Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4 /5

Filter Reviews

All 89 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

4.4
True To Size
November 20, 2020

Great jacket

A friend gave this jacket to me as a gift and I absolutely love it! It is so well constructed and I can tell it will be the perfect jacket for casual wear, hiking, and traveling. I have the taupe-y/ purple-ish/ pink-ish color and also purchased the cream color with the brown patch to compare (haven't received that one yet, though). I really li... Read Moreke the taupe color--more than I expected to. I thought it looked a little too purple/ pink when it first arrived, but after trying it on I think it's incredibly versatile. As other reviews make clear, this is not a cozy, cuddly fleece! It is a jacket for cool, breezy days outside with kind of stiff lining that I'm sure will soften up over time (it's not scratchy, though). I'm guessing I'll wear it instead of my Nano Puff. If it feels even warmer than that, great! I am 5', 8", 125lbs, 26" waist and the S fits perfectly. It is a little looser in the torso on me than on the models, but that's a-okay. The arm length is really nice (I have slightly longer arms), and it also fits well in the waist and torso. Highly recommend this awesome jacket!

November 4, 2020

Super Comfortable & Warm

Really havent stopped wearing it since I bought it. Fits true to size, comfortable, warm and has been perfect for fall weather in the Midwest.

November 2, 2020

Awesome jacket

This jacket is great! Warmer than I expected. I initially ordered a small (I'm on the cusp of sizes) which was too snug along the chest and hips, but the medium is perfect (not too big or boxy as I feared).

October 30, 2020

Super cute

This jacket is so popular around me! Looks like cute teddy bear! It's also cozy. I love ii.

October 30, 2020

Super warm

This jacket is one of my favorite items that I have ever purchased from Patagonia! I now own two of these! It is incredibly warm, cozy and is versatile to wear in various temperatures throughout the year. I have an athletic build and found the size small to be generous in the shoulders however smaller in the hips, which fits me perfectly with room ... Read Morefor layering underneath the jacket. Initially I ordered a medium size, and exchanged for the small. Customer Service made my return/exchange such a positive, easy and personable experience, in fact they were totally amazing! I am delighted with the fit, versatility, workmanship and beauty of the classic retro X fleece jacket!

October 23, 2020

Keeps mom-to-be warm!

My partner has been wearing my step dads classic fleece, so when I saw the retro-x with a classic purple lining I was super stoked. It keeps and expecting mom nice and warm, and is soft and comfy.

October 12, 2020

Exactly what I want in a city girl style

Stylish staple item in my closet!

October 1, 2020

Nice Jacket, very warm. Size up if you don't like fitted.

I ordered a women's small and medium. The small fits the way it looks on the models, which is not a look I'm a fan of. More of a fitted fleece than a jacket. If you prefer unisex styling as I do, go a size up. The medium fits great and I can wear a sweater under it easily.

September 17, 2020

This Magic Jacket is now my favourite casual everything jacket

I bought this last season in the brown and dark blue colourway that is different to this season. I absolutely love this jacket. Its so warm zipped up and its very temperature regulating when I leave it open. It is definitely wind proof, and has become my jacket for both transitional and cold weather. Never too warm and never cold it seems to always... Read More know what temperature I want to be in every situation - magic. I am always cold no matter how hard I try, but this jacket has solved that horrible feeling for me. I feel like I can do more, go farther and play longer with less AND without feeling cold. It will become your everything jacket which is great if you are trying to create a minimalist sustainable wardrobe. My one complaint: I normally wear a size Xs. The bottom of this jacket is a bit too tight (common with Patagonia products which seem to use unrealistic traditional forms for fitting). If you have hips maybe size up one from your regular size, however you then risk the top being too boxy and roomy. I would say this is a jacket you need to try on before you buy.

September 11, 2020

Returning it

Ordered an XL as in my experience with Patagonia L is tight for my wide shoulders. However this was too big in the sleeves. Too long and too bulky.

September 1, 2020

So cozy!

Ive been wearing Retro-X jackets since I was a little kid and I love them! So cozy, and warm but breathable too. Great for daily wear in the late fall or early spring over a tee and over a sweater in the winter. Cant recommend it more!

August 13, 2020

Mega Bummer

Ugh, I love Patagonia, why don't they love me? I keep ordering, I keep getting disappointed. This jacket is heavy, warm, and comfy.. however it's cut wider in the shoulders and narrower in the hips. If you're a woman with wider hips, steer clear. I guess I'll try to find another re-tool full zip? What happened to those?

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2020

We do love you! Thanks for taking the time to leave detailed feedback on the cut of this jacket. You might check out our [Divided Sky Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-divided-sky-jacket/25930.html?dwvar_25930_color=NABT&cgid=collection-high-pile-fleece-womens) for that high pile fleece with a full zip and a more curve friendly fit.

June 19, 2020

It is awesome!

This is the second time to purchase it in my life. I can't survive without it in the winter!

January 22, 2020

Warm and Comfortable Jacket for Fall/Spring

This is a great jacket for cool fall or spring days, it can be worn without any outer shell and still provide significant warmth and protection from wind. Found it to be surprisingly warm, comfortable and functional for everyday wear. Well worth the investment!

January 16, 2020

Warm and cozy jacket

Purchased this jacket 14 months ago. As other reviewers remarked - it fits & feels like a jacket rather than a fleece sweater or sweatshirt. Living in the Pacific Northwest it is awesome to stay warm in wind and drizzly rain. I typically wear the jacket with a t-shirt. If needed, I layer a fleece vest underneath. There is one issue I'm sur... Read Moreprised isn't mentioned in the other reviews - my jacket looks matted in areas and is a magnet for pet hair. I have tried washing with a technical fleece wash, hang driving, using a comb for pilling. I can't figure out a solution to make it look newer which is problematic as I haven't had it that long. I'd love any suggestions...

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the pilling on your Classic Retro-X Jacket! To prevent this, we recommend washing the jacket by hand or separately in your washing machine on warm, using a gentle detergent and laying flat to dry. Please also avoid using any fabric softeners or bleach. To remove pilling that has already occurred, we recommend using a [sweater shaver](https://www.amazon.com/Conair-Fabric-Defuzzer-Battery-Operated/dp/B008I25368/ref=asc_df_B008I25368/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=191922247889&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=2612972408689181368&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9030901&hvtargid=pla-315249657511&psc=1) or [sweater stone](https://www.amazon.com/Dritz-Clothing-Care-Sweater-Stone/dp/B000WUXOT2/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=sweater+stone&qid=1580407226&s=home-garden&sr=1-1). Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

January 9, 2020

timeless and cozy!

i've had an oversized men's version of this jacket for many years that i purchased second hand, but was given the womens' version for a holiday gift this year. so pleased with it! the outside is super soft and the inside is still comfortable in a short-sleeve tee. the liner does feel stiff at first but it will break in with time, as ... Read Moremy other one did. i live in northern california so this is a perfect mid-temp piece for year round in the 40s-60s, and great for windy winter days at the beach. will wear for many years! i'm 5'6" 115lbs and the small fit perfectly with room to layer a sweater under.

January 8, 2020

Looks and fits great !!

Looks and fits great !!

January 2, 2020

Great Jacket

I bought this for a trip to Colorado and it was perfect. The size is true and fit great. It's warm, but if you're going to the mountains, maybe add another layer. But for just out and about, definitely kept me warm!

January 1, 2020

Awesome

I’ve been eyeing up a Retro-X for years. Finally committed to the Smoulder-Blue in a small. I’m 5’7”, 124 lbs, 32C, broad shouldered. Fits well. The wind proof lining does start stiff, but it’s easing with wear. The jacket is becoming signature uniform for me.

December 30, 2019

Highly Satisfied

Excellent. High quality. My girlfriend loves it! Huge Christmas hit! Will definitely buy Patagonia again.

December 30, 2019

Retro-X

Fits as expected and very cozy.

December 29, 2019

Perfect Jacket

Cozy, stylin, durable, I can live in it and feel good about it. Perfection!

December 26, 2019

Great fit and runs true

Great fit and runs true to size!

December 26, 2019

Great look and quality

My daughter loves the jacket and it was her favorite gift for Christmas. It looks fantastic and very cozy.

December 23, 2019

Crazy Warm

I wasn’t expecting this jacket to be as warm as it is. I was actually hot in 30 degrees with another layer under it.

December 20, 2019

Beautiful design, stiff material

I really wanted to keep this jacket but had to return it for two reasons. The inside lining material is stiff and the arms were a bit too big. It didn’t look flattering (like I had big arms) I exchanged it retro pile jacket since it didn’t have the lining even though I liked the style of retro x and its design without the hoodie.

December 18, 2019

Fits great and keeps me

Fits great and keeps me warm plus windproof which is great!

December 17, 2019

Cozy

Super cozy. Fits true to size. I’m 5’4” and weigh 132 Lb, size medium perfect fit and has room for layering underneath. Wore it on two airplane flights - like a blanket :-)

December 17, 2019

A cloud of warmth

This coat is light and fluffy, but completely warm. It is durable and the zipper is great. It is the perfect layer to winter hikes.

December 13, 2019

This is my second Retro

This is my second Retro X jacket and I don't ever want to be without one. They are lightweight, extremely warm and I wear it all winter long. I wish that you would offer other jackets and fleece with the windproof feature.

December 7, 2019

I’ve gotten so many compliments

I’ve gotten so many compliments on the jacket. Love the colors and style. The collar is stiff and a little annoying. I’m hoping it’ll get softer with time.

November 30, 2019

Warm Jacket, Looks Great

I'm in between sizes. Bought the XS and exchanged for a SM. I'm 5'3'' and 125 lbs and I usually wear a 2. So I believe this jacket runs true to size. I would recommend you get your normal size or bigger. The windproof lining is a bit stiff and not soft on the skin as some people have indicated but it's not something th... Read Moreat bothers me as I plan to wear this with layers.

November 29, 2019

Ws Classic Retor-X Jacket

The warmest jacket I have ever purchased. I live in WY and the wind is relentless. I do not feel chilled when I wear this outdoors. If it is very cold, I add a windbreaker to my outerwear and stay very warm.

November 29, 2019

Functional and great fitting

I'm 5'2" 135 Lbs (stocky athletic build) and the Medium fits me perfectly. I prefer the loose fit with a Medium. I love the jacket because it keeps me warm AND dry ! I got caught in a heavy cold weather rain recently and this jacket saved me ! Slicker jackets are great but not when it's cold out (you have to layer). With this Pa... Read Moretagonia I'm fine with a t-shirt underneath, which is fine for SF Bay weather.

November 26, 2019

It is very comfortable. It

It is very comfortable. It works great as a wind breaker as well. I love it.

November 22, 2019

Warm and comfortable

This is the perfect jacket. and allows you flexibility to move it’s not restricting. And it’s incredibly warm. This will replace a thicker restricting jacket that I typically wear.

November 22, 2019

Love it

This is a great jacket size fits great. I am 5' and 108 lbs and the XS fit great. The quality is amazing, it looks great and its plenty warm.

November 18, 2019

Womens classic retro X

Nice jacket but little bit expensive.

November 17, 2019

tcpnotes

The jacket is cute but the sleeves are too long. Fortunately, I have a great seamstress who was able to shorten the sleeves and keep the red trim. Yes, it's not as soft as a pull over but I like the look of the jacket.

November 16, 2019

Great jacket

I love this jacket. It’s great for 40-50 degree weather. I am 5’4 and 125 pounds and got a small and it fits perfectly.

November 16, 2019

I was so excited to

I was so excited to get my first fleece jacket ever, but unfortunately this jacket has a hard shell interior that is super uncomfortable. I was looking for that fleece soft cozy feeling, and this is the opposite. Will return.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

Hi Adriana, the Classic Retro-X Jacket features a windproof barrier bond helping to keep one protected from gusty weather. For a classic fleece that has the cozy feel that you're looking for, check out our Retro Pile Hoody, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-hoody/22806.html?dwvar_22806_color=BEBR&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-5=&q=retro%2Bpile%2B&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24.

November 15, 2019

Very cool (and warm!) but could be softer

I love how this jacket fits and looks, and the outside fleece is pretty soft. But they didn't line the inside of the jacket or the inside of the pockets with fleece! Instead it is a slightly scratchy material. Still love it but wish it has included the lining details.

November 13, 2019

Bought in 2013

I bought this jacket in 2013 and I still wear it all the time. It has held up really well over the years. It blocks out the wind completely so I can even wear it in the 30s, the only thing is that it obviously doesn’t cover my legs so that part gets cold. Should I ever need to, I would 100% purchase it again. I’m not too big a fan of the accent col... Read Moreors though. Mine is all beige/tan which I prefer the look of. I got a small and I’m 5’3 100lbs - I prefer to have a little extra room rather than it be too tight, since I often wear a layer or two underneath. That made the sleeves a tiny bit long on me.

November 13, 2019

My new favorite jacket

I bought this jacket mainly for aesthetic reasons but the quality, utility, and comfort of this jacket really exceeded my expectations. On the aesthetics, I love the low-key retro design, the color combos are muted and neutral enough to go with anything. I got a size M though I'm usually a XS-S because I wanted a more oversized and androgynous... Read More look and so far it fits to my liking. I have to disagree with others saying the mesh backing is stiff. I actually found it softly flexible and the texture is smooth as well. The thing I love most about this jacket is that it is feather light, breathable, yet very heat-trapping and keeps me very toasty. Such a great investment piece--I know I will be wearing it for years and am looking into buying for the rest of my family.

November 13, 2019

Retro women’s jacket

I LOVE THIS JACKET!!! It’s so warm and comfortable

November 12, 2019

Not soft inside

I loved the look of this jacket online and wanted others' reviews to not be true, but unfortunately others were right about the inside being stiff and not cozy. I was hoping for a truly comfy fleece and had to send this one back.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

HI Jacqueline, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. The Retro-X is our only windproof fleece, but with that it does sacrifice some of it's coziness. If you're interested in a similar style that's cozier we'd suggest taking a look at the [Retro Pile Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-hoody/22806.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_22806_color=BEBR).

November 11, 2019

quality product

I like it cozy and warm. awesome job on inner lining

November 9, 2019

Great customer service

Had to make some adjustments to my order and it was processes fast and easy. Great looking sweaters!

November 7, 2019

Love love love it, won’t

Love love love it, won’t take it off!

November 6, 2019

Loved it!

Loved it!

November 5, 2019

Love it!! It’s so cute

Love it!! It’s so cute and warm and fits so well

November 3, 2019

Loved it!

Patagonia delivered high quality pieces that looked exactly as pictured online. Love everything I got and really looking forward to using them!

October 31, 2019

Opposite of cozy

The fit is great, love the look, but the inside is scratchy and stiff and so uncomfortable. This is not cozy at all.

October 26, 2019

Exceeds expectations

This gear is always the best quality. I have been a customer for 20 years. This product does not disappoint. I’m 5’7” slender/athletic 135 lbs. I purchased a size small. This fits perfectly as a top layer over anything, or over a Basic T-shirt. Roomy but not sloppy looking. Very comfortable. Very warm.

October 20, 2019

Love this jacket!

The women’s classic retro-x fleece jacket is my first Patagonia purchase and I’m please to admit that I am not at all disappointed. For the last ten years I have worn a North Face Denali but I decided to try a Patagonia this time. I am so happy I did. Not only is this company concerned with our climate but they also make what I view as a superior p... Read Moreroduct. I find this fleece to be warmer than the Denali. I am 5’7” and 160 pounds, and the medium fits perfectly. I love the natural with oyster white colors. The pockets are perfectly sized. This jacket will carry me through the fall and well into winter here in Philadelphia. This will not be my only purchase from Patagonia.

October 13, 2019

Hate The Colors

The Retro-X jacket is great in all the technical ways. I wear it most days in the breezy Colorado winter- it blocks wind and keeps me warm. That said, I HATE the color choices Patagonia makes for the women's jacket (and most outerwear actually). Men often get the most sensible and attractive colors in everything. Please stop with these weird w... Read Moreashed out colors and ugly patterns.

October 11, 2019

First Impression

This is a stiff jacket, with slightly long arms, but not terribly long. If you plan on moving a lot in this jacket, I would not recommend it for you. There is a liner inside the jacket that gives it its stiff structure. If you’re in between sizes definitely size up, you want a little extra room given the stiffness. I am keeping my jacket and will b... Read Moree using it for casual use, which I believe is the only intent of this jacket

October 9, 2019

Great, just not for me

This is a great jacket, it just wasn't for me. The inside is lined with a stiff fabric that will likely soften upon wear but was not what I was looking for. I haven't gone back to read the product info to see what it said and if this was something I just missed, or it wasn't there. I liked the color I ordered but do have to say, the ... Read Moretrim gave a pink hue to the rest of the jacket that I didn't care for. I am returning because of the lining and fit on me. I will order something else - Patagonia is a great company with many great products

October 6, 2019

warm and comfy

Definitely wish the inside was also soft. The arms and shoulders are perfect but for me, the fit of the torso is a bit off. It hits the hips at sort of an odd length (I am very tall though).

Response from Patagonia
October 16, 2019

We're sorry to hear the fit of this item wasn't quite right for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 30, 2019

Fluffy magic, sleeves too long

I got the M, great jacket but the sleeves are 2 inches too long = four stars.

September 21, 2019

Comfort when worn

Insaide the jacket is a little stiff. If I do not wear it for a while, I will not know the comfort. I was wondering which to buy this one or "The Kids’ Retro-X® Jacket ". The kid's one dosen't look stiff. Anyways if I don't keep wearing it, I don't know about comfort. The design is cute and I really like it.

September 10, 2019

Short arms and narrow shoulders

I have to return this jacket. The shoulders are way too narrow. I own a lot of Patagonia clothes (including 2 Houdinis) and sometimes your cuts are just way too small in the shoulder and short in the arms. The size Medium is too boxy in my opinion for thin people (which i am) but it's too small in the shoulders to comfortably do anything in it... Read More! So it is unflattering too...... definite bust.

August 28, 2019

I Think I Like It...

I got the cream in size small. I’m 5’9” and love the longer arms (most jackets run shorter). The color is cute—true to photo. The jacket is a little stiff, which I’m unsure about. I’m wondering if it will relax with use? The jury is still out. Overall, cute jacket.

August 27, 2019

Best Jacket Ever

I was SO excited to order this jacket after I had buyer's remorse from not getting it last year. So glad I waited as I LOVE the new colors. This jacket will be perfect for about 9 months out of the year here in New England, for skiing and for an upcoming trip the some National Parks. LOVE!!

May 8, 2019

Too big

I kind of expected this jacket to be like a north face fleece but there’s this like plastic layer inside that makes the jacket really heavy duty... this would be great, if it’s what I wanted. Also every Patagonia item I’ve ever owned a large normally fits me just right, but the I’m swimming in this one which just confuses me based off ALL the other... Read More jackets I have.

April 9, 2019

Warm

Nice warm jacket. Everyone saying the arms are too long made pretty much sold me on it. Finally a jacket that will fit me without having to size up! Im 5'9" and I found the sleeves perfect for my long arms. I do wish the inside was lined with some soft material. Disappointed I bought this and then 2 days later the price drops 20 dollars.

March 21, 2019

Tundra Proof

So I live in Minnesota where it gets cooooold. I bought this jacket hoping it would be sufficient enough to handle the tundra. I end wearing this jacket most days in the winter! It can handle very cold temperatures, but when it gets below 20 degrees I brake out the heavy duty jacket (Bivy Down Jacket). She blocks the wind and has a super thick lini... Read Moreng. I've had it for two winters now and she's still performing as good as ever. Yes, the sleeves are a little long but sometimes that can be nice to cover your hands while walking around outside (other times I just cuff them). I get compliments often- I nabbed an older version with a colorful geometric print and it still looks great! I usually wear warm clothes in the winter which acts as an additional layer under this jacket and keeps me snug and warm. Hopefully Patagonia restocks some more of these for the fall. Love!

February 9, 2019

Long sleeves, oversized shoulders

I wanted to love this jacket so much! I tried it on many times before deciding to return it. The sleeves were exceptionally long and when I would sit down, the jacket rise above my shoulders a few inches. I think it was because of the stiffness of the jacket. The customer service was fantastic and they were able to suggest some other jackets. I ju... Read Morest wish I could have found another with that color combination. But for the price, I just needed a better fit which meant a different style and ultimately color.

December 28, 2018

narrow shoulders

I returned this--sadly--because the shoulders were too tight. All other dimensions fit my 5' 4", 105-lb, long-armed body. The trim fit of this jacket and its wind barrier that some reviewers find too stiff felt fine, and I appreciated the fact that this jacket provides beefy fleece and a wind barrier. Please broaden the shoulders a bit. G... Read Moreoing up a size to a Small provided enough shoulder width but the rest of the jacket was too big.

December 20, 2018

Classic look and warm 🔥

I bought this to wear in Northern Michigan Falls/Winters and wanted something that still maintained a nice stylish look to wear inside the bar. That being said it’s very warm which is great for walking around / being outside, but it’s almost too warm to transition to being worn inside. I wear it for running errands with a light sweater underneath a... Read Morend find myself literally sweating while grocery shopping and I’m usually always cold. It blocks the wind great, but maybe adding some pit zips would really help make it more comfortably transitioning from indoors / outdoors. I love the style though, I get lots of compliments. The sleeves are a tad long (I’m 5’ 5”)

December 19, 2018

My go to!

I have had several different Patagonia jackets over the years, and this retro x jacket is my absolute go to every day jacket. I’m not sure what exactly keeps this jacket from being so much warmer then any other fleece but it is. I’m a soccer/football/track mom and I wear this jacket with a hoody most of the time, and it’s perfect spring fall side l... Read Moreine attire. I should add that I’m always cold and I live in Idaho. So, it’s saying a lot that this jacket keeps me so toasty. I have had this jacket for three years now and the wear of this jacket is incredible! It’s worth the high price tag because this jacket is honest that great. I felt like this jacket deserved more then just one review. Plus the retro x vest is just as awesome! I like things on the looser fit size, and I wear a size small in Patagonia and this jacket is definitely true to size.

December 16, 2018

Proportions were weird

Body of jacket was very slim cut but sleeves were like 4" too long and very big. I ordered XL and the proportions were weird. Almost like they took a M-L body and sewed on men's XXL sleeves. I usually wear XL in Patagonia fleece, with the sleeves being about 1-2" too long, so not sure what happened with this one.

December 16, 2018

Exceeded Expectations

I bought this jacket at the end of last season, so I haven’t had the opportunity to wear it much until now. I’m so glad I splurged. Other reviewers are right; it’s a jacket intended for the outdoors, not a fleece. It provides a lot of warmth, despite being pretty light weight. I wore it yesterday on a five mile, high altitude hike in some pretty in... Read Moretense wind and didn’t feel a thing. I do tend to agree that the lining is a bit stiff at first. That is my only initial complaint. However, I’ve worn it several times and it has since broken in. Definitely recommend. For reference, I am 5’7, 128 lbs, wear a 2-4 in pants, and I bought a small. It’s plenty big to wear a sweatshirt underneath. Could easily wear a xs, if I didn’t intend to wear layers.

December 10, 2018

Unwearable due to lining

The fleece is pretty, but the lining is incredibly stiff, making it so any comfort that comes from having a fleece is gone.

October 27, 2018

Warm

I wanted a fleece that had wind protection. Some of the other fleece can’t be worn in windy cold conditions. This is more structured than other fleece but it more than makes up for it with the wind protection. This is very warm!

February 15, 2018

So Comfortable!

This jacket is incredibly soft,warm,and perfect for any cold/breezy weather. I wore it in 35 degrees and felt perfectly fine! I've seen other reviewers comment that the jacket is stiff,but I completely disagree. I wear it comfortably around the house and it's tough enough to survive low temperatures and wind.

February 3, 2018

Jacket,Not Fleece

I think the most important thing to point out about this item is that it truly is a jacket. That is,it's something you wear outside,as an outer layer. It's too warm to wear indoors (and I am a cold person). Perhaps that should have been obvious to me,given the name,but I had assumed it was a fleece that I would layer,wear indoors and out,... Read Moresort of like a sweatshirt. As others have noted,it is not fleecy on the inside. The inside is a very stiff,fairly rough windproof material. I guess it's nice that it's windproof (?),but I wish Patagonia had come up with a way to make it somewhat softer and less stiff inside,given it's nice fleecy exterior. It's so stiff that when I sit down,instead of conforming to my body,it keeps its shape and doesn't bend. Perhaps it will soften with time. All this being said,it is super nice and I love the look. I think it runs on the large size. I like things to be roomy,and usually wear a M or even an L in Patagonia items. I got this in M and it has PLENTY of space. Also,the sleeves are super long. I always always complain that sleeves are too short,but these sleeves cover a good deal of my hands when I am standing with my arms at my sides. I am 5'8" 135lb 32D and have sort of wide shoulders.

January 26, 2018

Suprising Warmth!

I recently bought this jacket and I absolutly love it! I was not expecting it to be this warm,I live in the Midwest where it gets very cold in Dec/Jan and this has kept me cozy. The fleece is decently soft but the lining is a little stiff but I hardly feel it with my layers. It was recommended that I get an xs (5'1" and 120lbs) but I ende... Read Mored up getting a small because I like to layer. I'm very happy I didnt go xs because the small has a nice snug (but not too tight) fit where I can still have my better sweater and a T-shirt on under and its not unconfortable. The sleeves and lenght are a bit longer on me than I would like but when you're my height,you just learn to live with minor issues such as this.

January 25, 2018

Very warm!

It's very warm and snuggly. I am 5'8 150lbs and got a medium and its large. Its perfect for an R2 underneath. I wish the inside of the jacket was soft like the outside. The jacket is stiff but hopefully will become softer with time.

December 9, 2017

Search No Further

I bought this jacket last week,and it has been perfect for the beginning of the cold weather season in St. Louis. It is super warm even on a windy 35 degree day. Another review said the lining was rough (it's the awesome wind-proof barrier),but if it's cold enough outside to be wearing this jacket,you're most likely going to be weari... Read Moreng a long-sleeved shirt and won't even feel the lining against bare skin. The collar is cozy. The fit is great. Obviously high quality. It's heavy-duty but not bulky. My search is over for the perfect jacket! I've never spent this much money on a jacket,but it seems well worth the money. It will last me for years.

October 19, 2017

Strange Lining,Lil' Too Bulky

Again,another sad case where petite outdoor wear is sorely lacking. Even though the 'What's my size?' tool directed me to get a M,I purchased a S (because I often find I wear XS in Patagonia). I felt I could've sized down to an XS in this jacket,but I couldn't get over the rough and stiff lining. The search for the perfect ... Read Morepetite fleece continues...

October 13, 2017

The perfect autumn jacket

I just received this jacket and I am in love. I was looking for a substantial jacket to wear out about during the autumn months and was afraid that this wouldn't be thick enough for that. Alas,I was wrong. The windproof barrier is very thick and warm. Even with this extra added thickness I still have room to wear an additional fleece underneat... Read Moreh if need be. My only complaint is that the arms are pretty long so I rolled the cuffs up. Definitely worth the money.

October 8, 2017

Warm and Great Quality

I purchased this jacket in tailored grey/smolder blue after returning the Los Gatos hooded vest due to poor fit. This jacket has a very complimentary fit and is warm. I am 5'4" 128lbs for reference,and XS is perfect. I will say that it runs a bit large as I exchanged this size from a small and am not usually an XS. The colors are accurate... Read More as represented,and the quality is no joke. This might even qualify as a winter jacket due to the sturdiness of the wind-proof interior in some climates. When it arrives it is a bit stiff,but you will have no problem breaking in this warm,good-looking fleece. It is made for the long haul.

September 14, 2017

Great coat for chilly weather

I can't wait to wear this coat more this fall. It has a nice wind barrier feature that will be nice in chilly fall weather. I am 5'10" and 180 lbs and ordered the XL because I wanted to be able to layer things like sweatshirts underneath it. It is definitely big enough. The large I tried on was a little too snug for layering and the ... Read MoreXL is a little big but I would rather have it roomy for winter weather. I have long arms and the sleeves are long enough and it comes down to just below hip level. Perfect length. I has a nice feel to it on the outside. Nice pockets and comes up high on your neck. It's a little stiff in the feel because of the wind barrier on the inside but still a nice comfy jacket. Definitely wash it before wearing it. I tried it on when I first got it in the mail and the fuzz was coming off on my clothes. It's definitely going to be my fall go-to jacket!

August 26, 2017

Perfect - warm - nice looking

I love this jacket. Its the first item Ive owned from Patagonia but I was impressed with the style and the warmth. I wear it to walk my dog and casually around town. Its thick and it will hold up for years bc its well made. It way be cut too narrow in waist for some as it seems to taper in.

June 3, 2017

Love this jacket!

Finally a jacket that fits me! I'm 5'2" and 95 lbs and the XXS fits me perfectly,like it was tailored just for me. Even the sleeve length is great. It's so warm and comfy and I love the natural color with pop of the red pocket and trim.

January 27, 2017

my favorite jacket!

I've had my retro-x for five years and it remains my favorite jacket in my closet. It is warm without being too bulky,and is great for a range of temperatures. Mine is a bright teal color,but I'm contemplating getting a second in a more neutral color as well since I wear it so often. Definitely recommend!

October 21, 2016

Love it!!

I actually own a slightly older version of this jacket,and besides the fact that I am pretty sure it has shrunk in the wash (not sure what happened there??),I absolutely love it! I have worn it a ton and reach for it on those cold nights out where I want to be cuddled up and toasty,but still casual.

October 10, 2016

Great Fall Jacket!

Super versatile jacket! Great for cooler fall days!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches