burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Dirt Roamer Storm Bike Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Storm Mountain Bike Pants

4.4/5
True To Size
January 14, 2023

Nice materials, weird fit

The inseam is way too long, I have to cuff the bottoms and the above the knee is really baggy. I don't like the fit. The waterproof zippers on the ankles go up high and are nice for easy on and off with shoes on. The side pocket is fine, not huge but can hold small items. I think the torrent shell pants could have been better for me, they pr... Read Moreobably have a better fit, pockets and still zippers at the ankles and adjustable waist.

January 12, 2023

Great commuter cycling pants

I wear these several times a week in the winter while commuting on my bike. They are great pants! I am a little on the shorter side (5'8") with typically a 32 x 30 measurement. The pants are just a tad on the long side for me, but the cut works. I would think it would be a perfect fit for someone who typically wears around a 30-32 waist a... Read Morend 32" inseam.

August 27, 2022

Exactly What I Needed

Bought these to keep myself motivated to ride during the wet & cold winter. They fit well & are comfortable on long rides. They keep me bone dry so I stay warm. (Until it reaches 50 degrees or above and they become a sweatsuit.) Vertical zipper pockets arent the easiest to get in & out of. However that doesnt affect performance. Very ha... Read Moreppy with the product after a season of riding, looking forward to this winter!

March 15, 2022

Outstanding bike/run pants

I have now used these on 20+ rides and 3+ runs, and they might be my most highly rated Patagonia item I have ever purchased. Fit, function, slim - I really, really like these. Thigh pocket perfect for large cell phone. Cuff won't fit over my Oboz boots for yard work in the rain, that's about my only complaint. Might get a second pair just... Read More cuz, especially if they had a lively color. Exceptional!

December 27, 2021

Roemer likes the Roamers

Worked better than expected: dry and warm. Fit is a little snug in the waist. The fly closure (snap) seemed a bit simple and weak, but after >6 uses its still holding.

December 27, 2021

Dirt and mud performer

These fit great and have a good medium feel to them. Not too light and have kept me dry in the Cascade mud. Without need pads, all little baggy feeling, but with, perfect. Breath well, and probably wash well, but I typically just hang dry.

December 21, 2021

First impression

Honestly, I wanted to love these pants. I have ridden in most mountain bike specific pants. I wont advertise other brands on this post, but I do have a favorite, and I was hoping it would be the Dirt Roamer. Unfortunately, it isnt. The foundation is there for a great pant, but its probably two versions away from being rad. Here is what I think coul... Read Mored make these my go to: first off, they dont breathe all that great. On my last ride it was chilly and a bit windy. My legs were so sweaty, they were stuck to my pants. A few vent holes on the inside of the thigh area would be amazing or even two vent zippers would work. That way they would stay water-proof. The worst thing about these pants is they make the most annoying squeaking noise on each pedal stroke. I run the Deity speed trap seat. Ive never had this issue with any mountain bike pant or short ever, and I have them all. If I knew it was going to drive me crazy the whole ride, I would of lubed my seat after my chain. A different material in the butt and crotch area would solve this. I like having a back pocket. Its nice after a ride to throw your wallet in and grab a beer with your mates. Even though these are bike specific pants, those little thoughtful touches go a long way. Here is what I love about the pant. The fit is perfect. Im 61 and 199.9 lbs. I run a 35 pant, and these fit great. I ride a Megatower 170/170, and love the DH. I also love to earn my fun, which sometimes entails long, steep climbs, and your legs can get heated. I love the zippers on the lower leg. Its great when you forget to throw on your knee pads before your pant. Boom, unzip, add knee pads, and youre dialed. I really like the placement of the pockets. Its in an odd place, but I imagine if you take a digger, the goods in your pockets wont jam your quads. The pockets are a touch small though. My iPhone 13 (not max) barely fits in there with its silicone case. Overall, these pants have potential, but they still need a few changes to be my favorite.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback on fit, fabric, features and function for these pants. This is all very helpful for other customers as well as our designers. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for any assistance!

December 20, 2021

Fantastic hiking rain paints

I've tried a lot of rain pants for hiking in the rainy PNW and these are far and away the best. Feel great, breathable, and so far totally waterproof. Sure seems like Patagonia is missing the boat by not marketing these to hikers.

November 23, 2021

Fits very true to size.

The information on the 34" lower waist did not apply. My surf truck size is 32. Inseam is about 29" These pants fit great for a 32 waist. A 33-44 would need a large.

November 15, 2021

Great fit

Fits like my favorite surf trunks on my hip without sagging. Not baggy. Best fit of all rain gear I own.

October 20, 2021

The perfect expedition canoe pant

I bought these not for mountain biking, but for another pursuit that requires a hardworking rain pant oriented largely to a bent-leg position: expedition canoeing. After running 90 miles of Desolation and Gray canyons on the Green River in open canoes in mid October, I was not disappointed. Patagonia could not have designed a better pant for canoei... Read Moreng - the benefits include bent leg positioning, gusseted crotch, welded and taped seams for no chafing on the seat, high rise waist in the back for full coverage, and a trim leg opening (for tucking into neoprene deck boots on cold trips, or remaining unobstructive for boat entry and exit when worn with chacos or paddling boots in warmer weather). The "swish" noise factor is minimal, and I felt bone dry even when getting soaked by buckets of class 3 whitewater in the bow. Paired with cap 3 midweight bottoms. 6'0" and 210, large fit me perfectly with enough room to tuck in layers. I will be immediately buying another pair in case they ever get dropped from the line. A+++

September 29, 2021

incredible and more

these are the best water proof pants I have ever owned. I have had other pairs (gore-text nothface) that I spent hours sailing with that while they keep you dry you still feel wet. Not these though they both keep you dry and you dont feel wet or get too hot. I have spent hours in these during full on down pours hiking and sitting on the soaked grou... Read Morend and I never once felt wet anyone who says they aren't water proof is pretty full of it as far as i am aware. im buying a second pair because they are so great

September 20, 2021

A bit too short and snug at the cuff

I'd love the fit of these pants if they could come down long enough to fit over the top of my winter hightop riding shoes. The cuff is too snug and rides up over the top of the shoes. Give me another inch in length and some form adjustability at the cuff. I really like the non-elasticized waist. One of the few rain pants that doesn't end ... Read Moreup feeling like I'm wearing a diaper. The cuffs are the deal breaker though and I'll have to return them. There's no way I'll be able to keep the water out of the tops of my shoes.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2021

Hello Tony, we truly appreciate your thoughtful review, We are sorry the pants did not work out, but the information will be very valuable for our other customers and product designers.

May 5, 2021

Poor, poor, poor design

Who ever is responsible for designing Patagonia mountain biking stuff needs to do A LOT more research. These pants are missing a lot of essential features: being able to fit a bib underneath, slimmer fit at the calves to keep the wet and wind out, elastic waist band, tougher material around high friction areas (especially at the bum, saddle to pant... Read Mores contact). The construction is top notch, but these are basically thinner ski pants. These pants are just as poorly designed as the 1st gen bibs. I was very excited to finally get a pair in my size but sadly I am thoroughly disappointed.

April 8, 2021

Pfiou, it fits great!

Got my pants today. I was concern about the size: I'm slighlty more than 6,1; 176lbs. I knew for sure that Large would be too large, so I went with Medium. Fits just fine! If I can get rid of just a little belly fat, it will be perfect! Thanks for the picture on the web site showing a 6'1" guy. The material is light and shuold be per... Read Morefect for riding.

April 6, 2021

Length

Legs are a little long and I am 6ft tall

March 27, 2021

Bit small, otherwise great

Bit small around the thighs and crotch area. I am on the upper range of medium for most clothes so this isn't too surprising. I'd exchange it for a large but below the knee they're already a bit baggy so worry that it'd be even more so. Guess like another review said I'll keep it refocus on target weight and eating fewer mu... Read Moreffins.

March 26, 2021

Great Riding Pants

The finish and tech on these pants are great. The long zippers on the lower legs are great. One negative is that they tend to slide down off my waist while pedaling. I have the waist cord cinched as tight as it will go but this does not solve the problem. I am size 32 waist, but wear 31 in some pants/shorts. Also, the cord knotted to the zipper on... Read More the left pocket disappeared on the second ride, the knot must have come loose.

March 7, 2021

Make cold weather biking enjoyable!

Really like that they are light and windproof. Have not worn in the rain but I stay dry from kicking up water when riding through the melting snow. Only complaint is durability if you fall. After wearing these 4 or 5 times I crashed my road bike. The whole right leg is torn up. Also the right side of the dirt roamer jacket I was wearing. Im hoping ... Read Moreboth can be repaired. They actually allowed me to slide and protect my skin from the pavement though!

March 5, 2021

Highly Focused Weather Solution

High quality & focus on cycling utility was apparent from the first wearing. The fit, taper, and pocket design is very much oriented toward cycling. Patagonia describes the fit as regular, but it may be closer to a slim fit especially at the waist line where the is no stretch. Keeping the medium with renewed commitment to target weight, and con... Read Moresidering a second pair a size up for use with base layers.

February 28, 2021

Great pants

Lobe these pants. Unfortunately I think I fell in between size large and the extra large. Large a bit tight, extra large too loose in waist. Other than being in between sizes these are great to wear out biking!

February 25, 2021

Amazing quality - runs small (for me at least)

Quality is top notch. Price is a little high. The sizing chart recommended a large. Being on the end of the large scale, 36 waist. They were too tight around the waist for me, so I had to return them. Im worried if I order an XL that both the waist and crotch area would be too loose. I guess that I need to loose some weight and then they would fit ... Read Moregreat:)

February 17, 2021

Disappointing

These pants have been quite the disappointment for the following reasons: 1. They are not waterproof, or snowprooof. You will get wet after an hour in the elements. 2. Pant material makes squeaking noise on bike seat. Think most annoying sound ever. 3. Wore two large holes in the butt after roughly 300 miles of use on the bike. 4. Pant cuffs are to... Read Moreo narrow to fit over larger fat biking boots. 5. Not very breathable. Would not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hello there, we're sorry to hear that these pants did not keep you dry. They do have an H2No shell so it's strange that they didn't perform as intended. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty and receive a refund or merchandise credit. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

January 28, 2021

Great wet weather pant

I only break these out if there's precip in the forecast.. Fit great for trail riding but they could use some ventilation. If theses had vents you could zip open for long climbs I would give the SIX stars.

January 22, 2021

Too snug

Loved the lightness of these pants but unfortunately they were too tight on the waist and zero adjustability was a deal breaker so ended up returning them. I was really hoping love these pants for wet weather riding in the Northwest.

January 16, 2021

The Best

These are the finest waterproof gear I have purchased. Living in a temperate rain forest, we ride year round with significant rainfall and weather variance, the Pisgah National Forest. These pants do exactly what they are made for, while being light and small enough to pack if needed. I wear them comfortably 50 degrees and less (Preferably less) wi... Read Moreth full size Poc Knee pads. I am 6'2 205, and I'd say the fit is perfect. I just logged in to purchase another pair for the closet in case they get discontinued, and sadly they are sold out. Great work on a mountain bike specific piece of gear.

December 28, 2020

Nice piece of kit

I bought these pants for rainy snowy biking in Ak. Totally worth it. Two hour ride tonight, fat bike ride started rain/snow mix. Changed to snow with gained elevation. Back to winter mix on decent. Made it home dry. Great fit. Just enough taper to not interfere with drivetrain while feeling comfortable to grab a brewery beer on the way home. Cheers... Read More.

December 6, 2020

Lightweight, great cut, weather resistant... but too fragile.

I got these to use as my winter pants for aggressive trail and "enduro-style" riding. I have been extremely pleased with the general fit, including the waistband design and adjustment system. The weatherproofing is also impressive; they have kept me dry in some brutal conditions, shedding mud and water easily (while remaining relatively b... Read Morereathable). The pocket design is nice, and I like that they double as vents. On the other hand, I am NOT psyched on the durability of these pants. I have ripped them in 3 places within the first few weeks of using them. Twice in the crotch after snagging them on my top-tube-mounted GPS, and once on the knee by way of a pokey stick -- neither incident was one in which I would expect a pair of hardcore MTB pants to fail. Fortunately, these are easy fixes, and I know come spring that Patagonia will fix them up to better than new for me. I would recommend these pants to my friends who ride closer to the XC end of the spectrum, but for my more gravity-oriented friends who will be rougher with their gear, I'll be recommending that they look for something a bit tougher.

November 29, 2020

Versatile Cool Weather MTB Pants

Cool temperatures have finally hit New England and I've always struggled to find the right pants to MTB ride in, at least until now. The Dirt Roamer Storm Pant is perfect in so many ways. The articulated knees and generous overall cut make the transition from short to pants quite comfortable. These pants also provide excellent protection from ... Read Morethe brisk autumn air and chilly puddles/stream crossings, yet breathable enough so that I'm not soggy from sweat after a few hours navigating hilly terrain and the local enduro course. The only thing I would change is to put a a more 'sticky' bit of material in the butt, as I find myself sliding around somewhat when on the saddle. Other than that, perfecto. Oh, and the M fit me well at 5'11", 168 lb, and 32" waist.

November 29, 2020

Hardcore Shell

Haven't yet tested it out but will return with a briefing.

November 17, 2020

Fall/Winter/Spring Great MTB pants

I was apprehensive about these pants, but have no regrets since purchasing them. I've field tested them on my bike three times now, 43 degrees and windy, 38 degrees wet and windy and 50 degrees wet and windy. At 5'8" with a 36" waist, I was worried these pants would be too long and would interfere with pedaling performance, or t... Read Moreoo tight to prevent layering underneath. The fit is great. The pant legs are tapered with zippers long enough to allow the user to put them on/take them off without removing their shoes. The zippered vent pockets on the legs helped keep me comfortable on a day I debated shorts, tights or these amazing pants. There is no question for me anymore, when I'm riding in the Fall/Winter/Spring I will use the Dirt Roamer Storm MTB Pants.

November 16, 2020

Not for riding hard

I snagged these pants looking to get something a little more technical than some of my DH pants that I occasionally use on trail rides. Having had expectations of the sort of durability that DH pants typically have, I am somewhat disappointed in these pants. On my first ride, I made a bobble that caused me to end up riding on my top tube, where I k... Read Moreeep my GPS. I heard a rip, and looked down to find two holes in the crotch of my pants, under remarkably unremarkable circumstances. I was surprised by how light and fragile the fabric felt when I first opened them, but held out hope that theyd hold up; I was let down on that hope. Additionally, the knees of the pants do not provide enough space for robust knee pads. (I wear Seven IDP Sam Hill pro knee pads.) They are a little snug at the top of the pedal stroke, and do not stretch enough to allow a free and full range of motion. Out of the saddle, this restriction is less noticeable (if at all) but its annoying while pedaling. Also annoying while pedaling is the squeaking the pants make on my saddle. I have this issue with no other shorts or pants that I own (including Land Farer and Dirt Craft shorts). Its forgettable when youre in the zone, but when you can hear the sound or feel it, its a bit bothersome. Im giving them three stars because despite my annoyances and lack of trust in the knees, crotch, and butt, they have a lot of nice features. Pockets are awesome, waistband is comfy and nicely contoured with great adjustment, and the fit is spot-on for a full-coverage pant. Even though I was concerned about the inseam length being too long, they bunch up in an uninhibiting way. I just wish the knees, crotch, and butt were a different fabric! Less of a lightweight hardshell, and stretchier, more robust, and more durable. I would be happy to sacrifice and waterproofing in those places for breathability and durability.

November 12, 2020

Does exactly what they are supposed to do.

A great rain pant for wet weather mountain biking.

November 7, 2020

Perfect fit

I have tried many MTB and dirt roamed is by far the best fit. Able to wear knee pads inside. Do not hinder with movement. Love them.

November 3, 2020

Light and Contoured

I purchased these pants to replace a pair of Patagonia waterproof biking pants I purchased in 2002 for adventure racing in bad weather. These pants feel great to the hand and while on BUT mediums are too tight and the large is too loose. The waste band is smooth and flat BUT it has absolutely zero elastic stretch. I could have purchased a medium th... Read Moreat fits perfectly everywhere BUT in the waste. The waste was ever so slightly tight and would have been perfect if it had a small elastic patch in the band somewhere in the waste band. I was concerned that even though it fit ok standing and stretching at home it might be uncomfortable while climbing up the mountain on my bike. I wear as size 33 in the dirt roamer shorts. I am also surprise that the pant does not have the snaps to faster the pant to the inner dirt roamer short liner. The large allows me to tighten the waste band to achieve the perfect fit there BUT the rest of the pant is a little baggy and I am concerned that I might one day catch my crotch on the seat in technical terrain and rip it like I did with its predecessor. I went with the large and hope not to regret it. The pant construction and fabric are excellent. I have not yet tested the waterproof aspect of the pant but totally expect to this winter riding the soggy North Shore of Vancouver, BC. The lower leg construction seems tight enough to avoid snagging on the chain ring which was a problem in the old version. The old pant also wore our in the seat and crotch due to mud on the seat grinding into the fabric and wearing out the threads in the seams on long wet and muddy rides. I am hoping this new pant doesnt suffer the same fate but have also started using fenders to reduce the amount of mud that sprays up on the pant and the seat. I will happily post another review once I have a chance to truly test them during their intended use this winter in harsher conditions.

October 30, 2020

Perfect for the rainy muddy ride

I picked this up for the rainy and muddy rides I figured I'd be taking this winter. They arrived just in time. They were comfortable, didn't get in the way and kept me dry. And as an extra bonus at the end of the ride my friend and I were covered head to toe in mud, except for these pants.

October 28, 2020

Amazing

These pants are so light yet keep you nice and warm. The pants are fitted true to size so there is no drag while pedaling or going down hill.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches