burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Dirt Craft Bike Shorts - 12" Reviews

Write Your Review

3.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts - 12"

3.6/5
True To Size
October 20, 2022

Great, comfortable, stretchy short

I wore this bike short while touring across the Southern Tier, USA. Many days, many miles. The short was great, appreciated the ability to tighten the waist as I rode and lost weight. Only issue was the liner. The elastic on the legs did not work well enough to keep the legs down while riding. I was constantly having to pull them down when I got of... Read Moref my bike. Irritating. Loved the outer short!

October 3, 2022

Liner Rides Up Instantly

The liner for this short is unusable, it rides up instantly to the top of the thigh and is very uncomfortable. I have to stop constantly to try and pull it down, it is very irritating and as a result I've only used the liner 1 time. The outer short is nice, fits well, iphone fits perfectly in the pocket and the legs do not ride up.

Response from Patagonia
October 6, 2022

Hi Sherlyn, we're sorry to hear the liner in these shorts was so uncomfortable for you! We'll share this feedback with our product team. In the meantime, we've reached out to you about returning this pair.

September 8, 2022

Favorite chamois!!

This is hands down my favorite chamois. The padding feels right in all the right places and it has helped with not going numb "down there". There is some riding up, but it's not enough to bug me. The shorts are also awesome, having that thigh zipper pocket is clutch!

July 10, 2022

Do the Job....but...

Do the job but the liner is not comfortable. The old liner was great but these are too short and ride up. The chamois is stiffer than before and too thick IMO. I felt the older version ran small but these run quite large. The adjustable waist is not attractive--it just bunches up and makes the shorts look weird. Keeping but not going to win any sty... Read Morele points on my rides.

June 19, 2022

Ride really well

These shorts ride really well. Nice waist adjustments, especially if you have a little patience for the hooks - I had a little trouble getting them on and off but I love the general concept. I like that these are light weight, including the liner. While I love the padded shape/size for riding it is a bit much when walking around, so I definitely pl... Read Morean ahead to minimize walking or take the liner off. Great color (I have the blue). Love the pockets.

May 23, 2022

Sizing was way off

I read the size guide and ordered 2 sizes so I could return 1. Both were huge compared to the size guide and I was going to have go down 2 sizes from the recommended size. The shorts were too long and baggy and felt very masculine.

Response from Patagonia
May 25, 2022

Hi Suzy, we're so sorry to hear about the inaccurate sizing trouble to due to the size chart information. We do accommodate complimentary [exchanges](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), so please feel free to begin one at any time.

April 16, 2022

Loved previous versions of this short

I had purchased this same short in 2019ish. The linner was and still is my favorite. This year's outter short is much the same (perhaps an inch longer), but liner has been changed. It seems to be shorter and rides up between the thighs,which is not great for longer rides. The purple shammie pad seems stiffer and less comfortable than the new p... Read Moreurple one. Please go back to that perfect 2019 design!

March 31, 2022

Good, but Flaws

The good-very high quality materials and craftsmanship. The shorts have the perfect amount of stretch and are a nice thicker material for durability, but still light enough for summer rides. These will last for a long time and I love Patagonia's commitment to sustainability. I purchased because I like the blue color and it is great. I also thi... Read Morenk they run TTS- I am 5'7, 135lbs and I usually wear a 6. I read a few reviews saying they ran small, so I went up to an 8 but they are just too big, a 6 would be perfect. The bad...first, you have no choice on the liner size--if I could have selected a small for the liner, then I would probably just keep the 8, but it came with a medium liner, which is too big. The other negative, these just don't look cool or modern...I feel like Im wearing mens shorts from like 5 years ago. Also, the waist adjustment isn't actually functional--it just makes the back bunch up. Since I need to exchange anyway I will probably just go ahead and return.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2022

Hey Elizabeth, we appreciate the feedback. We're not sure when you bought these shorts but we did make some changes to the fit in Spring '21. We also upgraded the liner fabric and chamois; and increased the length of the inseam at that time. If you purchased after this redesign, then it sounds like these might not be the right pair of shorts for you. To combat the liner issue, we'd recommend looking at a system where the outer shell and liner is separated, such as our [Women's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-dirt-roamer-mountain-bike-shorts/24727.html?dwvar_24727_color=RHP) and our Women's Dirt Roamer Bike Liner Shorts. This way you can ensure a perfect fit.

January 28, 2022

VERY uncomfortable liners

Fit is great. My kids splurged and got these shorts for me for my birthday. Unfortunately, the liners hike up to my crotch after about 5 min. I feel like I'm wearing potty training pants. The liners are mediums. Wondering if this wouldn't happen with a larger/smaller liner?

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2022

Hi Linda, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. This kind of feedback is very helpful to other customers, and to our product developers. We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) those shorts.

November 27, 2021

My favorite shorts

These shorts are spot on. They fit fantastically with no back gap. Good length coverage, easy to move in. Love the green wavy pattern. Best bike shorts I own.

November 9, 2021

Ok... but I miss the previous version! Please bring back the last liner!

I've been a huge Patagonia fan for years... so many great items that LAST! I bought dirt craft (women's) bike shorts a few years ago and LOVE them. I always reach for them first. About a year ago, I bought just a new liner and noticed the design totally changed. My original liner was gray and had a fabulous wide, comfy waistband. The new ... Read Moreone feels like a different material all over, including in the chamois pad, and the waistband has a really bothersome v-shape in the front. I'd love to order a new pair of dirt craft shorts, but I really don't want another one of those newer liners! Fingers crossed they go back to the old liner. It was absolute perfection  my favorite bike shorts of all time and I've had many over the last couple decades!

October 8, 2021

Great Shorts!

I read the other reviews and sized up accordingly from my normal 2/4 ish range. Short fit great, they are super comfortable and I'm not having any issue with the liner staying put. There is an internal belt which is amaaaazing. Makes achieving the perfect fit really easy.

September 4, 2021

Perfect

My favorite bike shorts. Fit is perfect, no back gap. Fabric stretches perfectly. Pattern is great. Love these shorts!

July 12, 2021

Mostly Good

The outer short is great. I love the cut, pockets and the adjustable waist. The fabric is light, breathable and super comfy. The liner gets the job done but the chamois is rather diaper-like and the legs ride up so theyre like boy- shorts by the time Im done riding. Tolerable but could use improvement.

May 5, 2021

Runs very small, order a size or two up.

(For size reference, I'm 5'4": smallest of my waist is 26", low hips is 38", high hips is 31".) I have a pair of Dirtcraft Shorts from a few years ago that are an XS that fit great, so I tried ordering a 0 and a 2 in these. The fit is way smaller than it used to be. For the baggy shorts themselves, I think the rise i... Read Mores way too low/short. They fit okay when you're just standing, but for bike shorts, I don't want something that's going to dig into my stomach while I'm bent over pedaling or fall down in the back. The low rise and short zipper also seem to make these difficult to fit over larger hips. They also seem to fit much tighter in the thighs than my older pair, but this could just be because the fit is smaller now. The chamois short's rise is much longer than the baggy shorts so they sit higher than the shorts, which is a small peeve of mine. The chamois liner also doesn't have any silicone grippy-bits on the leg, which I am not a fan of since shorts without those tend slide up when you sweat like I do. Unfortunately the size 4 is not in stock for me to try on, otherwise I'd like to give these more of a chance. Right now, I wouldn't recommend these because of the chamois issues.

March 14, 2021

Great mountain biking short

I love biking in these shorts! The shorts and the liners are great! I have 3 pairs now I like them so much. I did have to size up on the first pair I ordered- I had to get a 6 and Im usually a 2 or 4.

September 17, 2020

Favorite MTB shorts

These are my favorite shorts for mountain biking. I started out with one pair and loved them so much that I bought two more. They are knee length which I love and baggy but still flattering. The padded liner is comfortable, even on longer rides. The material of the shorts is fantastic - very breathable and comfy. Based on the reviews saying they ru... Read Moren small, I bought one size up from what I normally wear, and they fit perfectly. These shorts are well worth the price, and I highly recommend them.

September 10, 2020

If you like bunching...

Pros: These shorts & chamois avoid the dreaded sausage leg look. So plus 1 for that. Cons: It avoids the sausage leg look because the chamois has absolutely no grip on the legs. This causes it to ride up and bunch as you're pedaling. I've considered hot-gluing some dots in the chamois so it stays in place... For what the shorts cost, ... Read Moreit's unfortunate how they bunch up. The last thing I want to do on a big climb or a descent is have to constantly reach under my shorts and tug down my chamois. All in all, I wouldn't recommend spending the money on these until the liner is improved.

August 20, 2020

Nice shorts; liner too big

Great shorts. Typical Patagonia quality. I ordered this long style because I use these for long bike trips and I wanted something that worked on or off the bike. I am between sizes so sized up so they would be loose fitting for comfort and street wear. However, with the size 12 you get a size large liner and it's way too big. Based on my exper... Read Moreience I know I wear a size medium liner. I wish I'd had the option to select that. The liner rides up as you ride - not comfortable and only half the purchase is wearable.

August 1, 2020

My go-to baggies!

What I love about these shorts: the weight/material is light enough to use for hot summer ruding. The 12" inseam is long enough to keep the shorts from riding above my kneepads when descending (avoiding the dreaded gaper gap). I like the fit and stretchy material. The reason I am not giving this 5 stars is due to the liner. The light material... Read More is great. However, the chamois feels a bit saggy as compared to the that in a typical lycra short. It might be a nice option to purchase baggies without liner for a lower price.

July 20, 2020

Go To MTB Shorts

I'm 5'3", 103 lbs, thin frame, no hips. I purchased a size 0 and the shorts fit perfectly. They fit similar to how the shorts fit on the model. They come down to the same part of me knees as the model. The inside liner fits perfectly snug and the padding is decent. The legs of the liner do rise a bit but I hardly notice them while I ... Read Moreride. The shorts fit nicely around my waist and provide just enough room to move without them seeming baggy. The adjustable waist is a nice feature and keeps the shorts from riding up or falling down. The material of the shorts is great for moisture wicking, so they're definitely my favorite for river crossings or just riding on really hot days. The pockets hold everything that I need and the side pocket on the left leg comfortably holds my phone while I ride.

June 27, 2020

Flattering & super comfortable

I am around 5ft 6in and 140lbs and the fit of these shorts is perfect for a long day on the bike. Im surprised how flattering the cut is at the hips and thigh without being tight or restrictive. Patagonias liners have been a favorite of mine for a while - Im so glad I finally decided to order the full set!

June 22, 2020

Too small!

Ordered these in a 4, I usually border 2 and 4, these are way too tight for me! They seem like good quality, however everyone should size up. Ordered during COVID shut down so hoping to exchange.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and would be happy to get those [exchanged](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for you. Thanks for the feedback!

June 17, 2020

Attractive and well-padded for long rides

Love my DC mtb shorts!! I wish there was a way to submit a photo of me and my friends on our mtb tour through Bears Ears National Monument.

May 28, 2020

Great short - Clean color - tight in the thighs

I normally order 8s, but got a 10 in these shorts for my thighs. The waist is a little too big, but they fit well in the thighs. I love the side pocket which holds things on the underside of the thigh, rather than on top. Which is GREAT for biking with. The material sheds mud easily without looking dirty once it dries. I was nervous about the Span... Read Moreish Red looking dirty all the time, but it does not!

May 3, 2020

Super comfy!

I love these bike shorts. They are super comfy, breathable and flexible and I don't like wearing any other shorts anymore. I gave it 4 stars because the liner runs pretty large and doesn't snug too well.

March 23, 2020

Runs small!

I wear a size 4 in patagonia usually but not for these shorts! I could barely get the shorts over my hips or close them. I will be returning them for a size 6 as soon as the pandemic recedes. FYI same deal for men - also runs really small!

March 19, 2020

Outer shorts are great, liner is not

The outer shorts fit great. Theyre long enough to reach my knees and not too tight. Unfortunately the liner is way too short and has no tacky material at the hem to keep them in place. A few pedal strokes into my ride and they rolled all the way up my legs. Too bad the outer shorts arent sold separately because I really liked them. Hopefully this g... Read Moreets fixed!

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thanks for your feedback on these shorts Kitty! We do want to let you know that the liner integrated into the Dirt Craft shorts are removable at the waste strap loops.

February 25, 2020

Decent fit & breathable

I really like the weight of these shorts, and they are fine to wear elsewhere without the chamois. I bought these for summer riding here in VT where it is humid, but also to test out on an April 2019 Moab trip. I wanted something durable, flexible and comfortable at the hinge/waistline. Pro: Lightweight & somewhat durable fabric. Chamois was c... Read Moreomfortable, but I swapped to a lighter one on hotter days. Fit: I am a curvy size 10, and the hips can be a little tight ( you can tell this when the pockets poof out) if I am a bit heavier than normal. I know someone had mentioned this elsewhere. I like the adjustable waist and pockets are adequate for the basics. They look good when wearing them (from behind). Cons: Also the fabric, I had to butt scoot over a rock here in VT and I now have a "flap wound" cut in the bum. Bum-mer. The rock didn't seem sharp, so I was surprised and disappointed. I'll repair the tear on my own, but was hoping for something like that to not happen 3 months into ownership. Otherwise, fabric seems strong enough and maybe this was my luck. Much better fit than I expected based on past shorts I've owned from Patagonia (that I scored on consignment).

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2020

Hi Sylvia, we're so sorry to hear that this has happened to Dirt Craft Mountain Bike Shorts. If you 're unable to make the repair on those shorts we'd be happy to try to mend those for you. You can begin your repair here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches