Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Crosstrek Fleece Lined Tights / Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.12 /5

Filter Reviews

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Crosstrek Fleece Lined Tights / Bottoms

4.12
Kinda Large
September 2, 2020

Soft

This is basically a pair of refined sweat pants that I wear to the supermarket etc, with sandals or tennis shoes. The skin-to-garment contact is very soft and comfortable. I am only about 5'8" nowadays (I'm 72 and shrinking) but these pants are only a little longer than ideal, keeping in mind that all my pants are too long, as my ins... Read Moreeam is about 28"-29". I have a 40" waist and these fit just fine. When it gets cooler I intend to use them for cycling with a pair of unlined mountain bike shorts over them. The single pocket on the right thigh has a zipper and is large enough to hold a wallet, iPhone, pocket knife, etc. As soon as I got one pair and tried them I immediately ordered a second pair. Excellent pair of pants.

August 10, 2020

Comfortable, good low-activity warmth; some issues

The Good: -Very warm for the weight. Great to slip under shell pants (or even casual pants) for super cold days, or by themselves around the house. -Absurdly comfortable. Feels like you're being constantly hugged by pure soft warmth. -Rolls up to a reasonably small size, and travels well. The Neutral: -Very sleek fitting. Which is a benefit i... Read Moref you intend to layer under real pants, but a dealbreaker if you intend to wear them by themselves out of the house. Crotch area leaves nothing to the imagination. -Only one pocket, and it sags awkwardly with anything as heavy as a phone. Again, this is a non-issue if you layer over it, or don't intend to leave the house. The Bad: -Not very breathable. As soon as I take on any activity more intense than a casual walk. I can feel the moisture start to accumulate with nowhere to go. On all but the coldest of days, these pants are actually too warm to do anything active without getting damp and clammy with sweat. -As almost every other non-five-star review has mentioned. The waistband is odd. It's described as "cut-and-sew", which means maybe I'm just not using it as intended? I'm pretty good at Googling, but couldn't find anything that described the right way to use it. It's just a simple continuous piece of thin elastic that runs around the entire waist, and is exposed for about 1" in the inside of the front. The name implies that you're maybe supposed to cut it and sew it back together at a more fitted point? I'm super hesitant to alter anything without understanding how it's supposed to work. I appreciate that the customer service reps read these comments, and am hoping someone might be able to respond to the intended use of the waist band, rather than the stock "sorry you're not satisfied..." answer.

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2020

Hello Stan, thanks so much for sharing your detailed review. Yes, with this waist band you're able to cut it to your ideal fit and then sew it. If you'd rather not do this you are welcome to tie it into a knot and then re-tie it in a new spot if you ever decide to change its fit.

July 23, 2020

Great Multi-use Synthetic Pants

These are great worn alone or with any combination of layering. Trim, but still enough space to wear a baselayer. I can add a shell over them on those cold and wet days. Quick-drying, breathable, extra stretchy; like, serious mobility for this guy's big thighs. Single zip pocket perfectly fits my mobile device. One continuous band of drawstrin... Read Moreg for when the going gets tactical.

June 17, 2020

Patagonia Men's Crosstrek Fleece Lined Tights

These things are extremely nice. Fit is snug, but not too tight, really warm for the weight and feel of these. Wore them camping this weekend in northern colorado during a thunderstorm. Stayed warm, dried quickly. Would recommend!!

June 12, 2020

Performance sweatpants with a modern fit. Make more colors!

These are great. They are my warmest underlayer for backpacking and snowboarding. Also awesome around the house jammy jams. Material is basic smooth face polar fleece, but you know what? this stuff is kind of hard to beat. Its boring, but man it holds up so well and warmth to weight is pretty damn good. Some more interesting colors would be sweet. ... Read MoreA nice sage green or dark burnt orange please. Doing this same pattern in a more interesting fabric would also be sweet. In general, these are super useful and delightfully affordable. Nice job designers.

May 22, 2020

Perfect Comfort

I just received these pants and first day of wear is awesome. Super comfortable, feels like quality construction and true to size. Plus, my wife loves how they look on me so I'm getting a second one. Ordered a size XL even though the measurements would warrant a large (32 inseam and 36 wast in most Patagonia pants, although sometimes I go for ... Read Morea 38 pant waste if slim fit - I'm 6'2" and 205 lbs.). I just don't like having a tight waist in these types of pants as that typically means my male parts get outlined due to the tightness, not cool in public. Typically, I don't use pockets in comfy pants like this either, so I have not had issues with them sagging. My new favorite pants!

February 27, 2020

no way to tighten waist

The waist has an elastic string you can access but no way to secure it. You can tie a knot if you can get enough of the string but no room to tie a slip knot and a regular knot hard to untie. Very! unweildy and I will return and seems like a very lame thing... shocked Patagonia put so little thought into it. Otherwise pants look nice.

February 21, 2020

Perfect Fit

I have worn these out hiking, snowshoeing, and just around the house. PROS: They fit great - they fit over shorts, and under rain pants. They are perfect for the leg layer for when it is cold. They were exactly what I was looking for when I wanted to upgrade from my spandex running leggings into something comfier/easier/warmer. CONS: They do not... Read More fit over shoes or boots so you have to take the shoes off to change out of them while on the trail. They are meant and designed as a base layer so the crotch looks like a base layer would, they are awkward looking to just wear by themselves in public. FINAL THOUGHTS: Love these, would definitely recommend and get another when I need another pair.

December 31, 2019

waistband lacking

loved the feel and fit of these sweats. Probably would have been perfect for wearing under ski pants or waders, which is primarily why I bought them. However, the waistband is held up by a thin string that you can't cinch tight. If you put anything remotely heavy, like a phone, in the pockets, it feels like you pants are falling down. That&#x2... Read More7;s probably not an issue unless you want to wear them around as pants, which I do. Unless they fit your waist perfectly, would look elsewhere.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2020

Hi Richard, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the bottoms. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future season so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 6, 2019

Perfect mid layer bottoms

I got these primarily for alpine skiing under a 3 layer shell pant. Not only are these beyond comfy so far they’ve kept me warm without over heating. I do wish they had a second pocket but still give them 5 stars.

November 3, 2019

New favorite pants for anything

I bought these primarily to be a mid layer for skiing but have also worn them running in 30-40 degree weather, lounging around the house, and wearing them while traveling on planes. These pants are amazing. They’re super comfortable, keep you warm, and look cool. I wish I could drop $ and have like 2-3 in rotation. Wouldn’t mind a back pocket too b... Read Moreut the side pocket with zipper is a useful space. 5’11” 182 lbs 33 waist - bought a medium. Fit great!

November 1, 2019

Great versatility. Poor durability.

I’m not sure what’s happening with Patagonia clothing. So many of my purchases over the last couple of years of shown some kind of damage or visible wear in the first few months with light usage. I used to be able to trust that Patagonia clothes would last and look good longer than nearly anything else in my closet. Something has changed in their p... Read Moreroduct design, material selection and/or manufacturing process. For these pants, within a couple of months they started to pill up on the surface, which just looks bad and means they are wearing out faster than one would like. I’m returning them.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

Hi William! Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're truly sorry to hear about the quality you've experienced recently. Feedback like this is crucial when it comes to improving products for future seasons. We've passed this along to our design crew!

October 31, 2019

I am a 128 lb.,

I am a 128 lb., 5’ 4” female. I live in these pants! I not only were these pants every day but wear them to extremely high-end restaurants in SF restaurants / events . In the world of pants , these pants are Type 0- universal wear . Never ever discontinue them. Prototype for the future and all because of a simple pocket!!

October 18, 2019

Like these pants

I use these pants similar to how I would use sweatpants and tights at the same time. I wear a small in these pants (5'9" and 155 lbs)so they fit snug. They are warmer than tights but just as comfortable. I like better than sweatpants because they are tight and easier to move in. The waist band is not a problem as I wear them on the tight ... Read Moreside.

May 9, 2019

Good bottoms

Great Crosstrek bottoms. Good feel and stretch.

March 1, 2019

Waistband needs work

I bought these to run in when it's cold because I don't like tights. The pants are great, but the waistband is terrible. I don't understand who comes up with these features thinking they're good or functioning. I wish they would put the same waistband that's on the strider shorts on these pants, simple elastic with a shoela... Read Morece drawstring. I pulled out the drawstring and put my own in, but it's just lacking. I would love to be a product tester.

February 8, 2019

Baselayering

I am five-ten and weigh in at 190-195 and the large Crosstechs work nicely as a baselayer with my Patagonia Mountain Utility Pants. Great stuff.

February 2, 2019

Rubber band draw string is a failure in function

I like these pants, and would easily recommend them, except for the strange drawstring that doesn't work well. The drawstring is a very stretchy ribbon, only wrapping half the waist. The opening is on the inside of the pants, requiring some fiddling to tie in a bow. Its not in the right place, its not the right material. It should go smoothl... Read Morey around the full waist, tie easily at the waist. Seems entirely easy to do, maybe the waistband would need changes. Since these come in S-M-L sizing, each needs to cover a couple of waist sizes, so maybe if it hits you perfect, you can deal with it. I do like that these are long enough, which is sometimes a problem for me, with admittedly long legs, trying to fit a M.

January 8, 2019

Really nice concept

Have worn them lounging and climbing (harness keeps them up). I would give then 5 stars if I could figure out how to use the drawstring. Would love to use them for cross country skiing.

November 10, 2018

Great for women, too!

Another female reviewer here! I'm 5'8" and usually wear a size 4 or 27 in women's pants, and Patagonia women's pants just don't fit me well-- the rise is too low and they fit loose around the hips. I took the advice of the other female reviewer and ordered the men's crosstrek bottoms in XS and these fit perfectly.... Read More They are snug around the waist, the length is great, and I love the pocket. These pants don't exactly fit as tight as leggings (which I like) but are not at all baggy. Happy to finally retire my decade-old, hole-filled Polartec pants for these!

January 10, 2018

Love these for being active outside

The heart and soul of these pants is the Polartec Power Stretch fleece used to make it. Years go,Patagonia used an earlier version of this fabric for its Capilene 4 tops and bottoms. It's warm without a lot of bulk,allows for great freedom of movement,and does a great job allowing moisture to wick out. It also keeps you warm when it's dam... Read Morep. the fabric hasn't changed much over the years and should prove to be highly durable; I have two half-zip baselayers made from this fabric that are ten plus years old,and I wear them all the time in the winter. It fits more or less true to size,though the fit is more like a pair of joggers,a looser fit throughout than a pair of tights or a baselayer. The waist is very mildly elastic; you need to tie off the thin elastic cord in the waist,which takes some acrobatics to tie a good knot. I might experiment with a plastic toggle. they have one zippered side pocket,good to hold a smart phone. I have worn these on a series of cold weather hikes and sitting out for several hours in rainy 38 degree weather at a football game. Very comfortable,very happy with these. Five stars if the waist cord were easier to tie.

January 10, 2018

Very comfy for running in winter temps.

I really like the fit and feel of these. Not tights and not sweats kinda in between. I am 145lbs. 5'9" and the small fit me perfectly. I just do not understand the weird drawstring. Maybe Patagonia could make a video on how your supposed to tie it.?

January 8, 2018

Great pants

So far only a couple of runs in these pants. They are super comfortable and I don't want to take them off. I normally wear an XL in Patagonia pants but this time I got a large. The XL's were loose in the waist and a little baggy in the thighs. The L fit better in the waist but we're slimmer fitting in the thighs.

January 7, 2018

Great climbing pants

Got these for Christmas and tested them during a week in JTree. True,it was exceptionally warm,but these pants were fantastic after sundown and for the first few hours climbing in the mornings. They fit well under a harness,and are comfortable and easy to move in. The single,zippered pocket is fine for a small knife,keys or a cell phone. While they... Read More stay up fine while walking and moving,including climbing and scrambling without a harness,add anything to that pocket and they're threatening to come down around my ankles. There's a thin drawstring on the inside of the waistband,but no particularly effective means of tying it. I used a slipnot on my trip,but will try adding a small cordlock. An integrated belt would be a fantastic addition. I don't yet have a sense for how well they'll hold up to the abrasions of climbing over the long term or how they handle thorny approaches--the exterior is super slick and potentially prone to snagging. Regardless,these will be packed all my spring/winter/fall climbing trips,and will probably serve as standard fare this winter in my garage/home office.

November 15, 2017

Sized too baggy

Pros: Great material,stitching and design. Cons: Sizing is super baggy. They do not look like they do in the photos on the Patagonia website. It is deceiving to photograph pants with a 6' model. Patagonia men's pant sizes seem to bounce around.

October 9, 2017

Great!

I'm a woman reviewing the men's version of these pants. I ordered the women's version in a small and the men's version in an XS. They fit just about the same through the hip and legs,but the women's version didn't work for me,because the waist was loose. The men's version worked great,because the waist fit and the... Read Morey had a slightly higher rise,which will help them stay up when running. So if you're a woman,and the women's version didn't work for you,give these a try! I love the material and cut of these pants and plan to use them this winter for cold weather running and cycling.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches