Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Midweight Bike Jersey

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Midweight Bike Jersey

4.5/5
True To Size
September 2, 2021

Warm yet light

I bought this in a bigger size than I normally wear to have the option to run in it. I appreciate the length and three back pockets for bottles and fuel.

May 11, 2021

Versatile function

Great layer when it's just a tad chilly to go short sleeve. Don't tell anyone, but I've been using this shirt for thin blue line trout fishing. Slip a flybox, tippit, and some floatant in the back pockets and go.

March 1, 2021

Warm

As a wearer of many past iterations of mid-weight Capeline, I was surprised by the material and resulting performance from the jersey. The material is unlike any med wt Capeline I've owned, seemingly warmer, although the generous cut and pockets contribute to that. I don't dislike the product but think a far more useful garment would use ... Read Morea lighter fabric silk weight if need be. As is I cannot imagine using the jersey consistently as a base layer. I get the shoulder-season focus but lighter fabric and some lighter color options would make this way more useful as a layer and for more of the year. As is I'd like to see a longer zipper. I run warm and used it in 35-70 degrees F with some wind and light rain with and without a hard shell. Also used with a light layer underneath.

February 28, 2021

Seems quality

5'11/155lbs - Bought a small cuz I'm skinny and most M size is baggy around the chest & waist. S was great except the arms were too short so likely a M wouldn't be snug enough (for me). Seemed well constructed and I liked the material and finish.

February 26, 2021

Good under layers or transitional season jersey

Good under layers or transitional season jersey, Well-made like all Patagonia bicycle gear, well Placed pockets Make for a good fall/spring top

February 12, 2021

Great multi-purpose cycling Jersey.

Im 62 with a 32-33 in waist and this size M fits great. Great piece to layer under or over in transition weather.

December 18, 2020

Perfect fit, mid-weight, quality build

6" and 185lbs - Patagonia "M" tops & pants have always fit (since 1984) really well. Same here. Not too long and pocket is fine. Fabric is lofty (capelin), so it doesn't cut much wind. The 101 in San Diego winter is 48 early & 68 midday like a clock. With a tee underneath, it's a still a little thin before direct su... Read Moren (9am) until you're warmed up, then nice. Could use a really thin shell over it, but I hate carrying extra tops after warm up. After 9am, it's in its perfect temp range (54-68).

December 10, 2020

Great

I dont have a lot to comment on. I like the pattern and it fits well.

December 2, 2020

Great piece of gear to add to your cool/cold weather arsenal

It's a good weight and great material and I've really enjoyed this piece of gear for all cycling activities (road and MTB) this fall. The 2 areas of improvement would be the pocket location, and the overall length. The pockets are too high to easily access. Although the location is very comfortable for riding with items it is very difficu... Read Morelt to access those items. Second, the overall length is too long. I appreciate the added rear length, but I'll often wear this baselayer in conjunction with the Dirt Roamer jacket (size L also). The baselayer hangs out of the jacket substantially.

November 16, 2020

Good shoulder weather MTB jersey layer

The high collar camo zip top pullover a likable product. The body is about 2-3cm long in the back and the pockets are too long by about the same measure. The material is a bit gauzy as compared to a capelene mid layer long sleeve shirt, but for shoulder weather MTB (36 - 45 F) this works well with a wind block vest underneath, cycling arm sleeves, ... Read Moreand appropriate gloves

November 14, 2020

Great bike shirt for cooler days

Bought this for my husband and he loves it. The pockets in the back are in a great location, can easily fit phone, slim water bottle, and a snack. Keeps him just the right temperature during his early morning bike rides both uphill and downhill.

November 5, 2020

Super close!

Im happy that you are making an effort to bring us Cycling gear. This item does have a few small issues however. The length is a little long and the pockets are a little high. Also the fit is a little larger. I kinda feel like size medium is getting a little larger throughout your entire clothing line. Overall I love the weight, feel and versatilit... Read Morey of this jersey.

November 4, 2020

Nice layer for cool morning rides

I really like this for cooler morning rides. The pockets are great and I can leave the pack at home and still have the essentials: pump, multi-tool, misc. parts, spare tube, and water bottle. I like the drop tail, but for me it is a bit too long; it could be a bit shorter on the size large. I actually thought it would be a heavier weight fabric, bu... Read Moret to my pleasant surprise it wasn't as heavy as I thought it would be. So far it has been great.

September 2, 2020

Perfect Fit

I love this bike jersey. Warm and nice length in the back. My favorite for mountain biking.

June 19, 2020

Great all-around

Good fit, good looks. Only minor issue is the back pockets are placed slightly too high.

June 19, 2020

Looks good and perfect weight

Everyone needs a camo bike jersey. And the mid weight fabric is perfect for cooler Bay Area mornings and night rides. Only minor complaint is that the pockets in the back are a little high. But overall very happy to have this in the quiver.

June 14, 2020

Good idea, way too long

This midweight bike jersey is a good idea, but it's way too long, so long the back of it catches on my seat when I stand up riding. Comparing to other jerseys, its 3-4" too long in the back, and 2-3" long in front. Making things worse, the rubber gripper on the back hem is overdone, its heavy and pulls the jersey down in the back,... Read More making the problem of catching on the saddle worse. Would be better without it, not needed. For the fit, I would call this regular/loose fit, not slim. Bike jerseys should fit a bit more on the slim side. The midweight fabric is excellent for jersey use, and the triple rear pockets are well done; there is future for this garment; if the length was fixed it would be highly recommended.

Response from Patagonia
June 17, 2020

We thank you for providing some thoughtful and detailed feedback about the design of this jersey. We are sorry that this didn't work out for you and advise you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

May 16, 2020

Best Jersey Ever

From Mountain to road and everything in between I've been riding for 20+ years and have tried lots of jerseys. As a tall guy with a long torso few fit. The Capilene® Midweight Bike Jersey however is the jersey I've been looking for. Buttery soft fabric, not to tight, regulates temperature better than anything I've had before and th... Read Moree length is perfect. Pockets are a great size too and you can actually put things in them! Patagonia, please expand on this line, maybe a short sleeve version for warmer days?

December 19, 2019

Awesome Jersey, if only I wasn't in between M and L

This is a great Jersey but I had to get the back hemmed up because it was so long it was catching on the back of my bike seat. Luckily the back pockets don't go all the way down allowing for a hem job. I'm 5'10, 175lbs. Medium is the right length for Patagonia upper body clothing, but they are too snug a fit around the chest and shou... Read Morelders. Large fits well there, but is way too long.

December 5, 2019

Smart design

Love this bike specific capilene. I do find myself wearing a ton off the bike as well. The pockets make sense and shorter rides without a pack are possible as long as you’re not trying to load the kitchen sink. The fit is slim without being skin tight. I’m 6’2” 180, 33” waist 41” chest and I’m often smack dab in the middle of Med/Lg but in this top... Read More, large is spot on. The feel of the material is premium (I dig the honeycomb gridding interior) and durability is great without any noticeable damage after charging through brush or branches. I’ve worn this quite a bit while day hiking as well and no pilling at shoulder and waist strap areas so far. Highly recommend.

November 25, 2019

Capilene Midweight Bike Jersey

Comfortable. Love the pockets. First true bike base layer. Fit pretty good. Wearing a backpack causes the sleeves to ride up a little above my wrist.

November 15, 2019

Great shirt

Fits well as mid weight layer.

November 14, 2019

Rear pocket crunch!

Liked the style and materials, but the 3 pockets for gear in the back are stitched in a way that it makes the garment too tight around the mid section. It might be fine for someone else, just didn’t work for me.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi David, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. It's crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. We'll pass this along to our design team!

October 14, 2019

Maximum Versatility

I've been really impressed with this jersey so far. It's super versatile as far as the temperature range goes. It breathes well but also provides some warmth when I need it. I've worn it in the 60's and didn't overheat and worn it in the mi-thirties with a lightweight merino base layer underneath and was warm enough. Also I... Read More've made it through 3-4 rides before the jersey starts to stink which is not what I typically expect from synthetic materials, usually it's one ride and it needs to be washed. I will definitely be buying another one of these jerseys.

October 13, 2019

Bike specific Midweight - Great piece

It's as comfortable in a slim cut as our normal Midweight layer with two great bike specific features. The dropped hem lined with silicone on the back keeps the shirt in place on rough singletrack with lots of pumping, and the deep(er) zipper allows for easy dumping of heat on a brutal climb. Pair with an R1 Pullover for warmth and a Dirt Roam... Read Moreer jacket for wind protection.

October 9, 2019

Great cool weather piece

Very pleased with this jersey, good fit. Note that it is a bit more trim fit than standard mid weight base layer. I’m a bigger guy at 6’1” and 215 lbs, XL fit me well with room for a thin layer under it if I wanted. Pretty limited color selection, would be great to see more selection than camo and black.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches