Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Houdini® Jacket - Windbreaker Jacket

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Filter Reviews

All 121 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Houdini® Jacket - Windbreaker Jacket

4.55
True To Size
September 16, 2020

Classic

A classic for a reason.

September 14, 2020

Unexpectedly Perfect

I bought this jacket as a recommendation from a friend for an easily packable run/hike jacket. I used this jacket for both the same day I got it, and let me tell ya its awesome! Plenty warm for those 5 am run sessions, and convenient enough to throw in my day pack when it started to rain. Great job Patagonia.

September 5, 2020

Good product but did not agree with fit

Normally a medium in Patagonia products and knew about the slim fit description but did not want to size up as large usually equals longer arms and torso length. The Houdini has no mechanical stretch therefore not forgiving. I expected to wear this over a t-shirt but the waist and back area by the shoulders felt too snug. The one con I have is with... Read More the chest pocket. It flips out if jacket is not zipped and would be annoying. A plus is the felled interior seams which is a nice touch. Other than the fit for me, this is a good windbreaker but unfortunately had to make the return.

September 5, 2020

The best, packable, light weight water resistant jacket

This jacket was the most valuable garment on my Great Divide Mountain Bike Route. Used throughout the adventure and multiple times a day.

September 2, 2020

Packable and Versatile

I have used this jacket way more than I expected. I got it specifically for early morning bike rides, as it easily compresses to the size of an avocado and the weight is unnoticeable. I find that I take it with me on any adventure and has been perfect for early mornings and evenings this summer.

September 1, 2020

Fits great and super light weight

Perfect for living in Florida or other hot, humid and raining climates. The jacket fits perfectly and the best part is how light weight it is!

September 1, 2020

Very light and comfortable

This is a fantastic light jacket to throw in my pack when I'm heading out. It packs down very small and light. I was able to fit it in my pocket easily, but it still provided good protection on a few chilly morning hikes.

July 13, 2020

A lot of protection from so little material!!

Greatest light weight outer layer ever. Packs down to size of ziplock sandwich bag. It lives in my h2o pack.

July 10, 2020

A lot of protection from so little material!!

Greatest light weight outer layer ever. Packs down to size of ziplock sandwich bag. It lives in my h2o pack.

June 30, 2020

Pack-able weather protection

I purchased the houdini jacket to keep in my hydration pack for unexpected storms, or spring/fall/winter riding where a windbreaker is necessary. The Mango color is ideal for high visibility.

June 30, 2020

Pack-able weather protection

I purchased the houdini jacket to keep in my hydration pack for unexpected storms, or spring/fall/winter riding where a windbreaker is necessary. The Mango color is ideal for high visibility.

June 24, 2020

Why the pocket this way?

Ive owned the two previous iterations of this jacket. My first pair got busted up in a bicycle accident, though actually received very little damage. It was just enough that it made sense to opt in for a replacement. Ive had my second jacket for three years now and it is bomber. One of my most practical pieces of gear, my only complaint is I never ... Read Moreliked the color that much and had limited options when I purchased it. Since this piece is made from 100% recycled nylon and Patagonia is a leading brand when it comes to environmental sustainability I figured I could get that color Ive been looking for and sell my current jacket on the second hand market and keep things cycling. This new jacket is light as ever and I can say the upgrade in the cinch cords at the hem and on the hood does seem like an improvement. They may be harder harder to use with gloves but they are certainly lighter. The reason I cannot keep this jacket though is the chest pocket. Now instead of being seen as part of the rest of the jacket it is now separate. Kind of like the front pockets on a pair of jeans. So now when the jacket is unzipped the chest pocket can hang out as if you pulled coins out of your jeans and didnt put the pocket back into where belongs. Nobody wants that. And it just looks weird. Also, the logo used to be printed on, and now its a sewn on patch. Very small, sure, but this is supposed to be the lightest jacket and there is no way a sewn patch is lighter than a printed logo. And I cant imagine this new pocket design is lighter than an incorporated pocket like the last version. Come on Pat, what ya doing? Print the logo, and incorporate the pocket and I guarantee youre shaving off at least a gram. I cant keep this jacket as is

June 21, 2020

Compact -- Fits in the Pack

Perfect jacket to stuff in your pack it hardly takes up any room. Great windbreaker/jacket if the weather conditions get a little cool/wet

June 21, 2020

This is a wear to everything, it is the simplest yet most versatile jacket I own and trust me.

I have had a Houdini in my backpack since as far back as 2014. All is can is is simple yet versatile. Want to go on a hike we got you, its raining we got you, its super windy we got you, want to chill at home we got you, its the best jacket I own. For the price , for the craftsmanship, it is simply amazing.

June 21, 2020

Great light weight jacket.

This is the perfect jacket for summertime showers or for layering during a rainy spring run. Very light and very water resistant. My only complaint is the chest pocket isnt sewn down so it sometimes flips into the way of the zipper. You can tuck the jacket into the pocket to store it so its more of a personal preference than a design flaw though.

June 19, 2020

The Classic

Possibly the only jacket I own that I could not do without, which I replace immediately when one is lost or damaged. I don't think a light shell can get any better. I almost always have this clipped to my harness or stuffed in my fanny pack for mtn biking.

June 19, 2020

Light and versatile

Great jacket for those breezy and cooler spring days out in the trails. Sheds moisture and keeps you dry. Always in pack when I hiking or fishing.

June 17, 2020

Parachute? Trash Bag?

I wish I could love this jacket. It looked so nice online. Then it arrived. Its so thin and light. Its my fault for not being informed on what I was buying. But damn, this thing does nothing for me.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that this wasn't what you had expected. This jacket is designed to be ultralight and thin so it can be easily stored for emergency type situations. We totally understand though if you didn't know that, this is likely not what you were wanting. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back and we are happy to help recommend something else.

June 17, 2020

This is a wear to everything, it is the simplest yet most versatile jacket I own and trust me.

I have had a Houdini in my backpack since as far back as 2014. All is can is is simple yet versatile. Want to go on a hike we got you, its raining we got you, its super windy we got you, want to chill at home we got you, its the best jacket I own. For the price , for the craftsmanship, it is simply amazing.

June 17, 2020

Perfect.

I live in Southern California and this jacket is my go-to jacket for most occasions. It is surprisingly warm, especially at the beach on a windy day. It stays out of the way when I'm out working in the yard and it packs away small. My only gripe is the overabundance of clothing tags behind my neck, but sharp scissors made quick work of those! ... Read More;)

June 17, 2020

Great light jacket

Love this jacket so far. The packability and light weight make it perfect for backpacking and it provides just the right amount of wind and drizzle protection. It does trap moisture inside if you're exerting yourself and don't have a base layer on underneath. I do have one question: I don't see washing instructions on any of the tags... Read More and I assume that it's ok in a washing machine on cold, but I wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to ruin it. Definitely recommend.

June 17, 2020

Compact -- Fits in the Pack

Perfect jacket to stuff in your pack it hardly takes up any room. Great windbreaker/jacket if the weather conditions get a little cool/wet

June 17, 2020

Incredible Functionality!!

This is an incredible jacket. It packs down to no bigger than the size of your hand. I take it with me everywhere I go and it stuffs nicely into my Patagonia 8L sling bag! It's perfect as a simple layer over a t-shirt, or sweatshirt. The fit is definitely "fitted", which I like. Others may not quite so much. It definitely keeps m... Read Moreoisture, wind, and light rains off. It is not completely waterproof and you will get wet in heavy rainfall with extended exposure. You will NOT regret getting one!!

June 17, 2020

Very light and durable

This is my second Houdini windbreaker. Its very lightweight and holds up well to the wind and works pretty good in the rain too. There were small improvements from the first one I got that were really helpful. The good adjustments are much better on this one.

June 17, 2020

Im a happy customer

It fits me perfectly. Im very happy with my jacket.

June 17, 2020

Lightweight wind stopper

This is a great piece thats super lightweight and durable. It keeps the wind out and helps retain my core temp as the clouds come in and the temperature drops. Best in dry climates as humidity tends to condense on the inside. A great add to any 3 season backcountry kit.

June 17, 2020

Great windbreaker

I bought a second one because I use the first one so much. Excellent, stylish, lightweight, thin and packable windbreaker. Living in Southern California, this jacket is heavily utilized as it is usually too hot to wear anything insulated. Good for light easy jogs but is not breathable enough for moderate to intense runs; it'll turn into a saun... Read Morea.

May 25, 2020

James bond jacket

You will always be the center of attention when you magically pull this thing out of your pocket and unveil this awesome light coat. It is perfect for when its too cold for just a tshirt but too hot for a sweatshirt. I always find my self being able to fold it back into the pocket and being able to stow it when I start getting active. It's awe... Read Moresome to have year round for added layer for any occasion. It doesn't provide much protection from rain but does well with wind.

May 24, 2020

James bond jacket

You will always be the center of attention when you magically pull this thing out of your pocket and unveil this awesome light coat. It is perfect for when its too cold for just a tshirt but too hot for a sweatshirt. I always find my self being able to fold it back into the pocket and being able to stow it when I start getting active. It's awe... Read Moresome to have year round for added layer for any occasion. It doesn't provide much protection from rain but does well with wind.

May 19, 2020

Sweat Box

Works great when you're not in motion. Otherwise it's a sweat box.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Hi Craig, the Houdini will trap moisture if not layered properly. A great way to wick away moisture is to pair the Houdini with a base layer. During the colder winter months, we recommend checking out the Capilene Air series. The lofted wool on this base layer effectively traps heat and wicks away moisture, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-air-crew-neck-shirt/36515.html?dwvar_36515_color=CNY. A great base layer for the warmer months is the Capilene Cool Daily line. These base layers wick away moisture and dry quickly, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-capilene-cool-daily-shirt/45180.html?dwvar_45180_color=LBGX.

May 14, 2020

Lightweight Perfomance

I live in NORCAL and this jacket is a new staple in my bag. I wore it during numerous spring hikes and trail runs in cold, wind, and light rain. It folds into a pouch that is small enough and light enough to fit in a pocket on my shorts. Does a great job of repelling water and trapping body heat. Do yourself a favor and add this to your kit, you wo... Read Morent regret it

April 29, 2020

Slender fit is too darn slender in the arms and across the shoulders

I have been buying and using Patagonia Products since Patagonia was "Chouinard." Their products, mission, and planetary awareness spur me on. Still, Still, the slender fit is to darn slender in the arms and across the shoulders. I am 69 and have a bit of biceps, triceps, and trapezius shrinkage but the "extra large" sleeves must... Read More have ben designed for match-stick men. One single Synchilla fleece under the Houdini and I am all jacked up. Sadly, I must take time, energy, and CO2 to send it back. Patagonia, this slender fits is too darn slender in the arms!

April 22, 2020

Poor hood design

A couple of major fails prevent this otherwise excellent wind shirt from being a keeper. Firstly, there is no way to cinch the hood effectively around ones face (particularly to prevent billowing in a headwind) and secondly, the tightness of the wrist elastic prevents one being able to pull the jacket up to the elbow.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2020

Hi John! Thanks so much for your review. We're sorry that the Houdini doesn't have all the features you need. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

March 29, 2020

Go To For Coolness

This is a go to jacket for me when Im looking for a lightweight solution for warmth and coverage during cool, breezy activities like MTB, hiking, running or a quick trip to the store. Love how it stuffs into the chest pocket to crest a small, compact ball of convenience I can carry in my front or back packet. I bought a second one after my love aff... Read Moreair with the first one. The pocket on the second, newer, model is not sewn directly to the jacket as the first one - its a floating pocket - and I dont like that as much,...it just does feel as secure. But thats the only criticism I have of this otherwise efficiently functional piece of soft gear. Hope this helps!

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Atticus! Thank you so much for that wonderful feedback! We did switch up the construction on the zippered chest pocket on our 2020 Houdini® Jackets. It should create more ease with the stuff sack feature. We will pass along your great feedback to our Product design team about the switch. Thanks again!

February 17, 2020

Surprised me!

Picked this jacket up a few years ago at the Palo Alto Store. Cold day and I forgot my jacket at home. I stopped in and after browsing around narrowed it down to the Houdini. I headed back out with the jacket on and on this windy day it kept me warm and stopped the wind from penetrating the jacket. I use it now for brisk morning runs, tennis at... Read More the gym, out at night in spring and summer. Best of all it packs down to the size of my hand and can be stored anywhere for quick use. I would really like to see some some pockets on the hips but it’s still a great jacket.

February 13, 2020

Great Surprise

bought this jacket as a windbreaker/shell. I have used it from 70 degrees to 30 degrees in winds up to 10 mph and it is great. Last week I wore it in heavy wet snow for about an hour and a half and was still dry. Could believe it. Worth it, pleasant surprise!

January 8, 2020

Best running jacket I have ever used

I run almost everyday of the year and where I live the winters get fairly cold with lots of wind. In the past would wear cheap light jackets to try and stay warm but never found a jacket that I could easily run in the kept me warm. I would always end up running without a jacket in a shirt. This summer i had a friend wearing one of these jackets and... Read More a few months down the line I decided to shoot the gun and pay the price for this jacket. At first I was a little skeptical and had buyers remorse for spending that much on a jacket, but once it arrived I fell in love. It great for walking around in average weather and amazing for winter running. I have ran in the 20 degree weather with a windchill of 5 and have been completely warm. It blocks all wind and keeps you relatively warm when its cold out. It works surprisingly well in sleet and rain too, just a little wet after your run. If your on the edge and don't know whether you should buy it I would highly recommend you try it out a running jacket. It is the best lightweight wind resistance jacket that I have ever worn and was worth every penny.

January 6, 2020

Amazing quality as always!

Amazing quality as always!

January 2, 2020

Love that this fits in my hip pack

I love how small this jacket packs up! I can toss it in my hip pack with plenty of room to spare. The shell works well to keep me cool while climbing and dry and in the wet.

December 30, 2019

Clutch piece.

This is a must have in your pack at all times in all seasons. It is super light and surprising durable, and it always fits in any pack. It will save you in any surprise temp drops. Great colors and runs try to size.

December 28, 2019

A must have jacket!

Our SoCal weather can be very changeable - cool mornings and evenings and warm mid-day. Throw in the winds that can frequently kick up and one finds that this jacket is a must have! Lightweight, easy to pop on & off and into a handbag, tote, backpack or messenger bag. Great fit and the Oxide Red is such a nice color.

December 23, 2019

Houdini Jacket

Like the rip stop, very unnoticeable. I would have liked to have some side pockets. Overall, very light and comfortable.

December 18, 2019

The All 'Rounder

The Houdini has been my companion for mountain bike rides and commutes all the way down to the upper 30s. I run warm as is - so all that I needed to stay toasty was a thin long-sleeve jersey and the Houdini to round things out. Simply put - it's the best ultra-thin layer!

December 17, 2019

Good jacket, but expected more

I've been buying Patagonia since 2006. Great company. Great brand. Great quality. I bought this jacket to replace my old jacket. I like the weight, comfort, and material. But the zipper is flimsy and I'm afraid it's going to break at any time. The second thing is no pockets. Other than that, it's a good rain jacket. I hop... Read Moree to keep it for several years.

December 11, 2019

Easily my favorite piece of clothing

From running to ski touring to alpine climbing the houdini comes with me for everything. It's the adult version of a child's blankey, total comfort item. Seriously though, the amount of protection this thing provides and it's feather-light weight make it a no-brainer when choosing what layers to throw in your pack for a day in the hi... Read Morells. Additionally it dries incredibly fast if it get's wet which only adds to it's versatility. A must have for any outdoor enthusiast.

December 6, 2019

PERFECT FIT; GREAT COLOR

I'm 6’4”, 210lbs., have broad shoulders and long arms. i.e., hard to fit. The XXL fit perfectly. The gold color is fairly dark, nice and interesting.

December 3, 2019

Perfect on the go rain protection

This jacket is the perfect everyday companion. I keep it in my bag at all times or in my car. It’s small and light enough that you forget it is there until you need it. Comes in super handy for those pop up afternoon storms. I use it a lot for running or quick deploy rain protection. However if I am hiking and extended period of time or carrying mo... Read Morere weight in my pack I opt for a more heavy duty hard shell.

November 26, 2019

Exactly what I wanted

Super lightweight,compresses to a very small size, perfect piece to add a little extra warmth/windbreaker. Great for spring and fall of when you need just a smidge more. Use it for mtn biking,hiking,fishing. Love it!

November 25, 2019

nice light jacket

nice light jacket

November 18, 2019

Does not breathe. Not made for running.

I bought this jacket as a shell for cool foggy morning runs. I don't think I've made it through a single run without taking it off halfway into the run. I can't believe this jacket is marketed to runners. It does not breathe at all. It's basically like wearing a trash bag. The only time this has worked for me is when I've ... Read Morerun in very cold weather with an absorbent, breathable long sleeve base layer which soaked up the moisture. If you're looking for a running shell, I would not recommend the Houdini.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Sorry to hear that Houdini didn't work out for you, but we really appreciate your detailed feedback, Kyle! It looks like you've already returned it. We recommend the Houdini Air or the Airshed Pullover for a bit more breathability. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you, if you need any further assistance!

November 14, 2019

Ridiculously light

Haven't taken it to altitude on a harness yet, but I can say that at 73" tall and 180 lbs the medium fits, though a bit short. Overall this jacket is unbelievably light and takes the bite out of the wind easily.

November 11, 2019

This is the BEST

I love this thing, even thought I ripped it when I scratched my back against a rock but the jacket was fine. I'm about 6ft 4in and roughly 230lbs with very broad shoulders and this jacket fits like it was made for me, super happy they came out with an XXL version of this.

November 6, 2019

Perfect travel jacket for adventure.

Light, pack-able, and a nice additional layer that you can always bring with you on your travels.

November 3, 2019

Completely overpriced for a thin

Completely overpriced for a thin windbreaker.

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Thank you for your review, Max! The Houdini was designed as an emergency item and with a minimalist design, which is why it is our thinnest windbreaker. It is also made of 100% recycled content and manufactured through [fair labor](https://www.patagonia.com/fair-trade-certified.html) practices. If it fails or isn't performing up to your satisfaction, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

October 30, 2019

Invaluable

Got this little beauty before traveling to Scotland for a month in the fall. It was the perfect traveling companion (don’t tell my husband) 😉. On cool days I threw it on over my sweater or puffy and it kept out the wind an any light chill. Then I just stuffed it into its own pocket and threw it in my shoulder bag or backpack. Wouldn’t go anywhere ... Read Morewithout it. In fact, I ordered one for my husband so he’d stop being jealous. I did size up one size so I had room to layer.

October 29, 2019

Houdini Jacket Review

I absolutely love this jacket. Perfect for so many conditions. The only flaw are the seam construction where care and brand labels are sewn into the neckline. When the jacket is zipped, the woven labels always ride up and stick out. I've now purchased 4 of these so its not stopping me from loving it, just that it can be improved. Also, tacking... Read More down the chest pocket on the interior will help the pocket from being exposed when the jacket is worn unzipped. The material is so light weight, that when unzipped the jacket folds open and the interior lining of the chest pocked flops out.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Dave! Thanks for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. It's honestly crucial when it comes to improving a product for future seasons, so we'll be sure to pass this along to the design crew!

October 29, 2019

So versatile

I've been a big fan of the Houdini from the time it was developed. It's the jacket I bring with me the most, no matter what the situation. It's featherlight and packs down to a tiny nugget. It adds that extra layer when you need a little something more and it does a great job blocking the wind. This is now my go-to gift for friends a... Read Morend family too!

October 25, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

October 19, 2019

Excellent windbreaker jacket

I'm on my second Houdini windbreaker jacket. It has served me well in Colorado. I've hiked with it many times in the mountains and on those windy days it really does keep me sheltered and warm. It is also my favorite light weight windbreaker jacket that I wear when I go for a run. I've run a lot of miles throughout all four seasons a... Read Morend it is great. I always appreciate the excellent customer service from Patagonia. That is why I keep buying Patagonia products.

October 14, 2019

Favorite Item!

Well named garment! For three reasons: first, it's insanely light. I could probably put it in a business envelope and mail it with a stamp. Second, it's very, very warm for something so light. And third, it looks good, very slimming! In other words, magic! Harry H. would appreciate.

October 8, 2019

Great lightweight windbreaker

Super lightweight and surprisingly warm in fall weather when you wear a long sleeve shirt underneath. Packs up tiny. It's also breathable which is nice! I wore it on a day that was windy and sprinkling and it worked out perfectly.

October 3, 2019

So minimal

This is my second Houdini jacket. This newer design has a slightly better fit than the original. So light you won't even notice it's in your pack.

October 1, 2019

Slick - really pretty waterproof!

My daughter poured some water on it to test, the puddle stayed on the outside!

September 21, 2019

Great light jacket

Love the Houdini. Used during a recent trail race. Easily fit in my running pack and kept me warm as the temps dropped in the night.

September 20, 2019

probably my favorite layer

Always have this in the bag unless your wearing it. Works great in summer and spring as an outer layer for wind land light moisture. Also works wells as a layer over an R1 or nano air and under a shell. Lots of warmth and little weight.

September 14, 2019

Great light packable wind shirt

I bought this for my husband because I love my jacket, as does someone I gave one to as a gift. Several of my hiking friends have this jacket, one actually has two of them, and it is perfect over a shirt if you need a little more warmth or wind protection but not a full blown jacket. It weighs nothing and stuffs into a small bundle of its own, so i... Read Mores good for stuffing in a small bike bag or day pack. The men's color I bought my husband (red) is beautiful with the navy accents.

September 10, 2019

Best Shell

Keep this with me at all times. Use it for wind, slight rain, or as a wind block when the temps drop over a nano air. Everyone needs one in their arsenal. 6' 190 lbs Large is a great fit

September 6, 2019

Incredibly light and effective

Looks great and fits well. Not too baggy. And ultra light and compact.

September 5, 2019

My Favorite Pant

This is my second pair of High Spy pants. They are seriously so comfortable and flattering. I wear them hiking, to work, and anything in between.

September 5, 2019

Love this jacket

Wore during a hurricane. Kept me dry and the fit and pull tabs kept it in place despite strong winds!

September 5, 2019

Lightweight shell

Perfect for long days in the mountains when all you need is a little extra. Pair it with a warm top and you are good for three seasons. Excellent for moving fast.

September 4, 2019

feather weight multi functional jacket

pretty amazing so much function can be packed into such a small package! fits true to size and will be a useful addition to any activity with uncertain or changing weather conditions.

September 2, 2019

Light design and impedes water but does not really breath well.

Jacket is very light and easy to carry around. Have worn it in light rain and does a fine job at repelling water. My complaint comes when I am wearing only a light T-shirt or tanktop under it and it is humid/hot out. The coat retained my heat and I sweat under it so that it was very uncomfortable. I actually had to take it off at one point because ... Read MoreI got so hot. I was under the impression that it would "breath" well but I would not say that it does so at all.

September 1, 2019

Lightest jacket

Packs down smaller than I my arm warmers, also lighter and provides a lot more warmth.

August 31, 2019

Light and functional

Light weight, functional and looks good. I'd give it 5 stars if it was a little more breathable and has hand pockets.

August 31, 2019

LOVE

My Husband and I Absolutely Love our rain coats! Super cute and compact, but work like a Charm!!! My friends all want one too!

August 31, 2019

Great Light Jacket

This is my husbands go to jacket! He often wears it alone and for warmth he layers it on top of a capilene pull over. He is average height at 6' and weight 185 and the large fits perfect!

August 31, 2019

Lightest jacket I’ve owned

Perfect jacket for light rain.

August 31, 2019

Nice shell

weights nothing, is the size of nothing and keeps the heat sucking wind out of the insulating layers. An excellent piece of kit

August 27, 2019

In between sizes

I typically wear small but its a touch tight around the waist and rides up when zipped up. Medium is too big in the sleeves. Also the tag seems to pop out with the hook and the hood doesn't stay flat. Besides that I'm excited for the Fall to use more in the mornings

August 26, 2019

Lightweight Rain jacket

Very lightweight rain jacket. My husband wanted it for running. We ordered the green/blue color and it is really nice looking.

August 22, 2019

It’s a little thin and Runs Small

Because it was rather inexpensive I didn’t expect perfection. After all it’s an “emergency” rain jacket to keep with me for unexpected weather. I can almost see through it when I hold it up. It’s also a little snug but it’s the same size as a fleece from you I have.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

Thanks for the comments and we are sorry to hear that it isn't exactly what you were expecting. If you end up wanting to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or exchange this, please let us know and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 16, 2019

Great jacket!

This is a super lightweight jacket that's great to bring along on your run or hike. It packs down really small and provides the right amount of wind and rain protection while you're on the move.

August 16, 2019

Houdini

It's light and packs way down. Easy to carry everywhere and good for taking off the windchill

August 15, 2019

Light jacket

I really like this jacket. It’s warm and light and very easy to shove in your pocket or bag. It would be nice to have another pocket but I’ll live without it.

August 15, 2019

Useful and versatile

This thing packs down so small there's no reason not to bring it. It's great for rain protection and it even provides some warmth from the wind. Great jacket and it goes virtually everywhere I go.

August 15, 2019

Side zip could be longer

I just backpacked all over Europe (including hut to hut hikes in Croatia, Dolomites, and Northern England) with this pack. The side zip is not convenient enough to get to the lower third of your gear when needed. The lower side compression straps make the pockets not usable without taking the pack off to loosen the straps and rearrange ítems when n... Read Moreeeded. The outer pack packet was almost not stretchy enough to accommodate a jacket and sandals when the inner pack was loaded. It’s a great pack over all, but could use some tweaks for real life application on the trail and for adventure travel.

August 15, 2019

My Go To Windbreaker

The latest model Houdini fit well, allows easy adjustment of the hood and is a great lightweight emergency windbreaker. It is always in an easy to locate part of my backpack. The larger chest pocket makes for easier stuffing of the jacket so it disappears quickly.

August 13, 2019

Pretty darn good; but know what you are buying

I've had this jacket for three years, and overall it has been an excellent purchase. The two things I find it most handy for are for an emergency jacket on any excursion, and running. I am 6' and 150 lbs, and I own a large which works great, giving me the ability to put the sleeves over my hands, plus I can put layers under it if I need t... Read Moreo (works good as an overcoat w/ insulative layers). But what is so great about it? Well, there are three features that are my favorite: 1) The cinch on the hood keeps it out of the way really well when running and keeps it on your head. 2) The lightness of the jacket, paired with 3) the packability of the jacket is simply unprecedented. This is the ultimate minimalist jacket that I have found, making it an easy item to throw into even a small pack as well as hold it while running. All the while, the minimalist features do not take away from its wind-breaking capabilities, and it still remains quite durable. HOWEVER, the biggest warning I would give to anybody buying this is to keep in mind that it really is only a windbreaker. The houdini is not in the slightest bit a rain jacket if that is what you are looking for. The only "light rain" it withstands is like 10 drops, then it starts to soak. It does dry pretty quickly, which is a good feature, but DO NOT bring this outdoors expecting it to save you from the rain. That is not the function of this jacket. In the end, I have really been happy with this purchase. Just make sure to keep in mind this weather warning. Well made, well designed, great for little excursions you can't take much with, running, backpacking etc. Don't be hesitant in buying this....

August 12, 2019

Oversized Houdini

I normally wear medium and I own medium-sized Houdini also I purchase oversized Houdini just for protection of heavier layers. Patagonia is the founder of Houdini what a perfect garment

August 11, 2019

Houdini Jacket Blue

Incredibly light weight. It runs large, with is good. I keep this jacket with me (compresses very small) almost all of the time as a go to, layer or extra layer. This has been one of my best buys from Patagonia. Excellent quality, form and function. Cost per wear is outstanding! Recommended!

August 11, 2019

Houdini FTW

What a great lightweight running shell! I'd say the perfect temp to wear these (if you run a bit hot like I do) is between 35-55 degrees. It's breathable to a point; but what makes this jacket indispensable is its weight and packability.

August 11, 2019

Houdini

Very nice jacket, but the pocket is too small. I don’t have a large iPhone, but it’s very cumbersome to insert and remove it from the pocket.

August 10, 2019

Don't Understand the Hype

I really wanted to love this jacket, based on all of the incredible reviews for it. However, I found myself just not even packing it after a few trips out. What I do love about the jacket is the weight, self storage pouch, simplicity of the design, and the overall idea of the jacket. First off, the fit. I find in general that Patagonia jackets, a... Read Morend shirts, a medium is way too boxy in the waist/body, but a small is way too tight in the chest and arms. I ordered both sizes just to see what size fitted best. I am 5'9" and 165 lbs. So, even though this is a trim/athletic fit, a medium feels more like wearing a flag in this product which makes it less ideal for running and what I use it for. Second, while I love the light weight nature of this fabric, during two damp outings where I threw it on for some rain protection it literally shrink wrapped around me. I assume this was my sweat underneath that was causing this and not the fabric wetting through. The DWR repellent actually works VERY well on the product. However, you would have to wear this either when you are not sweating, the humidity is super low, avoid high-output activities, or have a long sleeve barrier to keep this from happening. Which, is impractical for the applications I am going to use it for. So after that, it got me thinking, I have other jackets that do all of the functions better than the Houdini Jacket, but perhaps at not the overall versatility of which the Houdini is intended (which is why I got it). Fortunately for my dad, I gave the jacket to him and I am going to search for another jacket to fill this role for myself..

August 10, 2019

Great layer!

Great jacket! I get a lot of wear out of it. My only complaint is that the hood pulls the back of the neck so far down that the tag is visible from the back. Otherwise, awesome layer!

August 10, 2019

Houdini

My favorite jacket by far. So light and warm in wet conditions at the same time.

August 10, 2019

Very slim fit

I'd advise others to consider sizing up on this jacket, or maybe look at the "regular fit" popover. I'm a large in most jackets, even slim fit ones, but this one almost fits like a medium, especially in the arms. I'm not by any means a bodybuilder, but I do occasionally hit the weights, and the sleeves are a bit restrictive... Read More. Would be nice if it had a bit of stretch.

August 10, 2019

Houdini jacket

Lightweight and comfortable...suits the purpose

August 10, 2019

Great jacket

It’s one of my favorites! Great design and functionality. Get it people!

August 10, 2019

Nice, packable rain jacket

Packs to about the size of an iphone very easily. Wish it had side pockets but it doesn't.

August 10, 2019

Amazing piece

Extremely lightweight, breathable, water resistant. Sleeves are a little short if you have a typical climbing build. I’m 5’11” and the medium fits well. I use it for trail running, mountain biking, and climbing. I’ve dragged it across a few rocks at Cathedral Ledge in North Conway and wore it mountaineering in Washington. It is an awesome alpine la... Read Moreyer for when wind decides to pick up. I love it other than the sleeve length!

August 10, 2019

Rain jacket

Great! It’s light weight and folds up to almost nothing. And it works. Patagonia- always the best.

August 10, 2019

Houdini jacket

I love this jacket for drizzling days in town but especially when traveling. It packs so small that I take it everywhere. It also proved to be far more durable than I expected when I ended up wearing it all day rock climbing.

August 10, 2019

Wind breaker

Wind breaker fit perfect...keeps me warm on cooler New Hampshire mountain peaks...very satisfied with this product.

August 2, 2019

Fabric is see-through

I purchased this jacket in Folios Green and when I received it I was surprised to find that it’s completely see-through. Strange that none of the other reviews mention this, nor do the pictures online illustrate this. I get that it’s a lightweight jacket but it looks like I’m wearing a cheap semi-translucent rain poncho. Returning ASAP.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2019

Sorry to hear that the jacket has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

July 31, 2019

Best Ever

Best all around jacket you'll ever need. Packs up, looks great, I get compliments all the time when I wear one. Nice to have a few in the car for those light rain days, or even to warm up, and of course just a normal day of hanging. Amazing how they keep you warm. Got my daughter and wife one too that they love. Request! Bring back the HOUDIN... Read MoreI VEST! I wear one ever single day in the summer. They are absolutely perfect.

July 13, 2019

Why change the fit?

The 2018 Houdini was my dream jacket. Breathed great, packed small, offered just the right protection during aerobic activities, and had a nice trim fit. Sadly, I lost it on a trip. I immediately bought the 2019, but it's too boxy for me in the torso and I had to return it. It would be awesome if Patagonia could keep the fit of a particular m... Read Moreodel consistent from year to year. I understand that you need a variety of shapes to fit your variety of customers. But consistency within model lines would make things easier. Still giving 5 stars because it's a great jacket for someone else.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2019

Thank you so much for that feedback regarding the fit. We are very sorry to hear that it is no longer working for you. Feel free to contact us and we will see if there is anything we can do to help in finding something that will work for you. If you'd like to return this please follow the instructions on our [Return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) page or [contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us for help!

June 24, 2019

Different fabric and better fit

Fabric from this year is different, more soft, fit is better - not tight like 2018 Houdini, and with bit longer length. Very good!

June 3, 2019

Fits great. Warm. Packs small. Needs a packable hood.

I bought this jacket for riding my bike to work in the cold. It keeps me plenty warm. Then when I ride home, I just pack up the jacked and fold it up. The jacked fits great. If you have a gut, you might be a little bummed. It's slim fit for sure. My ONLY complaint is that the hood doesn't pack down. I use the jacket on my bike and it&#x27... Read More;s pretty annoying flapping behind my head for the entire ride.

May 8, 2019

Great jacket

Bought this for my husband. He is 6’4” and lean and the medium actually has long enough sleeves! He loves it! Packs down, easy to travel.

May 8, 2019

Houdini Always with Me

The perfect jacket, great for a carry on piece on long flights to Ushuaia, the perfect piece to throw into fanny pack or backpack for any ramble into the mountains...small, warm well built piece of gear

May 8, 2019

Size and performance

Sizing: I’m 6’0” , 180lbs and the slim fit Large works super well - not bulky but still allows for one-two lighter layers underneath, if needed. Performance: I’ve been really happy with the Houdini. I wear it on runs, rain or shine, as well as to play winter paddle tennis. It’s incredibly light and non-restrictive so allows full range of motion; I ... Read Moreforget I’m wearing it.

May 8, 2019

Houdini Jacket

Fabric is too light and it has no pockets!!!

Response from Patagonia
May 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with your purchase. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us for a refund and contact our [Customer Service](https://bit.ly/2YsoN2l) team with any questions.

May 8, 2019

Excellent Light Coat

This coat is great in the rain and is perfect for those mid temperature days that are windy (45° area - 60° area) without being overly hot

April 16, 2019

Why change a perfect jacket?

After reading glowing reviews about the previous version of the Houdini I recently bought this updated version in preparation for my first ultra, but after trying it on a few times at home I soon returned it. Apart from finding sizing a little tricky (I have long arms and am usually a large in Patagonia, but found the large in this jacket a little ... Read Moreshort in the arms and small across the shoulder, whilst the XL fitted perfectly across the shoulders and arms but was a little big in the body) I found the drawstring at the bottom to be pretty poorly constructed. The cords themselves constantly came loose from the plastic bit that allowed you to tighten the drawstring meaning if this happened mid-run/race you'd have to stop to try and fix it (not easy with cold hands). Also, ther drawstring is bizarely only on one side of the jacket meaning it all bunches up on ones side when you pull it tight. I tried to convince myself these small issues were nothing, but decided to return it and am now looking for an older version. This is the second time I've had issues with new lighter/updated versions of Patagonia clothing (the other being 3 pairs of faulty Baggies lights) which is a shame as I love the company. My recommendation: buy the old Houdini.

March 24, 2019

Fantastic

Bought a Houdini four years ago and it still is one of my go to jackets. It has held up very good, a small hole opened in the arm but it has since been patched up. I have brought it on backpacking, climbing, multi pitch, canyoneering, and water sports. The fact it weights so little makes it a perfect jacket to bring with no regret on weight if its ... Read Morenever used. In spring and fall weather a lightweight fleece like the R1 underneath offers a breathable and warm combo. For the price, weight, and quality of houdini fabric, there in no better option on the market.

March 10, 2019

Good first impressions

Very much like this outer layer. It fits true to size, is extremely lightweight and packs down well. For such a lightweight layer, it delivers exceptional warmth and has withstood a few light showers. My only concern with this jacket is it’s lack of breathability. I’ve found that half hour into a run, a noticeable layer of moisture builds up and is... Read More retained under this layer. To be honest, I’ve found that this is typically the case with all types of DWR/waterproof layers. Beyond this, the Houdini is a great piece of apparel to carry when the weather changes for the worse.

February 19, 2019

Go to

This is my all time favorite jacket. Goes with me everywhere I go, it’s pack-able enough to not even second guessing myself if I should bring it or not. I use it mainly for bike rides around town and any trips I might need a shell to go over some insulation. Works awesome for how minimal this jacket is.

February 15, 2019

Never go without it.

I'll add my voice to the chorus of praise for this amazing piece of gear. I was reminded of the indispensable nature of this jacket on a recent trail run in the San Gabriel mountains. It stopped raining about an hour prior to our start and the temps were in the 40s, so I began the run in shorts and a lightweight, long-sleeved top. The trail wa... Read Mores steep and climbed quickly, as we moved up into the cloud layer the wind picked-up and the temps dropped dramatically, I grabbed my tiny Houdini bundle which was clipped to my hydration pack, put it on, and kept it on over the next 12 miles of rain, snow and wind while my friend was constantly taking his shell off and on dealing with the heat and moisture build-up that comes with a less magical garment. I was completely comfortable in frigid, highly-variable conditions carrying and wearing a minimal amount of gear that simply disappeared and let me enjoy the run. If you don't have a Houdini, get one if you can. You won't be sorry.

February 11, 2019

Amazing windbreaker

This replaced my last generic winderbreaker I've had for the last 5 years, and so far it's been fantastic. Extremely light. I purchased a Medium size (6ft), and it fits extremely well with a base layer underneath. The pull draw for the hood is extremely accessible and fast to pull on the go, but I am still find myself stumbling to get th... Read Moree waist cord quickly. I have not owned any previous designs of the Houdini, so I can't compare them unfortunately. Support did mention that while the nylon for this years version is 100% recycled, it has the same specs as previous years.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches