Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Wind Shield Pants

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Wind Shield Pants

4.2/5
October 6, 2021

Have to return :-(

I loved these out of the package. Nice light-mid weight feel, side drop in pockets, and zippered legs. Once I put them on, they were a loose but not baggy, fitted but not tight, casual fit. I normally wear a small in Patagonia tights and I ordered a medium. But I had to take them off after just 5 minutes of wearing around the house! The inside sea... Read Morem on the back of the legs where the different paneling meets was very irritating on my skin. There is no way I could wear these for active use, I would be chafed raw! Smooth that seam over and it's be a winner.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2021

Hi Margaret, we would never want you to be uncomfortable in your gear. We're always working to improve our designs, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 29, 2021

Wow!

These immediately became my new favorite mountain biking pants and to wear fishing under waders in in cooler weather. With wind resistant and heavier material in the front where you need it these pants were surprisingly lightweight and low profile. Although I haven't tried them yet I know they will be fantastic under my fly fishing waiters. Th... Read Moree material has a slickness to it which will make getting in-and-out of the waders easy, and there was no extra bulk. Deep pockets on both thighs were big enough to hold my Samsung S20+ phone. I often wear smalls in Patagonia bottoms but decided to order a medium To have a little extra room for my athletic thighs. With the draw string waistband, there was no problem customizing the fit and since they are slim didnt look too baggy. Well Done!

September 19, 2021

If Athletic Sexy is your jam

These pants dont disappoint. Form fitting yet flexible, they allow unrestricted movement while keeping cold out. Love the look, fit and feel.

September 16, 2021

Great Except

This pant was exactly what I was looking for. I loved them except they were way too short. I'm 5'9' and they just looked foolish on me. I listened to the reviews and got a large instead of a medium. The medium would have been a better fit. I didn't listen to the reviews about length and sure should have. Maybe a shorter person w... Read Moreould be happy with them. Please a longer length would be appreciated.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Wind Shield Pants, Mary. The inseam for these pants comes in at 30.125" for the size medium and large. If you're looking for something longer, we recommend checking out the [Women's Simul Alpine Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-simul-alpine-pants/83067.html?dwvar_83067_color=STBL&cgid=root) which measure in at a 32" inseam.

September 15, 2021

Everything you need in a lightweight pant

I still don't know how something so stretchy and lightweight can do such a superior job compared to other windpants. They are not noisy, or feel like you have plastic wrap on- you simply forget you have these windshield pants on until you reach for the handy pockets to dole out dog treats to your trusty 4 legged running partner. The pockets ar... Read Moree ample yet lay flat unlike other pockets that flair out and can catch you hands while striding. Just like the Air Shed Pro, I should have bought this a long time ago as both products are well thought out and let me just get out and run without fussing over my clothing choices.

August 16, 2021

Will use these for cross country

Great fit and quality. Could fit long Johns under these. Purchased a L, Im a size 30-31 in womens pants for reference (or size 10). Didnt want them too tight. Happy with purchase. Definitely will be good in cold, windy conditions. Missed out on them before they sold out last season.

June 30, 2021

TOO SHORT, but loved everything else

I wanted to love these pants so badly, but just couldn't. I'll echo other reviewers in that the length is unnecessarily short - WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'10", about 135lbs and typically order a small in pants at Patagonia and have had no length issues in the past. But these are crazy short. They look comical. And from a functional s... Read Moretandpoint, I don't want my ankles exposed on cool, windy days or my hiking socks to get covered in burs, pine needles and whatnot because my pants aren't long enough to prevent that. It's unfortunate because I absolutely LOVED everything else about these pants. The rest of the fit was spot on, the material is ridiculously comfortable and flexible, the side pockets were great. But the length was a deal breaker for me and I returned them. If it hadn't been for the length, these would've been my go-to pants and I would've purchased multiple pairs. I read another review where that reviewer is 5'5'' compared to my 5'10'' and she even said she had length issues, too. So, maybe they'll work for you if you're on the shorter side. But if you are taller and want pants that go past your ankles, these are NOT the pants for you.

April 9, 2021

Nice but too short

Patagonia, I was so hoping the Wind Shield pants could replace an older pair of warm wind pants from Patagonia that have been my go-to for skate skiing and trail running over the past ~10 years. I love the pockets, and although they are not particularly warm (definitely need long johns for skiing), the biggest issue is that these are too short, eve... Read Moren for someone who's only 5'5. How short are they? They're so short that my running gaiters can't bridge the gap between my shoes and the hem to keep snow and grit out of my running shoes. And, frankly, they just look a little ridiculous when I'm off trail -- which isn't often, but I need these pants to work harder. Disappointed.

February 21, 2021

SO many mixed feelings!! But LOVE.

First, I really like these pants. They fit amazing, and they provide excellent range of motion (no break-in period). They performed well in 30s F hikes. So why only 3 stars?? :((( My review is specifically for last season's pants that came in black. I love them so much, but they are noooot rugged!! At all!! First day out, the ankle got caught ... Read Moreon a rock and bam! There are holes in my pants! I'm afraid to sit on rock :( I've never had pants rip on a hike before (and I hike a LOT), so I'd say these are best suited for running on groomed trails, not mountain adventures. I think I will keep them, likely this season's is similar in material so getting the new one wouldn't help. Now where are my gear patches...

January 28, 2021

Nice layering or stand alone piece

I live in Wyoming and do most of my running during the winter months. I am 5'4", 125lbs with 37" hips and the medium fits well. It feels slightly tight around my thighs when layering with tights underneath, but nothing that hinders my running. I've also worn these on their own and they worked great on a windy running day in the ... Read More30s. I have ran with them as a layering piece in 10-20 degrees F and my legs were much warmer than before! I tend to wear M in most bottoms, so it is true to size. Having the drawstrings on the outside is great for adjusting the fit. Instead of the open side pockets, I do wish this had a zippered back pocket like a lot of running tights have, but that is a minor complaint.

December 7, 2020

My Favorite All Around Pants

These are hands down my favorite pants. Super comfy to hang out in all day long and perfect for cold weather running/xc skiing! Love the side pockets, super functional for activities.

October 15, 2020

Incredibly Comfy

I bought these pants for a hiking trip up in Maine in October. I usually wear a size 12 in pants. The waistband was a little tight, but otherwise the pants fit comfortably through the thighs. If you're a bit generous in the hip and rear area like I am, you may want to consider sizing up. Otherwise, I'm quite happy with the fit! I wore the... Read Morese over three days of hiking, including a sunrise hike where the temp dipped to around 32 degrees with heavy winds, and they did a great job of keeping me warm while moving. I've since worn them on chilly morning walks with no issue, and look forward to wearing them throughout the winter.

October 5, 2020

Just what I was looking for

This pants seem pretty perfect for what they are described as. They feel like a quality pant, nice material, great at blocking the wind. The fit is quite nice as well, tighter to the leg, fitting, a little looser around the ankle but not like a boot cut or anything. I ordered a small, and have ordered smalls in my other Patagonia pants, and they fi... Read Moret perfectly, any smaller though, and I would have to size up. I measure 37" at my widest point, 36" at the hip and 29" at the waist. The waistband has very little stretch, and I was just able to suck everything in enough to get them up over my widest point, but if I had eaten a large breakfast, it might have been a different case. Not the pants that I will be putting on after a Thanksgiving meal. Even though it has little stretch, the end fit was pretty perfect. So definitely take your measurements, and compare! Otherwise-I am looking forward to putting these to the test in more cold/windy situations!

September 29, 2020

Stretchy

I ended up with a medium after trying on both medium and small in the Patagonia store in Squaw Valley on a awful hot day with an equally hot and stuffy dressing room. I found the medium to be slightly more roomy. Better for bending and moving and also sitting just above my hips instead of with small that caused wedgies. It's odd that my pants ... Read Morehave zippered vertical pockets instead of the side pockets seen on this website. Do I have last years model? I say zippered pocket far more functional for carrying valuables. I'm looking forward to using these pants for xc skiing and hiking.

September 16, 2020

Fabric is loud

I love the fit and the quality. But....the fabric is noisy, to the point I actually stopped to listen to see what the sound was hahaha it was me moving. Kinda weird but still love them!

September 10, 2020

My Best Fitness Pants

I have three pairs of these and cycle through them constantly. They are form fitting, but not tights, which is perfect. I love that they have zips at the ankles, BUT the openings need to be a bit bigger to be able to actually take them off over most of my shoes. I was disappointed that this latest version has a waist tie on the outside, which makes... Read More for a weird poof right on my belly where I really don't want a weird poof to be. What was wrong with the older version that didn't have that? Nothing!, that's what. But still I do love these pants and get tons of compliments on them. Thanks!

September 8, 2020

Comfortable as heck!

I love these pants! Great for biking, working out, lounging! They keep you cool and dry and they are extremely cute :,3 love the reflective detailing as well! Definitely worth the price! The only thing I dont love are the pockets. They are extremely useful, deep for sure, however, I personally think theyre kind of ugly and awkward. ️ Not a deal bre... Read Moreaker, though. Definitely would recommend these!

September 7, 2020

Perfect pants for inclement weather

In short, the Wind Shield pants are magical. They are comfortable enough to wear all day but stand up to rain and wind like the best raincoat. The side stretch panels make these pants feel as comfy as a yoga pant. Yet, they dont stop there and have the bonus of wind and rain shield fabric to help make inclement weather hikes more comfortable. I jus... Read Moret finished a day of hiking in rain and the pants never once let my legs feel even remotely wet. The pants repelled the rain like they were treated with RainX, the coating put that you put on car windows that causes rain to bead off. As the weather cleared, the pants dried quickly and easily. Amazing!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches