Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 7"

Write Your Review

3.56 /5

Filter Reviews

All 101 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 7"

3.56
True To Size
August 7, 2020

worst change ever

Why would you change the liner? I can't echo the rest of these reviews enough.. Perfect shorts, ruined.. Why not offer two options?

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2020

We appreciate your feedback on the new iteration of these shorts. Please reach out if you'd like any assistance to return them. You might like the boxer brief liner of our [Strider Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-strider-running-shorts-7-inch/24649.html?dwvar_24649_color=BLK&cgid=mens-shorts-running).

August 5, 2020

Great but

Great pants, but the liner is a little too taught and small

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2020

Please let us know if you'd like assistance to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) these shorts if the fit isn't working for you. Thanks Emilio!

July 29, 2020

Super comfortable

I've had these shorts for a couple of months now, and wear them several days per week. I use them to run and work out in the gym, and the stretchy material is perfect. Very comfortable. Useful pockets on sides and rear waist band - works well for keys/identification. I found the overall fit to be slightly on the small side - I'm 6'00... Read More", 195 lbs with a 32 or 33 inch waist, and I have very little extra room in the waist. Very happy with this purchase.

July 13, 2020

Perfect.

I have bought baggies in the past. These short are amazing. They are thoughtfully crafted with a premium fabric. The fit is kinda small but the XL definitely works for me.

July 13, 2020

love 'em

Great Shorts - super light, don't chafe, cool little pockets

July 13, 2020

Perfection just out of reach

As someone who likes gear that just works and doesn't call attention to itself, the 7in Strider Pros absolutely fit the bill- or they would if the liner sat 1in lower on my small but (according to my wife) cute cheeks. As it stands I find myself pushing the waistband below its natural position to keep the liner hem from creeping across my bum.... Read More Which is a bummer.

July 10, 2020

love 'em

Great Shorts - super light, don't chafe, cool little pockets

July 10, 2020

The BEST Running Shorts

Pockets for all of your needs, on L/R side, and zippered pocket in the rear. The cuts on the side give ample room for running, stretching, and yoga sessions. I am SUPER excited that these do not have boxer briefs! Yessss. Thank you. The lining in these are a little snug for me, but they are still better than extra material that traps heat, like b... Read Moreoxer briefs. These are very breathable, look AWESOME, and they highly motivate me to get a workout in. I liked them so much that I got every color. Who knows when this same quality will be around again! HIGHLY recommended.

July 9, 2020

Perfect.

I have bought baggies in the past. These short are amazing. They are thoughtfully crafted with a premium fabric. The fit is kinda small but the XL definitely works for me.

June 22, 2020

Best Running Shorts

These are the best running shorts Ive ever worn. The side and rear pockets are great for keys, cards, cash.

June 21, 2020

great pockets, light weight

These are great shorts for running when you're carrying anything (really), which is all the time. My older shorts were always cumbersome with side pockets and stuff swaying back and forth. All these pockets are functional and hold everything I need. Might be a little loose, but once washed, they fit perfectly

June 19, 2020

Best run shorts I own

Now have 4 pair. Tried ASIC, Nike, Brooks. These are by far the best run shorts I have. Fantastic in all aspects.

June 19, 2020

Phone pocket a little small.

These shorts great. I would give them five stars except the phone zipper pocket in the back is a tiny bit small. Especially if I plug in my headphones while running. Other than that they are great!

June 17, 2020

great pockets, light weight

These are great shorts for running when you're carrying anything (really), which is all the time. My older shorts were always cumbersome with side pockets and stuff swaying back and forth. All these pockets are functional and hold everything I need. Might be a little loose, but once washed, they fit perfectly

June 17, 2020

Great running short!

When I first bought this short, I was not a fan but mainly because of the tight feeling. After wearing them for a week, i realized that it was the netting inside so I cut it out. Now it's one of the best shorts that I have ever run in especially for long distance. It keeps cool, wicks moisture, stretchy and just a good short. I will say a few ... Read Morecons are that they were smaller than anticipated but that's my fault for not doing the research. The netting was uncomfortable, so if you dont like netting then cut it out. One last thing is that my phone (samsung galaxy) doesnt really fit in the back pocket but that's why I had a fanny pack and this short isn't meant to hold a phone. It will hold an ID, credit card and your house key with the loop. I wear a fanny pack, so this doesn't bother me. Other than that, it's a great short, very comfortable and durable material.

June 17, 2020

That rear pocket!!

The other pockets are great, too, but the zip-pocket on the rear waste band is the perfect design feature. It holds my phone (with case) so comfortably that I often forget the phone is there until after I'm seated in my car driving away from the trail head. Thanks again for great design!!

June 17, 2020

These shorts are phenomenal!

I run 50-60 miles per week and these are now my favorite shorts. I love them!

June 17, 2020

Wishing the pockets were big enough for a cell phone.

Wish the pockets were big enough for a cell phone

June 17, 2020

Good

While not as good as the 5'', I do love these shorts. They're great

June 15, 2020

Great running shorts

The shorts are as advertised. Im 511, 190, and got the L size. The shorts fit well, are light weight, and are breathable. The side pockets are a little funky but good for keys.

June 9, 2020

Great shorts for active lifestyles

I originally purchased the Men's Strider shorts (7") in size small. I'm 5' 9", 165lbs and have athletic thighs from regular crossfit exercise. The smalls were tight in the thigh as well as the waist. Exchanged the smalls for mediums which are a much better fit and the shorts are durable enough to handle rigorous workouts bu... Read Moret comfortable enough to wear lounging around the house. Highly recommend them if you're looking for a comfortable pair of workout shorts that can withstand a beating.

June 9, 2020

shorts grow on you

when i bought these shorts, i initially found the brief liner to be a uncomfortable. however, now the liner doesn't bother me at all. i think it just takes a bit getting used to, especially if you are used to running in shorts with a boxer brief liner. or maybe there's a break-in period. regardless, i now love the shorts. the brief liner ... Read Moremakes them much cooler than those with a boxer brief liner, not to mention lighter. i wish these shorts were available with both liner options. regardless, i think this running piece is spot on. it is light, comfortable, and the pockets are in just the right places.

May 28, 2020

Great Running Shorts

I am generally a 33/34 waist (180 lbs) and initially tried the M in this short. My son is now wearing those. They were close, but the Large is a better fit. One problem with the M was when I put my phone in the back pocket it felt really tight and obtrusive. Large is better in that regard, although I have mostly used on runs where I am wearing a ve... Read Morest, so I have not used back pocket for my phone. Length is great. I like the brief style liner. It has been comfy and chafe free on 2+ hour runs.

May 25, 2020

Nice Details

I've had the Strider Pro 7" shorts for a couple of weeks now, and am very happy with them. The pockets are well placed and functional, especially the envelope closure on the side pockets. The leg slits provide plenty of mobility. I found them to run a shade on the small size. I'm a fairly slim 6'00" /195, and originally ord... Read Moreered size medium, which was way too small. Size Large ended up being right, but with not much extra room. Quality seems up to par, so far.

May 21, 2020

Nice Details

I've had the Strider Pro 7" shorts for a couple of weeks now, and am very happy with them. The pockets are well placed and functional, especially the envelope closure on the side pockets. The leg slits provide plenty of mobility. I found them to run a shade on the small size. I'm a fairly slim 6'00" /195, and originally ord... Read Moreered size medium, which was way too small. Size Large ended up being right, but with not much extra room. Quality seems up to par, so far.

May 13, 2020

Go to short for 2 - 20 + miles

Bought these on a whim and have become my favorite go to short. These shorts are super light, breathable, supportive and comfortable with lots of storage. Many reviews note the liner being tight which was also my first thought when trying them on. After over a year of consistant use in a variety of conditions from cool, windy days to hot and humid... Read More they always impress me. The liner is supportive and quickly is forgotten about once in use and I have never had any issues with chaffing. The material makes it feel like you have nothing on with total freedom of movement. Patagonia nailed it again.

May 9, 2020

Go up one size and these shorts are fantastic

Like many others that have reviewed these shorts I have been a big fan of the Strider pros with the boxer brief liner from past seasons. I originally purchased the new shorts in my traditional patagonia size (sm) and noticed that the shorts run a size smaller than previous seasons. After chatting to a Patagonia rep and ordering the Mediums I am a h... Read Moreuge fan. Now that I have the correct size I actually like the new liner better than the boxer brief liner and the shorts are more lightweight and packable than previous seasons. I like the new elastic waist band and draw string better than previous seasons as well. Im finding myself wearing these as my daily short and am already thinking of purchasing another pair. Size up and enjoy!

May 4, 2020

Why do we have to choose

Patagonia, reading the reviews here, it seems like the debate between brief liners and boxer liners is endless. Some like one type, some like the other. Personally, I have 5 pairs of the older ones with boxer-briefs that I love. I appreciate the boxer-brief because it guarantees no chafing which had always been a problem for me before. Now, I can e... Read Moreither buy with the liner that is uncomfortable, or I can buy shorts without the pocket combination I love but that won't chafe. It looks like there are plenty of other runners who don't like the boxers - fair enough. PLEASE - make both available! Let everyone choose the liner type that works for them and please ALL your customers. Same pockets, same fit & length, two options on liner. Please.

April 25, 2020

Addressing Liner concerns

I was nervous buying these as a lot of reviews were complaining about the change in liner design from the boxer breifs to the mesh net. So I order these and the non pro version that still has the boxer brief liner, and am glad the design changed. I wear the pros way more than the regulars with the long boxer briefs as the liner. I've always ha... Read Moreve run in shorts with mesh liners and have never been a huge fan of running in briefs; they have more material to absorb sweat, are warmer and I feel like they don't provide as much support. Especially when you run in them for a few days without washing or on long run days, the brief liner tends to stretch and sag. Either way, both are great shorts to run in but I much prefer mesh liners and felt like there needed to be more reviews supporting the design change. If I'd known, I would have just bought two strider pros instead.

April 13, 2020

Great shorts

I like the brief liner. If you want a boxer liner there are other options. The shorts have a trim fit which I love, not a lot of extra fabric flopping around. No chaffing or rubbing at all. These are easily my favorite running shorts. 6 foot, 33 inch waist, size medium fits fine.

April 10, 2020

Love the Liner

I have to say I am a fan of the new brief liner. I have never liked running in the "biker short" type of liner. The Nine Trails Shorts offer the boxer brief for those that like it. Thanks!

March 15, 2020

Had to cut out the briefs

Brief liner was super tight and uncomfortable. Actually cut them out and rarely wear these shorts. The "non-pro" strider shorts boxer-brief liner is so much better; those are my go to running shorts- they just don't have the pockets that the "pro" has.

March 6, 2020

One star for brief liner, 100 stars for old boxer brief liner

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEEEAAAAASSE bring back the old brief liner! These were the absolute best shorts. I have never found a liner that fit so well and did not ride up. Please bring the old liner back.

February 25, 2020

Love these shorts!

I originally ordered these for running (which I use them for) and they are great for hiking, water sports, and lounging. They are light and quick drying. I will definitely be getting additional pairs.

February 12, 2020

Briefs - YES

No boxer brief, please. Bike short liners in a running product are fad, heavy and grabby. Your developers/testers have made the right choice. This is a runners short.

February 4, 2020

Liner briefs are uncomfortable

i love just about everything about these shorts except the liners. the liners are briefs and the edges of them chaff between your leg and crotch, making running pretty uncomfortable. this could be resolved with boxer brief liners like they used to have. patagonia makes superb products and i'm sure they'll fix this issue soon.

February 3, 2020

Disappointed in the liner change :/

My pair from 2017 with full boxer brief liner is easy in my top 3 for outdoor pieces. I’ve run a handful of races and countless miles on the road and trail. I’ve loved the pockets, the fit and functionality, and the liner which was comfortable and prevented chaffing. I would wear these shorts forever and would like to order more pairs, but sadly P... Read Moreatagonia has moved to a more minimal liner that will probably not get the job done for me for longer runs, but maybe for skinnier dudes! Would love to see y’all bring the original liners back! Love Patagonia but disappointed in this design change.

January 31, 2020

Bring back the boxer liner please please please!

Like so many of the other reviewers have stated, I would to see a return to the boxer liner on the Strider Pros. The boxer liner is by far superior to the brief liner—so much more comfortable and less chafing. I have worn dozens of other running shorts in my lifetime but none as comfortable as the strider pros with boxer liners. Please bring them b... Read Moreack! So many of us miss them.

December 27, 2019

Why did we change a good thing?

I Loved these shorts. I even hiked the whole John Muir Trail in them but now there is no liner!! So much more versatile if the liner stays in the shorts. Was ready to get 4-5 pairs so I never had to use another brand of shorts but now I need to shop around.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2020

Hi Bryan, thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes we've made. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We'll pass this feedback along to our design crew!

November 27, 2019

Lightweight.

Very lightweight running shorts.

November 25, 2019

Great shorts

These shorts are super light ... and have pockets.

November 25, 2019

As Advertised

Light, quick drying, breathable, and comfortable. Another solid product from Patagonia. Fit does run narrower through the legs.

November 21, 2019

light but tough

These shorts have done a great job threading the needle between being constructed minimally with lightweight materials on one hand, while also being well constructed and robust on the other. They held up great through a long day of schwacking through a poorly navigated trail "run" through autumn scrub oak. I know lots of folks were not ... Read Morepleased with this version's underwear brief, but count me as a fan. I understand the personal preference, and I prefer a little less fabric in that area.

November 20, 2019

Great for long runs

Love this shorts for long runs. Ample storage for gels. Easy to take out and put the wrappers in the gel pockets.

November 20, 2019

Where's the boxer?

I absolutely love the last version of the Strider - own 2 pair and wear them religiously. Made a one-click purchase on 2 more of these when they went on sale. Didn't realize until they arrived that the boxer liner is no more - swapped for a brief. So incredibly disappointed. The Strider is so functional I thought they would be the only style o... Read Moref short I'd ever buy again. Sending these back. Patagonia, please let me know when the boxer returns.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2019

Hey Nicholas! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the liner this season. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you haven't already. Thanks for your review!

November 12, 2019

Good stuff!

The Strider pro shorts are what running shorts should be-simple, practical, comfortable. The rear zipper pocket accommodates my IPhone 10s (barely); they also have two stash pockets that work great for gels, keys, etc. Consistent fit seems to be a problem for Patagonia; these seem to run a little on the small side; I usually wear small to medium an... Read Mored these mediums fit me just right. Stitching and construction seem to be top quality-overall great shorts!

November 10, 2019

“Our most technical running shorts”

My favorite shorts. The material, the pockets, and yes, the liner work well for me. A classic lightweight design that simply works. Agree with other comments: It’s somewhat baffling that reviewers would read the product’s description, purchase the product, and then poo poo the liner knowing it’s not what they want. The ad clearly states that this i... Read Mores Patagonia’s most technical running shorts. Hence, they shouldn’t have a long heavy non-technical liner. The company also offers a similar less technical pair of shorts with a longer/boxer style liner. Clearly we don’t need to be ‘pro’s’ to use/buy these shorts; however, perhaps we should at least be able to understand and appreciate the how’s & why’s of the ‘pro’ technical features before requesting less technical features in the most technical pair of shorts... IDK.

November 7, 2019

Ruined by new liner

The older version of these were by far my favorite running shorts of all time. The boxer liner was extremely comfortable with no chafing, the pockets were just right, and they were durable. The change to brief liners completely ruined these shorts for me. I wish I could still find some of the old stock.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Chris, we're sorry that you're unhappy with the changes to the brief inside of the Men's Strider Pro Shorts. We do have a pair of Men's Strider Running Shorts that still feature the boxer brief, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-strider-running-shorts-7-inch/24649.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_24649_color=CAGR. The Strider Running Shorts also have DWR (durable water repellent) finish and are quick drying as well.

November 5, 2019

Well fitting and very comfortable.

Well fitting and very comfortable.

October 12, 2019

Great shorts

I love the shorts, fifth pair since 2012, I have been using them for longer runs and races, all because the inner lining was something I preferred to have, to avoid chafing without having to use any extra products. I understand the description says "liner brief", so it is not like the company is trying to deceive anyone, but I liked the p... Read Morerevious iteration of this model better. Yes, the name says "pro," but if you only expect "pros" who are running to break records (like a reviewers states), then you are not going to be selling many shorts (I am going to assume most consumers are not "pros"). Patagonia has been selling this short for a while and this is a great product, it would be nice to have the option to have a longer lining for those, like myself, who prefer it. Just a thought. Four stars for not having the option to have longer lining (or providing a clear warning for people who assume they will be very similar to the previous iteration of this product). I still love running with this version of the shorts. Sincere question: was the design change was made based on customer feedback? Just curious.

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2019

Thank you so much for providing that feedback about the new liner. Our design team takes a number of things into account when redesigning a product from customer feedback to suggestions from our ambassadors. Nevertheless, feedback like this is so important to our team! If you're not satisfied please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 22, 2019

My new go-to running shorts.

My new go-to running shorts. I’ve never owned the previous version, which many seemed disappointed by the change. For me they’re perfect. This is the third pair i’ve purchased this year.

September 22, 2019

Super light. Needs a larger pocket

I like these shorts. Just wish it had a larger zipper pocket for a large screen phone.

September 15, 2019

Great Shorts

Bought them because they finally did not have a boxer liner. Love the brief liner and overall a great short! Used to use the 5” short but love the longer version.

September 8, 2019

Great Shorts

Bought these to wear in my 100 miler in a month. I have worn on a few training runs and so far and have been very happy with them. Loving the pockets which are deep enough for me to put my keys and nutrition in. The back pocket is big enough for me to fit my iPhone X in. Still having to use body glide to prohibit chaffing around the bend of my leg ... Read Morewhich is the only drawback.

August 18, 2019

Strider Pro Shorts 7”

I was disappointed because I expected the shorts to have a 3/4 leg liner not a brief.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment and appreciate the suggestion in regard to the liner length. Please let us know if you are interested in [returning](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 17, 2019

Patagonia ruined these shorts

These shorts had a cult following. They were the best running shorts ever made. Pockets in the right places, and a spandex liner that hugged just the right amount and wasn't even noticeable when you were running. And then they decided hey, instead of the boxer-brief style liner, let's change it to a panty style liner with thick seams. ... Read MoreIt's such a bummer. I now find myself tracking down old stock before they all vanish.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the new liner. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts have to us and let us know if you have any questions!

August 15, 2019

Standard layer

Great cozy piece is staple of any warm system

August 15, 2019

Pockets

These shorts are great! There is a pocket for everything. the larger stretch pockets will hold a cell phone for low impact pursuits.

August 15, 2019

Not the typical review

Inspired by Courtney Deuwalter, I decided to try men’s running shorts as I don’t like how short women’s are! And these are perfect! The length is great, the liner is comfy, the pockets are well designed. I love the bright blue (just a little different than the older ones my husband has that have the brief liner). They are cool and dry quickly. Ladi... Read Morees, here are the specs if you’re looking for fit: 5’9” 138lbs and the small is perfect. Thanks Patagonia for another great, functional piece of clothing!

August 15, 2019

GreatShorts!

Almost didn't purchase based on some reviews...would've been a HUGE mistake! Above and beyond what my older PatRunningShorts were/are. Money well spent.

August 14, 2019

No more boxer brief liner = fail

These previous versions of the 7” Strider Pro were a perfect combination of fit and function. Now that the boxer brief liner has been changed to a brief style, Patagonia has killed a go to trail running and exercise short. The nine trails shorts are no comparison and not a replacement for the strider pro. Sorry Patagonia but you failed on this desi... Read Moregn change.

August 12, 2019

A Solid short but the liner is going to be removed

The Strider pro 7 shorts are solid. I like them. I love the external waist drawstring. Shorts with a drawstring on the inside leave a mark and become uncomfortable after hours on the trail. The rear zipper pocket is also exactly what I need. The two side pockets have a great semi closure and comfortably hold a couple of gels each. I would prefer th... Read Moreese pockets to be couple inches farther back as I sometimes nick a full pocket with my hand on the trail descending or on technical terrain while flailing my hands about searching for balance. While the outer layer of the short fits great, the short’s built in liner is too tight and the liner’s roundish hem stitching might be more comfortable if is was flat. No worries though. I’ll cut out the liner as I have in ever other pair of running shorts I own. I prefer to wear ExOfficio give and go boxer briefs rather than the liner.

July 25, 2019

Well designed, comfortable running shorts

I found these to be my favorite among all the running shorts I own. They are comfortable and supportive. I especially love the zippered pocket in the back for stashing my phone.

July 9, 2019

Favorite

These are easily my favorite running shorts. The older version was nice; however, for aesthetics, my preference is the squared look on this version. The fabric is light and airy. The pocket configuration is intuitive and works well. The brief liner works well for me, no issues - even during ultras. The boxer liner in the regular Striders is fine fo... Read Morer shorter casual runs but they’re not my first choice and definitely not for faster, or longer, more competitive runs (in other words, race day). This may be too direct; however, some of the reviews are mildly baffling. The name includes ‘pro’ and the description clearly states they’re constructed with a brief liner. There aren’t very many ‘pros’ breaking the winner’s tape at Boston, Comrades, or the WSER sportin’ boxers (Some? Sure. The fastest? Rarely.). Just sayin. It’s kind of like buying a pair of race skis and then complaining they’re too light and stiff. Or purchasing a pro race bike and then reviewing it from the perspective of a daily commute...stating it’s ride characteristics are not compliant enough for casual rides. Patagonia, for their part, told us exactly what/who this short was intended for and how it was constructed.

July 2, 2019

Great Shorts; Shape of Shorts Has Changed

Summary: These are great running shorts that wear and run very well on my current 5-15 mile runs. Compared to previous versions of Patagonia running shorts, they are only "okay", but compared to other companies running shorts, they are still great. Usually I run long runs too, but haven't tested these on any yet - however, I expect t... Read Morehem to feel and perform similar to my older Strider Pro shorts. The pocket system is still amazing... you can carry so much without bouncing or awkwardness (just cinch waist appropriately based on added weight). Unfortunately, I really dislike the new cut/shape of these compared to the more traditional cut of the old Strider Pro and Strider regular shorts, which were less boxy and had a curve along the side instead of this new slit. If I had known that Patagonia changed the cut of these, I probably would have bought the shorter 5" version... but this is silly aesthetic stuff that doesn't actually affect the performance of the short. My wife does think they look silly for a running short, because they just look like bigger, looser "normal" shorts and not running shorts. Pros: Lightweight, strong, fast-drying fabric. Moves and fits well. Amazing pocket system continues in this short, with slight improvements. Brief-style liner works for me about 85% of the time, but I have never tried the boxer-style liner found in the current Strider short (not the Pro version). Cons: Design has changed to a boxier looser cut, and I liked the previous cut much, much better. Sometimes the brief liner just bunches and shifts around causing discomfort and restrictions. Not sure about these, but in the past other very similar Patagonia brief liners have chafed me on ultra-runs. Otherwise, no cons I have found yet. (Just a side note, I've been struggling with many Patagonia items over the last couple years while I used to like almost everything I got from Patagonia... but I will say that this is a good short and the Airshed Pullover is one of the most awesome layers I have ever owned from Patagonia or any company.)

July 1, 2019

You ruined a great short

I have two pairs of the previous years design Strider Pro 7" short. They are fantastic. Now you have gone and added a useless and movement restricting short-inside-of-a-short liner, instead of keeping the previous brief liner. Terrible!

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2019

Hello Mark. Thank you for your feedback on this new design, we're sorry to hear they aren't working for you. Please know, your purchase is always guaranteed and we're happy to process an exchange or return at anytime. We'll reach out privately!

June 24, 2019

Lightweight

Fabric is light, breathable, comfortable. Liner - not so, tight, from thick fabric. But for short runs is ok. Maybe better one size up. Pockets is ok. In new version please make more relaxed liner briefs or boxers from more elastic and breathable fabric.

June 19, 2019

Best Running Shorts I've used in 30 years of Running

I've run numerous road and trail marathons and have used shorts from every manufacturer you can think of and these are the best shorts I've ever run in. I am 5 - 11 and 175 lbs and the Large fit me perfectly -- I like them a little loose. The brief fits me very well and I love the stretchy but "not too loose" pockets. I can easi... Read Morely fit my iPhoneX in one of the side pockets and it rides very stable. The shorts are super lightweight and the fabric is soft and comfortable. I'll be buying another pair this summer.

June 15, 2019

Bring back option for boxer brief liner

I have two pairs with the boxer brief liner and they are hands down the best trail running shorts. I have one pair with the new brief style liner and while the rest of the shirt is top notch, the liner is not optimal. Would be great to either go back to the liner or provide both options.

May 30, 2019

Terrible Redesign

Patagonia's designers plainly don't run. If they did, they wouldn't have replaced the previous excellent boxer brief liner with a poor-fitting brief in this year's model. It's tight in the package, bunches up elsewhere, and (worst of all) it chafes something awful. Like, bad enough to throw away. The rest of the shorts ar... Read Moree fantastic but they're simply unusable as running shorts, so...?

May 28, 2019

Missing the 2018 version!

The 2019 version with the 'crepe' liner is nowhere near what the 2018 boxer brief liner was. The same can be said for the pockets - the material in 2018 seemed to be more of a stretchy material. I love Patagonia and all they do, but these shorts were a huge miss.

Response from Patagonia
June 12, 2019

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the shorts. As always you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts for a full refund at any point.

May 20, 2019

"improvement"

I've bought the Strider Pro for years. I do a lot of long runs, and this short provided lots of pockets for gels and other items, plus it had a liner that matched the entire length of the outer short. The liner virtually eliminated chaffing, even in really hot weather, it was perfect! The 2019 edition eliminated the full liner, and substituted... Read More a very short version that actually encourages chaffing. Not sure why Patagonia eliminated the original liner on this long-distance running short

May 15, 2019

Please bring back the boxer brief liner!

I've owned the past couple of versions of this short and have loved them. Absolutely my go to for ultras. I ordered this year's model without reading the description only to find that the liner is now a brief vs. boxer brief. The one-star review is only for this major change (not the quality which is great as always). Not only was the box... Read Moreer brief comfortable but it pretty much prevented most chafing from long runs. Not sure what the consensus is, but my vote is to bring back the boxer brief liner!

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on that liner. We are bummed to hear the new design isn't working for you and are happy to receive those back as a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Let us know if you need any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) with this.

May 8, 2019

Great except for liner

Agreed with others here who say these shorts are great except for the tightness and material of the brief liner. I’d prefer some more room down there please. And it causes the outer fabric to bunch up between my legs and chafe. I never had the 2018 version but apparently Patagonia nailed it with those.

May 8, 2019

Perfect shorts for longer runs

I'm in training for a 50 mile race in July and have struggled with carrying enough nutrition in belts and vests. I really hate wearing them and these shorts allow me to carry more than enough jells and bars to get the job done. I don't have to wear a belt and it felts perfectly. They are also very comfortable and I love how they fit. I wo... Read Moreuld highly recommend these shorts to anyone else who is looking for something like this.

May 8, 2019

Sweet Shorts!

Love my new Patagonia running shorts. They're ultra light-weight, don't get drenched with sweat and look really cool too.

May 6, 2019

2018 Version was great, 2019 Leaves a lot to be desired.

The 2018 version of the 7" Strider Pro shorts were great. The material was light and comfortable, the liner was a boxer brief and really cut out chaffing. Also, the split on the sides was great. They had a slight rounding to the split and were more stylish than 2019. On to 2019, the 7" version of the Strider Pro's have a brief liner... Read More that is very uncomfortable. Staying with the same size as 2018, (5'9" 145 lbs) (size medium) seems to be the best choice still but they do not fit as well as the 2018 version. 2019 version are larger. The pockets remain mostly the same and they are the best on the market. Please Patagonia, go back to the liner material from 2018 and make the 7" version a boxer brief. If a person wants ultra minimal they can purchase the 5" and have a brief only liner. Also, to note: I purchased the regular Strider shorts for 2019 as they do have the boxer brief liner, yet they are nowhere close to as comfortable as the 2018 Strider Pro and the pockets are lacking. I did not review the 2018 version of the Strider Pro, but had I, they would have been 5 stars.

April 7, 2019

Better have some loob on you!

I usually fall in love with Patagonia products and see the extra cash spent as an investment for a lifetime of worn wear adventures, however the liners in these shorts bunch up so much that I can't run more then 10 miles without chafing inner thigh pain.

April 6, 2019

Bit tight around the package

Great material - very light weight. I prefer running shorts with an integrated brief which is why I bought it. However, this one is a bit tight around the package.

March 29, 2019

Absolutely Best Running Short except for the liner

The external design and material make this literally the best short I've ever run in. Pockets work great for gels without any jostling. The material is super lightweight-- noticeably lighter than my other shorts with fewer pockets. The length is perfect for me at 6'3". This is the first pair of "premium" shorts I thought we... Read Morere worth the money after using them! Not to beat a dead horse but the brief liner must be too tight-- I can usually wear a brief liner without issues but I did get chafing after about 10 miles. BUT I love these shorts so much I just wear some performance boxer briefs underneath and it works for me.

March 29, 2019

I Wanted to Love Them

Having owned and loved a couple of pairs of the 5" Strider Pros, I was looking forward to getting a little more coverage for my pasty white upper thigh meat, so I ordered a pair of the 7" and waited anxiously for their arrival. Was disappointed to find that the cut and fit on these 7" shorts seems not just a little longer, but overal... Read Morel just baggier (dare I say "sloppier"?) than the cut and fit of last year's 5" model. I love the new material of both the shorts and the stretchy pockets, but they're just too sloppy for me to love. I'll return them for another pair of 5" and the world will just have to deal with more skin showing! :-) And, I'll hope the cut and fit of the 5" hasn't changed to be baggier, too. Also, I kept the liner in this pair for testing, but usually, I cut out most every liner of every running short I've purchased. I have no idea why companies insist on putting a liner in there...I want to wear MY underwear.

March 29, 2019

Disappointing quality

I got these shorts for Christmas this last year and have been using them for sleeping, lounging, and swimming on a backpacking trip through South/Central America. 3 months in now and there is a hole forming at the seam. I liked how they looked and how fast they dried, but for the price I would have expected them to last more than 3 months.

March 25, 2019

Why remove the boxer-brief liner?!?

I absolutely loved this short for ultra marathons. But you had to go and mess around and change the liner to a brief. At least you could have kept the option of having the boxer-brief lining. These shorts were PERFECT and you had to go and screw around with them. It's a shame.

March 23, 2019

No Liner

I’m with the other reviewers here. Without the Liners on the previous model they are just not the same. The lighter fabric is nice compared to the earlier model, but let’s face it without the brief it just is another running short that shafts the crap out of you. Patagonia please update next year you had a loyal following with this short now I’m t... Read Moreurning to North Face long haul shirt to get my brief fix.

March 21, 2019

Had waited for these to come back; slightly disappointed (like the others) in the change of liner

The previous version had become my go to shorts for running. When production stopped and store employee said they were unsure if/when production would restart I was verrrry disappointed. When they reemerged I was excited to stockpile- glad I didn't! I purchased the 5" online and thought that only that version has the brief liner. Came bac... Read Morek to buy the 7" and the reviews confirm that the best feature is now gone. Now less likely to recommend even though everything else is good- DWR, pockets, drawstring etc. Definitely more likely to hoard the v1 shorts, save them for "special" runs.

March 20, 2019

Brief liner is not better!

Bring back the full liners and you will sell 10x more and have all 5 stars, I agree with all previous replies, the brief liner just does not cut it. I have the original and it is all 5 stars and a great product I would by over and over again.

March 19, 2019

Horrible Redesign

I was willing to give the new liner a shot since I love my old pair of strider pros, but it's really uncomfortable. The shorts as a whole also feel much cheaper; they're not as soft, and they feel a bit plastic-like. Definitely a poor redesign.

March 15, 2019

Disappointed in the change.

I own two pairs of the older versions and have run 100 mile races in them. They are, or at least were, the perfect shorts. I was looking forward to getting a new pair, until I saw that they changed the liner. Ugh. Why? I will not purchase another pair of these.

March 13, 2019

What were you thinking? Bring back the boxer brief liners.

I just ordered two new pair of shorts and was excited for them to come in. Then I discovered the boxer brief liner is no longer. You went to the typical brief liner that is tighter than should be and will certainly cause chaffing in no time. You had the perfect shorts with the pockets and the boxer liner, and now you took away one of the best featu... Read Moreres. Your product development team and testers should be fired.

March 11, 2019

Used to be the best

These shorts were great when they still had the boxer liner. I wore them for years through many miles, ultras, mountains..... they could take it all. Now with a brief, I’ll unfortunately be looking elsewhere for a replacement. I think Patagonia missed the mark with this change.

March 6, 2019

Redesign of liner is a disappointment

While the design of the exterior of the shorts is still great, I agree with the previous reviewers that the redesign of the liner is a massive disappointment. These had been my favorite running shorts of all time - bar none. Now they are just OK, and usable only for short runs without massive amounts of Body Glide to prevent chafing.

March 6, 2019

Improved and Forgetful

Perspective... contrary to other reviews thus far, IMHO, these are vastly improved over previous versions. They feel lighter, more airy, the 'brief' liner is more comfortable for me than the previous boxer style version (even though my daily undershorts are boxers), and their presence is forgotten on trail runs. Less is better.

March 1, 2019

Waited a year for these to re-stock, change to design removed #1 feature

The change from the compression boxer liner to the brief liner makes these unwearable for me (and a number of other runners I've talked to). That liner was the defining feature of the 7" Strider Pros - I know because I've worn them for years and they've been my daily go-to for training and racing. Sill love Patagonia but this is... Read More a real bummer and I'm now looking elsewhere.

March 1, 2019

NO BOXER BRIEF LINER!!!!

PLEASE BRING BACK BOXER BRIEF LINER! Have worn the strider pro 7’s for years now with no chafing issues, including several hundred mile races. As close to perfect as a pair of running shorts could get! Don’t fix it if it ain’t broke!

February 28, 2019

Nice Update to an Established Classic

Nice update--it's a different short--but it will stand on its own. The stretch material of the pockets is an improvement--definitely they will hold more. The fabric is lighter--seems just as durable--time will tell. waistband is simpler, lighter with a waist cord that you can actually cinch up. I really like the split. Also, I wear size large-... Read More-fits perfectly--34 in. waist--but the shorts are baggy--just the way I like them. Be forewarned. Personally I like the 7 in. length--but I do have--and like--several pairs of the 5 in. shorts. I was disappointed to see that the longer liner was no more. After running in them, it was a non-issue. If you feel like you have to have a 2-n-1 short, check out the new strider running shorts, they now have a longer liner. Hmm... might have to check in on them. All in all, nice update. Gracias!

February 28, 2019

Why did you get rid of the amazing boxer brief liner???? It made this short perfect for Ultrarunning!!!

I have a pair of 2018 Strider Pro 7" shorts with the boxer brief liner. They are my absolute favorite shorts ever for long runs - they have the best pockets on the market, are very light and breathable, the waistband is perfect, and the nearly seamless boxer brief liner is (was) amazing. The fabric used for the boxer brief was the perfect blen... Read Mored of light, smooth, and stretchy (much nicer than that used on other shorts like the 9 trails). I run ultras up to 100 mile distance and I get chafing from all my other shorts at the edges of the brief liner - The strider pro completely solved this issue for me and was perfect for both a local 50k and the TRT 100 miler this past year, as well as lots of long training runs. The boxer brief liner was so well designed and implemented, I was so looking forward to getting another pair this year but I already have plenty of shorts with brief liners and they all chafe eventually (somewhere between 30-50 miles). I've tried Patagonia running shorts with the brief liner and they always seem too tight compared to other brands. Bring Back the Boxer Brief!!!!

February 17, 2019

Please bring back the different color details

These shorts are pretty good but they were much more flattering and aesthetically interesting with subtle color designs along the thigh like the old design had. Need better color choices too, these are pretty generic. While Patagonia seems to be pioneering responsible sourcing and recycling, the aesthetics seem to be moving in the wrong direction a... Read Morecross the board. Cuts and colors need to me more flattering, contemporary and hipper.

February 13, 2019

They changed the design this year

I have worn the Strider Pro 7 inch for about 3 years now. They are my go to for long trail runs and ultra marathons. 50 miles? No problem. The sad realization is that they have changed the design. I purchased the new color (this would have been my 5th pair) and found that the previous compression short liner has been replaced with a brief liner. I ... Read Morecannot use the shorts for long runs now. If you like brief liners, give these a go. Just know that the Strider Pro you once knew is gone.

February 12, 2019

Just not the same

I bought last year's Strider Pro 7in in early spring and fell in love with them. Soft, comfortable, and my favorite feature was the boxer-like liner. I was bummed when I tried to find another pair in the fall and every store was sold out. I got excited to see a new Strider Pro 7in for this year and immediately ordered one in gray. Unfortunatel... Read Morey my favorite feature of the boxer style liner is no more. Now it's a brief liner. Just not the same. I have to admit, I'm just not impressed and would not have bought them had I known before hand.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches