Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Vest

Write Your Review

4.33 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Vest

4.33
True To Size
November 22, 2020

Warm

It is warm and fitting good Another material with washing Not sure how it would work

November 13, 2020

My Favorite Piece of Clothing

It's a great, comfy vest. And the lining inside stops the wind nicely and gives it a clean form. I'm 5'10 / 170 lbs and originally ordered a Medium, which was a very snug fit, so I exchanged it for a Large which gives me a lot more room to move. LOVE this vest.

October 5, 2020

Sizing is really poor; order at least one size up

I had been looking at this vest for several years, and finally pulled the trigger on buying it. Ordering was easy, and shipping was very fast. I had the vest two days after I placed the order. I wear a size Large in most things. Based on the sizing chart, I thought a Large in this would work. Not even close. Wearing this over only a shirt it was ... Read Morepossible to zip up, but it was uncomfortably tight. Think sausage casing tight. I wanted a vest, not a girdle. With other vests that I have I am able to wear a chamois shirt or even a reasonably thick sweater under the vest. That would be impossible with this item. When 90% of the garments that I wear are either a size Medium or Large, and this Large fits like compression shorts, it suggests that there is a sizing issue that Patagonia should address. I did sent the original back The person who I spoke with was very helpful, and the exchange process went smoothly. I will hope that the XL is a better match to my physique. If not, I will revise this review or provide an updated review. Let me encourage you to heed all the other reviews that are posted as well; there are multiple reports of this vest running very small. Usually for an item sold at a premium price, and this vest certainly is very expensive for what it is, the fit is more generous. I don't know who the size models were for this one, but I would suggest that their torso is not that of a person who normally fits into a size Large without issue.

September 10, 2020

Classic look and feel. Functional.

Love the look and feel of this vest. It also feels very functional, however with it still being in the 90's here in Texas haven worn it but around the house...looked great walking around the living room though. I originally bought a large which is my normal size...that was to tight and the atm pit area felt a bit restricted, being said I dont ... Read Morethink a flannel shirt would have fit, so when with XL.

September 3, 2020

Great looking runs small

I love wearing vest and have several...enjoy the flexibility/ mobility and still body warmth. This is a great looking vest and I predict will bring perfect warmth / wind block. However...it runs very tight and short on me. I seized up an ordered an XL

August 14, 2020

Really Warm

You'll be happy with this jacket

January 29, 2020

Size product is XL If

Size product is XL If I wanted to wear this ‘over’ a jacket, it would be uncomfortably tight. Over a T-shirt, it would fit ok. Because the fabric doesn’t stretch, Please make these a little more roomier,

January 8, 2020

Great Vest, Patagonia Quality you Expect

I was replacing a 20-year old vest with this one. I'm 5'11" and 215lbs and chose an XL to be able to wear a layer underneath the vest. The fit is generous, without being baggy as attached picture may show. Quality is excellent. The upside of the retro "shaggy/fuzzy" feel of the exterior of the vest is also downside. It&#x2... Read More7;s not as dressed up as I'd like in one sense, but I was so attracted to the fuzzy comfort. Try to NOT rub your fingers over the vest, I'll bet you can't. Wind-proof layer is effective, especially for Southern California beach wind on a cool evening.

December 22, 2019

Love it

Love it

December 15, 2019

Another quality product

I wish they made a L/XL, I am in between sizes, but other than that it’s great

December 13, 2019

Absolutely Georgeous!

We loved this vest! It’s so beautifully made with subtle accents on the zipper and pockets. The quality is fantastic. The inside lining is excellent as well.

December 12, 2019

Colors in person a little

Colors in person a little less vibrant than the website images...

December 10, 2019

SLIM JIM

Ordered XXL. Always order XXL. The "front" was so tight, to zipper it up, had to hold my breath. This XXL was more like an XL or Large. Returned. Nothing larger in this item available. Misleading product information.

December 1, 2019

Furnace for your core!

I have been rocking a Patagonia R2 windproof fleece vest for more than 15 years and got this to "replace" it as it's showing it's age. I absolutely love this vest and it definitely replaces the R2 in many ways. Fit is spot on with normal Patagonia medium that I wear. Durability seems like it is going to be excellent. For me this... Read More thing is actually too warm! The membrane appears to be on the front and the back, which limits the breathablity a bit much for me in many situations. The pile of the fleece itself is nice looking, but it's bulky and a magnet for pet hair. I'll know better how much this vest will actually replace my old R2 next spring as we haven't hit the true cold weather here in WI yet. Right now I am wearing it daily to get accustomed to its warmth, but I'll probably switch between the two going forward depending on forecast - not breaking this out until it's sub-20 deg F again. For reference, typically I am wearing a 150 weight merino base and this vest. I ride my cargo bike everywhere and depending on temperature and precip I either wear a hard shell or windproof lightly insulated soft shell as my outer layer.

November 22, 2019

Fast shipping Nice vest

Fast shipping Nice vest

November 13, 2019

Incorrect sizing

Badly undersized (At least by 2 sizes) versus other Patagonia jackets I wear. Quality appears good.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the sizing. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 1, 2019

Love it!

This is my favorite vest! Thx! Wear it all the time

October 24, 2019

Peter L.

Vest is longer and slimmer fitting than Retro-X Jacket. I'm 5'8" 165 pounds, and usually wear a medium. I've had more than five medium Retro-X jackets--love them all, fit great. Although Retro-X vest and jacket are advertised as regular fit, the vest is a different cut altogether. Vest is longer, slimmer, and tighter in the ches... Read Moret. Tried the large, too, but it almost went down to my knees. If you want a true regular fit vest that is not too long, get the Retro Pile vest.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Peter! Thank you for your feedback! We're very sorry to hear the fit of this item did not work out for you. The Retro-X Vest does have a slightly slimmer fit across the chest than the Retro-X Jacket; however, the length of the garments should be pretty close. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this for you.

October 10, 2019

Excellent warmth without the encumbrance

Excellent warmth without the encumbrance of having sleeves.

February 28, 2019

Warm and wind proof vest

I was looking for a warm and wind proof vest that blocked the cold chilling breeze and cold weather in San Francisco, and this vest fit the bill. It fits well, not too tight, not to loose, and it is really warm and it does block the wind as described. I got the Camo Bunker color to be used as a layer because it has various colors in its design whic... Read Moreh can match any jacket I have in my closet: brown, green, blue, and black. Very functional, comfortable, extra warm, and versatile. Highly recommended!

February 13, 2019

Get your money's worth and then some

Fantastic fitting and marvellous functionality. Keeps you warm and ventilated, and completely keeps the wind out. Paired with a Gore Tex Outer shell, you feel as comfortable as one would indoors sitting by the fire. I stand 5'7" and 150lbs, and S fits like a glove. Enjoy yours folks

December 28, 2018

Best vest ever....

Like the wind blocking lining. Wear it under a nano puff jacket and it's toasty at 20 degrees. Great body core warmer and looks good. Much better than stand fleece vest. I'm 5'11' and 190...I like a M as it's snugger and doesn't flap around. Helps to have a 34' waist. Great colors...the camo one is bad...;

December 9, 2018

Patagonia Retro-x vest

This vest is a heavy duty and warm vest. I have had this vest for two years and it still looks the same as the day I got it.

November 6, 2017

Amazing

I've owned this vest for a couple years and have put it through the ringer. I primarily use it while working outside as it's tough enough to handle snags or tough brush with no worries. It takes a while to break in as it's a little stiff right away but you will not find a tougher vest with the ability/versatility.

November 6, 2017

Classic for a reason

I have had this vest for a 4 months now and really dig it.I am a vest guy and in my opinion the Retro X is every bit as warm as down or synthetic vest.I really appreciate the elastic waist band gives you some wiggle room. My only grip and and the reason I can't give it five stars is the bottom hem did come unstitched in three places. Sent it... Read More back for repair got in back in about 2 and a half weeks. If your in the market for a really warm wind blocking non puffy vest look no further.

October 16, 2017

Kept me warm

This jacket kept me warm for 4 days in Algonquin! It was late fall and the temperature hovered at 0 to 17'C. I wore a base layer and this vest while canoeing. I was toasty while having plenty of freedom in my arms to paddle. Great combo! Awesome vest! I usually wear small and initially bought a small vest but later exchanged it for medium. I... Read More need the extra room for a base-layer + flannel shirt + vest.

July 16, 2017

Patagonia Classic

Haven't had the chance to wear this in the cold yet,but obvious will be very toasty and seems possibly will block wind as well. Of course doesn't pack like down,but this plus a long sleeve shell would get you through some pretty chilly conditions,I'm sure.

May 25, 2017

The Outdoor Vest,Personified

I've had a Retro-X jacket in my possession for over 8 years so it was time for a refresher course. This vest is built for the outdoors: cuts out wind and keeps your core warm in most any situation.

May 13, 2017

men's classic retro vest

fits great and keeps a little skinny guy very toasty.

April 16, 2017

Retro X Vest

As a Michigan fishing guide,staying warm is often imperative. The Retro X Vest is an essential part of my layering system... It does a great job at keeping my core warm.

February 11, 2017

One of the originals

I have one of the originals in all of its rough side out dirty tan glory. Bought in the 70s/ early 80s maybe. First Patagonia product I ever bought,Still my go to,in the woods,in the kayak drybag,snowshoeing,iceboating. What I specially like is the long back that gets down and covers your kidneys.

January 3, 2017

Nice and warm!

Got this for a Christmas gift and really love it. It is a bit stiff due to the wind-proofing and I wish the zipper was a little more substantial,but overall,it's great. I am 6' and 170 lb and a large fit nice with a flannel shirt.

December 28, 2016

15 years!

I bought the predecessor to this 15 years ago (when it wasn't really "retro"),and honestly think this is the single best piece of clothing I've ever bought. I wear it so often and for so many purposes,and it never disappoints. I ski with it under a shell,warm up for workouts in it with a T-shirt,wear it over a sort-of clean shir... Read Moret to work,and use it for so many other purposes several times per week. It is super functional,breathable but warm,and lets me move without restrictions. Even my wife likes the way it looks; classic,stylish,and fits perfectly. The only downside is that it is one of those things that if I forget on a trip,I am disappointed with myself for not remembering to bring it.

December 9, 2016

Mid layer must - great warmth and handwarming

Ive had one of these in the rotation for almost a decade now,and it has stayed there because it is awesome under a pit zipped shell and it is just great warmth. With pit zips open,you can reach in and warm/dry cold/wet hands on the fleece. Excellent for winter fly fishing,and equally useful when on the mountain to keep the warmth in on single digit... Read More and subzero days. Doesnt pack down like a puffy,but it makes up for it in soft,lofty fleece.

December 5, 2016

Perfect piece for core warmth!

This vest exceeded all my expectations. It is extremely warm and performs well in windy conditions. I am 5'8",athletic/muscular-build and the size medium fits me perfectly. I typically wear this over a short/long t-shirt or a fjord flannel. I would size up if you plan on wearing this over bulky clothing items.

November 18, 2016

Great fit,true to size but color is a bit off

My boyfriend is 6' tall and typically wears an XL in Patagonia. The XL is the right size for him but we are returning it because the carbon and orange color actually looks like a green and orange hunting vest. The orange is super bright and the "carbon" is more green than expected.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches