burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Houdini Air Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Houdini® Air Jacket

4.7/5
True To Size
December 26, 2022

Have been using it for

Have been using it for Nordic skiing and I love it

December 23, 2022

Great jacket - no pockets!

It's a great warm, rain-proof piece for cold, windy weather. Perfect for layering over a long-sleeved tee and a jacket in San Diego for fall or winter wet walks. But. There are no pockets for your hands! Who makes a windbreaker with no pockets? Nowhere to store my phone or even a tissue. There's a useless zip pocket on the left breast tha... Read Moret might do for an aspirin packet, for the headache not having side pockets brings on. Otherwise a great piece.

December 8, 2022

Great for windy, wet workouts

Ive been putting the Houdini Air to the test with the wet and windy Western New York weather. Its lightweight and does not obstruct movement in anyway. I did a 5 mile trail run in wind and drizzle and the water beaded up on the jacket but didnt soak through. It was 40 degrees and a mid layer with the Houdini Air was a perfect combo. The breathabili... Read Morety of the jacket was awesome, I never felt swampy. Its my new go to for runs, biking and hiking. Its packability and versatility make this my new go to jacket.

November 18, 2022

Great lightweight layer

I just bought this for a hiking trip to southern Portugal. While I didn't end up having to wear it much due to near perfect weather and temperatures, I did have it in my daypack every day because it is light as a feather and takes no space, also good to throw in a travel purse when in a city too. I probably could have gotten away with a size X... Read MoreS but this way I can certainly have two layers under it.

October 27, 2022

A mid-weight jacket perfect for

A mid-weight jacket perfect for temps in the 50 - 70 range. Love that it comes with a hood. I doubt I'll ever reverse it to the fleece side.

October 15, 2022

My #1 most favorite piece of clothing ever

This jacket is my most loved piece of clothing - across all time, all categories. It keeps me warm inside and outside, looks great, feels like a second skin (in a good way, not a weird way.) I have worn it hiking, climbing, walking, biking, running, to work, out with friends, traveling, and around the house. Great with layers, easy to stuff into a... Read Moreny purse, bag, backpack, pocket, or suitcase and takes up zero room. Buy this. You wont be disappointed.

October 4, 2022

Perfect transition jacket

Just got this jacket but love it. The jacket has just enough protection from the elements without brining weight or too much warmth. Great for summer into fall whether that be going for an easy walk or a early morning run.

September 17, 2022

The best lightweight windbreaker ever

I love my Houdini jacket so much I wanted a second, and the upgrade is worth it! I sweat a lot and this fabric doesn't feel clammy at all and feels nice against my skin. It blocks those breezes that would otherwise send you home and is comfortable to wear.

August 22, 2022

Favorite lightweight jacket

I am in love with this jacket. So much that I bought a second in another color. The fit is perfect. The fabric is wonderful. So much nicer than the regular Houdini. It is quiet and not crinkly noisy fabric. For there not being much to it, it is surprisingly warm on chilly mornings. I have worn it biking, and it does a great job of cutting the wind.... Read More The only thing I don't love is that it doesn't have hand pockets. I find myself always reaching for hand pockets. I understand the desire to keep it super lightweight, but I think some pockets would be a nice feature and worth another ounce or two of weight. All in all I love these jackets so much and have been living in them this summer. Please make a purple one!

August 5, 2022

Great lightweight jacket

This is exactly the right weight for my morning trail walks with the dog this summer, temps in the 60s. It is breathable with a little stretch to it. I am 5ft 3.5in tall, 127 pounds, and normally wear a small and a petite.I am also a 34D so tops are iffy. I ordered a medium based on reviews that it runs small. This fits perfectly except the arms ar... Read Moree a little long on me, but I cuff them and its not an issue. The one thing missing is side pockets. I realize this would make it less packable but I prefer the pockets. But I still love it! Also have brought it on two trips so far and it is great for travel.

May 25, 2022

Perfect for protection from cool desert winds.

I love this jacket. The fit was perfect, it's lightweight and perfect for protection from the desert winds.

May 10, 2022

Great Layer

Wasn't sure about the color when I ordered this, but surprisingly it is a neutral that goes with a lot! Love that it packs down small so I grab it all the time just before walking out the door. The texture is soft and breathes well. I would prefer the cuffs to be adjustable or tighter to help block out the wind when biking. Also would prefer a... Read More hoodless version; the hood just gets in the way. Fits me loosely. I am 35" 27" 37" hips for reference. I bought the rose colored small.

May 9, 2022

terrific with one caveat

this is the jacket i have been looking for life in san francisco - super lightweight and incredible at blocking the wind. i had also hoped this would work for light rain but after 20 minutes in light drizzle, it was soaked (as was my layer underneath). still great for most days!

April 15, 2022

Outstanding.

If hard pressed, there are many things I could learn to live without, not my Houdini Air. If Im not wearing it out the door, its always within reach in my bike bag, backpack, glove box, purse, nano pocket. I regularly use it on my daily walks, running, cycling, day hiking and traveling. I love it for its ability to block wind & breathe, shed so... Read Moreme passing sprinkles and ratchet up protection in combination with one of my Pata mid-pieces. In the future, I would love to see at least one extra bright color added to the line-up for safety reasons since I use it so much for walking, running and my cycling commutes.

January 18, 2022

Wind Block

This light ,wind-resistant jacket is ideal for layering on cold and rainy days .The problem is that the design is tight ,,particularly on the arms so a nano jacket or sweater does not fit comfortably under it even on a Large size.

November 20, 2021

Breathable and light weight

The breathable material feels great on your skin. Super light weight thats perfect to wear when running in cool weather. I am 54 and 115 lbs and size S fit me well.

June 27, 2021

Different fit from regular Houdini

I'm 5'1", usually a size S in most non-Patagonia clothes. I have a 2020(?) Houdini in M (close fit when layering with a Smartwool 250 long-sleeve for winter running in the northeast). I wanted something a little looser for more versatility - Tried this in M and L and am keeping the M. Compared to the regular Houdini, this is defini... Read Moretely roomier in the chest area and maybe just slightly looser-fitting in the stomach area. Length of the jacket is longer and sleeves are longer. Proportions-wise, the regular Houdini fits me better (pretty perfect in terms of sleeve and torso length - I have slightly long arms for my height). I'm keeping the regular Houdini b/c I like the closer fit for running and even though sweat does bead up inside, it does a great job blocking winter wind. Also love the color (Roamer Red). I'm also keeping the Air since it has more room for looser-fitting street wear and layering, and I like the option of extra breathability in less severe weather conditions. I'm also ecstatic I managed to snag the Tate green colorway from a store in Canada, which Patagonia seemed to sell out of really quickly...on discount, too!

May 8, 2021

Amazing! A New Classic!

What could possibly work better than a Houdini, that famous disappearing act that lives in my pack? Houdini Air! Drapes better, feels better next to skin, breathes better, and its elegant enough that I can no take it anywhere in Smoulder Blue. TotLly worth the price of the upgrade. Ill buy another for my portage pack and put my existing Houdinis... Read More into the Worn Wear program. Patagonia is becoming just as famous as Houdini for its wonky sizing. Ive been a standard Patagonia Ws medium all my life. But their fits have been changing a lot. I sized up on this jacket and so glad I did.

May 3, 2021

Love Patagonia but

I have been investing on coats and been mainly ordering them from Patagonia. This year, I wanted to order something for the spring time for casual wear and for walking my dogs. First and foremost, I normally wear a medium and decided to order XL as I put on 20 lbs in less than a year. The shoulder area fits well; the sleeves were longer which was e... Read Morexpected. But the overall sizing was perfect for me since I didn't want it to fit snug. It works well for brisk walks and I noticed that it keeps me warm if it's cool outside. I haven't tried it in the rain yet. There are 2 things that I noticed with it: 1. There no pockets with this jacket and 2. the elastic that tightens around the bottom of it snapped in less then 2 weeks. Otherwise, I probably would have given it 5 stars.

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

Hi Alexandria, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear that you've been enjoying the jacket so far, but we're sorry to hear the the elastic piece broke.With that said, you're more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us under warranty.

April 23, 2021

Its perfect!

I absolutely love this jacket. Its so light, easy to carry, yet keeps warm. The fit is perfect.

June 17, 2020

Awfully handy in a pinch

I bought mine one size up so that I could fit a vest underneath if necessary. I love how it folds up into its own pocket. Its a little pricey, but otherwise I love it.

June 17, 2020

Comfy but small

Jacket overall is light, comfortable, keeps you warm & cool all at the same time. The down side to this jacket is it runs weird & small. I ordered an XL and in the arms its great but to zip it up its really tight. Like most Patagonia clothing it seems to be a hit and miss. If I would had gotten a XXL I think the arms would have been to big.... Read More Perhaps Im just built weird.

June 16, 2020

Best Wind Jacket Ever!

I've tried a ton of wind jackets over the years , but my favorite by far is the Houdini Air. It does a great job of blocking wind, but is also the most breathable and wicking one I've worn yet. I really like the raised fabric on the interior that keeps the jacket off your skin! I found the fit to be true to size and even a little room to ... Read Morelayer, which is really nice considering I have to size up in most wind jackets. This jacket lives in my pack and goes on every adventure with me. It's so light and packs up so small, there's no reason not to take it everywhere with you.

May 1, 2020

Everyday!

I received this as a gift XS and it is very snug but I like it tight because it doesnt catch too much wind. It is very windy where I run and that was my primary purpose for wearing this jacket but now I wear it for biking, gardening, hiking- basically any outdoor activity. Sometimes its my top layer over a thin running shirt and sometimes is an in ... Read Morebetween layer. Tissue thin and so strong.

March 25, 2020

Wonderful Windbreaker

I bought this jacket to replace my Houdini for riding my bike to work in the wee hours of the morning. My original Houdini lacked breath-ability, and while it was great in the dead of winter at keeping the wind out and the warmth in, as the mornings started to "warm" up (from teens and 20s to the 30s and up), it was apparent I'd need... Read More to either remove my jacket 10 minutes into my ride, or get something that would breath better. The Houdini Air did just that. It also packs down to nothing, so it takes up basically no space in my pack on my ride home. I do wish there were some brighter color options for low light visibility. While I don't notice the lack of hand pockets during my rides, I do miss having them when wearing this jacket out and about town or in the mountains.

December 8, 2019

perfect shell

I bought this for cool-cold weather hiking and to keep in my bag for sudden weather changes all year. It's super light and breathable but blocks the wind really well. I wore this yesterday for a 6-mile day hike in strenuous terrain; 30 degrees, sunny and breezy with about 6" of snow on the ground. It was perfect with a heavyweight capilen... Read Moree zip neck and fleece underneath. I bought a large so I can layer it. I have a regular houdini in size M that doesn't fit over much (as designed) and gets a bit sticky. For very cold or wet weather I wear the Triolet hardshell, but I find it much too warm for hiking when its more than about 25 out.

November 23, 2019

My new favorite

1) love the color, 2) so light I barely notice it, 3) warm in light wind, 4) size medium fits me perfectly

November 19, 2019

Great jacket

I bought this jacket mainly for running in the rain and on windy days. It's very light weight and keeps you warm. Does a good job blocking the wind and I have yet to try it in the rain. Works well with a long sleeve or quarter zip underneath. I got a medium for a little extra room for layers underneath and it works well.

November 6, 2019

Versatile Jacket

I have had this jacket for a few months now and have found it quite versatile. I was training for the Marine Corps Marathon and would run home after work, I used it to provide a cover up as I walked through the halls of my office and would pack it up and throw it in my hydration pack during my runs in the event of rain or cooler weather, and then w... Read Moreould use it for after my run for my cool down as well. I It was so convenient to always have it handy if needed. It worked really well for light to moderate rain, but didn't provide full water coverage during the downpour of the marathon, which I believe was expected as it is water resistant not water proof I believe. Still, it was still great to have during my marathon and it was so nice to be able to pack it up and put it away once it stopped raining. I also tested it against wind and light rain during a trip to Bermuda while riding around the island on the Moped we rented. It was amazing, so convenient to always have handy and it provided excellent wind resistance and warmth on the Moped and also on the beach at night. Not sure what I would have done without it. I am also very prone to be cold in air conditioned environments and it has worked great to provide a little warmth in those situations as well. Only downside is the lack of pockets, which I believe others have noted as well. Would be nice to have them, but still a great item.

November 2, 2019

Magic Jacket

I wasn’t sure I needed this jacket initially, but it’s become my trusted commuter companion. I bike to work, and I love that the Houdini Air is extremely lightweight and packable. It’s a great layer for random Texas weather shifts. It keeps me dry during steamy rains, and I can layer it over my down puffer to break frigid cold front winds. It’s com... Read Morefy and fit me true to size!

October 8, 2019

Perfect mountain jacket

I initially thought this was a stupid impulse buy, since it's neither insulated or waterproof, but it's become a totally indispensable piece of my day hiking gear! It's surprisingly windproof, and super breathable, so it's perfect for alpine hikes and climbs when the wind picks up but you're still working really hard. It pa... Read Morecks down to nothing, so I always bring it along. I like carrying an ultralight umbrella instead of full rain gear, and with this light shell to repel moisture, that's really all I need. I really wish they made houdini air pants, too!

September 19, 2019

Too snug

The medium fit although stylish doesn't allow for anything other than a t-shirt underneath.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the jacket is too snug. You're more than welcome to return the jacket [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 14, 2019

Nice color, great for travel

Nice color, great for travel

September 5, 2019

Great Jacket.

Packable, breathable, and stylish. I’ve worn this backpacking in the Sierras, during a chilly afternoon at the lake, and for evening bike rides. Works great for anything and everything. The only thing missing are pockets!!

August 23, 2019

Great summer rain jacket

I love how light and airy this jacket is!!! Secondly I love how it fits in any of my purses or totes! I haven’t been in heavy rain yet but it covers unexpected shower surprises; better than an umbrella for sure!

August 10, 2019

A must have

This jacket goes everywhere. Perfect when it gets cool or damp and you need another layer. I keep it in my purse in town or my backpack when traveling. The dark color goes with everything. It’s got a great shape too.

July 3, 2019

Glad I traded in my regular Houdini for this

I used my regular Houdini jacket all the time because it was packable enough to bring on all of my bike missions, despite not being in love with the material. On the bike it felt pretty stuffy. The Houdini Air, however, really is much more breathable. I wear the Air Shed for mountain biking and I love it, so I was sold when the description said Hou... Read Moredini Air was a combo of Houdini and Air Shed. Yes. I have a bigger athletic build, 5'9, 200 lbs, 38DD, I'm an XL in all Patagonia things. As with most Patagonia jackets, this jacket is tighter on the hips and upper arms, baggy on the wrists, and the neck area is somewhat awkward. It flops over on itself when zipped all the way up, not sure what's up with that. The fit is pretty tight, this jacket definitely can't fit over my thermal capilene but that's as advertised. I like the length of this, it covers about half of my butt which is rare for me, but I imagine that shorter folks may not appreciate the extra length. If it rains lightly for a few minutes you'll be fine, but if it's anything more than that you'll be wet. I live in the PNW and I bring another jacket if it's supposed to rain. It does dry really quickly though and is a great wind jacket. I wish Patagonia made a vest version of this! And maybe a version without a hood, which is just a wind sale on the bike, and more interesting colors :) The drab blue does go with everything, but drab blue is drab :) Overall though I'm stoked that this jacket is much more breathable!

May 10, 2019

Houdini Air Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight and protection for multiple uses. Although I still haven’t used it in rain, it seems to be fairly water resistant and great wind protection and still breaths. I have used it for hiking, skate skiing, and mnt biking. It fits nice and have got complements on the color.

May 9, 2019

great layer! came in handy

great layer! came in handy during an unexpected afternoon rain/hail storm in the desert.

May 8, 2019

Houdini Air does it all!

I got the Houdini Air over the original Houdini for trail running and hiking excursions. So far it's been taken through windy snowstorms in late spring with mixed in rain and for cool spring mornings on the trail. It has performed flawlessly in all conditions. It breathes when warmth becomes a factor yet shields when moisture and the elements ... Read Morecome into play. Overall the best bang for your buck to have in a pinch. My only suggestion would be some small pit zips and this jacket would be perfect. Overall a great first make at the Houdini Air by Patagonia. I'll be on the lookout for a version with some small pit zips in the future. As for sizing, it is slim fit. I'd go up a size if you want more than a tshirt underneath or if you want good room for movement with running. I normally wear a small but got a medium to have plenty of room running and with layers if needed.

May 8, 2019

Houdini jacket

There are no pockets! What’s a jacket without pockets!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches