Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 133 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

4.5/5
True To Size
October 17, 2021

Excellent fit and finish, welded seams not up to task

I want to love these shorts because of the excellent fit and finish, but after mailing them to Reno for repair twice in one year, I have to say save your money and buy something with double stiched seams. The welded seams can not handle the typical wear and tear associated with mountain biking.

October 4, 2021

Great fit

First pair of true MTB shorts - love the fit and stretch. Worn them about 10 times now and they have held up will to the wear and tear on the trails - definitely recommend!

September 29, 2021

Excellent Over-short

Prone to just wearing lycra for simplicity's sake and because overshorts usually fit uncomfortably on me or snag on my saddle, I tried these for a coaching role where I could use a pocket and a less "racer" look. They work great. The material is light and stretchy. The waist has a minimalist adjustment that I like. They don't bo... Read Morether me. And they're snug enough that they don't get hitched on my saddle.

September 28, 2021

Lightweight and comfortable

Light weight fabric is very comfortable. Very little friction getting in and out of saddle. Very happy with purchase.

August 25, 2021

Super comfy, minimalist MTB shorts

Ordered these on whim as a have scoured the internet in search of some minimalist shorts that are comfortable, lightweight, and robust. These checked every box I was looking for. They have 1 main pocket big enough for your phone. Length is perfect for both MTB riding and gravel. The material has just the right amount of stretch. Itll blow your mind... Read More how quickly these shorts can dry. The synch rope keeps them nicely tight. Would definitely recommend.

August 13, 2021

Great bike shorts!

I bought these to have a lightweight option that isn't too baggy for mountain and gravel riding. These shorts fit great (I'm typically a 31") but I bought a 32" to fit over my chamois.

July 27, 2021

Great Bike Shorts

These are fantastic. I've worn other bike shorts in the past that always felt stiff and looked way too sporty/techy. These are sleek, understated and super comfortable all around. If they had standard pockets (it does have a super useful side zip pocket) I would absolutely wear these casually. I still do, from time to time! I will definitely b... Read Moree picking up additional pairs in the future.

July 27, 2021

Great fit, needs more pockets

These sorts are great for warm weather riding. The fit is great and the material is breathable, thin, stretchy and seems pretty tough. One thing Id like to see is more pockets! One thigh pocket just isnt enough for me. I like to have one pocket for my phone (which this one works great for) and another one for all the little bits of trash I find on ... Read Morethe trails I ride.

July 19, 2021

Really good shorts

Thin and cool fabric seems fairly durable too.

July 18, 2021

Not durable, details off

Three problems with these shorts: 1. After less than a year of use, the seams in the butt area came unglued. I suspected this would happen, as there's no reinforcement in this critical, high wear area. 2. Only one pocket! On the left side no less. This not a small inconvenience. When we go out for a day of biking, we carry car keys, phones, a... Read Morend wallets. Very frustrating not to have a place for all these items. 3. The drawcord + button system used to snug-up the waist always loosens during the course of a ride. So if you're a slender fit for the size, or wearing a slippery chamois underneath, these shorts will slip down. Apart from these three big issues, the shorts are great. Sleek, cool in the summer, and light weight. I'll send them back for a seam repair, and keep using them.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the seams and pockets Ben. We'll pass your suggestions along to our design team. Thanks again!

July 16, 2021

A Perfect Mountain Bike Short With Many Uses

This is my third pair of Dirt Roamers and could not be happier. These are my go to mountain bike short but also a great daily driver for hot summer days, hiking, swimming or travel. The fabric is super lightweight, durable, comfortable and breathable. The padded bike short liner is buttery smooth when paired for riding and makes a great system. Per... Read Morehaps another pocket on these shorts would be nice but not critical. Overall 5 stars.

July 8, 2021

Crotch blow out

Second pair. Love them, but not durable

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hi Gregory! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so sorry to hear that both pairs of your shorts tore. This is definitely something we'd consider to be a warranty issue so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them to us.

July 7, 2021

Excellent riding shorts

I really like wearing these shorts while mountainbiking. The material is light, stretchy and breathes well, making them incredibly comfortable to wear. The seams are minimal and the waist is easy to adjust. There is only a small stache pocket so keep that in mind if you need pockets, you will likely only want to put your car key in these.

June 24, 2021

Mtb shorts

I decided that I needed more pockets for phone, wallet, car keys. So I returned the product. It was good fabric and well made I thought.

May 9, 2021

Great for one season... but...

I love these riding shorts - paired with the bibs they are a great combo - extremely comfortable and they look great! But - I am a little irritated that the welded seams simply do not hold up. I have had to stitch up the seams, particularly in the crotch area, and the seams seem to be peeling off. I am a huge fan of Patagonia - but the welded seam ... Read Moreconstruction on these shorts doesnt lend to durability or Patagonia quality in my opinion.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on those seams Jeremy. If these shorts aren't living up to your expectations, please feel free to return them for warranty.

May 1, 2021

Bizarre waist clinch system

No idea how to clinch the waist and make it stay there. The shorts run big IMO and I need the waist tighter. The design for this is NOT intuitive and doesnt seem to be effective.

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2021

We're so sorry the design on these is not intuitive! We have a [video](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHfmIKBgwoI) available for a different product that shows how our OppoSet waist closure works. If they're still not working for you, please reach out to your local Patagonia store, or contact our Customer Service center. We'll be happy to help with product questions, or a return or exchange.

April 29, 2021

Great short!

Probably the best mtb shorts I've ever owned . Great fit, super comfy materials and probably the first thigh pocket I've ever put a phone in and didn't know it was there.

April 29, 2021

Bought these for Gravel Cycling (Gravel Grinding)

Patagonia will need to update their Mountain Biking category to include Gravel Cycling (Gravel Grinding) and tag these shorts. Quite possibly the best shorts I've ever owned. Work perfectly with the Endless Ride Liner Shorts. Extremely comfortable. Pocket easily holds my Bellroy Slim Wallet and iPhone 11.

April 26, 2021

Perfect lightweight overshort

I wear these over bib shorts, and the asymmetric hem is perfect and doesn't expose too much leg when pedaling. I'm 5'10" and weight 165lbs, and because they make waist sizes in 1" increments the fit is truly perfect. They're a little too slim fitting to not look weird when wearing knee pads, So go up a size if you&#x27... Read More;re a regular pad wearer, but for all day knee-pad-free pedaling comfort these can't be beat.

April 26, 2021

Light and Cozy

Shorts feel amazing while in use. Love the material, minimalistic styling, and weight. Size ran slightly larger, but the exchange was easy.

April 22, 2021

Fits well - waist adjuster works

I was suspicious of the waist adjustment system from reading reviews. But it works. I can wear anything from 30 to 32 waist size depending on cut and have Patagonia shorts in both 31 and 32. For reference, the stretchier Patagonia board shorts tend to run big on me even in 31. These shorts fit just a little loose but with the waist adjuster I got a... Read More nice dialed fit. Have had no problems with slipping or catching on bike seat. Very pleased and glad to have these shorts in the lineup with warmer weather coming.

April 21, 2021

fantastic!

Best mountain bike shorts I have ever owned! The 4-way stretch is great and really comfortable, and the side pocket easily fits my iphone 12 (and would easily accommodate the plus version), wallet, and keys - really all you need for the stop at the brewery after your ride. I was torn between these and the Dirt Craft shorts and am really happy I wen... Read Moret with these. Much more comfortable with 4 way stretch (versus 2 way on the Dirt Craft), and I certainly didn't miss the extra pockets on the Dirt Craft. These also integrated perfectly with the endless liner shorts. Expensive...but well worth it!

April 21, 2021

Best MTB shorts I've owned

Just bought a second pair of these because the first pair became the only shorts I wanted to ride in. The soft, light, stretchy material of these makes them kind of disappear while riding. Having only 1 pocket was a bit limiting at first, but I'm not sure these would perform as well or fit as well with additional pockets. The material is thin,... Read More so these are perfect in summer temps.

April 21, 2021

Nice product, but fit is weird

Fit is so weird

April 14, 2021

Not very durable but good fit and features

This is my second pair of these shorts and they make a great light duty cycling short but as soon as they meet your tire or a rock they don't fair so well. I've put many other brands through much worse and had them last noticeably longer. The fit is pretty good and they are a nice simple short. They could be a touch longer to cover a knee... Read More pad better. The waist adjustment is my favorite feature on them and works very well.

April 8, 2021

covering up my lycra to look cool and still go fast

I love riding bikes in spandex as much as the next guy, but there are times when I need to tone it down and these Dirt Roamers are the perfect shorts for that. The fabric is lighter than any other baggy on the market, the design is super minimal and dialed, and the fit perfect for looking good and still being able to move well on, off, and around t... Read Morehe saddle. The waist closure works great, a phone in the pocket is a bit too much weight for the whole setup and I try to avoid that, but it holds a key and a couple small snacks super well. These are my go to xc baggies and I highly recommend them.

April 6, 2021

Great fit and super light

These are great for trail riding. Extremely light and perfect amount of stretch. I have long legs (usually wear 34 inseam pants) and these are just slightly short and come above my knee pads when pedaling, but not a deal breaker at all for me.

March 31, 2021

Solid short with one drawback

Love everything about these shorts with exception to the lack of additional pockets. A larger side pocket or the addition of a rear pocket makes for easy spot to hold important items while you transfer them from vehicle to backpack.

March 30, 2021

Very comfortable

I love these shorts as they are super comfortable, not too flashy, and cool. I did manage to tear the seam of the first pair I bought within 6 months of my purchase. However I got a full refund and eventually replaced them with the exact same pair as I like them so much.

March 26, 2021

Great fit, could use a few more pockets!

Love the fit and feel of the pants just wish they had another pocket or two!

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the fabric and fit of these shorts, Allen! You may want to check out the [Dirt Craft or Landfarer Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-mountain-biking-overshorts) which are nylon fabric, and have extra pocket features.

March 19, 2021

My second pair

These are great mtb shorts. Lightweight and very good stretch. Not baggy but not too slim either. My go to short for long rides.

March 10, 2021

Favorite Shorts

These are so light, airy and comfortable. Theres not even any stitching to feel as you move because they have taped seams. I wish they made these with legs - then theyd be my favorite pants too! FYI - The one pocket is big enough for a phone, wallet or both.

March 5, 2021

Great fit

Probably one of the best mtb shorts I've tried,very comfortable

February 8, 2021

Best lightweight/breathable MTB short

Comfortable fit, breathable. Pocket is great for phone and multitool

January 31, 2021

Great!!

Excellent shorts so far. Comfy, fit well, lightweight. Definitely recommend. Expensive but worth it if you can get them on sale. Wish it had additional pocket or two and came in a shorter version.

January 28, 2021

Awesome XC short

Favorite short for the days I put in lots of miles (borderline vision quest) on the XC bike. They fit tight... but they move and stretch very, very well. Highly breathable, they stay cool on the hottest of days. Sadly only one pocket, hard to stash phone, keys and snacks. Otherwise would give them 10 out of 5 stars.

January 25, 2021

Needs a way to tighten the waist

Great pair of shorts for a lot of purposes. But, while "working-it" on the Mnt Bike, i.e. sweating. I'm fighting keeping them on, sliding down the waist, getting stuck on the seat because their baggen out. I bought these specifically for MNT'n biking and wearing an Assos chamois underneath . If I'm casually wearing them, or... Read More a casual riding, hiking or working around the yard, they're super comfortable. They just need a draw-string or light-flexible belt. Otherwise, they're great!

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this feedback. These shorts actually have Mountain Bike-specific OppoSet technology, which essentially is an inner piece of cord in the waistband that has a locking mechanism to keep it in place when you pull it. This allows for adjustability and customized fit while you're working up a sweat. We hope this helps clear that up, but feel free to reach out with additional questions!

January 10, 2021

Great MTB shorts

Excellent shorts for MTB. They weight nothing, fit tightly, and disappear when you ride. Zero risk of catching your pants in the saddle. Sizing is a tiny bit on the small side. I wear 32 blue jeans and I had to exchange the 32 for a 33 (thank you Patagonia: can't beat a free exchange with a week turn around!). The integrated belt could use a s... Read Morelightly more secure lock system: in size 32 it could not stay tightened, in 33 it works but occasionally the lock slips. No consequence because the paints stay up without tightening the belt, and probably a non existent issue for hiking because one does not bend as much as when biking. They are expensive, but actually in the middle of what shorts cost nowadays.

January 7, 2021

Light, simple

I only wish the length was 1-2 inches shorter. Very lightweight, simple. Just 1 pocket on the thigh. Not comfortable for holding anything while riding.

December 31, 2020

Great fit for casual biking

Good fit and flexibility for a casual bike rider that doesnt love wearing a full spandex kit. Materials seem durable and should last for a couple seasons of abuse. Pocket will fit most standard phones and a slim wallet. If you want a relaxed fit, you may want to go up one size.

December 29, 2020

Very comfortable for mountain biking

My husband liked these shorts so much I bought him another pair for Christmas.

December 11, 2020

Not the build quality I expect from Patagonia.

When I am actually able to wear these shorts they are great. The fit is awesome and I forget that I have them on, which is exactly what I want from a mountain bike short. They are a minimalist short and I think are very well suited for all day adventures on the bike. The problem with the shorts is the build quality. I am on my third warranty claim ... Read Morein less than a calendar year of owning the shorts (I began wearing them in April of 2020). The way they chose to "weld" the seams in the crotch area just doesn't work. The weld keeps separating and are unreliable. I'm thankful that Patagonia makes it easy to warranty them, but it doesn't help when you rely on the gear and you are constantly sending it back. In closing I'd give the shorts 5 stars for fit and function but a 0 star rating for reliability/build quality. For me that (unfortunately) nets to a one star overall rating.

December 7, 2020

Light yet durable

These work great with the bib liners. Ive not found a better mtb shorts/liner combo for hot weather anywhere. Summer in S. Florida is hot and humid and these have become my only choice for hot weather riding. Fit is good. I went on other customers advice and got the size 30 but wish I had gone with the 31 as they are true to size and I wear 31 in ... Read MorePatagonia board shorts. Im just waiting for the Blue color to come back in stock and wish there were more color options. Not sure whos idea it was to offer there in black, dark grey and other dark grey. How about some more color Patagonia?

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

Hello Joe! Thanks a ton for your review and we're sorry to hear that the sizing wasn't quite right for you. If you'd like to exchange for an alternate size, you can do so [here.](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) We recommend checking back in Spring as color selection should be updated then.

December 4, 2020

Dirt Roamer/Dirt Craft....BEST yet

The Dirt Craft is my go to shorts and I have since replaced my Quandary shorts with these. Now I'm wearing the Roamer and i gotta say....amazing. The length is perfect, not too long or short. I wear a 33 but both of these are a 34. They run a hair small. Adjustable and perfect fit sizing up to a 34. The fabric is the best, Lightweight, stretch... Read Morey and so soft but durable and water repellent. The side pocket is just right and the button closure is reinforced. Seams are sealed inside shorts, what more could you ask for? Well.......one more side pocket would be it. If I could have the Dirt Craft made hybrid with the Roamer I would be set for life. You cannot go wrong with either short. They both fit excellent are top quality with a lot of thought put into them. The Roamer is a lighter sleeker Dirt Craft. Regardless, worth the money and the iron clad warranty.

November 26, 2020

Fits great, feels great

Love these shorts for biking. Feels great with plenty of room for padded biking shorts underneath and the left side pocket fits the iphonemax without making my leg feel weighted down.

November 17, 2020

My favorite MTB shorts

From the materials used in construction, to the fit of these shorts while in the saddle, these are by far my favorite MTB shorts (when used in combination with the Endless Ride Liner).

November 14, 2020

Great MTB Shorts

Light, strong and well designed. Welded seams hold up. Nothing to get in the way of liners. Well placed pocket. Slightly small compared to other brands but no worries.

September 25, 2020

Simply Perfect

510 150lbs slim in most things. Size 30 waist was perfect. Wear these all day in warm weather. Can descend and climb. Best shorts and value in the market.

September 11, 2020

Little long

Great pair of shorts. Would prefer a little bit shorter length, but overall great quality.

September 3, 2020

excellent pants for cycling and mountain biking

I wore this pant and biked over 70 miles cumulatively. It delivers exactly to the specifications. Well done.

September 2, 2020

Minimal greatness

I was looking for a pair of riding shorts with minimal pockets and seams and these seem to fit the bill. I wore them three weeks straight on the Great Divide Route and they were flawless. This was the only pair of shorts I brought on the trip, so I lived in these things the whole time and there is zero signs of wear. The size was spot on and I lost... Read More a bit of weight on the trip and the simple waist adjustment kept them fitting properly. I will be riding in these shorts for years to come.

September 1, 2020

Great Light-Duty Trail Shorts

Bought these for summer riding in California and they have been great for it! The material is very light and stretchy, I haven't take a good fall on them yet but they seem like they will hold up over time. Super happy with them so far. My 2 suggestions would be: - Lighter color options. I ended up with black ones which doesn't make a t... Read Moreon of sense for the summer riding im using them for. - They are a little long. I know this is generally so the cover the top of a kneepad, but these feel very much like XC / Trail shorts and I probably would pick a beefier short to ride Enduro / DH with pads anyways. Also I think if they were a little shorter I would use them for more things like hiking and yoga too.

August 10, 2020

Great fit, but simply not durable

I bought these earlier this summer and after a a handful of mountain bike rides they've managed to wear a large hole in the right backside. I'm not sure if they snagged on my bike seat or what, but the material is so thin they just can't stand up to any abuse it seems. Bummer cause I really liked the fit.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

We're sorry to hear that the shorts haven't been durable but we appreciate your feedback on fit and fabric. We'll be happy to help you return these under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). In addition, you may prefer the Men's Dirt Craft Bike Shorts.

July 28, 2020

Not Durable

I used these shorts for less than an entire season of mountain biking and they failed. The seams separated which made them entirely unusable. I am extremely disappointed with the build quality.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Rocco, we're so sorry to hear your bike shorts have come apart at the seams. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us under warranty. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

July 15, 2020

Great.. Until they fell apart.

Really enjoyed the short for any ride. The stretch fabric is perfect and the fit is about like a snug stretchy boardshort. Unfortunately the glued seams are all starting to fall apart after about two months. Needs some better adhesive maybe?

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2020

Hi Casey, we're really sorry about the seams falling apart. At this time we aren't taking items in for free repairs, but you're welcome to hold on to your shorts until we reopen our Repairs Center. Alternatively, you can return them under warranty for merchandise credit. Thanks for your review!

July 13, 2020

Ideal

Great for over bike compression shortS. Light weight and non restrictive while pedaling and movements in and out of the saddle, yet the fabric will hold up to abrasive falls. And good styling for a quick stop for food or drinks after a ride.

July 13, 2020

Solid Fit and Look

Quality short from Patagonia. Love the look and fit. Hidden pocket works well as does the hidden waste tightening system. I have experienced some chaffing at the bottom cuff of the short.

July 13, 2020

Light weight but tough.

I've done about two dozen rides with these and they still look like new. I went down hard once while wearing these shorts and I can see no signs of damage from sliding across loose gravel. They're very light weight and have felt good in the high summer temps 80's and 90's. It's a minimalist design which it optimal in my opi... Read Morenion.

July 13, 2020

forgetive

great fit. forget that i have them on...

July 11, 2020

These shorts are amazing

These look and perform great. They're by far my favorite biking shorts out right now and I think Patagonia knocked it out of the park with these. My only complaint is that I wish they had an extra pocket on the right side.

July 11, 2020

Ideal

Great for over bike compression shortS. Light weight and non restrictive while pedaling and movements in and out of the saddle, yet the fabric will hold up to abrasive falls. And good styling for a quick stop for food or drinks after a ride.

July 10, 2020

Solid Fit and Look

Quality short from Patagonia. Love the look and fit. Hidden pocket works well as does the hidden waste tightening system. I have experienced some chaffing at the bottom cuff of the short.

July 10, 2020

Must have for bikepacking or everyday riding

Pros: Essential piece for all day rides or bikepacking adventures. Featherweight feel, pairs well with cargo bibs, and dry lightning fast. Cons: The sonic-welded seams come apart after extended use. Get a pair!

July 9, 2020

Light weight but tough.

I've done about two dozen rides with these and they still look like new. I went down hard once while wearing these shorts and I can see no signs of damage from sliding across loose gravel. They're very light weight and have felt good in the high summer temps 80's and 90's. It's a minimalist design which it optimal in my opi... Read Morenion.

July 9, 2020

forgetive

great fit. forget that i have them on...

July 5, 2020

Pretty Much Perfect!

I've been wearing these for 14 months and it's my go to set of shorts for every MTB or gravel ride. Great for XC/trail use as the length is not too long over the knee (I'd recommend a longer short if you plan to wear with knee pads). The fabric is super light and smooth against the leg and the cinch system for tightening the shorts a... Read Moreround the waist works great. I work in the bike industry for one of the biggest companies in the world and I still prefer this short over the many options I have access to. Highly recommend!

June 21, 2020

Extra light and simple but very comfy

You will not regret biking, hiking, drinking beer in those!

June 19, 2020

Pulling the bike trailer

I've been pulling my little one around in a bike trailer. I don't feel comfortable wearing bike shorts around town, so I purchased these Roamers. What great solution. They're so light and comfortable that I forget I'm wearing something over bike shorts. Highly recommended.

June 19, 2020

Just perfect

comfortable. elegant. well designed.

June 17, 2020

Extra light and simple but very comfy

You will not regret biking, hiking, drinking beer in those!

May 13, 2020

Best MTB Baggies Ever

Best MTB baggies I have ever used. Tried numerous others over the years. Key though was getting right waist size. I generally wear a 34 in Patagonia pants/shorts, but based on the reviews went with 33 and the size is perfect. Don't even have to cinch the waist. Nice slim fit doesn't snag on seat, which is important since I still don'... Read Moret use a dropper post.

May 8, 2020

Perfect minimalistic shorts for biking/hiking/work

Because these shorts have an elastic waist, you might consider getting a size smaller than your actual waist-circumference. I have a 32" waist, but got a 30" for these shorts, and they are perfectly snug as a result without being too tight either.

May 3, 2020

A perfect cycling short

My wife doesn't like the look of the tight traditional cycling shorts and who doesn't want to keep their spouse satisfied in times like these? I love the feel and function of these shorts. They fit perfectly over cycling shorts or liners. They never catch, or pinch, super comfortable and good looking. Just perfect!

March 14, 2020

Great shorts for Bikepacking/Touring/Hiking

Great shorts for riding. These shorts held up incredibly well on a 42 day bike packing/bike touring trip to New Zealand (worn every day, all day). They were comfortable over padded bike shorts and equally so over underwear. The cinching system held the shorts up as I got skinnier. They clean up beautifully either in a washing machine or by a quick ... Read Morerinse in a lake or stream. The material has a few small snags after some hard use, but otherwise they are still in great shape.

February 29, 2020

Almost perfect!

I love these things, great material, slim fit, no up front pockets, super stretchy. I'm 6 foot tall and these are slightly longer than I really want. They would be great if they came in a 10" or 10.5" length. Hopefully they read these reviews and make that an option in the future. Cheers!

January 4, 2020

Restrictive for those with big quads

Seem well made and durable. Waist adjustment isn’t intuitive but works. Material is stretchy. Not made for muscular thighs. If you have smaller cyclist or runners legs they will probably fit fine. Big quads not so well. Seems restrictive when pedaling due to combination of length and leg circumference that doesn’t seem to work well for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the material and fit isn't working out for you. We appreciate you providing your helpful feedback for other shoppers and for our designers. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us, please feel free to do so.

January 3, 2020

Awesome Shorts

I needed a pair of shorts for MTB and these fit the bill quite nicely. Stretchy where they need to be, some pockets for the little things, and good fit throughout. I ordered them in the same size as my Patagonia jeans; however,

November 6, 2019

Light and tough

These are great. They are lightweight and feel tough enough to handle the inevitable wipeouts.

November 5, 2019

Best riding shorts ever!

Great fit, I use these shorts both on and off the bike. Love them!

November 5, 2019

Stylish and functional

Use these primarily for MTB rides, also wear them for hiking, climbing, and gym sessions. Really stretchy and breathable. Favorite shorts I’ve owned for biking by far. Great with the endless ride liner. Haven’t taken any falls yet, but durability might be the only concern in a crash.

October 7, 2019

Great minimalist bike shorts.

I forget I have these on, which is about the highest praise I can give a bike short.

September 30, 2019

Waist adjustment is pretty much useless

Switched to baggies recently and tried Patagonia. I own a lot of their products and like the fact that I can buy my waist size (33") since I'm generally between M&L. Having said that, the waist is still a touch large which would be fine if the waist cinch actually worked. It cinches but doesn't stay tight and requires constant ad... Read Morejustment. Otherwise the shorts are nice, not too baggy, minimalist design although one more pocket wouldn't hurt. 4 stars if the adjustment worked and 5 if they added another zip pocket.

September 25, 2019

minimalist and really nice

Plenty of stretch. Only one pocket but my iPhone fits in it. Glad to finally have Patagonia durability working for me on the bike shorts front...

September 15, 2019

No Nonsense Riding Shorts

These were pricey but worth it. They’re very light, have the right amount of stretch and the fit is just slim enough so they don’t get in the way. I love the clever drawstring waist and the low key styling too.

September 12, 2019

Best pedaling shorts I've found

The most comfortable pedaling shorts I've found. I generally prefer a 14 inch inseam at my height, but the materials and fit can't be beat.

September 10, 2019

Favorite MTB over-shorts

Light, stretchy, great fit,

September 10, 2019

Coverage without restriction

Thought these shorts would be too long and restrictive. But I gave them a go and will eat my thoughts. I have used them for gravel rides and MTB rides over the Patagonia bike shorts. Functional and casual look. Can go straight to the store with these babies and wife will not roll her eyes at me. I am 5'8" and got the medium.

September 10, 2019

Great fit, light weight, stretchy,

Great fit, light weight, stretchy, comfortable.

September 7, 2019

Perfect Fit

Love it. So comfy I bought two more. Like surfing in a super slim, flexible wetsuit. Perfect for the hot summer mountain bike rides but I imagine I’ll ride in it year round. We own lots of Patagonia clothes and equipment but this product is a star!

September 6, 2019

Dirt Roamer shorts

These are my new go to mountain bike shorts especially on hot days the fit is great and they dry very fast.

September 5, 2019

So Enduro it’s almost XC

Think slim boardshort feel but with trail features! I typically wear a 32-33” waist I sized up to a 34 to accommodate a liner. Fits just right at the top of the knee cap. Super light stretchy material which is great on all day rides. I have taken a spill or two and the shorts held up even with being so light. Not the short I’d wear to the bike/jump... Read More park, that’s where the dirt craft shorts come in.

September 5, 2019

Quite Pleased with these shorts

This is my second pair of these shorts. I couldn't keep up with washing my original pair for back-to-back riding days. I absolutely love these shorts. The pocket on the left leg is an ideal placement for a bar or phone in that it doesn't affect your pedaling.

September 4, 2019

Not quite what I had hoped. With a few tweaks they could be amazing

The fabric weight is amazing. They are a bit short, so if using knee pads you will have the dreaded gap. Without knee pads they are good. The waist adjustment is a big negative as it only tightens the front of the shorts. With no cinch going all the way around it leaves the back of the short to sag. I wear 32 in everything and ordered this same siz... Read Moree and cinched the tightener down as far as it would go, and they still sagged down after a little while in the saddle, mainly in the back. Make them longer, fix the waist tightener and they will be perfect.

September 3, 2019

Great pants, light, some stretch,

Great pants, light, some stretch, trim not baggy, breath well.

September 2, 2019

Excellent Cycling Shorts

I got these shorts for a bike tour as a wear around town pair that I could also ride in. They're super comfortable to ride in and integrate well with a liner chamois. I just wish they had a pocket on the right side too for when I get off my bike and want to carry things with me. As for sizing these, I wear somewhere between 30 and 32 in most ... Read Morebrands and got these in a 31. I was really glad I was able to try on all 3 sizes to get the perfect fit.

September 2, 2019

Fell apart

Side seam delaminated. Normal wash and wear. Returning to store of evaluation and hopefully credit/replacement.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're really sorry to hear this happened. Please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to us if you have any questions regarding your return or if you need any help with that.

September 1, 2019

Nice MTB shorts

Medium fits well. I am 31" waist, 5'7". Only wore them once so far but they are comfortable and well made. Could become my favorite biking shorts.

August 29, 2019

Finally... The perfect baggie short

Having been a competitive mountain biker for 20 years, and riding since I was 4, there's always been an issue with baggies. Fashion over function supersedes the essence of simplicity and the idea that the baggie should feel like it's "not there". Baggies, for me, are simply notorious for constant adjusting, futzing, pulling up, ... Read Moregetting stuck here and there when going off the back, too heavy, too many whistles and bells and useless features, incompatibility with various chamois/ liner materials, etc. I just received my dirt roamers last week, and have ridden them several times, and am so impressed. The lighter weight, tailored leg opening, and simplicity, all basically feel like I am wearing just a chamois. They are perfect. Be nice if they got traditional black color color. And, I'd actually like to see an even lighter weight! Well done product dev. Well done.

August 29, 2019

almost perfect

I've had two long rides in these shorts using them in combination with the Endless Ride Liner Bibs. The fit is perfect for me, 5'11"/170lb, size M, they come over my knees but don't cling to my knees and inhibit my pedaling, not too much material so they don't hangup on the front of the seat getting in and out of the saddle... Read More. The waist adjustment seems to stay where you leave it. Light weight. Con: The non clinging fabric which is great every where except around my waist, where I want them to cling, they want to slide down. Even using the two side ties attached to the liner bibs I find myself needing to pull them up on climbs. If they had a light band of sticky rubber around the waist or something to give them a little traction there, I think they would be perfect. The bib liners are great by the way.

August 29, 2019

Best MTB shorts I’ve owned

Extremely lightweight and breathable fabric. These shorts are perfect for the XC rider that wants to wear shorts vs just bibs. There’s only one zipper pocket so if you’re planning a long ride and need to bring calories you’ll want to have some method of carrying them that doesn’t include the shorts.

August 29, 2019

great shorts. needs one more pocket

I'd give these 5 stars if there was one more pocket! Other than that, they're perfect.

August 28, 2019

Fantastic Shorts - choose your size carefully

Outstanding material and construction. Lightweight, not restrictive, cut high enough in the crotch that they never snag (even when i misuse my dropper :-), while maintaining on, and off the bike comfort. The fit (for me) is perfect, the waist adjuster seems to be less than functional, however its not needed in my case. Be sure you get the right wai... Read Morest size, I would error on the small side as there is a fair bit of stretch in the material.

August 28, 2019

Great shorts

Love them! But the waist cinch system takes a little break in to work smooth.

August 21, 2019

Super Comfy

2nd round of ordering these shorts. Last time I got 31 inch waist, considering a chamois underneath. I'm a true 30 inch waist. 31s were a little big, even with the draw string-like to cinch 'em down. 30s are a better fit. Super comfy. Flex with movement. Really pleased they aren't baggies, at all. Get yourself some!

August 17, 2019

Dirt Roamer

Nicely done. Shorts are a great material with slim leg. Downfall is the length; even at 6-foot tall, the shorts hang to and cover the top of my knees. These would be perfect for me if offered with say a 10” inseam as opposed to the 11.5”

August 15, 2019

Favorite short ever, so far.

Very light, perfect stretch, and great skinnier fit for the chicken legged among us. Length is perfect for pedaling and staying cool, if not a wee bit short for some pads. The only thing that gave it 4 instead of 5 would be the button in the front doesn’t totally lay flat, and the charcoal color is definitely more green than grey. When I think of c... Read Moreharcoal, I picture dark grey, not green. But maybe if I didn’t have such a cheap computer, I would have noticed the green tint.

August 15, 2019

Very good shorts

So about these shorts. Great material, leg length and width works well for me. I use them hitched to the liner bibs. Wish they had a better draw or some belts loops. These sag during a ride and, combined with the upper part of bib being too long, shorts and bibs drag down. If either the bib shoulder was shorter/more supportive or the shorts could ... Read Morestay up on their own, would get 4 stars. If both were slightly better it would be perfect.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

Thank you for your detailed feedback! We've passed it along to the appropriate Patagonia team.

August 15, 2019

Super comfortable

Great fit and material. Never even notice them while I’m riding. As a right handed person I wish the pocket was on the right side instead of left since it’d make it easier to access. Also not sure that the waist tightening system on mine actually works. It seems to return to its original state very easily, though that doesn’t bother me since they... Read More fit well without tightening.

August 13, 2019

Hot spins

Go to shorts for hot summer rides. These are light and very comfortable while riding. The length and colors are both good.

August 12, 2019

Amazing Shorts!

I have these and the dirt craft shorts and while I like them both, I would probably wear these all the time if I could. Very light weight and not baggy at all. The only thing I think could be improved is that it would be nice if there was hand pockets, I would wear them everyday then.

August 12, 2019

Dirt Roamer shorts

Sweet but could use more pockets!

August 10, 2019

The best

Everything you buy from Patagonia is the best at what it does, you can always count on the products blowing away your expectations and getting noticed

August 10, 2019

My new favorite bike shorts!

Best bike shorts yet. Never get hung up or bunched up. Really light weight but seem well made.

August 10, 2019

Dirt Roamer Shorts a Hit in PA

Great for biking! So comfy on MTB saddle. Nice and stylish for after ride brews or wine tasting trailside. Five thumbs up

August 10, 2019

Superb comfort

Wear em like a second skin. They move with you. Another pocket would be great but overall extremely happy with these

July 23, 2019

New favorite riding shorts

I've got more than a few different pairs of cycling shorts. Most are too floppy, not stretchy, over designed, and just not comfortable. Having only the one pocket is perfect for a phone -- I find that most shorts have other pockets that I just leave empty. That just adds bulk and causes fabric to bunch. These are simple and comfortable. Well d... Read Moreone Patagonia!

July 5, 2019

My new go-to trail shorts

These are the best all-around trail/xc shorts I have found. They fit me like they were custom-made for me and work well in all conditions. They are incredibly lightweight for how durable they are, and they have definitely hit the ground and some trees and shrugged it all off. Most of the time I wear these without kneepads for general trail riding b... Read Moreut they do work well with low-profile trail kneepads.

June 25, 2019

AMAZING BUT..

I love these shorts but I have thighs like tree trunks they seem a little tight on that aspect but they perfect for me.

May 28, 2019

Excellent!!!!

I've been working in the bike industry for a number of years which has allowed me to try a handful of brands/styles and I must say these top the list! The fit is perfect and the material is light and causes no irritations. The length is just right, even with knee pads on. I usually end up ditching my chamois after rides and continue to wear th... Read Moreese shorts for other activities. Also double as great hiking shorts or swim trunks. Being right handed, I wish the pocket was on the right side but thats being super picky. Would highly recommend these for anyone or any style of MTB riding. Great job Patagonia!

May 15, 2019

Finally

Finally a short that doesn't drag on the dirt. For years I've struggled to find a short that fit like a true short and not a pair of parachute pants. You knocked this short out of the park. I love the cut and lightweight material. It's perfect in all conditions on or off the bike. My suggestion is to add more color options, and as I ... Read Moresaid in a different review on the Dirt Craft short, do not combine shorts with a liner.

May 8, 2019

Good stretchy riding shorts!

Love them with my bibs! Makes riding comfortable

May 8, 2019

Pretty good

These shorts are great with a few flaws. 1. There is only one pocket. On my personal rides this is fine but when I coach I like more pockets for gloves, trash, chapstick, etc.. Samsung S8+ fits in the pocket well. 2. Length. When pedalling they definitely ride above my knee pads (POC VPD Air) and I get about an inch of skin exposed. I always wear... Read More knee pads so this us annoying. I'm 5'10" with a 30" inseam. No comments on durability since I haven't crashed in them. I generally only hand wash mtb shorts and even then only when they get muddy. The integration with the bibs is excellent. I normally wear 33" waist but bought 34s since they can be cinched up or held up with the button loops that attach to the bibs. No muffin top! If you are an XC guy and never wear knee pads (or you wear G Forms that attach higher up) these would work great. They may be my new favorite workout shorts.

April 17, 2019

Great Shorts for long days in the saddle

As a MTB guide and endurance MTB racer I commonly spend 3-6 hours in the saddle 5-6 days a week. In February I order my first Endless Ride bibs and Dirt Roamer Shorts. Within a week they became my go-to kit so I ordered another set of bibs and Dirt Roamer shorts so they were always available for work and play. The chamois is absolutely the most com... Read Morefortable I have found for mountain biking! I have multiple high-end bibs from Swiss and British manufacturers and while I love them for the road they are not as comfortable as the Endless Ride bibs for MTB which are a great value compare to the high-end bibs even with the Dirt Roamer Shorts. The lightweight design of the bibs and the Dirt Roamer shorts are perfect for riding year round in the Southwest and Summers in the Mountains of Colorado and Utah. The slim cut and lightweight of the Dirt Roamers look great on and off the bike and I frequently get questions from curious customers and friends about the shorts.

April 6, 2019

Too short for shredding

These look great and are spot on if you are 5'9" or less or have a 31" inseam or less. The inseam is too short outside of that range and to actually work with knee pads. A 11.5" inseam might fit over a pad when you are standing up, but not while pedaling, so that is mis-leading. This is a great casual rider short or if your fit ... Read Morepreference is for a short inseam if you wear baggies on the road but still not an authentic mtb short for me until they have the inseam lengths to accommodate today's style and function.

November 8, 2018

So rad with one flaw

These shorts are the best. I am digging how they feel, fit and the quality of the parts. These shorts are different than every other mountain bike short and it's great. I have however, had a problem with them in the short while that I have owned them. The tape on the inside of the short (where they tape the seams) is failing off. I have washed... Read More the shorts three times, I have washed them very carefully as well. I washed the shorts in my vent-less dryer which operates on incredibly low heat each time. This is my first issue with a Patagonia product and maybe I got a defected item. The shorts probably won't break down because of this but we shall see how hard it will be to remove all of the tape that is hanging off since it could feel pretty annoying. 28" waist and it's fits great.

October 21, 2018

Close to Perfection!

Hands down the best mtb shorts I’ve ever owned. Great fit, no extra material, lightweight and extremely comfortable. The drawstring doesn’t work for me quite as easily as advertised but that’s a minor detail.

October 1, 2018

Seems solid but more "slim fit" than "regular fit.

I wear a 33 in all other Patagonia stuff. Ordered a 33 and they fit, but are snug. Waist is fine, plenty of room there but through the hips and seat it's bordering on yoga pants territory. They're definitely less formfitting than the "road" variety of biking shorts, and you're probably less likely to take a digger after sna... Read Moregging the nose of your saddle on the crotch of your shorts though. Consider ordering up one size if you like a looser fit, or if you ride where it's hotter and need the airflow.

August 3, 2018

Super comfortable shorts!

Great fitting, super breathable, no nonsense shorts. Finally a pair of mountain bike shorts that don’t have 10 pockets that I never use anyway. Please, Patagonia, do not mess with the design on these. They are perfect!

May 15, 2018

Best in 25 Years

Been mtb-ing for 25 years,having bought numerous shorts along the way. By far,these are the best-fitting shorts I've come across,and I love that they are light and stretch where/when needed. Love the "draw-string" for tightening the waist. Excellent product.

May 14, 2018

Incredible comfort and highly functional

I won't ride in any other shorts. These feel like you're wearing nothing,yet they are durable and excel at what they were designed to do.

April 25, 2018

Best Bike Shorts of All Time

These shorts are a must have for anyone who spends a lot of time in the saddle. Comfortable,breathable,stylish and incredible design. The longer inseam offers great UV protection for your thighs while rippin' around on a hot day. Just got back from a 3 day bikepacking trip on the White Rim and these shorts breathed well during the heat of the ... Read Moreday and made for great swim trunks and comfy camp attire. Don't ever stop making these shorts,please!!!

April 12, 2018

Best Mountain Bike Shorts

I've been mountain biking in Southern CA for over 15 years and these are great shorts! I combo these with a Ralpha chamois which work well together even on a warmer summer ride. The fabric stretches,breathes and never feels too hot all while not looking shiny like some synthetic fabrics. Pros: 1. the fit,tapered with a more tailored fit than ... Read Morethe wide legged 'bro' Fox shorts 2. the pocket fits my phone perfectly and the position makes it feel non existent 3. water resistant is a nice feature 4. great stretch Cons: 1. could you guys offer a shorter length?

February 14, 2018

Super comfortable/light

Taped seams and material are super soft and comfortable. Makes capris or pants with this material!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches