burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Thermal Airshed Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Thermal Airshed Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
January 29, 2023

Great jacket!

This jacket is great for any occasion, very light but also warm enough making it perfect for a chill day. The only thing this jacket is missing are the pockets but not a big deal at all. I love it!

January 6, 2023

Excellent Running Jacket

This is probably the best running jacket I have owned. The back is VERY thin which is great for letting excess heat out on runs, the shoulders, arms, front paneling are thicker with the underarms being a very thin material as well. This does an amazing job or regulating heat. There are no pockets on the outside but there are on the inside. There is... Read More no way I would want to wear this as a casual jacket, it is made to expel excess heat/moisture while active. When is it cold out 30 degree Fahrenheit I pair it with a thermal baselayer and am usually sweating pretty heavily by the time I finish.

December 17, 2022

Tough to fit

The material and construction appear to be very good - this seems like it would work well for cool weather running (30 - 40F). I had to return it after trying both M and L sizes. I'm 5'7", 43" chest and 34" waist. M is way to tight around the chest; L fits well up top, but is way too long in the sleeves and body length. To ... Read Morebe fair, the item is listed as "slim" fit (probably good for a cross country runner, but not someone with a so-called athletic build). Had to return.

December 9, 2022

Finally one winter running layer to rule them all

I have gone back and forth about buying this jacket for a very long time and finally pulled the trigger and am glad i did. I use it for a single layer for trail running and finally theres a jacket i can put on and leave on. Ive worn this in temps between 15-35 degrees and if its colder outside ill wear a long sleeve mid layer and if its warmer il... Read Morel wear just a light t-shirt, put on this jacket and call it good. It blocks wind and handles light rain and up to moderate snow squalls w/o wetting out. It packs down small and while i wasnt sure about the lack of handwarmer pockets it ends up being fine. I can slip in my wallet/keys/gel into the interior pockets w/o any issue. My only ding is that this jacket stinks up pretty quickly. But i love this jacket so much i might have to buy a second so i am not stuck doing laundry all the time to get the stink out.

December 6, 2022

Wanted it to be perfect so badly

This was a purchase I researched more than any other in recent memory. For the past month or so, I have been running in this jacket for temps between teens and 40 degrees (usually 2.5 to 5 miles). The jacket is plenty warm for my purpose, and the shedding of air through the thinner material on the back seemed to work. My issue with the jacket is ... Read Morethe amount of heat retained in the arms which leads to more sweating than I experienced on the torso. I am guessing some of this is due to wearing gloves, but that is non-negotiable at these temps. Immediately when finishing my runs, I take off the jacket, but the arms are always sweaty and damp. After 1 or 2 wears like this, the jacket begins to smell bad and needs to be laundered. That just is not feasible when running 5-6 days per week. Bummed but will be returning. From a design perspective, I believe it needs a higher ratio of venting material than insulation in the arms.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

Hey Adam, thanks for the review. That is tricky, since most of our breathable jackets will have the same amount of insulation in the sleeves as the body. Perhaps going down in insulation could help a bit. In that case, we'd recommend the [Men's Pack In Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-pack-in-jacket/20945.html?dwvar_20945_color=FGE&cgid=mens-jackets-vests) or the Men's Nano-Air Jacket as potential alternatives. The Airshed has 65 g's of PlumaFill insulation where the Pack-In and the Nano Air have 60 g's of FullRange insulation. Either option could be a better fit for your needs, but as always if something isn't working you're welcome to send it back.

December 6, 2022

Great temp-regulator

I easily get hot when running in cool temps and have generally been satisfied with zipping and unzipping my nano air hoodie to regulate. However, when wearing this, I can just run. Ran a 5-mile race in 40deg with a t-shirt underneath and didn't have to adjust anything the whole way. Didn't start sweating uncomfortably until I sat down in ... Read Morethe car after my cooldown. It's not as warm as the nano air but I think I'll be able to run into the high teens just by adding a thermal layer underneath. Great jacket. Fits very slim, though. Be aware. (I find that great for running.) Looking forward to using this on hikes when carrying the kiddo on my back, too. No more back sweat from the carrier, I hope!

December 4, 2022

Quality

Everything about this jacket is high quality. It is incredibly lightweight, warm, and simultaneously breathable. Vibrant color. True to size.

November 30, 2022

Perfect layer!

Nice style, lightweight, and great fitted feel. I am a person who is hot most times and this jacket is light enough for me in this Holiday coolness where I do not overheat. For reference, I can wear a light undershirt, long sleeve shirt and this jacket and feel comfortable indoors; perfect layers staying warm outside.

November 29, 2022

So far so good

I have run in this jacket down to about 10 degrees and it was plenty warm for me. I've yet to see how it does in January when it might be -20 but I expect it'll be fine with an additional base layer. Very nice fit and super light. Love it so far.

November 23, 2022

How do I wash this Coat

Just ran the Half Marathon in Philly Wearing this jacket. It doesn't keep you warm if your standing still but was perfect for running! Keeps in the heat without over heating. Light weight Breathable! How do I was it though without ruining the coat?

November 9, 2022

Comfy and warm

So far I have no complaints. The jacket is very comfy and keeps me warm on winter runs. So far its only been down to the 30s, but I think it will do well down into the 10s. Also looking forward to using it for XC skiing.

October 14, 2022

Perfect Piece

This jacket is the perfect piece. It is extremely breathable and keeps plenty warm. I love wearing this thing on approaches. Not having the back insulated is amazing with a pack.

September 27, 2022

Perfect in wide range of temperature

This lightweight jacket looks good and keeps me warm as the weather cools in the east. Great layer for wearing on a flight .. out of hot weather onto a cool plane. Highly recommended.

July 21, 2022

Versatile Go To for Cold

This jacket follows the much loved Patagonia tradition of function and versatility. I wear this for cold weather trail running, nordic skiing and commuting to work (school teacher) and it works great in all those applications. It is especially effective in temps below 20F.

May 13, 2022

Great jacket but too small.

Had to return it. I wear a large in almost everything for my upper body from Patty, but this one was too small. I am a chubby outdoor enthusiast though. 6' tall and 215. If you're a lean person fit should be great. Sleeve length was good, materials seemed great and like it would breathe really well for brisk hikes and stuff like that.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Hey Clinton, thanks for the review! Our Thermal Airshed Jacket does go up to a size XL if you're interested. To begin an exchange click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 11, 2022

Fills a Gap in my Gear

As people said it has no outside pockets (a plus for this jacket) and it's very snug around the torso (also a plus for this jacket). It has two inside pockets which are great if you're stashing a light hat an gloves on a run after you've warmed up. I love that the back and back of arms aren't insulated. Brilliant idea. In additi... Read Moreon to running it has been great for hikes with a pack on your back. Also really light for walking the dog when air is just a little crisp and would be too much for much more. Slots in between a breathable windbreaker like the airshed pullover and the warmer nano-air that I absolutely live in for years and years. This one is a winner for me.

May 1, 2022

very comfortable warm hoodless top

it's a great item, but very niche for me. It's too warm for most running, and while comfortable around town, that's not why I got it. I like the general fit and movement of the fabric. I like the lack of hood. I think it's like a very light nano layer, which has it's uses, but is pretty specialized in my experience. Like ma... Read Moreny a very task-specific item I hope they keep making and refining it.

March 28, 2022

Winner

I bought this originally for MTB but realized that it wouldnt hold up if I rode past a thorn bush so use it for road biking and its great, it keeps you warm but also breaths so you can regulate your temperature, Im 62 200 lbs and lift weights regularly and large was a great fit.

March 22, 2022

Perfect

Patagonia is the only running gear I will purchase. I have tried all the other major brands and none of them are even close to Patagonia trail running gear. Everything from comfort to fit to functionality is spot on.

March 16, 2022

Great fit, nice and warm!

Love that this garment is PFC-Free, it's super comfortable for biking and nice and warm

March 15, 2022

Pleasantly Surprised

I waited a while to purchase the Thermal Airshed jacket because I didn't know if I needed it. Now I wish I didn't wait. This jacket keeps me surprisingly warm for such a low weight and insulation. I've now worn it multiple times on runs in late winter with temperatures in the low to high 30s and I haven't felt overheated. The fi... Read Moret is snug but does not impede my movement and the cuffs work decently well when wearing gloves. As other have pointed out there are no exterior pockets but there is one drop-in pocket and one zip pocket on the inside. I was able to fit my phone in the zip and a winter cap with room to spare and move. I haven't worn this on a run with precipitation so I can't comment on the warmth or water shedding capabilities.

February 24, 2022

The perfect jacket

Great jacket that works in cold or warmer weather. Excellent design and fit. I would recommend to anyone who wants the perfect jacket.

February 23, 2022

Perfect middle ground

I got this to replace my previous winter running jacket that was bombproof. This is not that, but perhaps fits a better middle ground that will prevent me from exorbitant winter sweating. In the chilly Michigan winter so far, I have paired this with a light wind jacket and have been incredibly comfortable on my runs. In slightly warmer weather with... Read Moreout crazy wind this would be perfect by itself. I really can see this being great for long trail runs with big elevation changes. This isnt a one jacket solution, but considering trying to do it all comes with compromises, this is a better fit long term as a warm running layer

February 18, 2022

Perfect Cold Weather Running Jacket

My search for a winter running jacket that hit all the major aspects of warmth, fit, weight, ability to be packed, and aesthetics began and ended with the Thermal Airshed Jacket. To be honest, I was skeptical of a jacket that weighed mere ounces but reviewers said they could run in with only a tshirt underneath from 0-30 degrees. They werent lying.... Read More And for the days when the temperature starts to creep up, just unzip a little and youll be good to go. This jacket is well worth the price of admission!

February 9, 2022

light weight

Nice jacket, light weight, no external pockets, slim close fit. No insulation in the back.

February 4, 2022

Fine but no pockets!

If you like to run with your phone, headphones, dog leash, etc. then I would not recommend this jacket. The jacket and fit is fine but it doesn't have any exterior pockets which is a bummer. I'll go back to just using my nano air jacket for cold weather runs.

January 15, 2022

Exactly What I Needed

I don't own many long sleeve running shirts, so I was looking for something I could throw over one of the many Capilene Cool Daily short- sleeve shirts that I use for everything else in warm weather. This combo is perfect for 0-30F. The back and arms vent perfectly, the neck is not too loose not too tight. I've washed it 10 + times and it... Read More does not look distressed at all. The cut is fantastic...not as slim as the Nano-Air but not as boxy as the Down Sweater. Sleeves are a tad bit long on me but they are easily rolled up and do not get in the way. I usually wear a Patagonia small and the small Thermal Airshed works for me. I like how it doesn't have a hood because I can pair it with the Cap Air Balaclava when it gets really cold. Seriously, great job Patagonia!

December 29, 2021

Works just like it should!

This jacket performed really well; it does exactly what it is supposed to do; it kept me warm, but not too warm, while running in the cold for long periods of time. However, I was squarely in-between sizes. I tried the M which was a tad tight and the large was tad billowy so ended up with a Nano-Air in Medium. It's perfect which this isn'... Read Moret due to the fit, so I docked it a *.

December 18, 2021

Superb

Fit, quality, color, durability during my weekly runs in all terrain and all weather. Anything I've purchased from Patagonia has been nothing less than perfect. A+++++

December 17, 2021

Medium warm

I bought this to use for commuting on my mountain bike in Marin County winter. It does not protect from cold wind at all by itself, and if worn under a light shell becomes very wet from body heat, even with my Patagonia rain jacket pit zips open. It becomes as wet as if I wore a down jacket. As much as I wanted it to work, it was not a useful jacke... Read Moret for me.

December 7, 2021

cold weather running jacket

Haven't used it too much, but it's perfect for a sub-40 degree trail run.

November 14, 2021

Almost great, but suffers common fit issues

I love the concept of this piece and will use it nearly daily for going up with a backpack on, but it's not perfect. 1. Cuffs are baggy. very odd fit for a relatively svelte high output piece. 2. Has the Dracula collar (not quite as transylvanian as say the r1 techface jkt) but still irritatingly tall. 3. needs a chest pocket (even an inter... Read Morenal one) in place of the abdominal interior pocket.

November 11, 2021

Form fitting without being snug

This jacket will be a long time companion for me. It has some stretch but does not sag, provides warmth but does not overheat, packs down small yet does not wrinkle, and sleeves that actually get down to my long-armed wrists. Really a worthwhile purchase for a core jacket quiver.

November 10, 2021

Great for nasty weather running

This jackets is a lot warmer than it looks. Really keeps the wind off you and the vented back does a decent job of letting out some heat. Wore this for some runs in the low 40s and it was way too warm, but perfect once the temps dropped to freezing and below. Pockets are only accessible from the inside.

September 20, 2021

Too small

I bought a medium. Since it is a slim jacket, I probably should have purchased a large. Im 57 166lbs. I had to return it.

April 9, 2021

Beautiful Coat

This coat is amazing in every direction with one flaw that I didnt even realize was a thing. There are no exterior hand pockets! The coat looks dapper, feels amazing, perfect for work or a Friday night, however... I couldnt tell you how many times I go to put my hands in the pockets only to remember there arent any. There are 2 inside pockets, one ... Read Morewith a zipper. I have the Nano-Air Jacket which fills my hand void but its a little warmer than Thermal Airshed. I considered returning but the coat is too awesome otherwise. Please make an updated version with the 4 pockets Patty G. I would buy every color. Keep up the excellent work, thank you. The Big Easy

March 11, 2021

Slim fit is slimmer

I missed the boat on the Nano Air Hybrid, but this jacket fills that niche better. The sizing is a slimmer fit than other slim fits. A small usually fits me really well but on this jacket I had to go up to a medium.

February 26, 2021

Nailed it

The regular airshed is a serious go-to for spring and fall running, anything over 20 degrees. The thermal is the perfect cold-weather running buddy: light weight, thoughtful placement of insulation on the top of the sleeves and chest and even more thoughtful panels to dump heat and moisture. Inspired to run colder days!

January 23, 2021

May be the best cold weather running jacket of all time.

I've only had it a few weeks but this may be my favorite running jacket of all time. Great temperature regulation, and no nylon fabric swish or flapping hood. I typically wear this in the 20s and single digits and it provides great wind protection and with the help of the breathable panels it provides great temperature regulation. It's c... Read Moreomfortable in the 30s F when it's windy, If I'm doing a 5 mile trail run in a quiet area I can't stand the fabric swish noise you get with a lot of nylon jackets, so I love that this jacket is super soft and quiet. I'm also not a fan of hoods on a running jacket. If it's cold or wet enough I'll wear a beanie or cap, and I'm typically only out there for an hour, so I don't need a hood for "just in case." This jacket also worked surprisingly well on a recent active hike in the 20s. It did a great job with the wind, going uphill it was good to have the venting, and combined with a light vest it was perfect for the times I wasn't moving. If you're looking for a jacket for high activity in cold, dry weather this jacket gets a big thumbs up.

January 15, 2021

Almost perfect

I love practically everything about this jacket. It's good for running because the back dumps out heat. The only gripe I have is that when zipped, the waist is a bit small and likes to slip up above my hips, causing the front to fold a bit. This could be because I have a long torso, but it's annoying enough to not zip when wearing casuall... Read Morey.

January 1, 2021

Hybrid Superstar

Patagonia's Nine Trails and Adze hybrid jackets have been a valuable part of my cycling & running wardrobe for years and Thermal Airshed Jacket complements that spectrum nicely. It is the go-to piece for my five mile runs at 20F. The soft, stretchy, insulating face layer has more wind resistance than expected, and the remaining panels vent... Read More heat & moisture to keep comfort levels high as long as possible.

December 29, 2020

Great running jacket for cold weather

This has quickly become my go-to running jacket for cold weather (before freezing) running. It does a good job of breathing and keeping me from getting damp and clammy. I'm also super pleased that this can be hung to fully dry after a run and be ready for the next day without any noticeable odors. The jacket is docked a star due to the front i... Read Morenternal pockets. If you store a phone or other heavy object in them, they will bounce against your groin -- not pleasant. The pockets need to be higher up.

December 10, 2020

High output king

Upgraded from the longest product name jacket (Nano-Air Light Hybrid Hoody) to this because the NALHH was usually still too warm for morning skin tracks and evening runs. Wearing this over the Air-Shed Pro is ideal for uphill persuits.

December 8, 2020

Great lightweight option

Love this jacket. I wear it when running on colder days (30s-40s). Keeps me warm without overheating. The front is insulated while the back is just a thin piece of fabric allowing for heat to escape. Added bonus, its simply sleek design makes it a good option for casual wear for mild temperature.

November 21, 2020

Almost perfect

This jacket was perfect in every single way except for the cuffs that were a good 1-2 cm too wide resulting in the sleeves not sitting properly. The blue/gray color was also so gorgeous that I considered taking it to a taylor to sew in the cuffs. I contacted customer service who confirmed the cuffs were like that. Ultimately decided to return the j... Read Moreacket and wait for a potential upgraded version next year where I hope nothing else change except the cuffs taking a cue from eg. the Nano Air.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches