Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Air Jacket

Write Your Review

4.67 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Air Jacket

4.67
True To Size
June 17, 2020

Awfully handy in a pinch

I bought mine one size up so that I could fit a vest underneath if necessary. I love how it folds up into its own pocket. Its a little pricey, but otherwise I love it.

June 17, 2020

Comfy but small

Jacket overall is light, comfortable, keeps you warm & cool all at the same time. The down side to this jacket is it runs weird & small. I ordered an XL and in the arms its great but to zip it up its really tight. Like most Patagonia clothing it seems to be a hit and miss. If I would had gotten a XXL I think the arms would have been to big.... Read More Perhaps Im just built weird.

June 16, 2020

Best Wind Jacket Ever!

I've tried a ton of wind jackets over the years , but my favorite by far is the Houdini Air. It does a great job of blocking wind, but is also the most breathable and wicking one I've worn yet. I really like the raised fabric on the interior that keeps the jacket off your skin! I found the fit to be true to size and even a little room to ... Read Morelayer, which is really nice considering I have to size up in most wind jackets. This jacket lives in my pack and goes on every adventure with me. It's so light and packs up so small, there's no reason not to take it everywhere with you.

May 1, 2020

Everyday!

I received this as a gift XS and it is very snug but I like it tight because it doesnt catch too much wind. It is very windy where I run and that was my primary purpose for wearing this jacket but now I wear it for biking, gardening, hiking- basically any outdoor activity. Sometimes its my top layer over a thin running shirt and sometimes is an in ... Read Morebetween layer. Tissue thin and so strong.

March 25, 2020

Wonderful Windbreaker

I bought this jacket to replace my Houdini for riding my bike to work in the wee hours of the morning. My original Houdini lacked breath-ability, and while it was great in the dead of winter at keeping the wind out and the warmth in, as the mornings started to "warm" up (from teens and 20s to the 30s and up), it was apparent I'd need... Read More to either remove my jacket 10 minutes into my ride, or get something that would breath better. The Houdini Air did just that. It also packs down to nothing, so it takes up basically no space in my pack on my ride home. I do wish there were some brighter color options for low light visibility. While I don't notice the lack of hand pockets during my rides, I do miss having them when wearing this jacket out and about town or in the mountains.

December 8, 2019

perfect shell

I bought this for cool-cold weather hiking and to keep in my bag for sudden weather changes all year. It's super light and breathable but blocks the wind really well. I wore this yesterday for a 6-mile day hike in strenuous terrain; 30 degrees, sunny and breezy with about 6" of snow on the ground. It was perfect with a heavyweight capilen... Read Moree zip neck and fleece underneath. I bought a large so I can layer it. I have a regular houdini in size M that doesn't fit over much (as designed) and gets a bit sticky. For very cold or wet weather I wear the Triolet hardshell, but I find it much too warm for hiking when its more than about 25 out.

November 23, 2019

My new favorite

1) love the color, 2) so light I barely notice it, 3) warm in light wind, 4) size medium fits me perfectly

November 19, 2019

Great jacket

I bought this jacket mainly for running in the rain and on windy days. It's very light weight and keeps you warm. Does a good job blocking the wind and I have yet to try it in the rain. Works well with a long sleeve or quarter zip underneath. I got a medium for a little extra room for layers underneath and it works well.

November 6, 2019

Versatile Jacket

I have had this jacket for a few months now and have found it quite versatile. I was training for the Marine Corps Marathon and would run home after work, I used it to provide a cover up as I walked through the halls of my office and would pack it up and throw it in my hydration pack during my runs in the event of rain or cooler weather, and then w... Read Moreould use it for after my run for my cool down as well. I It was so convenient to always have it handy if needed. It worked really well for light to moderate rain, but didn't provide full water coverage during the downpour of the marathon, which I believe was expected as it is water resistant not water proof I believe. Still, it was still great to have during my marathon and it was so nice to be able to pack it up and put it away once it stopped raining. I also tested it against wind and light rain during a trip to Bermuda while riding around the island on the Moped we rented. It was amazing, so convenient to always have handy and it provided excellent wind resistance and warmth on the Moped and also on the beach at night. Not sure what I would have done without it. I am also very prone to be cold in air conditioned environments and it has worked great to provide a little warmth in those situations as well. Only downside is the lack of pockets, which I believe others have noted as well. Would be nice to have them, but still a great item.

October 8, 2019

Perfect mountain jacket

I initially thought this was a stupid impulse buy, since it's neither insulated or waterproof, but it's become a totally indispensable piece of my day hiking gear! It's surprisingly windproof, and super breathable, so it's perfect for alpine hikes and climbs when the wind picks up but you're still working really hard. It pa... Read Morecks down to nothing, so I always bring it along. I like carrying an ultralight umbrella instead of full rain gear, and with this light shell to repel moisture, that's really all I need. I really wish they made houdini air pants, too!

September 19, 2019

Too snug

The medium fit although stylish doesn't allow for anything other than a t-shirt underneath.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the jacket is too snug. You're more than welcome to return the jacket [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 14, 2019

Nice color, great for travel

Nice color, great for travel

September 5, 2019

Great Jacket.

Packable, breathable, and stylish. I’ve worn this backpacking in the Sierras, during a chilly afternoon at the lake, and for evening bike rides. Works great for anything and everything. The only thing missing are pockets!!

August 23, 2019

Great summer rain jacket

I love how light and airy this jacket is!!! Secondly I love how it fits in any of my purses or totes! I haven’t been in heavy rain yet but it covers unexpected shower surprises; better than an umbrella for sure!

August 10, 2019

A must have

This jacket goes everywhere. Perfect when it gets cool or damp and you need another layer. I keep it in my purse in town or my backpack when traveling. The dark color goes with everything. It’s got a great shape too.

July 3, 2019

Glad I traded in my regular Houdini for this

I used my regular Houdini jacket all the time because it was packable enough to bring on all of my bike missions, despite not being in love with the material. On the bike it felt pretty stuffy. The Houdini Air, however, really is much more breathable. I wear the Air Shed for mountain biking and I love it, so I was sold when the description said Hou... Read Moredini Air was a combo of Houdini and Air Shed. Yes. I have a bigger athletic build, 5'9, 200 lbs, 38DD, I'm an XL in all Patagonia things. As with most Patagonia jackets, this jacket is tighter on the hips and upper arms, baggy on the wrists, and the neck area is somewhat awkward. It flops over on itself when zipped all the way up, not sure what's up with that. The fit is pretty tight, this jacket definitely can't fit over my thermal capilene but that's as advertised. I like the length of this, it covers about half of my butt which is rare for me, but I imagine that shorter folks may not appreciate the extra length. If it rains lightly for a few minutes you'll be fine, but if it's anything more than that you'll be wet. I live in the PNW and I bring another jacket if it's supposed to rain. It does dry really quickly though and is a great wind jacket. I wish Patagonia made a vest version of this! And maybe a version without a hood, which is just a wind sale on the bike, and more interesting colors :) The drab blue does go with everything, but drab blue is drab :) Overall though I'm stoked that this jacket is much more breathable!

May 10, 2019

Houdini Air Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight and protection for multiple uses. Although I still haven’t used it in rain, it seems to be fairly water resistant and great wind protection and still breaths. I have used it for hiking, skate skiing, and mnt biking. It fits nice and have got complements on the color.

May 9, 2019

great layer! came in handy

great layer! came in handy during an unexpected afternoon rain/hail storm in the desert.

May 8, 2019

Houdini jacket

There are no pockets! What’s a jacket without pockets!

May 8, 2019

Houdini Air does it all!

I got the Houdini Air over the original Houdini for trail running and hiking excursions. So far it's been taken through windy snowstorms in late spring with mixed in rain and for cool spring mornings on the trail. It has performed flawlessly in all conditions. It breathes when warmth becomes a factor yet shields when moisture and the elements ... Read Morecome into play. Overall the best bang for your buck to have in a pinch. My only suggestion would be some small pit zips and this jacket would be perfect. Overall a great first make at the Houdini Air by Patagonia. I'll be on the lookout for a version with some small pit zips in the future. As for sizing, it is slim fit. I'd go up a size if you want more than a tshirt underneath or if you want good room for movement with running. I normally wear a small but got a medium to have plenty of room running and with layers if needed.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches