Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial Pullover

Write Your Review

4.31 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 52 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial Pullover

4.31
Kinda Large
February 24, 2020

Cute but very dissatisfied with the quality

I LOVE the looks of this pullover however Ive had mine for roughly a month and a bunch of the stitching is unraveling around the ends of the sleeve and its piling like crazy which is disappointing considering how much I paid for it! Ive only worn the pullover about 5 times and have followed the care instructions as well.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Kristen! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the stitching coming unraveled and that your fleece is pilling. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

February 19, 2020

Seams / Pilling

I really wanted to love this jacket but about two weeks into my purchase and 2nd time wearing it, I realized that there was a seam that was loose right at the cuff of my right sleeve. Obviously this seam constantly gets snagged on things and now have gotten more unthreaded. It does pill easily as others have said and although it is annoying, I full... Read Morey expected it when I bought it. However, I am very disappointed in the loose seams especially since it was expensive and I'm a college student and now that I've worn it, I can't even get it exchanged. My first purchase from Patagonia and it was a bit disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the loose seam and pilling on your fleece. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 3, 2020

Could It be softer?

No. Its perfect.

December 29, 2019

So awesome

So awesome

December 28, 2019

5'2" Petit Woman, Small sizing

5'2" Petit Woman, Small sizing has space to layer, if looking for more direct/tighter fit XS would work too.

December 27, 2019

women's retro pile marsupial

Appreciate that a missing delivery was located and delivered within 6 hours. Thank-you Emma. Gift for my daughter who is going skiing in the Alps. She loved it, loved the color and fit, just a tad loose in size small. do not know how it will wash as yet.

December 26, 2019

The coziest pullover!

Wonderful flattering fit- keeps me warm with room for layering but it remains true to size. I have worn It for two weeks straight because it has become my go to conduit for keeping warm. My only issue is that it sheds like crazy and leaves fuzzies around everywhere but I can overlook it due to the fit and comfort.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 22, 2019

Not quite the Patagonia standard expected

Not quite the quality I was expecting. Piling a bit on the arms within 2 times wear, the stitching is a bit off on the shoulders. It is very comfy and I like the look so I am keeping it regardless :) I got a size up and wear it over sweaters, looks great!

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Hi Hannah, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the pilling you've experienced. A small amount of pilling is typical to experience with fleece but we don't expect it after only two wears. We'd suggest trying a sweater stone to remove the pills. However, if that doesn't help you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) under warranty.

December 18, 2019

Quality never disappoints! Just wish

Quality never disappoints! Just wish there were petite sizes available. I'm still a big fan of Patagonia!

December 15, 2019

Love the way that this

Love the way that this looks and feels, but it pills and sheds like crazy! I did read this in the reviews, but I thought no way-its Patagonia. Sleeves are shorter for the size than other Patagonia coats I own.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Nicole! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the pilling and shedding you've experienced with your fleece. To cut down on this, we recommend washing it either by hand in cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle with a powdered detergent. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Please also refrain from using fabric softener or bleach, as these can break down fibers of the fleece and cause it to pill or shed. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your fleece, you are absolutely welcome to initiate a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 12, 2019

Incredibly comfy

Loved it even more than expected. This style runs a little bulky so I sized down and it fits perfect.

November 30, 2019

Can’t Have Just One!!

I’m 5’8”, 165 lbs. Ordered size XL color molten lava. It’s gorgeous. Perfect fit. Then I had to have another one. So I went shopping and bought another one in the feather grey color. A perfect pair that will work with so many colors in my wardrobe. I’ll definitely be a return customer soon.

November 23, 2019

So Comfy - But it sheds

As much as I love Patagonia I have a hard time fitting in most things because I’m an XS petite because I’m a shrimp, so XS with Patagonia can still be too big since they don’t offer petite. This one actually fit! It’s not fitted so I have room to layer under it. I haven’t washed it yet so I’m terrified of what it’ll look like out of the wash. My... Read More only issue is that it SHEDS. Holy crap. It covered my seatbelt in 4673829 of little orange fuzzies. My black jeans, my car seat. That’s my only issue. But I’m wondering if I put It in the dryer on low if it’ll help get off any loose fuzz. My only other issue is the lining of the kangaroo pocket. It’s the same as the lining in the other Pile products but I have workers hands, that can be dry and every time I put my hand in the pocket it feels like the fabric is catching on every single piece of dry skin on the back of my hand And it’s so gross. Other than that, I’m just grateful it fits and it’s warm!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

November 21, 2019

Love!

So cute and warm! I love it. I'm generally between an xs/s and went with the s for a bigger/cozy fit. I only gave it 4 stars because it's starting to pill a bit on the arms after only a handful of wears/no washes, but it's not a big deal. Still my new fav!

November 20, 2019

Cozy

The pullover is very comfy and perfect for everyday wear around the house or to run to the store. It has the classic look and go with preppy or comfy styles. It does attract lint and pills rather easily, but that's to be expected with this type of material.

November 20, 2019

Good, not great

After wearing the fleece for less than a month (and not wearing it daily) The cuff on the right wrist already ripped! I am really upset, I have another fleece that I have had longer and this did not happen.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Nicole, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're truly sorry to hear the the cuff ripped after under a month. We'll reach out to you directly with options for return!

November 19, 2019

Unbelievably comfortable

The coziest thing I own. My mom bought one and couldn't stop raving about how great it was, so I had to get them for myself and my sister.

November 17, 2019

The fit is perfect. Awesome

The fit is perfect. Awesome product.

November 12, 2019

Soft and comfy but sweater

Soft and comfy but sweater sheds

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Zahara, fleeces do have a tendency to shed. You can slow this process down by washing with cold water and using a gentle powder detergent. Please do not use fabric softener and bleach, as this can break down fibers of the fleece and cause it to pill or shed. Air dry the jacket on a flat surface, as this allows the jacket to keep its original shape. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund if the problem persists.

November 12, 2019

I've worn this every day

Cute, cozy, and warmer than your average fleece. Love the zip pockets, great for hiking/camping and keeping things safe while traveling.

November 10, 2019

Love this pullover!

The warmest, coziest, comfortable thing ever!! I love it and it looks and feels great!

November 10, 2019

Great, but flawed

I love this item. Soft as all get out and recycled, but it started pilling the first time I wore it. Not sure how long it will retain it's look before it starts looking worse for the wear. My guess is about a month.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're already experiencing pilling issues with this, Jaclyn! To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Retro Pile, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

November 10, 2019

Warm and soft!

Love this fleece! It keeps me nice and cozy in the cold months. I wear a tank top under it while in the house or a long sleeve shirt when I go outside and it’s perfect for running errands. I even find that I am able to breastfeed in it so if your a momma of an infant and want to stay warm this fleece can help you out!

November 6, 2019

Product arrived when expected. Fit

Product arrived when expected. Fit perfectly

November 5, 2019

I am obsessed with it!

I am obsessed with it! I have not taken it off since I have gotten in! It is perfect jacket for the transitioning fall and winter months! I have gotten so many compliments on in, love the marsupial pocket and how warm it is!

November 5, 2019

Nubby and Losing Fluff

I love the look and feel of this jacket. It’s comfy, cute and warm. But I’ve worn it a few times and I’ve noticed the sleeves have already started to get matted down and I’m constantly shedding little bits of fuzz. It’s pretty thin so I wonder in a year will this be a shell of a jacket? Zero warmth left. For the price I thought this would last me a... Read More few years so I wouldn’t be contributing to fast fashion. Kind of disappointing for my first Patagonia purchase.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Hello Nikki. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this fleece so far. If you find that it isn't holding up or performing up to your satisfaction, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. For a similar look and feel, check out the [Women's Woolyester Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-woolyester-fleece-pullover/26950.html?dwvar_26950_color=OAT&cgid=womens-fleece).

November 5, 2019

loooooove this!

I got this in the pelican color in a size medium; I usually wear all Patagonia fleeces in a size medium, im about 5'4, 135 lbs, and this definitely is on the bigger size, I wish I had ordered a small, but I still love it so much, its cozy, not too warm and a very comfortable weight. It also sheds, but im hoping that won't be the case afte... Read Morer a couple of washes. high recommend! just downsize!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

November 4, 2019

Super Comfy

This fleece is super comfy. I ordered a size up because I wanted it to be loose fitting, but I probably could’ve gotten away with my regular size.

November 1, 2019

Eh

Very cute fleece pullover. Also very comfortable. The pockets are also a nice addition. Unfortunately, this fleece is not insulated well and you can feel every cool breeze through the fleece. Also, the fleece shedded like crazy on the first wear. I feel like I am always returning products back to Patagonia because they either don’t fit well or they... Read More are ineffective and its tiring. Customer service is great though.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced and that this jacket didn't seem to be a good option for you. Feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us. Please note, this jacket will not be a good windproof option as it is a pretty breathable item. If you are looking for a windproof fleece, we'd recommend check our our [Retro-X Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23074.html?dwvar_23074_color=NAOW&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=retro-x%2Bjacket&lang=en_US&start=1).

October 31, 2019

I love the design, but not on me.

The quality is great, the fabric is so soft and looks durable. Unfortunately, the boxy oversized shape of this fleece is not me. It hardly fits under my coat because the sleeves are wide and loose. 5'2 ", 120 lbs, x-small would have been better.

October 29, 2019

More colors

I have tried this on in store and love it, but I’m not a fan of the color options and I want to wear it til it’s worn out. i would love to see a forest or olive green option.

October 29, 2019

soooooo cozy!

I love this piece so much! I was debating between this and the hooded version and am so happy that I went with this one. I love the marsupial style pockets and it's a great layer to throw on when chilly in the house or going for a walk in the beautiful fall weather! It runs just a tad large - I'm usually between an XS and S in Patagonia&#... Read Morex27;s sweaters and jackets, and the small was just a little too baggy. I'm 5'6 and 125 and the XS was the perfect looseness. The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because I'm skeptical on the durability of this piece. Anywhere there is frequent rubbing/friction (between torso/arms, elbows from resting) there is lots of pilling where little balls of the fuzz are coming off. I've had this for almost two months, so I'll have to report back after a full winter of wearing it to see if this was just the break in period or if it's the beginning of a bigger problem. Fingers crossed that it will be a-okay!

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Rachel! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such an awesome and detailed review. We're sorry to hear about the pilling you've already noticed on your fleece. We encourage customers to air dry their fleece as it can help to prevent pilling. Nevertheless, if ever in the future you find you need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) you're welcome to!

October 28, 2019

Super warm

Extremely warm. Blocks wind very well. It has an easy fit.

October 28, 2019

Love this fleece

I love this fleece so much. The marsupial pocket is great, the chest pocket is perfect size for my cell phone. It's super warm, perfect for temperate to cool weather. The ultimate north coast beach fleece: keeps you warm, unzip the pockets for a little ventilation, and the pockets are made of mesh, so sand falls through (no pocket sand!). I im... Read Moreagine this would be lovely for a laid-back camping trip. Runs maybe a tiny bit large, but that makes it even more cozy. The color was a little bit different than what appeared on the website, but I still love it. I was anticipating the Feather Gray one to have a more browner tint on the accent trim, but it's actually like a purple-ish mulberry color. Still looks awesome though! Definitely a wear-everyday-for-fall sweater in my opinion!

October 26, 2019

Love this sweater! Worth the money!

Just received this sweater. It is SO soft, and SO comfy! An xs probably would have “fit” me but I ordered a medium because I wanted to have a baggy sort of sweater to wear with leggings and be comfy. This is the sweater! I got the cream coloured and it’s so flattering. Would repurchase this and I highly recommend it. Perfect for winter and shoulder... Read More season!

October 26, 2019

LOVE IT

I love this !! Super soft & cozy & warm !! True to size & a must buy !!

October 21, 2019

no hesitation...buy this fleece

I own multiple styles of fleece pullovers but this is my absolute favorite for a few reason. The FIT is loose and comfy. Not exactly figure flattering but you are wearing a fleece so you're not going to be showing off your abs. The FABRIC is soft and cozy - its like being wrapped up in your favorite blanket. The POCKET hits the jackpot! I love... Read More all things pocket. I wish all my pullovers had a pocket. Patagonia...are you getting the message....POCKETS POCKETS POCKETS! Only thing that would make this better would be thumbholes (hint hint next season). Can you imagine pocket and thumbholes? I die

October 19, 2019

In love, but it breaks my heart it's already pilling

I received this for my birthday about a week ago. It's my first Patagonia product and I absolutely loved it the first day. It's so warm and comfortable. However, after wearing it for about 3-4 days, the fleece at the sides of the sleeves is already pilling to the point where small pieces of fleece break off the sweater. It hasn't eve... Read Moren been washed once. I already took the tags off so I can no longer return it. I'm heartbroken because a loved one spent so much money to purchase this for me, and the quality of the fleece is not up to par with the price tag. I definitely agree with the other 5-star reviews regarding the comfort but for some reason, mine is not holding up.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2019

Hi Claudia! I'm very sorry to hear that your new pullover is pilling so much! We would be happy to help you out with a return on that item, despite the tags being removed. I went ahead and followed up privately with further return instructions.

October 14, 2019

New favorite fleece!

I have several fleece jackets, including a few others from Patagonia, but this one is my new favorite. It's extremely warm and comfortable, but also more flattering than the Synchilla (in my opinion) without being form fitting or restrictive. More of a casual fleece than a performance fleece, but great for walking the dog, casual outdoor activ... Read Moreity, etc. The two front "pockets" actually open into one shared kangaroo pocket, but I don't mind this for hand warming purposes! Might be annoying if you need to store several small things in your pockets (chest pocket is better for your phone). Bought the same size I always do in Patagonia (S), and it's a relaxed fit, but not as relaxed as the Synchilla (which I get in XS). Already wanting to buy it in a second color with how much wear I expect it will get this winter :)

October 10, 2019

Classic cozy fleece

I love this fleece. Broke it in on a -40° camping trip. The cut and style are perfect and I love the collar its deep shade of red. My only personal problem is that I worked my SAR dog in tall dry grasses. Afterward he curled up on top of my new fleece in the truck. It will take me hours to remove all the burrs and stickers embedded in the fleece be... Read Morefore washing. My bad!

October 7, 2019

Favorite Patagonia fleece EVER!

LOVE LOVE LOVE this thing! It's super soft inside and out, has a sweet kangaroo pocket, and the zip neck is really nice. I own the T-Snap, the lightweight Synchilla, and the Retro-X and this is BY FAR my favorite fit, comfort level, and look. I will 100% live in it this fall and winter! I'm 5'6, 140lbs and I'm stoked on the easy... Read More fit of a Medium.

October 4, 2019

Love it!

This jacket is so soft and fits perfectly. I need it in all the colors now.

October 3, 2019

Love the color and feel

I bought this Retro Pile for winter weather in Wisconsin and have just tried it on, but it is still too warm to enjoy it. I love the zippered pocket and the kangaroo pocket in front to warm hands in cooler weather. The red is bright and cheerful! Can't wait to wear it!

October 2, 2019

“I love my Patagonia “

“I love my Patagonia “ wrote my grand daughter. The Patagonia was a birthday gift.

October 2, 2019

So soft and comfy, but boxy

I sized up because I know these run small and I'm glad I did; however, like many Patagonia fleeces I've tried, the bottom is boxy and too long on women's bodies (except maybe longer torso ladies). Still love it, just wish it fit better.

September 21, 2019

perfect fleece

warm and comfy without unnecessary bulk. big enough to cocoon in but can still fit under a shell. love it!

September 10, 2019

So Comfy!

I ordered both the medium and the large and I went with the medium, which is still pretty loose on me. I’m 5’6”, 160lbs, and usually wear a size 8. I read the previous review about the seam being crooked, but the seams weren’t crooked on either of the ones I ordered. I love this fleece! It’s reallllly warm and super soft, so a couple of times when ... Read MoreI wore it in like 67°, I started sweating and had to take it off. I just can’t wait for fall weather to wear it all the time!

September 3, 2019

Most loved Patagonia fleece I own

I own a ton of Patagonia fleeces and sweaters. We live in Wyoming and we love being outside. I bought this for a camping trip recently and didn’t take off the 4 days we were in the mountains. It is significantly warmer than my re-tool or quilted snap. It is comfortable and has enough room to wear long sleeves and layers underneath. If you want a ti... Read Moreghter fitting fleece I would size down. 5 stars for this beauty!

August 31, 2019

Perfection

I’m 5’5 and 105 lbs and the XS fits perfectly. The material is extremely soft and warm. Worth every penny!

August 12, 2019

Soft and comfy but poor workmanship

Super soft and comfy but the horizontal seam across the chest is so crooked - as someone who works in the industry I am surprised this was allowed to be shipped as it is definitely out of tolerance.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches