Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Rib Knit 1/4-Zip Fleece

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 99 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Rib Knit 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.5/5
Kinda Large
April 7, 2021

If you have long arms

I am not sure why the sleeves are so long. I find Patagonia fits great if you are 511 and slim.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit. We'll pass along your observations to our design team. We're always happy to provide exact garment dimensions prior to purchase so you can find something perfect for you.

March 28, 2021

Clumsy

I was looking for a business casual. This is not

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Thanks for the review! This may have not been what you were looking for, but we would be happy to have a conversation with you to figure out what would work best. Please [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can find you a sweater that fits your needs!

March 27, 2021

Mostly great

I bought one of these for my husband and he loves it, so I got one for myself (there isn't a women's version). I love it except the bottom is kinda rigid and tough to pull over my head.

March 26, 2021

Love em so much I have 3

Easy to care for, warm but yet not bulky can wear while doing yardwork and wear for casual day at work

March 25, 2021

Don't buy

The sizing on this was bizarre, roomy as a tent, but with very short arms. Total non-starter. I expected better from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2021

Hi Evan, we are so bummed to hear this. We thank you for the feedback on the fit and hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back since it's not going to work out.

March 10, 2021

Great gift!

Purchased this pullover for a loved one! Very similar to the famous "Better Sweater" but is a little different. I loved the color options for this. This is a great gift that can be worn for years to come!

March 10, 2021

warm

Nicely warm fleece, sizing just right. Great fit. thought color would be off but it turns out great color!

March 10, 2021

Very comfortable!

I really like my sweater! I have a few different ones but this new style rib knit is really cool. I was really bummed because I ordered 2 sweaters one was green and the other was a rust color that they ran out of stock. Hopefully they will have more soon.

March 9, 2021

Extremely soft

This sweater is outstanding - very comfortable and soft

March 8, 2021

Classic piece, update to the 2014 model I have

Subtle update to a similar piece I have in grey from 2014, but better! Warm, classic, but rib knit gives it a upscale look. The last one has aged well, despite being washed/worn extensively, so typical Patagonia - quality that stands the test of time!

March 8, 2021

Love it!

Fits great and warm!

March 8, 2021

Love This Sweater

The Better Sweater is the warmest light weight sweater ever made. I have three of them. Everyone should have at least one.

March 8, 2021

Warm and Comfy

Fantastic! I wear this to stay warm around the house and for outdoor activities. It has a nice loose fit to allow for a base layer and mid-layer beneath. There's good articulation in the arms for activities when you're moving your arms a good bit. Great all-around.

March 8, 2021

Rib Knit Sweater

Ordered the XXXL and it was significantly too long in the arms and baggie in the shoulders. Exchanged for XXL and still way too baggie in the shoulders and uncomfortably tight in the stomach and waist. I need to lose some more weight and try again.

March 8, 2021

Perfect

This is a great fit and perfect for wearing over t-shirts!

March 8, 2021

Warm

Great material and really warm

March 7, 2021

Boxy fit

Had to return this because it was such a boxy fit. I have a full zip better sweater (that I love) from a couple years ago, which was also a large, and this fit seems much wider.

March 7, 2021

Great cool weather top layer.

warm and true fit is great for weather in the 40's with just a light underlayer. Looks great too.

March 7, 2021

Too big

The sizing is way off - I wear a large in all the Patagonia products I have ( a lot) and this was way too big

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on the fit of this sweater. We are sorry to hear that it didn't work out for you and hope you can [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that for a smaller size.

March 6, 2021

Comfortable Warmth

Fit is perfect, sooooooo comfortable. Love the style. Dont change a thing.

March 5, 2021

Great fit

True to size

March 5, 2021

Great sweater

This sweater is extremely comfortable.

March 4, 2021

Loose fitting

This sweater doesnt fit well compared to the other 3 Patagonia sweaters I have. The sleeves are loose and the mid section in large. Returning

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Hey Luke! Thanks so much for providing this feedback. We've passed this along to our Design Team who are constantly working on revising and improving our gear. Feel free to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with any additional questions or if you want assistance finding a the right sweater for you. Cheers!

March 4, 2021

Very Happy with purchase

Love this product!

March 3, 2021

Perfect fit

Patagonia is my trusted brand.

March 1, 2021

Super nice!

I bought this for my boyfriend for his birthday and he loves it! It looks super nice on too. I love the ribbing detail.

March 1, 2021

Stylish and comfortable

I love Patagonia and have been wanting this zip up for a very long time and am very happy I was able to get it. Super comfortable and looks amazing!

February 28, 2021

Warm and comfy

Perfect sweater, warm and comfy for hiking, but still nice enough for the pub.

February 28, 2021

Comfort

I love this sweater, love it with a tee shirt under or a flannel under. One of my favorites for dressing up or down.

February 27, 2021

Instant Warmth

Instant and cozy one layer warmth for those cooler post surf sesh mornings or breezy sunsets.

February 27, 2021

It was ok, but not what I expected

Runs a bit large and the material wasnt really comfortable. Perhaps I was expecting a little more?

February 26, 2021

Very warm

Warm and soft to the touch. This runs bigger than other Patagonia fleece models. The sleeve length is perfect and the body fits nice with a 33” waste. I tried a large but the body was too loose.

February 26, 2021

Good produft

Very well made, soft material. Comfortable

February 26, 2021

Very light weight and the perfect mid layer.

I own a couple of these and they are a great all around mid layer to outer layer shirt !

February 26, 2021

Warm and runs large

The product is very warm and soft. This better sweater is improved over prior versions that pilled and did not age well. My biggest issue is with fit and is a bit large on my frame. Other Patagonia 1/4 zip sweaters fit more tightly and its odd that this one runs large when compared to others. The length is great but I wish it wasnt so baggy.

February 26, 2021

Versatility

very cozy, was a tad big when I first got it but one time through the wash helped shrink it just the right amount. Great for causal wear, outdoors, or inside when you're cold.

February 26, 2021

Perfect Sweater

This medium sweater fits perfect for me being 6'1 and on the thinner side. It is very warm for how light of a sweater it is. It is also very comfortable. It is my go-to choice for a cooler day and even can fit a layer underneath for extra warmth.

February 26, 2021

Nice, but not perfect

Fits nicely. Hard to pull off.

February 26, 2021

Always better sweater

I have a couple better sweater variations and this might be my favorite! Warm and comfortable...you cant beat that.

February 26, 2021

Use as sweater, not a pullover shirt

Comfortable and warm, but size is cut definitely as a sweater and too large for wearing as a pullover shirt.

February 25, 2021

Sturdy fleece great for work wear

The ribbed fabric is very nice and makes this a true 'better sweater.' I own a regular 'better sweater' but this one stands out with jeans or khakis for a more dressed up look with the same great performance.

February 25, 2021

Super warm

I purchased this for my grandson which is attending St. John University in New York for warmth and casual wear . It fits perfect and looks really nice on.

February 25, 2021

Great sweater

I love this sweater. I now have two of them. They look good and feel soft on the inside

February 25, 2021

Warm

The arms are 2 inches too long. I either have to send it back or take to tailor to shorten arms. B

February 25, 2021

impressive material and construction

Love the fit and material comfortability, compared to my other similar clothing this is much more insulating.

February 25, 2021

Great sweaters

Skied in last week when it was 8 degrees under my parka warm as toast. Wore it to work today.

February 25, 2021

Not a fan

This item has a weird fit where it is both relaxed/hangs loose, but has very little stretch so I got a lot of resistance when taking it off or even raising my arms. The look wasn't as stylish, and the feel wasn't nearly as comfortable as other Patagonia products. Even at the sale price I didn't think it was worth it, so I ended up re... Read Moreturning this item. By comparison: I love the M's Better Sweater Jkt and M's Performance Better Sweater 1/4 Zip. I would happily take either of those over this item.

February 25, 2021

Awesome as always.

As with every product Ive purchased from Patagonia, this sweater is just plain awesome. Its quite warm and layered under a wading jacket, kept me quite toasty and comfortable while fly fishing in cold conditions. My only complaint is that the cuffs on the sleeves could be a bit snugger. Otherwise, this is a spectacular product from a company that s... Read Morehares my ideals and supports causes I believe in.

February 25, 2021

very warm

a bit too tight on sleeve near wrist

February 24, 2021

Very soft and comfortable

This is for a gift for my husband and he loves it. It is hard to find clothes for him as he is very picky but this one is a very nice one and he is so happy!

February 24, 2021

Great fleece for casual/dressing it up!

The ribbed version of the fleece is great! The design dresses it up a bit if you need it for a winter event, but its also great for wearing casually! Im 510 ~190, and it fits well. Slightly bigger than my retro pile fleece, but nothing to make you want to size down your order, in my opinion

February 24, 2021

Cozy Sweater

Thanks for the fast delivery

February 24, 2021

Baggy

The garnet lacks elastic around wrists and, thus fits poorly.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear this didn't work out for you. We stand by our products so if you aren't satisfied, you may return it at your earliest convenience. A good alternative that is still a casual style but with more stretchy wrist cuffs is the [Organic Cotton Quilt Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-organic-cotton-quilt-snap-t-pullover/25371.html?dwvar_25371_color=NVYB).

February 24, 2021

My husband lives in this during WAH times

Professional enough for WAH. Warm enough for cold days without heat while WAHing.

February 24, 2021

One of my new Patagonia favorites to pick from

I counted all my Patagonia today and have 23. All are great and have some favorites and tthe his is one.

February 23, 2021

Warm

I am 6 ft tall, 205lbs and usually wear XL in Patagonia tops. The XL was too big on me so I exchanged it for a L which fits fine.

February 16, 2021

Very warm.

This is heavier than the average quarter-zip and runs a little large. I wear it as an outer top over a two thinner layers on a 25-30 degree day. If you are just going to wear it over a single layer, you should consider buying a size down.

February 11, 2021

Warm

I purchased this for use in very cold weather in Wisconsin. It fits well, and works in 0-10º temperatures. I like the high collar for that reason as well.

February 6, 2021

Drop down a size

I am 5'11" and 180lbs. I would normally wear a large but found the medium fits perfect. If you don't have a belly and don't plan on wearing a thick layer underneath I'd drop down a size.

February 4, 2021

Stylish and warm.

On or off of the slopes, this sweater does it off me.

January 19, 2021

Runs large

I own two other better sweaters, vest and jacket. Medium has always fit perfectly. Received a blue ribbed as a gift, and it fits like a large. The cuffs at the wrist are about two inches to large. Love my other, disappointed in this one.

January 19, 2021

Great Comfort and Style

Patagonia never disappoints! The 1/4 zip fleece has great style fit and comfort. This is my second one . Would highly recommend

January 12, 2021

Very comfy

Nice casual sweater. Im 155lb and 5ft 8 in and the medium is just a touch too big.

January 11, 2021

Pet hair magnet

My husband LOVES the warmth, fit and style- I LOVE that this washes well and is made from recycled goods BUT this sweater is an absolute pet hair magnet. Patagonia- you ask how you can improve? Consider how your fabrics attract and hold pet hair. Ill venture to bet a lot of your customers have pets.... this sweater is great in all other ways but it... Read Mores a pain with pet hair! :(

January 11, 2021

Great product.

I love the Patagonia brand and products. Sadly it seems their sizes have migrated to a smaller fit. This sweater in 3x is fantastic and is really a 2x.5. Love it!

January 10, 2021

Very comfortable

Great color and material soft. Very warm as well.

January 7, 2021

Comfortable but sleeves are quite long

The fleece is very comfortable, good fitting in the chest, but sleeves are probably a 34-35" length

January 7, 2021

Comfy

True to size and versatile sweater

January 7, 2021

So good, So Patagonia

this so fits my lifestyle, easy, casual, work, play, comfort snd I know I am wearing, clothing with purpose!

January 6, 2021

He did not like the style.

My husband was not a fan of the style/pattern of the shirt.

December 31, 2020

Very versatile

I wear this frequently in the winter (I have both the regular and rib knit versions). It's great on its own outdoors and in, and not too bulky to go under a jacket. Love the zip pocket also, perfect for reading or sunglasses.

December 30, 2020

Great product be runs a size larger

I'm a long-term "raving fan" of Patagonia and their products. I have numerous Patagonia products including other fleeces in size large and they all fit perfectly...BUT this product runs a size larger than any other Patagonia product I own. My son-in-law wears an extra large and after receiving my large for Christmas he's now wea... Read Morering my large...and it fits him well. I ordered a medium and it fits me really well. Great fleece but be sure to order a full size smaller than you normally wear.

December 30, 2020

Great fleece

I like the ribbed look of this product. It makes it just a bit different than the regular Better Sweater!

December 24, 2020

Great for residency

Love wearing this on the floors. Comfortable, just needs pockets to be perfect!

December 10, 2020

Super comfortable and warm

I now have two of these in two different colors. In addition, customer service at Patagonia is amazing!

November 8, 2020

Superb Comfort

Fits well and keeps you just warm enough on a cool day, all while still looking fresh.

October 27, 2020

Great all around sweater

Man I just love Patagonias better sweater line. The ribbed knitting adds a bit of a different character which is awesome and still just as warm as the better sweater. Ill probably be buying more this holiday season!

October 16, 2020

SUPER WARM

Faster logistics and more accurate size

September 23, 2020

Soft and cozy

This is a great looking pullover with a soft inside coat. However, I will say the sleeves are a bit long compared to the rest of the pullover. Overall this is a good looking jacket for casual wear for the fall temps.

September 7, 2020

Very nice quality

Great color and quality.

September 6, 2020

Work casual fit

The fit was a bit boxy but overall I like how medium fits my frame. It is perfect for casual work wear. Haven't gone hiking in it yet but it is very breathable so I'm sure it would do well.

September 4, 2020

Rib Knit Better Sweater

I like the color and the styling. Very nice quality. However, this better sweater fits larger than my 2 previous better sweaters. It's a Large but fits more like an XL. I am considering sending it back for a size exchange.

September 3, 2020

He loves it.

I bought this for my son for his birthday. He usually wears an XL in pullovers, sweatshirts, T-shirts etc so thats what I bought him. It was pretty big especially in the sleeves, which were really long. Exchanged for a large and keeping my fingers crossed it works!

January 2, 2020

given as a gift

Great looking sweater! Amazing quality, great fit, soft fabric!!

December 30, 2019

Men’s Better Sweater Rib Knit 1/4 zip

Will be returning only because my husband can’t tolerate the stiffness of the collar against his neck. Some may find this an advantage! The fabric is sturdy and attractive, fit is fine

December 30, 2019

Ribbed 1/4 zip

I bought this for my 18 year old son. He has always loved the better sweater 1/4 zips. I love the ribbed pattern! It looks great on him.

December 28, 2019

This a better sweater

The sweater is everything I expected it to be and the quality of Patagonia always comes through sizing was just right I normally wear an extra large and extra-large fit just fine I like the feeling of the material and I think the sweater is a little bit warmer than a regular snaptee

December 28, 2019

Gorgeous!

I bought two of these as gifts this year, and both recipients loved them! They are well-made, stylish, with wonderful details. The Navy one is a really warm, gorgeous color of blue. Great for a hike or a night out on the town!

December 28, 2019

Looks great. Soft fabric, warm

Looks great. Soft fabric, warm but not thick

December 26, 2019

Nice sweater, long arms

This is a beautiful sweater - it was a well received gift for Christmas. However, the Patagonia fit model continues to confuse us. The sweater fits well, but the arms are again proportionally long. Otherwise, it’s great!

December 26, 2019

I like the higher zip

I like the higher zip collar. Runs true to size.

December 25, 2019

Excellent fit and color Very

Excellent fit and color Very warm and comfy

December 25, 2019

Perfect fit. Order a size down

The sweater is hot. My husband has broad shoulders (42) and has no belly. He is usually a size Large in T’s. I wanted a slimmer fit/less bulk than his other Patagonia sweaters so I found this and ordered a size down. Perfect!! It’s warm, and can be dressed up or down. It’s a very handsome fitting sweater from a great brand.

December 22, 2019

Rib it better sweater

Very comfortable and warm. Great piece

December 17, 2019

Patagonia sweater

This is a guest. Not given yet!

November 27, 2019

My favorite sweater

I absolutely love my rib knit sweater. I originally ordered a medium but exchanged for a small and it fits perfectly. I’d wear it everyday if I could.

November 16, 2019

Better Sweater - Rib kit

Sweater is very warm, great looking - I work in a Ski Shop so always looking to wear something functional and good looking - it also brings the attitude to the sale of our hard-goods Fit was challenging I’m in between a large and medium have the better sweater (Not ribbed) have the large fits well got the medium in the ribbed version - a little tig... Read Moreht pulling on but like the fit as much as the large - I’m six foot and weigh 185 Wou definitely recommend this sweater!!!

October 30, 2019

Looks great, a little on

Looks great, a little on the big side.

October 1, 2019

Best better sweater

This is by far the most cozy better sweater. Diffidently going to be a principle item in my winter wardrobe for many years to come. Classy enough to wear to a nice dinner but some thing you can wear to a brewery or skiing. I’m very excited about this sweater. Bravo Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches