Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.48 /5

Filter Reviews

All 109 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

4.48
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Too baggy

I ordered the Classic Retro-X to replace my Retro-X from the 90's. My current Retro-X is perhaps the most worn garment in my entire life, spanning 20 years. Unfortunately, the new Retro-X is not an accurate re issue of the original. The new version is cut much larger with extra fabric around the chest and waist and especially in the arms. It i... Read Mores actually clearly visible in the picture of the model. This has clearly been re-designed to be an outerwear jacket rather than a middle wear insulating layer. Upon attempting to layer it under my ski coat, my arms bound up and there were folds of fabric in the middle section. Additionally, the fabric is much stiffer and feels thicker. I tried the small as well, and it was too tight with an additional zipper problem. All in all, this is only appropriate for fashion wear, not for layering or serious use outdoors.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2020

Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of our Retro-X Jacket. We're not exactly sure what season your original jacket came from but it definitely sounds like some revisions have been made. The Retro-X is more of a casual fleece and it won't make the best mid-layer as you've described. If you're interested in checking out an option that would serve as a better mid-layer we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's R2 Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-r2-regulator-fleece-jacket/25139.html?dwvar_25139_color=CSRD#q=r2&lang=en_US&start=1)

June 26, 2020

Best product on the market

Patagonia are the foremost company for apparel - if you havent got this fleece jacket, you should try to find one as it is the best jacket.

June 17, 2020

Excellent tool

For cold, windy weather, there is no better piece of gear. I live the NE and wear the retro-x five months of the year.

June 4, 2020

Great jacket, warm and stylish

Warm and true to description. Oversize fit as expected. I'm 6'3" and broad shoulder width and Large fits great.

April 24, 2020

Best Pile Fleece On the Market

I have multiple colors in this jacket and its by far my favorite fleece jacket to wear. Im not typically someone who wears certain jackets in specific seasons. This jacket I where all year long, even some of those summer nights with a cool breeze. I am 5'8. I could probably fit into a medium which would be a standard fit but I like my outerwea... Read Morer a little roomy so that's why I wear a large in this fleece.

March 12, 2020

Really warm and stylish!!

I've been waiting for perfect color for retro-x fleece jacket. This ivory and mustard detail jacket is perfect. Really Really warm. I took this jacket to camping couple times during winter and it made me sweat.

February 11, 2020

Love It!

I've been waiting to get one of these for years. Wind blocking is excellent, definitely a warm piece, so almost too hot to wear indoors unless the wearer is cold natured. Fit is true to size, so allows layers underneath. Great jacket for running around town.

January 19, 2020

Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and provides awesome wind protection. Fits very true to size and the sleeves are a little bulky but fits the overall aesthetic of the piece. Not as soft on the inside as expected but nonetheless a comfortable fit! Excellent quality as usual with Patagonia.

January 1, 2020

Many Compliments!

The only thing I would say is the body runs a bit short. Great piece otherwise!

January 1, 2020

Great Quality and Superb Customer Service

Worked with the Chat Patagonia rep and he was so helpful without a lot of fuss. And, the quality of the jacket is perfect. My son looks so handsome in it! And, it keeps him so warm. His friends already want the same one! Thank you!

December 30, 2019

Great jacket

Really warm and insulating jacket. Fits really well and has a nice vintage look

December 29, 2019

Best jacket i've owned

Best jacket i've owned

December 27, 2019

Pretty good Jacket

Keeps me very warm. Looks good. The inside material wasn't what I expected but still a good jacket

December 23, 2019

CNYguy

This was my first Patagonia product and it easily made my top three favorite jackets, which is saying something because I’m kind of a jacket nut. The fit is flawless and the jacket (while slightly bulky) is a treat to wear. Extremely comfortable and high quality! Bravo Patagonia!

December 19, 2019

Great Fit! Love the style

Great Fit! Love the style and how it feels

December 19, 2019

Love this jacket!

I bought this jacket impulsively and it was the best decision ever. I wear it daily and it works both in the outdoors or in a restaurant. Love x a million!

December 18, 2019

Great jacket

Warm and light weighted jacket can wore whole winter!

December 17, 2019

Great jacket

This is a beautiful, functional jacket. Unfortunately it was too small and I am returning it after finding a larger size elsewhere.

December 14, 2019

Great Fleece

I love this fleece. It is extremely warm and comfortable. A little extra room in the arms makes it great as a top layer.

December 13, 2019

DMB

Versatile, windproof, and very warm on a cold day.

December 13, 2019

Retro Zipper Sticks

I purchased the Retro-X fleece to replace my trusty old R4 fleece which I recycled with Patagonia Worn Wear. The Retro-X is light,warm and I really like the color. The inside lining is not soft, but rather stiff and rough compared to my my old R4. The Retro-X could also use an inside pocket. The problem with my Retro-X is the YKK zipper catches on... Read More a ribbon sewn parallel to the zipper. Every time I try to unzip the jacket the zipper catches on the ribbon and sticks a couple of inches below the neckline . I've learned to pull up on the right side of the collar when unzipping to avoid this phenomenon but it irritates me. I would send the Retro-X in for exchange but after talking to customer service I learned my color is sold out and not scheduled for future availability. Only one other color in my size is in stock and I don't like that color. This zipper problem may be a sewing flaw on my fleece only. YKKs are the best. I need this fleece for the winter so I'm stuck like the zipper.

December 11, 2019

WOW

This is definitely the best fleece jacket I’ve ever owned! It’s warm it’s stylish it’s just perfect! I originally went with a size XL but ended up returning it for a size L and it’s a perfect fit! Glad I bought two more of these jackets in different colorways.

December 10, 2019

Very nice looking jacket

Very nice looking jacket

December 8, 2019

Good fast

Good fast

December 7, 2019

Love it

Runs a bit big, but good for layering. Love it!

December 3, 2019

Patagonia Jackets

Great Christmas Gifts

December 3, 2019

Awesome Casual Jacket

Love the color scheme on the sage khaki version. Looks great with jeans. I tend to get more technical outdoor jackets, so this one was a perfect fit for the more casual settings. It is a little stiff when you first get it, but after a few wears it has a great feel. The outside is super soft, but it does a great job stopping the wind. The chest pock... Read Moreet is super handy and has a nice padded inside. The hand pockets go straight to the mesh lining inside. Would love if the same fleece material was on the inside of the pockets to help keep my hands warm because I don’t like to wear gloves.

Response from Patagonia
December 19, 2019

William we really appreciate your attention to detail in this review. This kind of thoughtful feedback is so helpful to other customers and to our product designers to make improvements, so thank you!

December 2, 2019

Classic X

You can not get a warmer jacket. You can not get cold in this jacket. It has a liner that works, don't complain about it. Wear it with a fleece under shirt and a shell and you can sleep outside.

December 2, 2019

Love it!

I absolutely love my jacket. It is truly amazing!

December 2, 2019

Very nice

Fast delivery nice fleece jacket 100 percent satisfied

December 2, 2019

Good~ fit for me

H: 5.7 W:174 Size :M It is good for me as fitting And warm.

December 1, 2019

Well done.

Love love love Patagonia.

November 30, 2019

Classic retro-x is the best!

Warm, wind proof and stylish. Speaks for itself!

November 28, 2019

Beautiful coat

I bought a men’s medium because I liked the colors better than the women’s. I am a 132 lb, 5’7” female with a lean, athletic build. It’s incredibly warm and totally wind proof. The lining is mildly stiff suggesting it will battle the cold fearlessly and it does. I can wear a light sweater under it during 20 degree days with a hat and gloves and be ... Read Morewarm. I love this coat. I am careful with all of my clothing and conservative with drying so I wash it inside out and hang it to dry. It’s dried in no time and looks great.

November 28, 2019

Great product-Great service

Had one of these jackets many years ago and loved it. Got lost in a move. So got another one with different trim colors for myself for Christmas. Love it and get lots of great comments about it from both friends and strangers. I wear it for bus duty at an elementary school in Minnesota and I am never cold.

November 26, 2019

Very warm jacket!

I wear this jacket on my commute to work, and it's very warm. Thanks to this jacket, my cold walk around NYC to my office is better and warmer :)

November 26, 2019

High recommend

It is very good product. I highly recommend this.

November 25, 2019

Great Jacket Worth its Price!

this jacket is very warm and stylish. it does a great job in keeping the warmth inside in any weather condition. And I believe this is a jacket that can last for years both in condition and style.

November 24, 2019

Classic Retro X Jacket

Wore the jacket last weekend and it was big hit. Size was perfect. Loved the length. Also love the rich blue color. Lots if compliments! Looking forward to looking stylish ski days! Think snow.

November 22, 2019

Fit isn't perfect but works well after modifications

This jacket is great. It is warm, comfortable, and looks great. Unfortunately, it is not cut well for tall people. I am 6'2" and ordered a large. The jacket is too short to be worn comfortably without a waist cinch. Rather than returning the jacket, I added my own waist cinch to keep it from ballooning around my waist. Not everyone is ... Read Moregoing to want to do this. So just be aware that if you are tall and skinny, the sizing will be off and you will not have a snug fit around the waist. It would be great if this product were offered in tall sizes.

November 22, 2019

Always keeps me warm

Great daily/casual coat. It has mesh lining to avoid static cling, which is a nice feature. Not a tough windproof jacket but always keeps me warm in southern Michigan. The roomy fit allows me to layer a sweater or a shirt. Best fleece you can find!

November 21, 2019

Super warm and stylish

Incredibly warm and wind proof. Looks great and fits well. Could be slightly more fit, but overall it fits well. Wore it in dry, windy 40 degree temps and it was so warm I had to open it up, so it should be able to handle 30 degree temps easily.

November 20, 2019

Classic retro-x

Just started to see wear on my second retro after 13 years. Thought it was time for a new one before it was sold out. Jacket is warm even when wet, wicks moisture during strenuous activity, and wears like iron, never cold. Will keep my first two as they are still serviceable, can’t part with them. Thanks for another great product.

November 20, 2019

Classic Retro-X Jacket is Wind Proof

The jacket is very nice, quality materials and nice looking. It definitely is wind proof, which was the main reason for purchasing. The only complaint is the inside is not very pleasing. I wish it had a thin layer of a nice, soft or silky feeling material. Otherwise it is a great jacket. The outside front pocket is super helpful for access to my ph... Read Moreone.

November 20, 2019

Great quality

Buying these for my family and they love them!

November 19, 2019

Good!

Great

November 19, 2019

WARM

This is one of my favorite purchases from Patagonia. Besides its handsome design, the jacket is incredibly warm and windproof. I highly recommend this jacket!

November 19, 2019

Retro-X Jacket

Love the fit and color

November 18, 2019

Retro-X

Love the Retro-X, I’ve been wearing Patagonia gear for over 20 years and am always impressed by the workmanship, quality and longevity of their products. This recently purchased Retro-X jacket does not disappoint. Patagonia is the best!!

November 18, 2019

My great quality

My husband loves it! Cool casual design makes 58 yr old guy looks younger!

November 18, 2019

Cute oversized fleece jacket

I'm a 5'4 girl (normally size small) but ordered the men's retro x jacket in medium for a more boxy, oversized fit. Fits perfectly oversized in the body, but the arms are way too long. I have other men's medium sized clothes and the arms are usually not THIS long... I wish Patagonia offered alteration services because I would lo... Read Moreve to get the arms shortened but still have the elastic cuff! Otherwise, the jacket itself is super comfortable and warm. Good for weather in the mid-40s to 50s.

November 18, 2019

Too good.

Warm. The fit I wanted.

November 17, 2019

Great Winter Jacket

This jacket is great for the winter! Worn it almost every day since I got it, and it's kept me warm and comfortable. Easy to layer underneath, but also comfortable enough to just wear a t shirt underneath and be perfectly warm in normal winter conditions.

November 17, 2019

Wonderful Fleece Jacket

Haven't had this for very long, but so far it's a wonderful fleece jacket (Pelican w/ Wren Gold). I've already gotten several admiring comments on it. The jacket is beautifully made and is pretty true to size. If you're expecting a cuddly, soft fleece jacket - this truthfully isn't really it. While the Sherpa fleece outer l... Read Moreayer is quite soft, the wind barrier and inner moisture wicking barriers stiffen it a bit and makes this perfect for cold weather and to keep out the wind - something most fleece jackets can't do. My only suggestion for improvement would be an inside breast pocket suitable for a smart phone. Cold weather affects lithium ion batteries and being able to keep your phone inside the jacket instead of in an outside pocket would help preserve battery life. But overall, this is a wonderful jacket

November 16, 2019

Retro-X rocks!

After 15-20 years of wearing a NF Denali fleece, I decided to try my first Patagonia product. The Retro-X is a superior product in warmth, comfort, and quality. The lining is different than most fleece jackets and it takes a little getting used to. But after some use, it feels like a second skin. I wouldn’t mind a right breast pocket for everyday c... Read Morearry items / smartphone. I’m a little surprised that a jacket of this caliber *doesn't* have a dedicated smartphone pocket (But maybe that’s difficult / hard to design into a jacket to make it acceptable to most people.). I’m 6-foot, 205 pounds and the large fits me nicely. All in all, a great looking, quality piece of clothing!

November 14, 2019

Just what I was looking

Just what I was looking for. It fit great and is super warm. Perfect for chilly days.

November 13, 2019

Great look for my grandson.

Great look for my grandson.

November 10, 2019

Super warm

Very insulated and keeps you warm to the point where you sweat a little

November 10, 2019

Looks great and warm / windproof - runs a bit short and arms long

I am 6' 2" and 175 lbs and bought the Large. The jacket runs a bit short and the arms are kind of long and baggy, but overall the look just works - it looks comfy and is! Large is definitely the right size for me. One thing to note is that the inside is NOT fleece - it is kind of rough as it is the windproof material membrane or whatever.... Read More But nothing to complain about in terms of feel. I bought this in Sage Khaki which seems to always sell out - very happy with it. Nice jacket to just thrown on easily and can definitely layer underneath.

November 9, 2019

JM75

I love the color and feel. Although it’s a little big, I use this as an outer layer and it’s definitely warm.

November 7, 2019

Good

Light and warm

November 6, 2019

Fits well. Looks good. Feels

Fits well. Looks good. Feels good

November 6, 2019

warm and cozy

I like the cover inside that keeps me from the wind. warm and cozy

October 31, 2019

Classic Retro X Jacket

GREAT fit and super warm and comfortable.

October 31, 2019

I remember this jacket from

I remember this jacket from the early 80s. Always wanted one, and now I'm glad to finally have one. The windproof lining works great, but you won't feel soft fleece on the inside. It's a jacket, after all.

October 30, 2019

Love the retro and warm!

I gave four stars because sleeves are a bit puffy and wide but rest fit is perfect. Love the color, comfy and good for the outdoor activity to daily errands.

October 30, 2019

NO GOOD

Patagonia companies treat buyers as criminals. Cancel order and don't return gift card money.

October 30, 2019

Great

Great jacket

October 21, 2019

This fleece guarantees and exuded warmth

I spend at least 50 days on the slopes. I’m looking forward to being warm this winter.

October 18, 2019

Men’s Classic Retro-X

This is a SUPER warm fleece! Was initially bummed about the inside feel of the jacket —almost liner-like, not soft like the outside— but after wearing, it’s awesome. The wind doesn’t really penetrate, so it’s gonna keep you warm!

October 13, 2019

Very good

Warm - it is shorter at the waist than expected but that may just be how the jacket it cut.

October 11, 2019

Not loving it, maybe liking it.

I've been using Patagonia since 1991 when it wasn't popular. I've been buying mediums forever. Mediums USE to fit me. Now they are short on the hip and the arms are longer, so much that it bunches on the arm (if you know what I mean.) Unless you have a deformed body this will fit the bill. Imagine I ordered a Large? The sleeves would... Read More be touching the ground. The stitching inside for the so called Y-joint sleeves protrudes so much that if you sit in your car/train/bus etc.. you'll 100% feel the stitching on your back, which is very annoying during a long commute. NOW.. is it warm, is it wind proof, can you wear this jacket with only a tee shirt in 20 degree weather? YES, YES and YES! Its function is second to none. It's just the sizing is not the same as it use to be, which is why I'm giving this a 2 star.

October 10, 2019

retro fleece jacket

would have given it 5 stars had there been a draw cord in bottom. can't layer under as it does run small but you can use it as a base layer. something patagonia and all manufacturers should consider, just because we pack a few pounds on as we age does NOT mean our arms get longer too. think about it....

October 10, 2019

Retro-X

I love this jacket! So cozy, once you get it on. There in lies the problem. For me, it is very hard to put on & take off! I am older & not as flexible as I used to be. Not sure I can keep it.😞

October 7, 2019

The warmest and most windproof fleece you'll ever own

I bought the vest because they were out of jackets months ago, but I have to say it is super warm and it completely blocks the wind, and in short, a unique fleece in its own class for super cold winters. I like that they are offering this jacket again, but unfortunately they are not offering the color I like and want to buy which is in my opinion i... Read Moref a gorgeous combination: brown fur with burgundy or wine color pocket, I hope it will be offered in the next batch.

October 7, 2019

Down Coat Disguised as a Fleece, Perfect!

Price tag made me hesitant but this fleece is super warm, it's perfect for if you're traveling and it's surprisingly chilly at your destination. This is the fleece all other fleeces are trying to perform and look like, great color choices and quality. I live an hour from Canada, going to and from work and class is made all that much ... Read Moreeasier with this. For sizing go true to whatever size you like your sweaters normally as it's slightly roomy but if you wanna wear a lot under or for style purposes - go up a size. I'm 6'1 & 220 and this stops at my true waist. This a top tier quality fleece, just don't run around thinking it's a coat.

October 2, 2019

Really bad fit and uncomfortable lining

Uncomfortable, rubbery inner lining. Also the torso is super short and the shoulders and neck are really big, looks super goofy.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear your feedback on this jacket. Feel free to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 2, 2019

One single complaint regarding this jacket.

This jacket is everything I have ever wanted in a winter jacket. It goes above and beyond in warmth for a fleece. The address bonus of the windproof membrane is something every fleece needs, IMHO. Fleece are warm but the second the wind blows that warmth is robbed away. The medium fit is relatively perfect for my 6' 140lb frame. Neck, wrist,... Read More arm length are all perfect. Me being on the skinny side it is a little roomy but then I like my shirts and jackets and little bit big. The him is not that snug for my 33" waste. Not a complaint but I would have been happy if there was a drawcord in the bottom hem. Also although the two hand pockets and the outside chest pocket are quite large an inside pocket would have been nice. Overall a true 5 star jacket. Now the one complaint which is not about the jacket itself but customer service regarding this jacket. I have actually wanted this jacket for many years. Last year I missed out on getting one by a hair because they had sold out throughout the world. I messaged Patagonia telling them that this is the only jacket i have ever DESPERATELY, COVITINGINGLY wanting in my entire life and I was told "Sorry that's out of stock and we will never ever make it again...EVER". This summer I look to see what Patagonia might have introduced to replace this jacket and THERE IT WAS. I double checked the reviews to see if there were new reviews indicating the jacket was indeed back in stock and not only were there new reviews but one of the last reviews dated from last year was a guy raving about the jacket and how sad it was that they were NEVER GOING TO HAVE IT IN STOCK EVER AGAIN. Had customer service been worth their reputation they would have gotten in touch with me when it was decided to continue this product but noooooo had to find out on my own AND that happened only after they appear to have sold out of the green colour I would have preferred. I ended up grabbing one of the black ones and although my second choice I am happy with the colour. So over all a fantastic jacket but crap crap crappie customer service. Oh, and although I opted out of getting emails I have been deluged with them since ordering the jacket so thanks for that as well.

September 30, 2019

Very nice Jacket. Will collect

Very nice Jacket. Will collect any hair or lent that gets near it however.

September 19, 2019

Stiff

The liner is stiff and uncomfortable. The liner is also sticky anted wearing it for a few minutes. Like it’s lined w plastic that doesn’t breathe. It looks so cozy in photos. In reality it isn’t cozy at all.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear your feedback on the overall feel of this jacket. You are more than welcome to send it in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 19, 2019

My favorite

Still have my first version bought in the 90s. Even though I own another one,it is not the same great original green color. So after years of waiting I was finally able to truly replace it with this year's great sage green color. Thanks Patagonia.

September 17, 2019

cute but too small

sleeve is too big, chest/waist too tight...

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry this didn't fit accordingly. Please let us know if you need help with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 15, 2019

Beautiful

Light and quality touch of textile. Can't wait to wear it in Winter.

September 10, 2019

Maine’s September Chill

I have 2 Labrador Retriever puppies (Boone and Hobbes) who wake at o-dark thirty, when it’s about 40 degrees, damp and raw outside. The Retro-X jacket has been a life saver during this chilly start to September, and truly shuts out the wind and cold when my dynamic duo are ready to conquer the day!! Thank you for keeping me warm and energized, Pata... Read Moregonia, so I can keep up with my funny fur babies!! Below: “Hobbes” 4 mo.’s, (my dishwasher door surfer) and “Boone” 7 mo.’s!

September 9, 2019

Awesome classic jacket

The jacket is light weight and warm. The mesh lining does keep the cold wind out and wicks away the body moisture. Overall, it great jacket that will out last me. One of my best purchases ever!

August 25, 2019

Great Look and Feel

Jacket is solid -especially in the cool mountains of Colorado! Excited to try it out this winter

May 11, 2019

Good!

just have to watch. I've been waiting for over a month, but I'm fine. Light, warm and cool.

February 5, 2019

My Favorite Fleece of All-Time

I've had plenty of fleeces over the years. Long story short, this is (or was) my favorite. My doggy decided it would be a cool prank to eat half the zipper off of my jacket, and Patagonia was very unfortunately unable to repair it, and so now it's gone. I'm really sad that Patagonia doesn't still offer this fleece. I've mov... Read Moreed onto the Retro Pile Jacket, which I'm not sold on yet, but time will tell. Below is my best effort to explain why this is the best and most versatile fleece that I've ever worn: Style: The retro styling is what turned me on to this fleece from the start. The lines just really appeal to me, and I really dig that nylon front zip pocket. I don't know what it is about it, but to me, it's just such a classic jacket. I could wear this now... 20 years ago... or 20 years in the future, and I don't think anyone would think it looked bad. Fit: I loved that it isn't super form-fitting, the way that a lot of Patagonia apparel tends to be. I am 5'10, 145 lbs, and a medium was okay for a loose-fitting fleece. I could definitely have worn a small, but my size has varied a bit over the lifetime of this fleece, so no regrets on the medium. Finish: Some may be a bit turned off by the fact that this fleece looks really soft... but isn't. I was a little surprised at first, myself. Ultimately, after wearing it for 7 years, I think the stiffness of the garment was what made it hold up so well (and I wore the HECK out of this baby). And just because it isn't a fuzzy-wuzzy-teddy-bear doesn't mean it isn't comfortable; it's cozy as hell! Wearability: The Retro-X Jacket is WAY practical. I think the fact that I had the black one helped a bit, because it would heat of like crazy in sunny weather, but it was a REALLY warm little piece. If you were walking around in brisk, sunny, autumn weather (40-45 degrees), you'd actually start to get warm. And It was windproof like no jacket I've ever had. The most chilling winds wouldn't cut this thing. But if you moved inside and unzipped it, you would be totally comfortable. In frigid temperatures, I'd layer this under a light micro-down jacket, and I'd be A-OK, and I'm a person who gets cold very easily. This fleece even held up well in wet/rainy conditions. Not that I'm saying you should wear it out in a torrential downpour (although you could, and I did), but a little bit of rain didn't make this look any worse for wear. There are some fleeces that you'd be sad to get wet, and this wasn't one of them. Versatility is the key word for this fleece: The only time I put it away was during the Summer. If I had to have only one jacket in my life, this would most likely be it. Bottom line: I recommend this fleece jacket for anyone and everyone. My quality of life WITH this fleece was significantly better than WITHOUT it. I need to use like 5 different fleece jackets now that it's gone. The problem? Good luck finding it. I have actually called Patagonia to ask if they're bringing it back, and they give me a soft "no." So not in the near future. If they bring it back tomorrow, I'll grind my teeth, throw all of my new fleece jackets in a big pile, think about how much they cost me... and probably buy a new Retro X Jacket.

December 5, 2018

A perfect wind proof warm jacket. LOVE IT

The jacket is completely windproof and extremely warm. I love it so much I bought a second one. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a warm windproof jacket.

December 3, 2018

Starts out amazing and quickly declines

I've had the Retro X for a little over a month and the fabric is already wearing down around the wrists and the zippers to reveal the mesh underneath the shearling. Sadly, this jacket has garbage quality despite it being really stylish and warm. You could easily wear this jacket into the winter, especially with a warm layer under it. I would 1... Read More00% recommend the jacket if it weren't for the quality. It's extremely disappointing.

November 25, 2018

It's a jacket, not a fleece

I was looking for a windproof fleece, thought they didn't exist, then came across this. I was super excited, but when it arrived, I was disappointed when the inside wasn't fleece, just the outside. The inside had a weird, sticky feel to it, which may have gone away with a wash, but I never made it that far. Also, it's huge. I'm ... Read More5'9, 190, average build, and I was swimming in a large (which Patagonia's size recommender put me at 84% that I would like; no qualms with being in the other 16%, just saying). Pluses: I did wear it outside, and it seems toasty and windproof. So if you're looking for a legitimate windproof fleece, this isn't it, but if you want a warm, windproof jacket that's fuzzy on the outside, this fits the bill, but order a smaller size than you're used to.

March 25, 2018

Perfection

I bought this last month and am amazed at how warm and comfortable it is. I can't speak to durability yet as it's so new but it appears sturdy and well built. Wearing it this morning in 23 degree weather and I'm perfectly comfortable. Really blocks the wind too! Can't go wrong.

February 7, 2018

Warm and looks great

I've had this for 6 months or so and it has been great. Durable warm,and windproof. Can be a bit stuffy if you wear it inside because it is so warm. A drawstring at the waist would be a great addition. Fleece is starting to get matted around cuffs,back and elbows.

November 9, 2017

Solid jacket

I wanted to love this jacket but ran into the same problem many other reviewers encountered...I'm 6'2' tall 200 lbs and have difficulty finding clothes that fit tall slim without looking like a circus tent. Fortunately most L Patagonia tops fit perfectly (thanks to patagonia for staying true to its clients) but this jacket was the ex... Read Moreception. Shorter torso on the L so if I raised my arms the bottom would be way above my waist. The XL had a fit similar to other companies XL with way too much room in the waist (width). Thanks to Patagonia support for letting me trade them in for a tried and true synchila which fits like a glove in L. Seemed like a solid jacket though and hopefully I can find a wind proof Patagonia fleece that fits!

September 18, 2017

Awesome Coat

I am so Happy with my Retro Fleece Coat it took a long time to get so I am happy now,I wanted Feather Grey but settled for Black and charcoal :-)

September 16, 2017

My favorite Patagonia Jacket

This jacket is the real deal. If you are looking for a reliable,fashionable jacket that will keep you more than warm in below freezing temperatures this is the jacket for you. They used to make these jackets wider in the torso to use as a over coat but with their newest model it is a bit slimmer then it used to be making it good comfortable fit for... Read More wearing it over other jackets or not.

May 21, 2017

Just what I needed

This is the perfect jacket when you need to layer up,when it's super cold

May 13, 2017

Warm and Wind Resistant

I bought this from the web site in an XL,it was too big for me so back to Patagonia it went. Patagonia didn't have the jacket in my size so I bought it from another outdoor company in a large and I love it.

May 13, 2017

what's going on?

I love my retro fleece XL i bought 1 year ago and when they went on sale I said let'sa "get another one". This one is much different. smaller,the pockets are a bit higher. I just seems smaller than an XL as I have known Patagonia for my whole life. p.s. I've lost 10 lbs since last year so I am actually smaller!

April 30, 2017

Great Warmth

This is my third synchilla jacket. This edition is the best fitting. It is not as fluffy as its previous editions and the inner lining is more stiff,not as supple. It may get softer as it gets older. But I believe that lining provides a better wind barrier from the outside and heat retention on the inside. I do wish it had a private interior pocket... Read More. The chest pocket is big enough to hold my IPhone 6s Plus.

April 22, 2017

Retro x rocks!!

Awesome!! Love it. Recommend to anyone who wants a warm an fluffy jacket!

January 12, 2017

Warm,but short...

Like this jacket,but really want to love it. Warmth is definitely there,as long as i don't raise my arms above my head. The waist rises almost to mid stomach. Really needs to be offered in a "Tall" size..

December 21, 2016

I LOVE THIS JACKET!!!!

This is my second Retro-X jacket and it's the best. I can wear a T-shirt and this jacket when it's 15*F outside and be perfectly warm. It's even TOO warm when I'm in and out of the car. Yes,it's bulky but that doesn't bother me. I keep my cell phone in the front breast pocket. If it's really brutal outside and/or ... Read Morewet snow/sleet,I wear a shell over this for max protection,but usually I just wear this.

November 27, 2016

Not an R4

For some reason they have stopped selling their R4 jacket which both blocks wind and can be used during more technical pursuits. Although this jacket does block wind efficiently it is way to bulky when compared to the R4 which was just as warm. Although the removed the drawstring from the bottom of the R4 in the newer renditions those jackets were ... Read Morestill more functional than this. Unless youplan on using your jacket simply to sit by a camp fire or walk around town shopping I'd recommend seeking out the R4 somewhere.

October 28, 2016

Great jacket - the wimpy zipper is a YUGE problem

I bought the men's classic retro-x jacket (cardigan) in graphite navy size large as gift for my son about 2 years ago. When visiting him recently I asked why he never wears the Retro-x. That's when I learned the zipper won't stay closed (keeps coming apart). He really likes the coat and especially the thick fleece and the windproof l... Read Moreining for cold and windy conditions. BUT,the zipper keeps coming apart and clearly that's a deal breaker. BTW: my son took the coat to a seamstress thinking the zipper needed a minor repair. No such luck. She said they designed the jacket with the wrong zipper and they should have used a YKK #2 instead of this "wimpy one". (not strong enough for a heavy fleece winter coat like the retro-x) The size large fit perfectly for my son who is 5' 11" and 175 pounds. So sizing is as they say - true to size. Hopefully today's design is using a proper zipper (#2 zipper or better). Be sure to ask about the zipper before you buy - every thing else about this jacket is great.

October 12, 2016

Not your typical fleece jacket

I bought my Retro-X jacket thinking it was the no-longer-in-production all-fleece jacket that,from the outside,the Retro-X so much resembles. I was disappointed at first but have come to really like this jacket for what it is: a warm,wind-resistant outer layer that is perfect for the kind of spring and fall we get in the east. It's important t... Read Moreo realize that this jacket does not feature a fleece interior but rather a mesh lining which,while not uncomfortable,is certainly not as soft or cozy feeling as fleece. The jacket is also on the stiff side and works best as an outer layer on relatively casual outings. It's great for easy hikes and for laidback spring skiing where rain is not a threat (and where conditions might be too windy for a regular fleece jacket). The Retro-X is surprisingly warm (significantly warmer than any other fleece top I have owned) and there have been times I've underestimated its warmth and wished I'd worn a lighter jacket (it has occurred to me that pit zips might be a nice feature to have on the Retro-X). My only gripes regarding this jacket (besides the absence of pit zips which,admittedly,might not work as well with a fleece pile this thick) are the side pocket cut placements and the side pocket zipper directions. I'd prefer it if the side pockets were cut a bit lower (as I find them to be cut too high to comfortably rest my hands for warming and prefer the zips to close upwards rather than downwards.

September 9, 2016

The zipper is a serious problem

I love the jacket. And I would love it even more if the zipper worked. My retro is brand new,purchased a year ago on another website,never worn,and the zipper threads will not lock when zipped. I want to buy another one thinking the zipper may zip. But at two Ben Franklins,I am skid dish. I have Patagonia gear that i can still wear going back to th... Read Moree 80's. Granted the items are old,frayed,tighter fitting,and falling apart (very much like my own condition now). It's a true outlier for me to leave an unhappy review of any Patagonia product since they have been with me from the mid-east deserts to the Rockies. But here it is. A first in 30 years of an otherwise tight bond I have had with this company and its extraordinary vision.

August 11, 2016

A bit bulky...

Warmest piece I have ever owned that is not down. I have an old one and a new one. Not much has changed and thats a good thing. Best worn as the outer layer. Warm and windproof. Sheds light rain well. Bulky under a soft or hard shell especially with the trend of "slim fit" clothing. Not made to make a fashion statement or to jog in,just p... Read Moreure,dependable warmth.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches