Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Tank Top

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 80 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Tank Top

4.3/5
True To Size
July 16, 2021

Very flattering, great length, cool lightweight fabric!

This is perfection, I need it in all the colors. So lightweight and cool on hot humid days!

July 16, 2021

Cool

I love these tank tops, I have them in three colors! I love the fabric, drape and design. perfect for all the hot weather we've had!

July 14, 2021

Great shirt

This is light weight and very comfortable on the body. It lays nicely and I love this shirt so much I got a second one!

July 14, 2021

Comfortable tank

I normally wear a 4-6 top (53, 115#), so ordered a small initially. It was too big but the XS I exchanged it for fit perfectly! Its very comfy and hasnt lost shape when soaked with my high humidity sweat when running. Love the color too!

July 12, 2021

Great top!

Just wore this hiking the narrows and it was perfect. Quick dry and cool and comfortable. True to size. So glad I got this.

July 7, 2021

Awesome tank top!

I am 5'5",122lbs and have a smaller chest. I have two of these tanks in size small. They are a little big, especially in the armpit. This time I ordered a xs. It is perfect. Still loose but the arm holes fit well. I love the fabric and the colors. Thanks Patagonia!

July 7, 2021

Great top

Fit is really nice, the light purple is slightly sheer, top is very comfortable and lightweight for outdoor and indoor adventures alike. Dries super quick!

June 30, 2021

Fits Large, Especially Under the Armpits

I'm not a fan of this shirt. Unfortunately, it is huge on the top. This could be because I don't have a large chest, but it sags quite a bit under the armpits and causes chaffing.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Hi Sarah, thank you for providing that feedback on the fit. We are sorry to hear this has caused you some discomfort and welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us .

June 30, 2021

LOVE! I wish it came in more colors

I have this shirt in 4 colors because it is so comfortable and cool! I collect sweat under my pack when riding or running, but it dries quickly. It is also really breathable so I never have the feeling that I need to GET OUT OF IT when it is hot like some shirts have. Please don't stop making these!

June 28, 2021

Great Activewear top

Bought this in three colors after I bought the first. Super comfortable, great fit. Good for cardio, weights and casual wear.

June 28, 2021

Nice & cool

There's plenty of arm pit space in this shirt. Which I love. It's my new most comfortable tank.

June 23, 2021

Pile and Look Old

I love 99.99% of all Patagonia gear, however this is probably the one piece I don't excited to grab out of the closet. The fit is good, the racer back style is great, and the material is lightweight. I do however dislike how quickly it piled and how old it looks now. I also don't feel that it breathes very well in warm weather. All just m... Read Morey personal opinion!

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2021

Thank you for this feedback! We're sorry to hear it's not as breathable as you had hoped, and that the material is pilling so soon after purchase. As it's covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you with a return or exchange!

June 21, 2021

Great cut & fit!

Love this! Finally a flattering yet useable/wearable tank. Great material, neutral lovely colors.

June 20, 2021

Nice Sturdy Tank

I ordered the green in size Small and it's a bit wide--the part under my arms sticks out. I'm going to try an XS. This is a little loose which is great for movement. The fabric is very lightweight but feels sturdy at the same time.

June 17, 2021

Perfect weight

Love this racerback top! Lightweight like a linen but it doesnt wrinkle. Wore it for a hot, humid camping trip and it was perfect. Theres enough room to cover my stomach and the coverage of the backside is great. I didnt have to keep tugging at it to keep it down. I already ordered a different color!

June 16, 2021

Sheer!

This shirt is sheer so, for me, strictly for exercise. It would be nice if Patagonia made this in a non-sheer option as well. It would give more versatility to the shirt for the price.

May 10, 2021

Great fitting tank

This is a great fitting tank! Wow, I love the back design for mobility, and it does not droop down in the front to keep you covered when you are doing strenuous activities. It is light but durable material. I plan to buy multiple pairs, I believe this is my new favorite shirt.

May 9, 2021

I bought 3 because this is my summer uniform

Perfect little tank with flattering cute pleat in the back. Fabric is a little thin for general wear but ok if you don't mind seeing sports bra underneath some of the lighter colors. The sides are shaped with a hip curve so coverage lacks on the sides with my long torso but I use to that.

May 3, 2021

Cute top

I bought two of these and while I really like the fit, they are quite sheer. For reference, I am 59 and 150 lbs, purchased a size medium. I will be keeping them, but I am definitely mindful of what bra I wear!

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

We appreciate your feedback on the fit and fabric of these very lightweight tank tops!

May 2, 2021

Cool and comfortable

I purchased this as a running tank top primarily, but have also worn it as every day wear. It's kept me cool during the hot days and is very comfortable. I normally wear a medium but ended up exchanging for a small and it fits great. Only complaint is that it can be slightly see through depending on the lighting, even though I have the darkest... Read More color available.

May 1, 2021

Cool trail tank top

So beautiful and sooo comfortable

April 29, 2021

Bad cut and fit

I love the material however the fit it terrible! Under the sleeve it hangs away terrible, square box shape. And not long enough for my activities!

April 26, 2021

Loose fit, nice material

Love this tank for any outdoor activity or just a hot summer day. It's not fitted at all, it's loose and roomy. Love the design and fabric.

April 26, 2021

Flattering Fit

This shirt fits true to size and is very flattering. Material is breathable but not thin. Keeps its shape and will hold up throughout days of hiking, camping, running and other strenuous outdoor activities.

April 12, 2021

Transparent

This shirt (yellow) is completely transparent. I couldnt wear it even with a sports bra, felt naked. Unfortunate, because I like the fit

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Hi Rachael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you found the shirt to be transparent and we totally understand the disappointment with that. We'll pass this feedback along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 3, 2021

Buy it!

Really happy with this tank! Perfect for an arizona hike in the summer. Light, comfortable and soft.

March 26, 2021

Awesome for warm weather

I love this top for hot Texas weather outside. It fits me well but Im smaller up top so I imagine a larger bust may want to size up. Hits at hip, which I like. Would love more colors.

March 8, 2021

A good basic tank (blue)

A nice basic blue tank for everyday. FYI, slightly see through especially w/ dark colored sport bras. I mostly wear it under my scrub top which is nice on hot days.

January 23, 2021

They changed the fabric, not as soft anymore

I bought this top a year ago and love it so much, I bought a couple colors and wear them all the time. I wore them almost every day last summer. I'm 5'10" so sometimes shirts aren't quite long enough for my liking, this one is. It's loose, but not baggy. It's held up really well in the wash. Just an all around great sh... Read Moreirt. I liked them so much I went back last month and ordered a couple more (the tank version as well as the short sleeve version). Was very disappointed. The fabric now is not nearly as soft. I'm keeping them just because it's easier than going through a return, but I don't see myself wearing them often. If they go back to their previous fabric, I'd buy four more in a heartbeat.

January 19, 2021

Fabulous fit

Love this tank! I wear it to work out in at least once a week. Quality material and fits true to size.

January 18, 2021

Functional and Pretty

The fit and drape of this top are form flattering: neither tight nor baggy. I've worn it for yoga and plan to layer it for hiking and camping. The melon color is pretty. If it keeps its shape after a few washings I will likely order another color.

November 18, 2020

Very Versatile

Love these tanks! Great on their own or as a base layer.

October 26, 2020

Great all purpose top

I loved this tank top so much I immediately bought another color. Its long and loose enough where it doesn't ride up when exercising. I bought it for summer use but its been perfect this fall for layering. I have a bigger chest (DD) so I ordered a large to accommodate and it fits great.

October 1, 2020

Sizing changed?

Bought a second one this year because I loved the first one I got in 2019. The XS seems to have gotten quite a big bigger and I am considering returning. Has anyone else noticed this?

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hey Vicky, thanks for taking time out to leave us a review. We're happy to hear the Trail Tank was such a hit that you decided to buy a second, but sorry to hear that the sizing has been inconsistent. Our teams have been hard at work to ensure that our size range is inclusive and consistent time and time again, there is a chance you have received defective product. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can see about setting you up for an exchange, and confirm the measurements we have on file. Thanks!

September 16, 2020

Just Lovely!

His tank top is a perfect multi use product. The fabric drapes nicely. The fit is just form fitting enough to create a smooth silhouette yet not tight. Works great as an under layer and matches very well with the straps on the Barely There Bra.

September 15, 2020

So Comfortable

This is my second tank, and I love it as much as the first one I purchased. These are so comfortable. Compared to other XS, this seems just a litte bit big on me (105 lbs and 5'4). Nothing too big that would make me send it back.

September 12, 2020

Great tank but why does everything come wrapped in plastic?

Tank fits great and true to size but WHY IS EVERYTHING WRAPPED IN PLASTIC????? I won't be ordering from Patagonia again until this changes.

September 3, 2020

Favorite Tank

Probably my all time favorite tank for casual dressed up or down and for layering under button-ups for work and play. Ordered a Small and it fits perfect, only wish there were more colors to buy up... I have 6 of them. :) 5'8" / 130lbs / Small

September 3, 2020

not for me

I wanted this top for everyday wear in a hot climate. I am 66 years old and found the fabric too sheer. I ordered a medium and it was too big. I did return this top. Yet the Return department was extremely helpful and understanding!

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review on the Women's Capilene Cool Trail Tank Top. We're sorry to hear it didn't work out for you and have passed your concerns on to the appropriate teams. If you're interested, please check out our [Women's Seabook Run Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-seabrook-run-tank-top/23645.html?dwvar_23645_color=CCRL) for a similar style with more opaque material. Thanks!

September 1, 2020

Love love love

I have this top in every color! I bought them for workouts but then it just became my everything top! They do pill, but thats ok. They become so soft and comfortable. The fit is perfect. No baggy underarms and they hang just right. I cant wait for next seasons colors!

September 1, 2020

Favorite tank top!

I super love this tank top! I've had a number of these over the last few years, and I think this most recent iteration is my fav. I've got it now in 4 colors and wear them pretty much on rotation. It's definitely my go-to hiking/backpacking tank, but I also love it for running, yoga, working around the house, and basically everything... Read More else where you need a shirt. :) I'm 5'6", 165# with an athletic/curvy figure and ample bust. I like my tanks a bit roomy, so I went with the L in this, and I love it. I'm often either a M or L in Patagonia tops, depending on the fit. Overall, I highly recommend this tank...it's the best!

August 23, 2020

So soft and nice fit

This tank top is flattering but with a lose fit. The material is so soft I want all my clothes to feel as buttery against my skin! 10/10 reccommend!

August 17, 2020

Great Material, But Odd Fit

The tank is the softest and I wanted to like it, but the underarms were baggy and loose and ordering a smaller size wouldn't fix it. It's just the cut. Maybe if you have a bigger chest this tank would be good for you.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Thanks for writing a review, we appreciate the feedback! We're sorry to hear the fit was not ideal with this tank, if you're interested in checking out some comparable pieces with a different fit please check out the [Women's Capilene Cool Daily Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-tank-top/45295.html?dwvar_45295_color=PUPL&cgid=womens-t-shirts) or the [Women's Glorya Twist Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-glorya-twist-tank-top/52900.html?dwvar_52900_color=WHWA&cgid=womens-t-shirts).

July 23, 2020

Comfortable

I bought the blue and green ones. They fit nicely and comfortably. The armpit part is a little awkward because its looser but its not anywhere near being a deal breaker. My biggest complaint would be that sweat shows through the shirts pretty quickly. Otherwise I like these shirts!

July 22, 2020

armpits pooched out

I love the T-shirts in this line, and I wanted to love the tank. The fabric is awesome: light, soft, and quick-dry. But the tank's arm-holes flapped out off my chest in the weirdest way. Couldn't keep it.

July 7, 2020

Purple tank is sheer

Love this tank in peach and navy. However the purple was so light and sheer you could see everything underneath, had to return. Go darker for the color for the best quality.

June 27, 2020

Got pilly after just a few washes

I've only had it for a few months and have maybe washed it five times, and it's already pill-y. I wouldn't buy it again nor would I recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Colleen! We're very sorry to hear about the pilling you experienced with the W's Capilene Cool Trail Tank. Please note, you are welcome to send that item back under our Ironclad Guarantee. To initiate your return, visit our returns page at https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 14, 2020

Love it!

Own multiple colors. Dries quickly, fits well, perfect for work, a run or a ride.

June 10, 2020

Odd Underarm Fit

I generally like the feel of this shirt...unfortunately the shirt puffs out in the underarm area. I'm a slim-waist, larger busted woman, so I got the medium to ensure it didn't fit too snuggly under my armpits...but it bulges out oddly. But looks aside, it functions as described. I just wish it fit better!

May 20, 2020

A closet staple

I love this tank so much that I now own in 4 different colors. I have two from last season, and waiting for my new two to arrive. It is hard to find a tank that is cut like this. One of my pet peeves is a tight tank with fabric form fitting against my stomach. This tank has the perfect amount of flow, but is perfectly flattering and not too loose... Read More. I climb, bike, hike, yoga, run, grab a beer in this tank. The top cut is great too. If this tank ever discontinues, I might cry. On a technical side, the shirt is so light so it packs down easy, but it also dries fast if you sweat or get it wet. This tank comes with me on every single climbing trip. The ONE downside, is that this tank pills, like a lot. But I love the tank so much that i don't really mind. Too many good things seem to cancel out the one bad thing. It doesn't affect the performance at all.

May 8, 2020

Odd Fit in Chest Around Arm Pits

As previous reviews have stated, the tank has nice lines that fit everywhere but around the arm pit/chest. I am a 34C and there was extra fabric by the armpits that stuck out funny. It's as if the back was tapered in enough. I am a tried and true S in Patagonia, and am nervous that an XS will be too snug everywhere else. Not sure how to make t... Read Morehis a win... go with the frump look, or the hastle of a return/exchange?

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback and we are sorry for the troubles with sizing. If you'd like to try an XS we are happy to help make the [returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process as painless as possible.

March 8, 2020

Thin, transparent material

The tank is see through, will require doubling up another tank underneath to avoid being completely see through.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2020

Hi Megan, we're really sorry that this tank is see through. Please feel free to return it back to us under warranty if you're unsatisfied with it because of this. We've emailed you with all necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

January 15, 2020

Love love!

This tank is soft and comfy! I love the teal color! I ended up buying a second tank top because I liked it so much! It keeps you cool, dries quickly, and is soft on the skin. Wish it came in more colors though!

January 2, 2020

Capilene Cool Trail Tank

Fits very well.

November 11, 2019

Yes please

Super soft against the skin, side profile is flattering. Have a few of these now, and they are my favorite tanks.

September 30, 2019

Love It But Conflicted

I can't say enough how much I love this shirt. It dries so quickly, and it is super soft. I loved taking it hiking / backpacking HOWEVER it pilled so quickly after just a few uses. I washed my capilene cool trail shirts separately in their own garment bags on the delicate style and hung dry, but they still pilled!! I think I'm just going ... Read Moreto hand wash from now on, which is disappointing, but I really enjoy the fabric. I will not wear them backpacking anymore since friction from my pack increased the pilling on the back. It truly is a bummer since I backpacked with this in a downpour and it would wick / dry incredibly quickly. It would literally dry while hiking in the rain at 100% humidity - how incredible is that!? I love the capilene cool daily and capilene lightweight versions of this tank, but the lightweight snags on my pack, too. This particular version of the tank was great for backpacking due to its long torso... it would stay in place under the hipbelt and straps! Sadly, I don't want to prematurely ruin the shirt with my pack. I guess the pilling really is just esthetic, though. Ultimately, I will stick to this particular shirt for day hikes with an ultralight pack, the capilene cool lightweight is best for running / workouts, and the capilene cool daily for backpacking as it doesn't snag (I wish it had a longer torso like the trail version, though). The cut of this shirt is so flattering as I love shirts with long torsos! If the pilling didn't occur so easily, this would be 5 stars!

September 28, 2019

So in love with this

I bought 2 tops in different colors for the summer adventures of rock climbing and backpacking. Loved it so much that I couldn't resist in getting a third. I purchased XS (108#, 32C) in peach and in teal. I was concerned about the arm pit as some tops have arm holes too big and baggy for my preference. This was not an issue much to my delight.... Read More Peach is a bit more see through compared to the teal. It layers perfectly under a sun shirt or hoodie while climbing/climbing outdoors for 3 days. Wicks well, kept me cool and no stink! Great fit and flow for indoor climbs and trail running.

September 24, 2019

I love the fit of

I love the fit of this tank, it works great with the barely bra which I own a couple of. This is great for heavy workouts in warm weather, is super lightweight and soft, and dries fast. I wear them to the gym, biking, and hiking. I could probably wear them more out and about but the lighter colors are a bit see thru if that bothers you.

September 21, 2019

Love the material, it is

Love the material, it is very comfortable and light. I wore it hiking and even with a backpack on it didn't get icky sweaty.

September 14, 2019

Pilling

Fits and works like it’s supposed to but develops pilling after a few washes.

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2019

I'm sorry to here the tank is pilling. For this particular tank we recommend to machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry on low, cool iron, and not to use fabric softeners. It also might help not to wash the tank with fabrics that could potentially damage the tank such as denims or towels. You can also try a sweater stone to remove any unwanted pilling. If you aren't satisfied you are also more than welcome to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 9, 2019

Nice shirt, just didn't fit me

I ordered 2 of these tanks and unfortunately had to return both. They fit everywhere but were too big around the chest. I am a 34C and there was extra fabric by the armpits that stuck out funny. The length and fabric were nice and how they fit around my hips was great. I am a solid S and that's the size I ordered. I think an XS would have been... Read More too tight everywhere else.

September 5, 2019

One of my favorite

Love the look, fit and feel of this tank!

September 3, 2019

Comfortable easy to wear

I took my usual XS, 5' 4", 120 pounds, and fits well. I did return as I didn't like the color but plan to repurchase in a different color. Soft material and it doesn't hug your body closely, which will be good on a hot day, but still flattering fit.

September 2, 2019

Love this tank

I have two and they are great for hiking and working out. I am usually a small or medium depending on the cut and I am a small for this tank

August 30, 2019

awesome tank!

I love this product. I was a little worried about sizing, but I got a small and it works just fine. I am 5'6", 135 lbs. Like others have mentioned, there is a bit of a gap in the underarm area, but should not be an issue if you're wearing a sports bra. Lovely color and it's soft as heck!

August 25, 2019

fun run!

Love this tank. It is actually the third in my collection at this point as I am trying to transition out some old running stuffs. Living in Florida, running here in the summers can be pretty disgusting. This tank handles all my sweat and stink and still looks nice, and best yet, doesn't retain all that stink so is ready to go for the next run ... Read Moreafter a quick wash! I will say, that for super hot FL days this tank can verge on the heavy side, but that is where the Capilene Cool Lightweight Tank comes in. Super light and equally awesome!

August 22, 2019

Great tank!

Soft material, washes well, holds the shape. Runs a bit large, the first one I ordered were too big in the arm holes. Great colors!

August 21, 2019

Super cute and versatile

The material is very soft and comfy. The cut is perfect so it goes well with both sports shorts and denim shorts. I'm 110 pounds and xs fits me perfectly

August 15, 2019

Disappointing

Poorly cut, ill fitting and too thin material. Definitely would not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
August 28, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with your purchase. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

August 15, 2019

Comfy

This shirt is cut well and pretty comfy, but I din't get any sort of "wicking" from it. I like the cotton feel, though! It's pretty lightweight but it shows sweat and does not dry quickly. If you are looking for quick dry, look to the capilene cool daily shirt.

August 10, 2019

Very satisfied

The material is different but I like it. Love the way it hangs on my body and the fit is fantastic

August 10, 2019

Lovely tank top

I love this top for Barre3 class! It keeps me cool while looking good. Loved it so much I bought another color. I get lots of compliments whenever I wear it. Highly recommend!!

June 28, 2019

My Favorite Tank, Ever!

I want more colors!!! I like my tank tops to be a little flowy, i really don't like stretchy tanks tight against my stomach. But that tends to mean that the flowy tanks are super cute but not functional. This tank is the perfect solution! Cute, flattering AND functional! And the fit is just right. I climb both inside and out in this tank, and ... Read MoreI wear it out sometimes. I am 5'4 - 160 and I wear a medium.

June 26, 2019

Just right

I was looking for a light, airy tank for summer trail running and track workouts. The x-small was a perfect fit for my athletic frame: 5’4, 120 lbs. It’s not too loose or tight and doesn’t hang down low, so I can pair it with shorts that have a 2.5” inseam. The navy is a pretty heathered blue.

June 24, 2019

Gorgeous tank

I would own a hundred of these, but two will last me a long time, so I guess that will do. Flowy and breathable, but with a solid fit around the top that doesn't budge during activities. Lovely colors (I got the Mako Blue and Classic Navy) and they fit perfectly over the Barely Bra, without showing any straps. Highly recommend. I'm 5&#x27... Read More;8" and 130lbs, the small is just right.

May 18, 2019

Love this tank

Perfect - Fits nicely and not tight around the waist but also doesn't feel baggy. I wear for crossfit and running.

May 9, 2019

Just what I expected

Love the fit of this tank, it does gap just a bit under the arms but it’s totally not noticeable unless you’re pointing it out. Lightweight, color was exactly what I wanted and the neckline makes it feel like more than just a regular tank top. Can’t wait to wear this hiking in Colombia!

May 5, 2019

Glad I did

So, I was really reluctant to purchase this product. Not that I didn't think it'd be great... but it is a fair amount of $$ for a little bit of material. But, I was going to be in SE Asia (read hot an humid) for work and needed a top that was going to look nice, wear well, travel easily, and not look gross when things started getting swea... Read Morety... day after day of not washing. And well, this top exceeded in all expectations. I would recommend and most likely buy another one if I was going back again for longer... but the beauty of the product is that you shouldn't need tons of them if they're doing their job right (I do like switching up my color of the day though). Only docking this a star because it's still spendy for a tank top... but well worth it.

April 16, 2019

My go to tank!

I love this top, it goes perfect with jeans to go out to dinner, or pair with activewear for a day of climbing. Fit is perfect for my body, too.

April 15, 2019

So comfortable and flattering!

I wear this tank top almost every time I work out. It’s great for running, hiking, casual wear, literally everything! I am really short so I was worried about the fit because most tank tops don’t fit me well but it’s super flattering!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches