Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 3/4"

Write Your Review

3.69 /5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 3/4"

3.69
Kinda Small
June 21, 2020

The most wonderful biking shorts ever!

I bought one pair of these biking shorts 2 years ago as a web special. They were so great, the following year I bought 2 additional pairs. This year I purchased my 4th pair in the lavender color. They fit perfectly; they are comfy and stretch so you can't even feel them on your body. The zipper pocket on the left leg is perfect; it very roomy ... Read Moreto hold your phone, your ID, some tissues and keys. They also are very figure-flattering. They can also be worn as regular shorts if you'd like. I love these shorts! Patagonia, don't ever change the style, cut, or fit! You got it perfect!!!! Thanks!

June 19, 2020

Go-to ride shorts

I absolutely love them. I could have gotten a size 2, but they would have been fitted. The 4 are flattering, but relaxed enough. They stretch perfectly, and feel amazing on and off the bike. Knee openings are a little tight for knee pads. I recommend the dirt craft for knee pads.

May 4, 2020

Not what MTB shorts should be

The fabric is very thin and stretchy, and they are TIGHT. I should have known this based on the photos, but the color I liked was deeply discounted so I thought I would give them a try. I ordered a size up based on reviews, and the waist fit great but the legs were very snug, but it seems like that's how they're supposed to fit which is w... Read Morehy I'm confused. Sure, the shorts were comfortable, but I don't want thin stretchy fabric when I'm fully puckered and getting a little too loose down a steep, rocky, rooty section of PNW trail. If I wipe out, which is always a possibility, the fabric should be beefy enough to protect against the rocks and roots that I'm falling on. Not to mention, these seemed too tight to even wear over knee pads. Maybe these are geared more towards XC riders.

Response from Patagonia
May 7, 2020

Hi Sarah. We're sorry that these mountain bike shorts are not what you expected. We designed these with stretchy, moisture-wicking fabric to give more comfort while riding in hot weather. Please feel free to return them under our Ironclad Guarantee if you're disappointed with their performance. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

April 8, 2020

too thin for mountain biking

My main problem with these is they are too thin. For some of us who get dirty and crash occasionally , these just won't do. Love Patagonia. You can do better.

February 16, 2020

Bad fit for the curvy

Gave these three stars only because the fabric seems great. Other than that nothing good about the fit in my opinion. I have curvy hips and bigger thighs but also a small waist. I'm 155lbs and had to get a 12..never been a 12 before. If I sized lower to fit my waist better then legs would have been far too tight. Might work for you if you want... Read More a fitted look. Good length.

Response from Patagonia
March 20, 2020

Hi Nina! Thanks so much for your review and we're really sorry the fit didn't work out. We're always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

January 6, 2020

WOW!

Super stretchy lightweight fabric perfect for hot weather. Have worn comfortably over LW padded liners, P bibs and long underwear. Welded seams must be tried to believe- not a raised edge or bunchy groin area to be had. I appreciate the minimalist lack of front/rear waist pockets and belt loops. Small vertical zip left thigh for pocket that faces r... Read Moreear. For a long short these have the perfect trim silhouette in hips, thighs and above knees. I have muscular thighs and real hips and found no problem with sizing, but did order up due to other reviews. Very nice job, Patagonia. I resisted these for many months due to price, now considering second pair.

October 23, 2019

The perfect short...

I bought these 1 size larger based on previous reviews, and they are amazing. Long enough to to over knee pads, light enough for warm weather rider and fabulous fabric! For burly rides I'll wear shorts with a thicker fabric but for daily easier riders these are my new faves!

September 1, 2019

Great shorts but gotta be careful

I got these shorts for some riding around Northern California and on my first ride I got some grease on them which I was expecting to happen over time. I treated it per Patagonia’s instructions online and the stains grew exponentially in size, starting with a few little marks that turned into splotches the size of tennis balls. I kept on using them... Read More since these are the only mountain biking shorts that I have and the third time that I washed them the zipper on the fly came off of one size making them unwearable. I brought them into one of the stores hoping to be able to fix them but because repair times are almost 3 months long and these are my only pair of mountain biking shorts, I had to opt to replace them. Hopefully this new pair will hold up better but so far I’m not impressed.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that these have caused you some troubles. If this new pair does not satisfy you, we urge you to send those back for a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your helpful feedback.

June 30, 2019

Very flattering fit in colors that don't go with anything

These shorts are made of a great light-weight fabric and the cut is very flattering. Unfortunately, the "grey" is more of a greenish color and the only other option is bright teal. Also, they run more than a half-size small.

June 18, 2019

Very flattering style; run pretty small through the hips

The cut on these is wonderful--good length, fitted and flattering. The material is nice and lightweight. I had to go up a full size, to a 12--a size I've never worn before in any pants or shorts. I wish they came in black.

June 16, 2019

Wanted to like these

I've had these shorts for about 10 months now, with only about 5 months of use. I like that they are lightweight, simple and flattering in cut. However, the taped seams are already peeling off the fabric and there's now a hole in the crotch below the zipper where the stitching failed. These shorts have a slim fit in the hips and legs whic... Read Moreh makes it uncomfortable to wear with a chamois and does not integrate with knee pads, even though the waist fits me perfectly and a size up would fall down.

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2019

Sorry to hear that the Dirt Roamer Shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them by sending them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

June 3, 2019

Fits small and needs an upgrade with a better waist band

These fit really small and narrow in the seat. I wear size L in most Patagonia pants and these were too narrow in the hips to be able to wear them over a padded liner. For the design team, please upgrade the waist band of these short to what is on the Happy Hiker Studio pant. With a comfy stretchy waist band, the fly is irrelevant.

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

I bought these shorts last year for bike riding, but wear them kayaking and basically all the time, so I got two more pairs this year. This years run a bit small so I sent them back and ordered a size up. They are nice and light, so I wear then on the hottest days but also give me the coverage I want. Love them.

August 26, 2018

Nice and lightweight

I really like these MTB shorts for a few reasons. 1) they are long - almost to the knee - and a little longer in the front; 2) they are super lightweight, so on these 90+ degree days in Utah they don't add insulation like some heavier, burly MTB shorts; 3) the side pocket is big enough to accommodate an iPhone 8+, 4) a little stretch goes a lo... Read Moreng way, 5) they don't come with a liner short, which always sucks anyway! I am 5'4" and 130 pounds, a little belly and big quads. I had to order a size 8, which is big for me, to get the forgiving fit I wanted.

April 11, 2018

Too long for my liking

I liked everything about these shorts except for the length. Too long for me for mountain biking or any other active wear. I am 5'3" tall,125 lbs. and athletic build. Size 4 fit perfect. The shorts came down to my knees,which is not what I was seeking. Otherwise,high quality,nice material and weight - good design. I returned.

January 7, 2018

Love these shorts!

This is a legit pair of MTB shorts. They are light and streamlined. I usually don't need a bunch of pockets (I ride with a back/hip pack) and prefer to wear my favorite bibs,so I appreciate the that they only have the 1 zippered pocket and do not come with a liner. The fabric is lightweight and super stretchy. I am 5'3",122lbs,athlet... Read Moreic build (muscular quads) and I bought a size 4,and they fit perfectly. I wear a size small in most other MTB brands. When standing,they fall about mid knee. When seated,they ended just above the knee on the front. They are cut higher in the back (at the bottom hem),so you still get the coverage on top of the leg,without fabric bunching behind the knee. They are definitely a slim fit as a size 4,but that is what I wanted. I don't like too much extra fabric that can get caught on the seat and the fabric moved with me. During my first ride in them,I didn't think about them. Boom. That's the way your apparel should be. Put it on and go.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches