burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11?"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 105 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 11?"

4.4/5
Kinda Small
September 21, 2022

Well done....again

Bought these shorts and was a little nervous, I'm used to wearing bibs underneath my mtb shorts. These liners are super comfy and breathable. The shorts are the same. Good on both long XC rides and doing party laps off the chair. Another zipper pocket would make these shorts perfect. Thanks for another exceptional product.

September 20, 2022

Runs small and extra long

I'd heard good things about these shorts so I decided to give them a shot. I'm normally a 34 waist but after reading reviews, I ordered a 36. They were still a bit snug and I would probably be more comfortable in an even larger size, but the length fit way longer than the images shown. I'm tall with long legs and they still sat below... Read More my knees. I wish Patagonia offered different lengths and more accurate sizing for these shorts.

September 14, 2022

Light, Comfortable but only One Zipper

Everything is awesome about these shorts. Adjustments, breathability, comfort etc. However there is only ONE zipper pocket on the side. Yes, the pocket is large but zipper pockets are crucial for storing MTB goods, especially on shorter rides when not wearing a pack. Hope the next model has at least zipper pockets on both sides.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Thanks for your valuable feedback on the features of these mountain bike shorts, Adam!

September 6, 2022

So light you forget you are wearing them

These are great shorts for biking and then enjoying a beverage in the parking lot afterward. I've purchased about 10 pairs. They are very comfortable and allow for a wide range of movement for technical riding. The built in belt also works really well as you start to lose weight during the riding season. Only downside is they could really lose... Read More some reinforcement in the saddle area. Great shorts.

September 1, 2022

These are some expensive shorts!

These are some expensive shorts! But they're also the best shell/liner combo shorts that I've tried. The fit is to the inch and you also have a unique tightening system that is non bulky and works well. The material is nice and stretchy and light/breathable. I have no complaints other than the price and maybe color. The "grey" ... Read Morethat I bought are more like powder blue. If you're a mtn biker that is picky about thier equipment give these a shot, I doubt you'll regret it

August 23, 2022

Great cycling shorts and liner

I'm 5'7" ~165 lbs. and the size 32 fits me well, although a tad small at the waist. The 11.5" inseam sits just above me knee, which is what I was looking for. I'm using these shorts primarily for mountain biking, but also just took them on a 5-day gravel bike packing ride where I was riding for 8-10 hours/day. I'm happ... Read Morey to say that the liner/chamois really stood up to the test and kept me comfortable. The chamois pad is covered with excellent material that reduced friction, which is sort of key for staying comfortable when you're on the bike for long periods of time. The pad also strikes me as just right - enough but not too much padding, and the right density. Nice work with these Patagonia!

August 19, 2022

Nice shorts, excellent line. Runs small

For gravel riding.I wear 31 or 32" Levis 501s. I tried these shorts in 32, 33 and finally 34 until i got a proper waist. Nice fabric, good venting. Pad in liner is excellent.

August 16, 2022

Gravel biking shorts

The waist size runs at least 2" small. I wear 31 or 32" Levis 501's. I weigh 152#. I ordered these shorts in 32", then 33" and finally 34" which fit well. The liner has an excellent pad, as good as my pro bibs. I use these gravel riding, not a choice listed above.

July 27, 2022

I wear every day without chamois

They run a bit small. Wore 1st pair a size up without chamois as casual short almost every other day for 9 months. I like the side cinching loops, instead of belt. Hiked in Nepal with them. Would order again without chamois. Plus, back pockets would be nice. Maybe make a tweaked version as all-round shorts?

July 14, 2022

Bomber!

Love these chamois/shorts! They breathe well, aren't too long on my 29" inseam legs, and are burly to boot! I crashed pretty hard at Snowmass yesterday, bruising my thigh and ripping my phone case through the shorts pocket! The shorts themselves? Not a scratch.

July 4, 2022

Runs on the small size.

Bought a pair of dirt roamers in size 30 and they fit perfectly. Had a previous pair that were 30s and slightly too large and unfortunately fell apart after 1 season of use. Ordered the dirt craft hoping they would be a bit more robust which they seem to be however they seem equivalent to a 28. I love patagonia but damn can you get your qc under co... Read Morentrol? Otherwise I love those dirt roamers while they last!

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear this sizing discrepancy. We have passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 29, 2022

Perfect for the trail

Great fit, and make sure if you are between sizes to size up since the liner runs small. The material breaths better than any shorts I've had before. Great for any trail condition.

June 29, 2022

These shorts fit well and

These shorts fit well and dry off fast when riding in the rain. The only thing is that the material is a little thin for hard mountain biking, I've ripped and had to repair these shorts a few times.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2022

Hey Christopher, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear about the rips in your shorts! While we do make these to withstand some rough and tumble, they can definitely degrade over time if you have some hard falls. We recommend taking advantage of our warranty if you're not satisfied with their performance. If you purchased the shorts within the year from our website, you can receive a refund back to the original payment method. If you purchased elsewhere, we'd issue a merchandise credit. Feel free to [get in touch](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) for more information.

June 15, 2022

Overall Good

the shorts are great, the fit is awesome, but there arent enough pockets. The front two pockets are a bit too shallow to safely hold a multi tool or snack when ripping down a trail at high speeds. One or two zippered rear pockets would be fantastic.

June 7, 2022

best. shorts. ever

These are my go to mtn biking shorts. I have four pairs in the rotation so I get freshies every ride. Pocket design is perfect. Waist belt is spot on. Rode two pairs until the seat stitching come undone. Patagonia fixed those too!

June 7, 2022

Should have read the reviews

Seem like a great pair of shorts, but like everyone else said, they run small. I wish the description and size guide made it clear what the next size up for the liner is. I bought a 32. The liner for size 32 is medium and I would like to move up to a large. Would that be a 33? 34? Cant find that info, which would dictate which size I exchange for. ... Read MoreOther than that the shorts seem great.

June 1, 2022

My new favorite MTB shorts

First and foremost, you NEED to order a size larger than you normally would. I wear 34 or Large in every other brand, but I couldn't even button them up. I needed 36. Now I feel fat. But aside from that, these shorts are GREAT. Once I got the right size, the proportions are perfect. The shorts are comfortable. Front and zippered pockets are ju... Read Morest right. The "belt" adjusters are unobtrusive. The chamois is "supportive" and not at all uncomfortable. The chamois loops and the snaps on the shorts are just a bit toward the rear, which keeps everything in place when you're moving around on the bike. I can't wait to wear out some of my other shorts so I can justify buying more of these.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2022

We really appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback on fit, sizing, fabric and design features of these shorts. The fabric on these MTB shorts is 100% nylon so they have little to no stretch, which is likely why customers often feel the need to size up. Thanks again for your review, Rob! Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything at all from our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

May 7, 2022

Hella spendy - but a two for one

So far so good I have ridden in these a few times now and they do exactly what I would expect. Comfortable nice length, love the cut and yes pockets! I bought these to ride in and as casual shorts. I am very pleased. I wish they came with a no linnet option.

May 2, 2022

Good Short in Need of Pocket Update

I like them enough to have bought two pairs. A few reviews said to size up but I found the sizing to be accurate compared to other clothing. They're all around comfortable with a very smart belt/sizing system that's comfortable and out of the way. One improvement needed - change up the phone pocket. It's too low and deep to the point... Read More that as my foot comes up in the pedal cycle, it briefly rubs on the back of my calf. If you need to throw a key fob in there too, then things can get bulky in a hurry since there's only one secured/zipable pocket. These would be perfect with a higher pocket up towards the hip and a separate key fob location similar to what running shorts provide - if you don't carry these things on your person, then they are perfect. I'm a bigger guy at 6'1" 260lbs so it may be that the leg is baggier on me with size 38 causing more slop in the pocket than most people will experience but I'd still prefer a higher pocket that keeps my phone tighter to the body.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2022

Hi Brian! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pocket placement. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. We'll share this with our design crew.

April 27, 2022

Bike shorts

I had to return a pair and get a size larger. It was very easy and simple for a non- computer person to due by mail. The fit is great with the bigger size and like how it covers the lower back for riding.

April 12, 2022

Nice all around MTB shorts

These are light and comfortable but still seem durable. The fit is a little smaller than my Dirt Roamers, but have a more casual look and POCKETS! Would love to be able to buy these without the liner, but the liner is awesome too.

April 10, 2022

Fit Change

I have two previous pair of the Dirt Craft mountain bike shorts size 30 and the shorts themselves have become my go to shorts for mtn biking either with the original liner or over a regular bike short. Each of those pair fit slightly differently with the newer ones (2 years old?) being slightly roomier. The liner itself is fairly minimalist but I l... Read Moreike it for mtn or gravel biking, especially in the hot weather of July and August due to the mesh in the legs; the mesh is somewhat fragile and one pair developed a tear. The new pair, however, in both the short and the liner were too small in every way except I would say the length was as stated. The sizing was so different I couldn't fasten the adjustable waist band to even the first slot. Consistent sizing year to year of bike shorts seems to be a problem in many brands which is frustrating and makes buying online a hassle except when I can return to a brick and mortar locally. Patagonia made the process of returning as easy as it could be though there was a return shipping charge. The quality seemed high as usual and I support Patagonia's mission and values as a company.

April 8, 2022

Perfect shorts for the trail but size up

These are great short. They are not too baggy but allow a good range of motion. Also, and I ride in Arizona so this is important, they are light and have good airflow. Critically, they also have good pockets. The phone pocket is placed just right so the phone doesn't bang my knee and the other pockets are also just right. 5/5 stars but for go ... Read Moreup one size (I wear a 33 in all other Patagonia shorts but the 34 Dirt Craft Shorts fit comfortably snug on me).

March 30, 2022

Size up

Haven't ridden in them yet (Its march, in NVT... still waiting for the snow to melt) but I originally ordered a 36, which is my size in most brands, including Patagonia. But had to return for a 38. I could fit into the 36... but they were really tight. looking forward to trying them out as soon as the trails dry.

March 19, 2022

Great quality shorts!

Nice MTB shorts, been looking for some time and finally found ones that fit well and I know will last.

March 16, 2022

Very nice shorts and liner.

These are a top notch product that seems well made but the fit was too tight and the shorts are too long for me. I am 5'9" with a slightly muscular build and these seem a size too small. The shorts were a bit longer than I prefer. Definitely give them a try though.

March 12, 2022

This is my 3rd pair!

I love these for Mountain Biking. I like the length, the pockets and the fit. I went up a size from what I normally wear because I can adjust the waist size smaller if I need to tighten them up. I like the lightweight liner it comes with too. This is my go to Mountain Biking short.

March 5, 2022

Didnt work

The design doesnt work. The shorts do not stay connected to the liner.

Response from Patagonia
March 14, 2022

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the frustration with the snap closures on your Patagonia Men's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts. If you find that the issue is too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your convenience.

February 22, 2022

Well built-good function

This is my second pair of these. I really like the fit, comfort and performance. The leg pocket is perfect for my phone.

January 31, 2022

Too small

They felt too small in both the waist and the thighs, and the material felt thin.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

Hey Tom, thanks for leaving us a review on the Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts. These shorts were designed to be lightweight and breathable for mountain biking, but they should still be very durable! If you'd like to check out a similar pair of shorts with a thicker material, we recommend the [Men's Landfarer Bike Shorts - 12"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-landfarer-mountain-bike-shorts/24900.html?dwvar_24900_color=CTRB&cgid=root).

January 3, 2022

The do it all mtb shorts.

This combo has been great to me, I got them about a year ago and I put them to the test, from short rides near home to enduro style riding, I even have bike paled with them and they just kept on going. Worth every penny!

January 1, 2022

fit and look great

Pleasantly surprised how these fit coming from a company not especially known for its cycling wear.

December 17, 2021

Great shorts

Great shorts, comfy liner, they run a tad small, I guess more incentive to stay fit!

December 9, 2021

great bike shorts

These shorts were purchased as a companion pair to ones I've had for a couple of years. The inner short padding is a new design and a bit more cushy; very nice. They are a comfortable, durable and functional. I wear them year round, just adding tights when weather turns cold or snowy. I won't need any more biking shorts for quite some tim... Read Moree - perfect Patagonia design / product that will last and last!

November 3, 2021

Most comfortable on the bike!

These are the ONLY shorts I'll wear mountain biking - out with the guys for 2 - 7 hours. Thank you Patagonia - I finally found the shorts that are light, comfortable, and protective!

October 31, 2021

Great pants.

Great pants. I really like the way these pants fit and the pocket locations are great. Very comfortable.

October 30, 2021

Great Piece, Runs Small

These are great, not only do I use these on the trail but also on my morning commute to work. My only complaint is they fit a little small, I'm pretty much always a size 30 but had to swap these for a 31. Other than that I'm very happy with them

October 27, 2021

Nice short

Very nice shorts. The fit is a bit tight out of the box but with a couple wears and a wash is perfect. Chamois is also tight but the same applies.if you have large thighs, size up

October 19, 2021

Love this shorts

I always get compliments when I have these shorts on. I love the fabric and where the pockets are located. The do run a bit small so I went up one size and was glad I did. I would buy these shorts again for sure.

October 13, 2021

Great shorts

I like them so much I bought a second pair.

October 11, 2021

Mt bike shorts

Normally I wear a size 34 but my recent Patagonia orders felt slightly big. I probably should have bought 34s for these shorts. Other than that, I'm very happy with them, typical Patagonia quality. I expect to get years of use.

October 6, 2021

Excellent MTB shorts

These are my favorite MTB shorts I own. I have the Dirt Roamer shorts, and those are also great. But what sets Dirt Craft above is the adjustable waist straps, the front pockets and the seemingly more durable material. Although, I haven't had any problem with the Roamer material, but they are thinner. I've backpacked in these shorts and I... Read More've even wore them out and and about town. My only hang up on these shorts, is how they are sold. For whatever reason, they are only sold with the removable padded liner, and the padded liner runs a little more snug in sizing then I would like so I never use them. The shorts sizing is spot on. I am hopeful Patagonia will start selling these by themselves so I can stock up on multiple colors.

September 30, 2021

Great mountain short

I have been a size 33 waist for years. I originally purchased a 33 and the liner (chamois) was a Medium, very tight on a cyclists legs! Also the short itself was very tight. I exchanged for a 34 and the liner (chamois) was a large this time which was way more comfortable if you have cycling thighs. The 34 fit me perfect. On the trail it was str... Read Moreetchy and comfortable. I wish it had a second right hand zip pocket. It would be great to know what size liner came with the applicable waist size short. Perhaps even being able to specify a M or L liner. Thanks again for a great product I will use for decades.

September 30, 2021

Super comfortable

I really like these shorts so I bought a second pair. My only complaint is that the chamois is not working for me so I took them out on both pairs. I prefer to wear a bib any way. I wish this short was offered sans liner at a lower price point. The material of the shorts stretches for easy movement but holds form after a long day in the saddle. I... Read More love the placement of the zipper pocket on the left leg it holds my larger IPhone XR and it stays put while peddling, no jostling around. Im super pleased with another high quality Patagonia product.

September 26, 2021

Fictional mtb shorts

A functional short with pockets in the right spots. A nice fabric stretch with micro adjustable in the waist tabs to accommodate brews at the pub. These are my go-to shorts. Keep the pattern designs coming.

September 23, 2021

Great Short....Fit is different than prior years

3rd pair I have owned. Feels like size / fit is smaller as I have 34's and they were too small, so this new pair up'd to 36. In general, a great short, durable and functional. My Go To MTB short

September 16, 2021

Great MTB Short!

These shorts are super lightweight and comfy! Unfortunately, mine were a little tight, so I exchanged them for a size bigger than I usually wear. That solved the trick for me! The chamois is one of the most comfortable I've every ridden with. Super thick!

August 24, 2021

Great Bike Shorts. Legs are a little too long.

Great shorts. Liners are the best part. But the legs of the over shorts seem a little too long trapping heat in my legs. I found rolling up the legs to the length of the liner was much cooler during warm weather riding.

August 13, 2021

Quality All the Way

Highly recommended. Pricey but falls under the category of, "You get what you pay for."

August 6, 2021

My go-to MTB shorts

I work as a MTB guide in Arizona so its not uncommon to spend many hours in the saddle. Whether its an all day adventure or a shorter tour these are my go-to shorts and liners. The liner has excellent padding and the mesh makes them comfortable even on the hottest days. I especially like the adjustability with the elastic hooks at the waist which g... Read Moreive you a perfect fit. I have three pairs of these so I always have a pair available! They are very durable as well.

July 22, 2021

Does what it's supposed to!

I've been on a few rides with these now and they're great. First off: Zero chafing, very comfortable. I haven't noticed the shorts or liner at all while riding, which, to me, is the most important feature. I ate it a couple times (nothing too crazy), and I don't even see a mark on the short. The cushioning of the liner works wel... Read Morel and is comfortable. Again, I haven't notice anything while riding. It was HOT where I rode, and these breathed well. Pockets are also designed well. I had an iPhone in one and a gopro in the other. Both easily fit, and were never in any danger of falling out. Zipper pocket also has plenty of space. Overall, just a really well designed article. Classic Patagonia.

July 8, 2021

Runs small, no way to customize the liner

The materials are great but I just dont think Patagonia shorts ever fit me right. Even sizing up the cut doesnt fit great. You also cant customize the inner liner so sitting on the cusp between sizes is difficult. I ended up returning the pants and just ordering the liner instead. The liner is great and super comfortable.

July 4, 2021

Light and Comfortable

These shorts feel amazing! Love the ruggedness and style very much. Pockets are perfect and easy to reach. Fit is a bit snug, so went with one size larger than normal. My second pair!

June 25, 2021

Great MTB Short

I'm 5'9" 155, typically a 30/31 in size. I moved up to the 32 and feel like that is the perfect size. Move up 1 size than normal and you'll be happy you did. Liners are great quality and comfortable. Over-shorts could easily be worn around town. I can't speak to their durability yet, but all signs point to a long term partn... Read Moreer to my future mountain bike trips. Very pleased.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Michael! The Dirt Craft Shorts' nylon fabric naturally has a bit less stretch to it than a polyester blend. We're glad you found one that works for you. Happy trails!

June 24, 2021

Nice shorts

These shorts pair well with the Endless Ride liners and have been very comfortable on 15+mi rides. The only addition I'd like to see would be a zippered pocket for securing valuables.

June 22, 2021

Great shorts!

Very lightweight, it's like I'm wearing nothing when I ride in these. The tightening system took me a minute or two to figure out but it works.

May 17, 2021

Not durable

Where I ride, there are thorns. These shorts are great when youre in a wide open trail, but when youre going through any underbrush, theyll tear on even little brushes with tiny thorns. If they were made out of Ripstop material, I might buy more, but Ive found other brands make a more durable and equally as light and breathable mountain biking shor... Read Moret.

May 17, 2021

Great Mt Bike shorts.

These are great mountain bike shorts. This is actually the second pair that I've purchased. I'm not a lycra guy so I use these for gravel biking as well. I highly recommend you shorts.

May 17, 2021

Fantastic MTB Shorts

These shorts are great. I've had a pair for about a year and am going to purchase another pair soon. The sizing is spot on, and they are super comfortable. A lot of the negative reviews I've read focus on weird sizing and I can't comprehend why. The liners stay perfectly in place throughout long rides and the over shorts fit great as... Read More well - they cover the tops of knee pads, are super comfy, and have a great side pocket for your phone. I honestly forget I have my phone in the side pocket while riding. The waist adjustment on either side works perfectly for adjusting the fit and also functions really well as a "belt" attachment point for bear spray on casual trail rides when in bear country. If you haven't bought a pair of these already, you definitely should!

May 14, 2021

Great MTB shorts but weird sizing

59 / 180lbs - 34 was too small, 36 too large, like the shorts in terms of feel and they ride great

Response from Patagonia
May 14, 2021

Thanks for your review on our Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts. We're sorry to hear you were unable to find a size that worked for you. We do sell separate liners, such as the [Men's Endless Ride Liner Shorts - 9"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-endless-ride-liner-shorts-for-mountain-biking-9-inch/24675.html?dwvar_24675_color=BLK&cgid=root) that you can pair with the Men's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts or a number of other options. Reach out to us so we can help you land on the perfect fit for your needs.

May 11, 2021

Overall great bike short

Ive worn a lot of different bike shorts. From freebies as a racer to samples from bike companies. These shorts are pretty damn good. Ive owned a couple for 2 years now and theyre quite durable. As for fit. Im in between sizing for most Patagonia wear. I fit into a medium ski pant but cant move my legs, so I wear a large. Which are wayyy to long. So... Read More in the size 34 these shorts are kinda snug around my hips but do give enough room for my quads and knee pads. I am definitely not shaped like the models used in the ads for these. Overall if youre looking for a great bike short Id definitely recommend these.

May 11, 2021

Snazzy function

These shorts are the perfect blend of form and function. The liner is comfortable and the shorts are durable. Great for MTB, gravel, casual road rides and hanging for beers after.

May 5, 2021

Just-Right Fit

Picked these up as overshorts for trail riding and some bikepacking. The fit is cut slimmer through the legs than most baggies, which is great for when your ride involves riding, a coffee stop, maybe a brewery, etc. Still moves nice on the bike, never feel constricting when pedaling.

May 1, 2021

Ergonomic

I purchased these shorts with an additional need to also get the accompanying liner. I am supremely happy with the quality of the materials and the manufacturing. I have big thighs and bum, and at 6, 210 I wanted to ensure nothing was too tight. The 38 waist was probably a little too big, but the adjustable side straps provided ample opportunity to... Read More tune in the fit. The length goes to the center of my patella and is ergonomically snug but still baggy. The liner fits as it should as well, the xl was sufficient for bulky thighs. Pockets are deep, the zipper leg spot is also clutch. After a couple rides, I was amazed I had gone this long without a quality set of shorts. Cheers!

April 28, 2021

Bomber Bike Shorts

These shorts are bomber bike shorts for short or long rides. Ample pockets, durable material, freedom of movement, great adjustability in the waist. I wish they made a slightly shorter inseam of this exact short - they are a tad long. I am 62 and 200lbs, ideally I would be a 35, I tried the 34 and they were too tight, the 36 works with the waist ad... Read Morejusters but 35 would have been perfect. Wish Patagonia would make all shorts and pants in 35.

April 21, 2021

Great Shorts, OK liner

Shorts are great, decided to order a size up based on the reviews. They fit just right and give me ample room to loosen or tight the waistband. The liner is the weakest link, they are TIGHT and don't really have a lot of room up front. All in all I wish they sold the shorts separately as I would buy another pair ASAP

April 20, 2021

Great short

From other reviewers who indicated these shorts run small, I ordered a 36 (normally I wear a 34) They are a little big around the waist but easily adjustable to fit perfectly. What I like: The hook and pocket waist adjustment, the button and zipper fly rather than snap and or velcro, and the fabric moves with me but doesn't lose its shape. Wha... Read Moret I don't like: I wish the inseam was shorter, not everyone rocks knee pads, front pockets could be deeper. Small gripes in a great short!

April 14, 2021

Great pair of shorts, liner could use some work

I absolutely love these dirt craft bike shorts- great fit, not too baggy, but not super tight either- just right. The removable liner portion however could use some adjustment. I'm 5'8, slender build, and usually wear size 28 waist pants/shorts. I had originally purchased the size 28 version of these shorts, which fit well too, but the li... Read Morener was SUPER small. I upgraded to the 30" short hoping the liner size would be better. It is, but just barely. I'm hoping with a few washes and use the liner will stretch out a bit, but on first use it is pretty tight.

April 12, 2021

Durable yet light weight

Great movement and stretch in these riding shorts. The material is pretty light weight and abrasion resistant. Bought this short for some cross country rides and they are perfect for longer rides in the saddle.

April 10, 2021

Another fantastic Patagonia product

Great shorts... love the adjustability in the waist, material is light but durable and allows for full fluid movement.

April 8, 2021

MTB shorts

I have a big round butt so my normal size waist 34 was too tight. Big thighs too so went up to a 36 so my fit was better but shorts are a bit long. Be nice if u offered short length options. IE...short standard and long

April 6, 2021

Weird sizing but versatile

I normally wear a 30 in Patagonia board shorts, so when I read that this combo bike short and liner ran small I ordered a few sizes. The 32 was what I felt most comfortable buying though I NEVER get a 32, in anything. If you can get past the weird sizing, the PRO things to consider are: the removable liner means you can take it or leave it (or use ... Read Moreit with another pair of shorts), and you'll still have the lightweight and pretty comfy shorts to kick around in. The zipper pocket on the left side is perfect for a fat iPhone and the adjustable belt loops are, well, ok. But you may not need them if your shorts fit like mine do. The not-entirely-awesome but acceptable NON-PRO parts: the little front pockets aren't really gonna do you any favors, they're pretty shallow. And the liner, though well-padded, is kinda see-thru on the sides. So unless that's the look you're going for, I'd cover them up with something when you hit the trails.

April 6, 2021

Get em

I have four of these. The liners are great. Mesh of sorts on parts of the leg. The outer shorts have little adjustable straps for the waist. Pockets for hands, or hanging out. Side pocket for phone. Use the outer layer for hiking or swimming. Multi usable on a trip

March 18, 2021

Best summer mtb shorts

These have become my go to for all but cold mtb days. Lightweight, but tough, they feel great. The liner is comfortable, and great for long rides. I have 2 sets. Hoping for a third, as I really dont care to use any of my others.

March 16, 2021

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small

Super comfortable, waist size runs kind of small!!! Still very happy with my pants!!!

January 28, 2021

Run small but fantastic

Fast becoming my favorite shorts/ liners for long trail rides. I wear a 33-34 pant and had to trade out to an XL in these since they fit small. Wish there were more zippered pockets on them but otherwise 5/5

January 28, 2021

True to fit

These shorts are very comfortable for long rides, are just right in the crotch such that there is nothing to catch the saddle, and are a great length. Although I havent ridden with knee pads, I dont think they would interfere. My only critique is that they are truly a 36 with no give. You can always move the waist band in- but there is no elastic i... Read Moref you want more space. Probably should have ordered a 38. Im 62, 255 lbs with a 36 waist.

January 16, 2021

Excellent short. Run tiny or Im thicker than Id like to admit

Great short. Very lightweight. Very durable. Great size adjustability. Great stretch. I wear a 33-34 in most all pants. I have legs and a butt, but am athletic, not fat. The 33 in this short wasnt even button-able around my waist. I went with a 36 and Im I have plenty of room to tighten them as they stretch over time. 35 probably would have been ... Read Moreperfect.

December 30, 2020

excellent, with room for improvement

I don't usually take the time for reviews unless a product is either great or terrible. These shorts are exceptionally tough and comfortable. I purchased them in April 2018 and have worn them nearly every ride since. They've been through wrecks that have bruised ribs and broken bones, and are still going strong today with minimal signs of... Read More wear. The fit is slim (for me)--I could probably get away with a 31, but I have more meat in the hips. The 32 gives me room to move without needing to tighten the waist cinch to the max. The liner is the weakest link, mostly because it doesn't have a ton of room for male anatomy. I'd prefer more of a pouch shape up front. Otherwise, the liner shows only a little more wear than the shorts, and remains functional. Well done. I'll buy another pair if these ever fall apart.

December 15, 2020

Great for trails, could double as casual wear

I could use a bit more cinch from the waistband to counter my middle-aged shape, but the shorts are otherwise excellent. The chamois pads well, the zip pocket holds my cell phone unnoticeably, and they are comfortable to ride in. I've also worn the shorts minus the chamois for casual rides and that's comfortable also. I like the seam arra... Read Morengement, it seems well designed.

December 5, 2020

Great Riding Shorts

The shorts and liner fit great. Going to purchase another pair when the weather warns up. Two thumps up!

December 3, 2020

Awesome shorts

These shorts are great. I wear them for mountain biking & hiking. Super comfy and move well with you. Only complaint is they run a little small. I first ordered a 31 - cause I have a pair of Landfarer shorts in that size that fit perfect - and had to return for a 33.

November 14, 2020

These shorts are great

You know its a great product when you put something on and then dont think about it for the entire ride. These shorts and the liner have been amazing. I've used them at downhill park rides and XC trail rides. I have 2 pairs and will prob buy more next season.

November 9, 2020

Sizing Off

So excited to see my favorite brand start developing clothing for my favorite sport. However I have tried both of their riding shorts and both have serious sizing problems. Neither are close to being my favorite riding shorts, and considering the price that's a real bummer. The Dirt Craft Shorts are too tight. It is frustrating to see a very c... Read Moreool hook and webbing waist adjustment system added to a pair of shorts that are so tight the feature is useless. The shorts are also too tight throughout the entire fit, and makes putting a phone in the pocket uncomfortable while pedaling. Considering the chamois fits well, and even a bit big, the over short being so tight was such a disappointment.

October 10, 2020

Sell separately without the liner!

Great shorts especially compared to the dirt roamer which has an ill conceived waist cinch. Basically it cinches but doesn't stay cinched. But that's another review. The dirt roamer is durable and solid all around and has a much better waist adjustment. The problem is paying extra for a chamois that doesn't fit. Size 33-34" wais... Read Moret and the chamois was waaayyy too tight. Selling them separately would make a lot more sense, no?

September 21, 2020

Order one size up. First ride seems good

Ordered these as a replacement for the poorly made Dirt Roamer shorts (avoid!). They seem much better built and only slightly heavier, so these are the best bet in the lineup, although I feel the three options are not very good overall. Order one size larger than you need so you have room to adjust the waist band in either direction. I ordered my p... Read Moreroper size and there is no room to loosen them if I have too many post ride burritos. Oddly the Dirt Roamers seem to run well larger than size. Positives - three pockets, pretty lightweight, seams are fully stitched and should last much longer than Dirt Roamer. Appears durable enough for the lightweight category. Negatives - Front pockets rather shallow, should be sold w/ out a liner. Liners are a dime a dozen, and I wear the much better Troy Lee's w/ built in hip and thigh pads, so these liners are an extra expense likely many experienced riders don't need. The two front pockets are pretty shallow, so don't put anything in there that you can't afford to lose while riding. Fine for walking around though. Don't want to sound overly negative, but Patagonia are just not managing this category well, and after 30 years of purchasing their products, I'm allowed to be honest if they have my hard earned money. Every mtb short in the Men's category is a miss. You can do much better with a little thought. If I didn't have a credit to burn, I would have asked for a full refund and shopped elsewhere. Will be interesting to see if Patagonia published this review, as they seem to be slow to add the not-so-rosy ones. Happy riding.

September 17, 2020

Great Pair of Shorts

These shorts have been terrific for me. The liner works well and is comfortable. The shorts do run small. I usually wear a 32 inch waist across all of my pants/shorts, but the 32 in these shorts was too small. I went to the 34 and did a little adjusting with the hook and loop system on the side, and the shorts fit perfectly. These shorts are versat... Read Moreile as they wear and look great off the bike without the liner.

September 14, 2020

Perfect for my needs

I love the stretchiness of the shorts, and the fact that they generally stay in place - no worries about catching on my seat as I'm moving around. As others have noted, they run a bit small.

September 13, 2020

Poor sizing

The adjustable belt is useless as the size 30 is exactly 30 inches when the belt is completely open. Had two shipped from the US to Europe where I live as I couldnt find them here. I use them and like them but if I eat a few big meals, they might not fit anymore.....pity.

September 10, 2020

Fits right, looks good

The included liner is well padded and excellent quality. I ride multiple times per week and it is my new favorite. Also has convenient pockets including a secure zipper pocket. You will not be disappointed!

September 2, 2020

Great Shorts

Awesome shorts, ride with them daily. Not only do they stand up to use better than competitors but the chamois is far more comfortable after countless trail rides than any competitor

September 2, 2020

Versatile short

Originally bought for mountain biking but with the liner out these are great climbing shorts and work well for casual days in town.

August 14, 2020

Smiling and Styling

I used these shorts (with some Endless Ride liners) for gravel biking and mountain biking, where I need to be in the saddle for hours of up and down but don't want to look like I'm riding the Tour de France.

August 6, 2020

Awesome MTB shorts but...

I have a number of other Patagonia items that I wear so I was super excited to be able to purchase something specific to mountain biking! The shorts are super comfortable and light with an added bonus that water drips away when wet! The liner feels great and really compliments the shorts! However, after my 6th ride, in noticed the stitching below t... Read Morehe zipper started to unravel, which is where a lot of the movement happens on a mountain bike. For the price point, I would expect these shorts to last longer than it did and it's such a bummer because these shorts are really comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2020

Hi Rex, we're sorry to hear about the untimely wear on your Dirt Crafts. We'd be happy to help out with a repair or return. You welcome to begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 7, 2020

Perfect for long days in the saddle!

My primary shorts during a recent 2 day bike tour! Liners are very comfortable even after 10+ hours in the saddle. Side hip pocket works well for a phone. Front pockets ample for energy gels or other small items. We stopped to swim during the day, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the liners dried. Heed the advice to order up - the ladd... Read Moreer webbing adjustment is great - lots of flexibility, Overall great design, and worth the price!

July 6, 2020

Liner is a bummer

Shorts seemed great but after taking them on a ride its clear that without something around the bottom of the liner to grip your leg, they're useless. The liners ride up and get really uncomfortable and have to be adjusted multiple times over the ride. Wish I had just gotten the dirt roamer shorts and saved some money.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the liners aren't working for you. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, you are welcome to.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts. Liner could be better.

I love the shorts. Fit, feel and function are great. The liner is where I have my gripes. Compared to the length of the shorts, the liner needs to be longer. I would also highly recommend a "gasket" be added to the end of the liner so they do not migrate up the thigh while riding. With larger quads, the liners end sliding up my thigh near... Read More my hip. Bottom line: I wear the shorts, but have ditched the liner.

June 3, 2020

Shallow Pockets

Im a standard 30/small waist in all Patagonia and I wear these in a 32. Im a big fan of the cut (perfect for knee pads), however I wish the material was a 4 way stretch. My biggest complaint is the pocket depth. There really is no excuse for why its so shallow. If youre going to have the front pocket, you should be able to fit a phone in it comfort... Read Moreably. Hoping for an update on the next iteration.

May 27, 2020

Great shorts

I bought my first pair 2 years ago and have worn them 2-3 times per week spring through fall. My go to mtb shorts. I bought a second pair this year so I can wash my other pair ;) My first pair other than a blood stain look basically bran new, the liners have stretched a bit, but it hasn't affected the fit. Great shorts, and I highly recommend!... Read More

May 14, 2020

Waist too tight, legs too big

I have to agree with other reviewers. The waist on these shorts felt a touch tight, but the legs were far to long and baggy. What I got looked nothing like the pictures on the website, which is too bad because I had high hopes for the liner.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these weren't what you had expected and that they aren't fitting well. Please note, you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us that you're unsatisfied with.

May 8, 2020

True to size exactly, but consider buying a size up

These shorts are precisely tailored; true to fit 100% (I measured two pairs). Because these shorts have an adjustable system, but an inelastic waistline otherwise (the tightest adjustment will be inelastic) I'd recommend getting a size-up from your normal preference for waist-dimensions in a pant/short. You can always cinch them up a bit, but ... Read Moregoing too small is unforgiving with these shorts. Other than that, these shorts are so great: lots of pocket space, very durable, light, and perfect for riding or hiking!

May 8, 2020

Great shorts, short pockets not so much.

I bought a pair of these and loved them so I ordered another pair. Great quality construction, adjustable waist, nice cycling pad. Second pair came with front pockets 2/3 the depth of the first pair. I used to wear Patagonia pants of all sorts but the pockets keep shrinking while phones keep getting larger. Why do pockets keep shrinking? Am I the o... Read Morenly person that puts my phone in my front pocket? Great shorts though.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, Jake! The Men's Dirt Craft shorts are now on their third iteration since 2017, so it's possible you have two slightly different designs. Many riders use a hip pack or back pack instead of pockets, but if you find the size of those pockets to be a deal-breaker we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 28, 2020

Nothing SHORT of awesome

I've had these shorts for about 5 years now and I have ABUSED them. They've handled everything I can throw at them. Biking for hours on end, season after season. Whether you're on a seemingly never ending ascent or an increasingly questionable descent they are the perfect combo between ventilation and durability. Take out the liners ... Read Moreand BOOM a solid pair of climbing and hiking shorts. They are my go to attire for my legs from spring to fall no matter the activity.

April 25, 2020

Excellent shorts!

I have only work these shorts once, so not a long term review but I have to say that these shorts are spot on. The chamois is high quality, comfortable, light, and breathable. The outer shorts have great features and have nothing that needs removing. Pockets are well positioned and not over-sized. The tailored knee gives coverage in the front w... Read Morehere needed, but doesn't have extra fabric in the back that will annoy the back of your leg. Nothing gets in the way. These are perfect shorts for an all-day ride and are casual enough that you don't look like the bike nerd that you are. I would buy a second pair.

March 15, 2020

Dirt Craft Shorts Rip!

Got these shorts to replace my ancient chamois and shorts combo for mountain biking and bikepacking. Outta the box they looked great and the quality was on point. Im a 31 and ordered the 32 and they fit perfect with the far out adjustment system. Chamois is very comfy and breathes great. After a long day in the saddle I was still stoked on them! Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches