Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Short-Sleeved Merino Bike Jersey

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Short-Sleeved Merino Bike Jersey

4.2/5
True To Size
September 7, 2021

Classic MTB merino wool shirt

A classic Patagonia MTB shirt that suits me perfectly at 63 205 lbs. Wanted merino for cooler AM rides & it doesnt disappoint though it is made of fine wool & is a classic cut.

September 5, 2021

Lite jersey

Liked it so much that I ordered a second one in the same color. Even the black is cool on hot days, with great breath ability. Product is discipline specific for mtn biking with the longer tail for coverage while in a riding position. Yet, find myself wearing it all day after the ride!

September 3, 2021

Perfect fit, great fabric

I got this as a gift for my husband and he absolutely loves it. He's found Merino a bit itchy before but this is super soft. The cut is also really nice; modern and functional. So far he's been wearing it around town almost daily, and for mt bike rides. He's looking forward to using it as a baselayer for skiing too. I think the versa... Read Moretility makes the [sale] price worth it. Thin, so we'll see how it holds up, but that's to be expected with lightweight Merino.

September 2, 2021

Very comfortable

This Jersey is incredibly comfortable. It wicks sweat well and dries out quickly. The Jersey fits well and you dont think about the item while wearing it. It can get a little warm in hot and humid weather but is perfect when its not cool enough for a long sleeve or jacket.

August 30, 2021

Light and breezy

Have ridden my new wool bike jersey several times now. Love wool's breathability and the fit is super comfortable. Will order another when it is back in stock.

August 4, 2021

Slealthy stylish

I use this shirt to ride my bike to work. It dries fast, and even if I wear it every day, it carries no discernible odor. I often wear it all through the work day - and no one complainsThe fit is as described - I am 59, 170, 31 waist.

August 4, 2021

Perfect size, comfy but black color fades quick.

This bike jersey is exactly what I wanted. Its low key, comfy, baggy enough for a medium but the black color fades in the sun super quick.

July 14, 2021

More Casual Fit than Other Merino Tee

The other merino tees are great but they're slim fit. These are much better to wear casually, but still work great for sports. Generally a bit looser, fits like a slightly oversized tee that's easier to wear around town as a young guy.

April 28, 2021

My go to bike jersey

I have a stack of biking jerseys from multiple brands, but I find myself reaching for this jersey for almost every ride. It's super light weight, no frills and odor resistant. I like the understated looks as I don't want to look like I'm trying to imitate a sponsored biker. A limitation is that the material is prone to ripping in cra... Read Moreshes, but this is an acceptable tradeoff given how comfortable and light it is. My only complaint is that the neck opening is really wide. I don't wear a backpack often when riding, but I could see the straps rubbing on my neck if I did.

March 30, 2021

My New Go2Bike Shirt

I love everything about this bike shirt and would own it in every color if I could. Super comfy and breathable. Sometimes I leave it on for hours after a ride.

March 29, 2021

Uber comfortable!

I have had problems with Patagonia gear not being true to size for me - Im 75 inches tall have a 48 inch chest - this shirt fit like other XL items I purchase from other brands - more importantly - it is wonderfully comfortable and doesnt smell after days of back to back wearing!

March 26, 2021

Durability Issue

This shirt is fragile and developed holes after 2 light hiking uses (<12 total miles) and 1 wash. I am in the process of returning to find something more durable.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Thank you for your comments on our Short-Sleeved Merino Bike Jersey. We're sorry to hear that it developed holes so soon. This is not how long we expect our gear to last and it sounds like it could have been a defective product issue. Thank you for sending it back and allowing us to evaluate it. This shirt is cut for use while on a mountain bike, if you'd like to try one out with the same feel but with a cut that may work better for hiking, we recommend checking out our new [Men's Capilene Cool Merino Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-cool-merino-shirt/44575.html?dwvar_44575_color=SARU).

February 25, 2021

Perfect mtb layer or summer shirt

Excellent quality merino shirt worn as a layer or on its own for summer riding. The shirt is very thin with a nice stretch to it.

January 26, 2021

An Indulgence

It&#x27;s wool, it&#x27;s thin, it&#x27;s expensive. If you are a wool only person, or maybe shop on Rapha, this is the jersey. For longer &quot;backcountry&quot; rides this fall I enjoyed wearing this jersey. It&#x27;s cut great for cycling. Stays warm but not to warm. The sizing is right for me - roomy but not baggy. I have a 42&quot; chest, broa... Read Mored shoulders, 32-33" waist. My one big question is on durability. I have yet to wreck while wearing this jersey. I do not have full confidence that it will make it through more than a crash or two.

December 3, 2020

Flimsy, brittle and ratty looking

These shirts are very comfortable when they first arrive. I originally got two of them and loved them so much I ordered 2 more shortly thereafter. However, after a few short months of regular use, washing and care to air dry them with the infrequent mishap of a family member throwing them in the dryer the fibers have become brittle and the shirts h... Read Moreave lots if small holes in them. I'm giving them 2 stars because they are incredible for the first couple months you use them and I love the fit. But I had to do it over again I would not purchase these shirts.

October 14, 2020

Size Up Or Just Don't Wash

I bought a medium and when it first arrived I thought it was a bit large. Unfortunately, after wearing a few times and following the washing instructions the opposite happened and the shirt is now extremely small to the point I do not wear it.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Thank you for this feedback and we are very sorry to hear that this shrunk in the wash after following the proper instructions. We definitely don't want you holding onto something that isn't wearable so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us under our warranty.

September 1, 2020

nice fit

great for cool weather mountain biking

July 18, 2020

Largest size large I have ever owned.

other then the fact that I am swimming in it is a great shirt.

June 21, 2020

Comfortable - very versatile

The S/S Merino Bike Jersey is quickly becoming a staple in my wardrobe. Not only for Mtn Biking but also for all around wear as well as running. Very comfortable fabric that keeps me dry during hard cycling and also is really soft and comfortable. Love products that I can use for all kinds of activities and this is definately one.

June 17, 2020

Fragile

Great looking shirt, very comfy, fits great, but it is incredibly easy to rip/put holes in. I mountain bike in this shirt and have gotten holes from brushing up against tree branches, and then coming home to see my dog who jumped up put a hole through the shirt with her nail. I tend not to wear this mountain biking any more.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this hasn't held up too well and we appreciate your feedback. If you'd like to send this back to us, please feel free to do so. You can start the process here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

June 17, 2020

Comfortable - very versatile

The S/S Merino Bike Jersey is quickly becoming a staple in my wardrobe. Not only for Mtn Biking but also for all around wear as well as running. Very comfortable fabric that keeps me dry during hard cycling and also is really soft and comfortable. Love products that I can use for all kinds of activities and this is definately one.

June 17, 2020

Functional and Good Looking

Let me say first off I am a Patagonia fan boy. I trust the brand to do right by my fellow humans and the environment. Aside from their Wetsuits, which I just can&#x27;t make work, I will put up with some faults to stay with the brand. I won&#x27;t however apologize for those faults and will call them out. This Jersey is excellent. It fits well and ... Read Morelooks great. So far it is holding up well too and has not shrunk which has been a problem with lots of Patagucci shirts I own. I am 5'11" with a 42" chest and the Md fits perfectly with a good bit of waist overlap and a loose fit. I tried the Lg but it was too big. If I have a complaint it's that I don't think this is as cool as some of the other options Pata offers. I find that the jersey gets soaked pretty easily with my sweat in the S Ca Sun. I'd like to see them do a jersey like this in a more breathable cotton or mesh like some of the older jerseys I have from them. Highly suggest pairing this with the Dirt Roamer liner Bibs and landfarer shorts for the ultimate Pataguccia kit.

December 28, 2019

Merino bike jersey

The fabric is great. This shirt can be worn for biking, of course, but also as a base layer or looks great with jeans.

October 30, 2019

Merino bike jersey

Works great alone or as base layer. Worth every penny!

October 29, 2019

Merino Wool + MTB = Epicness

So breathable its insane. Felt like I was riding shirtless on a real hot day.

October 17, 2019

My favorite shirt but some durability issues

This shirt is awesome, quick drying, breezy and cool! Love it for biking and all outdoor activities. My only qualm is that I have only had the shirts for a few months and they already have a bunch of tiny holes. They are also pilling where it rubs up against my 9 Trails hip pack. All in all I love these shirts and will continue to wear them but I h... Read Moreope that future designs are a bit more durable.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

We're sorry this you're experiencing pilling and durability issues with this shirt. Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you would ever like to send it in for a warranty evaluation.

October 3, 2019

Super soft, comfy, but still

Super soft, comfy, but still seems durable. It's very lightweight but still seems to provide some warmth. Should work well over a wide temp range.

October 1, 2019

Great first layer for many uses

I wore this as my first (and sometimes only) later on a two-week bikepacking adventure from Denver to Durango on the Colorado Trail. Washed it in Breck and Silverton and it was comfortable and relatively odor-free the entire trip. Have also worn on long international trips as first layer under long-sleeve shirts and will be wearing this ski season ... Read Moreunder my midweight merino. Highly recommended but wished it came in some other colors too.

September 13, 2019

Great product, durability is an issue

The minimal weight and unparalleled breathability are the best and worst parts of the jersey. While pedaling the jersey is great and pulling moisture off of the skin and not clinging whatsoever. Once moving, it honestly feels like wearing nothing. So much wind passes through! It&#x27;s delightful. However with just one crash the shirt ripped in two... Read More places. Perhaps expected due to the thinness of the material but disappointing nonetheless.

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear that your shirt ripped. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to initiate a [Return or Repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item, under our [Ironclad Warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html#searchterm=ironclad).

September 10, 2019

Love me some Merino wool!

Thin breezy shirt for gravel riding. Surprisingly wide range of temperature comfort.

August 15, 2019

A bit baggy

Comfy shirt with a great feel, quick drying and stank free, so far. The fit is baggy and due to the stretch in merino bound to get baggier.

August 9, 2019

My favorite merino

I&#x27;ve had this jersey on over 25 rides at this point. Probably a couple hundred miles in dirt. It has become my absolute favorite bike jersey! Patagonia got the weight just right for the blend of comfort, quick drying, and durability. Sometimes I find merino shirts get too heavy when they saturate with water/sweat or if they&#x27;re thin enough... Read More not to then they develop holes too fast. This jersey somehow found a good happy medium. I expect to get a lot of riding out of this thing!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches