burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts - 12½" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts

4.5/5
True To Size
January 14, 2023

Solid shorts

I'm not a huge mountain biker so I'm not a guru on the gear or anything but these are solid. The pockets work well and material feels lightweight yet durable. It's nice being comfortable without worrying about your gear tearing or breaking. I guess the longer inseam is just to protect more skin which is understandable but I don&#x2... Read More7;t really dig the feel.

October 25, 2022

light, stretchy, comfortable

This is a great mountain biking short for warm weather. It's very comfortable. You don't really feel it. The seams are taped so, it feels like one continuous piece of fabric. Feels like the future of garment construction. Unfortunately I returned the first pair because one of the snaps was weak, so it would undo just by me sitting on the... Read More saddle. I would just use a regular button. I took it the store, and they took it back after listening to my feedback. Despite the bad snap I still like them, so I got a replacement and the new one has strong snaps. I really like them, but I would not recommend them to my friends.

October 23, 2022

Well designed shorts

Uncluttered waistband works well under a pack. Odd and even waist sizes allow you to get a perfect fit. Simple functional pockets. Material is nice and stretchy. Length is perfect. They work well with kneepads. Definitely my favorite mountain bike shorts. Nice work on these!

October 14, 2022

Two zippered pockets

These fit just right for a day on the trail. The zippered pockets are perfect for holding a mobile, bike tool, and energy bar. Well made and built to last several seasons of wash and wear.

October 8, 2022

Performance

Flexible relaxed performance short !

September 27, 2022

light, stretchy, comfortable, bad quality snaps

I do mostly all-trail riding. 2 hours at most per session. 5'5" / 145-150lbs. I'm usually a 29 on jeans, but I had to get a 31 on these shorts to get a good fit. I would definitely recommend you try them in store. These are very comfortable and light shorts for mountain biking in warm weather. Very simple. Two pockets. I don't ... Read Morecarry much in my pockets except my car key and and ID. They adjust well with the small side straps. These close with two small snaps, and the lower one in my pair has very low holding force. I barely have to flick my finger to accidentally open it, or if I try to adjust my shoes, the lower snap pops out easily. For whatever these cost, I would expect them to stay on securely. Fortunately the top snap has held, but I'm thinking of taking it to the store to hack them with old timey buttons or return them. So, beware if you buy them online. If you go to the store, just make sure the snaps are strong.

September 16, 2022

The singular best bike shorts on the planet

The material is lightweight yet durable, pockets are perfect for a phone on one side and a wallet on the other after the ride, and the minimalistic look and feel is unmatched in the bike short market. The flared knees are perfect for days with knee pads but not excessive when not wearing them. These paired with the dirt roamer liners fit like a glo... Read Moreve and you'll never want to wear another pair of biking shorts. Troy Lee, Fox, Zoic, and other biking brands make bike pants twice as heavy with weird pockets and baggy fits, Patagonia is well above the mark on these. You will not regret getting these and wearing them for the next 10+ years!

September 16, 2022

Comfortable, quality and made with recycled materials

These shorts checked the boxes for me.Very comfortable and the fit is great. They sit just below the knee and are very easy to move in while climbing and bombing down hills. They are made out of recycled materials which I support and appreciate.

September 12, 2022

Light Weight and Durable

I bought a size that was a little large for me since the ideal size (35) wasn't available, but that was my mistake. It was even larger since I ordered too large (assumed size matched waist, but it doesn't. Size is waist - 1), and solved easily with the cinch pulls on the sides. If your size isn't available, I think you could escape w... Read Moreith aiming at a smaller size over a larger size. Took it out on a 5 day bike tour, fit nicely over my chamois and super light weight. Dries quickly if it gets wet. Long inseam covers your knees, which is nice to help block the sun in a spot that can get burned riding all day otherwise. I like that they are 87% recycled - which is a big reason I purchased. No issues I can think of.

September 2, 2022

need better snaps

the shorts are nice and functional, but the snaps are very difficult to close and open

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Michael. If those snaps get to be too annoying, please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

August 22, 2022

fit like a glove

These shorts are seriously lightweight and yet also durable. I needed some light riding shorts and happened to see these randomly in person. I wanted to know the style so I could buy some immediately! They fit well, keep me cool and dry, and are tough enough for the bike. Bravo.

August 7, 2022

Just Incredible

After years and years of wearing mountain bike shorts, these are by far, the most comfortable. They are incredibly light, breathable, and the fit is perfect. Legs aren't baggy, and there are no points in which they bind up. Something else to note as there is NO VELCRO, which is something I have never come across, and that makes laundering that... Read More much easier.

August 2, 2022

Cross Country?

What I liked: the waist adjustments, the lightweight material, the fused seams, the addition of a second pocket. What I didn't like: the length. I bought these shorts for hot summer rides--these are supposedly the ultra-light, cross-country shorts. However, the inseam is so long that the sheer amount of fabric cancels out the light weight fac... Read Moretor. I'm not sure why these are an inch longer than the Dirt Craft shorts, which the sales person told me were for more downhill riding.

July 22, 2022

Light and stretchy

My new favorite riding shorts. Super light and stretchy with great pockets and fit.

June 18, 2022

Just breaking them in, worried

Just breaking them in, worried about seam welded longevity! Many of my Patagonia products fail first at seams that are welded, not stitched! Cheaper to produce, but not long lived for the price! Been wearing and owning Patagonia for over 40ish years, still have a few coats from the 80s and 90s! Well kept! Newer products do not last!

Response from Patagonia
June 21, 2022

Hi Kurt, thank you for sharing your concerns about the welded seams. These were added to make the shorts lighter, more stretchy, and more comfortable. If the seams (or any other feature of the shorts) should ever cause an issue, please keep in mind you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

June 8, 2022

Light, cool and comfortable

These shorts exceeded my expectations! They are super comfortable, light and NOT hot. They have stretch in the right places and the pockets are just the right size to easily access a phone for a picture. Best shorts I own.

June 6, 2022

Great Mt. Bike Shorts

"Lightweight & stretchy", these shorts are great. Very comfortable on long rides with pockets that are easily accessible. The side size adjustment sliders are easy to adjust and don't snag like velcro adjustments on some shorts.

June 1, 2022

Light for hot days

The fabric is light, so these shorts are really comfortable in hot weather. There are no snaps to hook to your chamois, but the fit of these shorts is spot-on, so they're not necessary, even when moving around a lot on the bike.

April 24, 2022

Improved Version of the Original

These are the best MTB shorts going. Light, stretch, and fit perfectly. Designers have improved this version to remove the adjustable waist cord that never worked quite right and replaced it with a stretchy elastic waist. These shorts now have two zippered side pockets. Otherwise, they are the same great shorts that perform as advertised in all con... Read Moreditions, especially hot weather. They also run true to size and are the right length, not too long or short.

March 21, 2022

Very comfy and light weight

These shorts are great for XC mountain bike rips and also work well for gravel.

March 5, 2022

PERFECTION!

Ive been wearing both the previous Dirt Roamer shorts as well as the Dirt Craft shorts over the last several years and thought they were solid performers. But if I could have changed anything about the Dirt Roamers I would have added a second leg pocket, made the waist adjusters more usable and added a better snap closure. Well, that is exactly wha... Read Moret Patagonia changed. Ive had two days of riding in these shorts and they are PERFECT. The only thing I would like to see are some additional colors. I am a MTB guide in Arizona and ride >300 days/yr so over time I feel I have dialed in my expectations for my gear. These will definitely be my go-to shorts! Great job!

March 1, 2022

Great fit and function

I'm stoked on these mountain biking shorts! The fit is perfect - just the right amount of fabric, nothing more than you need. Fits great over my (slightly big) booty and the zip pocket hold my phone in such a way that I forget it's even there. The material feels great, is breathable on hot days, and holds up to some dirt, branches, and ev... Read Moreerything else I run/fall into when riding. Amazing quality!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches