Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11½"

Write Your Review

4.0 /5

Filter Reviews

All 11 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11½"

4.0
July 7, 2020

Perfect for long days in the saddle!

My primary shorts during a recent 2 day bike tour! Liners are very comfortable even after 10+ hours in the saddle. Side hip pocket works well for a phone. Front pockets ample for energy gels or other small items. We stopped to swim during the day, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the liners dried. Heed the advice to order up - the ladd... Read Moreer webbing adjustment is great - lots of flexibility, Overall great design, and worth the price!

July 6, 2020

Liner is a bummer

Shorts seemed great but after taking them on a ride its clear that without something around the bottom of the liner to grip your leg, they're useless. The liners ride up and get really uncomfortable and have to be adjusted multiple times over the ride. Wish I had just gotten the dirt roamer shorts and saved some money.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the liners aren't working for you. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, you are welcome to.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts. Liner could be better.

I love the shorts. Fit, feel and function are great. The liner is where I have my gripes. Compared to the length of the shorts, the liner needs to be longer. I would also highly recommend a "gasket" be added to the end of the liner so they do not migrate up the thigh while riding. With larger quads, the liners end sliding up my thigh near... Read More my hip. Bottom line: I wear the shorts, but have ditched the liner.

June 3, 2020

Shallow Pockets

Im a standard 30/small waist in all Patagonia and I wear these in a 32. Im a big fan of the cut (perfect for knee pads), however I wish the material was a 4 way stretch. My biggest complaint is the pocket depth. There really is no excuse for why its so shallow. If youre going to have the front pocket, you should be able to fit a phone in it comfort... Read Moreably. Hoping for an update on the next iteration.

May 27, 2020

Great shorts

I bought my first pair 2 years ago and have worn them 2-3 times per week spring through fall. My go to mtb shorts. I bought a second pair this year so I can wash my other pair ;) My first pair other than a blood stain look basically bran new, the liners have stretched a bit, but it hasn't affected the fit. Great shorts, and I highly recommend!... Read More

May 14, 2020

Waist too tight, legs too big

I have to agree with other reviewers. The waist on these shorts felt a touch tight, but the legs were far to long and baggy. What I got looked nothing like the pictures on the website, which is too bad because I had high hopes for the liner.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these weren't what you had expected and that they aren't fitting well. Please note, you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us that you're unsatisfied with.

May 8, 2020

Great shorts, short pockets not so much.

I bought a pair of these and loved them so I ordered another pair. Great quality construction, adjustable waist, nice cycling pad. Second pair came with front pockets 2/3 the depth of the first pair. I used to wear Patagonia pants of all sorts but the pockets keep shrinking while phones keep getting larger. Why do pockets keep shrinking? Am I the o... Read Morenly person that puts my phone in my front pocket? Great shorts though.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, Jake! The Men's Dirt Craft shorts are now on their third iteration since 2017, so it's possible you have two slightly different designs. Many riders use a hip pack or back pack instead of pockets, but if you find the size of those pockets to be a deal-breaker we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

May 8, 2020

True to size exactly, but consider buying a size up

These shorts are precisely tailored; true to fit 100% (I measured two pairs). Because these shorts have an adjustable system, but an inelastic waistline otherwise (the tightest adjustment will be inelastic) I'd recommend getting a size-up from your normal preference for waist-dimensions in a pant/short. You can always cinch them up a bit, but ... Read Moregoing too small is unforgiving with these shorts. Other than that, these shorts are so great: lots of pocket space, very durable, light, and perfect for riding or hiking!

April 28, 2020

Nothing SHORT of awesome

I've had these shorts for about 5 years now and I have ABUSED them. They've handled everything I can throw at them. Biking for hours on end, season after season. Whether you're on a seemingly never ending ascent or an increasingly questionable descent they are the perfect combo between ventilation and durability. Take out the liners ... Read Moreand BOOM a solid pair of climbing and hiking shorts. They are my go to attire for my legs from spring to fall no matter the activity.

April 25, 2020

Excellent shorts!

I have only work these shorts once, so not a long term review but I have to say that these shorts are spot on. The chamois is high quality, comfortable, light, and breathable. The outer shorts have great features and have nothing that needs removing. Pockets are well positioned and not over-sized. The tailored knee gives coverage in the front w... Read Morehere needed, but doesn't have extra fabric in the back that will annoy the back of your leg. Nothing gets in the way. These are perfect shorts for an all-day ride and are casual enough that you don't look like the bike nerd that you are. I would buy a second pair.

March 15, 2020

Dirt Craft Shorts Rip!

Got these shorts to replace my ancient chamois and shorts combo for mountain biking and bikepacking. Outta the box they looked great and the quality was on point. Im a 31 and ordered the 32 and they fit perfect with the far out adjustment system. Chamois is very comfy and breathes great. After a long day in the saddle I was still stoked on them! Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches