burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Synchilla Fleece Anorak Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Synchilla® Fleece Anorak

4.3/5
True To Size
January 29, 2023

Perfect weight

I'm 5-9" tall and 165-168 lbs and the medium fit is perfect. The medium has plenty of room for movement without being too big or too tight. I use this with merino wool base layers and a Goe-Tex outer jacket mainly for skiing. If it's very cold, I'll wear a nano puff jacket under the outer layer and over this Fleece Anorak. This... Read More is a perfect weight and very warm, being it's a double layer fleece. The long front zip gives you a good way to vent if need be and it makes for easy donning and removal. The top pouch is shallow, so it's perfect for retrieving items that get lost in deeper pouches. The hand warmers on the sides as well as the pouch are mesh lined and storm flap covered. The collar is a little big to fit snug around my 15.5" neck but with an outer layer it snugs up to keep the warmth in. The Forest Floor colors are very retro which really makes it a Patagonia stand out. The Synchilla is 100% manufactured recycled polyester which is a giant plus for the environment for future generations. You won't be disappointed with this product if you like warmth, functionality, style and environmental consciousness.

December 19, 2022

perfect for everyday

I was happy to see a retro kinda color I wanted another a little bigger and bam love it

December 17, 2022

Great product but one issue.

I love this fleece. I love the pockets, the pouch, the color scheme the warmth, the half zip collar. However the seam around the waist has popped after a couple light uses of just putting on and pulling off the jacket. I bought a medium which offers me loose regular fit. Its a fix I can do myself with a little needle and thread. But it just makes m... Read Moree a little sad when I think about how much I paid for this item.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2022

Hi Jesse, thank you for sharing this review. We're so sorry to hear that seam is coming undone. That shouldn't be happening! We will reach out to you with some return/exchange options.

December 12, 2022

Almost perfect

For starters this is a layering sweater that keeps me warm when I have a very insulated jacket, something too warm but Im not one to complain when walking around in super cold weather. My only gripe is the seams on the cuffs and around the waist have popped off after a couple uses, my better sweater has never had this issue even after years of wear... Read Moreing it.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2022

Hey Kevin, thanks for the review. We're so sorry to hear that you've run into some quality issues with this fleece. We looked up your order and see that you purchased in August of this year; we also do not expect such deterioration after such a short amount of time. We've emailed you to gather information and offer you some solutions. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

November 24, 2022

Only one problem

This is a terrific garment, except for one thing. I tried my usual size xl, but the forearms were too tight. Then I tried the xxl. Still too tight to justify the purchase. I have noted this sizing tendency in some other Patagonia shirts and jackets, but this time it was just too much. Otherwise it would have been a great replacement for my venerabl... Read Moree Marsupial fleece, which I have happily kept. I learned the hard way to be careful about what might escape from the Marsupial pocket/pouch. The Anorak pouch and pocket zips solve this problem, if your forearms do not bind.

October 21, 2022

Good Quality

First-time buyer, love the color palate, design, and quality. Made with recycled material is priceless.

October 19, 2022

Quite Warm

a tiny bit of baggy for me (173cm thin build) but the extra room feels cozy. quite warm but needed to take it off immediately after some sweating during middle/early afternoon of the day.

October 13, 2022

Lots of lints

Wayyyt too much lint. Its everywhere. Dont buy it

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2022

Thank you so much for writing your review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with your product. We will make sure to pass this feedback along to our Product Designers so they are aware of these issues. Please know you are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item at any time as we want you to be completely satisfied with all of your Patagonia products.

October 11, 2022

great comfort and color scheme

I was looking for a pattern and the forest floor did not disappoint. Great look and excellent fit. The colors are more muted than the photos and it's still fantastic. I am 5'10" with an athletic build and Large was the right size.

September 26, 2022

So Comfortable

I love this sweater so much because its such a cool design and also so comfortable! Ive been wearing Patagonias sweaters for a while now, but they did something different with this one and it really shows. Somehow they made it durable and super cozy at the same time. Definitely worth the money!

September 9, 2022

Fine

I ordered what I was recommended and it is a bit too small. It is men sizes shouldve went one size up

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2022

Hey Nattalee, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear that the wrong size was purchased. If you ever need details like the garment measurements of different sizes, please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we would be happy to provide those to you.

September 7, 2022

Warm and cozy

Wish it said Patagonia on it somewhere. Feels like a lost opportunity to have it so people can see it

September 7, 2022

Not Unisex

I'm a 5'6", 112 pounds, woman, who has worn Patagonia unisex styles XS for 20+ years and women's size S. This garment does NOT comport with a unisex fit. Size XS was huge in the shoulders and too tight in the hips. Broad-shouldered, slender-hipped gals could try it, but don't size down as recommended. The colors are beautif... Read Moreul and the styling is great. I hope Patagonia will make it in women's sizes.

September 4, 2022

Exactly what I wanted

Got this for my boyfriend and he loves it. Lots of pocket space and super warm. Perfect for fall and winter - snowboarding, climbing, hiking, fishing its perfect for when you need to warm up.

September 3, 2022

Nice colors

Its a very cute sweater I ordered XXL because XL sometimes is to small for my bust. Its alittle too big, but I don't mind it. I could have probably sized down to get a tighter fit. Ill update on how it holds up in the long run.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Thanks for the feedback, Meliza! You might appreciate the hot [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) tips we put together for longevity of all our gear. We hope you love this Synchilla!

July 25, 2022

Cozy retro vibes

I was pleased to find a fleece with lots of zippered pockets, and on sale too! Dig the fun retro colors. Nice and cozy. Sizing is spot-on; I'm 6'1", 170 lbs. with a 38-inch chest. Medium fits really well. My only suggestion for improvement would be to make the anorak pocket deeper. It's good for keys/sunglasses/other small items... Read More, but I was hoping for a larger pocket.

June 26, 2022

Three zippered pockets, nice

I'm enjoying this jacket, because I turned it into a vest. The sleeves were removed at the alteration shop. Now my arms move freely when walking/running. The three zippered security pockets are a big plus. The large kangaroo pocket has a shallow 5 inch depth, but It works well for my needs. I can leave my purse at home!

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

We are so stoked to hear you are enjoying your now personalized Synchilla Anorak! If there are any issues due to the alteration, we sadly won't be able to cover this under warranty. But it sounds like it will be with you for many years and adventures! That being said, our repair option will always be available.

June 8, 2022

Comfy

This is a comfy fleece, but not the most practical fleece for most people. I find that this Synchilla has a retro feel, that one learns to appreciate, like a retro car or device. The material is invisible to wind, its almost like wearing nothing, it sheds quite easily at the slightest abrasion, such as a seatbelt, my seatbelt is covered with fleece... Read More lint. Los Gatos is more comfy, retro x is absolutely wind proof, r1 is more breathable, but this is like an old Cadillac that does nothing right but still is a go to. One advantage this has over other fleeces is that it is very quick to dry. This is my first anorak, the top pocket is smaller than I was expecting but still nice and useful. Zippers and pockets are all great. Overall quality piece for transitional seasonal weather. Sizing felt good for a pull over.

June 3, 2022

warmer than I thought

I have other Patagonia pull-overs and this is the most stylish and is warmer than I had thought it would be.

March 21, 2022

Different design

The design is unique however it makes it a bit uncomfortable to wear and the size also not try to M

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

Hi Rajat, thank you for submitting this review. It sounds like this Anorak may not be quite what you're looking for. If so, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) or exchange it. Please let us know how we can help!

March 18, 2022

Super Warm

This is a nice casual fleece to wear around town or at the campground. Its warm and cozy (as long as there is now wind) Ive gotten compliments every time Ive worn it! I didnt experience the faulty stitching problem until I pulled the sleeve up on my forearm when I was getting too hot. It only popped one stitch and I tied a knot in it, so hopefully ... Read Morethat holds. Im not usually careful with my Patagonia clothing, but Ill have to be with this piece.

March 18, 2022

Love this item, but stitching is falling apart

I really love this item. It fits loose without being too baggy. Comfortable and stylish. My reason for the 4 stars and not 5 was that in the very first use (hanging out around home) the seams on the bottom stitch for the elastic band started ripping and have continued ever since. Will most likely send it in for repair at some point but pretty frust... Read Morerated how quickly that happened.

March 16, 2022

Super cozy

Everything is great

March 16, 2022

Good fit

This is the first unisex style Ive had from Patagonia, and am very pleased with the fit - the size guide was accurate. Love the combination of my 2 favorite colors and the deep neckline opening - the reasons I purchased this style

March 10, 2022

Great

6 3 236 lbs Bought XXL too large in the body Just right in the shoulders Comfy and warm

March 4, 2022

Love it!

I've been a Patagonia fan for years and have a few fleeces that I love, but this is the first time I've bought one brand new. No regrets. This may be my new favorite. Super soft and warm and it has the handwarmer pocket I always miss in my other synchilla. The fit is slightly baggy, as expected from a unisex item (I actually prefer the me... Read Moren's cut anyway for the longer sleeves) and perfect for my needs. If the weather wasn't starting to warm up, I'd probably never take it off!

February 23, 2022

Does Not Feel Unisex

This product is marketed as a unisex item but still feels like it has a men's jacket cut. There is room to accommodate wide/broad shoulders but there is not room to accommodate wide or even average women's hips. I don't mind the oversize fit in the shoulders as I understand it needs to fit other body types, but it is very tight on my... Read More hips and I'm quite an average height and size for a woman (5'5" about 155 lbs with longer legs). Other than the fit in the hips, it is very soft and I love the pockets! The zippered marsupial pocket + zippered drop pocket is awesome. I get compliments every time I wear it!

February 7, 2022

Great product

I am more 3xl then xxl. If you are wearing xxl it fits great the pockets are great . Just wish it was in 3xl would buy 2 if Patagonia makes it in that size

February 6, 2022

Amazing Fit

The sizing, fit, and length of this pullover is amazing. It's easy to layer under any jacket but is really warm as well. Overall an amazing anorak and would highly recommend

January 27, 2022

My husband loves it!

I bought this for my husband and he love it! I have to say, I was nervous after having read some of the other reviews and I did warn my husband to be careful when he put it on. There was a sound of threads snapping when he pulled it on. I panicked but he said that it was fine. Im keeping my eye out to see if the seams at the waist hold up! Fingers ... Read Morecrossed because Id probably have a hard time prying this away from him to send it back!

January 4, 2022

Same stitching issue as others

I experienced the same issue with the stitching as outlined in some other reviews. Nothing about the pullover fits poorly so there is no excessive stretching as was suggested, but you can hear the stitching coming undone as soon as it's stretched even the slightest. It's still a very comfortable pullover and I really like it, but it defin... Read Moreitely seems to be a design defect and not something an exchange would help with.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Thank you for sharing your review of this Anorak. We're sorry to hear you've found issues with the stitching. Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything does not work out for you.

January 4, 2022

Perfect.

I usually dont write reviews but I am super happy with this purchase. More of a relaxed fit (which I prefer). Surprisingly warm, too. This will be my go-to fleece for sure.

December 31, 2021

Casual and love the color combination

I am 5 feet 3, and I love to buy mens clothing because I love oversized clothing. This one looks a little bit oversized on me, but I can layer with tshirt inside. I love the color block as well.

December 21, 2021

Stitching is popping

Its a great design but the stitching in the sleeves and around the waist has popped a few times already just from putting it on.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2021

Hey Noble, thanks for reaching out. We're sorry to hear of the stitching issues you've encountered. We're not entirely sure what would cause that, unless the anorak is too small and it needs to be stretched extensively when put on. We're guessing that probably is not the case for you, so if you'd like you're welcome to send it in for warranty evaluation. To get started on that process please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 11, 2021

AMAZING (But...)

I absolutely LOVED my Synchilla Anorak, but...unfortunately it seems there's an issue with the seam along the bottom and around the cuffs. The stitching done by the machine, while meant to be flexible, it appears that by simply putting on the fleece and pulling too hard in any direction results in a *snap* and the stitching starts to come undo... Read Morene. I brought it into my local Patagonia store and they sowed it up, no problem, but we found that this would only continue with the way this product is stitched. It seems that there are several fleeces with this sort of stitching so my guess is it's just a faulty design for this round of apparel. I was able to exchange this fleece for another one with a different edging, but I would have much preferred to keep this one. I greatly appreciate Patagonia's policy to stand by their product and to repair as needed, but unfortunately it seems this Synchilla fleece along with others like it in stitching will continue to have issues. I certainly hope I'm the only one, but after having "gone through" two separate Synchilla Anorak fleeces like these it just seems like it's the design. Will keep an eye out in the future for another one like it, but with a better design.

December 1, 2021

Poor quality? :(

I really want to love this jacket but so far I have had quality issues sadly. I first bought this in person and when I first put it on at home I noticed the bottom hem was torn about 4 inches. I sent it back and bought another one. I put my new one on and the hem on the end of my sleeve is torn and fraying off. Im really not one to complain but I w... Read Moreould think for the price I would have better luck with the quality. I would still recommend getting this; its super cozy and warm! Hopefully I just got unlucky with the two I purchased.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

We appreciate your feedback! Fraying and fabric damage is definitely not something that should be happening so soon after purchase, let alone right out of the box. Please contact our customer service [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we'll be happy to discuss options with you to get you taken care of!

November 29, 2021

Warm & well designed

This fleece pullover runs true to size. It is well made & the pockets are very handy.

November 14, 2021

Best sweater

Best sweater ever

November 5, 2021

tactile

love the kangaroo pouch. Fits well. nice and toasty. nothing more to ask for

September 26, 2021

Nice but too big

I bought this because I loved the way it looked online. I got it and tried it on but it was huge in the waist and arms. Be careful when ordering. I would size down. My tag says mens small and womens medium.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2021

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write a product review on the Synchilla Fleece Anorak. The reason this may feel a little bit larger than previous Synchillas you may have tried on is because it is sized as Unisex. We'd be happy to assist you with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a smaller size if this feels too large for you.

September 12, 2021

Super cute but not for me

I so desperately try to support such a wonderful company, but as a woman with a chest, its been hard to find anything that fits both in the chest and doesnt swallow the waist. This is super cute/retro and fit in the chest but was enormous in the arms and waist. But it is super cute if you like things baggy or for men. I sadly returned.

February 25, 2021

Comfortable and Cool

My anorak is super comfortable and I love how it looks. It's been a great addition to my wardrobe. Bonus points for the secure and spacious pockets.

December 7, 2020

Love it

Love this just a bit tight/cant layer if you are wearing a sweatshirt/sweater. Fine with just a tee.

December 6, 2020

Love the retro look!

Had to have this as soon as I saw it. Very retro patagonia and not something Ive come across when looking at resale sites - definitely a print youd hold on to until it falls to pieces. Synchilla feel and weight but with a style twist on the anorak - love it. I typically can do either an XS or S in a synchilla and this is the same size wise in my op... Read Moreinion. Im 54 and 135lbs for reference.

December 6, 2020

Super comfy

Super comfortable, fits perfect,last long-term,my second one ,still have my 1st,been 20 +years starting to show wear so I bought a new one

December 1, 2020

Great color and great pockets

I enjoy the brilliant colors, the comfortable design, and the very useful pockets. I have not had the opportunity to wear it much so far, yet I expect it will soon be one of my most frequently used fleece sweaters.

November 30, 2020

Super warm

Useful large front zip pocket and zip side pockets. Very snuggly.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches