Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Wind Shield Pants

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Wind Shield Pants

4.3/5
True To Size
May 5, 2022

Versatile, comfy, great in wind

Wore the first iteration of this pant on two cross country bicycle trips thru the USA. Held up amazingly well. Truly surprised with the quality... nothing fell apart in 8000 miles of cycling, 160 days of bike camping. What is this, black magic?

March 20, 2022

Excellent substitue for Winter Running Tights

33" waist w/32" inseam. Ordered a size medium and the fit was true. I haven't tried running with my phone, but my Galaxy S20 fits without any issues. I recently ran for 1hr in 12F temp's with light snow and 21 mph wind gusts. All I wore under these pants was a 200 wt merino wool base layer and I was completely comfortable. I nev... Read Moreer felt the wind nor were my legs ever cold. I'm very happy with my purchase.

March 15, 2022

Breathable but needs a zip pocket

Very breathable and seemingly well designed with one exception. There needs to be a middle back pocket with a zipper if this will be running outer layer for trail runs.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2022

Hi Jordan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the suggestion to add a zippered pocket. We'll share this with our design crew.

March 15, 2022

Great windbreaker

I wear standalone or as an outer layer when below freezing. True to size with a nice amount of stretch.

February 26, 2022

Warm, Comfy

I've worn these on a few trail runs so far. The temperature was around 25° F each outing. The pants were warm and comfortable for the duration of each run. Love them. Only complaint is that my phone doesn't want to sit in the side pockets.

February 26, 2022

Great pants

Love the fabric, fit and design with one exception: I wish the cuffs weren't quite so tight so I could take them off easier between warming up and playing racquet sports (which is what I use them for). I'm sure they're perfect for runners and anyone else who doesn't need to take them off over their shoes.

February 13, 2022

Swishy

Fit great but returned because the material was too swishy sounding for running.

February 13, 2022

Comfortable fit, feels tailored

Patagonia, once again , delivers a great product that is functional, high quality, and well designed. The fit feels tailored.

February 5, 2022

Excellent Cold Weather Running Pants

I have worn these many times now on runs in the 20's, teens, and single digit temperatures (with wind chill dropping below zero) in Chicago. At no time did my legs ever feel cold (or too warm). The pants have been so functional and effective that my mind doesn't need to worry about the potential pain/discomfort of running with cold legs a... Read Morend I can focus on the more serious issues of cold weather running (my footing on snow and ice). They are streamlined so I don't feel drag but designed just right so I don't have the sometimes restrictive feeling of tights. They look nice too and can handle the elements well. Another superb Patagonia product.

February 4, 2022

Outstanding product

Bottom line is that these pants are incredibly well made and do exactly what they claim: block the wind and keep you warm. Some of the Patagonia products I bought 10-20 years ago are still in my rotation of winter running wear. These pants are likely to endure in similar fashion. Worth every dime (and it cost a lot of dimes!!!)

February 1, 2022

Solid pants, very happy

I weigh 155lbs (70kg) and I am 511 (180cm) with a ~32 (81cm) inseam. I purchased a size small. I have worn these pants on trail runs down to 22°F (-6°C) with high winds. As a base layer I will wear Patagonia Capilene Air bottoms and am quite comfortable in temperatures below freezing. Earlier this week I went for a ski tour with my Nordic BC skis... Read More during the Bomb Cyclone. The ambient temperature was 9°F (-12°C) with 60mph (~100kph) winds. It was COLD!!! My Nano Air Hoodie was frozen solid but my lower extremities were warm and dry. Overall I have been quite happy with these pants. The zippered cuff allows me to pull the pants over the top of nordic ski boots and keep the snow and cold out. Only in the deepest powder do I have any issues with getting snow around my ankles. The pants are quite durable too. We have a lot of thorny bushes growing across the trails and so far I have not had any rips or tears despite some painful pricks penetrating the pants. Good job Patagonia, I love these pants!

January 29, 2022

Excellent functionality for cross country skiing

I bought these for cross country skiing specifically skating. They far exceeded my expectations. Very comfortable and functional. Just the right amount of warmth for sk skating

January 29, 2022

Massively Functional

I do not think I ever wore winter workout pants that were more comfortable- in fact I am sure of it. Great feel, fit, stretchiness, sizing, quality, and warmth. Thank you.

January 25, 2022

Excellent product

Amazing fit, great functionality & tailoring. Excellent piece for a wide variety of cold weather outdoor activities. Highly recommend.

January 24, 2022

Great for Nordic skate skiing

I bought these pants for the sole purpose of skate skiing at my local Nordic tracks. After 45 miles of skating over the last couple weeks I am VERY happy with these pants. FIT: I'm 6', 178lbs with a 33" waist. I went with the size large because I prefer a slightly loose fit. I did try on the size medium but they fit like a true tigh... Read Moret on me, plum smuggling jokes ensued. The Large is slightly long in the leg and crotch on me, so I have to wear them about 1" higher on my waist than I prefer. The waist is secured with an elastic drawstring. I think a static cord or webbing belt would be better because you have to pull all the stretch out of the elastic drawstring before you tie them otherwise the pants will slowly creep down. The zippered ankles fit fine over my skate boots and keep the snow out. PERFORMANCE: I have used these in temps from 10F to 30F. I wear a baselayer underneath: lightweight on warmer days, midweight on colder days. The windproof panels work perfectly, blocking all wind while the breathable panels do a great job of dumping excess heat and moisture. I have always finished my ski sessions with warm, dry legs. Never hot or sweaty. The pants are light in weight and very stretchy with a gusseted crotch allowing full range of motion. They are not restrictive at all, you hardly notice you have them on. I was skeptical of the elastic side pockets but have grown to love them. I place my phone in one side and my car keys in the other. They don't bounce around and I don't even notice they are there. But it's convenient if you want to grab a quick photo or quickly unlock your car. DURABILITY: I've washed them 3 or 4 times and they're holding up fine. No pilling or shrinkage. I can't really comment on abrasion resistance since skate skiing isn't hard on pants. I also can't comment on water resistance since I've only used them on clear or lightly snowing days where the snow just blows off. Even though I would like to see an improvement on the waist fastening system, I highly recommend these Wind Shield Pants for skate skiing.

January 23, 2022

Great wind resistance

I am very satisfied with my wind shield pants overall. The first time I wore them was on a run in single digits with rather windy conditions (with a long underwear base layer). My legs were not cold at all, so they lived up to their name. The fit is consistent with my terrabone joggers and, as I mentioned, there is space for a thin base layer. Plen... Read Morety of stretch so no effect on range of motion. I am also happy with the quality of materials, comfy waistband and side pocket placement. However, a zippered pocket to carry a car key fob would be handy. Overall, good product and worth the cost.

January 17, 2022

Warm

Wore in 10 degree weather, no issues.

January 6, 2022

Poor fabric quality and super dissapointed

After using only two times (one run and one XC-ski) the fabric is pilling and windshield membrane in the fabric is already shining trough. One would assume fabric used a sportswear would have some kind of abrasion resistance. Been using Patagonia products for ages and been satiafied with quality but this was a clear dissapointment.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2022

We're so sorry to hear that fabric isn't holding up! We appreciate this feedback as it helps us improve products for future seasons. If you haven't already returned these pants we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

January 1, 2022

Great winter exercise pants

I use these for cold weather running and cross-country skiing. Easily handles another thin layer below for temps into teens. Nice stretchy fit to match my activity without slipping at the waist. Zippered leg cuffs nice feature for sealing over cross-country boot. A zippered pocket would be even nicer!

December 31, 2021

Need more product!

Great pants....... but when I went to order additional pairs they were sold out of my sizes. I'm supposedly on a waiting list to be notified once the are back in stock. Hopefully not discontinued

December 27, 2021

Interesting Technology

I adjust for retirement, walking and running will become a more frequent affair. I wanted a durable weather resistant pant for these activities and Patagonia offered a serious version of what I was looking for. These pants are built with amazing fabrics that both breathe and resist penetration by chilling winds. There are two surprisingly roomy sid... Read Moree pockets that hold more essentials than I thought. That said, I recommend still pairing the pants with some type of upper body shell with zippered pockets.

December 23, 2021

Excellent slim fit outer layer

Purchased for single-layer use in Minnesota autumn & outer layer for winter weather. Reliably make wind chilling a non-issue. Since their fit falls between tights & pants adding one or two insulating layers beneath keeps them in the rotation for running to 0F.

December 19, 2021

Smoot Running

These are great pants for long runs on cold, damp, windy days. Side pockets hold phone or keys well. I like that they have a snug yet un-restrictive fit but arent skin tight like other running pants. The reflective logo is neat.

December 14, 2021

Ultra fine

About 100 mile in these very functional pants. Luv the pockets! The fit a feel is superb. I highly recommend these pants for ultra distance cold weather running.

November 29, 2021

Perfect fit

Loved the fit and fabric. Just right for winter running in Seattle

November 29, 2021

Perfect winter running and hiking pants

I got this pants the day before I was going to run a marathon on the Appalachian trail. It was a cold day(started out in the low 20s and went up to mid 30s) and this pants was perfect all day long. I highly recommend this for running and hiking.

November 18, 2021

the right pants

The right pants for me for winter skate skiing, fall hiking with the dogs a snow snow shoe and fall exposed hikes in the alpine. But no pockets? Not even for an id or keys? This is a problem

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hi Ben, thanks for the feedback! We're stoked the M's Wind Shield Pants are your go-to for those chillier fall days. Please know there are no-bounce pockets for phone storage, snacks and more on each side.

November 14, 2021

With a couple of tweaks, it would be perfect

I have been running through the winter in an Airshed pullover and On winter running pants. I hoped that these wind shield pants would be good for cold (but not frigid), windy days like today, when it was 40 degrees but very gusty. They were, more or less. A mesh ventilation panel in the popliteal region would help reduce moisture buildup. The ankle... Read Mores could have been snugger, and the thighs just slightly looser. I am talking 0.25-0.5 inch circumference. As for the pockets: They are nice, but I wish they were slightly lower. I have an iPhone SE, and the top of the phone pressed against the greater trochanter of my hip. I would have been nicer if the pocket had been an inch lower or in the rear. With these slightly modifications, the pants would be perfect. I like them a lot. Maybe they'll be fine in frigid weather as well. Separately, please bring back the Airshed pullover (non-Pro). I wear it over a regular technical shirt in winter, and no matter how cold it gets, it's perfect, but I've worn it for several years, and I could use a new one.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2021

Hello John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate you sharing these comments with us. We truly rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew.

November 6, 2021

Skinny jeans

Favorite cold weather running pants. Ive loved the last two versions, but- the sizing is way different this year- much slimmer fit. Im 5 7, 140lbs. I tried going up to a medium, but they fall off me. Boooooo

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2021

Hi John, we're sorry to hear that the sizing on these have been so inconsistent for you. In the future, we're always happy to provide garment measurements to help you decide what size to get - just reach out to our Customer Service Team. If they're not working for you, feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at your earliest convenience.

November 1, 2021

Nice loose feel

A nice alternative to tights. The loose feel is very luxurious and smooth. Not sure why you want the drawstring on outside of pants. If these are intended for trail, runner could have numerous other straps going on (pack, vest, etc.) across same area for hands to grapple with, and the hanging cord gets stuck to velcro.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the drawstring Winston. We'll pass it along to our design team.

October 19, 2021

Great Pant!

I've purchased two pair of the men's Terrebonne Joggers because I like them so much, but I needed a more running-specific (less casual, more technical) and windproof version of the same pant for winter runs... enter these. Both the Terrebonne joggers and these pants are advertised as "slim fit" so I expected them to fit the same... Read More. Word of caution: they don't - these seem a bit tighter everywhere. Like a loose pair of running tights, really. All that said, they are awesome. Thank you!

October 16, 2021

Great piece for winter workouts

Will keep you warm in cold weather if you don't stop moving. They are breathable enough to release moisture fast enough so you stay dry and cozy. Synthetic material will last a long time.

September 20, 2021

Too small for me

I thought these might be a little loose fitting, but they are not. Im 57 166 lbs and these Mediums were too tight for me. Dont know if a large would have been better but I returned them.

June 26, 2021

Thighs were snug & no zippers on the pockets

I bought these to "resupply" two older pair of windshield pants that I have used and loved for years. Although the material is similar the new pants were tighter in the thighs and the pockets were entirely different (on the hip w/no zippers versus standard front pockets with zippers). I could have lived with the new pockets but not the fi... Read Moret - so I returned them.

February 21, 2021

Run with phone?

I've had these pants about 5 months and been running in the mountains and in town in dry and snowy conditions. I like the materials and their ability to cut wind yet breathe. They're a comfortable pant that performs. I am 6' and 190lbs. Usually I get large in patagonia items but think I should have gotten medium as these are a bit ba... Read Moreggier than I think they should be, yet I continue to use them regularly. There are two things this design could improve upon in my opinion. The side stash pockets are too wide, my plus sized phone levitates when running hard and fast and would fly out if not careful. I've even stuffed in a sock to tighten it up. I don't use the pockets because they're too large. The other is the inside fabric texture in the knee area. When running on steeper downhill trail, the fabric is grabby and my knees tend to tug the pant down. I find myself continually pulling up the pants at the knee. Considering those issues, I'd still buy these again but opt for a medium.

October 25, 2020

Perfect Running Pants

I am real picky when it comes to running pants and tights. I was skeptical at first when I bought these pants. After running 20+ miles in them in 35-40F temps I can say that these pants are completely legitimate and preform excellent in shedding moisture. They shed wind perfectly while not retaining moisture at the same time - thus they are not stu... Read Moreffy nor soggy after miles of running. I took these pants on a 40mi backpacking trip. I got caught in a downpour and these pants and they do not sag when wet which means they maintain good form and do not cling even when wet. Thus, they have more than proven to me that these pants shed moisture during high aerobic activity. I have no regrets purchasing them. I expect these pants to hold up well over many years. Note if you are considering purchasing these pants as casual athletic pants I would recommend another Patagonia product. These pants are meant only for high output aerobic activity. While they look great they have a slim profile for they are true athletic pants meant for high output activity. The pockets do not function or orient well as casual athletic pants nor does the slim profile. They are what they are designed for - high output aerobic activity. Overall, I highly recommend these pants to any high output athlete looking for slim aerodynamic wind pants for cold weather. I am 6'2 and weigh 153lbs. I bought a Medium and they fit perfectly - not too long where they bunch up down below at the shoe, but sit right at the top of the shoe. Well done Patagonia!!

October 7, 2020

Perfect Pants for Fall Weather

I am glad I was able to purchase one pair of 2020 Wind Shield Pants to replace my Fall 2005 Wind Shield Pants which couldn't be repaired due to Covid-19. For an everyday runner like me, these new pants work perfectly for fall (and I hope winter too). Great wind protection and excellent tapered legs. Everyone has different needs and so do I... Read More. For next years version, I have some comments for Patagonia designers. Disregard if they dont make sense. A. The pockets have two issues. One they are placed slightly at the sides which makes them visible and not easy on the eye. Second they seem quite soft. The best no-bounce pockets, in my opinion, are on Endless Run Shorts which I wear very regularly. ERS pockets are close to the back, appear hidden and are not that soft. Might design team of both products discuss the pockets? B. The drawstring is a bit too long. I have to tuck it after I tied it. ERS (again) has the perfect size drawstring. Also, the 2020 Wind Shield Pants dont have a center pocket at the back for keys or ID like ERS does. Perhaps, it could be added along with a zipper which ERS does not. Hope this was useful.

September 22, 2020

Go-to winter pants

I'm in upstate new york and lived in these pants last winter. XC skiing, running, walking the dogs - they can do everything. I am buying a second pair so I can at least rotate them this year so they can occasionally get washed.

September 10, 2020

This needs a xxl.

This was way too small, would need a XXL.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches