Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 247 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 5"

4.2/5
True To Size
September 23, 2021

Non-stop chafe

Broke these shorts in with a 16-mile run. The net started chafing my inner thighs after just four miles and by the end, I was near tears. After my thighs recovered, the next week I went for a four mile run. Same issue. Even walking around town they chafe. I've never had shorts chafe like this before. I'm going to return them. It&#x27... Read More;s a real bummer, I was super stoked to buy these stylish lightweight shorts!

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2021

We're so sorry these shorts had such a chafing issue. Please feel free to send them back.

September 10, 2021

Close to perfection with a fatal flaw

Love almost everything about these shorts. Lightweight, great fit, good pockets. Carries the largest iPhone easily. The fatal flaw is they chafe my inner thigh worse than any shorts ever. There is a Y-shaped seam that rubs like sandpaper. Even short runs leave me hobbling. No amount of body glide helps. I hoped washing the shorts several times wo... Read Moreuld soften the seam but alas no.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to hear about that. You're welcome to return them. You might prefer our [Men's Endless Run Shorts - 5"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-endless-run-shorts-5-inch/24870.html).

September 2, 2021

Favorite Running Shorts

I use these shorts just for running, but they would be great for other things I'm sure. They are super light and breathable, which is what you want for running clothes. The small pockets around the waistband are great for keys and cards, but probably are not big enough for a phone. Overall I am satisfied with my purchase.

August 23, 2021

Most comfortable and interior liner is great

Full fills the reasons that I had the need to want

August 17, 2021

Great quality but be careful with size.

I am 5 8 with a waist size of 30. I have bigger upper legs than most and my legs do not fit that well into these shorts. Waist fit was fine though. I suggest mediums for those with muscular legs.

August 10, 2021

Seems like the Medium got smaller.

Seems like the Medium got smaller.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hey Trevor! Thanks for the feedback. The new version of these shorts is about a 1/4 of an inch shorter in the rise than the prior version. We're always happy to discuss garment dimensions prior to purchase.

August 9, 2021

Super comfy - run small

These shorts are super comfy, but def run a bit on the small side. I love Patagonia products, but I somehow fit in small, medium and large bottoms? It would be nice if the sizing were more consistent.

August 8, 2021

The lining is too small

The lining is too small

August 4, 2021

Perfect Summer Ultra Running Shorts

If you have the legs, you might as well show them off. The 5" is the ideal length for hot, summer runs in the mountains or in the city. The fabric cools quickly and ample storage all around. Highly recommended for ultra distance running.

July 31, 2021

Not for the well endowed

A very nice short, like incredible materials and construction. As usual though, like all previous iterations of this short, if you want the waist size in these shorts doesn't match the brief size. In other words men, if you are "average" or above, then you better have no shame. It's gonna be like a glam rock concert, aka: Battle... Read More of the Bulge.

July 26, 2021

Bad quality Clotth

A pesar de que Patagonia se caracteriza por hacer productos muy duraderos este no fue el caso. El short es funcionalmente muy bueno, el talle resultó un poco ajustado pero la calidad de la tela es muy mala, después de muy poco uso se rompió la costura en la entrepierna. Lo volvieron a coser en la tienda de Patagonia y al poco tiempo terminó desgarr... Read Moreándoselos la tela por desgaste por rozamiento también en la entrepierna. Es la primera vez que compro Running shorts de Patagonia y realmente duraron muy poco tiempo en función del uso, comparado con otras marcas. Una buena modificación seria que las costuras no las hagan justo en la entrepierna y a la vez en esa parte usar alguna tela un poco más resistente. Saludos!!

July 23, 2021

Versatile Running Shorts

These have become my go-to running shorts. I was a little concerned about initial perceived tightness of the internal briefs but this has ended up not being an issue. I utilize these for long runs and have had zero issues with chafing or sweat build-up. The pockets are multiple and positioned well. On a recent trip, I went from running to ocean swi... Read Moremming seamlessly. These wash out easily - even in a hotel sink - and dry quickly. Casual-wear appropriate too.

July 22, 2021

Sides falling apart

Bought two of these shorts this season, worked in them and ran in them, a good several hundred hours. I love them. They fit great, size is good for me. Little tight, but that helps to keep down chafing. Good airflow, helps keep cool. In my experience, I found the side flaps to be great, however, the stitching is too low on the leg, and limits stret... Read Morechability. And when they do stretch, the seams rip. The stitch on the side is coming undone on both pairs of shorts I bought. Did not expect this from patagonia. Either a higher, stronger stitch would fix this, more flexible fabric, or no stitch altogether. Either way, this current years version will not last longterm without maintenance. I LOVE the shorts, but this is a really big kink.

July 21, 2021

The best running shorts.

5'10'' 160lbs, these shorts fit perfectly! I had bought the 7in inseam right before this pair and they are great too, but I prefer the 5in on my longer runs. I don't really use the extra pockets on the side as I run with a water bottle waist pack or vest, but they did hold my airpods+case and a barely noticed them in the pocket.... Read More

July 20, 2021

Great short short

I bought these as an alternative for trail running, running the dog and long distance hiking (but in all fairness, they are my go-to summer sitting around and sampling bourbon short). The fit isnt too baggieand I like them more than Baggies. When working / training my Aussie, the side pockets are perfect for her treat pocket. And I find the liner s... Read Moreuper-comfortable. I sport the 5.which is too short for many guys.but for a comfortable active or at-rest short, they are my favorites. And sizing is perfectas I said I bought size Large; I have a 34 waist. Final testimony to this product: Im buying more!

July 20, 2021

Great Everyday Shorts

I love these shorts! Originally, I assumed they would have deep pockets, but they happen to be fairly shallow. My only complaint would be on those. Although it holds my phone and keys perfectly, it can be a bit of a struggle to get it in and out with ease. Overall, the material and feel is amazing and I would recommend these shorts to a friend!

July 12, 2021

Trail running perfection

These shorts are awesome for all mountain pursuits. I have always fantisized the freedom of running naked--these are the next best thing to that. (and far more socially acceptable) They are light and free and really protect and prevent chaffing on long hot runs. My only suggestion is to make one of the pockets a little larger to fit a phone or inre... Read Moreach.

July 8, 2021

Outstanding shorts, but definitely size up.

These shorts are just the best. Love the pockets and zip pocket, love the length, material and the weight. In every S-M-L sized Patagonia pants product I wear a medium, but the medium in these runs verrry small. Size up and you will be totally satisfied.

July 4, 2021

Runs small but light shorts

I usually wear medium in all shorts but these run small in waist and liner! Im 511 165lbs had to go up to large so liner would fit and waist just fits as not too big .. lightweight would recommend once you find your sizing

July 1, 2021

I live in these

Really I do. And so I've worn thru more than a couple of pair. These are a really well thought out redesign on something I didn't think could get any better. They do tend to get funky after a few days of sweating in them, but what doesn't? Guess I'll just have to take a dip in that stream.

June 27, 2021

Great Running Shorts

My go to long distance short! I now have four pairs.

June 27, 2021

All secure

Awesome product. Pockets are well built and theyre also big enough to hold a cell phone which I use for tracking/training/music. I feel secure knowing that what I put in those pockets wont poke or fall through. Liner is comfortable/doesnt chafe (yet). Fabric is cool and lightweight. And the drawstrings properly cinch so that the knot doesnt slip!

June 27, 2021

Do-everything Short

This shorts have a great fit and to really nice design. My new go to do-everything short.

June 16, 2021

Fathers Day gift for son

My son loves these shorts and they fit him like a glove

June 16, 2021

It works (road/trail)

This has become my go-to shorts for everyday road and trail runs. They work. I particularly like the pockets -- ample and secure enough for all the gels and keys I carry, secure yet easily accessible, and my iPhone 11 Pro fits in the rear pocket and doesnʻt bounce around. Quick dry is no joke. I live in a constantly humid rainforest, but I donʻt he... Read Moresitate to wash them, knowing theyʻll be ready to go in the morning. I wear shorts with a 3" inseam for road races, but otherwise, these are the ones I grab.

June 15, 2021

Nice shorts. Seem bit small

These are be of the few Patagonia running shorts with the brief rather than boxer brief liner. I prefer that as I honestly will often do a morning run, jump in the pool to cool off/de-sweat and then just bum around in the same shorts the rest of the day. Less laundry that way. Boxer brief liner shorts are not as comfortable like that all day. I w... Read Moreear a medium in almost everything from most brands (occasionally a small if there is vanity sizing and I want a slim fit). This is the first time Ive had to buy a large in anything in a long time - I guess maybe they are designed to be slight/really minimalist. And I suppose that might be ok if I ran and changed, but as I said above I guess I might want them a bit roomier if I wear them all day. Good short though!!

June 11, 2021

Nailed it with these!

Overall great utilitarian running shorts! Good length, 5 above my knee. Love the stash pockets for keys or dog treats. Will be getting another pair to put through the paces.

June 10, 2021

Perfect aside from one small detail

These are near perfect. Pockets are super minimal and just what I need. They keep keys and earbuds safe and jiggle free when on a long run. The back pocket is perfect for a gel pack or even a phone. One minor issue is the seam along the back. Theres a thin vertical strip that will irritate my skin to the point of cutting into my flesh if I use a ph... Read Moreone in it for runs 5 miles or more. Only reason its not a 5 star review. I have three pairs and always go to these shorts first.

June 7, 2021

Best shorts

Best running shorts there are in the market!

May 31, 2021

They're still great!

I've been running exclusively in these shorts since 2017 and they've been fantastic. First thing I do with these shorts before I put them on is remove the built-in liner with a pair of scissors and pair with my Exofficio brief and they instantly become the most comfortable thing in the wild. It's not Patagonia's design fault. Bu... Read Moreilt-in liners might be ok for short runs, but you'll wish they're never there when you have to deal with a bloody chafing in your crotch area during an ultra marathon. I run in these shorts from 5k around my neighborhood to 100 miles in the mountains. I'm 5'9", 165 lbs, and wear a medium. To Patagonia, If you're going to adjust the back zipper pocket further in your next version, please don't make it smaller. I ordered these from REI in-store pick up and I was on the verge of returning them right at the store after I couldn't fit my phone (iphone XS about the same size as the iphone 12) in the back pocket in the fitting room. I just happened to show the cashier at REI the reason I was returning them and out of sheer luck I managed to fit the phone in after some effort. The version before that is so much easier. If you must update that zipper pocket, please make it bigger instead. Thanks!

May 14, 2021

Almost perfect.

I love the strider pro short. I have six pairs in different colors that I rotate through and they are my preferred running shorts. The reason I titled this as almost perfect is because on every pair of my shorts, holes are being worn on both the left and right inseam. I'm not sure if it's my thunder thighs or the way I run, but those seam... Read Mores rub together and wear out. Some of my shorts are a year old or less and have these holes. I'm fairly active, running 20-30 miles a week. Maybe that area of the inseam can be reinforced on the next generation of strider pros.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback, Bryan! Our product designers will absolutely take this into consideration for future iterations of these shorts. In the meantime, know that your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to us if you'd like [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return them!

May 10, 2021

Tinkering too much does not a happy camper make

Like many of Patagonia's initial good designs, this short has been over tinkered with to the point that it is a not as good as its predecessors. I've had two other earlier versions, both of which were great and worn for a marathon and a lot of marathon training. This pair is longer (by about an inch) and has a a considerably fuller cut. B... Read Moreut most importantly, the side splits on the outside leg are very long now. These, combined with the cut, result in a great deal of bunching in the inner leg when running, and contribute to inner leg chafing. Sorry Patagonia, but you should have left a really good design alone. I'd be hard pressed to recommend these, and probably will look to another brand for my next pair of running shorts.

May 5, 2021

Good shorts.

I would recommend this fine quality product. Materials and workmanship consistent with Patagonia standards. I would like to suggest a slightly loser fit and additional pocket zippers.

May 3, 2021

Nothing Wrong

These shirts fit perfectly, and are super light. The only thing Id recommend is going back to the side-cut to remove weight. Such a simple concept.

May 2, 2021

Tight fit

Probably should have ordered a large as this medium is a tight fit. I would recommend it order 1 size up.

April 29, 2021

Unbelievably comfortable to run in!

So comfortable, breathable and supportive in the right spot. Love these shorts had to buy 3 because they are so amazing! Feel awesome about them being made out of recycled plastic bottles as well. Thank you!!

April 29, 2021

Great running shorts, but SIZE UP!

These shorts are great. I use them for running and their comfy and seem like they'll be durable. 5 stars for sure, but only if you SIZE UP! I wear a M in all Patagonia products, but the Medium was tight in the waist, thighs, and the liner elastic was very uncomfortable. Exchanged for a L and all of those problems disappeared.

April 25, 2021

Complete shift from previous Strider Pro

Im returning several pairs of Strider pro shorts to a few different retailers. My wife and I both have previous year colors of this short, and have worn them for thousands of miles and many trail races. The shorts currently offered by Patagonia are sized so strangely. I ordered smalls, as I wear strider pro small shorts every week, and the new shor... Read Morets were so small they wouldnt clear my thighs. I couldnt pull them up without fear of tearing them. My wife got smalls to replace her other strider pro smalls, and she couldnt pull them past her knees. We both ordered mediums locally to try the next size up, and they fit like basketball shorts, with large gaps in the waste and several more inches in length, even ordering the same 5 length.

April 24, 2021

I am never taking these off my body

These are the best shorts that I have ever purchased, and I say that with every bone in my body. They are so comfortable and look great for any workout or casual walk downtown. They are the first thing I grab in the morning for my runs and they make running 10x better. I really recommend these shorts if you're looking to show off your thighs a... Read Morend want something long-lasting.

April 24, 2021

Just great

This is a great pair of shorts. Love them.

April 21, 2021

The very best

Just perfect Thank you Patagonia I use them for long distance walking The walk 50 miles and they are perfect

April 18, 2021

Inner Seam

I wore these shorts for my first marathon and they did well. But the inner seam in both legs has became busted. I'd say I've worn these for 150 miles when I first notice them failing. Pretty disappointed considering #1 the price and #2 that many of my other brand shorts are still functioning well. I also have the 7in striders and the same... Read More issue is happening.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2021

We're so sorry that the seams are failing on both of your Strider Pros. This is not the quality standard that we expect from our gear. Please feel free to utilize the Ironclad Guarantee so we can do a warranty inspection on both shorts and either get you a refund or gift card for both. To get started please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 17, 2021

Great, With Fatal Flaw

These are great shorts, they wick great, are comfortable, and the brief liner fits really well. The storage is excellent - the side pockets are perfect, and a phone fits in the back pocket just fine. However, these are not wearable for longer runs because of one silly design flaw - the little piece of string they put in the back, presumably for ha... Read Morenging up the shorts. This thing will rub against the skin in the small of your back, eventually tearing open your skin until you are bleeding. Cutting this piece of string out doesn't help, either - it's the attachment points that are doing the rubbing. I like these shorts enough that I still used them, but I would have to put a swath of KT tape on my skin at the friction point. I recently bought shorts from a different brand that were also great, and I realized that I was in a sort of abusive relationship with the strider pros for a long time, and was unreasonably happy to set them aside. I hate that these shorts are so close to being great. Because of one fatal (and totally unnecessary - why on earth did they think this hanger string needed to be there???) flaw, I cannot recommend them to anyone.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so sorry to hear how uncomfortable that piece of string became. We completely understand not wanting to use them any further seeing as how they're causing such discomfort. This feedback is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we appreciate it. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

April 16, 2021

Perfect Length and fit

I was unsure about which shorts from patagonia would benefit me, only meant to order one of these, but accidentally ordered 2. So far, in love with the fit, the length, the function and pockets along the waistband. A great short to run in.

April 16, 2021

Perfect running shorts

great, lightweight short for running!

April 15, 2021

Great product. Sizing and fit ok

The shorts are really light and comfortablele, i typiwear a size 30 or 31 pant so originally ordered the small and that proved to be a little too small and the medium was a little too baggy for my for preference. It may just be the way Patagonia fits, but for the most part skinny legs like mine dont do well in their boardshorts or running shorts

April 14, 2021

A little tweek

Not a fan of the brief liner, so I did a little alteration. I cut out the liner, and use a separate 5" compression liner. Works great! The pockets on these shorts are the best (!), and the fabric is light and quick drying.

April 12, 2021

Runs Small

Fits like a small, so order a size up. Even the large is a tad tight in the hips / buttocks. I usually wear a size medium in running shorts with a 32 waist, but different manufacturers have different sizing standards. The shorts so far havent given me any chafing or issues so far while run commuting 6.5mi to work twice a day.

April 11, 2021

good one

wider hip belt would make them more comfortable

April 10, 2021

Fave trail running short

This is my second pair since I loved the first pair so much. Over the past two years - they have0 changed The liner from a compression short to a brief -Well see if this impacts Chafing... hoping not. The pockets are super useful, and just stretchy enough to accommodate the phone, a snack, and a Houdini for temp changes.

April 8, 2021

who wears short shorts

These shorts are great. I used to make fun of runners in super short shorts but now I get it. They're super comfy, good for evening out tan lines accrued from my cycling habit, and wearing them is basically a somewhat socially acceptable version of going out in public to run in my boxers. The side slits make me feel like a way faster runner th... Read Morean I actually am, and the pockets hold a key, card, and goodies better than any hip pack or waist belt I've found.

April 8, 2021

Best running shorts I've ever owned

These are great shorts for everyday running of any kind, as well as those long trail missions. They're lightweight and unobtrusive when you're running, yet are fully featured with carry options for keys, gels, and snacks. These are my go-to's for everyday running as well as ultra's. The waistband pockets are out of the way and d... Read Moreon't hinder your running, and are the perfect size for trail snacks and keys. I am tall and lean: 6'2", 170lbs. These shorts fit perfectly on me.

April 7, 2021

Great running short, but...

These are my favorite running shorts. would be 5 stars...but, developed a hold in back of leg in less than 1 year. :(

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

That's such a huge bummer Matt! All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we'd be happy to have you send them in for a warranty. Please get in touch with our customer service team to set up that return.

April 5, 2021

Comfortable all day activity, or all day lounging shorts

I have several pairs of these. I love them for anything from a 25 mile hike in the grand canyon to a long day in the home office in the summer. They don't bunch up or bind. They don't stick to my legs on steep ascents like some other shorts do. I can tuck just a few small items for short adventures in the pockets (keys, gel, id). Also, ... Read Morethey dry fast, so quick dip in a river, or a soak in a hot tub are in play with these doubling as some swim trunks. My oldest two pairs of these are 2-3 years old and have held up well.

March 25, 2021

Worth Every Penny - Only shorts I will run in

5k to 100k in the dirt, these are the best running shorts. The pockets can hold an unreasonable amount of stuff. Perfect for beanie, light gloves, keys, goos, gummies, blister kit, etc. You can fit a phone but that just gets silly. (I say "unreasonable because you can carry too much - but great if you need to stow stuff) These never chafe, are... Read More uber light weight and dry super fast. I use the 5" inseam - they do not pull or restrict my running in any way. I have had several pair over the years and miles. I have had a couple pairs where the ATF (Anti Taint Funk) has worn off and they get smelly. But I still will not run in anything else. Thank you for supporting the environment.

March 24, 2021

Excellence.

There is so much to love about these shorts that I have three pairs in heavy rotation. They literally last all day, and the 5 pockets on the back waist are genious. You can stash everything back there: full/empty gel packets, wipes, keys, earbuds, etc. The waist is soft and comfortable and the drawstring actually stays in place after just tying it ... Read Moreonce. After a wash they are as good as new and the sewing on the seams (each pocket!) doesn't fray like other company's shorts. The 5" length isn't as short as you think. All 3 pairs will be there for my next 100 miler for sure!

March 23, 2021

Lightweight

Amazing shorts, my go too while distance running through the city, side pockets and back pockets run a little bit small for my oversized phone, but youll love the feel and look of these shorts

March 20, 2021

Runs small

Sizing runs small. I wear a medium in other brands like brooks and new balance. These are very tight. Need to return to see if a large fits.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Sean! So sorry the sizing didn't work out for you on these. We're always happy to help by providing garment measurements before you purchase. Let us know if you need any assistance with the [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html)!

February 27, 2021

The ultimate running shorts, which will also accompany me on the PCT

I have tried a variety of different running shorts, and these are by far my favorite. I like the hidden pockets and the overlapping panels on the side that create a clean aesthetic and allow for a lot of movement.

February 12, 2021

Great running short2

Great length running shorts. Back pocket fits an iphone x and the side pockets can hold a houdini

December 10, 2020

Amazing comfort and performance....but terrible durability

After only a few months of wear, there was a rip in the back, and the Patagonia label is peeling off the front. These have been my go-to exercise shorts for years but this version has not stood up to even mild wear. Still so comfortable and great performance.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2021

We are incredibly sorry to hear about your shorts! Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) items at any time under our Ironclad Guarantee.

December 9, 2020

Great for summer short

5'6 and 145lb. Small fits great. Awesome warm weather short for running, swimming, hiking. Material dries very quickly. Awesome selection of pockets. Fit is great and shows off my legs ;)

November 17, 2020

Liner Too Tight

Was really excited to receive these in the mail, but tried them on and the liner was way too tight. I usually wear a small in most shorts, and I loved everything else about them, but they we're uncomfortable and had to return. Would definitely like to try sizing up to a medium, but were all sold out. Might try again in the future!

November 14, 2020

Great pockets, wish the material was...

Great pockets for trail running when you dont want to wear a waist belt or vest. I use these for runs up to 14-15 miles because I can put all my nutrition, keys, etc in the pockets. Theyre easy to access and secure. I wish the material was softer though. Ive had chaffing issues and need to wear a liner with them. Also Ive worn them once a week for ... Read Moretwo years and am now wearing out the material on the inner part of the legs. I was hoping to get longer life out of them because of the price, but small holes are forming. The material is lightweight but is pretty basic... If the material was softer or more durable these shorts would be perfect.

November 13, 2020

Love em!

I own five pairs of these shorts and rotate them throughout the week on my morning runs for the past 18+ months. Theyre light, stay dry and are super comfy. While they are light weight, they still provide good support and have the right amount of pockets for gels, etc. I will replace them if/when they wear out.

November 3, 2020

Never Stop Making These

Dear Patagonia, Please do not stop making these. Since buying my first pair more than a year ago, I have gotten rid of almost all of my other running shorts and replaced them with these. I now own 6 pairs. Every other runner I have talked to agrees that they are one of their favorite pairs of shorts. They're light, have a ton of pockets, can ... Read Morefit a phone, and the brief liner is great for going fast with no restrictions. I do 50-60 miles per week, and am in these shorts 80% of the time. All you need now is a 3" pair!

November 3, 2020

Dope

If you are a runner or a ninja, these shorts will treat you right. Bad liners are a deal breaker with me, and thankfully these liners are excellent. Light, fast, don't even notice they are on. I support Patagonia because of their politics, but they make good gear too.

September 28, 2020

The Best

These shorts are outstanding. They fit perfectly and the liner handles sweating when I run in Florida heat really well -there's no chafing on my thighs as I've had with some other shorts. They look great and are, as usual with Patagonia, well made with quality materials. Highly recommended for runners.

September 10, 2020

Liner too tight

I do like these shorts. It's the liner I don't like. It's a tad too tight in the seat and package. A little more room in those areas and it's a 5-star short. Of note, I tried a large which was just too big.

September 8, 2020

Light as Air

I have 4 pairs of these shorts and I used them almost daily. They fit great. I like the pockets, but none will fit my Iphone (not an issue). I run in a hot area and these shorts are comfortable and dry quickly.

September 7, 2020

Light and practical

Best running shorts Ive had. On the longer runs, the high pockets can stash all of your energy gels. The back zipper pocket is ideal for your house keys. You dont have a bunch of items swinging around like you would with basketball shorts. The waistband sits lightly on the waist.

September 5, 2020

Amazing!

These shorts are amazing. I wear them for casual wear, hiking, and work outs. Shorts have a zippered pocket in the back but what I love the most is that there is a stretchy pocket on each side of the front that will hold an iPhone or your wallet. Super comfortable and true to fit. I have 3 pairs for the week.

September 5, 2020

Comfortable and not cheesy

These are great run shorts with short side slits that dont show too much thigh or cheek like some other brands.

September 3, 2020

Still the king of trail running shorts

This is my 4th pair and I believe the 3rd generation of the 5 Strider shorts. Im a regular guy who runs 60 miles per week almost all on trail and these shorts just work. They are form fitting without being too tight or too baggy. The side pockets hold a generous amount of stuff (gels, gloves, a small beanie cap) and the back zipper pocket is perfec... Read Moretly sized for a car key and money. My oldest pair of these shorts have thousands of miles on them and although they have some pin holes and the waist tie is broken, they are still usable. The things I dont like about this latest design is Patagonia moved the side seam more to the front of the leg which chafed me on a super hot and humid day. And the side cuts used to have a nice curve to them which I found flattering. The new cut looks more boxy and bland. Those small nitpicks aside, this short is worth every penny and will last you a long time.

September 2, 2020

Great short, needs a liner

This is a terrific pair of running shorts and Ill buy more. Only thing holding me back from a five start review is the fact that it has a brief instead of a full liner. That would make it perfect.

September 1, 2020

Bring back the old version

The version of the Strider Pro is the only trail running shorts I ever wanted to own, I've been through a 3 pair of the old. The updated version is inferior in every way. The biggest problem is that the pocket fabric is stiff and not as stretchy. The enormous volume of the four hip pockets in the old version was the main reason this short was ... Read Moreso great. I could fit a hat, gloves, water filter, even a windshirt in those pockets. Now, not only won't they fit, but there's more pressure against my hips for anything in there. The fabric isn't as soft/nice feeling as the old one. And the fit is a little smaller. I was warned about these updates but i couldn't resist buying the bright orange/yellow color. It was as bad as people have been saying. It's a shame because the old version were the only game in town for that kind of short.

September 1, 2020

Need an XXL!!!!!!

Seriously these are the best 5" shorts out there, you guys have many shorts in XXL for us, These should not have been left from that measurement spectrum! Please make an XXL version!

September 1, 2020

My Favorite Running Shorts So Far

These shorts have everything you want and nothing you don't, which is basically a perfect review. Super soft, very lightweight and breathable, I think the length is perfect. The waistband zipper pocket can fit a phone (at least an iPhone 8) and the shorts cinch tight enough to not fall down with it in there. I have probably put a few hundred m... Read Moreiles of trail running in on mine and have had zero issues. My one small gripe would be that the elastic on the leg holes of the liner squeezes a little tight, but I have thick-er thighs :) and it has stretched out over time.

August 28, 2020

Loving these pockets.

Patagonia has done an amazing job selecting a pocket system that doesn't make you feel like your nutrition is roll of pennies in your pocket. There are 2 on each side a security one in the back. My only wish is that they would improve the crotch ventilation with a perforated fabric. Im a heavy sweater in the summer and after 5 days in these sh... Read Moreorts (with some swimming) while on a PCT section thru hike I developed some irritation.

August 23, 2020

Super light

I like the shorts because it's super light and comfortable. As for the sizing, I typically wear small but the liner is very tight, I ended up buying size medium. (I'm 5'-5", waist 30-31"). I don't know if it's just me but my Smolder Blue shorts get sweat-spots (including crotch area) when I work out hard. I wish I... Read More knew so I'd have purchased black instead.

August 23, 2020

Falling apart after 4 months.

I purchased 2 pairs of these shorts in April for running, I do about 250-300 mi per month. While I love the pockets on the sides, its clear that the quality has fallen off from the pair I bought several years ago, which are still performing beautifully. The stitching on the crotch is almost completely frayed through and if it werent for the liner, ... Read Moreindecent exposure would be a very real possibility on both pairs. Im so disappointed because I would love to support this company, but if Im paying a premium price I think its fair to expect a premium product.

Response from Patagonia
October 30, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on these shorts. We do not expect this to happen and we stand behind everything we make with our Ironclad Guarantee. We've reached out privately with some options for you.

August 18, 2020

Runs Small

Im 5 4 and weigh 141 lbs. I purchased a Medium, (31-33 waist according to size chart) and the shorts fit tight in the waist. Ive never purchased a large running short before, but thats the size I would buy, if I buy another pair.

August 18, 2020

Nice short, nice color, fit is not as advertized

The quality and color of the mango shorts is great! I would just say assess your body shape before you buy these. They are advertised as a regular fit but they are more of a slim fit if you ask me. Patagonia's size guide suggests that a Regular fit will work for a 34-36 waist. I am 6'3" and a 34 waist (36 tends to fall off me). I wei... Read Moregh 205 and most for the most part it is muscle... and that appears to be the problem. If you are a 34 with muscle below your waist you will find these awkwardly tight at the waist. I can't imagine trying to squeeze into these if I was a 36. But, I like the color so I am going to see if I can exchange them for an XL to solve the fit problem.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Hey Thomas, thank you so much for this detailed feedback on the fit of your Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 5". We'll pass this along to our design team. Please reach out to our customer service team to get that exchange started.

August 14, 2020

Great for running but beware

There shorts are great for running, but they stop there. I have ripped 2 pairs now from just laying down and then leaning forward to sit up. The stitching on the side of the shorts does not hold up well. I would recommend these shorts, however since they are not extremely flexible and tear easily I dont think they are worth the price.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback on these shorts and we're sorry to hear that they aren't working out for you. We guarantee everything we make so please feel free to send these back to us under our [warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 8, 2020

My favortite active shorts

I love the secure liner when hiking , etc. I also love the brilliant placement of the pockets. Nice, cool, active shorts for hot weather. These are close to true to size, a tiny bit on the small side. I am 6'1" 192 lbs and the large fit me well.

August 7, 2020

Where is the XXL????

I would love to give the shorts five stars for being the best shorts ever created by humankind. The only problem is they do run small, so if you are into weightlifting or CrossFit and your legs are on the larger side you are out of luck. Otherwise the length, the materials, and the bag zipper are absolutely perfect! Unfortunately they are just too ... Read Moretight on my legs for a comfortable fit. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make one size larger for those of us "large quadded" people!!

August 6, 2020

Great fit and features

These shorts fit great and have awesome pockets. FIVE POCKETS. They store so much gear without bouncing. Were talking phone, wallet, insulin pump, keys, snacks. Okay maybe thats a bit heavy, but these shorts are clearly designed for people who dont carry a backpack and dont like their phone bouncing out while running. The elastic flap on top of the... Read More pocket retains any unruly large items well. Besides the pockets, which are way better than other shorts on the market, these shorts fit great and provide good freedom of movement without being too...exposing. I wore them for a while with the integrated liner, which worked reasonably well but occasionally gave me chafing problems on multi-hour runs. I got nervous about it and cut out the liner before an 8 hour run, replacing it with a boxer light compression liner. I dont know if this was necessary but Ive never had chafing problems since. Redesigning the liner without thick seams at the edges, and with a slightly larger fit could resolve the issue. Liner problems aside - these shorts are so great they deserve five stars. Ill buy more when mine wear out.

July 28, 2020

Good if you're tall

So, I'll preface by saying I like shorter shorts. Always. (Bring back the 5" standup!) I loved the last version of these shorts. They fit perfect, had great storage, and I never chafed on long runs. While I didn't particularly DISLIKE the new version, I'm only 5'9 and something about the design (higher waistband maybe) made... Read More them fit much longer than the previous version (of which I have 4 pair and still wear despite having worn holes in them). Perhaps a 3" inseam trail short may be the answer?? I know I'd buy them in a heartbeat.

July 25, 2020

Great material/construction. Runs small.

Just received the small in the mail and boy these run tight. I am 30" waist and wear a small in all my other running shorts. I will size up to a medium and revisit my review from there.

July 25, 2020

Makes Me run Faster

I absolutely love these shorts. The 5 is a perfect length for me. Not too short that I feel like Im only wearing underwear but not to long that Im restricted. They are feather light too which makes me forget Im wearing pants sometimes. The only complaint I have is that Ive only been using these for about 2 months and the Patagonia logo Is already r... Read Moreubbing off on the left leg and is now only Pata Though its only cosmetic, it is kind of a bummer since Patagonia has always been very high quality in my eyes. But other than that, the shorts themselves perform tremendously!

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Thanks for your detailed feedback on fabric, fit, and performance of these Strider Pro Shorts! Please note that this product is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so let us know if they do not function or remain as durable as you expect.

July 20, 2020

pocket problem

Great in all ways except pockets. When purchased two years ago, my first pair had no problems. But my second pair (just purchased), unlike the first, has a smaller zipper pocket. As a result, a cell phone won't fit in any of the 3 pockets. I cut a longer hole on the zipper (largest) pocket, but that's not a satisfactory fix.

July 18, 2020

Best shorts!

I love the changes they made to these shorts. The brief liner is way more comfortable and light compared to other versions. If you like short liners that are bulky and hot these are not for you. I wish Patagonia changed all the liners to the briefs for the running gear!

July 13, 2020

Finally, shorts that don't go over my knee.

I'm sick of shorts getting caught on my knees when I squat. With these shorts, I don't have this problem anymore! My cellphone also fits in the side pocket and my keys as well.

July 13, 2020

Solid Shorts

Ive used these on a few short runs so far (2-5 miles) and have been pretty pleased with them so far. Lightweight, I dont notice the liner, and the pockets are a good size. Im 64 with a 32 waist and got the large, fits great and doesnt feel like they will drop when the pockets are loaded. The material seems like it will hold up for quite a while, bu... Read Moret Im curious if it is also causing my one grief with the shorts. Usually at the start of my runs the shorts will ride up between my legs, leading to a couple of odd strides to get them back to where they should be. Maybe I just have an odd gait while warming up, though I dont have this issue with other shorts. Either way I tend not to notice it once Ive warmed up so its either not that irritating or whatever is causing it stops. Im looking forward to seeing how these hold up on some longer runs with some fuel in the pockets.

July 13, 2020

Perfect product for intended use

Love these shorts. Very lightweight and breathable - perfect for long runs on road or trail. Side pockets are a huge win for nutrition products! Quick frying fabric keeps me cool and comfortable

July 13, 2020

Tropics running

Great shorts, wear them running in the tropics. Only complaint would be rear pocket can be bigger.

July 13, 2020

A good companion

I run in these every morning. No signs of wear so far. Cant fit my iPhone 11 into any of the pockets. No problems fitting anything of the usual (water,tissues). Very good lining makes this my favorite running shorts

July 13, 2020

First time purchaser

I have both the 5 inch and 7 inch shorts and I really like how the 5 inch shorts works on runs and hikes. Barely notice they are there, hits mid to upper thigh and does a great job keeping everything in place and wicks moisture away. Definitely will purchase another 5 inch pair.

July 13, 2020

Fits Great Looks Great

love them - they fit awesome and are my favorite running shorts - they stay super dry too !

July 10, 2020

Perfect product for intended use

Love these shorts. Very lightweight and breathable - perfect for long runs on road or trail. Side pockets are a huge win for nutrition products! Quick frying fabric keeps me cool and comfortable

July 9, 2020

Best 5" Running Shorts Out There

These shorts are just great for trail running. I've logged many miles in them and find they wick and fit exceptionally well. For those of us in the South where you can wear shorts from March to December, these really fit the bill. Recommended without reservation.

July 9, 2020

A good companion

I run in these every morning. No signs of wear so far. Cant fit my iPhone 11 into any of the pockets. No problems fitting anything of the usual (water,tissues). Very good lining makes this my favorite running shorts

July 9, 2020

First time purchaser

I have both the 5 inch and 7 inch shorts and I really like how the 5 inch shorts works on runs and hikes. Barely notice they are there, hits mid to upper thigh and does a great job keeping everything in place and wicks moisture away. Definitely will purchase another 5 inch pair.

July 9, 2020

Fits Great Looks Great

love them - they fit awesome and are my favorite running shorts - they stay super dry too !

July 5, 2020

Great but does run small

Material on these shorts is fantastic. The inner is exactly the same as every other running shorts Ive ever owned so great in that department. But, thank goodness I read the reviews and sized up. I wear a size 30 and can even get away with a size 29 if I have to, but I sized up and bought the Mediums based on reviews here and they fit great!

July 4, 2020

Almost great

Got my first pair of these (5" inseam, darker gray, black accents) around 2016. Wore them a while and liked them well enough i got another pair in 2017 (5" inseam, lighter gray). The earlier version had a slightly wider waist band, with a softer, almost terry cloth material. It lays flat. The newer version has a narrower band of a smooth... Read Moreer fabric, and it tends to curl up on itself while i'm wearing it, making it slightly uncomfortable. Also, the older version had a narrow gusset in the crotch area made of a more vented, kind of mesh material. The newer one has the main fabric throughout. Hard to tell if there's any practical difference in ventilation. Aside from the waistband issue, both pairs are comfortable, and seem to be holding up well, thought they haven't been put through the wringer yet. I've always liked looser, shorter shorts for hiking. I find most "shorts" these days way too long. I don't like the bottom hem dragging on the front of my thighs while striding uphill. I'm just over 6 ft. tall (and about 185 pounds with a 36-inch waist), and one might expect a 5-inch inseam to look silly short on me, but the bottom hem still falls about five inches above the top of my knee cap, so no one will mistake me for an NBA player from the 70s. I usually take a large in most things, but, for hiking shorts i like a looser fit, so got these in an XL. They fit pretty much like just a slightly looser large, though, so i'd say they run a bit small. Still, the leg opening is loose enough i don't feel restricted. And the waist stays in place on me even without tightening the tie. The thin material dries quickly (the waistband takes a little longer), but seems sturdy for how light it is. So far, so good on construction quality. Nothing to say about the liner i cut them out; the boys gotta swing free and am agnostic on pockets, since i use a waist pack, but i could see where they might come in handy. One is zippered, so you don't have to worry about stuff falling out. Minus a star because they messed with the waistband, but otherwise, close to an ideal hiking short for me.

June 27, 2020

Favorite Backpacking Shorts (minus the liner)

These are probably my favorite backpacking and hiking shorts I've ever owned. Cut is perfect - loose but not too crazy. They're short enough to releave myself of that extra water weight out the bottom (TMI probably, sorry :) ). The pockets are perfectly placed for my phone and point & shoot camera just below the hip belt of my pack an... Read Mored easily accessible on the trail. I'm not crazy about liners in shorts but that's easily fixed by cutting them out

June 26, 2020

Shorts

Great shorts. All the different pockets are nice.

June 25, 2020

Great running shorts

Great comfy shorts for long runs with plenty of pocket space for all the essentials during those long runs.

June 22, 2020

Comfortable and functional.

Being vertically challenged, this is a great size. a lot of shorts and even shirts are too long and these are just right. I really feel comfortable running and think the shorts are super sharp. Even though my iphone 8 is heavy in the rear pocket it is a perfect place to place when I am running! I bought two more pairs last week since I liked the fi... Read Morerst two so much.

June 21, 2020

Awesome Shorts

I love these shorts - both the fit and fabric are great. Long hot runs in the mountains and I barely notice them at all, which is perfect. The fabric dries incredibly fast and so they never feel sweaty. I'm 5'6" and 148 pounds with a 30" waist and the size medium is perfect. I don't have to tie the drawstring but they don... Read More't slip down or feel tight at the waist at all. The envelope closure on the pockets create a little ruffle at the waist. This is only visible if you run without a shirt and isn't a big deal but I notice it. For me, I don't need pockets and suggest a pocket free version that would not have the ruffles and perhaps be cheaper. Anytime I run long enough to need to stash GU etc. I either have a vest of a handheld with pockets. I don't like running with stuff on my waist and can't imagine running with a cell phone in the waistband pocket, so I can't report on that. Bottom line - I bought 5 pairs. Love 'em. But I returned the orange ones because they were "see through" and seemed like they would show every little bit of dirt or dribble you might acquire over 30 miles of trail.

June 21, 2020

Best running short ever

I've been running trails in the Strider Pro Running short for years now. Light weight, durable, fast drying and super comfortable. Lots of pockets, now even my cell phone fits. Like the external tie as well. Highly recommend these shorts

June 21, 2020

Great shorts

They fit great. Small running shorts as advertised

June 20, 2020

Best running shorts.

These are my favorite running shorts Ive had. Their light and airy and super comfortable for long runs. It also has a single small pocket that sits balanced at the base of my spine. Perfect for my car key when I go trail running.

June 20, 2020

Like wearing nothing at all...

Really enjoy running in these. Was a little self conscious at first because they are shorter shorts than I am accustomed to, but now they are all I want to wear. Pocket in the bag is perfect for keys and the side pocket fits my big ol iPhone 8 in its case. Very well designed and well made. Definitely would purchase again.

June 19, 2020

Excellent for running

So comfortable I completely forget I have them on. Did a fair bit of research, landed on these for trail running. I love me, Ill be getting another pair. Its my favorite.

June 18, 2020

Best shorts ever!

Love these shorts with all their pockets! I actually wear size large. I bought a pair of XLs because of the sale price and they are a bit big on me. I say they're true to size because the large fits perfectly and that's what I usually wear. One bit of constructive criticism is that the side pockets on the XL are a bit big for a large Ipho... Read Morene and it swims around a bit. The side pockets on the large ones is just right. I think I just need to stick with the size large.

June 18, 2020

Fits Well

Great running short. Never any chaffing and the small pockets are good for keys and/or gels or small items that stay. Have multiple pairs and they've lasted well also. Would buy again.

June 18, 2020

Tight

I bought these shorts in a medium for my husband because the baggie shorts design has changed so much the small are right in the legs but too tight in the waist and the medium fits the waist but way too much room in the legs. These shorts are the opposite. While there is sufficient (by no means generous) material in the shorts the lining is so tigh... Read Moret he said he felt like he was wearing women's underwear. He is 5'10" and weighs 160, max, with skinny legs. He gave the shorts to me because we'd already washed them and they fit me well. I am 5'7" and weigh 140 and typically am somewhere between a women's small or medium. I am a big Patagonia fan and have made my husband one but they got these shorts wrong. If the liner were looser fit they would be a perfect running short for my husband.

June 17, 2020

Amazing!!

Best running shorts I've ever had. Comfy/wide liner helps keep you all in place. Perfect length though, I will definitely be getting another pair at some point. Only thing is if you get caught in a bramble or something, theyre not amazingly durable to tears.

June 17, 2020

Super light

These shorts are great as a lightweight, thin pair of shorts for all activities. The liner inside is a bit small but once I'm moving I don't notice it much.

June 17, 2020

Tight liner but feels great while running

The liner feels pretty tight when wearing causally, but when I run it feels like there is almost nothing there. Miles better than running in normal athletic shorts with cotton underwear.

June 17, 2020

Utility and Comfort

I love these shorts. Very comfortable and the pockets are handy for phones, gels and small pieces of trash you find along the route. Leave No Trace!

June 17, 2020

They Disappeared

Okay, they didnt disappear, and I didn't misplace them. These have been my go-to shorts for several years now because they simply vanish on the trail, they have enormous pockets for gels or light items like gloves or a buff and they keep things still on your hips so that stuff vanishes too; there is also a zippered pocket with a loop for a car... Read More key. The liner is traditional which is perfect for me because I'm not spending extra for something I'm going to cut out anyway as I use specific sports underwear. These shorts are great. Writing this review makes me want to order another pair. LOL

June 17, 2020

Not even close on size

These were supposed to be XL. They were a large medium at best. I gave them to my son in law who weighs 150 soaking wet. They fit him perfectly.

June 17, 2020

Great running shorts

Overall great shorts. Wished the rear pocket was a little wider for my phone. But would definitely buy another pair

June 17, 2020

Best running short ever

I've been running trails in the Strider Pro Running short for years now. Light weight, durable, fast drying and super comfortable. Lots of pockets, now even my cell phone fits. Like the external tie as well. Highly recommend these shorts

June 17, 2020

Perfect shorts

These shorts are hands down the best. They are light, have a ton of pockets, hold all the food I could ever need for 2-3 hr runs and hold my iphone 8 securely in the zip pocket. They don't cause any discomfort. I own two of the exact same pair!

June 17, 2020

Perfect running shorts

I have three pairs and they work really well for me. Im 510.5 and weigh 170. I like all the pockets although I do also use a Naked running band to carry a flexible water bottle and my phone... The zippered pocket is great too, for keys although when I wear these same shorts for yoga the zipper pull sometimes pushes into the small of my back.

June 17, 2020

Cool shorts!

Cool shorts, thats what these are. Cool in fabric weight. Cool in color. Cool in style. Cool fit and they keep me cool when I working in them. Coolest part? Patagonia cares about all of us and where we live. They are cool cause they put their money where their mouth is! Thats cool!

June 17, 2020

Best for hiking

Wear these on the trail for days on end. Started wearing them now when I get home from work. I could live in them

June 17, 2020

Best running shorts ever!

These are durable well built shorts designed for running. Pockets are easily accessible when running and perfect for gels or chews. Zippered pocket is great for keys.

June 17, 2020

I loved my old Patagonia hiking shorts, these were too small.

Very small. Ill have to return them. My prior patagonia hiking shorts were a M and fit fine. I just bought some running paints, and while a little small there ok.

June 17, 2020

Perfect!

Great running shorts! So good I bought three more pairs. The zipper in the back easily holds my iPhone without any bounce. The 5 length helps with my farmers tan while not being too short. And the liner is a solid amount of support. Great product!

June 10, 2020

My favorite running shorts.

This shorts are my absolute favorite running shorts. I have 4 pair and absolutely love them. I buy them a size larger than I need because I hate to feel restricted on long hot runs. The pockets are great and work well at holding things like my keys and cell phone.

June 7, 2020

Small and Uncomfortable

I purchased these from my local running store wanting to branch out from the normal sports brands and I probably shouldn't have. I am a Medium in EVERY pair of pants/shorts I own and these just fit super odd and tight. The waistband is small and just otherwise uncomfortable, it does not allow you to forget you are wearing them whatsoever. The ... Read Moreinner liner is confusingly small as well for men's shorts... I really wanted to like these because I really liked the color and I have heard good things about this brand, but my purchase just did not meet expectations. I would like to size up to L and see if it alleviates these problems but due to Covid-19 I don't think my running store will be allowing that..

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and would be happy to suggest you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back directly to us so we can offer an exchange. Thanks for the feedback!

June 5, 2020

Runs small or Im just hearty

Im a big fella, broad shoulders fat bum and a lil thick in the middle. These shorts are true to their manufacturer. However a XXL in short and pant sizes as well as shirts would be so much better. I love the product and intend on using it and enjoying it. Ill just not worried that I look a lil thick r than ah snickers in them. Does anyone know... Read More if you can custom order products in a larger size? ~Creeture

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

We appreciate these comments and that you've enjoyed these shorts. As far as larger/custom sizes, we do offer alterations in some of our technical pants, but other than that, this isn't something we are offering at this time.

May 29, 2020

waist band too narrow

I purchased a couple pairs of these shorts. First in medium, then in large as the mediums were just a bit too small. That's not that unusual for me as I'm a tweeter on M/L for most things. That said, the waist band is narrow and bunchy to my taste. If it was half again as wide with a less springy elastic, that would be nice. Otherwise, no... Read More complaints, just nice shorts to run in. PS - Loose the waist string. Who uses those?

May 13, 2020

Perfect trail running shorts

I loved the old version, successfully completed Dragon' Back and many other ultras. The only cons is that I would get some chaffing from the inside liner in rainy conditions. The pockets are perfect for phone and a bit of food. The new version is unfortunately a bit more baggy, longer and feels warmer. Maybe it is just about getting used to it... Read More, so will report back in 1000km or so :-)

May 12, 2020

Awesome Running Shorts

I have a 32" waist, so I ordered the M. Way too small/ tight. But size L fits perfectly. I have a pair of 2016 strider pros that I love (with the boxer liners). The 2016 strider pros tend to slide down a little bit, but not the 2020 strider pros. These shorts are an improvement and are really designed for running in more variable temperatures/... Read More warmer weather. The material is awesome. They are the most comfortable running shorts I've ever worn and will definitely be my go-to shorts for long summer runs and warm-weather trail racing. Tip: The Nine Trails shorts are the right choice if you want boxer liners.

April 20, 2020

Relatively spectacular

The shorts are spectacular - all the pluses but with a huge fit problem I don't understand - the inner liner is too small and tight in addition to the shorts running small by at least a full size. I read reviews and sized up to L even though I'm 5' 10", 145, 32" waist. The waist is maxed without being cinched at all and the... Read More liner is do-able but too small. I might just cut it out. My REAL concern is how this sizing ERROR could have gotten through Patagonia's usual comprehensive test phase. Whatever. 5* shorts with 3* review. Oh, one thought I had was mine are actually a woman's Large, that's how they fit. My 5' 9"/152 hiking squish LOVES my shorts.

April 3, 2020

BRING OLD LINER BACK!! Still a solid short though.

Kinda weird to charge the same price by using less material on the newer brief liner, as opposed to the older boxer brief liner, but I digress. The old boxer brief liner had unmatched comfort on the running short market. Still a great short with sold pockets and the ever important external drawstring, but the liner change is devastating ): Thanks f... Read Moreor coming to my TED Talk.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the revisions. We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons and we'll pass it along to our design team!

March 5, 2020

Best phone pocket!

Holds an iphone tight to your side so it doesn't bounce (the middle side pocket works best). Liner isn't perfect but has never chafed, including a hot 14 miler.

February 23, 2020

The pocket change?

I wasn't sure how to contact Patagonia through email, so I guess I'll leave a review. The new shorts honestly feel as good as previous generations but the lack of pockets are a big issue. I was able to carry my phone, wallet, nutrition and whatever else needed in the old model, but these new ones I can't really fit anything. For sh... Read Moreorter runs or just quick hikes, these shorts feel and fit great but anything with distance I have to go back to old models because of the pockets. I just wanted to put that out there for anyone looking for some new shorts. Thanks!

February 15, 2020

Briefs to Boxers! Do it!

Ive own 2 pairs from 2014 and they're still going strong (Grey/Orange). Ive bought the 2017 version but ended up sending it back cos the briefs ate my inner thigh on an Ultra Race. Recently got the 2019/20 version in Mango and Balkan blue, awesome color! A lot has change and Im loving all of the new design except for the briefs. They are still... Read More tight but not like the last time I bought em. I have also did few research online and many do cut the briefs and wear a seperate boxers. Even their athlete do that too. So I give my old ones a try and it was very comfortable! its like a new version of the Shorts! But beware once you cut the briefs it will void their warranty. I hope Patagonia change the brief system to boxers in all of the Striders Pro version.

February 12, 2020

Tale of two shorts

I've always liked running-style shorts for hiking, rather than most shorts marketed as "hiking" shorts. Roomier, lighter, no pockets that i don't need or use on the trail. Having tried a bunch of different brands over the years that were never quite right, a couple of years (summer, 2017), i bought a pair of the 5-inch Strider P... Read Morero shorts and i thought my search had finally ended. Fit was great (I'm about 6' tall, 185 pounds, 36-inch waist) . I'm usually a large, but got the extra large since i like hiking shorts to be roomy. These were perfect; really light, comfortable material, roomy but not too baggy. Tightness of the elastic on the waist band was what it should be. Length was good, too; short enough to not drag over thighs, but not so short to look silly. There is a small, triangle-shaped side opening on the outside of the legs. The waist band is a nice, soft, slightly fuzzy fabric that takes a little longer to dry out than the rest of the material, but is very comfortable. They are dark gray with black accents in a different material. So last year i ordered another pair to have for a planned, longer hike, but of course the design had changed. The issue for me is the waistband. Gone is the nice, soft material, now replaced with a harder-faced fabric which kind of folds over on itself and doesn't lie flat on the body. The side leg openings are now a little larger/higher, with a slight overlap where the fabric from the front and rear come together. No real problem with that; it's just different. (Looking at the current version on the website, it looks like they've done away with any kind of slit or opening on the leg.) Another difference: The older pair uses a different material in the crotch area and for the pockets. It's black, and appears to be lighter and more breathable than the main material for the rest of the shorts. The more recent pair (a lighter gray in color with light-green accents on the pocket trim and waistband) uses the same material throughout. None of this seems to makes any noticeable functional difference, though. Interestingly, the more recent pair weighs an ounce less than the pair from 2017 (3.3 vs. 4.3 ounces). The deal killer on the newer pair, though, is the waist band which is is uncomfortable to wear because it doesn't lie flat. So disappointing when makers ruin a good product. (Older version would get five starts, last year's gets two.)

January 30, 2020

Old version was perfect

I have 7 pair of the previous version. These new ones do not live up to those standards. It's a longer length, boxy, resulting in more fabric in between my thighs which bunches up and feels uncomfortable. Please bring back the previous version.

January 8, 2020

My son who is 17,

My son who is 17, loves the fit of these shorts!

December 11, 2019

Not a fan of the new version

I'm sorry to say that I am not a fan of the new version. The old ones were rounded on the bottom, which I preferred. The new squared-off version just looks weird. I also miss the old color choices, the new colors are boring. I still love the pockets and will continue to wear my old ones!

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Wynne, thanks for your review! It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fits/designs as favorable as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts if this is a deal breaker for you.

December 5, 2019

Shorts fit weird

Shorts were a weird fit, they just looked boxy and felt cheaper than the prior generation (which I was replacing). And cell phone pocket got SMALLER, which meant I could no longer wear my shorts for run commuting. Hence the return. Please fix the shorts!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches