Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R2® Regulator Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 49 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R2® Regulator Fleece Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
April 16, 2021

Snuggie!

I wear this jacket at work in the hospital. It's so snuggly and warm that I don't even need to hit up the blanket warmer anymore. There are 2 very utilitarian "patch" pockets on the inside in addition to the outside pockets. I have room for ALL the nursing things. I'm 5'3 145 pounds and ordered a large because of the s... Read Moreupplies I must stash in my pockets. I have to fold the sleeves back just a little but even so, these do run a bit small.

March 22, 2021

bring back front chest zip pocket!

this has been my go-to piece for years. loved the fit, garment length, comfort, and performance. please bring back the front, chest zipper pocket!! women use front chest zip pockets, too. am waiting for the redesign and am hopeful that this much used product feature will return.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this product review. We really appreciate this valuable feedback and have passed it along to our Design Team who are constantly working on improving our products.

March 18, 2021

Great Fleece Layer!

I was looking for a breathable mid layer for under shells and light insulation jackets. The R2 fits the bill for me. Im normally a L, but they fit too big in the arms for me, so I went with a M. I do wish it was a tad longer, but overall Im super pleased with this jacket. Im 55, 36DD, 180lbs.

March 12, 2021

Super comfy & warm

Love this jacket! Me & my daughter own 3. Ive worn it as a mid base layer in upper Glacier Natl Park and stayed toasty warm. Its also nice around town running errands on a chilly day. Form fitting so it's also flattering.

March 1, 2021

Style no longer fits me--too boxy

I have an R2 Fleece from 2014 that I love love love. It's stylish, warm, and fits perfectly. I ordered another one hoping to get the same, but the new style fits completely differently. Barely big enough in the shoulders and huge around the middle. I had to return it. Unfortunately, I have the same issue with most Patagonia clothing these days... Read More, so I'll have to go elsewhere for my athletic wear. Too bad: I love the company and its mission.

Response from Patagonia
March 13, 2021

Thanks for providing this feedback on the fit. In the future we're happy to provide any garment measurements so we can get you into the right gear for you.

February 24, 2021

Comfy under layer

This jacket was my first Patagonia purchase. I read the reviews before purchasing and ordered both a medium and large. I am 57 and weigh 158 and the medium fit perfectly. I wear the jacket when visiting Colorado and its a perfect under layer or single jacket for sunny days in the 50s. Its very soft and comfortable. I havent washed it yet but the qu... Read Moreality seems excellent so Im hoping it will wash up nicely.

February 8, 2021

So soft, odd fit

I am in love with the color (green) and feel of this fleece. However it feels snug in my shoulders, shorter on the sleeve length, and a bit baggy in the torso. I ordered a small and debated ordering the medium but I think it might be too baggy in the torso and hip area. Still deciding if I will keep it.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on this R2 Jacket, Gail! Depending on how you plan to use the fleece, you might want to take a look at a "regular" fit design, rather than the "slim" fit. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return it or exchange, in addition to some specific measurements for other fleece tops.

February 5, 2021

super comfortable

This is the second R2 jacket have purchased because of the fit and comfort. The smooth side panels make make the jacket extra versatile and comfortable. I have been Patagonia buyer for more than 30 years and find this design one of your best fleece jackets.

February 4, 2021

Extra fabric at the front

I wanted to love this jacket. The blue is a great color. Length hits right above the hip and arms are nice and long. All good...but the front of jacket is not fitted as it looks in the photos. It poofs out when you sit or move in different ways. It looks and feels odd. Theres just too much fabric in the front which is weird cause the fit everywhere... Read More else is just right. Unfortunately Im returning it. Im not comfortable spending that much money for this product.

January 30, 2021

Great lightweight jacket

This is a great jacket, casual in design, but very stylish with great warmth and comfort. I had one similar to it years ago and was grateful to find this newer version. I love this jacket!

January 28, 2021

Slightly different fit from the one I bought a few years back

I have this jacket in 2 different colors- purchased approx 5 years ago- this one has a slightly different fit- runs a little bigger and the neck part seemed a little thinner. I didn love it so it was returned.

January 1, 2021

Great jacket but

Very warm, very well cut and comfortable BUT this is not a slim fit - I bought a large (usually I get a medium) and it looks like something a large man would fit into. I then got a medium, which is larger than Patagonia's usual mediums. But love the jacket.

December 28, 2020

Crazy Blue fleece

My daughter said exactly what I wanted ... Ive always wanted a Patagonia

December 26, 2020

Very light weight

This item was baggie around the middle, the sleeves were too short and the fabric was cheap looking. Not at all like other Patagonia clothes Ive purchased. I was very disappointed. Im 510, 137 lbs. usually wear size medium.

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2021

Hello Sally, we're sorry to hear this isn't what you expected in terms of fit and fabric! We truly appreciate your feedback. Please [let us know](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you need any help with your return.

December 26, 2020

Worn for 7 years and still looks like new

I LOVE this jacket. I have hundreds of photos wearing the jacket because it is my go to. I have had it for at least 7 years and it still looks brand new. I have received compliments and had to tell people that my jacket is like 5+ years old. It is warm and comfortable. It somehow got a rip in one of the arms that I would like to have repaired one d... Read Moreay but I barely notice it. Would highly recommend. I plan to buy another for my birthday.

December 20, 2020

Warm

I bought the medium but it fitted too snugly. I returned it and bought the large. That one fitted fine. My daughter bought a small and it fit perfectly. I would definitely get another one.

November 22, 2020

Great product

I love your R2 Line. I hope you come out with a new vest color for spring. And I always hope that you guys will continue with your excellent environmental work by continuing to reduce micro plastics and coming up with excellent fabrics, as you always have. Thanks for all you do. Leslie

October 30, 2020

Versatile Piece

This is my 2nd R2 jacket. I have an older version, size medium. With the newer cut I sized down to a small and it is perfect (5'4", 140lbs.). I love my R2 as a mid-layer when downhill skiing or hiking in cold temperatures. It's cute for casual wear as well. The regen green is a beautiful color. The only improvement I can see would be... Read More the addition of thumb holes. It's a cozy, versatile piece!

October 18, 2020

Perfect

This jacket is exactly what I was looking for! Its perfectly shaped - form fitted to make it flattering. Super cozy and warm. I used it on my bike ride, with temps in the low 40s, and it kept me perfectly warm. Cant wait to use it all fall and winter!

September 23, 2020

Looooooove it

I just got this delivered and Im SO happy! The white is so pretty and its really soft. Im going to have to be careful with it because if I stain it, Ill be so mad at myself. Its not wicked thick, which is perfect in the fall or spring, or as a layering piece under my new vest I just got too! It is a tiny bit long on me, but its ok; I love it so muc... Read Moreh. I cant wait to show it off.

August 29, 2020

All around awesome!

My Spring 2016 version is still going strong after heavy use during every season, but I want to buy another one. Mine has a chest pocket. I love the chest pocket bc I can reach my phone when layered under snow gear, rain gear, or when walking the dog. I'm amazed how well this piece has lasted. Please bring back the chest pocket, Patagonia!

June 30, 2020

Soft and Comfy

Love this fleece - second one purchased. Softer with each wash! Great close-to-the body fit but not too snug. Length is good but could be a tad longer for us taller ladies. Wish it came in more colors!

June 19, 2020

Warm

So, I decided to purchase a light weight jacket for Spring season strictly for work. I work overnight and it gets very cold. This jacket covers my bottom which I love because Im always cold on the seat. There is room for movement even under protective gear. Love the pockets I keep snacks inside the inside pockets (which I would love a zipper to) an... Read Mored the front pockets are zippered for what matters I stuff them and the zipper stays secure. This jacket has become my go to for casual wear.

May 6, 2020

Please bring back the old styling

I love your previous seasons R2s And will wear them almost daily. The new seasons style does not fit as well. It is baggy in the torso and the sleeves are shorter. It does not give a lean fit. I was very disappointed. Please bring back the stretchy panels on the side.

February 12, 2020

Awesome!

Awesome jacket! Perfect balance of being cute/not bulky, even flattering, and still keeping you warm!

January 28, 2020

Like the old 2012 R2 model

I bought an R2 a long time ago, then bought a second one in 2014 because I liked the old one so much. The 2014 model was much longer, and had very tight sleeves. Since I layer, often wearing two long sleeve shirts under a fleece, the 2014 model didn't work well for me. So I bought another old (2012) model from the Worn Wear site and I like it ... Read Moreas much as the first one. I wish you would go back to the less technical fit. Longer is OK, but the tight sleeves are really an inconvenience if you are not wearing it for exercise. I haven't tried the current model, so I can't give it an accurate review. The fleece looks much like the old one, which is one of my favorites.

December 30, 2019

Great jacket

Soft compressible and very warm Perfect mid layer skiing in Jackson Hole

December 28, 2019

W’s R2 Techface Jacket (5 stars)

This jacket is great for winter adventures. When it’s not windy, I can wear it as my main jacket when cross-country skiing, and I layer it under my bigger jacket when downhilling. It is breathable and good for when you’re on the move, as it’s fitted enough to never get in the way but comfy enough to allow you to move how you want and hardly notice ... Read Moreit’s there. It works great for layering, which makes it much more versatile. I’m 5’6” and ordered an XS and the fit is really good.

December 21, 2019

Great color

Very very slim fitting, thank goodness they were sold out in my usual size and I had to go with small!

December 19, 2019

R2

This, R2, jacket was given as a Xmas gift which isn't here yet, as I type this on 12-18. I wish this could be a review on an R4 of which we have 3 of in the household. Good for any type of activity. Fantastic jacket, windproof is the reason why. Unfortunately I don't see an R4 in your catalog any longer, to Bad. So I had to get an R2, goo... Read Mored for casual wear at best. actually it doesn't even compare to what I would like to see cataloged, The R-4!!

December 1, 2019

Comfy Fleece

Great fleece and the color was what I expected. My only negative is that the sleeves are very tight. I had to go a size up so I could wear it over long sleeves.

November 25, 2019

Obsessed.

I can't love this enough! First of all, THANK YOU, Patagonia, for making this in size XXS! For years, I haven't been able to find gear that fits my petite frame. This is perfect. Next- this is SO snuggly and cozy, people have been stopping me on the street to comment on it. I'm actually on line right now to buy a second one in a diff... Read Moreerent color. I only wish there were more colors to choose from... !

November 23, 2019

Disappointed

I have the R2 fleece from two years ago and absolutely love it. I wear it daily during the winter both inside and layered for outdoor activities. Unfortunately, the updated version will have to be returned. It is longer than the previous one which I don't like and there is not a third pocket. Hopefully, there will be an updated version in the ... Read Morenear future..

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

It's unfortunate the design changes aren't up to your satisfaction. We definitely understand though and appreciate your feedback! Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review.

November 12, 2019

Great Base Layer!

I love this jacket. It's super warm and soft and is a great baselayer for skiing. Would highly recommend it!

November 7, 2019

Warm, comfy and looks great

Bought this to wear under my patagonia shell for downhill skiing, and it’s super warm. It’s also soft and looks great in the balsamic color. I’m wearing it everywhere!!

October 21, 2019

Old Style was so Much Better!

I just logged on to see if 2020 style went back to old because I would love to buy the version from 2 years ago. That style and cut was absolutely perfect! I wear it all the time and LOVE it!!! The version I bought winter 2019 has a weird neck line that you can see in the current photo. It is sloppy looking with a low mock and pulls weirdly. The ar... Read Morem length is also shorter now with fleece to the end. The older style had an added 2" of the synthetic stretch fabric that is at the side torso at the end of the sleeves and it was a great design! Patagonia, PLEASE update this fleece along the same style and cut from 2017 or so. My old one is getting worn out, but I rarely wear the new one I bought since the fit is awkward. Old design is 5 stars but the recent design is a 3 star so I averaged my review rating. I'm petite 5'-2" with athletic build/shoulders reviewing the XXS.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback here and for comparing some of the older features with the newer ones. This is super helpful for us! We are sorry to hear that the newer cut hasn't worked as well for you. If you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this, please feel free to do so.

October 13, 2019

I have one from the

I have one from the first season-I think the cut on this one is so much better-a little longer and not as fitted. Its cozy and comfortable and I can layer it if neccessary!

September 14, 2019

Cozy

I love this cozy fleece. I have several of them from previous years and wear them on a daily basis in the winter. My only wish would be this with a hood like the old R3’s.

August 10, 2019

Best item in my suitcase!

Wore it everywhere... it is versatile, comfortable and stylish.

May 9, 2019

Light, warm, cozy

It doesn't look like much, but it's oh so warm. The feel is amazing. My little ones love cuddling up to me when I have this jacket on.

March 17, 2019

Good mid-layer

I got mine in 2017 and still love it as a mid-layer skiing. Sometimes I will wear to yoga as well over a tank-top. I got an XS, my usual size, and it is snug with another shirt under it, especially on the shoulders. If I was to have a thicker base layer on for skiing, I might go up one size to have a bit of room. As far as layers go, I am looking f... Read Moreorward to Patagonia releasing more wool items as I find wool is much warmer for me than any synthetic. I plan to add/replace all my synthetics with wool for skiing. I don't think of this as a jacket/outer layer.

January 28, 2019

Larger this year, and lighter material

I own a number of these, I wear Patagonia Technical Fleece all winter long. Something seems to have changed in this jacket, I bough the Arrow Red and it's loo large, looks sloppy around the middle. I'm 5'8, 125 lbs and the Medium is swimming on me. I have many Mediums from years past. Unfortunately, I was so sure of this purchase tha... Read Moret I tore off the tags and tossed them a week before I actually wore it. Too bad, my mistake. It also feels like a less substantial fabric, not as warm. So buyer beware, try it on for size First!

December 26, 2018

Perfect

Love this jacket; I wear it hiking, snowshoeing, to play tennis, and finally just around town. I have it in Arrow Red and have gotten numerous compliments on it. Planning to buy the navy one soon.

December 19, 2018

Great, multi purpose fleece

I purchased this fleece shortly after my third daughter was born. I was looking for something comfortable, presentable and with easy access for the hours I spend nursing each day; this fit the bill perfectly. My only hesitating before purchasing was that previous models of this jacket seemed to be short- that is not the case with this one. As a bo... Read Morenus, I’ve enjoyed the high performance fleece as it does an excellent job wicking away excess breast milk (and other newborn bodily fluids). So far, it has proven to be quite durable and still looks new after multiple washes.

November 11, 2018

Cozy Love

I have light blue, dark blue, silver, green, and lavender (5 in total, bought over three years). I am back to buy this year's colors (I live in these all winter so I need a few different colors). Just love them, the fit is spot-on, they are flattering, cozy but never too hot.. Fall and Spring I live in my R1's (and have my fingers crossed... Read More you will make the women's R1 full zip in Cobalt Blue next season).

November 9, 2018

bring back the front zip pocket!

I wear this jacket EVERY day and have owned the R2 for several years. It is very comfortable, great shape and length (not cropped or too short, which is great), warm, great pockets. It's also very versatile activity-wise. The front zip pocket was extremely useful - why was it removed this season? I will wait until next season and advise friend... Read Mores to do the same.. hopefully, they'll include the front zip pocket in next season's design! It's a 5-star garment with the front pocket; 2 stars less with it gone.

November 3, 2018

great jacket except new pocket design

Love the R2, and have had previous year's. This year's hand pockets are designed with the metal zipper scratching against your hand and wrist if you put your hands in the pockets, so am thinking of returning and waiting until next year's improvement - I hope! And would love if the contrast zipper colors were brought back, too!

October 30, 2018

Perfect for every occasion

I bought this jacket earlier this year and was a bit hesitant about the price at first, but after purchasing it, I found that I wore it ALL the time. It is a perfect layer that is not bulky so it fits under insulated coats and rain jackets without looking bulky underneath. It is incredibly warm and cozy. Also easy to pack for traveling. Highly reco... Read Moremmend. Great brand and great product. I have now worn it so many times, the price was worth it!

September 2, 2018

Very Flattering and So Soft

I was trying to find an every day jacket. I tried this on at the Patagonia in Pasadena, CA and fell in love! It is very form fitting and soft. I am 5'7 135lbs and I bought a size Medium. Fits like a glove. I'll also be using it as a layer when I go to Maine this December.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches