Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.54 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 1/2"

4.54
True To Size
May 13, 2020

Best MTB Baggies Ever

Best MTB baggies I have ever used. Tried numerous others over the years. Key though was getting right waist size. I generally wear a 34 in Patagonia pants/shorts, but based on the reviews went with 33 and the size is perfect. Don't even have to cinch the waist. Nice slim fit doesn't snag on seat, which is important since I still don'... Read Moret use a dropper post.

May 8, 2020

Perfect minimalistic shorts for biking/hiking/work

Because these shorts have an elastic waist, you might consider getting a size smaller than your actual waist-circumference. I have a 32" waist, but got a 30" for these shorts, and they are perfectly snug as a result without being too tight either.

May 3, 2020

A perfect cycling short

My wife doesn't like the look of the tight traditional cycling shorts and who doesn't want to keep their spouse satisfied in times like these? I love the feel and function of these shorts. They fit perfectly over cycling shorts or liners. They never catch, or pinch, super comfortable and good looking. Just perfect!

March 14, 2020

Great shorts for Bikepacking/Touring/Hiking

Great shorts for riding. These shorts held up incredibly well on a 42 day bike packing/bike touring trip to New Zealand (worn every day, all day). They were comfortable over padded bike shorts and equally so over underwear. The cinching system held the shorts up as I got skinnier. They clean up beautifully either in a washing machine or by a quick ... Read Morerinse in a lake or stream. The material has a few small snags after some hard use, but otherwise they are still in great shape.

February 29, 2020

Almost perfect!

I love these things, great material, slim fit, no up front pockets, super stretchy. I'm 6 foot tall and these are slightly longer than I really want. They would be great if they came in a 10" or 10.5" length. Hopefully they read these reviews and make that an option in the future. Cheers!

January 4, 2020

Restrictive for those with big quads

Seem well made and durable. Waist adjustment isn’t intuitive but works. Material is stretchy. Not made for muscular thighs. If you have smaller cyclist or runners legs they will probably fit fine. Big quads not so well. Seems restrictive when pedaling due to combination of length and leg circumference that doesn’t seem to work well for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the material and fit isn't working out for you. We appreciate you providing your helpful feedback for other shoppers and for our designers. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us, please feel free to do so.

January 3, 2020

Awesome Shorts

I needed a pair of shorts for MTB and these fit the bill quite nicely. Stretchy where they need to be, some pockets for the little things, and good fit throughout. I ordered them in the same size as my Patagonia jeans; however,

November 6, 2019

Light and tough

These are great. They are lightweight and feel tough enough to handle the inevitable wipeouts.

November 5, 2019

Best riding shorts ever!

Great fit, I use these shorts both on and off the bike. Love them!

November 5, 2019

Stylish and functional

Use these primarily for MTB rides, also wear them for hiking, climbing, and gym sessions. Really stretchy and breathable. Favorite shorts I’ve owned for biking by far. Great with the endless ride liner. Haven’t taken any falls yet, but durability might be the only concern in a crash.

October 7, 2019

Great minimalist bike shorts.

I forget I have these on, which is about the highest praise I can give a bike short.

September 30, 2019

Waist adjustment is pretty much useless

Switched to baggies recently and tried Patagonia. I own a lot of their products and like the fact that I can buy my waist size (33") since I'm generally between M&L. Having said that, the waist is still a touch large which would be fine if the waist cinch actually worked. It cinches but doesn't stay tight and requires constant ad... Read Morejustment. Otherwise the shorts are nice, not too baggy, minimalist design although one more pocket wouldn't hurt. 4 stars if the adjustment worked and 5 if they added another zip pocket.

September 25, 2019

minimalist and really nice

Plenty of stretch. Only one pocket but my iPhone fits in it. Glad to finally have Patagonia durability working for me on the bike shorts front...

September 15, 2019

No Nonsense Riding Shorts

These were pricey but worth it. They’re very light, have the right amount of stretch and the fit is just slim enough so they don’t get in the way. I love the clever drawstring waist and the low key styling too.

September 12, 2019

Best pedaling shorts I've found

The most comfortable pedaling shorts I've found. I generally prefer a 14 inch inseam at my height, but the materials and fit can't be beat.

September 10, 2019

Coverage without restriction

Thought these shorts would be too long and restrictive. But I gave them a go and will eat my thoughts. I have used them for gravel rides and MTB rides over the Patagonia bike shorts. Functional and casual look. Can go straight to the store with these babies and wife will not roll her eyes at me. I am 5'8" and got the medium.

September 10, 2019

Great fit, light weight, stretchy,

Great fit, light weight, stretchy, comfortable.

September 10, 2019

Favorite MTB over-shorts

Light, stretchy, great fit,

September 7, 2019

Perfect Fit

Love it. So comfy I bought two more. Like surfing in a super slim, flexible wetsuit. Perfect for the hot summer mountain bike rides but I imagine I’ll ride in it year round. We own lots of Patagonia clothes and equipment but this product is a star!

September 6, 2019

Dirt Roamer shorts

These are my new go to mountain bike shorts especially on hot days the fit is great and they dry very fast.

September 5, 2019

So Enduro it’s almost XC

Think slim boardshort feel but with trail features! I typically wear a 32-33” waist I sized up to a 34 to accommodate a liner. Fits just right at the top of the knee cap. Super light stretchy material which is great on all day rides. I have taken a spill or two and the shorts held up even with being so light. Not the short I’d wear to the bike/jump... Read More park, that’s where the dirt craft shorts come in.

September 5, 2019

Quite Pleased with these shorts

This is my second pair of these shorts. I couldn't keep up with washing my original pair for back-to-back riding days. I absolutely love these shorts. The pocket on the left leg is an ideal placement for a bar or phone in that it doesn't affect your pedaling.

September 4, 2019

Not quite what I had hoped. With a few tweaks they could be amazing

The fabric weight is amazing. They are a bit short, so if using knee pads you will have the dreaded gap. Without knee pads they are good. The waist adjustment is a big negative as it only tightens the front of the shorts. With no cinch going all the way around it leaves the back of the short to sag. I wear 32 in everything and ordered this same siz... Read Moree and cinched the tightener down as far as it would go, and they still sagged down after a little while in the saddle, mainly in the back. Make them longer, fix the waist tightener and they will be perfect.

September 3, 2019

Great pants, light, some stretch,

Great pants, light, some stretch, trim not baggy, breath well.

September 2, 2019

Fell apart

Side seam delaminated. Normal wash and wear. Returning to store of evaluation and hopefully credit/replacement.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're really sorry to hear this happened. Please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to us if you have any questions regarding your return or if you need any help with that.

September 2, 2019

Excellent Cycling Shorts

I got these shorts for a bike tour as a wear around town pair that I could also ride in. They're super comfortable to ride in and integrate well with a liner chamois. I just wish they had a pocket on the right side too for when I get off my bike and want to carry things with me. As for sizing these, I wear somewhere between 30 and 32 in most ... Read Morebrands and got these in a 31. I was really glad I was able to try on all 3 sizes to get the perfect fit.

September 1, 2019

Nice MTB shorts

Medium fits well. I am 31" waist, 5'7". Only wore them once so far but they are comfortable and well made. Could become my favorite biking shorts.

August 29, 2019

almost perfect

I've had two long rides in these shorts using them in combination with the Endless Ride Liner Bibs. The fit is perfect for me, 5'11"/170lb, size M, they come over my knees but don't cling to my knees and inhibit my pedaling, not too much material so they don't hangup on the front of the seat getting in and out of the saddle... Read More. The waist adjustment seems to stay where you leave it. Light weight. Con: The non clinging fabric which is great every where except around my waist, where I want them to cling, they want to slide down. Even using the two side ties attached to the liner bibs I find myself needing to pull them up on climbs. If they had a light band of sticky rubber around the waist or something to give them a little traction there, I think they would be perfect. The bib liners are great by the way.

August 29, 2019

Best MTB shorts I’ve owned

Extremely lightweight and breathable fabric. These shorts are perfect for the XC rider that wants to wear shorts vs just bibs. There’s only one zipper pocket so if you’re planning a long ride and need to bring calories you’ll want to have some method of carrying them that doesn’t include the shorts.

August 29, 2019

Finally... The perfect baggie short

Having been a competitive mountain biker for 20 years, and riding since I was 4, there's always been an issue with baggies. Fashion over function supersedes the essence of simplicity and the idea that the baggie should feel like it's "not there". Baggies, for me, are simply notorious for constant adjusting, futzing, pulling up, ... Read Moregetting stuck here and there when going off the back, too heavy, too many whistles and bells and useless features, incompatibility with various chamois/ liner materials, etc. I just received my dirt roamers last week, and have ridden them several times, and am so impressed. The lighter weight, tailored leg opening, and simplicity, all basically feel like I am wearing just a chamois. They are perfect. Be nice if they got traditional black color color. And, I'd actually like to see an even lighter weight! Well done product dev. Well done.

August 29, 2019

great shorts. needs one more pocket

I'd give these 5 stars if there was one more pocket! Other than that, they're perfect.

August 28, 2019

Great shorts

Love them! But the waist cinch system takes a little break in to work smooth.

August 28, 2019

Fantastic Shorts - choose your size carefully

Outstanding material and construction. Lightweight, not restrictive, cut high enough in the crotch that they never snag (even when i misuse my dropper :-), while maintaining on, and off the bike comfort. The fit (for me) is perfect, the waist adjuster seems to be less than functional, however its not needed in my case. Be sure you get the right wai... Read Morest size, I would error on the small side as there is a fair bit of stretch in the material.

August 21, 2019

Super Comfy

2nd round of ordering these shorts. Last time I got 31 inch waist, considering a chamois underneath. I'm a true 30 inch waist. 31s were a little big, even with the draw string-like to cinch 'em down. 30s are a better fit. Super comfy. Flex with movement. Really pleased they aren't baggies, at all. Get yourself some!

August 17, 2019

Dirt Roamer

Nicely done. Shorts are a great material with slim leg. Downfall is the length; even at 6-foot tall, the shorts hang to and cover the top of my knees. These would be perfect for me if offered with say a 10” inseam as opposed to the 11.5”

August 15, 2019

Favorite short ever, so far.

Very light, perfect stretch, and great skinnier fit for the chicken legged among us. Length is perfect for pedaling and staying cool, if not a wee bit short for some pads. The only thing that gave it 4 instead of 5 would be the button in the front doesn’t totally lay flat, and the charcoal color is definitely more green than grey. When I think of c... Read Moreharcoal, I picture dark grey, not green. But maybe if I didn’t have such a cheap computer, I would have noticed the green tint.

August 15, 2019

Super comfortable

Great fit and material. Never even notice them while I’m riding. As a right handed person I wish the pocket was on the right side instead of left since it’d make it easier to access. Also not sure that the waist tightening system on mine actually works. It seems to return to its original state very easily, though that doesn’t bother me since they... Read More fit well without tightening.

August 15, 2019

Very good shorts

So about these shorts. Great material, leg length and width works well for me. I use them hitched to the liner bibs. Wish they had a better draw or some belts loops. These sag during a ride and, combined with the upper part of bib being too long, shorts and bibs drag down. If either the bib shoulder was shorter/more supportive or the shorts could ... Read Morestay up on their own, would get 4 stars. If both were slightly better it would be perfect.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

Thank you for your detailed feedback! We've passed it along to the appropriate Patagonia team.

August 13, 2019

Hot spins

Go to shorts for hot summer rides. These are light and very comfortable while riding. The length and colors are both good.

August 12, 2019

Amazing Shorts!

I have these and the dirt craft shorts and while I like them both, I would probably wear these all the time if I could. Very light weight and not baggy at all. The only thing I think could be improved is that it would be nice if there was hand pockets, I would wear them everyday then.

August 12, 2019

Dirt Roamer shorts

Sweet but could use more pockets!

August 10, 2019

The best

Everything you buy from Patagonia is the best at what it does, you can always count on the products blowing away your expectations and getting noticed

August 10, 2019

My new favorite bike shorts!

Best bike shorts yet. Never get hung up or bunched up. Really light weight but seem well made.

August 10, 2019

Dirt Roamer Shorts a Hit in PA

Great for biking! So comfy on MTB saddle. Nice and stylish for after ride brews or wine tasting trailside. Five thumbs up

August 10, 2019

Superb comfort

Wear em like a second skin. They move with you. Another pocket would be great but overall extremely happy with these

July 23, 2019

New favorite riding shorts

I've got more than a few different pairs of cycling shorts. Most are too floppy, not stretchy, over designed, and just not comfortable. Having only the one pocket is perfect for a phone -- I find that most shorts have other pockets that I just leave empty. That just adds bulk and causes fabric to bunch. These are simple and comfortable. Well d... Read Moreone Patagonia!

July 5, 2019

My new go-to trail shorts

These are the best all-around trail/xc shorts I have found. They fit me like they were custom-made for me and work well in all conditions. They are incredibly lightweight for how durable they are, and they have definitely hit the ground and some trees and shrugged it all off. Most of the time I wear these without kneepads for general trail riding b... Read Moreut they do work well with low-profile trail kneepads.

June 25, 2019

AMAZING BUT..

I love these shorts but I have thighs like tree trunks they seem a little tight on that aspect but they perfect for me.

May 28, 2019

Excellent!!!!

I've been working in the bike industry for a number of years which has allowed me to try a handful of brands/styles and I must say these top the list! The fit is perfect and the material is light and causes no irritations. The length is just right, even with knee pads on. I usually end up ditching my chamois after rides and continue to wear th... Read Moreese shorts for other activities. Also double as great hiking shorts or swim trunks. Being right handed, I wish the pocket was on the right side but thats being super picky. Would highly recommend these for anyone or any style of MTB riding. Great job Patagonia!

May 15, 2019

Finally

Finally a short that doesn't drag on the dirt. For years I've struggled to find a short that fit like a true short and not a pair of parachute pants. You knocked this short out of the park. I love the cut and lightweight material. It's perfect in all conditions on or off the bike. My suggestion is to add more color options, and as I ... Read Moresaid in a different review on the Dirt Craft short, do not combine shorts with a liner.

May 8, 2019

Pretty good

These shorts are great with a few flaws. 1. There is only one pocket. On my personal rides this is fine but when I coach I like more pockets for gloves, trash, chapstick, etc.. Samsung S8+ fits in the pocket well. 2. Length. When pedalling they definitely ride above my knee pads (POC VPD Air) and I get about an inch of skin exposed. I always wear... Read More knee pads so this us annoying. I'm 5'10" with a 30" inseam. No comments on durability since I haven't crashed in them. I generally only hand wash mtb shorts and even then only when they get muddy. The integration with the bibs is excellent. I normally wear 33" waist but bought 34s since they can be cinched up or held up with the button loops that attach to the bibs. No muffin top! If you are an XC guy and never wear knee pads (or you wear G Forms that attach higher up) these would work great. They may be my new favorite workout shorts.

May 8, 2019

Good stretchy riding shorts!

Love them with my bibs! Makes riding comfortable

April 17, 2019

Great Shorts for long days in the saddle

As a MTB guide and endurance MTB racer I commonly spend 3-6 hours in the saddle 5-6 days a week. In February I order my first Endless Ride bibs and Dirt Roamer Shorts. Within a week they became my go-to kit so I ordered another set of bibs and Dirt Roamer shorts so they were always available for work and play. The chamois is absolutely the most com... Read Morefortable I have found for mountain biking! I have multiple high-end bibs from Swiss and British manufacturers and while I love them for the road they are not as comfortable as the Endless Ride bibs for MTB which are a great value compare to the high-end bibs even with the Dirt Roamer Shorts. The lightweight design of the bibs and the Dirt Roamer shorts are perfect for riding year round in the Southwest and Summers in the Mountains of Colorado and Utah. The slim cut and lightweight of the Dirt Roamers look great on and off the bike and I frequently get questions from curious customers and friends about the shorts.

April 6, 2019

Too short for shredding

These look great and are spot on if you are 5'9" or less or have a 31" inseam or less. The inseam is too short outside of that range and to actually work with knee pads. A 11.5" inseam might fit over a pad when you are standing up, but not while pedaling, so that is mis-leading. This is a great casual rider short or if your fit ... Read Morepreference is for a short inseam if you wear baggies on the road but still not an authentic mtb short for me until they have the inseam lengths to accommodate today's style and function.

November 8, 2018

So rad with one flaw

These shorts are the best. I am digging how they feel, fit and the quality of the parts. These shorts are different than every other mountain bike short and it's great. I have however, had a problem with them in the short while that I have owned them. The tape on the inside of the short (where they tape the seams) is failing off. I have washed... Read More the shorts three times, I have washed them very carefully as well. I washed the shorts in my vent-less dryer which operates on incredibly low heat each time. This is my first issue with a Patagonia product and maybe I got a defected item. The shorts probably won't break down because of this but we shall see how hard it will be to remove all of the tape that is hanging off since it could feel pretty annoying. 28" waist and it's fits great.

October 21, 2018

Close to Perfection!

Hands down the best mtb shorts I’ve ever owned. Great fit, no extra material, lightweight and extremely comfortable. The drawstring doesn’t work for me quite as easily as advertised but that’s a minor detail.

October 1, 2018

Seems solid but more "slim fit" than "regular fit.

I wear a 33 in all other Patagonia stuff. Ordered a 33 and they fit, but are snug. Waist is fine, plenty of room there but through the hips and seat it's bordering on yoga pants territory. They're definitely less formfitting than the "road" variety of biking shorts, and you're probably less likely to take a digger after sna... Read Moregging the nose of your saddle on the crotch of your shorts though. Consider ordering up one size if you like a looser fit, or if you ride where it's hotter and need the airflow.

August 3, 2018

Super comfortable shorts!

Great fitting, super breathable, no nonsense shorts. Finally a pair of mountain bike shorts that don’t have 10 pockets that I never use anyway. Please, Patagonia, do not mess with the design on these. They are perfect!

May 15, 2018

Best in 25 Years

Been mtb-ing for 25 years,having bought numerous shorts along the way. By far,these are the best-fitting shorts I've come across,and I love that they are light and stretch where/when needed. Love the "draw-string" for tightening the waist. Excellent product.

May 14, 2018

Incredible comfort and highly functional

I won't ride in any other shorts. These feel like you're wearing nothing,yet they are durable and excel at what they were designed to do.

April 25, 2018

Best Bike Shorts of All Time

These shorts are a must have for anyone who spends a lot of time in the saddle. Comfortable,breathable,stylish and incredible design. The longer inseam offers great UV protection for your thighs while rippin' around on a hot day. Just got back from a 3 day bikepacking trip on the White Rim and these shorts breathed well during the heat of the ... Read Moreday and made for great swim trunks and comfy camp attire. Don't ever stop making these shorts,please!!!

April 12, 2018

Best Mountain Bike Shorts

I've been mountain biking in Southern CA for over 15 years and these are great shorts! I combo these with a Ralpha chamois which work well together even on a warmer summer ride. The fabric stretches,breathes and never feels too hot all while not looking shiny like some synthetic fabrics. Pros: 1. the fit,tapered with a more tailored fit than ... Read Morethe wide legged 'bro' Fox shorts 2. the pocket fits my phone perfectly and the position makes it feel non existent 3. water resistant is a nice feature 4. great stretch Cons: 1. could you guys offer a shorter length?

February 14, 2018

Super comfortable/light

Taped seams and material are super soft and comfortable. Makes capris or pants with this material!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches