Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X? Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 300 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X? Fleece Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
May 13, 2022

Classic Feel

Classic feel. Feels great when wearing in cool weather with moderate to slightly strong winds. Inner lining of the jacket isnt soft, but does break in some, although I wouldnt wear it with short sleeves. Feels durable. Great chest pockets. Love the collar, very sturdy and protects from wind. Many companies try and copy this jacket, so had to try th... Read Moree OG, didnt disappoint. Curious if they had a different lining how that would make it feel, like fleece outer, membrane middle, and a different lighter fleece for inner.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Steven. Yes, it's the windproof membrane you're feeling that is a little stiff. We'll pass your suggestion about adding a different lining on to our product team!

May 9, 2022

Warm & so comfortable!

I love the comfort, warmth & style of this jacket, extremely happy with my purchase!!

May 4, 2022

Well made with a Classic look

This fleece is very comfortable and wears great. It is not going to be as soft as the synchilla due to the material, but it is still nice and the classic look can't be beat.

April 25, 2022

comfy and breathable

love this for early morning walks with the dog or as something to have in the back seat if it gets a little chilly on a night out

April 24, 2022

Super warm

Super warm jacket. Blocks wind well. Fit is a little bulky not tapered which is good for layering if needed. However, its soo warm, layering isnt necessary. Could be slimmer through the torso. Perfect camo color to blend in and hide while stalking fish.

April 11, 2022

Love that jacket!

Great cut and super warm!

March 29, 2022

OK

Good quality - my only issue is the size illustrated on the ordering work up runs small

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hello Glenn, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that the sizing did not work out on the Retro-X Jacket. You are welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at your convenience. We are also available to provide garment measurements if needed.

March 22, 2022

Favorite coat

This is the 6th time Ive purchased this coat. Its my all time favorite coat. Its super warm and is great at blocking the wind. This year the coat runs very small. Ive always purchased a large and this year it was very snug. I didnt try it on in the store because I was racing to catch a plane to Iceland. I was disappointed when I put it on when I go... Read Moret there and it was so snug. I barely had room for a fleece underneath it. Fortunately the coat is so warm it wasnt so much an issue. When I got home I bought another one in a larger size. The XL is a little big but I still love it.

March 21, 2022

Great classic looking jacket

At first, I wasnt sure about the jacket looking at it on the hangar at the store but after trying it on you feel like a boss. I am 65, 225, so tall and slim and this jacket in an XL fits perfect, more of a standard fit rather than slim and tight fitting. (Ive learned through the years I have to try on Patagonia stuff first because I vary from L or ... Read MoreXL based on the fit. I wear a L Nano Puff instead of XL since the L is much more slim fitting where the XL nano felt too baggy.) even though peoples biggest complaint is that it isnt super cozy on the inside like how it would look based on the outside of the jacket, it is very comfortable and very warm. I have noticed it cuts all wind better than my nano puff. 10/10 jacket

March 20, 2022

A classic

Love these jackets, nylon shells on down jackets tend to make me sweat, these are warm, wind proof, and are more comfortable for me.

March 19, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Second time I bought the jacket. Great on raft trips and amazing warmth in brutal cold.

March 17, 2022

Dumb Warm

It's dumb how warm and resistant this jacket is. Haven't stopped wearing it since purchased. Doing well in chicago!

March 17, 2022

Great jacket

Love the wind resistant. Very warm.

March 17, 2022

Great Coat

I am 62 and 200 pounds and a large fits really well. A little baggy like some of the other reviews say, but it fits the style of the coat. Really warm and the liner blocks the wind. I get a lot of comments on it.

March 16, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Keeps me warm in really cold weather.

March 14, 2022

Stops the cool breeze.

Excellent coat this one makes Five.

March 14, 2022

Super Warm and Comfortable

LOVE this jacket. Bought a large because the XL arms were way too long for me. Love this warm piece!

March 14, 2022

Runs smaller than my 2 older Retro X

I ordered this color because I always wanted this one , I have 2 older Retro X jackets and this new one is smaller in the body snd chest , its almost like a fitted jacket while my others are a loose fit , I had this one in an xxl a few years back and it was too big , now I should have ordered another xxl

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the new jacket fits differently. We did make this jacket in a "relaxed" fit long ago, but revised to a "regular" fit about a dozen years ago. Please reach out if you'd like to exchange, return or discuss some other product recommendations. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 13, 2022

Built to last

Sound construction, tough material yet comfortable.

March 11, 2022

Perfect, just be aware of fit.

I originally ordered a medium, but after being suspicious of its size, I tried on a small in-store and returned. This is a sweet jacket, if you are around my height and weight, 5'8" and 140 pounds, a small is perfect for a fitted look that can go with anything. A medium is perfect if you want to wear a hoodie or layer under it, but really... Read More baggy in the arms because of the size up. Hope this helps.

March 9, 2022

Cannot Recommend

I really really wanted to like this jacket/fleece, but there are too many small issues with the design of this jacket that I am going to return it. First the positives: - The quality of the stitching and materials is excellent. - It is quite warm for the most part minus in certain instances outlines below. - Decent price if picked up on a sale. No... Read Morew the negatives: - As others have mentioned, the jacket is quit short. That made it ride up my back constantly while driving or sitting. So I had to continuously pull it down. - The shoulder to elbow section of the sleeves is humongous which makes a lot of fabric bunch up in you arm pits which makes for an uncomfortable fit. - Because it is so short and the sleeves so huge, it does not retain heat quite well when outside in the cold. - The fleece SHEDS. Like crazy. Just putting it on and off results in a ton of fleece fibers flying off. - Pocket are very small and awkwardly positioned. It is quite difficult to easily put a phone and wallet in the packet due to the very small opening of the pocket and the pockets themselves being smaller than what I'm used to in other similar products. - The elastic around the wrist was rough for me to a point it got painful after a couple of wears. Only happened on one side. - The pocket is more than normal space towards the back so when you pull stuff out of your pocket, it gets stuck in that extra space. - The chest pocket is tiny. It can't fit an iphone 10 max with a cover. Again, I really really really wanted to like this fleece and I was so excited when I first got and I tried so so hard to look over all the relatively small weirdness. In the end there were too many issues to be happy with this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Thank you so much for sharing this detailed review. This kind of feedback is incredibly helpful both to other customers and to our design team. We're so sorry this jacket was a disappointment when it arrived! We see you've been able to return it. Please let us know if we can help you find something that you'll be happier with!

March 2, 2022

Very comfortable

Keeps warm and comfortable

March 1, 2022

Warm, Sturdy, High Pile

I really like this fleece jacket. It is almost too warm for hiking, and a little too stiff for folding up. But it is perfect for casual wear when the temp is above 35-40F. And I think it looks great.

February 25, 2022

A Really Cool Jacket!

So, me being the chic, monochromatic, navy blue and black clothes wearing guy that I am was admittedly pretty skeptical about buying Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket but that didn't last long. I bought two in a week :) and am eyeing a third (all in different colors). I know, I know! Let me explain. After realizing I needed a ... Read Morewarm and versatile but stylish jacket while running morning errands or grabbing evening drinks on a rooftop, I looked to one of my favorite brands, Patagonia, to check out my options and this jacket met all of my needs. I'm so happy I made this decision as I look forward to wearing this for a long time. I highly recommend it!

February 21, 2022

Warm and Functional

Super Warm and Functional! I bought this retro fleece jacket as a replacement for one I have been wearing nearly every day for the last 10 years. The original is still very functional but getting a little warn so i will shift its use to hiking, rafting, camping and fishing and use the new one for every day. Breathes well and works great when layeri... Read Moreng during winter or on cold mornings around camp. It has a wonderful quality on a cold clear morning when the sun hits the fabric it feels like you're wearing a heating pad!

February 19, 2022

Warm-durable- functional

Im outside a lot, much of that time in the woods, thick woods and need a coat that will stand up to branches, briars and not be to heavy or cumbersome- this one works - real well ;)

February 16, 2022

Looks nice online..

Bought this for my significant other but it was just stiff the material just isnt soft to the touch.

Response from Patagonia
February 18, 2022

Hi Carmen, thank you for sharing this review. What you're feeling may be the heavy-duty windproof barrier in the jacket. It does soften over time, but if he'd prefer something without that stiffness he might check out the Men's Los Gatos Jacket, or the Men's Retro Pile Jacket, both of which are fleecy but have a softer hand since they don't have that barrier. And we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if it doesn’t work out for you!

February 8, 2022

Rugged and well insulated

Great jacket! Just like the one I owned 20 years ago. Very warm!

February 2, 2022

Warm and Comfortable

Very warm in 30-40 degree weather, no need to bundle. Very comfortable for long hours of wear.

January 31, 2022

high quality

I love how when I purchase from Patagonia my money goes to a conscious company and the clothing is wonderful with a great guarantee.

January 30, 2022

Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Outstanding, fits great , very warm and you can feel the quality. Wasnt sure about purchasing because of the price , you can definitely tell / feel this is not your typical fleece jacket .

January 29, 2022

Great Jacket

Purchased the green camo version. A little short in the arm but layering (with hoodie) helps and its very well constructed. I do wish there was an interior pocket but exterior jacket pockets are really deep and can fit several items without giving you that bulky feeling. Chest pocket is great for shades. Im happy with my purchase.

January 29, 2022

Wind proof and very warm.

I bought my first Patagonia fleece jacket in the early 80s. It had a rough outside finish with fleece inside; it looked like Id skinned a sheep Very warm jacket as long as it wasnt windy. The new Retro-X is warmer thanks to the smooth inner layer that is very effective at keeping out the wind. I may look like the Cookie Monster (I bought the blue o... Read Morene) but it is very warm and comfortable to move around in. This will replace a down puffer jacket as my go-to cold weather outerwear.

January 29, 2022

Fits good

The retro x is great. I was concerned about the fit after reading some of the other reviews. I am 6'4" 220# with a 37" sleeve length and 44L jacket size. I ordered the XL (1/2022). It fits perfect in the arms and I can wear a sweater under it no problem. The length is maybe an inch and a half too short but it is not noticeable and so... Read Moremething that most tall folks are used to dealing with. The length could be in issue in the XL if you have a heaver build.

January 29, 2022

FInially fullfilled

Coveted this jacket now for 40 years. I always thought it too expensive. finally it was time and now worth every penny, I should have been wearing it for decades. Warm but not wind proof, easy temp regulation, looks so good!

January 29, 2022

Looks are deceiving

Very stylish good looking jacket, but it is not very warm or comfortable. The inside lining is rough to the touch. I would never wear this with a short sleeve shirt, and despite the warm fleeced look the jacket doesnt retain body heat very well.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hi Charlie, thank you for providing this review. We're sorry this jacket didn't work for you! What you’re feeling is the inner windproof barrier, which may feel a little stiff. If you’d like a fleece jacket without that kind of lining you might check out our Retro Pile Jacket or our Los Gatos products, which are softer inside. And of course, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if you wish.

January 29, 2022

A old friend

Wonderful coat. Stylish and a great fit. A friend to my 1986 pile coat that still gets brought out on special occasions. One thing- it's a little drafty around the bottom of the coat - a draw string would have been nice.

January 28, 2022

Perfect

Im a woman who hates the way women coats are typically made. I like more arm room without looking fuller in the body. Today its 37° a with snow coming and despite how thin it initially felt its doing an amazing job keeping me warm Definitely worth the wait and purchase

January 28, 2022

Black was slim fit

As opposed to the green, blue, camouflage XL jackets of the same type - this black version was a slim fit. The others fit appropriately. Love them otherwise.

January 27, 2022

Fantastic Fleece

I own two of these Classic Retro Jackets in Black and Blue. Plus a Classic Retro Vest in Black. This Patagonia fleece is the best fleece you can purchase. They keep you incredibly warm and they last for years.

January 26, 2022

High-quality and warm

This fleece feels really rugged and keeps me very warm. I love the high collar that I can pop up when its cold outside and windy. The full zipper jacket makes it easy to transition when taking it on or off. I also like a really large pockets.

January 22, 2022

Super warm.

I received this jacket as a present. Can't wait to wear up on the mountain hunting. I can't believe you don't make a matching beanie.

January 15, 2022

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable.

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable. Husband love it.

January 14, 2022

Great Gift

Bought this for my husband. He loves it and is wearing it all the time. The jacket acts as a windbreaker and is very warm.

January 13, 2022

Size

The length of the jacket could not be smaller at all, im 6'1, but L size is still a bit loose on the arms. Otherwise quite happy with it.

January 7, 2022

Great first version

I have the earlier version without the unsightly contrasting outside pocket. I have used it for over ten years and its a great part of my outdoor kit for climbing, sailing and casual. Still looks great. BUT I am waiting for a new version, more stretchy for movement, without that ugly pocket !!

January 5, 2022

Best heavy fleece out there

I have the retro x Large from back in 2000, and this is heavier and an improvement- better than ever. Nobody makes a jacket like this - I mean nobody. Not EB, REI,TNF, even commercial fishing outerwear companies. Wind proof, perfect for cold snowy days skiing as a mid layer under a shell. Down sweater jackets arent good for that. I also wear th... Read Moreis all the time in town and everywhere. My only issue is with size. The large was too large, I settled for the medium, which is tight with anything substantial under it. My old 2000 Retro Large was perfect for a mid weight sweater underneath. Still, I think this is the best Bomber fleece out there.

January 5, 2022

It's a no from me

I was really excited about this jacket, and if you're under 6' you should be too. Unfortunately I am not. The sizing of this is really weird. I understand its a retro design and sizing was different when this was first designed. But yeah, as some of the other reviews from tall people mention, this is way too short on me. It's also ba... Read Moreggie is very odd ways. The arms, especially around the biceps are huge for example. and yeah this did not look good on me at all. I wish Patagonia made a tall version of this. This is also a stiff coat, but if that's what it takes to be windproof, which it does seem to be, then I can't personally complain about that. But yep, this is going right back to Patagonia unfortunately

January 5, 2022

Efficient Cut and Toasty Insides

I compulsively purchase fleece products - I first bought this item in the Pelican colour, and liked it so much I also bought the navy, black and natural versions as well. A real sickness. (Note that the Natural colour does look like . . . well, like one is wearing a sheep (or a mod vicuna), so wearing it out in town for errands or a drink may yield... Read More hurtful/inappropriate comments, depending on the crowd). But this jacket is awesome outdoors or on the couch taking an unscheduled nap. Feels sort of cold when I first put one on and then, a few minutes later, just the right touch of warmth. It is cut at the waist just below the belt, so it is great in a car or in a large suv. The sleeves are generous in length.

January 4, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Great jacket. I have been wearing to to walk to work in the cold New England winter. Much warmer than you would think and super comfortable. I particularly like how it has a protector on the zipper so you dont scratch your neck when its not fully zipped up.

January 3, 2022

Too short

The jacket is very short. The XXL fits my brother, who is 65, but both the body of the coat and the sleeves are inches too short. The sleeves are above his wrist bone when hes standing with his arms straight at his sides. The body of the coat almost reaches his belt. It looks like a petite coat. We will definitely return it. (That being said its a ... Read Morecool jacket and seems to be nice quality.)

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry the fit was disappointing. If you haven't already returned it, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 3, 2022

Great Jacket

The jacket is much warmer than it looks because of the lining. Fairly boxy fit and very warm and cozy. Washes and wears very well. I thought the price was high, but it is worth every penny and I am sure it will last for many years.

January 3, 2022

Super warm

Really good and wants to give as a gift to family and friends.

December 27, 2021

Cozy, stylish, and comfy

Fits comfortably throughout, warm, and looks great. Instantly became my favorite jacket!

December 26, 2021

Love it

Much warmer than I had originally imagined, which is amazing. They weren't lying about it being wind resistant. I was thinking I might need a more true winter jacket living in Michigan, but so far this covers all my bases.

December 25, 2021

A must have

So thrilled with my Christmas gift this year. Got the Nena Blue in Medium and it fits me perfectly. This fleece jacket is like a Swiss army knife of fleeces.

December 25, 2021

Super comfortable & nice quality

The brand is exactly what they say it is. It does run a bit small for men with broad shoulders. I bought this item for one of my sons who swears by the brand. The one positive outcome is the other two kids decided to purchase similar items and no returns.

December 24, 2021

Cozy

New to Patagonia for the most part. Been trying different fleece jackets from different companies. I was impressed with the amount of loft in this one and the warmth it gives you. Not all fleece jackets are created equal. My only complaint is the inside liner which may have plastic in it ? It is somewhat cool to the touch. Would have preferred some... Read Morething warmer. Jacket fits just at or below waist level. Not for big bellies or buy one size bigger in that case.I am 5' 10" 152lbs size small was a good fit for me.

December 21, 2021

Great Addition to the Winter Wardrobe

Comfortable, TTS, and super soft. Keeps me warm in the NYC winters

December 20, 2021

Decent jacket but needs to be roomy!

Bought the XL and it fits relatively well, though the shoulder/armpit area is somewhat tight. The upper portion is more form fitting while the bottom half is slightly roomier. Sleeve length is fine and extends to the wrists. The length extends around the waist instead of below the waist. There is no cinchcord in the waist which is needed considerin... Read Moreg the price! You can wear a base layer shirt and a lightweight fleece/wool sweater and even a lightweight vest underneath though the vest may make a snugger fit. That'll help block any updrafts since there's no waist cinchcord. There are no inner pockets, only the zippered pockets outside, which are relatively roomy enough to store gloves and a small hat in the hand pockets. The zippered chest pocket can store smaller items like keys or money. There's a stiff mesh membrane that's sewn together with the fleece that blocks the wind. The jacket is relatively warm and will block most of the wind but it won't provide that much warmth when temps drop to the low 30s F or below. Visit New England during late autumn & winter when the cold, wind & wind chill cuts through your bones, hence bone chilling weather which New England is known for. No way you're going to wear just a regular shirt underneath in freezing temps, despite what some people state in their reviews. Best to wear under an insulated or shell jacket/parka in freezing temps. If you move around in the cold, your inner body will feel hot so it does provide some warmth. The jacket is somewhat stiff & heavy because of the membrane lining and the fleece may even get a bit hard over time. Patagonia needs to update the jacket to make the shoulder/armpit area Looser and include a waistcord! It should consider making a hooded version but with a bit looser fit. For comparison, the retro-x vest is More snug fitting than the jacket. Buy when it's on sale at it's expensive at regular price.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Michael! Our classic Retro-X is windproof and not particularly breathable, so we don't recommend high-output activity for this item. It will work well with a light layer underneath, and a waterproof shell outside of it if it's raining or snowing. You might prefer the fit and features of some of our other [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece). Thanks for your review!

December 18, 2021

Pretty good jacket

Fleece jackets are usually not that great once the temperature is below 40 degrees. This jacket is good below the freezing point. The difference is this jacket has a wind proof layer. It works really well! This fleece jacket is actually functional. I just love it! I got four different colors so far!

December 14, 2021

Love this jacket!

It is super warm and windproof, exactly what I was looking for so I can be comfortable on those cold days while hiking or shooting pictures.

December 13, 2021

PLEASE MAKE PANTS

Hello development team. My husband bought a pair of pants that are this EXACT material when he was maybe 15. They are still his favorite pants at 41yo. The only wear and tear they show is where coals burned through, and he did bachelor-style repairs. I have now been looking for the past 3-4 years for pants in this material--just thick, draw-string,... Read More comfy fleece pants. I have ordered from REI, brought them in to Cabella, called folks at BackCountry Gear. Whenever I show them to people, they say "I want a pair!" When I had babies, I told him I wished I had a pair that fit me to wear to be cozy. You would sell zillions of them. Pants. Make pants in this. I promise, I would buy 5 pairs and most people I know would buy them too.

December 9, 2021

It's a good jacket with a couple of issues

A couple of things that I don't like. It's too bulky. Arms could be be more narrow and shorter. Also the jackets seems too short on the hips. An extra inch would be good. When I get in the car I have to keep pushing it down because it hickes up on my back. Good points: since Pategonia in their wisdom discontinued the R4, this is the only ... Read Morefleece jacket that is wind proof. The R4 was an awesome jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

Hi George! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the way the jacket fits. Also, you're not alone in missing our old R4 Jacket, so we'll definitely share this with our design team. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products and offering the styles customers want for future seasons. We appreciate you!

December 8, 2021

Super warm and soft

Very well made, and it keeps me super warm

December 7, 2021

Super Warm

I owned one of the originals in the 90s -- and lost it and was so sad and always missed it -- thank you for bringing it back! Love the nubby texture of the fleece -- very cozy looking. The fit is the same, which is OK, though it is retro -- the body is slightly cropped relative to the arm length and the arms are cut very roomy relative to the chest... Read More which is a normal to slightly snug fit. It does make you look kind of like a gorilla -- like you have really muscled, long arms. But it's nice to have it not feel tight in the arms and not restrict your movement. And it's SO warm, because it's windproof. Literally I can wear a tee shirt and this jacket and be comfortable outside in 40 degree weather. Some people may not care for the feeling of the lining since it's not fleece inside, especially if they want that snuggly soft fleece feeling against their skin, but it's worth it to have the wind proofing and you are probably layering under this anyway.

December 1, 2021

Perfect

Website to purchase was very user friendly. Received emails on the purchase and delivery. COAT fits perfectly and super warm.

November 29, 2021

Good design and quality

So comfy and warm.

November 25, 2021

Arms too long. Waist was fine.

Arms were too long. Other wise fine..

November 25, 2021

Definitely cuts wind, but not super warm

I bought a medium mens jacket for my daughter who is 58 and 130# and she could have went with a small, however she likes it oversized and can layer a hoodie or vest under it. We went with the mens style because she liked the color better and didnt want a fitted jacket. Bonus her mom can wear it too, Im 59 and 155# and it fits great!

November 25, 2021

Perfect All Around Fleece

I was eyeing this fleece for some time. I get cold very easily and always like something with a little more protection. Having the wind proof feature also made it extra alluring because theres nothing worse than commuting to work on your bike on a windy day. This really hit home. At first I was a little reluctant about the stiff interior but this i... Read Mores what keeps it windproof. I also must say that the staff at Patagonia were extremely helpful. Initially I was looking at the womens style but the associates told me a lot of women go with the mens because of color, cut and overall fit. I took their advice and went with the mens as well. I normally wear a medium but went with the mens small. It has a little more room in the arms which is perfect when layering. You cant go wrong with this jacket!

November 21, 2021

Surprisingly warm, plus it block the wind!

I am very happy with this purchase! The classic retro X jacket cozy, light weight, and surprisingly warm! ️️️

November 21, 2021

Super Warm

The jacket is warm and stops the wind from coming through it. I love the navy color and the softness of the fleece.

November 18, 2021

So Sharp!

Bought this for my boyfriend. We both absolutely love it. It is nice and warm, suuuuper sharp, and stylish. The fleece softens after a few uses. Overall just very very sharp when he wears it.

November 18, 2021

super warm and comfy

i ordered small size, it perfectly fits and super comfy and warm.

November 17, 2021

A++++

Im 511 185, with pretty broad shoulders and a Large was to small, so gave to my son. Xl fits like a glove!!!!

November 15, 2021

Warm, but stiff

I bought this jacket to wear mostly in the time where multiple layers are not really necessary, but its chilly enough to want a single warm jacket that fits well. While this jacket is certainly warm, the wind proof membrane lining inside is actually quite stiff, and holds the shape of the jacket. This makes it a bit uncomfortable to wear over a pol... Read Moreo or t-shirt, and basically requires a sweater or pullover or thick long sleeve shirt to wear comfortably. Also, because the lining is hard and holds its shape, the jacket runs a bit large around the shoulders and is more baggy around the armpits than I anticipated. The outer fleece is also not quite as soft as some of the pictures might make it seem.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hi Afsayh, thank you for taking the time to write a review. That windproof barrier is no joke on the Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket, it's burly to keep you protected from the elements. Also, it does soften a bit with wear and washing. However, if you're looking for something softer with the same look, check out the Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket: https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=DBGR&cgid=root. It's extremely warm, so multiple layers are not needed. It might be just what you're looking for!

November 10, 2021

Great Winter Fleece

This is a great fleece for the times where you want to wear a fleece, but a snap t or better sweater style fleece might not provide enough warmth. The liner in it does a good job of blocking wind and making it more of a jacket than fleece. The liner also makes it easy to get on and off when you are wearing another cotton or wool layer underneath it... Read More. The fit is perfect for me, it's a combination of being a little shorter and a little boxier, more similar to the fit of the snap t. I wear small (flannel, sweater) and medium (snap t, better sweater) and the medium in this was perfect for me. It is definitely a high pile fleece with a lot of texture, which in my opinion is a pretty cool look and adds to the coziness of it.

November 10, 2021

Stylish, light and practical

This was for my son who wears it to school. Stylish, light, soft and very practical. Perfect for the autumn season when it's too warm for down jackets but too cold for hoodies. Highly recommended!

November 5, 2021

Fleece Perfection

This piece fits well, stops the wind, and looks great all the time. Some fleeces look like you dried them with your girlfriends cat when you pull them out of the dryer, but not this one! I had my last one for twenty years, and lost it recently. I recommend getting a vest and jacket, you will want both.

November 5, 2021

Excellent Jacket

I owned the old fleece jacket years ago but lost it somewhere. The Retro-X fleece jacket is even better than the old fleece. It is an excellent jacket.

November 3, 2021

Better lining than expected

Great jacket, as expected looks-wise, with a better, more structured, more breathable lining than expected. Could be an inch longer in the back -- or I could simply wear longer shirts or pull my pants up more. But otherwise I'll live in this for the next ten years.

November 2, 2021

Barn red coat is giving me life everyday , durable, warm

Wonderful item. Fits short on torso , I am 6 foot 3 needed the xxl

October 26, 2021

Great wind block with liner

Love the internal wind block liner makes all the difference in a cold wind.

October 18, 2021

Perfect oversized look

I'm 6'0 165lbs and this jacket fit my style perfectly. I prefer the oversized look and this jacket was perfect for that.

October 13, 2021

Comfortable, Warm, Good quality

Received a lot of compliments for this piece. I like it. I'm 30lbs bigger than others and I usually wear a M in their pullovers but the jacket fit me pretty good without being overly snug.

October 11, 2021

Honest Review

Super warm and will definitely keep you warm in the winter. Also is wind resistant which comes in handy when you live in Chicago. Looks great and goes with a lot in my wardrobe. This jacket is a little pricey but when you consider the life time warranty and the eco friendly aspect of this item its totally worth it.

October 5, 2021

Choose your size wisely

I purchased a large since people say its run true to size but dont believe that. The sleeves are perfect but they make the chest/torso area tight and slim for skinnier men. Im not heavy or have a belly but, I prefer comfort. I ended up returning the large for an XL. BEST DECISION!

August 14, 2021

Fits great

I bought this because of the liner to provide protection from the wind from what I can tell this will work great. Size and quality are excellent.

July 14, 2021

Awesome Product

Very happy with this purchase, which was on my list for quite some time. Surprisingly warm, comparable to my down jacket. Wind and cold do not penetrate this fleece jacket AND it's got a cool factor to it whether I'm on a hike or at work.

July 11, 2021

I love it!Perfect!

I will buy some other things.

June 25, 2021

Great quality of product.

Can't expect more really. All abut it is just as I wanted.

June 24, 2021

Great Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and super stylish. Enough for cool Bay Area nights.

June 19, 2021

I love it!

It will be good for the winter

June 15, 2021

Fab but small maybe a little smaller than version from 5 years ago?

I got the purple/blue, and it's killer in an I'M WEARING PURPLE AND BLUE WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT kind of way. I think it's a bit smaller / slimmer overall than the cream/blue version I got a few years ago, which works fine for me. I'm a 5'7, 125 lb woman with no hips. If you have hips, you may want to size up or go with ... Read Morea cut for women.

May 20, 2021

Great for cool days at the playground.

I primarily bought this because I found that most technical layers arent warm enough when you are watching your children at a playground. (I try to do this everyday as I have outdoor kids) Its windproof and warm and your kids dont just slide off you when you pick them up. Besides I look like a sesame street character!

May 20, 2021

Fits short and boxy

As a tall but fairly slender man, this jacket runs too short and wide. Ordered online but returned because of this issue. Bummed out because it feels like such a great fleece, but the size/shape isn't right for me!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Thanks for the review and sorry it didn't work out with our Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Since you have a slender build, we'd recommend checking out our slim fit options for fleeces. You can check these out by using the filter bar on the left-hand side of the screen under any category. The [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=mens-fleece) will be our most similar slim fit option, check it out!

May 9, 2021

Cozy and fun

I bought one of the original, classic, ugly pile jackets back in the seventies. Ive had a couple of other versions over the years, and I love them for their warmth, wind blockage, and fun look. This will undoubtedly last me the rest of my life. Love it!

May 5, 2021

Best Fleece jacket

I dont usually like synthetic fabrics, but I love this jacket so much!! Super comfy and worm. (Best windproof fleece jacket) Also I like the look. Very simple and classic.

April 23, 2021

Now I Have My Own

I have had a Retro-X for many years. It is my favorite go-to jacket. My son also discovered that he liked this Retro-X....so he "borrowed" mine all the time. Now that we have 2 of them, I get to wear mine again. Would love to see this in even more colors - keep up the great work.

April 12, 2021

Great Jacket!

Great jacket warm and windproof!

April 9, 2021

Great jacket

Well made wind prof warm. Fits like a glove. This is the second one I have bought for personal usage I truly love it.

April 7, 2021

Excellent wind proofing and well fitted

Good gear the second one I have purchased in the past six years.

April 6, 2021

Break the Wind

I wanted a fleece that was windproof. This definitely fits the bill. It's soft on the outside, a bit stiff on the inside. Nice and warm and a true wind proof fleece. Not a light coat by any means, but I'd recommend it to my best friend....

April 5, 2021

Just love it

Replaces a 20 yo version. Tested for two weeks in cold and Gail force winds. Wouldnt trade it for anything.

April 2, 2021

Built to Patagonia standard

This is, bar none, the best fleece Ive owned. It is incredibly warm, comfortable and the pockets are deep, and perfectly placed; I think. Everything is of the highest caliber, which one would expect given its a Patagonia. I bought the blue jacket, and it is really sweet I must say.

March 31, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Wonderful Fit. No need for multi layering. Many compliments on style & overall look of the jacket.

March 24, 2021

Comfy jacket

Customer service was superb. She was beyond helpful. Will definitely continue shopping with Patagonia

March 9, 2021

Exactly what I expected

True, warmth, fit and function... exactly what I expected

March 8, 2021

Great at stopping the wind

Great jacket, has multiple uses.

March 4, 2021

A Must Have

Super solid piece of warmth. Great to throw on getting out of the surf or the hot tub as it functions well in the wind and when wet. Wish the zipper was stronger...

February 25, 2021

Cozy and timeless

I have had several Retro X vests, but never the full jacket. I'm very glad I decided to get one because it has quickly become one of my go to everyday jackets. It is a very warm and cozy windproof fleece, and the wooly style is great because it doesn't pill. It is a nice casual piece that can be layered up or down underneath easily. I tho... Read Moreught it would be more of a shoulder season coat for me here in Maine, but I have worn it all winter. If it's cold, then I wear a flannel and vest underneath. This is a great jacket all around and a timeless Patagonia classic.

February 25, 2021

Just different

I have a couple of zip down sweaters that I really love I was looking for one in black and I thought because its extra warm it would be great however I did not like the cardboard feel of the inside and I thought the waist line could be a little longer basically what I wanted was a warmer replica of the other sweaters that I had. Dont worry! I do ow... Read Moren many Patagonia products and I will continue to buy them

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hello Jim! We're truly sorry that this jacket was not what you expected in terms of length and feel. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so we truly appreciate you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Thanks so much for your review!

February 25, 2021

Quality product

Comfortable and versatile!

February 19, 2021

Could be an inch longer around the waist length wise also the front pocket needs to be made of better material already have a hole/slight rip. Possibly might return due to manufacturing default?

Other than the material on the front pocket love the coat. With living in Michigan it has been keeping me warm through these cold months.

February 19, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket! It fits well, looks great and keeps me warm. I live in the Northwest and go hiking frequently and its been more than enough for hiking in most weathers.

February 14, 2021

Warm

This is my favorite jacket in my closet. 10/10

February 13, 2021

Excellent, but...

I have purchased Patagonia products for DECADES; I have Baggie, Hoodies, etc. that are 25+ years old that look almost new despite rigorous use. This is the first Patagonia product where the zippering function is "intermittent" i.e. it catches at the neck. I find myself having to be "extra" precise in lining up the zipper to prev... Read Moreent locking...

February 13, 2021

Excellent craftsmanship

Another great Patagonia item! The wind resistant liner/interior makes it different than other fleece jackets, but also gives it a sturdier feel. Likely takes a few wears in order to break in. You can size up if you intend to layer, but fits true to size and is warm enough to not need a thick layer underneath. Beautiful and highly recommend!

February 4, 2021

Cozy

Bought for my son. He loves it. Perfect for. Quick service.

February 3, 2021

Warm

Wish the inside of the jacket was soft as the outside.

February 1, 2021

Warm

It works very well to keep me warm that sometimes I have to take it off to cool off.

January 31, 2021

Super Duper Warm!

This is the warmest fleece I have ever worn. Perfect for cold weather!

January 31, 2021

Super warm

Im able to use this jacket as an outer layer even during winter on the east coast

January 31, 2021

All Around a Great Piece

I love this jacket! For the price you're getting a great bang for your buck! I a bit large of a gentleman and it still fits great. I would purchase true to size.

January 29, 2021

Won't let you down!!

It's currently 23 degrees Fahrenheit where I am at and wind gusts of 15 mph. This jacket is amazing. Considering that I am only wearing an under shirt when I decided to go out with my dog for a walk. I managed to stayed warm with the jacket and it did exactly what it was meant to do. Protected the upper body from the wind and kept me warm. To ... Read Moredate, happy with the purchase.

January 24, 2021

super warm

Fashionable and super warm

January 24, 2021

Super warm

I bought this for work and it keeps me warm down to freezing so far. It offers moderate wind protection, but after about 15 mph, some air gets in. If I were to hike in this above 30 degrees or so, Id get too warm. The jacket is well built and is made of quality materials. I highly recommend the Classic Retro-X.

January 23, 2021

Warm and Windproof!!!

Almost too warm! Fantastic in windy conditions. I find myself wearing less underneath this fleece than I anticipated. Retired several other older coats that I had considered to be heavier. Size is great.

January 22, 2021

First purchase

I bought a Patagonia product for the first time and loved it.

January 21, 2021

XMAS GIFT

I bought this for my husband for xmas. I bought him the xl but it was a snug fit, probably the fit that some people would want. We swapped for the xxl as he likes a bit more oversized. quick and easy exchange :).

January 21, 2021

Warmth with Retro vibes

I bought this for my boyfriend after I saw him eyeing my retro-x jacket. Now its the only jacket hes been wearing. He still wears the heck out of his nano but loves how windproof this is as well as street forward. Also, thank you Patagonia for your AMAZING customer service! You are one of a kind

January 20, 2021

Zipper sometimes gets stuck

Sometimes the zipper gets stuck because it rolls over the inner lining. you have to pull the lining fabric out of the zipper to get it to move. Also its not as soft/cozy as I had thought from pictures. The inside is not at all like the outside, not soft or fuzzy. Jacket is very warm though and looks great in my opinion, so I still wear it often. ... Read MoreJust have to move the zipper gingerly.

January 19, 2021

Good fit

I like it

January 17, 2021

Very Nice Fleece

A very nice fleece that I ever owned. Torso runs little bit large but true to size in general. You won't be disappointed

January 13, 2021

Super warm and cozy

Cozy

January 12, 2021

Awesome look, great fit, and super warm

The initial reason was the great retro look. Im in love with this jacket. Its warm and cozy and looks great

January 12, 2021

Super Cool and Classic!

You guys have the right stuff. Keep going.

January 10, 2021

Great jacket. The new work line is fantastic. Boots are amazing. Jackets fabulous.

Great jacket. Good fit. Handsome design.

January 10, 2021

Size Up

I'd seen someone in a roomy, flexible fleece jacket and thought this was it. The fabric had a stiff look, the jacket boxy and fit small. A more generous fabric, fit and longer length would've been better.

Response from Patagonia
February 12, 2021

Thank you for providing this important feedback. The nature of the wind-proof liner does make it feel a bit stiffer. If you are looking for something more flexible with a similar soft, shearling exterior, you could consider the [Retro Pile Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=ELKH). We hope this helps!

January 8, 2021

So comfortable you can't pry it off.

I really dig how comfortable the jacket is and its crazy warm yet breathable on a brisk winter walk. My only downside is the fit around the chest is a bit wide. Not sure how to change that though as the back allows me to have a large range of motion. Also, the change in color on the chest pocket is a bit weird and would look that much slicker if it... Read More was more subtle.

January 5, 2021

StapleWear

Great color and look. Extremely functional, I know it will take a beating. only drawback is the fit. Fits in shoulders, too big in waist.

January 5, 2021

LOVE IT

Super warm, comfortable, exactly what I was looking for.

January 5, 2021

Weird sizing

Jacket looks great, but as title suggests, its a weird fit. I usually wear a large in Patagonia (I really need a medium-tall, since Patagonia seems to run wide, but since they dont make tall sizes, I go with a large for sleeve length and deal with the baggies), but after trying on a large in this, the body and sleeves are shorter than other Patagon... Read Moreia items, so I had to size up to an XL. The sleeves and body on this are still oddly short, and its super baggy, but it works. I had it tailored and called it a day. Suggestion: make tall sizing, please.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Hi Jason, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding our sizing. Feedback like this helps us to improve products for future seasons so its really appreciated.

January 4, 2021

Amazing

I wear this almost everyday!

December 31, 2020

Second one owned

My original retro x jacket was purchased in 2000 for myself and along with all of my Patagonia gear I loved it from the start. Fast forward 20 years and my 17 ear old daughter has hijacked mine (its a size lg and too loose for her but it didnt deter her). I ordered a medium for her and she loves it. Its awesome to see the quality Has not wavered in... Read More 20 years as many other companies do. Its identical to mine, except for size and color. For casual wear or as a mid layer under a shell you cant beat this jacket.

December 30, 2020

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

December 29, 2020

Super warm

Purchase to give as a gift, liked it a lot. Impressed with the fast delivery of the product Patagonia is good!

December 29, 2020

Great Jacket

Only gripe i have is that the sleeves are pretty huge both in length and width but super cool jacket

December 29, 2020

Super warm jacket!

Really happy with this purchase! Jacket fit perfectly and will be nice for Minnesotas cold weather.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches