Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Strider Running Shorts - 3½"

Write Your Review

4.3 /5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Strider Running Shorts - 3½"

4.3
Kinda Small
July 9, 2020

Great running shorts, perfect fit

The title says it all! The material is soft and comfortable, doesnt chafe. The length is spot on. And the fit ideal. I bought two pairs, tempted to get one more in a different color.

July 4, 2020

Big improvement

This short is a big improvement over Patagonias previous womens running shorts.

June 30, 2020

Love These Shorts!

I love these shorts! They dry super fast, are very lightweight and super comfortable. The material is soft and moves with my body. The fit covers me nicely while leaving room to move easily in them. I usually run, swim and hike in them.

June 29, 2020

Love These Shorts!

I love these shorts! They dry super fast, are very lightweight and super comfortable. The material is soft and moves with my body. The fit covers me nicely while leaving room to move easily in them. I usually run, swim and hike in them.

June 26, 2020

Comfortable

I bought these shorts in all of the colors. The fit and quality are great!

June 22, 2020

No complaints

I am a repeat customer of the Strider shorts. I would wear these everyday if I had enough pairs. I'm 5'3'', 115 lbs and had to size up to a Small as opposed to my usual XS for this model, but still love them and would buy again!

June 22, 2020

Love these shorts!

Super comfy, looked small at first but they fit perfect and not too short! Love them!

June 21, 2020

Love these running shorts!

I've searched high and low for a good everyday running short....and I've finally found them! The thicker waist is perfect, great length, sweet little stash pocket for snack or key (without zipper fyi). I ordered 4 pairs and love them!

June 19, 2020

Love these!

Great material, super lightweight and quick to dry. They are a good length too.

June 17, 2020

Best. Shorts. Ever.

I don't think you understand, I hate shorts. I really hate short shorts. These, however, are incredible. They fit perfectly *everywhere.* They don't ride up. They don't fall down. The material is lush. I will be buying more without a doubt.

June 17, 2020

Comfortable

Comfortable and easy to wear.

June 17, 2020

Perfect running shorts

I love these shorts for my runs or even on hot days chasing my kids around the yard! Perfect for any active mom!

June 17, 2020

Love these shorts And..

I love these shorts. My sizing is kind of weird though: I have a medium pair for running because they best stay in place when they are a bit snug. I also have a large for lounging and less strenuous activities where having them be loose is more comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Easy and comfy

I am 55 and 135-140lb (thicker in the middle) and the mediums fit well. The waistband is soft and forgiving but stay up well. The first pair I had bought on sale and I loved them so much that I bought a second pair after the sale. I use these To run on trails and recently slipped in the creek. They dried quick and seem pretty durable. I would defin... Read Moreitely recommend and will likely buy a third pair.

June 17, 2020

Love these running shorts!

I've searched high and low for a good everyday running short....and I've finally found them! The thicker waist is perfect, great length, sweet little stash pocket for snack or key (without zipper fyi). I ordered 4 pairs and love them!

June 17, 2020

Pretty cool!

Really like the waistband on these shorts. I bought these for running but I have larger than average thighs that are muscular. When I lift my leg or try to run in them they are a little tight and/or not stretchy enough for the motion.

June 17, 2020

Love these shorts

The material of these shorts are great and I usually cant find shorts with a liner that I like but these ones are comfortable. I will definitely be ordering another pair soon as they are a favorite for all my outdoor activities, primarily paddle boarding and some upcoming white water rafting and hiking trips. For reference, Im 510 and weigh around ... Read More135lbs.

June 17, 2020

Not the best for women with thick thighs

I often feel that Patagonia's bottoms don't usually fit women with bigger thighs that touch, or larger butts, or wider hips. However, I love the material, the color options, and what the brand stands for. Thanks, Filipino girl with nice curves.

June 17, 2020

Comfy hiking shorts

I love these shorts for hiking in hot weather! I will most likely order another pair! I do miss the adjustable draw string and zipper pocket that the older version had. The older version fit much better. More adjustable. All in all, still happy with these shorts.

June 17, 2020

Súper comfortable

Light, fast dry on long runs, lovely colors. Love it!!!

June 17, 2020

Perfect material and size

The shorts are a perfect fit, color is great and true to size. The material is light and feels good.

May 26, 2020

Almost great

I run 6-7 days per week, some trails, mostly roads. I mostly love these running shorts, with just a couple drawbacks. I love that they are very lightweight (especially compared to similarly styled running shorts I own by a big name running company). They're nice and short and allow for great range of motion. The first downside is that the line... Read Morer is pretty skimpy, so I don't feel very covered in them; I wouldn't do any crazy stretches in public wearing these. And the second negative is that the pocket in the waistband does not have a zipper. I often drive somewhere to run and like to have a zippered pocket so I know I won't lose my key. If these had a little more liner coverage and a zippered pocket they would be perfect. I did have to return and size up one size and customer service was great.

May 24, 2020

Amazing workout shorts!

I own two pairs of these already, but I would definitely buy them in every color if I could! Perfect short for the gym or any other fitness activity. I'm 5'8", 140lb, slim/athletic build with average hip width and decent butt and I find the size medium to be PERFECT. I usually wear a size small in all other athletic brands or shorts,... Read More and for jeans I'm a size 2 or 26, but the small in these would definitely be a bit more snug - so size up if you're unsure!!! So worth it.

May 15, 2020

Miss the zippered pockets

They're still mostly great shorts, but I miss the zippered pockets that the older version had. The waistband pocket is lousy at holding keys or gels- I've had mine fall out twice during the same run!

January 24, 2020

Great, Versatile Short

I specifically bought these shorts for a vacation to Texas in the summer. I wanted a lightweight, durable short that could dry easily if got wet from the water park or ocean. I love the lilac color! They could replace a pair of bottoms if you forgot your swimsuit, as I used them at the beach while wading in the water. Also, I am not usually a fan o... Read Moref build-in underwear, but these were very comfortable. There is a pocket in the waistband, which is great. Also, there is an adjustable waistband if you need to make more snug. They run a tad on the small size and are short shorts. I am 5'3" and 125 lbs and purchased the size small. I was a bit hesitant to purchase these since they were a bit expensive. However, they turned out to be a great purchase. Overall, great purchase and I recommend!

January 4, 2020

love them

these are my favorite pair of shorts, love that you can adjust the waist. perfect length, have had them for a few months and no wear at all

December 20, 2019

Low waisted for tall women

The small fit snugly on me and sat a little too low for what I needed the shorts for, which isn’t running so for running shorts they might be perfect. I am 5’9.5” and 130 pound and the small was snug enough that I could wear them as a swimsuit bottom in calm waters.

December 17, 2019

like the color and fit

like the color and fit

November 22, 2019

Short and light

It can be hard for me to tell if I should get the XS or S in Patagonia's clothes. I went with XS and probably should've sized up to S. I tend feel a little self-conscious in these short shorts but they're light and comfortable on hot days. They were the right choice for the day I ran up a 2 mile 8% grade hill in 80 degree weather. Th... Read Moreey're not my favorite choice for the University gym I belong to as an employee.

November 6, 2019

Good, but weird cut

So, these shorts are comfy as heck as soon as you’ve worn them once. They fit snugly, but not too tight. However, they look a lot shorter than your typical 3.5 shirts due to the way they’re cut. If you do not have super skinny thighs (I don’t) they will definitely ride up while running. They do go up QUITE a bit while sitting. Overall I give them a... Read More 4 because they make me feel great, but I feel like I have to lose some weight to wear them on a run.

October 25, 2019

Love!

I have these in 4 colors total! So comfy! I wear them to my HIIT work out classes, walking, or just running errands! True to size and great quality

September 21, 2019

Like wearing nothing

These shorts feel like you are not wearing anything when on. I prefer to wear these for hiking and not so much running, because it seems like they are built for ladies with smaller butts. Personally, the lining doesn't stay in place; not to a point where it gives a wedgie but enough for it to be awkward. Despite this, I really love them!

September 9, 2019

Good lightweight shorts

Lightweight shorts; they bunch a bit while running and the pocket is small and awkwardly located in the back. Think I’ll end up using them more for hiking. A large fit well (5’7”, 160lbs).

September 4, 2019

Cute Pattern, But Different Design Than 2017

I love the pattern of these shorts, but there are a couple things to note. 1) The pocket on the older design had a zip closure. This one just has a waist tuck pocket, which makes it difficult to carry something heavier like a key without losing. 2) Built in briefs on older version were double-lined. These ones are lighter weight single-lined. Not s... Read Moreure if this a good or bad thing, but they do feel a little lower quality. 3) Older version had an exterior waist tie. This version has eliminated this, which I like.

August 31, 2019

Best shorts I have ever put on

These are the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn. The side pockets are amazing and secure so I can hold both my wallet and phone and I still have plenty of room for other stuff. I would buy multiple pairs if I were you.

August 29, 2019

Love these, but they run small

Definitely size up, they run very short, but the fabric is great. Not clingy at all.

August 25, 2019

Good quality, a little small for me

Really good quality, I like them a lot but I bought them to wear at home and I’m unlikely to wear them out of the house. I’m a little extra curvy on the bottom so these ride up on me when I walk around, but they're great great for home!

August 19, 2019

New model, No new features

This shorts runs really small compared to the last model. Additionally, the fit is more like lululemon speed up short. These no longer have a tie, but have an inner elastic band (don't like) and not does not have a zippered pocket (don't like). I liked the older model because it had a looser fit than the current redesign; the waistband is... Read More stretchy, but not the relaxed fit. The leg are really form fitting, and not as comfortable as the last model. Most distressing is the new pocket design; not zippered and on the waist band. The zippered pocket really made sure that loose keys stayed in place. I also miss the tie waist, really kept the shorts in place when wet or moist.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this new design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

August 15, 2019

Disappointing sizing

I have 3 pair of these shorts - love them for running. But all 3 are size smalls (purchased several months apart) and the latest pair (small) are tiny compared to the others. Unfortunately I live overseas and the return process is too arduous or I would send them back.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts, but...

I like everything about them - waistband, length, colors - except for the limited pockets. There is only one and it’s envelope, not zippered. Otherwise, these are great!

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

Love the fit. Nice pocket in the back to carry essentials during a run.

August 2, 2019

Cute but small-ish

This is my first pair of non-baggie/barely baggie shorts from Patagonia. I love the color of the lavender/grey short- and the length is what I expected. The shorts are tightest across the crotch area, like another reviewer mentioned. If you are looking for a looser fit, or in between sizes, I would suggest sizing up. (There is an adjustable waistba... Read Morend (; ). Overall, I am excited to take these out running.

June 14, 2019

Pocket issues

Hey! I picked these because these seemed to be the longer of the two shorts. These are great but they still feel a little short to me and I really wish there was bigger and better pockets. The one pocket in the back barely holds a phone. I am a bit pocket obsessed, I'll admit but I really wish folks made women's clothing with multiple and... Read More practicle pockets.

May 29, 2019

Love!

I just returned from completing the 5 day Salkantay Trek in Peru. I lived in these shorts for the jungle portion of the hike. Very comfortable and flattering! No chafing or moisture issues and the built in lining fit me just right.

April 9, 2019

Too small in crotch

Fits perfectly in the waist, but the crotch where the underwear connects is too small.

April 4, 2019

perfect everyday running shorts

I am an avid trail/ultra runner so I am out running 5+ days a week and these are perfect for the shorter/medium runs when I don't need all the pockets that the Strider Pros have. I love the wide waist band, so comfy! They are very flattering too. They stay in place perfectly and don't ride up or fall down on me. Overall I feel like Patago... Read Morenia trail running stuff runs a bit small. I'm normally a size small in most everything else Patagonia, I'm 5'6" 135 lbs and went with a medium.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches