Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Landfarer Bike Shorts - 12"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Landfarer Bike Shorts - 12"

4.5/5
True To Size
November 19, 2021

I should have listened to my friend sooner

I have a buddy that kept telling me these were the best Mountain Bike shorts he had ever owned. But it took me 2 years to try them and I love em. Light and stretchy, never binding. The crotch fits tight and never catches my seat nose. The elastic waist expands well for the after ride beer. I hope they turn out to be durable, although I can't i... Read Moremagine what they wouldn't be.

September 17, 2021

Not happy the shorts have only a stretch / spandex waist band

Not happy the shorts have only a stretch / spandex waist band; and no cord or strap sewn into the waist band for a little extra range of control of the waist fit and for holding stability. Otherwise, I like them. If the stretch waist holds up well over time it will be good, if it loses its stretch / holding power I will not be satisfied because the... Read Morere is no back up. Thank You

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Stephen. The waist band here is to be a pared down ultra light version. You might prefer our [Men's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-dirt-roamer-mountain-bike-shorts-11-half-inch/24721.html)

September 16, 2021

Stretchy

Really happy with these shorts. Tue first one I ordered was a 36 and the second one was a 34. The 36 did start to slide down my bib a few times and the 34 fit a bit snug. I may be in between sizes but still decided to keep the 34. I am 61 225 with thicker legs.

August 27, 2021

Great all around MTB

Great all around MTB shorts. I liked my first pair so much I bought a second. The length is great - they cover my entire upper leg when riding - and the material is perfect. Theyve withstood multiple rides a week, plenty of branches, and a few falls!

August 15, 2021

Love them. The back left pocket is a game changer.

The back left pocket is most unique. No longer will my wallet or phone sit directly beneath my cheek butt and eventually cause discomfort (especially while driving). I cant even notice my phone or wallet when Im sitting. Im not as tall so shorts usually look baggy on me (size 31). These shorts look like theyre tailored. Unfortunately, their other ... Read MoreDirt Roamer isnt the same tailored look for their 31 size on me. I was afraid the lack of belt or cinching strap would allow these shorts to fall. So far with a phone and wallet, these shorts stay put. They should put this much elasticity in the waists of all their shorts, and perhaps add a cinching system just in case one loads up the shorts with other stuff. So yeah. Very stylish and functional.

August 11, 2021

Very Comfortable

These have a great fit and are very comfortable to wear for long periods of time. One of the best pair of shorts I have owned.

July 19, 2021

Very comfortable

Id like to kiss the hands of the person who designed these shorts. Best shorts Ive ever owned, love them.

June 25, 2021

Perfect fit for days on the trail

I wear a size 31 normally but these fit really snug in the crotch area, recommend sizing up at least 1-2 sizes. They are super lightweight and ultra comfortable. I wear them for MTB and hiking on cool and warm days and they work perfectly - the two side pockets are perfect for a phone or keys or snacks or whatever you want to put in your pockets fo... Read Morer your adventures. Definitely size up or else youll be rocking moose knuckle on your bike. be warned.

May 24, 2021

Excellent Fit

These bike shorts are very comfortable and fit well. The zipped pockets are perfectly placed

May 16, 2021

Great Bike Shorts

I got three of these, Black, Blue and Orange. They fit great for everyday use and with the Patagonia chamois shorts as a liner, they work great for biking. I am 80 and have used Pearl Izumi Bike shorts for years at home and on overseas bike tours. I have decided that, particularly on tours, the Patagonia shorts are more comfortable and appropriate ... Read Morefor activities off the bike.

May 10, 2021

Comfortable biking shorts

Look great, very comfortable. Only two pockets, one more in the back would be nice. The seem to run small.

May 5, 2021

Stretchy waist not great on bike.

For mountain biking shorts the elastic waistband sounds good in theory but when I wear bib shorts underneath, the full on road style with shoulder straps, these shorts kept sliding down when I transitioned from seated to standing on the bike. It became a lot more noticeable when the shorts sagged a bit because the elastic band slides down the lycra... Read More of the bibs and the crotch kept getting snagged on the nose of the saddle as it got raised by the dropper post. I think silicon strips in the waist could solve that issue especially if it had a more conventional waist.

April 13, 2021

Nice shorts!

I love these shorts. Right length and fit.

April 8, 2021

Great but wish they were more durable

Great pair of shorts. Fit was good and the design of the pockets was so good i thought i had left my wallet at home. Only thing is that i wish they were a little more durable, i ripped a small hole on my 3rd ride.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

We're so sorry to hear they developed a hole so soon. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so feel free to send them back.

April 2, 2021

Perfect Bike Shorts

The cut, materials, weight, fit and design are great, would not change a thing! Well done!

March 27, 2021

Do It All Shorts

Love them! They are great on the bike and I find myself wearing everywhere else as they are very comfortable. Bought a second pair in another color.

March 18, 2021

Nailed it

The Landfarer Short is the best pair of shorts that Patagonia has made for MTB yet. As a mountain biker who veers closer to the "aggressive trail" or "enduro" sides of the sport, I really appreciate the extra length of the Landfarers. They pair with knee pads better than Dirt Crafts and Dirt Roamers, but the legs actually seem s... Read Morelimmer and better-fitted. The pocket layout is perfect too; the snap pocket is the perfect size and location for a phone to be secure and out-of-the-way but accessible, and the zippered pockets are great for snacks, small tools, or a couple cards and some cash. A fit problem I've had with Patagonia bottoms in the past (that there isn't enough room in the rump) is not present in the Landfarers at all. I was able to order my exact waist size and have plenty of room in the seat. My only gripe is that the minimal elastic waistband is somewhat susceptible to falling down, as it isn't super secure. But I've been pleased with the snap-in integration with bibs and liners, and have even been able to make that integration work with non-Patagonia bibs. That pretty much eradicates the falling-drawers issue, and cancels out any complaints I might have. Just stopped to write this 5-star review on my way to pick up another pair.

March 15, 2021

Good Fix and Function

I purchased a second pair after riding for 3-4 months. Plenty of room to fit a liner. Decent coverage over knee pads.

March 2, 2021

Just Right

These bike shorts are well made, light, tough and highly visible in the orange color. Perfect for year round biking, running and walking in Florida. Bought a second pair.

January 3, 2021

The designers should rethink the pockets

The size I ordered was too small and I requested an exchange for a larger size. As for the shorts, the pockets are funky and useless. Not sure what the designers were thinking when they sketched this out.

December 29, 2020

Tougher than they look

Was a bit worried about the minimalist fabric and build. But so far have performed very well. Super comfy, too. I'm a 32 waist, these fit perfectly and don't slip despite lack of belt. Messed up landing a jump, left my rump over the rear wheel (brand new, sharp treads too!) and got grinded pretty good. My cheeks felt split open, so was su... Read Morere the new shorts were torn through, but they came out just fine! Granted, they were pulled down to my knees and my booty was burned by the new treads, but the shorts were ready to keep riding. I dig 'em.

November 18, 2020

awesome shorts for riding. Like them a little thicker.

These are awesome riding shorts. I ride 5-7 times a week and these are the first shorts I've had with the wonky side pockets. Wasn't sure I'd like them, but man... they work great! Didn't notice my keys nor my phone all ride long. Love it if they were a little thicker, but they aren't unusually thin by any means. Got some n... Read Moreice stretch to them, go just to my knee, and aren't super baggy but not tight either. Order them at exactly your waist size for when you're in shape. They'll stretch a little to accommodate being out of shape and no drawstring means you don't want to order them big. great shorts.

November 17, 2020

Color Match 1

Variety color options but limited

November 5, 2020

Comfortable and durable!

Id totally buy these again. Ive worn them a few times and they have just the right amount of stretch while still feeling durable enough to hold up over time. Love em so far.

October 30, 2020

Great short. Touch big

Love the pockets and the feel of the shorts, but the lack of tightening or fastening at the waist is the only knock on them. The large fits me perfect, but the waist feels a touch light. Shorts still work perfectly, but they would be 5/5 if the waist was a touch snugger or there was a way to ratchet it down. I have a friend who has a medium and has... Read More the same problem.

October 30, 2020

Great bike shorts

I wear bibs, but wanted a little extra pading and some pockets so I picked these up to wear over the bibs. They're perfect for what I wanted. Comfortable, but tough fabric with two large pockets.

October 3, 2020

My inattention to detail, but I still feel tricked

Great fabric, quality, color, feel...but I didn't notice that they don't have normal pockets. They're on the side and behind, so I go to put something in 'em or just hoping for a place to hang my thumbs, and I feel like a sucker. Maybe it's just me, expecting pockets to be where pockets always have been. The photos show it,... Read More but I figured those were extra pockets, not the only ones. I'd say, if you're going to go THAT rogue with pockets, fine, but on the site, say it loudly, in a big, bold font.

September 7, 2020

My Goto over all others

These are great minimalist shorts that I wear all the time. They are light and work perfectly with my knee pads. The snaps that hold them up in the the dirt roamer bibs are a great idea and work well. Highly recommend the system. The snap straps could be shorter but all in all they work great. The pockets on the legs work fine for a phone though I ... Read Morerarely use them for that. I have never used the back pocket - I actually did not even know it was there till right now. I've had shorts from just about everyone out there and these are perfect so long as they hold up.

July 28, 2020

Super Solid MTB Shorts

Just the right amount of elastic on waist to keep them up while riding and with no straps to chafe under the hip sack belt, these are great shorts. The two hip thigh pockets and one rear pocket make the transition from house to car to trail more efficient (enough room to hold a phone, keys, wallet, and banana for the Dawn Patrol Car ride)!

July 25, 2020

Too Minimal

Like the idea but this product did not execute. Simply under-designed. Every garment should have a good phone-pocket; the only option on these shorts are on the left side, which is very frustrating if you are right handed! Additionally, the waist belt has no adjustments and the elastic is not strong enough, so when riding in these shorts they do no... Read Moret stay in place. And if you like to ride w/ your phone in your pocket, the first time you hit a jump these shorts are coming down! Minimalist design went too far b/c these riding shorts do not have enough features to be ridden in!

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about the fit in these shorts. We are sorry to hear that they didn't end up working out for you and hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us as we always want to ensure you're totally satisfied with your purchases.

July 7, 2020

New faves

Love these shorts. I thought the lack of a 4 way stretch would be a detriment but it's not. The fabric is sturdy and stretchy enough. The elastic waistband is ingenious! The numerous pockets are a very welcome addition. And the gusseted crotch is just good design for overall longevity and durability. I would categorize these as an everyday MTB... Read More short. The first ones I grab for an after work ride. More colors are needed, as I need to own a different color for everyday of the week!

June 19, 2020

Minimalist light perfect

These are once again fitted perfectly for me. I mean, moving from my saddle, moving on my saddle but yet, butt never gets naked. It sits perfectly on hips, waist and inseam. I am 61, 150lb, every thing I purchase from Patagonia is perfect size, quality and design for me. So again, thank you to Patagonia. Thanks mucho!

June 14, 2020

Zipper didn't last a single use

Shorts fit well and are comfortable for biking in, but the pocket zipper broke the first time I wore them.

Response from Patagonia
June 17, 2020

Oh no! We are sorry to hear what happened. We hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us so we can get you a new pair as soon as possible. Thank you for the feedback on this.

May 20, 2020

Dialed details

These are my new favorite trail/enduro shorts. While I like Patagonia stuff in general, their previous MTB shorts have been a bit more XC oriented. These tick all the boxes of things I want for aggressive riding in warm temperatures, with storage for my phone and essentials so I don't have to wear a pack. The fit is long enough to reach the to... Read Moreps of knees when seated, loose enough to allow free movement (and big cyclist thighs), but without a droopy crotch to snag on the saddle. The fabric is light enough to breath well here in California, but stretchy and tough enough to withstand unplanned rapid dismounts (err... crashes) or tire buzzes. Best feature is the hamstring cell phone pocket. I don't get why so few bike shorts have figured out this location, but it's the perfect spot to keep it out of the way while pedaling. The light elastic band across the back of the waist is a great balance of keeping them in place while not being too warm. The 2 lower zip pockets are surprisingly roomy but best for light items (gloves, gummies/gels, credit card). The only reason I haven't immediately bought a second pair is that I don't love the olive and pattern colors. Add black, turquoise, or real blue please!

March 11, 2020

My new favorite!

I've been wearing the Dirt Roamer shorts for a few years and while they're super nice and have held up extremely well, I've wanted something with a touch longer inseam, a very slightly heavier material, and some more pockets. These fit the bill. They run true to size, I have about a 30.5" waist and the 31s fit me like they were ... Read Moretailored to measure. They're light but feel like they can be crashed in without ripping - I'm sure I'll be testing that feature soon. These are proper all-day, all-mountain trail shorts that will get you up the mountain and back down, no sweat.

February 10, 2020

Seem pretty great!

Have only used these for two rides so far but I'm impressed. Light, comfortable, functional. I like the fit-- tight enough there's no flapping when on a road bike ride, but loose enough you can go into a convenience store without looking too dorky. Material has a nice stretch to it, seems durable and is not shiny. Feels like they will dry... Read More quickly (important for multi-day trips). Fit seems true to size-- I normally wear a 32 or maybe a 31 in most shorts/jeans and this 32 fits great. There's no waist adjustment so hopefully they don't stretch out too much. The side pockets work well for a phone or other light items, don't bother me while riding. The back pocket has a super burly snap on it and fits my regular size iphone w case. Haven't used the liner snaps yet. I would even wear these for hiking. Seems like a winner!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches