Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Storm Racer Waterproof Running Jacket

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 9 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Storm Racer Waterproof Running Jacket

4.0/5
October 6, 2021

If a Breastfeeding Top and The Perfect Tech Jacket Had a Baby

When I tried on my Storm Racer for my wife, she immediately said That is just like my breastfeeding tops. With its dual sided zipper configuration, it does give access to my front water bottles. And the dual zipper system gives it a cool look that I would say is fashion trendy. As for function it is great. I have already worn it in 40+ mph winds on... Read More the top of Mt Humphreys and in the rain in the Grand Canyon. It kept my dry and warm, and when the weather changed, I could zip it all the way down to keep cool. It performed perfectly in both cases, providing just the right combination of light weight and functional performance. Highly recommend it.

September 20, 2021

BRING BACK THE OLD ONES

Bring back the old storm racers with one zipper in the middle!!!!! They worked so much better and could be word with a good look! I have spoken to so many runners that prefer the older style storm racer!! Please bring it back!! It is so much better and also looks WAY better.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Will. We've passed your feedback along to our design team. For now you may find a gently used one on wornwear.com.

July 8, 2021

Super cold

Water just sticks to the jacket. Went on an adventure and it was barely raining and the coat got trenches. I get that it is a thin layer but definitely a waste of money.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hi Kyle, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with that jacket. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 26, 2021

Worth Every Penny

Best gift ever. Fits and performs superbly.

February 28, 2021

Staying Dry in PNW

Great water/wind proof lightweight jacket. The best feature are the zippers which allows access to soft flasks in my hydration vest. Currently using Ultimate Directions marathon vest and I can easily wear the jacket with flasks and long straws with the rest of my gear. The jacket looks cool also and extremely well thought out.

February 27, 2021

Genius level awesome

When I received this I was honestly skeptical. I've bought gear before that 'seemed' to be what I was looking for, but was ultimately let down in one way or another. This on the other hand is perfect. Extremely light. Super breathable (ran 10 miles with zero moisture build up inside). Sealed seams. Packs down small. Well thought out... Read More design through out. Absolutely and completely tickled pink with my jacket.

November 19, 2020

Multi purpose almost perfect

I have been trail running in this jacket for about two months now in the Pacific North West in the Cascades. I also use the Slope runner running vest that works well with this jacket. Some key points on functionality. Fit: provides plenty of room for extra layers and a running vest packed with water, food, extra layers and gloves. Also allows for ... Read Morecarrying poles on the vest. Ventilation: the dual zips allow for venting and as you lower them it allows flow around your arm pits venting heat and moisture appropriately. Better than I expected and even bett than other jacked I own with pit zips. Bottom snap locks things down and glad they opted to not have a draw string as this just gets in the way. It could use a second snap to lock down even further. I like the longer lengths as it keep me warmer. It could be an inch or two longer to further promote warmth and also allows water to drip below my shorts that are under my Houdini Pants. I find it easy to take off and put back on multiple times To regulate my body temperature and sweat during my running adventures. Zippers: they are long a very easy to access except if you are wearing gloves that I find a requirement when running in the cold, rain and snow. I modified the zipper pulls to include a small plastic washer I created after cutting the bottom off an orange plastic wire lock. Works great now that I can grab the zipper with gloves or even mittens over my gloves. Packability: it packs down super small and easily stuffs in the back of my Slope Runner vest. Waterproofing: so far it works great to shed water and keep me dry. Better to use your hood early when it starts to pour buckets. I where a hat with a brim to help keep water off my face since the hood does not have a built in visor . Been running trails for 25 years under many diverse conditions and this jacket has the features I find better than anything else in my poor weather arsenal for traveling light and fast. Definitely worth a close look for the discerning trail runner.

November 16, 2020

Excellent wet weather run protection

I purchased this jacket early in 2020 for its ability to layer over a running vest, easy venting from the dual zippers, waterproof layer, and packability. It checks all of those boxes and does them well. I did not have many opportunities to use it this year, but as the wetter fall came on I found it excelled elegantly through rain, wind, and then k... Read Morenee deep snow on our local ridgeline without getting too hot. Sleeve length for me is just right, covering my wrists without being tight, the hood fits well, the jacket does not bounce around in use, and the vest underneath stays dry and water less likely to freeze. The offset zippers take getting used to as they feel very different from a conventional jacket, and being small pulls I am inclined to be careful with them but had no issues thus far and I like the innovative design for this purpose. Given how I have ventured too minimally in the past I appreciate this lightweight and functional insurance for ultrarunning.

February 24, 2020

Trail Running Beast Clothing!

Thank you Patagonia Pittsburgh for the advice with this new jacket! I hate being wet because it just leads to being cold on the trail. Perfect waterproof jacket for mountain ultras to keep all of your gear dry and covered and unpacks/folds in 15secs from pouch to complete cover. Currently running in a UltraSense5 and AdvSkin12 hydration packs by S... Read Morealomon and this jacket covers both packs fully equipped (minus poles for tearing reasons) with bite valve extender straws in place on the hydration chest bladders...still room to be comfortable without the jacket blowing around like a tent flap that wasn't pegged down or a piggy in a blanket. Testing...two runs in the jacket and worked well shielding the loaded pack from 28* temps with sleet and and snow. Completely dry and waterproof and the zippers allowed to dump heat are super awesome. Also note that right side of the jacket has the ability to zip through so you can take it off like a normal jacket (as opposed to a hoody); picture on website doesn't really show this detail. Love this jacket in a Small; medium would too big the sleeves would be way too long. Current measurements for my SMALL 5'7"/163lbs/Chest38"/Waist31"/Neck15.5;Arm32-33

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches