seatbelt, on the chair I sit etc,. Sometimes I have little balls on the same sweater. I almost feel ... Read Morelike a dog that is shedding and leaving hair everywhere. I have so many Patagonia jackets and sweaters and this is the first one that Ive tried loving but the lint issue is super annoying

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hi Kenia, thanks so much for your review! All fleeces have a tendency to pill but to prevent further pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again.

February 2, 2021

Hmm...

I was disappointed in the fit - the body was very boxy/roomy for a small (I'm usually a S or M) and the sleeves were short. I was eager to have this for the long Michigan winters but I had to return, unfortunately. I'm 5'6" 128 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback on our Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. This hoody is considered a "regular fit". If you were more interested in having a slim fit, we'd recommend checking out [these options](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Cslim).

January 28, 2021

snuggly

Super comfy and warm, I LOVE the hoodie option!

January 28, 2021

Love the fit but...

The bright red is beautiful and I love the fit. However it has 3 major flaws. The stitching is reinforced by a plastic hem that itches and has even left scratches on my arm if worn without a long sleeve underneath. The hood is too small and doesnt fully cover my head. Finally it does pill. If the stitching is fixed, it would be a great jacket. Im s... Read Moreearching for an alternative style.

January 26, 2021

Comfy Warmth

This hoody is great for running around doing errands, its super cozy and warm. I have short arms and based on sleeve length reviews I ordered a medium and its perfect on sleeves. I wear a long sleeve tshirt underneath and its a little snug on my arms and hips. I am 5'4" and 180lbs.

January 26, 2021

Teddy bear status

Im in love with this zip up and feel like a giant teddy bear every time I wear it. Its so warm and also breathable and really holds up in the weather. Part of the stitching came undone by the cuff of the sleeve after a few weeks, but I plan on getting it repaired. This thing is super rad.

January 24, 2021

Cuddly and Comfy

I absolutely love this. It is warm, comfortable and cuddly. This was my first Patagonia purchase and it exceeded my expectations I will definitely be purchasing another in a different color. My only wish would be to have the hood to fit more on the head like my Nortface hoodie

January 22, 2021

Lining along with the hood...

This was the first item I disappointed from other Patagonia products I purchased. Im 110-113lbs and 53 and it is roomy for me, and the main reason I had to return this item was the lining along with hood part was over stretched. It was absolutely defective product; the other color I bought for my sister was not like this and it was perfect. She lov... Read Morees it. I believe that the products purchased via online must be double and triple checked before send them to customers.

January 19, 2021

Great gift

Bought it for my sister, she loves it and wears it daily!

January 18, 2021

Love it

Bought 4 of these jackets for my kids ! They all live it! It is super warm if worn with layers . Only thing is that it is not waterproof ( which we knew)

January 15, 2021

Cozy and Soft. wanna wear it every day

Ordered wrong size. The return process is amazingly fast even during the pandemic/dictator package. Oh yeah, if you didn't know Patagonia makes the best gear. Loyal for life.

January 15, 2021

Warm but inside defect

Cute hoodie, warm and soft. Fits true to size, however inside seam has a plastic that scratches my arm. So uncomfortable it is almost unwearable

Response from Patagonia
February 20, 2021

We're so glad you like the fit of your hoody. Please reach out to our customer service team regarding the scratchy seam to get set up with a warranty evaluation.

January 13, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Purchased as an XMas present for my gf. She needed cold weather wear. She loves the texture, comfort and great fit.

January 12, 2021

Nice fit and finish

I purchased for my gf. She loves it and it fits her perfectly

January 12, 2021

Cozy and nice fit

I still have synchila fleece from 1992, but I wanted a cozy, jacket-like fit and was lucky to find this! Love the good, zippered pockets, the cut and color. My new go-to fleece.

January 6, 2021

Super warm but....

I got this in red. Pros: great fit, keeps me very warm, soft, comfy, and looks great! Color is beautiful too! Cons: the fleece does get everywhere (as stated in other customers reviews) but only if agitated (in my experience) it was fine the first few wears until I put on a cross body purse and the strap just gathered and lifted the fleece and f... Read Moreleece balls were everywhere. BUT.... I love it enough to keep it. I just wont wear a purse or anything over it.

January 5, 2021

Beautiful Color

I ordered the Chicory Red color. It's lovely. Of course, my Fleece is warm and comfy. I'm so happy I ordered it as a present for myself!

January 3, 2021

Cozycould be cozier

Sleeves are a bit short

January 3, 2021

Love this jacket

Love this jacket. It runs a bit large so I can layer.

January 2, 2021

Comfortable

Relaxed fit and cozy.

December 30, 2020

Very nice

My wife loves this

December 30, 2020

My second Patagonia purchase

I like a bit of an oversized fit so I got the medium. The arms were a bit long but the fleece material on the outside is really soft! Just have to be careful because this material I believe is hard to clean out dust/dirty

Response from Patagonia
February 10, 2021

Hi Sarah, cleaning your fleece should be quite easy! You'll want to wash that with cool water on a gentle cycle with a gentle detergent, powder detergent works best. Then go ahead and machine dry that on a low heat cycle or you can also line dry. For more information on care instructions, please follow this link, https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html.

December 30, 2020

Interchangeable with the 3-1 Jacket!

Bought this for my girlfriend, she loves it. I was delighted to find out that it can be zipped into the 3-1 jackets as well!!! If you want more warmth then the liner puff jacket, you can swap it out for this fleece jacket.. the zipper matches the inner zipper of the 3-1 type of jacket. Really stoked to find that out... great interchangeable design ... Read Moretech! Thank you!

December 29, 2020

Retro pile fleece hoody

I was afraid that Patagonia sizes ran small and that I would have to return it. This style fit perfectly and its cozy warm with the attached hood.

December 27, 2020

So soft

Super warm

December 26, 2020

Very cozy and appreciate the new sizing

To start, this fleece is super cozy and the color options are so nice that I had a really hard time choosing. In the past, Patagonia ran quite small on me and I would sometimes size up to M, but this fleece is a pretty generous small.

December 25, 2020

Retro Pile Fleece

Nice thick fleece! And the longer length is nice because it doesnt ride up when you reach for something

December 23, 2020

Sheds like Crazy

I love this sweater and the fit of it. Its extremely warm and great for layering. I don't love how much it sheds though. It gets all over everything. Even from driving in my car my seatbelt is covered in fuzz, any other clothes I wear or hang it next to. I have never seen an item shed so much fabric before. I am quite disappointed with the qua... Read Morelity of it.

December 22, 2020

Outrageous Retro Does It Again

My partner has had a retro vest for almost 25 years and said it was the next best thing to sliced bread to keep him warm and stylin'. So, when he offered to buy me the new retro hoodie, how could I refuse? :-) ... I love the softness; I love the warmth; I love the hood: I love the arm movement: I love the color (well, even a polar bear would l... Read Moreove this color); I love the fabric; I love the P quality and guarantee...plus, I love P's dedication to the environment and putting your money where your mouth is...uber congrats, P, you did it again.

December 22, 2020

Perfect Coat

My favorite coat. Very warm

December 13, 2020

Patagonia Womens Retro Pile Fleece hoodie

I love this Jacket so much because it is light and warm but not ichi... and beautiful Jacket to wear for walking and shopping

December 13, 2020

Nice jacket

I really like the color I wanted a red one for the Christmas season the only down fall is it sheds too much there is red everywhere where hope it stops as I wear it first Patagonia that sheds and I have many of them

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Thanks for leaving this review. We recommend giving it a good wash and dry to slow the shedding.

December 12, 2020

Super cozy and warm. Great color.

I bought this for my picky daughter and she loves it!

December 11, 2020

Super Warm Fleece

I love my new Retro Pile Fleece Hoody! Its perfect for our north east winters. Pockets are always a plus for me.

December 5, 2020

Love, love, love!!!

Bought this to wear to work on cold mornings. Wanted a bit of a vintage look to it as thats more my style. Its perfection!! Keeps me perfectly warm on the brisk mornings and the fit is great! Usually a Small, or Medium. Got the Medium so I could layer underneath.

December 1, 2020

Sadly Disappointed!

I am a huge fan of Patagonia and I was really excited for this fleece. The positives are that it's really warm, fits great, and is so comfortable. It's perfect for really chilly days and keeps me warm while walking and hiking, which is exactly what I had hoped for. My disappointment is that it started pilling the first time I wore it, and... Read More after washing it (on gentle and air drying) once and only wearing it a few times, it is pilling so badly and looks like it's 15 years old. It looks worn out already. I haven't had this experience with anything else I've gotten from Patagonia, so I was really surprised.

November 30, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this jacket! Its so warm for a fleece! It fits great, not to tight in the arms and just the right amount of space through body! Doesnt look bulky, which is sometimes how puffy fleece jackets can look! Would definitely buy another!

November 30, 2020

Cozy & Comfortable

Great fleece for the fall/winter. I bought it because it was warmer than a sweatshirt/sweater but without the bulkiness of a heavy winter coat. Great quality. Very happy w/ the purchase.

November 22, 2020

Cute and cozy

I have worn this practically every day since I got it

November 21, 2020

Super Comforting

I purchased this in the red on sale in a Large to motivate myself to get up in the cold, throw it on over a sweatshirt and walk my dog. I'm 5'8" and a 132lbs and could have gone with a medium but I wanted it long, slightly oversized and comfy. It does fit large around the waist and hips so if you are my size and looking for regular f... Read Moreit you may want to go with the medium. The red is a beautiful rich color and has not shed even when wearing it over white. Hope this helps someone. Will be washing cold water delicate cycle and hanging dry.

November 10, 2020

Cozy and Warm

I do love this hoodie. I have been wearing it since I received it in the mail. I love the color and contrasting color detail. The issues is, after just a few hours of wear, it started to pill and has become matted. The elbows are already worn thin, and I'm worried a hole might emerge. So I'd say the quality is not up to par with my other ... Read MorePatagonia pieces. I do love the lifetime warranty, so if this sucker does get a hole, I'll be sure to bring it back in.

November 9, 2020

Cozy

I love it but arms are short on me . I have long arms but old Patagonia stuff fit better ( arm length ). Keeping it because warm and soft . Navy in pretty color

November 6, 2020

Low Quality Fleece, poor fit for larger sizes

I have a patagonia fleece from 2004 that looks brand new. This fleece jacket was pilling and looked really worn after 2 wears. Almost a year later, I'm disappointed and sending it back because the quality of the fleece is so low, which is really unusual for Patagonia. Also, I find Patagonia is still not great with larger sizes-unless their l... Read Morearger sizes are just meant for tall bigger people. When they grade their pieces, you can tell its done poorly, with large increases across all pattern pieces. It fits my hips but the arms are way too long! Hire more fit models.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

We're so sorry to hear about this disappointing experience, Kelly! Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and we're reaching out to you privately to discuss this option further.

October 28, 2020

Too Long

Wanted to love this, but unfortunately it was just too long on me at 5'3". The waistband hit low on my hips, like halfway down my butt, so it was pretty tight, and sizing up wouldn't help with the length issue. The wristbands were also oddly tight! The jacket is super soft though.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

We're so sorry to hear the sizing didn't work for you. While we don't have petite sizing out yet, we are working towards making a more inclusive size range for our customers so keep an eye out for that! If you haven't already begun a return or if you're interested in swapping it out for another product, please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us!

October 19, 2020

please please add a zipper guard at top!!

Hurts my neck after a while when fully zipped up- please add this back like Patagonia from the olden days!! Otherwise I love this, super warm and love the style.

September 19, 2020

Warm & Soft

Great fleece, very warm and soft. Roomy fit which I wanted for wearing layers underneath. Just what I was looking for.

September 18, 2020

Warm, soft and fluffy.

Super for winter. Cosy and soft with a strong color for brightness. Easy care also.

September 17, 2020

Soft, very warm and comfy

Im 54 140 lbs and ordered a medium. Fits true to size. Can probably wear a thinner layer underneath but not roomy enough for a thick sweater. Love the red color, the hoodie, the thickness and softness of this item. Would definitely recommend it!

September 17, 2020

Warm and fuzzy

Exactly what I wanted. I have a 20+ year old fleece jacket in a L , still great but i wanted XL so it can be a top layer for walks and work as a fuzzy jacket /wrap around the house. Yummy solution!

September 15, 2020

Cozy and warm.

It changes texture on the outside with one wash. I was hoping to keep it a little more like its initial outside softness. Id buy this product again and again regardless.

September 14, 2020

I love Patagonia.

Thank you for the quick delivery. However, one thing that is unfortunate is that I hope the fabric is a little better.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Thanks for your review of the Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. When making products, we keep two very important considerations in mind: quality and environmental impact. We have also begun using more recycled materials which is why the fabric and feel of some items is now different, but still perform well. All our products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you are unsatisfied.

August 28, 2020

Warm, but sheds.

This sweater is quite nice and warm and comfortable. One exception, since the first wear, it just sheds so much that I haven't use it at all.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hey there, we appreciate the feedback on our Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. We are sorry to hear that you've experienced some shedding issues, all of our Retro Pile jackets are currently under quality review. If you'd like, you are eligible for warranty coverage and return. You can begin the returns process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 26, 2020

Wanted to love it!

I loved this hoodie for the first week I had it, but unfortunately it's the only Patagonia item I have ever been disappointed with. I love the bright red and feel of the fabric. But! The fabric still sheds constantly, months later. It has pilled so badly with regular wear that it looks years old and I would never wear it out of the house. I ha... Read Moreve only washed it once and that made the fabric even more nappy and less soft. Finally, the seams down the inside of the arms are scratchy and not comfortable, so I rarely reach for it. Sadly returning because I've tried so hard to love it but can't! Please update the fabric!

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

HI Rachael, we're sorry to hear about the pilling issues! We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if needed.

August 13, 2020

Favorite Sweater

This is my favorite sweater of all time. Yes after a year it started pilling (this is typical with fleeces), BUT I think it continues to look better with age! Plus, I still get compliments on it all the time. This thing is cozy (and I mean real cozying). Its super warm, soft, and comfy. I wear it constantly for camping, lounging, to/from gym. I&#x2... Read More7;m going to buy another one when they are back in stock.

May 19, 2020

PILING

I love all the pockets but the material starting shedding after one wear. I was wearing a backpack and a lot of the material just rubbed off onto my straps. There was also a lot of piling after one-time of wearing. I am very disappointed with this hoody.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Hello Elle. We're sorry to hear about the pilling issues you've been having. Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to it under warranty if needed.

May 8, 2020

Baggy fit

I bought this hoody because I love high pile retro fleece. Unfortunately I didn't like the fit on me. It was a frumpy unflattering fit. I prefer the fit of the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. If you like the baggy fit this would be a great casual wear jacket because it was very soft on the inside.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in this jacket. If you decide you aren't wanting to keep it because of the fit, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

February 29, 2020

Runs way too big and the pilling is BAD

This is a very cute fleece and I was so happy it went on sale in the color I wanted (red). I put it on and I was swimming in it! I wore it around the house and the fleece came off onto everything it touched. I washed it based on Patagonia's recommendation and it still pilled significantly, way too much for the first couple of days of owning it... Read More. The fit is BOXY, super weird. I really wanted to keep it, it is warm and I loved the overall function but I just looked like "honey I shrunk the kids" character in it! I'm 5'2" 98lbs and I'm typically XXS or XS but this one was just beyond acceptable fit! Oh and it's LONG! The jacket covered past my behind. Sadly I had to return it :(. Hopefully the next year's fit will be more reasonable. It's really hard to buy anything online with Patagonia because the fit is almost NEVER consistent anymore. :( Loyally sad customer.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece shed so much, and that the fit wasn't quite right. We will pass along your feedback to our product team.

February 25, 2020

Disappointed

I want to start off by saying that I love Patagonia and have bought many things from them. This is the first time I have had a problem. My jacket pills and sheds a ton. Even after washing it, my jacket gets red fibers everywhere. It fits great and is super comfortable, I just hate wearing it because it gets red fluff all over everything!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 9, 2020

Comfortable & Pilly

The hoody fits well, is comfortable and good for a variety of activities. I would recommend it highly except that it immediately begins to pill and I'm regularly pulling off pieces that start to dangle. I hope it holds up over the long-haul and doesn't look too ratty after more use.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Elana, thanks for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the hoody is already starting to pill. To prevent pilling we typically recommend a machine wash on warm and laying the fleece flat to dry. Also, a sweater stone is a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred. With that said, if the pilling gets worse and you're not longer happy with the quality you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

January 8, 2020

I like it but the cut is weird

I bought this to lounge around the house in because we keep our house pretty cold. I bought a size L because I wanted it to be spacious and comfy. It is spacious. So first the things I like. It is double faced so the fleece is nice and thick. I like the hood so you can run outside in cold temperatures to shovel snow and keep the snow off your head.... Read More It is very roomy. But there is a really weird cut to it. There is a seam along the top of my back that is tight, when everything else is loose and spacious. It feels uncomfortable across my back, like there is always something pulling back there. It is especially annoying if I reach forward or up for something. So in some ways I am pleased with the quality, but the cut makes this jacket uncomfortable and not what I was hoping for

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Stephanie! Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you found the back seam uncomfortable! If you'd like to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this item, you are certainly welcome to do so. A great alternative would be the pullover version of this hoody, the [Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-marsupial-pullover/22835.html?dwvar_22835_color=NENA&cgid=womens-fleece-casual#tile-12=&start=1&sz=36).

January 2, 2020

so WARM

Amazing jacket, have used it so much already and plan on having it a long time!

January 1, 2020

Nice love it

Always a pleasure to put on and wear !!

December 31, 2019

Perfect Fit and Feel

Purchased for wife for Christmas and she loves it. Has commented numerous times how it fits great and keeps warm/cozy on these cold winter days.

December 31, 2019

Very warm..very soft..great quality..must have!!

Originally, I ordered a size small since my Patagonia size is usually a small for hoodies, but the straight side seems in this jacket made it a little tight around the hips. The arms were also very fitted (and short), in the small, making it difficult to easily layer a long sleeve shirt underneath. I returned it and bought a medium. I’m thin built,... Read More 5’5” tall and weight about 140lbs. The medium fits perfectly and has a relaxed look with room to layer. The upper part of the jacket does have a slightly boxy shape but this is the style of this jacket considering the cut is very straight. I’ve worn this Patagonia constantly over the past few months and even fell asleep in it a few times on cold nights! So far, I’m very happy!! I’ve noticing some slight pills of fabric along the arms and sides from normal everyday movement and gently pluck them off and carry on! I recommend this jacket to everyone unless the straight cut and slight pilling of fabric bothers you. Honestly, if you don’t choose to own this Patagonia you will be missing out on comfort and warmth ;)

December 27, 2019

love the fabric

love the fabric

December 26, 2019

Ultimate comfy and stylish fleece

I love this hoody! I typically wear a Medium in longer tops because of my hips and the Medium fits very well. My only gripe is that the sleeves are a tad short for my long arms, but that is fairly typical for me. The fleece is soft and warm. I love the chestnut color. I will thoroughly enjoy wearing this for years.

December 26, 2019

Perfect gift to myself!

I get cold easily so bought this jacket to stay warm around the house. It is warm and cozy with the usual Patagonia high-quality finish. It fits perfectly - I am tall and lean.

December 25, 2019

Cute and comfortable

I bought this to wear alone or over the matching vest. It looks great, and is very comfortable. I plan on wearing them to Alaska.

December 22, 2019

Always get compliments and love wearing it.

Haven’t one in brown color which looks and feels very comfortable. Just ordered one for myself in red. Been waiting for this color. It is my favorite. Looking forward to Christmas so I can finally wear it. Women’s large.

December 21, 2019

Retro gift for mellenial

Bought for my 25 year old daughter in law . She wanted the Sherpa style. Well made and a lot of nice colors. I do like the retro look of the Sherpa.

December 19, 2019

couldn't be happier!

couldn't be happier!

December 15, 2019

Jacket fit fine. Bit long

Jacket fit fine. Bit long but I am only 5’2”. Comfy but warm up quickly. Have yet to try it back east. Hood helps offset the cold.

December 14, 2019

Loving it!

Super comfy, warm, and cool

December 13, 2019

Odd fit

I usually wear a XS or S in Patagonia, ordered this in an XS. It was very comfortable, warm, a great material, shed a little bit, but unfortunately the fit was too uncomfortable for me to keep it. The length was good, but the bottom of the jacket felt very boxy and large, while the arms were tiny. I didn't mind the boxier fit on the bottom, bu... Read Moret the arms became too difficult. It was hard to get the jacket on or off without having to hold onto, pull on, or rearrange my shirt underneath. Especially wearing a watch, the arms (specifically the forearms) were just too tight and I felt like the arms were pulling on the shoulders and the rest of the jacket. It became a jacket I could not wear with other layers underneath comfortably. The size S had more room in the arms, but still clung to me too tightly, and at that size the boxier bottom was much too large.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

We're sad to hear this hoody didn't work out for you! We definitely understand though and appreciate your feedback. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

December 9, 2019

Fuzzy Wazzhe

Cute details and this thing is WARM, only needed a t-shirt under it. I am always a Medium however the medium core was too big/bunched up. So I got a Small. Core area fits perfect but sleeves are tight....I do recommend trying this on before if possible

December 8, 2019

W's Retro Pile Hoody

Love this hoody. It fits well and is very comfortable and cozy. I ordered it in Molten Lava which is a great color.

December 7, 2019

Can’t take it off

This is beautiful and warm. Ever since it was delivered, I’ve worn it every day. No shedding yet. I love the red color and it’s definitely warmer than my other fleeces and sweaters. Great for under a windbreaker too. Got the XS and I’m usually in between s and CS. It fit well.

December 5, 2019

Love the color

Love the color so much, super comfy, only downside little red puff balls do come off, as stated in previous reviews, even after washing, can't wear in the car as it covers the seatbelt in puffy red lint balls! Still the color is great so will keep!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 5, 2019

Material shed quite a bit.

Material shed quite a bit. I had to wash to reduce shedding onto my pants shirt and car seatbelt. Still shedding after washing. Very warm however wouldn’t recommend

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way your hoody is shedding. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 2, 2019

bummer

Love the blue color and chunky fleece but pretty bummed on the inside seams. Not sure if it's a new material but unless you're wearing long sleeves the inside seam is extremely uncomfortable and distractingly scratchy in the arms and neck. Never had any issues with quality in other products but the seam and major shedding/pilling after 2 ... Read Morewears is a bummer.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi CC, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hoody. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it.

December 1, 2019

Comfy and Cute

Super cute and plenty warm enough for Santa Cruz winters. I've virtually worn it every day since I got it. Probably could have fit in a small (130 lbs, big chest) but I like it roomy for layering so opted for a small.

November 28, 2019

Patagonia fever

This is the most beautiful jacket!! Very warm and the heather grey is gorgeous, git it git my granddaughter and she loves it

November 24, 2019

Love it, Love it, Love

Love it, Love it, Love it! Cute, classy and warm!:)

November 16, 2019

Not worth it

Fur is keep going out!!! Everywhere is fur really my black clothes went crazy. I put it in the laundry two times but nothing is changed I don’t know what to do with this..

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are sorry that this jacket is shedding quite a bit. Usually after a couple of washes the excess fleece should come off, but if you are finding this is causing too big of an inconvenience, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us.

November 16, 2019

Super comfy

I love this fleece jacket! It keeps me warm and doesn’t require a lot of layers. It is soft and very comfy.

November 11, 2019

Love !! Comfy and so

Love !! Comfy and so warm. My dad loves it too. He said he one exactly like it in the 80s and it was his favorite shirt that lasted forever.

November 6, 2019

Great, in theory

I was super stoked to receive this in the mail. When it finally arrived, I was both cozy and warm inside of the soft, luxurious fleece this jacket provides. It's really great! As long as you have a 4 foot long torso and tiny arms. I ordered a small, which is usually my size because I'm 5'3 and 135lbs. Needless to say, I was swimming... Read More in this jacket. It was so long that it covered my butt. The shoulders were also oddly broad... I suggest measuring yourself and the jacket before ordering. I will be returning.

November 5, 2019

Sheds everywhere

Purchased this for my wife and returned it as the fabric shed fuzz everywhere; seatbelts, clothes, hair... it was everywhere! We returned it as we were not confident that there would be much fuzz left when it shed so much after only a week or so of wear. Though it was not the reason for the return she also felt the fit was more generous than antici... Read Morepated.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Sorry to hear the hoody didn't fit well and shed more than is normal. We recommend using a [GUPPYFRIEND](https://www.patagonia.com/product/guppyfriend-washing-bag/GP001.html?dwvar_GP001_color=000&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=guppy&lang=en_US&start=1) Washing bag for all polyester products, and following our [product care](https://is.gd/u0SeG0) instructions. We're glad you were able to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) it and we'll be happy to recommend a different item anytime!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches