Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11½"

Write Your Review

4.3/5

null

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 38 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11½"

4.3/5
April 14, 2021

Great pair of shorts, liner could use some work

I absolutely love these dirt craft bike shorts- great fit, not too baggy, but not super tight either- just right. The removable liner portion however could use some adjustment. I'm 5'8, slender build, and usually wear size 28 waist pants/shorts. I had originally purchased the size 28 version of these shorts, which fit well too, but the li... Read Morener was SUPER small. I upgraded to the 30" short hoping the liner size would be better. It is, but just barely. I'm hoping with a few washes and use the liner will stretch out a bit, but on first use it is pretty tight.

April 12, 2021

Durable yet light weight

Great movement and stretch in these riding shorts. The material is pretty light weight and abrasion resistant. Bought this short for some cross country rides and they are perfect for longer rides in the saddle.

April 10, 2021

Another fantastic Patagonia product

Great shorts... love the adjustability in the waist, material is light but durable and allows for full fluid movement.

April 8, 2021

MTB shorts

I have a big round butt so my normal size waist 34 was too tight. Big thighs too so went up to a 36 so my fit was better but shorts are a bit long. Be nice if u offered short length options. IE...short standard and long

April 6, 2021

Weird sizing but versatile

I normally wear a 30 in Patagonia board shorts, so when I read that this combo bike short and liner ran small I ordered a few sizes. The 32 was what I felt most comfortable buying though I NEVER get a 32, in anything. If you can get past the weird sizing, the PRO things to consider are: the removable liner means you can take it or leave it (or use ... Read Moreit with another pair of shorts), and you'll still have the lightweight and pretty comfy shorts to kick around in. The zipper pocket on the left side is perfect for a fat iPhone and the adjustable belt loops are, well, ok. But you may not need them if your shorts fit like mine do. The not-entirely-awesome but acceptable NON-PRO parts: the little front pockets aren't really gonna do you any favors, they're pretty shallow. And the liner, though well-padded, is kinda see-thru on the sides. So unless that's the look you're going for, I'd cover them up with something when you hit the trails.

April 6, 2021

Get em

I have four of these. The liners are great. Mesh of sorts on parts of the leg. The outer shorts have little adjustable straps for the waist. Pockets for hands, or hanging out. Side pocket for phone. Use the outer layer for hiking or swimming. Multi usable on a trip

March 18, 2021

Best summer mtb shorts

These have become my go to for all but cold mtb days. Lightweight, but tough, they feel great. The liner is comfortable, and great for long rides. I have 2 sets. Hoping for a third, as I really dont care to use any of my others.

March 16, 2021

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small!!! Still very happy with my pants!!!

January 28, 2021

Run small but fantastic

Fast becoming my favorite shorts/ liners for long trail rides. I wear a 33-34 pant and had to trade out to an XL in these since they fit small. Wish there were more zippered pockets on them but otherwise 5/5

January 28, 2021

True to fit

These shorts are very comfortable for long rides, are just right in the crotch such that there is nothing to catch the saddle, and are a great length. Although I havent ridden with knee pads, I dont think they would interfere. My only critique is that they are truly a 36 with no give. You can always move the waist band in- but there is no elastic i... Read Moref you want more space. Probably should have ordered a 38. Im 62, 255 lbs with a 36 waist.

January 16, 2021

Excellent short. Run tiny or Im thicker than Id like to admit

Great short. Very lightweight. Very durable. Great size adjustability. Great stretch. I wear a 33-34 in most all pants. I have legs and a butt, but am athletic, not fat. The 33 in this short wasnt even button-able around my waist. I went with a 36 and Im I have plenty of room to tighten them as they stretch over time. 35 probably would have been ... Read Moreperfect.

December 30, 2020

excellent, with room for improvement

I don't usually take the time for reviews unless a product is either great or terrible. These shorts are exceptionally tough and comfortable. I purchased them in April 2018 and have worn them nearly every ride since. They've been through wrecks that have bruised ribs and broken bones, and are still going strong today with minimal signs of... Read More wear. The fit is slim (for me)--I could probably get away with a 31, but I have more meat in the hips. The 32 gives me room to move without needing to tighten the waist cinch to the max. The liner is the weakest link, mostly because it doesn't have a ton of room for male anatomy. I'd prefer more of a pouch shape up front. Otherwise, the liner shows only a little more wear than the shorts, and remains functional. Well done. I'll buy another pair if these ever fall apart.

December 15, 2020

Great for trails, could double as casual wear

I could use a bit more cinch from the waistband to counter my middle-aged shape, but the shorts are otherwise excellent. The chamois pads well, the zip pocket holds my cell phone unnoticeably, and they are comfortable to ride in. I've also worn the shorts minus the chamois for casual rides and that's comfortable also. I like the seam arra... Read Morengement, it seems well designed.

December 5, 2020

Great Riding Shorts

The shorts and liner fit great. Going to purchase another pair when the weather warns up. Two thumps up!

December 3, 2020

Awesome shorts

These shorts are great. I wear them for mountain biking & hiking. Super comfy and move well with you. Only complaint is they run a little small. I first ordered a 31 - cause I have a pair of Landfarer shorts in that size that fit perfect - and had to return for a 33.

November 14, 2020

These shorts are great

You know its a great product when you put something on and then dont think about it for the entire ride. These shorts and the liner have been amazing. I've used them at downhill park rides and XC trail rides. I have 2 pairs and will prob buy more next season.

November 9, 2020

Sizing Off

So excited to see my favorite brand start developing clothing for my favorite sport. However I have tried both of their riding shorts and both have serious sizing problems. Neither are close to being my favorite riding shorts, and considering the price that's a real bummer. The Dirt Craft Shorts are too tight. It is frustrating to see a very c... Read Moreool hook and webbing waist adjustment system added to a pair of shorts that are so tight the feature is useless. The shorts are also too tight throughout the entire fit, and makes putting a phone in the pocket uncomfortable while pedaling. Considering the chamois fits well, and even a bit big, the over short being so tight was such a disappointment.

October 10, 2020

Sell separately without the liner!

Great shorts especially compared to the dirt roamer which has an ill conceived waist cinch. Basically it cinches but doesn't stay cinched. But that's another review. The dirt roamer is durable and solid all around and has a much better waist adjustment. The problem is paying extra for a chamois that doesn't fit. Size 33-34" wais... Read Moret and the chamois was waaayyy too tight. Selling them separately would make a lot more sense, no?

September 21, 2020

Order one size up. First ride seems good

Ordered these as a replacement for the poorly made Dirt Roamer shorts (avoid!). They seem much better built and only slightly heavier, so these are the best bet in the lineup, although I feel the three options are not very good overall. Order one size larger than you need so you have room to adjust the waist band in either direction. I ordered my p... Read Moreroper size and there is no room to loosen them if I have too many post ride burritos. Oddly the Dirt Roamers seem to run well larger than size. Positives - three pockets, pretty lightweight, seams are fully stitched and should last much longer than Dirt Roamer. Appears durable enough for the lightweight category. Negatives - Front pockets rather shallow, should be sold w/ out a liner. Liners are a dime a dozen, and I wear the much better Troy Lee's w/ built in hip and thigh pads, so these liners are an extra expense likely many experienced riders don't need. The two front pockets are pretty shallow, so don't put anything in there that you can't afford to lose while riding. Fine for walking around though. Don't want to sound overly negative, but Patagonia are just not managing this category well, and after 30 years of purchasing their products, I'm allowed to be honest if they have my hard earned money. Every mtb short in the Men's category is a miss. You can do much better with a little thought. If I didn't have a credit to burn, I would have asked for a full refund and shopped elsewhere. Will be interesting to see if Patagonia published this review, as they seem to be slow to add the not-so-rosy ones. Happy riding.

September 17, 2020

Great Pair of Shorts

These shorts have been terrific for me. The liner works well and is comfortable. The shorts do run small. I usually wear a 32 inch waist across all of my pants/shorts, but the 32 in these shorts was too small. I went to the 34 and did a little adjusting with the hook and loop system on the side, and the shorts fit perfectly. These shorts are versat... Read Moreile as they wear and look great off the bike without the liner.

September 14, 2020

Perfect for my needs

I love the stretchiness of the shorts, and the fact that they generally stay in place - no worries about catching on my seat as I'm moving around. As others have noted, they run a bit small.

September 13, 2020

Poor sizing

The adjustable belt is useless as the size 30 is exactly 30 inches when the belt is completely open. Had two shipped from the US to Europe where I live as I couldnt find them here. I use them and like them but if I eat a few big meals, they might not fit anymore.....pity.

September 10, 2020

Fits right, looks good

The included liner is well padded and excellent quality. I ride multiple times per week and it is my new favorite. Also has convenient pockets including a secure zipper pocket. You will not be disappointed!

September 2, 2020

Great Shorts

Awesome shorts, ride with them daily. Not only do they stand up to use better than competitors but the chamois is far more comfortable after countless trail rides than any competitor

September 2, 2020

Versatile short

Originally bought for mountain biking but with the liner out these are great climbing shorts and work well for casual days in town.

August 14, 2020

Smiling and Styling

I used these shorts (with some Endless Ride liners) for gravel biking and mountain biking, where I need to be in the saddle for hours of up and down but don't want to look like I'm riding the Tour de France.

August 6, 2020

Awesome MTB shorts but...

I have a number of other Patagonia items that I wear so I was super excited to be able to purchase something specific to mountain biking! The shorts are super comfortable and light with an added bonus that water drips away when wet! The liner feels great and really compliments the shorts! However, after my 6th ride, in noticed the stitching below t... Read Morehe zipper started to unravel, which is where a lot of the movement happens on a mountain bike. For the price point, I would expect these shorts to last longer than it did and it's such a bummer because these shorts are really comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2020

Hi Rex, we're sorry to hear about the untimely wear on your Dirt Crafts. We'd be happy to help out with a repair or return. You welcome to begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 7, 2020

Perfect for long days in the saddle!

My primary shorts during a recent 2 day bike tour! Liners are very comfortable even after 10+ hours in the saddle. Side hip pocket works well for a phone. Front pockets ample for energy gels or other small items. We stopped to swim during the day, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the liners dried. Heed the advice to order up - the ladd... Read Moreer webbing adjustment is great - lots of flexibility, Overall great design, and worth the price!

July 6, 2020

Liner is a bummer

Shorts seemed great but after taking them on a ride its clear that without something around the bottom of the liner to grip your leg, they're useless. The liners ride up and get really uncomfortable and have to be adjusted multiple times over the ride. Wish I had just gotten the dirt roamer shorts and saved some money.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the liners aren't working for you. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, you are welcome to.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts. Liner could be better.

I love the shorts. Fit, feel and function are great. The liner is where I have my gripes. Compared to the length of the shorts, the liner needs to be longer. I would also highly recommend a "gasket" be added to the end of the liner so they do not migrate up the thigh while riding. With larger quads, the liners end sliding up my thigh near... Read More my hip. Bottom line: I wear the shorts, but have ditched the liner.

June 3, 2020

Shallow Pockets

Im a standard 30/small waist in all Patagonia and I wear these in a 32. Im a big fan of the cut (perfect for knee pads), however I wish the material was a 4 way stretch. My biggest complaint is the pocket depth. There really is no excuse for why its so shallow. If youre going to have the front pocket, you should be able to fit a phone in it comfort... Read Moreably. Hoping for an update on the next iteration.

May 27, 2020

Great shorts

I bought my first pair 2 years ago and have worn them 2-3 times per week spring through fall. My go to mtb shorts. I bought a second pair this year so I can wash my other pair ;) My first pair other than a blood stain look basically bran new, the liners have stretched a bit, but it hasn't affected the fit. Great shorts, and I highly recommend!... Read More

May 14, 2020

Waist too tight, legs too big

I have to agree with other reviewers. The waist on these shorts felt a touch tight, but the legs were far to long and baggy. What I got looked nothing like the pictures on the website, which is too bad because I had high hopes for the liner.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these weren't what you had expected and that they aren't fitting well. Please note, you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us that you're unsatisfied with.

May 8, 2020

True to size exactly, but consider buying a size up

These shorts are precisely tailored; true to fit 100% (I measured two pairs). Because these shorts have an adjustable system, but an inelastic waistline otherwise (the tightest adjustment will be inelastic) I'd recommend getting a size-up from your normal preference for waist-dimensions in a pant/short. You can always cinch them up a bit, but ... Read Moregoing too small is unforgiving with these shorts. Other than that, these shorts are so great: lots of pocket space, very durable, light, and perfect for riding or hiking!

May 8, 2020

Great shorts, short pockets not so much.

I bought a pair of these and loved them so I ordered another pair. Great quality construction, adjustable waist, nice cycling pad. Second pair came with front pockets 2/3 the depth of the first pair. I used to wear Patagonia pants of all sorts but the pockets keep shrinking while phones keep getting larger. Why do pockets keep shrinking? Am I the o... Read Morenly person that puts my phone in my front pocket? Great shorts though.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, Jake! The Men's Dirt Craft shorts are now on their third iteration since 2017, so it's possible you have two slightly different designs. Many riders use a hip pack or back pack instead of pockets, but if you find the size of those pockets to be a deal-breaker we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 28, 2020

Nothing SHORT of awesome

I've had these shorts for about 5 years now and I have ABUSED them. They've handled everything I can throw at them. Biking for hours on end, season after season. Whether you're on a seemingly never ending ascent or an increasingly questionable descent they are the perfect combo between ventilation and durability. Take out the liners ... Read Moreand BOOM a solid pair of climbing and hiking shorts. They are my go to attire for my legs from spring to fall no matter the activity.

April 25, 2020

Excellent shorts!

I have only work these shorts once, so not a long term review but I have to say that these shorts are spot on. The chamois is high quality, comfortable, light, and breathable. The outer shorts have great features and have nothing that needs removing. Pockets are well positioned and not over-sized. The tailored knee gives coverage in the front w... Read Morehere needed, but doesn't have extra fabric in the back that will annoy the back of your leg. Nothing gets in the way. These are perfect shorts for an all-day ride and are casual enough that you don't look like the bike nerd that you are. I would buy a second pair.

March 15, 2020

Dirt Craft Shorts Rip!

Got these shorts to replace my ancient chamois and shorts combo for mountain biking and bikepacking. Outta the box they looked great and the quality was on point. Im a 31 and ordered the 32 and they fit perfect with the far out adjustment system. Chamois is very comfy and breathes great. After a long day in the saddle I was still stoked on them! Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches