Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Houdini® Air Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Houdini® Air Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
July 19, 2021

Mobility

Lightweight, thin, and perfect

July 16, 2021

Ultralight yet sturdy

I was hugely impressed with this jacket - it's ultralight and packable, bu still has a sturdiness to it. Very comfortable and breathable as well. Excellent fit around the torso and sufficiently long sleeves/tail.

June 6, 2021

Why the seam

I have used this on many rides and I really like the material and fit and function. There is however one highly annoying issue that I don't know how to remedy. The seam that the tag attaches to makes a curve up, rather then just continuing linearly, so unless the jacket is fully zipped the tags stick straight up and bugs the heck out of my nec... Read Morek. For as expensive as this jacket was it shouldn't have this flaw. Why cant patagonia do like so many other brands, like my Stio 2nd light, and have an iron on logo. Taking suggestions on how to deal with this. Thanks.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Chuck. We'll pass your suggestion along to the design team. It's possible that you could cut the tags, but that may make it itchy. You're always welcome to return it. We're really sorry for the inconvenience.

May 8, 2021

Love Houdini

We live on the Oregon Coast and it is usually windy and often misty. The Houdini is a perfect windbreaker, and I'm glad the Houdini Air has more water resistance than my old Houdini. I got it extra large so I could shield my camera and binoculars under the jacket when on the beach.

April 29, 2021

seriously light piece in the arsenal

6'1, 175. Jacket fits like other sport oriented pieces that I have from Patagonia like the R1 Techface. This thing is seriously light, easily packable and perfect to toss in the pack. Sheds light rain easy enough, block wind. Has been great to throw on at the beginning of hikes and after cooling down at a summit/peak. Will probably be my only ... Read Moreouter layer for late spring through early fall (unless the rain means business). Fits over other medium layers I have but would not fit comfortably over my puffier stuff. No issues with build quality so far.

April 22, 2021

Great piece of kit with one issue

I purchased this product about a year and a half ago. Used it everywhere. Backpacking, hiking, sailing. Works exactly as advertised and is my go to jacket for most every activity. The only issue is that the interior fuzzes up like crazy. The hood, neck, shoulder and elbow areas are all badly fuzzed up. I used a electric clipper to remove some of th... Read Moreis as the fuzz does wear off and clings to your shirt. Sharing and hoping this is just a production/material issue and can be remedied in future iterations. Still a great product. Better than the original Houdini.

Response from Patagonia
April 23, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pilling. We're so sorry this is happening to you, you're on the right track using the de-piller. We'll pass this along to the materials team.

April 17, 2021

Almost Perfect

I live in Maine and this is a fantastic piece for our shoulder seasons with possible application as a mid layer in winter (I havent tested that yet). For example, I wore it on a trail run today with temps at 44 degrees, 10-15mph wind and a mix of sun and spitting mist/rain. Beautiful spring day. I wore a capilene lightweight tee as a base layer and... Read More brought an R1 Air because I thought it might feel cold. When I got to the trail I ditched the R1 because the sun was shining at that moment and it felt warmer than expected. Im glad I did. The jacket is so breathable that even through the hard run there was no moisture build up or any clammy feeling. Actually it feels great next to skin. It also handled the wind gusts and spitting rain well, Id say it blocks 90% of the wind and so it lets through just enough air to keep your body temp well regulated. Long story short, the fabric performs very well during aerobic activity. A few minor flaws keep this from getting 5 stars, though it is still a great addition to the kit. First and really not a big deal but it has the sewn on standard Patagonia label on the left breast. Its totally unnecessary. Why add superfluous fabric and punch thread into the face of the jacket? Older Houdini jackets had a printed on reflective lettering that seems much more appropriate to this jacket. Second is the hood flaps around in the back. I tuck it into the jacket but it is annoying. I would LOVE a pullover version of this jacket, it would be even lighter without the full zip and more easily layered. Im excited to use this as a multifunctional piece in winter; as a top layer when skinning or on Nordic trails and then pulling a insulated piece over for the ride down/stops or if it gets really cold. Its so breathable, I can see it performing well in those situations. A pullover would fit this use case much better as well. For size reference Im a long torsoed 6 & 185. I bought an XL for length and coverage while bike commuting. Its true to size which means the XL is slightly baggy on me as expected but nothing to really take away from an overall good long fit. If I didnt need something a little long I imagine the L would fit perfectly.

April 16, 2021

Houdini Aaron jacket

Great product! Size is a good fit for lean over reach on a mountain bike. Another great piece to add to my ridiculous collection, thank you!

April 7, 2021

Yes!

Houdini coats have long been among my favorite items from Patagonia, so I decided to try this newer version and I might have a new favorite. This is a great coat, like a slightly stouter version of the older Houdini.

April 1, 2021

Simply Awesome

An amazing piece and an absolute must have!

March 11, 2021

A perfect companion

I bought a Houdini awhile back, and it's a fantastic little pack-a-long for travel. But breathability was an issue for me, and I wanted something slightly more breathable so I could wear it in a variety of settings. I take it with me everywhere and where it on cool mornings over a sweatshirt. I wear it over a work shirt on afternoons where the... Read Morere is a chill in the air. And I wear it on strenuous hikes. I've been wearing Patagonia for decades, and this is one of my favorite pieces.

February 25, 2021

Too light

Jacket was much lighter/ thiner than I expected.

January 28, 2021

Perfect for running on cold days

Dont be deceived by the super light weight, its the perfect outer layer to run when temperatures drop into teens and single digits. Wear over a capilene base layer and its all you need at least for up to a 1 hour run. It blocks cold air coming in, so your body can regulate the temperature and avoid over heating in heavy layers.

January 19, 2021

Better than standard houdini

I am 6'2 180 and between M and L in the normal Houdini. The stretch and overall cut of the Air work better for me. I can wear it over a baselayer for running, climbing, or cycling. If I was using it for winter rock climbing only, I might size up to the L to accommodate extra layers. Can't speak to long-term durability but this jacket is s... Read Moreuperior to the normal Houdini.

January 13, 2021

This is THE BEST running jacket

I mean if you want a running jacket that just works, this is it. Just got it and did a run in 30°f and it was amazing. The hood has one direction of adjustability and it cinches down around your ears over a hat (or without one) keeping them warm. The only two problems - it doesnt keep your nose and mouth covered when zipped up (I got the balacl... Read Moreava for that though) And I wish the pocket was reinforced on the bottom to keep a phone more secure. Amazing jacket and Im so happy with it.

January 6, 2021

Good protection from wind , winter or summer

Just received the jacket but have had the vest for three years. Great protection and very very light weight. When visiting Tierra Patagonia noticed all of the guides wearing this product. It was perfect for that environment.

December 9, 2020

Perfect pocket layer.

I bought a houdini years ago when they first came out, and it was my go-to belay jacket or extra layers for alpine hikes. This latest iteration is meant to be a shell for high-output activities (winter training runs in NYC) and to stash in bag for tropical fly fishing trips. Love this piece.

November 27, 2020

Breathable protection without the weight!

This piece is my go to softshell for all things aerobic; hiking, running, mountain biking, climbing, and backcountry skiing. If you are looking for an ultralight no nonsense shell that breaths, blocks the wind, sheds the elements, and packs away to nothing, look no further!

November 23, 2020

Exact what I wanted

Its slim but exactly what I wanted. Doesnt get clammy inside after run.

November 23, 2020

Everything layer

Base layer. Outer layer. Where it almost everyday. Need a few more colors!

November 16, 2020

Sticky

I use this jacket for running and any amount of moisture on your skin results in the fabric sticking to you and creating a sweaty mess. I can often pour sweat out of the arms partway through a run.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Hi Kevin, we're very sorry to hear about your experiences with the Men's Houdini® Air Jacket. The Houdini Air is not fully windproof and allows more wind to blow through and more heat/sweat to escape. Layering with a lightweight Capilene may help you with the condensation problem. A lightweight layer like the Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt may help to wick away the excess moisture that's accumulating inside of your jacket, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-capilene-cool-lightweight-shirt/45690.html?dwvar_45690_color=BLK. If you feel like the Houdini® Air Jacket isn't standing up to your expectations, please feel free to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 14, 2020

Handy Houdini Is Light But Effective

I think the sizing is about right. I bought the extra large online because of the slim fit though I think large would also work for me. I'm 6'4" and about 215 pounds. In general I like the consideration that Patagonia puts into their products, such as quality and packability. I've definitely moved away from other brands as a res... Read Moreult. I bought the Houdini after climbing Chief Mountain in Colorado only to experience 40+ MPH winds at the summit. I wanted something light to bring on hikes when the days are warm, but I may be exposed to winds and cooler temps at times. The Houdini has come in handy. I've worn it a lot this summer. Sometimes blocking the wind and containing some heat is all you need to be more comfortable, and this jacket does both. The Houdini has been a great addition to my closet.

June 21, 2020

Do all jacket

I like this better than Houdini. It breaths so much better. The cuffs are great as well. Keeps the early morning chill off.

June 17, 2020

Do all jacket

I like this better than Houdini. It breaths so much better. The cuffs are great as well. Keeps the early morning chill off.

March 3, 2020

Missing Link

As a Mountain Guide I have searched for years to find a piece that bridges the gap between a soft shell and a full on hard shell. I believe that search is over. The Houdini Air Jacket provides amazing protection from the elements, breathes adequately while active (breaking trail, climbing, running), and yet is small and light enough that I don&#x27... Read More;t even notice I have it on. If needed I add a Nano-Air Vest, Jacket, or Hoody (temp dependent) for additional warmth, then a Pluma Jacket when I want full protection from the worst that Mother Nature can throw at me. I highly recommend this piece.

January 4, 2020

Super lightweight jacket

Just took this on a kiteboarding trip where it was very windy and wet. This jacket saved me when I wasn’t on the water. Also bought one for my wife and she loves it too!

December 15, 2019

The item we ordered was

The item we ordered was exactly as it appeared online. We were pleased.

November 15, 2019

Great light carry anywhere shell

Great light carry anywhere shell

November 12, 2019

great windbreaker, and breathable too!

great super lightweight option to provide some windbreak. They weren't kidding that the textured interior provides breathability!

November 10, 2019

Great first impression.

So far so good. Time will tell the durability but it seems great.

November 1, 2019

This jacket is truly like

This jacket is truly like wearing air. Perfect for layering for individuals with an active lifestyle. Like my other medium Patagonia outerwear it fits slightly snug, just as I like!

October 28, 2019

Sorry returned the one for my wife and one for me

My wife sleeves to long and body to slim she is under 5', for me over all to slim I'm 6'2".

October 10, 2019

Great Wind & Waterproof Jacket

I love this jacket - have been carrying it everywhere to protect from unexpected fall rainstorms.

September 24, 2019

Great jacket for high output

I've been a fan of the Houdini line of products for some time and I think this is a great addition to the family. The Houdini Air has most of the same benefits of the traditional Houdini while being more breathable (obviously). The breathability for me is the key difference because we do a lot of high output activities like cycling and climbin... Read Moreg which would cause me to quickly overheat in the traditional Houdini. The fit of the Houdini Air is also slightly larger (which I think is more true to size) and has a longer hem which is great to provide coverage on a bike or to stay put under a harness. While I'd still grab the traditional Houdini on a colder ride, the Houdini Air has become my go-to for almost all aerobic pursuits.

September 18, 2019

Perfect Lightweight jacket!

It's so light that I can carry it anywhere and everywhere. So happy with my purchase.

August 10, 2019

Perfect jacket for wind and light rain protection

This jacket is great. Takes up almost no space in your pack and still provides good wind and some rain protection. It would be even better if it had one pocket on the inside of the jacket for a few small items.

August 10, 2019

Perfect light weight

Amazing how much performance this ultralight windbreaker provides. Windy showers? No problem. Cool foggy morning? Perfect solution. And it packs up into virtually nothing. Well done Patagonia.

May 14, 2019

houdini air

Have only had for about 3 weeks. Since then a few light rains, not overly waterproof, but not sure that is really its intent. In all, nice jacket, super light, and breathable. Will be interested to see how it holds up over time. I am 6' 165lbs...bought a large as I didnt want it too snug...perfect size.

May 10, 2019

Compact, light and breathable

I’ve only had occasion to run trail with this jacket on once so far. It fitted great, was super light and small when stowed in my pack. The run started cold and windy and my Houdini Air kept me comfortable.

May 8, 2019

I only have worn it

I only have worn it a few times and have been happy with it. I wish you would make things with a more generous cut. It would be nice to be able to wear a wide variety of clothes under a jacket like this. I plan to use it for traveling. So some times it will be a t shirt under the jacket and sometimes a bulky fleece. I find that is true if most of y... Read Moreour clothes. You make xxs for women but no xxl for women. Yet your clothes for men can go up to 3xl. Not all active people fit your narrow body image.

March 25, 2019

Perfect addition to my closet

Awesome jacket! Just ran Lake Martin 100 miler this weekend and this jacket was perfect. I've run in the Houdini for years, but this jacket hits the sweet spot for breathability. Put it on when the temps dropped overnight and still had it on when the sun came up. With the old Houdini, I know I would have taken the time to take it jacket off, b... Read Moreut with this jacket, I could keep it on and still be comfortable, even as I started to sweat again.

March 22, 2019

Perfect

I needed something that could take the chill off cold morning runs and provide wind protection on the ridges, but also avoid the dreaded problems of condensation. The Houdini Air is the answer. The tech fabric is complemented by thoughtful design. I love this thing. And if the day warms to the point where I don't need it, the Houdini Air disap... Read Morepears into its own pocket for easy stowage. I'm 5'11", average build, and wear the large which fits perfectly.

February 24, 2019

Nice running jacket

Comparing to the classic Houdini, this jacket feels better while running in a strong wind and light rain. The hood is awesome — a bit larger than in my old classic Houdini and works great with a trucker cap. It also feels better while moving and sits better on me that classic Houdini; i'm 5.9" 145lb, wearing size S. Great improvements, Pa... Read Moretagonia! Hope new fabric will hold for a long time. The only bummer is it packs significantly bigger than the classic one and DOESN'T fit into the 2019 Strider Pro's pocket! Other than that — great jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches