burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Strider Field Shorts - 9" Reviews

Write Your Review

3.9/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Strider Field Shorts - 9"

3.9/5
Kinda Large
July 15, 2022

Super light. Fun to run in.

Best shorts for ultimate on hot humid days. A little too long though. Is there a 7 in. inseam version? It has a slight swishy-ish noise but whatever. Nbd

February 24, 2022

Great light weight shirts

I bought these shirts for my son. He plays tennis and loves how lightweight they are.

December 16, 2021

Comfy

Nice shorts that keep you cool. The only downside is there no pockets but if you have a hipsack it's no problem

November 30, 2021

Great shorts

These are excellent shorts for working out in in hot weather.

November 30, 2021

Nice shorts

Very comfortable, feels like Im not wearing any shorts. Just wish they had pockets.

September 23, 2021

Lounge shorts

Very thin materiel. Great for summer. Pockets would be great

September 17, 2021

Nice Shorts

The shorts are light, and fit well. If they had pockets, they would have gotten a 5 star rating.

September 15, 2021

Nice shorts

Very comfortable, stay up well. Only wish there was a pocket

September 15, 2021

Perfect hot weather workout short

Bought for my son. Phys Ed class during August/ September in California is VERY hot. These shorts are perfect to keep him cool and a fit he prefers.

September 13, 2021

Short

I thought they would be a heavier material very light weight.

September 12, 2021

Patagonia Strider Field Shorts - comfortable

Light weight and no inside netting. However it does run small.

September 12, 2021

Lightweight but lacking

No pockets so not good for walking and listening to phone. Cord not long enough to tie

September 7, 2021

(almost) Perfect for me.

No complaints at all about these shorts. The fit, styling and material are exactly what I was looking for. My only wish would be for them to have a small pocket somewhere for a key. Pocket-free means that I have to either tie my key on my shoes or leave it somewhere safe during yoga or a workout. Thank you for asking!

September 7, 2021

Worst shorts ever...

My bad for thinking these shorts were the 9 inch baggies, and they had pockets. Not even close. Must be the cheapest, and thinnest pair of shorts ever made by Patagonia. Very disappointed. Dont waste your money on this product.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Robby. These shorts are a lightweight short made specifically for Ultimate Frisbee. We do offer our Baggies™ in a long version [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-longs-7-inch/58034.html).

September 2, 2021

Nice particle, fits too slim

For an active wear short, this is just too tight through the crotch and upper legs. Couldnt return it so Im living with it.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Hey Tom, thanks for the review on our Strider Field Shorts - 9". We're sorry to hear that the size purchased didn't end up working out. We've sent you an email to follow up with you on your options!

August 23, 2021

Featherweight

This is the lightest and for me best fabric I've found on a running short, especially an unlined short, my preference. They are maximum length for running and I'd LOVE to see them offered in a 7" inseam, and I'd like to have the waist ties about 3" longer; but otherwise change nothing.

August 3, 2021

Super comfortable

Very comfortable but hard to wear shorts without pockets when I carry my cell phone everywhere....

July 22, 2021

Light weight

Love these , would be great with pockets !

June 22, 2021

basic casual shorts

Material very light weight, excellent for hot weather. No liner, no pockets, no problem. Length is good, hits me about an inch above my knee. I wear them with a T shirt and flops around town and enjoy the sporty casual look and feel they provide. Waist tie could be a bit longer, but it's adequate for the job. Spring clasp is handy. Overall, ve... Read Morery nice, glad I bought them.

June 9, 2021

Super lightweight, great for working out

I bought these for generic workouts. I am not a runner, so I can't say anything about whether these would be good for that. I've been really impressed with Patagonia's materials lately...light...breathable...etc. My only gripe with this short is the drawstring is nearly useless. I bought a Large, have a 34" waist and I can barel... Read Morey tie the drawstring on these...and yes, I do use the drawstring because the last thing I need is to be fussing with my shorts falling down when I'm mid-set, or doing some other movement that might jerk these things around. Otherwise, great short.

April 9, 2021

Hard to call these Every-Day Run shorts

I don't understand the lack of pockets. These can't be called trail running shorts without pockets. The website copy reads, "We make shorts designed for all the ways you run." Sorry, but no, no, you don't.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Hey Ryan, thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on the construction of these shorts. We completely understand how our minimalist approach, with a lack of pockets, caused some inconveniences. We always want to ensure you're satisfied, so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

September 4, 2020

Fantastic material

You enjoy the shorts: Non bulky, very easy to wear. Maybe pockets would be nice. The fabric has an attractive pattern. You can tell it's a quality product.

June 10, 2020

Disappointed.

I bought these as a pair of casual lightweight shorts for summer. When the shorts arrived the fit was not what I expected based off the photos and fit description. The waist was fine but the length was not. The length was too long extending well below my knees. Luckily, the fit my 6'2" son far better than they did me.

June 10, 2020

No pockets?!

These shorts would be such a great, lightweight, comfortable option, but I can to learn that there are no pockets! What a bummer!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches