Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.1 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 58 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

4.1
True To Size
May 8, 2020

Not enough room for badonkadonk

I have the size 32 in Coriander Brown and they look slick. I find the included padded bike shorts to be very comfortable. I also like the hook-n-loop closure system on the integrated belt, as it basically custom fits the waist to your preference. But, the big deal breaker for me is that while the waist fits perfectly, it seems there isn't enou... Read Moregh room in the seat for my rear end. I'm athletic and have muscular glutes. They're far from oversized, but I certainly don't fall into the flat butt territory. Walking around, these shorts feel fine, but while I'm climbing on my bike, the fabric gets really tight at my hip flexors, making it feel like I have extra resistance on my legs. It's annoying enough that I'm starting to shop for a different type of short.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Sorry to hear the shorts have been disappointing, but we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 24, 2020

best mtb shorts

Don't usually write reviews, but these are the best shorts + liners i've ever used. Better than other pure mtb brands. For anyone on the fence you can't go wrong. I wasn't 100% sure as some complained the liner being too tight, but even though it feels like that initially i'm glad i gave it time and don't feel like tha... Read Moret after few rides; after going back to my other brands they feel just less supportive! love the design, i actually prefer the lack of silicone grips on the liner, which some other brands use to keep it from riding up the thigh (good design doesn't need gimmicks). The way the liners attach to the outside shorts is also superior to other designs. I can't go back to my old shorts now. These are just awesome and functional. The best chamois too,from the cut to the feel. I'm 5'10"-11" 180 lbs and the got size 33 (my regular waist size) for reference.

March 16, 2020

High quality shorts

These biking shorts are slim and comfortable biking shorts. All the reviews worried me regarding the sizing of the shorts (reviewed as being true to size) vs the chamois (generally reviewed as being way too small). In my experience, both are great fitting and work well while pedaling on the trail. I tried on the Patagonia 2020 styles of this short ... Read Moreat REI and those sizes were way too small. These 2019 styles are right on. Highly recommend these shorts. FYI - I'm 5'10" and 160 pounds and generally where a size 32 shorts. The size 32s are spot on.

January 11, 2020

Not for MTB

Nice shorts but not great for MTB. As others have said these shorts run extremely small in the waist. The leg opening is just the opposite way to big and baggy! Love Patagonia but it's always been hit or miss on sizing and cut.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Janocha, it's a bummer these ended up not fitting as you expected. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us if you'd like to do so, but haven't already. Our designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so thanks so much for your review! We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future.

December 9, 2019

Seem to fit small

Very comfy but seem to fit a bit small.

December 4, 2019

bike shorts

the right amount of stretch to durability. Taken some spills and they hold up well. Not like a DH pant but then again I want a comfortable short for the whole day of biking pedaling included.

December 4, 2019

permitting! Multi use short

I bought a size large because I was created with well endowed quads. Adjustment on the waist is great and the stretch makes them excellent from to pump track to the trail!

November 13, 2019

Fit tight

I have multiple pairs of Wavefarer shorts that I wear all summer size 34 waist. I can pull those 34’s off with unbuttoning they are so loose. I decided to get 33’s in the bike shorts because of the weight loss. These feel like 31’s. They are much tighter fit than other Patagonia shorts.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Justin, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with sizing. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 5, 2019

Great cut, just enough stretch!

Great cut, just enough stretch! The Chamois seems adequate, but haven't spent enough time on bike to rate.

October 31, 2019

awesome

nice, lightweight but durable, stretchy & very comfortable. Runs a bit small- I'm used to 34" patagonia pants, I had to return the 34s because they were too small. The cinching mechanism on the side is a great way to dial in the right fit without a belt.

October 29, 2019

Dirt Crafting

This product does it's job well. I like the zipper quality and pocket placement, preventing you from losing something out of your front/side pockets. I did find the shorts to fit a bit loose for a medium and a bit on the long side, but both are vey minimal. Very durable, even after a few hard falls.

October 23, 2019

Biking shorts

good fit, nice materials, cool looking

October 9, 2019

Excellent Product

Great mountain biking short. The liner fits well and stays put, does not seem to sag during riding, held into the sorts by a simple snap fastener - Love it because I can wash liner with each ride separately from the shorts themselves. Shorts have small secure zipper pocket on left leg, perfect for wallet. Hook and webbing design on waist is great, ... Read Moreshould be more durable than drawstring or elastic alone. So far super happy with this product. Have multiple pairs, consistency is great. Optimistic the longevity of this product will be great too. Thank you Patagonia!

October 8, 2019

Great

Love the color love the fit was a little concerned about the slim fit on my big sprinter ass but is just fine don’t notice it and didn’t hang up on the Brooke saddle at all I love these. I try to wear them all the time.

October 5, 2019

Sell them as separates!

I ordered a 33 and the outer shorts are excellent. They fit well, they have the exact pocket configuration that I want, they have a simple waist adjustment and no belt loops, no velcro, no shock cords, no mesh, and no flashy designs. They are sold by a great company who I support. But, they are packaged with a size M liner short and I popped a seam... Read More just trying to get them on. They are tiny and totally mismatched with the 33 outer shorts. Bike shorts, like women's two-piece bathing suits, should never be sold in pairs. Beyond the inconvenience of buying and returning paired items like these, there is an added environmental impact because some people will buy the whole package and throw away the piece that doesn't fit. Patagonia can, and should, do better than this.

Response from Patagonia
October 16, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this! I'm sorry to hear the internal liner short was not the right fit. Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 30, 2019

Good short, chamois too tight

Bought a 33" waist size. Short is great material, not too baggy, enough pockets, great waist adjustment (unlike the Dirt Roamer short) but needs to be sold with chamois separately. The chamois that comes with the size 33"is too tight as another reviewer noted. I would buy another pair at a lower price without the liner. Also, need a few m... Read Moreore colors..do people other than hunters still wear camo?

September 27, 2019

The Bike Short

I give it a 4 out of 5 because the Chamois insert seam is right on the bike seat and my Bum causing a little friction rub on the longer rides.

September 25, 2019

great fit and superior quality

the fit is amazing and really like the belt system. so much better than Velcro styles. length is good great for a day in the saddle.

September 11, 2019

Mtn bike shorts

Ordered 34. They seem to run small. Even 34 was tight. I normally wear 33 in everything. Bought on sale, would not pay full price for this product. Zipper on left needs to lock when folded over so it can be half open to retrieve phone. Other pockets worked well.

September 9, 2019

Dirt Craft Shorts - A miss fit for me

Avid mountain biker, I was interested in these for the liner to also pair with other mountain bike shell shorts I have. Patagonia would do well to offer liners and shorts separately. I'm 5'-10", 147lb, and in Patagonia stuff, usually 30-31-32 waist, so small to medium. 30 was much too small, the outer 32 just right, and size M liner ... Read Moregenerally an ok fit. But, the liner did not work for me. Not so much due to size, but design. Two things didn't work for me: 1) I spun a bit on my bike and found the legs ride up and bunch up when you pedal; 2) the chamois pad is thinner than some and has a complex anatomical cut (good), which should work well, but the coverage still felt thick in the back, yet in the front area was not wide or snug enough to do it's job (containment) and had an outer edge seam that was a concern for chaffing. I think these could be great shorts with a bit of tweaking.

September 8, 2019

Back up second pair

Most comfortable MTB shorts pairing I have found

September 3, 2019

MTB shorts

The shorts run small. They are quite snug at the waist and thighs. This surprises me because I have a pair from several years ago that are the same size but fit more comfortably. The build quality and material is great. Order a size up.

September 1, 2019

Dirtcraft shorts

Relieved quite a bit of saddle pain. Primo features

August 31, 2019

swish swish

Although the construction is superb and the camo print tickles me pink, the nylon swish swish swish through the woods is very annoying. Feels like I'm wearing an old umbrella. Couldn't you have woven a little stretchy cotton in with the recycled nylon? Just saying....

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear that fabric is causing an annoyance. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these, please feel free to so. We appreciate the feedback and please let us know if we can offer any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 22, 2019

Craft Bike Shorts are well worth it

I was skeptical at first, but I was convinced they were the best riding shorts/liner combo I've ever owned after my first ride. I am 5'8" at 200 lbs and purchased them in a size 36. The liners fit perfectly and the shorts needed to be cinched tighter, but with the adjustable fit system they too fit me perfectly now. I am a fan for su... Read Morere.

August 18, 2019

Great shorts but inner short is too tight

The shorts look great and are expected quality. Unfortunately the spandex padded short is too tight/too much tension. The waist size is right on the outer short (even had to tighten 2 notches) but the spandex is uncomfortably tight, feels like compression shorts not bike shorts. (outer short runs true to size, inner runs small, but cannot be order... Read Moreed separately)

August 16, 2019

Dirt Craft Bike Shorts

I really like these bike shorts. They're very comfortable, functional, and breathable. The cham is very protective and cushy, perfect for long rides and post-adventure tacos.

August 15, 2019

Great bike shorts

I would actually give these 4.75 stars. They fit well and are very comfortable. The only feature I think could be improved is the sizing mechanism. Sliding the little sizing clasps in and out of the loops is not easy.

August 11, 2019

Pretty nice shorts

Well constructed and stylish. The cut isn’t my favorite, as well as the size matching on the liner. The liner is a bit too small and the cut of the shorts is a little too large. The seat and legs are a bit baggy (I tried a size smaller and they were too tight). It would be better if more stretch fabric were used, as the baggy fit tends to get snagg... Read Moreed on my saddle when going from standing to sitting. Overall it’s a really nice pair of shorts.

August 10, 2019

2nd pair- my goto for rides

Having tried several different shorts & inserts for mt biking I finally tried Patagonia's option. Just a great product (as usual) and this was my 2nd pair as I got tired of pulling the first pair out of the wash pile so I could use them.

August 10, 2019

Dirt Craft shorts

Extremely comfortable, perfect fit. Excellent biking short. Liner fits great. I wear them as a hiking/ walk short often too because there so comfortable.

August 10, 2019

Best biking shorts

Everything about these shorts was well thought out. The hooks to tighten the waist work well. The material is soft and stretchy. The chamois is very comfortable.

August 10, 2019

Great bike shorts

I’ve waited to write a review until I put some time into these shorts. The fit is great, they accommodate a smaller knee pad but not really a dh set of knee pads. At least not for me. I like the adjustable tabs for when you start dropping pounds, or open them up after winter when you’re on the large side. Glad they have regular side pockets since s... Read Moreome brands don’t and the snack pocket is pretty good. I like the chammy as well. I own two of them now and will probably buy a third pair to put in the rotation.

August 10, 2019

No Pack Required

These shorts really came alive when riding downhill parks. Two top pockets are great for snacks and gels while the left thigh pocket is great for phone, wallet, and car keys. Also, these shorts pair well with the Endless Ride Liner Bib for truly a no pack ride.

August 10, 2019

Dirt Craft Shorts

Simple. Best short/liner combo I’ve owned.

August 10, 2019

Shorts

Love riding bikes, love riding bikes with these shorts. Pockets are useful and well designed, phone pocket works so well that I regularly feel like it isn’t there! Wish the Mrs. would ok more pairs!

August 6, 2019

Solid

I just got a pair of these recently and they are a nice upgrade of the Fox Ranger shorts I've used the last few years. The waist stays up much, much better when under a fanny pack or hip belt and the crotch is a bit higher so less saddle interference. I would agree with many others that it would be great to have the option to buy these shorts ... Read Morewithout a liner. I have a number of other chamois already and it would reduce the cost. Between a better pocket layout and better overall fit than the Dirt Roamer shorts, Patagonia could do just fine offering only these in a liner/no liner option.

June 19, 2019

Sizing needs to be addressed

I like the shorts but have to return them because while the outers are waist specific, the liners are not and come in S-M-L etc. The outers fit well, but, in my case, the liners are way too tight. Bikers often have large quads. Patagonia needs to give customers the option of purchasing the liner size and not just the outer shorts.

May 31, 2019

Excellent for bike touring and mountain biking

I'm 5'9" 135lbs and the small fits well. I use these for bike tours and mountain biking and like them a lot for both. A couple years ago I biked in the Netherlands and wore them every day. Headed back in July of 2019 and I'll wear them again! I like the simple design. Side pocket can carry a phone without bouncing around. I also... Read More like the belt-less design. And they look good when I'm eating cheese and drinking Dutch beer along the canal!

May 23, 2019

My new favorite bike shorts

The cushion on the Liner of these bad boys is absolute luxury. My butt is not mad at me for making this purchase. I have a size 34 waist and could not bring myself to size up but I think it fits a little small. The waist band has a great synch so I would recommend sizing up. Of course as we get into bike season I have already become more of a true ... Read More34 so I am glad that I went with that size even though it felt a little tight during our first adventure. I am going to get myself another pair. They are super breathable and are great for enduro and cross country style riding.

May 15, 2019

Liner delete

The shorts look amazing. They add a little more capability than the Roamer shorts but the liner should be sold separately. I would buy multiple pairs if it wasn't for the liner, so for now I will have to stick with the Roamer (which is still a badass short).

May 13, 2019

Dirt Craft Bike Shorts-Amazing

Perfect for every type of mnt biking! Easy to move it, but can handle sharp sticks etc. without ripping. Best shorts I’ve ever owned.

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

I like the minimalist design—don't need to carry much of anything in pockets while riding trails. I was so pleased with the first pair that I bought a second pair. My life is now complete.

May 8, 2019

My new favorite cycling shorts!

These are great minimalist riding shorts, with an innovative belt system, pretty good pockets (although I'd like to see another zippered thigh pocket on the right side too) and lightweight, comfortable fabric (the Mojave camo pattern is actually really classy, for lifestyle camo). I've worn them with the liners, which are good, and withou... Read Moret (capilene short boxer briefs). I am 5"10" and 143 lbs and wear a M 31 and the shorts fit loosely enough to be comfortable when riding twisty single track, and snugly enough to do 50-mile road ride without feeling chafey. Based on past experience with these kinds of things, I expect I could ride the shell for a week+ between washings, provided I could swap liners and/or do sink/stream laundry. I held back from a 5-star rating because I haven't worn them long enough to assess their durability, even though the soft fabric seems tough enough. Well done, Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Love the stretch!!

These are great shorts, fit well, love the adjustment system but I wish it stayed at my adjustment after washing. The inner liner is great but could use a little more padding in my opinion

March 27, 2019

Great Short Except for the Liner

I bought these in a 38" inch waist is what I normally wear unless sizing is generic and then I wear an XL. The shorts themselves fit great, actually I have to use the adjustment bands on the side to cinch the shorts down. So I would say the outer shorts run big, which is fine because there is lots of adjustment at the waistband. The liner/cham... Read Moreois fit terrible though and I can't even wear them. The liner that came with my shorts says XL for size, but it is insanely tight. The are very uncomfortable and ride up. I tried to wear them, but after a week I gave up. I would try again but the waistband is now folded over and will not return to shape, even after multiple washings. I still wear the shorts, I just use a different liner that actually fits and is comfortable. For the price of these shorts, this is a bad deal and I would not buy again. I can basically only use half of the product I bought. The supplied liner is nowhere near the same size as the actual short and that is disappointing.

March 23, 2019

Good Shorts

These are great mountain bike shorts that are a nice alternative to all the typical super baggy options that are offered by a lot of the typical companies you see on the trails. I'm 5'10" and about 165 lbs (less at the end of the biking season). These fit my build well. Some of Patagonia's "slim" fit items are too co... Read Morenstrictive for me. These "regular" fit shorts are good. I have a few of the older version of these shorts with belt loops. BRING THE BELT LOOPS BACK! It's really nice to put a soft nylon belt on. It lets your shorts stay up better without cinching them down so tight. Seriously, put the belt loops back on. It can't cost more than 50 cents to add those, and if people don't want them, they can just not use them.

March 6, 2019

Good design but very poor durability

One of the few Patagonia products I have had to return ..Fit and styling is good but 3 key problems welded seam came undone zip pulls corroded and fell off waistband of liner badly distorted shape after a few washes and wears All of this in less than 1 year of weekend use only ..I have other Patagonia products that are still going strong after 10+... Read More years Sorry you need to go back to review materials and construction methods on this one

January 16, 2019

Realky good, but not perfect.

I purchased the Dirt Craft shorts as my primary warm weather mtn bike shorts. Both the liner and the over short fit well together. Both pieces have good stretch. The chamois is good for a few hour ride. I find the fit is conforming enough to prevent the shorts from catching on the nose of the saddle. The only item I wish was different was there was... Read More a bib liner option. If there was a bib liner option I’d give 1 more star.

November 7, 2018

Not so great

Gives me no joy to say it, but these MTB shorts are so-so overall. Even at the sale price, they are wildly overpriced compared with other shorts & liners from top-line bike clothing retailers. A short list of lowlights: overall fit of shorts is decent but not exceptional; durability is mediocre both in terms of trail use and after washing; funk... Read Morey waistband adjustment on shorts needs to be redone frequently; liners have that “flubby bacon” waistband construction that customers intensely dislike on some of Patagonia’s boxer short designs. First time in 10 years I can not recommend a Patagonia product.

September 14, 2018

Better Build Quality & More Durable

I broke down and purchased the Dirt Craft shorts after a pair of MTB shorts from another brand ripped on the very first ride. The workmanship of these shorts is vastly better than other brands. I also prefer the Patagonia liner which conforms very nicely to your body. I also like the fit which provides plenty of mobility for pedaling without being ... Read Moreoverly bulky. Pocket placement is one thing I would suggest improving. I like having a pair of zippered slash pockets to hold keys and a cell phone when I’m taking short rides without a pack.

August 28, 2018

Raised chamois seam may be a problem

the jury's not totally in on these - on a few early rides I liked them a lot. Then I started getting some inner cheek chafing. I think its the raised seam where the chamois is sewn into the liner. If you buy these in a store, check out the raised seam and make an informed decision.

July 24, 2018

Still Picky, but Pleased

After some displeasure with last year's version of the Dirt Craft shorts, I was excited to see that they were revised for this year. In typical Patagonia fashion, they didn't overhaul these shorts, but rather made a few key tweaks which have had a huge effect. First and foremost, the move to inch-sized baggies as opposed to S/M/L was wise... Read More. Jumps between sizes are smaller, and are more specifically cut with each size. Additionally, it seems like they made extra room in the seat for cyclist-types and for riding position. The leg seems to have been slimmed out a bit as well, leaving much less extra material to get caught up. The things I loved about the first version are still there: super lightweight material, great stretch, articulated and contoured knee, excellent breathability, plenty of waist adjustment, the list goes on... Another complaint of mine from last year has been addressed with the 18S version: the pockets. I think they're a bit deeper, but not so much that stuff bounces around on your legs as you pedal; just enough to hold a phone securely. A couple of things still keep me from giving these a full 5-star rating, though. I almost never wear the liner which comes as a part of the Dirt Craft system. I've come to pretty much only wear bib shorts, and a waist-short just doesn't feel sufficient anymore -- plus, the pocketing which has been added to many bib liners would be a great complement to these or the Dirt Roamer. I have a sneaking suspicion that I won't have to wait too long for these, but I'd love to see them offered as a package with a Dirt Roamer or Dirt Craft outer short. The second minor issue I have is the Dirt Craft shorts' length. 11.5" seems long, but when worn with knee pads I have experienced them riding up a bit while pedaling, despite my short, 29" inseam. Overall, they rock, but still have room for improvement. If you don't mind a waist-height liner, you won't have much to complain about with these. If you prefer bibs, save the short liners for quick evening rides or commuting, and the baggies still jive well with the bibs of your choice.

June 21, 2018

Perfection!

I have the original / 1st design of these shorts and while they were a great pair of cycling shorts,Patagonia updated them and have made them perfect! 1st they created more sizing,so you can achieve a perfect fit instead of having to choose from s,m,l,xl,they made the adjustable belt loops smaller so that the hooks will not fall out as easily,and t... Read Morehey made the leg opening a little wider so that cyclist legs will fit more comfortably. With the original pair,the large was perfect in waist but way too tight in the thighs. XL fit my legs but I had way to much room in the waist. With the updated 36" waist my legs can fit and the adjustable waist is much more manageable. The material feels bombproof and the chamois is extremely comfortable and breathable. I will definitely be purchasing another pair of these,very satisfied!

May 28, 2018

Crafted for Excellence

Perfect for road,mountain,and cross cycle biking. Very comfy and also look normal if you're out and about. Pocket on the side is excellent and fits a phone or wallet. Adjustable belt on the shorts are easy to use too.

May 25, 2018

Great Liner

Bought these last fall and I love them. The chamois is great and the liner stays put. They are the best MTB liner I've used so far. The over shorts have a clever loop system that doesn't rely on velcro,and they don't sag while riding,which means I don't snag the shorts on my saddle. Also the button doesn't rely on thread,bu... Read Moret uses webbing to attach it to the shorts. Overall,a clever well thought out design.

March 4, 2018

Fantastic mtb shorts

I've ridden on these heavily for the past six months. Quality and fit is fantastic. Pockets fit everything you could need. The Liner breathes really well and shows no wear yet; has the right amount of padding.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches