Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Strider Running Shorts - 7"

Write Your Review

4.15 /5

Filter Reviews

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Strider Running Shorts - 7"

4.15
True To Size
July 22, 2020

Nice fit and feel, pocket is weak spot

This is the 4th generation of Strider shorts I've run in and I continue to be pleased with th efit and feel of these shorts. After a few weeks of running (with runs of up to 2.5 hours long), I find the boxer-brief liner is comfortable and supportive, but also is cool and prevents thigh chaffing. The material is a bit lighter (and cooler) than ... Read Morethe fabric in my previous Striders, and the amount of stretch is good. The fit seems to run just a bit small (I'm 6'5", 195lb, w/ 35" waist) but well proportioned. Although these shorts perform well for running, I find the rear pocket lacking in its design. The product description mentions the pocket accepting a phone, my iPhone 6s won't fit unless I take it out of its case. The biggest problem I have with the pocket is the pocket openining is placed so close to the top of the short's waistband that it is diffucult to intuitively reach into the pocket while running (e.g., to get a bar or other food), instead it is too easy to accidentally reach into the back of the shorts or have your hand slide past the openning. The pocket entrance needs to be lower so that your hand can more easily find the pocket entrance (and retrieve and replace contents) while running. Having a key loop in the pocket is nice, but it is a bit awkward to have the loop behind you and to loop and unloop the key while it isn't easily seen (if you lack flexbility the rear key loop may be difficult to access). The flat fabric used for the loop is difficult to handle and undo by feel, if the key loop was make of round cordage, there would be more tactile feedback about the loop is hitched around the key making it much easier to undo the key by feel. The fit and comfort are great, I wish the pocket design was better and allowed me to more easily get into and out of the pocket while running.

July 17, 2020

Outstanding Running Shorts

The Mens Strider Running Shorts, 7 length are truly outstanding. The fabric is so durable and the liner comes with odor control technology. I love these running shorts and will buy two more pair. I will upsize the next order as the large size fits rather snug, but comfortable. My waist size is right at 36. Oh, one final thought, this short pant has... Read More the most incredible moisture wicking capability.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these Patagonia shorts and how they feel I would highly recommend them great for running, biking, casual wear.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these Patagonia shorts and how they feel I would highly recommend them great for running, biking, casual wear.

July 7, 2020

Great shorts, but...

Pros: Super comfortable, great fit, very breathable which is great when I'm out for a run in the hot Texas sun in the summer. No issues with the tie getting lose even on long runs. Cons: I love the idea of the pocket for your phone, unfortunately the pocket is just too small for modern phones. I don't even have a giant phone, I have the ... Read MoreSamsung S20 (6.2 inches). Only gave 4 stars because this feature was a huge selling point for the shorts which my phone doesn't even fit in.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2020

Hi James, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate the feedback as its crucial to improving things for future seasons. We'll pass your comments along to our design team.

June 26, 2020

Good shorts but....

I love Patagonia products, Ill state that. I am fairly loyal due to the durability and style of the products. But. And Im not a big review guy. I think this is the first one I posted. Their sizing continues to be the one issue across the board. If I find a product that fits me well, it will be something I will wear for the next 15 years, as been th... Read Moree case with many products. I will go to order the same product a couple years later and it will be sized differently. I dont mind paying for the superior product but playing the medium/large game gets aggravating at times. I have mediums that are too small and larges that are way too big. More to the point, these are good shorts. They are slightly roomier than the 7 shorts I bought several years ago, which I prefer. The boxer brief lining is no big deal. Ill wear them when my older ones are dirty, but perhaps someone will but these shorts for the first time and prefer them, I dont know. No huge complaints, because the products that Ive bought in the pasta quality far outweigh any discrepancies I have. I am 511 -60 with a fit build and a large upper body. Perhaps its a me issue. I dont know. I hate for this to be a catch all for all their products but the shorts are a little roomy, I would have bought the 5 looking back. But I will wear them in the future and will continue to purchase Patagonia products, because of the high quality. I just wish their sizing was more standardized for normal fit across the board.

June 18, 2020

Exactly What I Want!

Great product! The fit is true to what I purchased and the long inner brief helps prevent chaffing on my thighs, which was an issue when using some shorts with a shorter inner brief.

June 17, 2020

Light and comfortable

My favorite running shorts. Inner liner is comfortable and prevents chafing. Back pocket just barely fits a phone. No extra anything. Have 2 pairs and bought my brother one as a gift.

June 17, 2020

Lightweight short

I love this short. This is the one with boxer brief style liner. I prefer that over the brief. Incredibly lightweight with 1 pocket in the back for gels.

May 31, 2020

Not Loving the Liner

I bought these short at the same time I bought the Strider Pro's. I don't care for workout shorts with hip pockets, and it's a feature I find hard to get these days. For that much these really are good shorts. But the boxer-style liner in these (versus the briefs-style in most workout shorts) just make them too awkward for me. Every ... Read Moretime I squat down in my workout or to sit, the back would pull down and I felt like my butt crack was showing. I found myself constantly tugging at the backside, and didn't care for that. The materials used are good. They're lightweight and breath well enough. Not a lot of excessive pocketing along the hip and waistline, which I love. But that liner is what loses it for me. Not a terrible short, but not one I want any more of.

May 28, 2020

Good Fit, Light-weight

I am a big fan of the 9 trails short, but wanted something a little lighter for speed work. Love the striders. Similar fit and feel of the 9 trails but a little slimmer. Liner stays in place and overall weight is perfect for heat and humidity.

April 29, 2020

Not as good as the previous model

I have a pair of the older generation Strider running shorts with a brief liner and they are my all-time favorite running shorts. With this edition, they added a boxer brief liner that offers less support. Also, the fit is slimmer without as much freedom as the legacy model. The one big miss on these shorts is the lack of a pocket for keys. There i... Read Mores an open pocket on the back that can hold a phone or energy bar, but it is not secure enough to hold a key or ID.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that these aren't living up to the previous version and we appreciate your comments. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us as your satisfaction is always guaranteed.

April 26, 2020

Boxer liner chafes legs

Sad to say all Patagonia men's running shorts now have a boxer shaped liner that is harrow for a boxer around the legs. Prior short design has a "speedo swimsuit" shaped liner which keeps you cooler, and does not chafe the legs. Returned this item.

December 30, 2019

Grandson loves them

Grandson loves them

November 27, 2019

Essential running equipment

These shorts are a big step above anything I've run in before. I'd been running in shorts from a different brand for the past 4 years and never considered that they may be heavy or restrictive. They were just running shorts and I didn't feel it mattered too much between manufacturers. I decided to try the Striders to see how it went... Read More and the light weight, freedom of movement, and comfort from the liner are far better than other shorts I've run in. Most noticeable is how they allow you to run less inhibited by the material which is very lightweight and feels great against your skin. The cut is just right, sitting above .the knees but not overly short. Then the liner is more comfortable than the usual brief liner in other shorts, almost like a spandex feel but not too tight, making them really enjoyable to wear around. The only thing I'd like different on these is some sort of elastic cinch rather than the shoe lace style adjustment which is difficult to get right.

October 21, 2019

excellent all-purpose short

I like having shorts with a liner when I go to the gym. It's one less thing to worry about. The 7" cut is ideal; good for running but not too short to wear in the gym. The fabric does not stretch a lot (which I like) but I've had no issue using them for deep stretching or yoga. The boxer brief liner is the best part. It doesn't ... Read Morestretch too much (which I've seen with other shorts) and is ideal when inverted or the shorts come up and expose more of the leg.

September 30, 2019

Excellent running shorts and good

Excellent running shorts and good storage space for your phone

August 23, 2019

7” running shorts

They are amazing!!! Very lite and comfortable Definitely I’m buying another one

August 18, 2019

Great short!

These are one of the best shorts I have found. The boxer brief liner helps avoid a rash. She back pocket is easy to access and secure even though there is no zipper.

August 11, 2019

Good quality running shorts. Liner

Good quality running shorts. Liner is a little loose fitting but very functional. I’ve beat them up a bit so far and everything seems to be holding up.

August 10, 2019

Strider shorts

Very comfortable and great for running in hot weather.

August 10, 2019

M’s Strider Shorts

I’m 5’9”, 147 lbs and I bought a medium M’s Strider for running. The fit was disappointingly uncomfortable. Too small and tight, also liner seemed to be small as well. One positive are the pocket space, material feel, and style. Just please change the liner and fit and I’ll happily return as a customer without returning next time.

July 19, 2019

Awesome

I've been running in Strider shorts for the past 4-5 years now. They are the only shorts I run in. I've tried all the different models, - the 5", 7", and Strider Pro models. These are my favorite ones so far - I absolutely love the super lightweight material (in the summer I frequently run in 90-100 degree heat). My typical lunc... Read Moreh-time run is 6-9 miles. On weekends I sometimes go for 12 miles. This current version chafes less (or not at all) than previous versions. As other reviewers noted, they do feel slightly longer with the liner, but that makes them perfect for the gym. I'm a minimalist, so I try to only buy things I really love and wear all the time, and I'm buying a second pair. I hope that Patagonia soon offers them in a simple, classic navy color.

June 17, 2019

Not a fan of the update.

I am a huge fan of the old strider design with the boxer "brief" liner. Received the updated version with full length liner and kind of odd shaped leg design. They feel more cumbersome and intrusive than the brief and don't fit as well and they seem a bit longer. Also, the picture above shows a cell phone fitting in that pocket, any ... Read Moremodern cell with a case on it isn't going to slide in that pocket very well, the old design with the zipper pocket was perfect for a few cards to run into a store with.

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment with these. Thanks so much for the feedback and please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us. You can reach out if you need any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service).

June 11, 2019

M.C. Hammer Fit

I just bought my 8th pair of Strider shorts. They are the only running shorts I wear. I recently bought the latest version and the material is a lot thinner than the last version which I can live with (they are not nearly as nice) but they have a substantially wider leg opening which looks a bit bizarre. Comfortable, yes. The waist is the same as i... Read Moret has been and they flare out below the waist. Hence the MC Hammer title. I'm not sure what's gone on with sizing at Patagonia but between these and the Airchaser shirts being about 2 inches longer than previous running shirt purchases, I'm beginning to think that I no longer fit into their demographic target. Disappointed because of the fit. As far as everything else goes, I'm certain they'll last long. That's probably not a good thing for the shorts.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're not fully satisfied with your purchase. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them and let our Customer Service team know if you have any questions.

May 8, 2019

Men’s Strider Shorts - 7: they run snall

Great shorts. However they run small. Buy one size larger than you normally wear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches