Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Women's Synchilla® Fleece Marsupial Reviews

Write Your Review


True To Size

Filter Reviews

  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Sort By
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Synchilla® Marsupial

True To Size
September 13, 2023

Cute, comfy, does shed a lot though :(

I got this despite the comments about it shedding a lot, and I don't really regret it, but boy does it shed. all. over. Anywhere you sit, on any other clothes you wear, even balls of fuzz on the seatbelt in my car. It's very soft and quite cozy. I did size up because I am unfamiliar with Patagonia sizing and I'm glad I did. It does h... Read Moreave a baggier fit but then has tight elastic on the waist and wrist hems which bring in the fabric, so you don't look like a box. Love everything about this pullover apart from the insane shedding, if that doesn't bother you, I'd recommend this jacket!

September 7, 2023

Cozy pullover

Love the cut of the jacket, it runs a bit oversized in the arms and body but the waistband is tighter and has a bit of a cropped feel so Im glad I went with my bigger size L (usually between medium and large). I also love the large pocket in front, I will definitely reach for this quite a bit. However, it does shed like crazy. After trying on and w... Read Moreearing initially I thought I wouldnt have this problem like others mentioned, but after wearing it in the car my seatbelt was covered, so definitely consider that.

August 23, 2023

Fuzz gets everywhere

I love patagonia gear, but this sweatshirt falls short. The fuzz transfers to everything- pants, seatbelt, shirts, and it is hard to get rid of. The sweatshirt is cute, but I wouldn't recommend.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2023

Hi Kelly! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear the fleece is shedding fuzz. We'd recommend giving the marsupial a wash following our care instructions; machine wash on warm and a tumble dry on low. The first was should help to reduce the shedding. Please note, if it continues to shed you're welcome to [return]( under warranty.

August 1, 2023

the best thing i've ever bought

this fleece is so cute!! I've been searching for a fleece that fits like it for forever, and I finally found it. Great quality, the right amount of warmth (can also be adjusted by how low or high you keep the zipper), and super cute fit! Overall, the BEST!

June 22, 2023

Shedding Issue

The oatmeal heather colored jacket sheds everywhere. I've washed it several times but it still continues to get on everything. I really like the look and fit of this jacket so it is a bummer that the quality of the fabric is like this.

Response from Patagonia
June 26, 2023

Hello Angela, thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear that you've experienced excessive shedding with our Synchilla Fleece Marsupial. We would consider this a warranty issue, so we've emailed you to gather more information and set you up with an evaluation. We hope you don't have another similar experience but if that's the case please connect with [customer service](*1m37crq*_ga*NjQ4MDAzMDY0LjE2ODI5NTAxOTA.*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY4NzgwNTc3MC4xMzQuMS4xNjg3ODA3NzU0LjYwLjAuMA..) and we'd be happy to assist.

May 18, 2023

Super cute & cozy!

I'd been eyeing this for awhile and I'm so happy I bought it! I have the black one and it doesn't shed at all - it's perfect for a brisk day or chilly evening.

May 3, 2023

Beautiful Color. Warm

I love the color of this pullover. I got a pretty teal. It's warm and cozy. I love the depth of the zipper. And the kangaroo pouch in the front.

April 30, 2023


I really wanted to love this, and I actually bought one for my friend as well. I have had to wash it three times as the material sheds. It is all over my car, my seat belt, my purse. The sleeves are not long enough on the medium, the size throughout the body is bulky. This is my least favorite item I have ever bought from Patagonia, and had I not ... Read Morewashed it multiple times, I would have returned it.

Response from Patagonia
May 1, 2023

Hi Erin! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on the Synchilla Marsupial. We're really sorry to hear how badly the fleece is shedding. This sounds like it could be a warranty issue so we'd encourage you to start a [return](

April 23, 2023

Sheds uncontrollably!

The look of this pullover is super cute! However it sheds so much! Even with a fabric shaver it makes no difference. It gets on everything and then you are spending hours with a lint roller cleaning up your clothes.

Response from Patagonia
April 25, 2023

Hi Roohi! Thank you for writing us a review. We're incredibly sorry to hear how badly the marsupial is shedding. This sounds like a warranty related issue so we'd encourage you to start a [return](

April 21, 2023

Gift for a friend

Got this in the teal and my friend says "I love it!". Good fit and everything.

April 16, 2023

Sooo fuzzy

I ordered this fleece in oatmeal heather and was super excited about it because it was my first purchase from Patagonia for myself. I love the color, fit and look but I cannot recommend it. I have washed it twice and the fuzz is never ending. Its all over my pants, gets into my kids hair in clumps if she stands near me, the polyester accumulates on... Read More everything. I am so sad because the fleeces I have bought for my husband have been great.

Response from Patagonia
April 18, 2023

We're sorry to hear about the shedding of this fleece. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to return it under our [Ironclad Guarantee]( We'll be happy to help!

April 8, 2023

Super cute but...

Obsessed with this fleece! The colors are perfect for spring and it fits perfectly, however it sheds like CRAZY. I wore it in my car and there was fuzz all over. I wore it to work and my pants were covered in fuzz. That was after I washed it too. Would not recommend unless you like being covered in little fuzzies.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2023

Hey Shannon, thank you for the feedback. We're really sorry to hear about all the shedding you've experienced with this fleece! We've emailed you to gather more information to report it to our quality control team, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

March 30, 2023

Love Love

I absolutely love anything Synchilla and you can never go wrong with it. It is very soft, warm and comfortable. I highly recommend. The sleeves are a little short but not a problem for me. If you have long arms size up.

March 27, 2023

Wanted to love it but sheds A LOT

I was really excited to get my hands on the synchilla marsupial jacket (not to mention snagging one on sale). I wore it today to work and boy, it sheds a LOT!!! I have to whip up the lint roller a couple of times today - it was all over my shirt, jeans, car and on my hair :( Sad to say but I will be returning it pronto today.

March 25, 2023

Love the color and the relaxed cut

The teal color is fantastic against my skin and the fabric is so cozy! The cut is oversized but super cute and works great over a base layer in colder temps for casual wear. I don't think the cut of the top would work well under a ski jacket.

March 22, 2023

Super comfortable but sheds excessively

I got the coral-colored half zip and love the look of it! The color is so bright, it is very warm and super comfortable. The reason I gave this 3/5 stars is because of the shedding. This pullover sheds on everything it touches. I wore it multiple times before writing this review to see if the shedding improved, but it unfortunately has not. Everywh... Read Moreere I go I leave bright coral fibers behind. Although it is a super cute pullover, I feel the need to bring a lint roller with me when I wear it. I would not reccomend this pullover for the price.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2023

We're sorry this pullover was shedding so much for you! Normally that eases a bit after laundering. In any case, we want you to be happy with all of your gear so we're glad to see you've returned this one. Please let us know if we can help you pick out an alternative.

March 21, 2023

comfy sweater

overall nice, expect this to get lint every where no matter how many times you lint roll the jacket

March 19, 2023

Awesome Comfort

Great light jacket. Good wind shield and comfortable warmth.

March 18, 2023


Really comfy, washes well. Nice and soft but it does shed some of the fuzz on clothes worn underneath it. Other that, amazing!

March 17, 2023

So soft and cozy

This feels like a true XS pullover. The length is good and the elastic portions at the end of the sleeves and bottom hem help with the fit. The arms might be a little on the shorter side for my liking. I love the half zip and how soft the fleece is - definitely a cozy wear! Im not the biggest fan of the pocket. Its a single compartment (two spots t... Read Moreo slide your hands through), but the inner lining is a mesh of sorts. A little nervous for it to tear if something gets hooked on it, and Im unable to put little items inside as theyll just slip through the holes.

March 17, 2023

Shedding way too much

I really wanted to love this fleece but it has been a nightmare since the day I decided to wear it out. The fleece started to shed nonstop. Even after multiple washes, the fleece just would NOT stop shedding. My seatbelt was covered in fleece hair and was getting on all of my clothes. It got to a point where I started to sneeze nonstop and I did no... Read Moret know I was allergic until I felt SO horrible whenever I wore the fleece. I ended up taking antihistamine because of this fleece. I think it's time for me to say good bye. Now I am afraid of buy any fleece made of similar material from patagonia. SO disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear about the experience you had while wearing it. Although most fleeces will shed before being washed, this is not something that should have happened to this extent. Please feel free to [return]( this item to us as we want you to be completely satisfied and in good health while wearing our clothing. Additionally, this fleece is made from 100% recycled polyester, so we would highly recommend staying away from this material in the future. Again, we are incredibly sorry about what happened and please rest assured that we will be passing this along to our Product Design Team so they are aware of what occurred.

March 12, 2023

Soft and casual

I loved this product. Its supper warm, soft, and very casual. Love the scrunch at the bottom. The one thing I did notice is when using a car seatbelt some of the product comes off, Im guessing its due to what its made out off.

February 27, 2023

According to my measurements I

According to my measurements I was told to get a large, I knew I was a medium but paid attention to what I was told. I regret not getting the medium.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review, Grace! Please feel free to start your [return or exchange]( at any time as we want you to be happy with all of your Patagonia purchases.

February 26, 2023

A warm colorful hug

This beautiful pullover is both warm and joyful. The front pocket is spacious but secure with zippers on either side. The color makes me happy all day long.

February 25, 2023

Cozy but had a tight band

I love the look of this fleece but I don't wear it as often as my classic synchillas because the waistband is tight. Not tight enough that it's unbearable, but it is noticeable. It rides up when I wear it casually and it's more annoying than uncomfortable. The classic synchillas aren't tight at all on my hips where the fleece en... Read Moreds but this one sits much higher on my waist because the band is too tight to fall naturally. The one time it was problematic instead of just inconvenient was when I wore it snowboarding. I often wear a fleece as my baselayer and have never had an issue. When I wore this one it rode halfway up my back & was very difficult to keep in place after adjusting. 3 stars for the look & the warmth but overall just not a great fit for me!

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2023

We appreciate your detailed and thoughtful review and we're sorry to hear about the disappointment in the waistband. Please don't hesitate to return under our Ironclad Guarantee or trade it to Worn Wear. Reach out to Customer Service if you have any additional questions or concerns. We'll be happy to help!

February 19, 2023

Sheds microplastics

I got this as a birthday gift and noticed it was shedding everywhere on all of my other clothes even after washing. I went to the Patagonia store in St. Paul to look at other fleeces to exchange, thinking it was just a one time factory defect. But it looked like every fleece I tested shed just the same as the last. I cant imagine selling a product ... Read Morelike this in such an environmentally savvy store. Please fix the shedding issue, I know its possible because Nike has a recycled poly fleece sweater that does not shed. Micoplastics are so dangerous to our waterways.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2023

Hi Emma, thank you for submitting this review. Yes, we are taking steps to keep microfibers out of waterways. In one case we discovered one color of a particular product was shedding excessively and we pulled it from our lineup. In the meantime, to reduce shedding we recommend washing this fleece either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. To remove any pilling that has occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Synchilla you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a warranty returns evaluation under our Ironclad Guarantee.

February 15, 2023

My sister in law loved it

We gave this to my sister in law as a present and she loved it! Thanks!

February 15, 2023

This fleece could be so great

I love almost everything about this fleece. The one thing that I would change is the waistband. I wish it was adjustable, so I could alter the fit depending on the shirt I wear underneath. If I wear something slightly longer than the fleece, the waistband pulls the shirt up and it gets bunched up underneath, so I'm having to pull it down const... Read Moreantly throughout the day. This definitely seems to be more for fashion than function.

Response from Patagonia
February 22, 2023

Hey Sarah, thanks for the feedback. This is a design choice you'll see throughout the Synchilla line, it's meant to function as a way to keep the cold out. If you'd like to see an alternative without the elasticated bottom, we recommend checking out the [Women's Microdini 1/2-Zip Fleece Pullover](

February 15, 2023

FINALLY a Synch Marsupial Pullover!

I have been waiting for a womens synchilla marsupial pullover forever! This one is GREAT. Oversized in the body and shoulders (comfortable and warm), but the sleeves and hem are short enough to not completely swallow me. Yes, the band at the waist rides up when I raise my arms above my head, but that band adds shape to the body, so Im not sure why ... Read Moreothers dont like it. Anyway, this is exactly what you want in a synch pullover, plus a marsupial pocket to keep your hands warm! I got the fresh teal color, which is great for hiding all the dog fur that sticks to me at all times. Ive been living in this thing this winter. Pretty sure that will continue. Might pick up another color for variety.

February 13, 2023


Im surprised no one mentioned in the reviews that this sheds LIKE CRAZY. My bag, my pants, my car, my everything is covered in this fleece! Its super embarrassing. Ive already worn it so I cant return but buyer beware!

Response from Patagonia
February 21, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review and we are incredibly sorry about the shedding issue you've encountered. Please know, your satisfaction is guaranteed so please feel free to [return]( your product at any time. With that said, we will make sure to pass this feedback and issues to our Product Design Team so they are aware of these issues.

February 10, 2023

Why drop sleeves??

The good: beautiful teal color, soft, warm, fit in the body (loose but that's what I wanted) The bad: what is the obsession of Patagonia and really all other brands with drop sleeves?? The seam of the sleeve hits about 4 inches down my arm from my shoulder and juts straight out. I look like a football player! I don't need to have my cloth... Read Morees make me look any bigger. I know the style is "casual" but it comes off messy. This fleece would be perfect with regular sleeves that hit at the top of the shoulder.

Response from Patagonia
February 17, 2023

Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our Design Team does review this feedback, so please be assured that we will take it into consideration. In the meantime, feel free to begin a [return]( at your earliest convenience.

February 8, 2023

Great Piece, Odd Fit

This is one of my favorite fleeces, however, this pullover does have an odd fit. I went up one size for a baggier look and the sleeves are pretty short. I agree with the other reviews that mention this. I find the collar of this fleece to be odd and ill-fitting if not folded down. I have the full-zip version and the fit is much better.

Response from Patagonia
February 15, 2023

Thanks for the feedback, Taylor. If you'd like to begin a return, please click [here](

January 15, 2023

Short Sleeves

I'm 5'10, and the sleeves are short for me but other than that, it is exactly what I was looking for. The zippered pocket is perfect.

January 14, 2023

Wanted to love this

I really wanted to love this but ultimately returned it. I like the color (oatmeal body with rust zip/collar), fabric, pocket, and boxy style. Size M fits well EXCEPT for the waistband. I wish it was adjustable. The elastic on the waist is too tight to wear it pulled down, so I felt like I always had to have the waistband tucked up and under and it... Read More wasn't comfortable. If I could adjust it to be tight sometimes and loose sometimes it'd be perfect!

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2023

We really appreciate your detailed feedback on all aspects of this fleece. We're sorry it didn't work out this time, but your input is valuable for our design team so thank you for taking the time to review it!

January 12, 2023

Great piece!

This fleece is just what I was looking for. I have an athletic build- 5 feet 7 inches, 130ish lbs, broad shoulders, long legs and arms. Size medium in Patagonia generally fits me well in an easy layering way (ie. not too fitted.). The fabric could not be softer, or more practical and the fit is slightly retro with a drop shoulder and clinched waist... Read More-which I love. The marsupial pockets are super practical to boot. Thank you Patagonia!

December 29, 2022


The reason I do not recommend it to a friend is because I don't want them to wear the same outfit... lol. The color is absolutely beautiful, the fleece is so comfy, worths every penny! It's my 8th or 9th fleece, fits with everything and get compliments everytime I'm wearing pata

December 9, 2022

Poor fit

Upper arms were crazy baggy, length was too short and the bottom fitted area was so tight it grabbed my undershirt and pulled it up to see my skin every time I raised my arms. I liked the colors a lot but the outer collar color looked weird. Loved that this was nursing friendly with the long zipper but wasnt nearly enough good about this one to kee... Read Morep.

November 29, 2022

Love this fleece to keep

Love this fleece to keep me cozy and warm while walking my dog. It is a good between seasons outside and inside in the winter. I also enjoy having pockets to store my wallet and phone so I can ditch my pocketbook!

November 26, 2022

Warm but arms are too short

This pullover is beautiful and very warm. However, the arms are very short, when reaching for something or moving arms in general, the sleeve length isn't long enough and rides up.

November 20, 2022

Perfect if it was normal length

Worth noting before buying that the inseam/length of this jacket on a size small is 24 front with one inch longer 25 back (shoulder to bottom hem, laying flat). The inseam is so much shorter than normal while the width is oversized creating a boxy fit. On the model photos it looks SO GOOD but the wide/short look of it in person is bad on me. If thi... Read Mores was just an inch or two longer I would keep it because everything else (the style, amaranth pink color, the quarter zip, the zip pockets, the foldable yet structured collar!) I absolutely love. Even if I went a size up to a medium (hoping it would be a slightly larger inseam) I fear the width would increase even more and be way too much for my frame since the width on this is so oversized in comparison to the length by design. Would be nice if the product pages would list more detail instead of just general ranges, no specified real lengths, and for models only lists their height. More detail such as flat measurements like width/length would be useful. This was my first purchase direct from Patagonia website normally I buy their products from REI online or in person, wont buy from Patagonia direct because they charge you shipping on returns and there are no local Patagonia shops where I live.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2022

Hi Gabrielle, we're sorry to hear that the inseam isn't working for you. We'd be happy to help out with a [return]( and we'll reach out to you privately with further assistance.

November 9, 2022

Odd Cut

I know this is more of a vintage cut, but in hindsight I wish I wouldve returned it. The sleeves are an odd length, meaning any long sleeve I wear underneath pokes out looking odd. The cinch waist isnt adjustable and its also oddly tight. Id skip this.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2022

Hey Kate, thank you for providing us with this feedback. You're correct that this fleece was designed to have a vintage/boxy feel. The midsection is not intended to cinch, but the whole fleece should have a relaxed fit. We're sorry this one didn't work out. Perhaps you'd have better luck with our [Women's Lightweight Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](

November 9, 2022

Won't stop shedding microplastics...

I was so excited to purchase my first Patagonia item, and I've been eyeing this for a while. The style and fit are great but the material sheds everywhere. I've already washed it once per instructions hoping this would stop the shedding but it hasn't helped at all. I like the idea of it being made from recycled plastics but if this m... Read Moreaterial is shedding everywhere - it's releasing microplastics into the environment... kind of counterintuitive.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2022

Hi Arielle, we're sorry to hear that this is not performing as well as you would have hoped. While shedding and pilling can be normal and inevitable with fleece garments, we certainly don't want this causing any dissatisfaction. Please feel free to [send]( this Fleece back to us if you'd like.

November 8, 2022

Weird fit

It is kind of a weird fit, wide where the sleeves attach to the body. Also it would be more comfortable if the elastic around the waist had an adjustable cord. On the plus side, the long front zipper, zipped pockets and lined collar are nice.

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2022

Hey Susan, thank you for the review. If you find that the fit is not working for you, you're welcome to [send it back]( for a merchandise credit or refund.

November 5, 2022

Nice fleece

I like this fleece - its warm and comfortable. The only thing is the pink one sheds (did not notice it with the black one) so I would suggest probably washing it with similar colors and watching what you wear underneath it unless you want to spend time removing all the lint. I am hoping with time the shedding stops. Just an FYI.

November 2, 2022

Did Not Like The Fit

The size medium was too relaxed in the shoulders for me. I did not like that fit so I exchanged it for a size small. The size small was still fairly big in the shoulders but now the waist was too small to wear down at my hips like I do with my older version. So bummed because I was hoping to replace my older Synchilla full zip. Returning.

Response from Patagonia
November 9, 2022

We're sorry to hear that your purchase was disappointing. Our Synchilla Marsupial is a "relaxed" fit design and we'd like to recommend you look at our ["regular" and "slim" fit fleece tops]( Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any additional questions. We're happy to help!

November 1, 2022

i want two more pairs

I bought this to keep warm during my 12-hour shifts but I'm so impressed with how warm and comfortable it is i think ill find a way to sneak it into my regular wardrobe from now on. not even mad about the price point since i know my money is going somewhere that matters!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches