Back to Product

Ms Better Sweater® 14-Zip

Write Your Review

4.53 /5

Filter Reviews

All 355 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Better Sweater® 14-Zip

4.53
True To Size
July 20, 2020

Ms Better Sweater® 14-Zip

I love it. I almost wear it everyday to go to work.

January 13, 2020

Love this sweater! It’s so

Love this sweater! It’s so comfy and warm! I wear it at night while relaxing before bed after I shower. So cozy!

November 30, 2019

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

November 27, 2019

Great product

Warm sweater, true to size

November 26, 2019

Great

Great

November 26, 2019

Awesome

The quality and comfort is awesome

November 26, 2019

Nice jacket with weird arms

I’m a medium build and normally Patagonia jackets fit perfectly. This sweater has sleeves two inches too long. Time to stop letting the interns into the pattern room.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, Tom! We're sorry to hear the sleeves were too long on this item. If you'd like to return it, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 26, 2019

Better Sweater 14-Zip

Really comfortable and clearly made of quality material. Feels like I will get years of wear out of it.

November 25, 2019

fits perfectly and is nice

fits perfectly and is nice and warm

November 22, 2019

Best service ever.

Not only are you getting amazing quality but they get it too you in a timely and orderly fashion

November 22, 2019

Great!

Fits as described and is very warm. Quality is great too. This is my third better sweater I’ve purchased and I continue to love them.

November 22, 2019

Wear it every day

Great sweater

November 22, 2019

Ms Better Sweater. Zip

I wore it all around Germany, Czech Republic, Amsterdam and during a river cruise. It was very comfortable, warm and had enough room to wear something under it.

November 22, 2019

Men’s better sweater

Perfect layer for cold weather! Comfortable, stylish and warm

November 21, 2019

Warm and Lightweight

Sweater fits well, is warm, and so soft for wear in class and running errands.

November 21, 2019

Runs large. Should’ve just gotten

Runs large. Should’ve just gotten an XL

November 21, 2019

this is my 2nd one.

this is my 2nd one. I like them, especially at a more fair price (50%) off. I wouldn't buy it at full price or retail.

November 21, 2019

So so fit

While the overall quality is good, the sleeves are likely an inch too long for a men’s medium. Most apparent when worn over a tee shirt or short sleeve shirt. But other than that a good utility garment.

November 21, 2019

My dad loves it

Fits perfect! Dad is happy. Hasn't stopped talking about it. We good.

November 21, 2019

Fits quite nicely, material is

Fits quite nicely, material is warm and breathable. Just a note that it holds more of a straight fit without much tapering from shoulder to hip. No issues with that whatsoever just something to keep in mind

November 21, 2019

Best Pullover

The Better Sweater is perfect. Comfortable and very warm given its weight. Now I have 2 of them!

November 21, 2019

Husband's Birthday Gift

Great quality, good fit!

November 21, 2019

Comfortable and Stylish

This is a great sweater. It is warm and comfortable. I have been wearing it to work and it's not too warm. Definitely would buy again!

November 20, 2019

Love it

This jacket is comfy and cute. I love that it is a zip up and has pockets. My favorite Patagonia item yet.

November 20, 2019

No better Sweater

This is my third Better Sweater. Very impressed.

November 20, 2019

Great Stuff

I was really satisfied with my jacket that I purchased! It came in fairly quick and everything looked great.

November 20, 2019

Wonderful.....hubby loves it!

It is the perfect weight, my husband wears it constantly.

November 19, 2019

Incredible

I love it! It fits perfectly and is super comfortable. Can't stop wearing it.

November 18, 2019

Great sweater

Perfect sweater. Already own the older model without the chest pocket. Love this sweater. Can’t say enough good things. So versatile in any situation. I’ve bought men’s for different people in large and medium and they are true to size for both.

November 18, 2019

So impressed!!!

So impressed!!!

November 18, 2019

His favorite sweater!

My husband loves this warm zippered sweater. He wears it over and over.

November 18, 2019

Awesome sweater

Awesome sweater

November 17, 2019

Very Warm!

Very warm! Too heavy for light indoor wear.

November 17, 2019

Great gift!

I bought this sweater for my boyfriend, and he loves it. The material is high quality and very warm. He is usually between a medium and a large due to his broad shoulders, but the medium fits him perfectly.

November 16, 2019

Very warm

Very warm

November 16, 2019

Warm

Warm

November 15, 2019

Nice and warm. I received

Nice and warm. I received several complements on the style.

November 14, 2019

Awesome

This sweater is very warm. It took me a little while to get used to the fit but once I was I didn’t want to take it off. Just purchased two more in different colors.

November 14, 2019

Perfect for casual wear.

Perfect for casual wear.

November 14, 2019

Really comfortable and warm! Sleeves

Really comfortable and warm! Sleeves run a bit long though.

November 14, 2019

Sleeves seem a bit long

Sleeves seem a bit long for being a medium. Very warm.

November 13, 2019

Very warm, very comfortable!

The sweater is stylish and warm, while being practical. I am a 6' 2" bigger framed guy and it fits, but there isn't a lot of wiggle room.

November 13, 2019

No better fleece pull over at this price.

I bought my better sweater on sale. At pull price, you get your moneys worth. On sale, you get a great deal on a quality pull-over. Everything you expect from Patagonia: quality, craftsmanship, great style. I’m 5’9”, 160 lbs and usually wear a size medium in outerwear, small in button down shirts. I chose a small and think it fits as it should.

November 13, 2019

1/4 zip better sweater

The feel and color of the sweater was spot on, but the size was a little funny for me. I’m 6 feet and 165 lbs, but this fit sort of long in the body and sleeves but tight in the shoulders. Makes it difficult to get on and off

November 13, 2019

Great Jacket

As advertised, highly recommend

November 13, 2019

Well Made!

Nice material and very well made.

November 13, 2019

Fits right

Fits just right! Super happy about this

November 13, 2019

Nice fit and comfy material

Nice fit and comfy material

November 12, 2019

Outstanding garment

I have to say I resisted the call of the Patagonia for a while needing to avoid what is perceived as “trendy.” Finally pushed past the trendiness to support one of the few ethical companies out there and this thing is perfect. Fit is snug and lovely. Product is super well made and just the right warmth. Stoked!

November 12, 2019

πŸ‘

πŸ‘

November 11, 2019

The apparel I ordered from

The apparel I ordered from Patagonia arrived quickly and in good order. I have ordered a few things in the past with no problems. Thank you Patagonia!!!!

November 11, 2019

Supreme Softness and Style

I wear this around town, at work, and while lounging around the house. It's one of my best purchases of the year and it looks great. I'm 6', 185 lbs, bought the large and it fits slightly loose, which is perfect for me.

November 11, 2019

Very pleased!!

Very pleased with this purchase! Love the 1/4 zip and could not beat the price!!

November 10, 2019

gift from my s/o

extra comfortable; would wear in most moderately cold climates

November 10, 2019

Great quality & fit

The quality and fit were perfect. My husband is 6’4’’ and I bought a large. He loves it and asked me to see what other colors were available.

November 9, 2019

Fits great nice and soft.

Fits great nice and soft.

November 9, 2019

Love this sweater. Great layer

Love this sweater. Great layer under a light jacket.

November 9, 2019

Beautiful

I bought a sweater for my brother for his birthday. It looked amazing and it shipped quickly !!

November 8, 2019

Quarter Zip Sweater

Excellent quality sweater. So warm!

November 8, 2019

Solid sweater

Fit is slightly tight around the upper body/shoulders but fits well otherwise. No complaints so far.

November 8, 2019

Great pullover!

Great pullover!

November 6, 2019

Love it

Love it

November 5, 2019

Great sweater

As the title says, it's a great sweater.

November 5, 2019

Fits great. Warm.

Got this on sale and its great. Super warm.

November 5, 2019

Great sweater

Soft and warm

November 4, 2019

Perfect lightweight layer

This jacket is a bit more lightweight than the other Better Sweater that I own, but that’s perfect for my needs. Great color and length (I’m tall).

November 4, 2019

nice fit

nice fit

November 4, 2019

Better Sweater

Great item. Quality work. Feels great.

November 3, 2019

Very warm, a little hard to put on

The pullover is much warmer than I thought it would be, but that's a good thing. There's no stretch to it, so it can be a little hard to put on, but once it's on, the pullover feels really nice. I am 5'11", 160 lbs, and a medium fit me with room to spare. Nice long sleeves too.

November 1, 2019

Horrible sizing; I want to love this but can’t

I am 5'11" and 160lbs with a 15.5" neck. Depending on the cut, I borderline between a medium & a large. I opted for a large with this sweater since I figured I'd be wearing bulkier cold weather clothing underneath (e.g., a button-down shirt vs just a short-sleeved tee). As others have noted here, I was surprised when I put i... Read Moret on because it looks like a poncho; made me feel like a bell. Plus, the sleeves on the large were about 3 inches too long, literally covering up my hands, which is weird because my arms are long. I ordered a medium to see if that would be better, but it’s so tight I can’t even bend my arms. And I looked like I was trying to get out of a straitjacket when I was putting it on and taking it off! I absolutely love the look and feel of this sweater, but they truly need to go back to the drawing board with the cut (Two tips: [1] Make all “regular fit” cuts so the body is more tapered, just loose enough to be comfy w/o being baggy or bell-like. [2] The arms on the medium and large were tight. I get that’s the trendy look, but men have man arms, not 10yo boy arms.)

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Hi Andy! Thanks for taking the time to write us such a detailed review, we truly appreciate it. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew!

October 31, 2019

Quality

I am happy with the quality of this product. The coloring, and comfort stands out from other competitors

October 30, 2019

Warm

Soft, fits great and warm

October 30, 2019

Love the color and texture

Love the color and texture of this sweater

October 29, 2019

Sweater

Very good product, good-looking and comfortable.

October 28, 2019

Can’t recommend this sweater enough!

Can’t recommend this sweater enough!

October 28, 2019

Awesome Sweater

No complaints whatsoever! Delivered when they said it would be. Perfect for cool weather.

October 27, 2019

Great sweater

I bought this for my husband as a gift. He really loves it. The fit is true to size. It’s perfect for the crisp fall days we’ve been having. It keeps him really warm. Almost too warm at times.

October 27, 2019

Loved the sweater

Loved the sweater

October 27, 2019

Great product

Great product

October 27, 2019

Truly just a great fall

Truly just a great fall sweater.

October 27, 2019

Amazing

So warm and stylish

October 26, 2019

Good product

Fits well. Looks good. Arrived in time. Satisfied.

October 26, 2019

Grandsons Birthday present

He loved it and it fit him perfectly. It's of very good quality and I would purchase from you again.

October 24, 2019

Amazing

super warm and comfortable, not too thick or heavy but definitely keeps you warm!

October 22, 2019

Great pullover

Recently purchased for my husband's birthday. It fit him perfectly and was soft. Washed it and it kept its shape and didn't shrink. Highly recommend and will definitely purchase another in.the near future...but for myself ☺️

October 14, 2019

Zen boys have 3 of

Zen boys have 3 of the zip sweaters. The particular one ran a little big. Still happy with the fit and style .

October 13, 2019

Awesome sweater

Better than expected. Very high quality material

October 13, 2019

Great color and material, large fit

Love the comfortable material and color but it is larger around the waist. Im 6'2 192 pounds and got a large which is what I usually default to but this one is a bit loose. Fits well on shoulders and sleeve length is perfect.

October 11, 2019

Better sweater

I bought a better sweater for my boyfriend’s birthday and it is perfect, he loved it! The shipping was so fast and I was very pleased with my experience with Patagonia as always!!

October 10, 2019

Ms Better Sweater

This is not my first of these jackets. I love them and when saw it was on sale I had to get another for myself and boyfriend. Patagonia is our favorite!

October 5, 2019

Love it

Looks great, feels great, fits just right.

October 2, 2019

Warm & comfy

Took this sweater to Gray's Peak, where the weather was 32 degrees Fahrenheit & winds at 35mph. Sweater was great as a 2nd/3rd layer in this weather. Keeps heat in and is comfortable to wear. Wind can creep in through the wrist, so I would recommend wearing gloves for added protection. Bought a medium size, and bottom of the sweater does r... Read Moreun larger than expected (toward stomach).

October 1, 2019

Better Sweater

This product fits perfectly and is exactly what I was looking for. I am a true large and this is true to its size. Would highly recommend this product!

September 30, 2019

These products are amazing I

These products are amazing I have several and can’t stop buying them unbelievable material and quality highly recommended and reasonable prices

September 30, 2019

Great deal

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it! For some reason, the color I bought was cheaper than the others. Looks great on her.

September 29, 2019

Amazing!

I love my purchase! I’m from a cold environment and it keeps me warm all the time!

September 28, 2019

Perfect fit

Bought another after wearing the first item for just an hour on a chilly September morning.

September 25, 2019

My new favorite sweater

I recently purchased the better sweater and i'm kicking myself for not doing it sooner. As a woman, I typically don't like how women's sizes and shape feel and look so I ordered a mens small. I also really liked the colors the mens had to offer; I got the Blue and gray. It fits perfectly and i'm 5'4" about 145 lbs and ... Read Moreordered a mens small.

September 24, 2019

Always wanted one. So I bought 3

Fits perfect. Medium, i'm 5-10 180. I didn't trust the medium to be loose enough as Pat stuff is always so tight but i tried one on in a retail store and it fit great. I think Pat is a tad, TAD looser than the past and that's a good thign. But it's still tighter than competitor products. (I won't spend much time reviewing t... Read Morehe quality of the material since it's a given that it's excellent). Bought 2 1/4s and 1 full. The full seems a bit bigger but it's negligible. These necks are a bit bulkier than most zip ups...they don't lay flat all that well. But man, the material is THICK and incredible quality.

September 24, 2019

1/4 zip

This is the 2nd 1/4 zip i have purchased it is so warm, warmer than what you think just looking at it, and so soft and comfortable to.

September 23, 2019

Super cozy and stylish

There's nothing like a better sweater. I am female but buy the men's for a more relaxed fit. At 5'7, 120lbs the XS fits just how I want it too. Not too long! It looks great, nice enough to wear anywhere casual but still works well for a short hike. I wouldn't wear it running or for other strenuous aerobic activities. Layers well... Read More under all my coats for cold weather and is a great outer layer for fall/spring. It does pill some, usually along the sides where my arms rub but they can be removed easily enough and the fleece holds up over many years.

September 21, 2019

Ms Better Sweater 1/4 Zip

Very nice garment for casual activities or even light hiking. Looks nice, fits nice, feels nice. Do wish it had hand pockets along with the chest pocket it already has. Maybe a kangaroo pocket? Glad to have made the investment. Continued success to all of you & God bless… 😊 🌡 🌲

September 20, 2019

sweater

i just love this sweater it is very comfly not to heavy just right

September 19, 2019

Great birthday present

Bought this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it. Great quality and looks great on.

September 18, 2019

Absolutely my favorite, feels great

Absolutely my favorite, feels great and looks amazing!

September 17, 2019

Mens Better Sweater - outstanding

I love this sweater and have purchased a couple colors. 5 Stars for sure.

September 16, 2019

Love the better sweater. I

Love the better sweater. I ordered a large in this simply because it is more of a slim fit than regular fit. That being said it a great product. Our family owns several of these.

September 15, 2019

Very warm, way too wide though

I purchased a Large. The sleeve length and body is long enough to fit me but it’s so wide around the waist. I’m 6’4”, 210lbs with a 34 waist and 42 chest. I had to take it to get tailored so it fit tighter around my torso and waist. $18 later for tailoring and now this thing is absolutely perfect. Beyond warm and comfy. 3 stars because I can give i... Read Moret 5 knowing I had to get it tailored.

September 15, 2019

Great find

Excellent quality unique color combos and great price

September 15, 2019

Best 1/4 zip! Heck, best brand!

Quality and construction of Patagonia products are top notch. Previous 1/4 zip better sweater has lasted the past 8 years and still looks great! Colors are righteous, sizing spot on (5’10, 165#), warm and looks great on the mtn or out at date night. If you’re questioning the purchase, don’t. You’ll be glad you did. #patagonia!!!:)

September 14, 2019

Attention to detail

I usually buy Patagonia’s fleece but I was looking for a nicer look. The better sweater is so well made. Seams and finishes are impeccable.

September 14, 2019

So warm and comfortable. Exactly

So warm and comfortable. Exactly what I wanted.

September 14, 2019

Great jacket for the fall and winter

I have this jacket in black, but love the grey with blue on the sleeves. This jacket is much warmer than the full zip.

September 14, 2019

Warm, Comfy, Durable

Really impressed with with this 1/4 zip. I can tell it’s going to be my go-to this fall & winter.

September 13, 2019

warm sweater

Nice quality, good weight, comfortable fit.

September 3, 2019

Better sweaters rock!

Bought the full zip for myself and a quarter zip for my husband. The ladies’ tend to run slim so if you wish to wear layers under it, consider sizing up. I have a medium quarter zip that I love, but the looser full zip will be nice with layers.

September 1, 2019

Wonderful as always

I purchased this sweater hoping it would hold up as well as my last one, and of course, knowing Patagonia, it came in the mail and I was immediately in love with it. Beautiful red, high quality, comfortable to wear at all times. I was picking between this and another Synchilla, a hard choice to make, but I think the Better Sweater might be more ver... Read Moresatile. (Though another Synchilla will almost certainly be coming πŸ˜ƒ)

August 31, 2019

Initial thoughts

Initial thoughts are great seems to be very well made and very comfortable. Great range of motion and very warm for the weight.

August 31, 2019

Board Short

Replacing a pair of board shorts that have seen some wear and tear from too many trips down slides at waterparks. :) Fit well, solid construction and they look great!

August 30, 2019

Fits Perfectly

Super comfy. Perfect fit. Great for a chilly autumn day hanging out with my friends and family going apple picking or pumpkin picking or just sitting out by the fire

August 29, 2019

Love the Better Sweater

We use this for every activity when we know we need to be warm. It is stylish and keeps you warm. The sleeves do run a bit snug.

August 19, 2019

Love it, but wish it didn't pell

Great sweater. I am female and bought a men's medium. I also have a women's medium full-zip. I've found the men's sweater to be warmer, which is probably just a side-effect of it being a bit roomier. The only downside is that it pells really easily. I've de-pelled it a couple times, but they always come back quickly.

August 17, 2019

Better Sweaters

Great value, comfort, warmth and style.

August 14, 2019

top-notch

superb quality, cool looking and this sweatshirt can make you feel more confident

August 14, 2019

Unbelievably Cheap!!!!

After the very first day I wore this item, little fuzzy balls (Pilling) were all over the back! The very first day! I never even washed it. I took it out of the package and wore it. Unbelievable! This is supposed to be a high- end brand, I was deeply disappointed with the quality of the product. Thank you.

August 14, 2019

Excellent pullover

It’s a well made sweater that’s extremely soft and comfortable, it even gives you some functional storage with the pocket on the sleeve. It also runs pretty true to size unlike other Patagonia jackets that tend to run big. I’m 6’2” 215 and a large was the perfect length and (width?) for me.

August 10, 2019

Love the Q zip!

Better sweater? Yes indeed!! Goes with everything, warm and comfortable

August 10, 2019

The cut off the sweater is very odd

I'm 5'10 and weigh 180 pounds. The size large fit in the chest but was super baggy in the torso. The size medium was super tight in the arms and chest but fit much better in the torso. Needles to say, with the cut of the better sweater, I had to return it and don't have the item :-(

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We are bummed to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in either sizes. Thanks for the helpful feedback on that. We'd be happy to try and recommend a similar jacket that might fit differently. Feel free to [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) for any suggestions.

August 10, 2019

Tall female

I LOVE the the feel and the coziness of the sweater, my only wish is that it was sold in a tall size for women. I bought a men’s to get the sleeve and body length. It fits but....there’s not much shape to the body as is normal for men’s. Also, I’d love to have options to buy in the colors of the women’s sweaters.

May 10, 2019

Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Really Nice

Given the high prices that Patagonia charges for their stuff, it better be worth it once you buy it. Some of their wool sweaters have really ugly and dated looking elastic around the wrists and waist and I wonder why anyone would pay for that. This sweater, however, has a very nice seam at the wrists and waist. It fits nicely and is very warm when ... Read Moreyou need it, but breathes well. It is one of my favorite winter and cool weather staples so much so that I bought another one and one for my wife.

May 9, 2019

Sweater

Love the sweater! I had to return my first one because the size wasn't correct. The sizing chart is off!

May 9, 2019

Awesome Sweater

Looks great and keeps you warm. Versatile; can be worn at work, with friends, or while hiking.

May 8, 2019

Cozy

Love this sweater. Cozy but not confining.

May 8, 2019

Men’s quarter zip top

Love it! Wore it everywhere on a recent trip to Europe. Met all my expectations.

May 8, 2019

Better Sweater? Try Best Sweater.

I have a couple better sweaters and I wanted the quarter zip as I didn’t have that style yet. I like it a lot. I am 5’ 8” - 150 lbs and the sleeves/overall length are both a tad shorter than on the full zip, but I think the quarter zip is perfect in both categories for my body type. Overall 10/10 would buy again, it’s warm!

May 8, 2019

Great Quality

The design and quality of the fabric is amazing!

May 8, 2019

Six Stars Not and Option

This sweater was way better than expected. It's warm, fits perfectly (I'm a medium with long arms), and looks good. Patagonia products tend to be pricey, but after this and a couple of other purchases, I can't see going anywhere else.

May 8, 2019

Walnut Fleece

Outstanding product! Fit is spot on (5’6” - 130 lbs). Both the XS and S fits wonderfully. The quality is outstanding and I know it’ll last for many years to come.

May 8, 2019

Extremely comfortable!

A little pricier than what I'd like to pay but I honestly do not regret buying this as it is the most comfortable sweater I've ever worn.

May 8, 2019

Better Sweater Review

It's my second Better Sweater. It's warm for its weight, dries quickly. I'd recommend this product to anyone.

May 8, 2019

Nice Sweater

I love this soft sweater. Perfect for chilly days. I bought it larger than I should have because I wanted it to be more like a tunic & I love it.

April 20, 2019

Strange cut, short sleeves

Nice fabric but a very odd cut. I’m 160#, 6’2”. This thing is about a foot too wide in the torso & the sleeves are 2” too short. Just strange compared to other Patagonia pieces I have.

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the cut didn't work out for you. Please feel free to send that back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Let us know if we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with that process!

April 2, 2019

1/4 zip pullover

Great product that is lightweight and super warm

April 2, 2019

Great pullover

The quality and comfort you expect from a great company

April 1, 2019

Very comfortable & warm sweater

I originally had a better sweater vest and loved it. I decided I wanted a sleeved version so I could wear it with more/different sets of clothes, so I bought this. I really like it, the brown color is very nice, and it keeps me warm when outside. The style and color are subdued enough that I can wear it at work without feeling underdressed, as my w... Read Moreork is business casual attire.

April 1, 2019

Very comfortable & warm sweater

I originally had a better sweater vest and loved it. I decided I wanted a sleeved version so I could wear it with more/different sets of clothes, so I bought this. I really like it, the brown color is very nice, and it keeps me warm when outside. The style and color are subdued enough that I can wear it at work without feeling underdressed, as my w... Read Moreork is business casual attire.

March 26, 2019

The best ever 1/4 sweater.

This is an amazing 1/4 zip sweater. I knew it would be warm but this sweater really keeps you warm. When I think about all the other 1/4 fleece pullovers I have in my closet nothing compares. I liked the first one so much that I received for Christmas, I bought two more in different colors. Its the perfect weight and sizing is great. I wear a large... Read More. I am 6'4" and 185. Based on sizing this is made to wear over a t-shirt. Not really made to wear over a button down shirt because the sleeves are tapered. I tried that at the store. But I can't say enough about how warm this sweater is to wear. I might be buying a fourth one soon.

March 25, 2019

Amazing sweater

Super high quality sweater with amazing fabric. The polyester collar and sleeve ends are a really nice touch and the sweater is warm for outdoor activity. Great product.

March 19, 2019

A comfy, warm, stylish 1/4 zip

It may be slightly snug in the arm-pits, but it fits really well where sometimes I am between a XS and S in patagonia stuff that I have no clue what size to buy. It is so warm for it's size and I love the nickel color that I bought. I bought a 1/4 zip for my wife and she has stated that she wants one in every color, so yes...big fans!

March 8, 2019

All winter long

I have three of these both from personal purchase and from a few organizations with embroidered logos, not only do they look great but they fit great too. My wife likes to joke that once they come out of the closet in the fall that I'll now look the same for the rest of the season, which isn't true at all since like I said, I have three! ... Read More They fit well, not too slim nor too baggy, you can layer them under a ski jacket or down jacket when it's colder or just on their own over a t-shirt or polo (yeah, you can class them up too!). After a few years of use, they show very little signs of wear and tear and I'm expecting many more years out of them. I've seen reviews mentioning pilling but I haven't experienced that with mine, perhaps its the color and I don't notice it. I'm wearing it now and I see a few, but nothing that would stop me from wearing it. For what it's worth I have them in Stonewash and something like brick red. I'd definitely recommend them.

March 7, 2019

Warm, Comfortable and Professional

This pullover sweater is the total package and is great for any day of the week. I bought two, one in green and the other in nickel. I wear each of them to work at least once per week usually twice. Great comfortable fit that's not to tight however not to loose either. Very professional look that provides a lot of warmth for the cold season. I... Read More'm 6'3, 190 lbs and a Large fits perfectly. I've been able to wash this item several times and it has not drawn up. Just wash in cold water and dry on delicate cycle. Front zipper pocket comes in handy nearly every day.

February 28, 2019

A nice sweater for mild cold conditions

I like the style and the fit so much that I bought two, the Industrial green and the shady blue, which were warm for temperatures in the 50s, but below that they are useless, since they do not block the cold wind, which makes you feel you are walking around in the cold in a t-shirt. The design needs a wind flap to block the cold air at least in the... Read More front panels to be practical and more of a winter sweater, rather than a fall sweater. Maybe the next batch will have some cold wind protection, and if that is the case, they will surely be popular in cold and windy cities like San Francisco or Chicago.

February 25, 2019

Favorite

Sweatshirt looks great and is so comfortable. It is my go to weekend sweatshirt. The sizing is awkward for me . I am 5'7 160lbs and I bought a medium, however, it is tight in the sleeves and shoulders but long on the bottom. I still wear it all the time though.

February 18, 2019

Waist too baggy!

I have been a Large for 10 years and still am. This is a great product but the baggiest waist in history and now ability to adjust. Had to return unfortunately.

February 15, 2019

Sizing is odd

I comfortably wear an XL in all other Patagonia men’s shirts, and own six of the Micro D Fleeces, so I ordered an XL in this without hesitation. I’m a broad-shouldered guy with not overly muscular biceps, but the fit in the shoulders and upper arms is just terrible. I looked like I was auditioning for some powerlifting gig, and not in a good way. V... Read Moreery restrictive and unflattering in the upper portion of the sweater while it fit normally throughout the trunk. This was my first purchase of a Better Sweater, and there are two more on the way in a separate shipment. Hoping this one is just a one-off, though I’m not holding my breath.

February 12, 2019

Feels good, but could be better

Overall I enjoy the sweater, however, It is a bit lengthy at the bottom. I bought a L at 5' 7.5 @ 170lbs athletic build. I think if the sleeves would taper off the create a sort off cuff it would have been perfect along with slightly shorter in body length.

February 3, 2019

Shrunk!

we don't understand how but my husband's 100% polyester in green XL shrunk pretty dramatically to the point where he can no longer wear it? How has no one else reported this problem. He says he washed it in warm water, then dried both of which are allowable per the label. He LOVES this so I guess I am going to see what Patagonia can do to... Read More get him a new one. That's our only complaint. We are not even having the pilling problem that others comment on!

January 31, 2019

Pills only after the first wash

It’s a shame that a product this expensive pills just after the first wash. I’ve own this for 2 months and probable used it 8 times and it’s already looking like and old rag. In addition this isn’t exactly true size, it runs larger.

January 30, 2019

Amazing Sweater

Do yourself a favor and buy this sweater. The fit is amazing and its truly well made. Have not had it for very long but have not noticed any of the "pilling" issues other reviewers have mentioned. Have not been more happy with a purchase in a long time. I plan to buy this in multiple colors.

January 12, 2019

Awesome sweater

This sweater is awesome. Super comfortable. Looks great. When it pills I use a sweater stone. Highly recommend

December 30, 2018

Pills terribly

I love everything about this item, except for the fact that it pills terribly. Much more than anything else I’ve ever owned. I have a jacket and the quarter zip. I’ve had the jacket longer ((5 years?), and really only wear it around the house now because it looks pretty ragged. I wouldn’t recommend it only for that reason.

December 17, 2018

Men's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

I received my 1/4-Zip Fleece on 3 days ago and can't stop raving about the comfort and fit! I am certain this will be the first of many Patagonia products I will be purchasing and can't wait for my next buy.

December 5, 2018

5 Year Review

I think I probably have 150 days in this sweater. Its my go to mid layer for hiking and alpine touring. What I really like it that it keeps you warm even when pretty sweaty, it does a decent job breaking the wind when worn as an outer layer, and it has worn like iron. Thinking of buying a second one simply because my wife is getting tired of see... Read Moreing me in the same sweater!

December 1, 2018

Great product

Great product that everyone should own. Two product suggestions. 1) Offer this product with a marsupial pocket. The Synchilla marsupial product is not made of this product's quality fleece material or in the variety of color options of this product. 2) For next color rotations, please offer: 1) dark(er) navy and 2) a burnt orange - closer to U... Read Moreniversity of Texas orange; not bright orange.

November 29, 2018

Sizing way off

While I love this sweater, the sizing change from last year was a bad move. Though I wore a small in last year's version and purchased them in four different colors, this year's small is profoundly restrictive, especially in the arms. And, the medium is way too baggy. Please go back to last year's sizing.

November 19, 2018

Disappointed

I'm disappointed because the women's better sweater quarter zip does not come in the two-tone options available for men. This is classic. There are always clothing options or color options that are never available to women. I love this product but again disappointed with the options and colors for women. It should be relatively the same a... Read Morecross the board

November 18, 2018

1/4 ZIP Fleece

THE fleece everyone owns or should. Love this all-round fleece. Its my second having abused the first into retirement. Looks good, holds shape doesn't pill as bad as others and its recycled plastic jugs. What more do you want?

November 6, 2018

Great Fleece

I love this fleece. Its perfectly sized, wears well, and holds up to all that I put it through. I like this product so much because its great for winter get togethers or for training outside in Mississippi in the dead of winter. Not to mention and I can wear it along with my nano puff jacket and never get cold.

October 26, 2018

Great Fall Layer

This is a great comfy, fleece sweater. It is perfect for work, walking downtown, or on a short fall hike. It keeps me warm, and it looks good. The material feels to be made of quality stuff and seems durable. Patagonia has done it again with a true to fit sweater that is perfect for a top layer over a long sleeve flannel or wool shirt.

October 24, 2018

WARM, SOFT, LOOKS GOOD

It keeps you warm, not hot, fits the body well, has longer sleeves that cover down to where your fingers begin, the neck coverage is great too, keeps the cold wind off, material is soft, and it looks good, use this fleeces for nice mountain pictures and all my camping trips since I got it. Like I said, this keeps you decently warm, if you are going... Read More out in freezing weather, still put on a thermal, I wear a thin hoodless sweater underneath, and then this fleece, and its perfect. The size runs to size, but has a good amount of wiggle room for underneath clothing. don't order one below or above your size.

September 12, 2018

A Better Sweater would not pill......like crazy

Thank goodness for the company's ironclad guarantee or I'd be an unhappy customer. The Better Sweater lineup is a good idea but the material has a well understood flaw that it pills with limited wear and in no time at all. The company should find an alternative material that does not pill.....North Face has a similar product that does NOT... Read More pill so there are solutions. Short of that, Patagonia should disclose the pilling issue in the product description so prospective buyers are informed. My go to instead: The Patagonia capilene layers of different weights......they don't pill and they look great.

August 10, 2018

Best Sweater

I am 6'2", 215 lbs, and 34 in. waist. I wear this almost every day during the winter over a golf shirt and it keeps me very warm. It's not itchy like how I've have found some sweaters can get and it's super cozy and comfy. There's a bit of excess fabric in front of the arms/sides of the chest; however, that doesn'... Read Moret noticeably make it less comfortable. Nice looking but comfortable makes it perfect for an everyday winter sweater.

June 28, 2018

Love it

Great shirt and worth every penny. Can't wait for more cool weather.

March 31, 2018

Swell Sweater!

I bought this sweater for work and am happy with it. My only complaint is the sleeves are a little too tight which makes it awkward to wear a button-up collared shirt under neath.

March 28, 2018

Wouldn't recommend

This was bought as a gift for me last year and this review is long overdue. Firstly; Nice materials,stylish. Soft against your skin and keeps you somewhat warm. Secondly; Probably one of the biggest disappointments I've ever owned as far as sweaters go. The cut on this is so odd. Its baggy on the lower portion of the body yet the top section... Read More is like trying to squeeze into a pair of pants about 5 times smaller than you know you're able to. The armpit section is cut in such a way that the sweater literally is buried into your pits. So uncomfortable,words cannot descibe how frustrating this article of clothing is. Even on cold days this thing just makes you sweat and sweat because of how its cut... Its even a size larger than I usually wear! Being that this was a gift,I felt bad about returning it so,I'll have to donate it.

March 27, 2018

Durable,warm jacket,Looks great,

I've had this jacket over a year now. I work for the forest service and wear this jacket in the woods almost all winter. It's stood up to carrying a chainsaw on my shoulder,trecking through thick blackberry,and briar patches daily,bar oil and gas spills with only a couple oil stains. I'm impressed it's held up good as any workwe... Read Morear jacket I've owned.

March 25, 2018

Awesome everyday sweater!

I wear this sweater every day in the winter because it keeps me warm outside and warm but not hot inside. It's thick enough to be warm but doesn't feel heavy and bunchy like other sweaters I've had. I love the fitting because it the sleeve goes right to the base of thumb while I find that many sweater sleeves are way too short for my... Read More arms.

March 14, 2018

Comfy,Casual,and Stylish Pullover But Runs Small

There's a reason why so many people wear this. It's super comfortable and stylish pullover you can wear for casual attire and/or at work. I love the soft fleece lining inside that keeps me warm and comfy. The chest pocket is deeper than expected and also fleece lined. But this pullover runs small. I'm a 5'11'' 170l... Read Moreb medium build. Every Patagonia jacket and fleece I own are in Medium. Yet,when I got the pullover,it was tight around my shoulders,neck,and waist. Trying to take them off was a hassle. I mainly bought this so I can layer with a t-shirt or button-down shirt. When I did,the Medium was just too tight. Surprising since I also own a full-zip Better Sweater in Medium,and that fits me just fine... even when I layer it. So,I had to return the 1/4 zip for a Large. I tried on the Large at a local retailer and it's a good fit. Just loose enough that I can layer,but still a good fit when you want to zip up and stay warm. Overall,very happy with the purchase. But do make sure to size up if you want to layer.

March 12, 2018

bad Fit

Sadly the fit is way,way too small. My wife is a medium women and this men's large fits her.

February 24, 2018

Great Quality

I love the stitching and the material. Also is easy to take on and off. I usually wear a M with Patagonia. Thought this was slightly large compared to the perfect fit of my tech fleece. Sleeves in particular were a little too long.

January 20, 2018

Great Quality & WARM

Looks,feels,and fits great. Keeps me warm without having to wear a thick jacket or fleece. Highly recommend this.

December 28, 2017

fantastic produc

Got this for christmas. It's super warm,stylish and fits really nice. I'd say it fits to size as I wear a medium (5'10. 185lbs) usually and that's what I got. It isn't huge though the body which is nice. I'll be wearing this for golf,hiking and casual wear and imagine it will be my goto sweater.

December 25, 2017

Thrilled!

I ordered this for my boyfriend and he loves it! I paid regular price for ground shipping and my package arrived 3 days after I ordered it,when it was expected to take anywhere from 5-10 days just to leave the warehouse. Everything was sent correctly and extremely fast,and my boyfriend loves it!!

December 5, 2017

Seems nice but runs small in the arms/shoulders

Needed to return. Waist and chest fit true to size,but arms and shoulders are very tight. I'm fairly athletic but not too big. Quality seems nice though.

November 30, 2017

Most used clothing item ever

I wear this thing every day. It is comfortable and warm,but sleek enough that I can wear it to my office. I am always getting compliments on it and have multiple girls ask to "borrow" it - no way. Had it now going on three years and with regular washing and hang drying still looks as good as the day I got it. Definitely not slim-fitting b... Read Moreut not baggy either. A+

November 9, 2017

Perfect Casual Fit

I am 6'2",245 lbs. Shirt Size 17 1/2 Neck,36/37 sleeve. Waist 38-40. Suit coat 48L This pullover in XL is a perfect fit for me. I hate sleeves that are too short and these were perfect. It is slightly roomy in the waist,which is great because I can't suck-in all day long and this let's me relax without looking like I'm wear... Read Moreing a shopping bag. I received many positive comments on the Filter Blue color.

October 7, 2017

Large = Medium

Great product but the Large felt like a Medium. I wear a Large for all my other Patagonia clothes but this was way small and tight. Fortunately my daughter was happy to inherit it.

September 23, 2017

Perfect Pullover!

I bought this as a gift for a family member. These 1/4 zip pullovers make the best gifts as they are so practical and the quality is awesome. My sister (whom this gift was for) is usually a women's SM but she wanted this color so I ordered her a men's XS. The fit was perfect! She is 5'3" and 112 lbs.

September 17, 2017

Made for the Great outdoors!

Spent the day Grouse hunting here in Northern Minnesota. I wore my Men's Better Sweater. The temp started out at 43 degrees fahrenheit in the morning with a pretty stiff wind and a fair amount of cloud cover. Thru out the day it got up to about 58 degree's with still alot of wind and some sun.It was a beautiful Fall day in Minnesota! I wo... Read Morere a T-shirt and a simple long sleeve henley underneath and the Better Sweater. I was very comfortable in the morning. But got a little warm as the day went on. Really impressed with this product. I look forward to some colder weather knowing I have this to hunt in. I don't walk trails. I walk thru the nasty stuff,thorn bushes,briars and all. Thick cover where you couldn't fall down if you tried.This is where the birds live and the fabric held up really well. I've been Grouse hunting all my life and have ran thru alot of clothing that just couldn't take the abuse. Even after one outing.But the Better Sweater can take it! I'm 5'6" and about a 145 lbs and the medium fits me perfect with room for a little layering underneath. Thanks so much to Patagonia and Yvon Chouinard!

September 16, 2017

Amazing fit,great quality!

This is honestly the best jacket I've ever bought!

September 7, 2017

Great fit for a petite woman

I really liked this color and well it was also on sale. I'm 5'5 and have a slender build and find some patagonia items tricky to find the correct fit. I did a lot of research and trying on and comparing and decided to try the men's XS and to my surprise it fits just like a woman's S. IMO. I ordered this online unsure if I'd... Read More have to return it,but I'm so happy it fits! I like the long sleeves and it fits loose enough for layers which is what I wad going for. I didn't want to feel suffocated. Love this sweater!

July 28, 2017

aight

cozy and warm if you're inside,but man wind/cold blows right through this thing. I know,I know...its a sweater,but for how thick and bulky it is,im surprised at how poorly suited it is even for a stroll around mu neighborhood on a foggy day. a wool or even cotton sweatshirt would perform much better for this. But,its lofty so if you are layeri... Read Moreng a jacket over it you will be roasting.

July 23, 2017

Good concept,colors are way off

I ordered the filter blue sweater several weeks ago,and it is a much darker shade (closer to cobalt blue) than what is shown. I emailed customer service about this and the said they checked the warehouse,and agreed that the colors are misrepresented on the website. The service rep said she'd put in a request for updated/upgraded photos,but sin... Read Morece that still hasn't happened,I wanted to caution other customers. I can't speak for every color,but the blues in particular are noticeably darker than what is pictured (I also ordered the Big Sur blue,which in reality is closer to a navy blue). In terms of fit,it's a comfortable fleece. I'm a 5'8",135 lb female and the XS fit me really well. I found the arms too tight in the women's fleece so decided to try the mens. I still think the sleeves are a little tight; while I'm an avid athlete and have a lot of muscle in my triceps,I'd think there would be a bit more room considering that it's a men's sweater. It might work for some/most people,but something to be aware of if you're particularly muscular in the arms. The look is very sharp,male or female. I imagine most guys could either dress it up or down. My brother has a navy blue version and loves it,he can wear it to work as an attorney or out in town. For women it looks great with boots in the fall or even just around the house.

May 9, 2017

Nice and warm

I wear this sweater all weekend while skiing and It is soft and warm.

May 1, 2017

Best sweater ever

This is really the ultimate pullover sweater for winter (with a warmer underlayer) or spring/fall (with a t-shirt under).

April 29, 2017

Excellent fleece

Couldn't be happier with it. It's warm,and it's professional looking so great for meeting clients in an informal setting.

April 29, 2017

Love this item

Picked this up online Love the color,fit and feel Great product

April 26, 2017

Great Sweater,but varies in size across colors!

This sweater is stylish and warm. It makes carrying a pack incredibly comfortable and is well designed. Pilling happens incredibly easy on the lower back due to carrying a pack all the time... I don't think this should happen. The sizing is also inconsistent... I have tried on the same sweater in different colors and they all fit differently. ... Read MoreThe one I own now oddly fits tightly around my stomach,and I workout regularly. I tried on another one at the store to compare (in the same size) and it did not do that.... I recommend trying it on in the store to make sure it fits the way you would like. The regular fit does not seem to be true across all products. So if you have a raincoat you like in a regular fit,it is not a guarantee that the fit of the better sweater will be the same. It could be bigger or smaller than expected. Also I wish the wrist cuffs were a little tighter,they are relatively big for my wrists.

April 26, 2017

Other reviews don't lie.

This sweater works great as part of your layering system,relaxing by the fire or sitting in the office. Very comfortable and cut perfect. Has become my favorite fleece.

April 16, 2017

Old reliable

As other reviewers have noted,this pullover doesn't disappoint. Sturdy,but with a nice cut that looks good in the office.

April 15, 2017

So warm

Patagonia makes great stuff,so glad I bought this as a gift for myself when I bought my wife a fleece for her birthday

April 15, 2017

Great fit

This fit well and true to size. It's instantly clear how durable and well made it is. Very warm and cozy. Looks nice yet casual. Perfect. I like the walnut color.

April 9, 2017

Great sweater

I work at a ski area and wear this as part of my layering system. It fits great and is very warm. It also looks great after work as well! This is actually my second better sweater because I wear them quite often.

April 9, 2017

Love This Sweater!

This sweater is soooo comfortable. And it looks great for casual,work or dress. I highly recommend it!

April 8, 2017

I love this Sweater

I wear this on cold mornings. During super cold ski days it makes a perfect mid layer under the hard shell over the base layer. Traps a ton of heat but wicks away the moister when skiing the steep and deep.

April 8, 2017

Great sweater

Nice looking sweater. Little on the smaller side,other than that it's really well constructed and material is top notch.

April 8, 2017

Warm and Comfortable

Bought it in a light color to replace a black fleece that my Golden Retreiver made unwearable. Product is very warm and comfortable. The only complaint is that it's baggy at the bottom.

April 8, 2017

Highly breathable

I bought this to layer,but frequently wear it as the outer most layer. It's definitely able to keep me in a happy place for comfort. Definitely want a soft/hard shell on cooler windy days. The fabric is very nice and the hemmed edges are extremely soft. I love how they feel.

April 8, 2017

Men's better sweater is bomb-proof.

I just bought my 4th Better Sweater and I firmly believe this to be the finest piece of clothing I've ever owned. These things rock and they made to withstand a busy,adventure-filled life.

March 25, 2017

Comfortable and warm

I got this for my birthday and I wear it frequently. It is warm and extremely comfortable. I am very pleased with the quality.

March 25, 2017

Sweet!

I absolutely love this item. It is definitely my best article from Patagonia,and I can't believe it took me this long to finally purchase. It is warm and very comfortable. My daughter got one also and loves it too.

March 21, 2017

Casual but dressy

I bought this sweater in gray because I have one in blue that I received as a gift. I love it,its very casual but dressy in a quiet way,people have commented on its good looks,not to mention its warmth and comfort .

March 18, 2017

Fits as advertised

I have had this product for about a month. This is my new goto when I need a quick jacket!

March 18, 2017

Love it.

Bought this on sale. I was worried it would be super bulky. Its certainly a bit thicker than your average fleece,but not too much so. Very comfortable

March 18, 2017

Terrible sizing

I am writing a review because Patagonia emailed asking me to. The sweater is made with awesome material that is soft and nice. But the fit is terrible. I am 5'10'' and weigh 190 lbs. Large works for me in almost everything. However the large in this sweater is huge in the mid section and feels like wearing a poncho thats 3 sizes too ... Read Morebig. The medium fit well in the mid section,but it did not fit in the shoulders/arms and was almost ripping from my weak/average build. I would love to have kept this,but the sizing is very odd. Hopefully they fix for future iterations!

March 18, 2017

Versatile and Warm

I bought this for my college son. He wears this quarter zip as both a sweater and light jacket. He really likes it and was VERY pleased to get this gift.

March 18, 2017

Best sweater for sure

Love this sweater. Right size,perfect warmth factor,ruggedly made,warm when wet (fishing in cold water)

March 11, 2017

Great look and feel

Had it for a few months and really comfortable and stylish

March 6, 2017

Very nice product

Extremely versatile garment. 6' 180 and large fits perfect. Zippered chest pocket is ideal for airport travel. Keeping sensitive items close,handy and secure

March 4, 2017

Perfect Buy!

I bought this for my boyfriend,and it was a perfect purchase. I'm always worried about the fit between L and XL with him - he's usually a large and that's what I ordered. It was exactly true to size. It looks professional with khakis and can be dressed down for adventuring purposes in MT where we live. He says it does have great vent... Read Moreilation and doesn't make him overheated when indoors. We recommend it!

March 4, 2017

Comfortable and Warm

Great fit and stylish pullover. Can be worn under a jacket as an extra layer.

March 2, 2017

Sizing is an issue

I literally just got it and I have to review it. Couldn't be any more disappointed by this brand. Got a small since last year I bought a medium that was huge on me. Feel like I wasted my money again. Good material and product but sizing shouldn't be a problem for a company of this level.

March 1, 2017

Comfortable and warm

Love this. Was a little reluctant to get it based on reviews but glad I did. Love the fit.

February 28, 2017

Great Product!

I am happy I bought this. It is very warm and comfortable. I would recommend this product to a friend and plan on buying more when Patagonia has their 50% off sale!

February 27, 2017

Great jacket

Great product. I originally bought a medium,however,the fit was a little too large. I returned the sweater for a small and enjoy the fit much better.

February 26, 2017

Great fit. Comfortable.

Looks good. Warm. Love it. Good for work or casual.

February 25, 2017

Better sweater is a favorite

I love better sweaters but by the time the sales come on the sizes are few. I usually wear a womens large...like them a little loose. This one I ordered was a mens small....perfect fit! Love the royal blue.

February 25, 2017

Better Sweater = Awesome

I could live in this sweater and rotate between my Synchilla Snap-T fleece. But I have to wash them occasionally. And it would be a little strange. Awesome product though.

February 25, 2017

Super Comfortable and Fits Great!

Have had this for over a month now and it's one of my favorites. Fits well and it keeps my body temp regulated much better than I thought it would.

February 25, 2017

Comfort!

I'm actually thinking of getting more in this style. They are phenomenal

February 25, 2017

Very warm,great quality

Bought this sweater about a month ago,typically i wear a large as i am 6'1,175lbs but i opted for the medium and sure glad i did. This fit perfect on my build. Great quality,extremely warm and looks great.

February 25, 2017

Great fit and color

Fit is good. Comfortable and warm. True color. Wears well

February 25, 2017

Not the good old days

Believe the reviews that indicate the new product is one size too big,although that seems to be true across the board at Patagonia now. I was a reliable XL for years but that size runs like a tent for me now,while the sleeves on an L are too short. Also feels thinner and less durable than my five or six year old better sweater.

February 25, 2017

FUN AND WARM!

I have three of these and love their utility and design. I wear these all day long in the winter. They are good for the sail,hike,movie,outdoor concert,farmers market or out to dinner; a near perfect garment,with grreat colors.

February 19, 2017

Pullover

Awesome / will buy more! Recommend this purchase Do buy it

February 11, 2017

Great sweater!

I have purchased and worn 4 of these sweaters and they are fantastic feeling and they wear and hold their shape for years

February 11, 2017

Warmest jacket ever

I bought this jacket for my boyfriend and he loves it! He says it's so warm. Runs big so I would definitely size down!

February 11, 2017

Disappointed with changes

We have bought a number of Better Sweater 1/4 zips over the years. This year we bought 3. it seems as if the fit has changed. The two-toned version seemed to be a different fabric and was very boxy compared with previous versions. It seemed tight in the shoulders and very short/ loose at the bottom. Strange.....

February 11, 2017

AMAZING!!

This sweatshirt is truly one of a kind. Throughout you can see the amazing workmanship and the quality of materials. The inside is as soft as ever and it will keep you very warm. Only note is that they fit a little big.

February 10, 2017

The "Go To" pull over!

This is the "great for everything" pull over. From Mountain Biking on cool Fall Michigan days to Snowboarding bitter Michigan Winters and just as appropriate lounging around the campfire to after ski wear. This is the go every where and wear anytime 3 season pull over. Not to mention it looks good enough to wear to church or out to dinner... Read More. I'm an athletic 5'9" 220# and the extra large fits well,but its a bit long in the sleeves.

February 6, 2017

The best all-around sweater there is

Bought this a week ago and I already love it. My usual day includes school and either a walk around town or a hike/climb before the sun sets. Wearing this and a long-sleeve shirt underneath has kept me toasty in 40-50 degree weather,but not too hot even in the 60 degree range. Looks great and is crafted beautifully. This is the first Patagonia prod... Read Moreuct I've ever bought/worn,and it's made so well that it's astounding. Would definitely recommend as something to throw over a shirt on the cooler days.

February 4, 2017

Patagonia 1/2 zip pullover

Bought this for my husband and he loves it. Very warm.

February 4, 2017

Very Nice and It FITS

If you long for the days of the old Patagonia comfortable feel like a slacker fit then this sweater's for you. I'm 5'10" 195 and a large fits me perfectly so I bought two.

February 4, 2017

Patagonia,in league with the devil?

I'll kidding aside this is my favorite article of clothing since it arrived to here three weeks ago. So very warm and comfortable and seems to make my 6 foot five 255 pounds look slightly less fat. love it! Warning this pullover is great for casualwear and even exercise but not for work like carrying firewood or doing anything that would abrad... Read Moree the outside. When used as intended it is wonderful

February 2, 2017

The Best

I got this in the rust color for my husband for Christmas. I am serious when I say that he has only taken it off long enough to wash since then! He absolutely loves everything about it!! Thank You Patagonia!

January 29, 2017

warm and comfortable

I bought this for Christmas for my son,it is warm,cozy and looks great

January 29, 2017

Great product - not the greatest fit

This is my second Better Sweater. They are my go to pullover for the winter in the Pacific Northwest and I wear one just about everyday from October through April. It is incredibly warm,sturdy,breathable and I can wear it on the hiking trail or to the office. My only issue with the sweater,and most of Patagonia clothing,is the cut. I am 5'10&q... Read Moreuot; and have broad shoulders and chest so I need to buy extra large to fit my upper body nicely but they are all too long and bulky in the waist. Patagonia - can you make a cut for burly dudes?

January 29, 2017

Quality remains great

Very satisfied with my order and the continued quality of Patagonia products.

January 28, 2017

Everyday wear

I have 4 of these and this time of year am always wearing one of them. Warmth and comfort w/o bulk. Good on its own or as a layer.

January 28, 2017

Great fit

Received as Christmas gift. My first Patagonia. It's so warm.

January 28, 2017

Pretty Dang Good

This fleece is very comfortable and warm. Overall I would recommend this product but there are two flaws in it. 1. The inside pocket is not sewn into the jacket so when you pull it over your head it feels like you would be in danger of ripping it 2. Although it is warm wind goes through it very easily. Overall though its a nice product!

January 24, 2017

LOVE!

I've loved the better sweater for so long and have seen it on so many people (especially the stonewash color) I decided I had to get it. I ran into an issue with the women's slim fit sizing (I'm a girl). I wanted a more loose fitting sweatshirt-like fit so I decided to order a men's XS. I'm usually a woman's small and ... Read Morethis fits perfectly! The only difference I could see in the two was the placement of the zippered pocket. I absolutely love this pullover and am extremely happy with my purchase. I wear it nearly everyday and I love the fact that its very comfortable and warm but still makes me look pulled together.

January 24, 2017

Great fit !!

I bought this for my grandson for one of his Christmas gifts . He loves the way it fits and wears his Patagonia all the time.

January 23, 2017

Terrible regression in quality & fit vs. past

Anybody giving this or last year's better sweaters more than a 1-star vote has never owned them until now as the quality and fit of the product has deteriorated materially,almost comically so,vs. prior years' versions. And,that deterioration is not confined to just one aspect of the sweater - it compasses nearly the entire thing. First,th... Read Moree fit on the arms and through the mid-section is atrociously and embarrassingly large vs. previous versions - anybody used to smalls in the previous versions will swim in the smalls,mediums the same,and so on. Second,for some odd reason the collar on the new versions has to be 0.5"-1.0" taller than in the past; whereas the previous ones were a perfect length that covered the neck but didn't uncomfortably ride up on the face,the new one reaches my jaw/ears. Third,where does one begin on the enormously sized steel anchors,err,zippers,that annoyingly adorn the new versions vs. the small,barely noticeable and rubber-tipped ones from the past? Fourth,per others' comments,the thickness of the lining/material vs. the past ones is much depleted and thinned out. Fifth and lastly,good luck on getting any consistency with respect to the location of the Patagonia logo relative to the location of the pocket/zipper from sweater to sweater as it's never aligned in exactly the same spot. All in,this was once my single-favorite product from the company; indeed,arguably my single favorite piece of clothing in the winter,but unfortunately,Patagonia has completely screwed the pooch. What's so disappointing about it as a life-time advocate and buyer of the brand is that the company,from what I can tell,hasn't taken the time to respond to a single one of the many complaints that mirror this one in the review section,nor has it given any indication that it plans on rectifying this major deterioration and deviation in product quality any time soon. So incredibly disappointed with the brand; if they can screw this one up with impunity and lack of care,I'd imagine we should expect it everywhere else across the product line-up in the not too distant future.

January 22, 2017

Excellent Quality

I bought this for my son for Christmas and he loves it! Looks great on him and it wears well. I will definitely be purchasing more products from Patagonia.

January 22, 2017

Warmth,comfort & durability

My son loves it! I have a hard time getting him to not wear it,long enough that I can wash it.lol

January 21, 2017

A quality product!

I bought a number of them for a group of teenagers (and we know how picky they can be) and they not only chose them but when they received them,they were thrilled. Warm,soft,excellent quality,and form fitting (a bit more for the women's model).

January 21, 2017

Awesome Sweater

I bought one for each of my 2 sons for Christmas .They love them!!!! Very sharp looking,durable and warm.

January 21, 2017

LOVE IT!

Beat jacket that I have ever purchased! Would recommend it to anyone

January 21, 2017

Pullover

Bought this a month ago. Only problem is the sleeves are to long. Great fit very comfortable and warm.

January 18, 2017

the fit is bad

I've purchased both better sweaters,the full zip and quarter zip. honestly I am disappointed in these items. I am average build and medium always fits me in whatever I buy. These sweaters run way to big. The sleeves are too long,and more importantly the cuffs are too loose,so the sleeve falls over my hands. On one of the sweaters,the cuff is b... Read Moreigger on one arm. The bottom of the sweater is also not tight enough. Another big issue I see is that the attention to detail is just not there. The fit and proportion is all wrong. My quarter zip is really wide around the mid section,so much so that I assume this must be a manufacturing error. These sweaters fit and feel like they should retail for no more than 30 bucks. I really wanted to love these sweaters but I'm just not happy with them. If you are on the fence,don't bother.

January 16, 2017

Perfect Fit

I could wear this everyday. Not too light,not to heavy. I am 5'10" and 140lbs,the Small fit perfect!

January 14, 2017

Better sweater 1/4 zip

Soft and comfortable and well made and the colors are nice

January 14, 2017

Not worth the price

Sweaters of similar quality are much cheaper. The name brand is the only reason it is so expensive.

January 13, 2017

Awesome

Bought this pullover sweater for my son. He loves it!! I can hardly get it off of him to wash it but when I do,it washes beautifully.

January 12, 2017

Great features

Bought this for my fianc' for Christmas. He loves it!

January 12, 2017

Daily wearer

Haven't experienced the polling others have. Wear it over a fezzman button down to work,around the house and out and about town. Versatile,toasty and comfy.

January 12, 2017

Stylish comfort

My son thoroughly enjoys this pullover. It's wearing well,is great for Georgia's winter weather,and is stylish to boot!

January 11, 2017

He loves it!!

Christmas gift for my son,fits great and looks great!!

January 11, 2017

Warm and comfortable

Wear it frequently to work and around town. Warm and comfortable

January 11, 2017

My husband loves it

We live in Northern New Mexico in a ski resort town and this fits right in. It's comfortable and he looks good in it.

January 11, 2017

Love it!

I bought it as a Christmas gift and he absolutely loves it!

January 11, 2017

1/4 zip

Love it. Great color,goes with everything. Can dress up or be casual. Highly recommend. A classic from Patagonia.

January 11, 2017

My monastic tunic of sorts

I wear this thing all the time -- fits my swimmer's build just fine,and seems to be tailored for tall people compared to the Snap-T for example which is undesirably more boxy. Great for casual hiking,as a base layer in serious cold,not to mention office warmth when hammering at the computer. The Legend of Better Sweater!

January 11, 2017

Great color and fit

I gave this to my teenage son for Christmas and he has worn it almost every day!

January 11, 2017

Great Sweater

I've purchased three of these sweaters in different colors. Our adult sons love this sweater for everyday casual wear. The sweater is well made and warm.

January 11, 2017

Real Comfort!

Love the style and the way it fits! Would enjoy purchasing other items.

January 11, 2017

Great!

its true to size and color. super soft and warm. great looking jacket.

January 11, 2017

My son's new go-to layer

I bought this for my freshman son for Xmas. It is a great substitute for a sweatshirt and he wears it all the time. It is warm enough to replace a light jacket and an excellent layer during the colder New England winter days.

January 11, 2017

Great look fit not so great

My husband returned because felt tight in armpits but next size up was big all over

January 11, 2017

Very Comfortable and fits well

The material feels great. The fit is true to size.

January 11, 2017

Need to steal it from my son to wash it

My son rarely takes it off his body. Very roomy & comfy. High quality material and washes really well,with very little shrinkage.

January 11, 2017

1/4 zip

I bought this as a gift and my boyfriend loves it!

January 11, 2017

First Patagonia Sweater - I love it!

Just bought this on Black Friday and it's been my go-to sweater during the winter. It's light,warm,and looks great! Perfect sizing as well. Height - 6'0 Weight - 150 lbs Relatively slender guy - hope this helps!

January 11, 2017

Awesome

Love this pullover. Bought 2 of them and wear them all the time

January 11, 2017

Men's Better Sweater 1/4 zip

I bought this for my husband in the Bleached Stone color for Christmas. He loved it. Wore it every day for a week. Bought a size xxl because he is tall and needs the length. Fit was perfect.

January 11, 2017

Looks great,very warm

I bought one for my dad in the hunter green and one for my husband in the two-tone grey and both really liked them. I think the grey one is very modern and looks good on younger gents.

January 11, 2017

Great Quality

Bought this for my husband - he loves it and it looks great on him. Like it so well have purchased another color.

January 11, 2017

Men's 1/4 zip love it

Bought it as a gift for my boyfriend. He loves it wears it all the time.

January 11, 2017

Love it

My husband absolutely loves this sweater! Quality is excellent,fits great! Wears it all the time.

January 11, 2017

Great sweater!

I bought this for my high school age son's birthday and he loves it! It is warm without being too warm,and looks great with anything from sweatpants,jeans or khakis. He is 6'0" and lean,and the L fits well.

January 11, 2017

Great Investment Piece

I bought this as a gift and It was well received. Warm,stylish,and comfortable as well as durable. I have been a fan of Patagonia for years and will continue to purchase sustainable clothing with them.

January 11, 2017

Not thrilled

I was a bit disappointed with the fabric used as it is 100% polyester,(not stated when purchased) ,too large and billowed at the bottom and the sleeves are too tight to pull up. Overall for the cost I was extremely disappointed that Patagonia would put their name on this product.

January 11, 2017

Nice Sweater

I bought 4 for my grandson's and they were all very happy with three gift

January 11, 2017

Disappointed

This wasn't warm at all! Not even a little bit! I returned it immediately.

January 11, 2017

Amazingly comfortable in cold

This pullover has been amazing to wear in 30 degree temps. It saves me from having to constantly carry a jacket which is a win in my book!

January 11, 2017

Wonderful fleece

Definitely recommend the better sweater in black and grey,great fit and perfect 2nd layer.

January 11, 2017

Very pleased!

I bought this as a gift for my nephew and was totally pleased! Awesome quality!

January 11, 2017

Great Sweatshirt

I bought this for my two sons they fit great and look fantastic on.

January 11, 2017

Nice but short

Christmas gift. Nice but a bit short in length - could be a little longer

January 11, 2017

Overall awesome product!

My husband loved his first Better Sweater that I had to purchase him a 2nd one!! The material and fit are awesome (for reference he's 5'10" and is around 150lb and he wears a M). He gets several compliments every time he wears it,never disappointed with you guys!

January 11, 2017

Yup,it's a Better Sweater!

Always impressed with Patagonia and the BS is a classic. Like most sweaters,wind goes right through but incredibly warm when layered.

January 11, 2017

Comfy. Huge zipper pulls.

This is my second better sweater. I loved my first one to death. The new one is the same. With the same love except... They changed the metal zipper pills to these huge clunky things. I don't need these big cheep looking things hanging from my neck. I'm sure this was a cost saving thing patagonia did. But I didn't buy a cheap fleece ... Read Moresweater for a reason.

January 11, 2017

Looks and feels good

Runs a little large but the smaller size is a little bit difficult to take off. The bottom hem is not very stretch. It is very well made and keeps me warm and looks good. I had to return the Medium (my normal Patagonia size) and get the small.

January 11, 2017

Mom

Gift for my 20 year old..he loves it. Fits nicely-he's tall with long arms so has fit challenges frequently.

January 11, 2017

The best sweater ever

I bought this for my boyfriend and it is just perfect. The quarter zip is perfect and it fits just as expected. It is very warm but also roomy. It is light weight so fits nice under coats!! Overall this is a buy it for life sweater :)

January 11, 2017

Great jacket

A solid pullover that keeps you warm. I'm wearing it as I write this!

January 11, 2017

Super warm

Super warm,great quality. Larger fit than expected.

January 11, 2017

Nicely constructed

I wear this quite a bit. While i like it very much,the inside has a bit of a rough interior where I would have expected a higher level of suppleness

January 10, 2017

Good quality,poor fit

Just received my better sweater in nickel today. Good quality material,soft and comfortable. Typical Patagonia. What's not typical or understandable is the fit of the sweater. I'm 6'0",190lbs and moderately muscular. The size L sweater fits perfectly across my chest,shoulders and arms,but for some reason the torso/ abdomen secti... Read Moreon is like a billowing skirt around my midsection. Why on earth would this be cut like a box? I understand that it's "regular fit" and not "slim" or "tailored," but when I turn side to side the baggy excess material slaps around like a flapper's skirt in the '20s. This doesn't make any sense. Patagonia clothing is generally geared towards fitness-minded,outdoorsy-type customers who I would assume aren't all carrying an extra 30-40lbs in their midsection. I think they missed the mark on this one. Unfortunately I'll have to send this back. Very disappointed.

December 28, 2016

Outstanding product - first time customer

I love the 1/4 Zip Better Sweater. I guess I must have missed the whole 2014 thing but this item is my first Patagonia product and I love it. I wear it in 30 degree weather by itself and its warm. The sweater is thick but moves well. I am 6ft 205 and I fit into the medium comfortably. I like slimmer fits and the medium works well on me. Sleeve leng... Read Moreth and torso length are spot on and I have longer arms. I cannot wait to take this thing camping and hiking!

December 14, 2016

Not up to standards

Had a great one from 2010. Thicker,softer,better collar,right sleeve length for a true medium. This one is thinner,flimsy,awkwardly long sleeves,and thin collar. Gotta say Patagonia quality isn't what it was a few years ago.

October 15, 2016

Pilling

I have two of these,one from 2011 and one from 2014. It may be unavoidable,but the pilling that happens after a few washes really diminishes the look of these sweaters. Unfortunately the 2011 version has also shrunk to the point of being unwearable. I like the styling and the fit initially,but it's a bummer they end up looking like they do. Fr... Read Moreom other reviews,it also sounds like they've even downgraded the fabric and zippers on the latest iteration. Buyer beware.

October 10, 2016

Versatile and comfortable

Comfortable,good weight sweater or sweatshirt replacement. Good styling for casual and around the office.

October 9, 2016

Doesn't disappoint

Bought this for my fall trip to Quebec and it is perfect for cool to colder days. Layered under my shell it's great in the fall wet weather. It's almost too warm on a day above 55 since it's so thick.

October 1, 2016

Keeps my boy warm!

Bought this for my boyfriend and he LOVES it! I ordered up for him so he could layer under it and he loves the fit. Great product!

September 19, 2016

Decline in quality and design from Patagonia

As others have already alluded to,this new version of the classic better sweater is far inferior.Compared to the style of previous years ( of which I own several),it uses inferior thinner material,a far inferior zip and is both poorly designed and badly tailored,being far too baggy round the midriff and far too long.The collar is frankly cheap with... Read More no zipper "gate" to stop the cheap overly large zipper from swinging around. Indeed it is so obviously a much inferior version ( when compared to the previous ) that one must assume Patagonia knows this....but is still happy to sell it. To say I'm disappointed with Patagonia would be an understatement.

August 29, 2016

Not the same

Completely agree with previous reviews. Not the same as prior year models. The ones I bought from 2013-2014 were so much better. The material was better - thicker and less pilling. The zipper was better. The fit was better (not so boxy). The collar was better (less high) and looked better. I LOVED the earlier models (have three). Not a fan of the ... Read Morelatest iteration.

May 21, 2016

Great quality

This was my first Patagonia purchase and it did not disappoint! Will be purchasing the jacket next. It is a little baggy on me I'm 6'2 125lbs and I got the xl ,but I find it very comfortable. The materials used in making this product are far superior then other brands.

April 2, 2016

Essential purchase!!

I am in love. The 1/4-Zip better sweater is my to-go piece of clothing for essentially every occasion. I wear the Better Sweater to school,work,out with friends,skiing in the Winter,ect. The material is of high quality,and the fit is true to size. After multiple runs through the washer/dryer it is still good as new! I actually have three different ... Read Morecolors and LOVE them. Many of my close friends actually question when I am not wearing my Better Sweater. LOVE!

March 21, 2016

TOO SHORT IN THE WAIST

I have bought these for my two boys one is 6.6 and the other is 6.0,both complain it is way too short. It would be great if Patagonia would make a tall in this sweater. I wish Patagonia would make a tall version. That is my only complaint other then that they are very nice.

March 3, 2016

Noticeable deterioration in quality and design

Consumer confidence and brand loyalty are two precious,but very delicate things. This year's Better Sweater line exhibits a noticeable deterioration in quality and design that I find very disappointing. I've been a repeat customer for several years,but after purchasing the most recent Better Sweater line,I'm concerned with the path P... Read Moreatagonia has chosen to take from a quality perspective. We've all experienced this before ' we discover a functional product we love,only to find that next year's model gets a massive reduction in quality (but never in price). I'm disappointed to say that another one bites the dust. I rate this item '3 stars' for the following reasons: a)Zipper -' bulky low quality YKK zippers replaced what was once a smaller,sturdier,and thoughtfully designed zipper,which included an awesome 'zipper garage' feature at the top of the collar to hold the zipper in place. When a company chooses to degrade something as trivial as zippers to save a few cents,this begs the question,what else are they willing to sacrifice? To me,this was their 'tell',and unfortunately just the tip of the iceberg. b)Collar -' this model features a longer and thinner collar with just a single line of piping around the top. These changes have a noticeable impact not only on its appearance but also on its ability to stand up. The previous collar was slightly shorter,built stronger and was lined with double piping that made it much more resilient. c)Material -' overall thinner feeling fabric that appears to be less tightly knit. I have not washed mine (since I plan to return),but other customer reviews mention more frequent pilling after wash (but I can't personally attest to this). d)Fit '- wider around the body,longer arms,and overall looser fit. These changes may be welcomed by taller/longer or less athletically built consumers,but personally I prefer the previous fitted style. Despite the drawbacks mentioned above,this is not a terrible product. For the first-time buyer,a functional (but diluted) product still exists,and now in a variety of new colors. But unfortunately,the thoughtful design features that helped to strengthen the reputation of this product,and stood as an example of durability and quality for which the Patagonia brand is typically associated with,have largely been eliminated. My individual critiques of this product are less concerning than the overall implications of a potentially pervasive dip in quality across Patagonia clothing. I only hope these implications are considered when designing the next iteration of the Better Sweater (and future products); otherwise,buyer beware.

February 16, 2016

Baggy

Have been a Patagonia customer for a number of years. In general,really happy with company's products,but recent purchase of M's Better Sweater is disappointing. Already have the Better Sweater Sleeveless Vest,which I'm very satisfied with. However,this Sweater version is not the same quality of material (thinner/more porous) and sup... Read Moreer baggy. Thought I'd use it for outdoor running,skiing and other activities,but it's not at all fitted. Guess I'll use it for hanging out.

February 14, 2016

Go back to the 2014 model!

There is a notieable difference in quality between this years better sweater and the 2014 model (For the worse). The fabric/construction quality feels cheaper,the sleeves are disproportionately long compared to the body,the collar is too tall,and the YKK zippers aren't large and feel cheap compared to past seasons. Please make this a one year ... Read Moreblip,and go back to making what you made prior to 2015,even if you have to raise the price!

February 9, 2016

Still good, 2014 was better.

Got my first Patagonia in 2014 in the black color. It's held up pretty well, albeit some pilling I'll have to take care of. I wore it so much I decided to buy a different color this year. There are some notable differences between the 2015 version and 2014 version. Zippers are a little bit stiffer and thicker, they now use YKK zippers. Th... Read Moree fleece I've noticed is also a bit stiffer. The neck collar is WAY higher than on the 2014 version. Fits more like a Synchilla collar. Other than that, still a really good sweater that I'll wear to death.

February 8, 2016

Runs huge

I've gotta say,I'm pretty disappointed. I normally don't write reviews,but I had to for this purchase. I ordered two Large sweaters,and they run HUGE. I'm 5'11" and 190lbs,and these sweaters hang way down below my butt. The midsection is also awkwardly baggy; it doesn't taper in at all like it should. Shoulders an... Read Mored arms fit great,although the sleeves are a little bit long. I have been a huge Patagonia fan for a while now,but this was my first Better Sweater purchase. As I've already stated,I'm pretty disappointed. I rarely wear Mediums,but that's what I'll be ordering after I return these. Hopefully those fit better. All things considered,quality of material is great.

February 4, 2016

Great quality for the price!

I've had mine for a little over a month and I'm going to go ahead and tell you,It's warm! Depending on the temperature,you may or may not want to wear it,because if its warm outside,you'll probably sweat. Great for the cooler months!

January 23, 2016

Excellent quality,nice color and warm

I bought this pullover to keep warm during the winter while in college. I am a 5'11" and 170 pounds and I ordered a large. Upon receiving it,one can immediately feel the quality in the material: thick,durable,and the fleece on the inside is very soft. I can wear this 1/4-zip both inside and outside and it keeps me very warm. In terms of s... Read Moreize,per other reviews on here,I was anxious about it being too big,but I found actually that the pullover fit me very well and the sleeves were the perfect length. I would say the one weakness in this pullover is that,on blustery days,cold air can blow through the pullover,so you may want another layer over it. I wear this around all the time now and I see many others wearing the same,as well. The colors are very nice,the style fits well for both younger and older owners and I receive many compliments on it. Will definitely be ordering more!

January 9, 2016

I'll take three more

Comfortable, warm and lightweight. Have worn for several weeks and no signs of pilling or wear whatsoever. Great for lounging around and walk abouts. At 6'3" and 200 pounds, the Large fits me as if it was custom made.

January 9, 2016

Who's is supposed to wear this?!

Just an all around awkward fit. No matter what Size I try the sleeves are way too long. I guess this would be a good sweater if you have really long arms. It's a shame because you can tell it's a quality jackets,but the sizing is just bad. If really want one go to an outdoorsy store locally and try em on first.

December 27, 2015

Comfortable jacket

This is a very comfortable fleece. Easy to wear, can be dressy or casual. I was wondering though, is it normal for the length of the front to be shorter than the length of the back?

December 25, 2015

Runs large

I just received one of these for Christmas. I am 6' and 180 lbs., and the large was too big. The sleeves had about 1.5 extra inches (35 inch dress shirt size), and the length went down nearly to the crotch. The size was good in the shoulders, but was bulky around the mid section. I don't wear a medium in anything else, but may try with th... Read Moreis item.

December 16, 2015

My New Favorite

I don't normally post reviews, but with this one, I just had to. Patagonia Better Sweaters are downright amazing. Fits true to size, I'm 6'1", 170 lbs, and it's the perfect fit. Not baggy, not tight, but just enough room to be able to maneuver when doing activities outdoors. Great for everyday wear, can be dressed up with a... Read More sports shirt, or more casual with just a t-shirt underneath. Warm considering the weight of the fleece, I've worn it in 40 degree weather comfortably. Also comes in a variety of colors. You can't go wrong.

November 29, 2015

This item needs to be

This item needs to be offered in tall Your product is of superior quality however size is limited when ordering for tall people nothing is available in tall.

November 29, 2015

Dressy, but still warm

I've owned my pullover for about a year now. These past few winters in Michigan have been very cold and snowy. I wanted something that would be a bit more on the presentable side, but that could still put up a fight when the cold and wind marshaled in full. My verdict is this: This thing is great as long as it isn't windy, It works very w... Read Moreell with a shell, and it combines many aspects of other things that Patagonia makes. If you are here for warmth the Snap-T or something made with down would probably be a better bet. This thing is great for everyday wear (I've worn it probably three days a week this entire year), but it is less suited to more extreme climates and activities. In short, this pullover is exactly what Patagonia promises. Nothing more; nothing less.

November 27, 2015

All Around Great Jacket

I disagree with some of the other reviews, there is a zipper garage, it is much smaller and less cumbersome which in my mind is a plus. If you are looking for a jacket for longer trips, I wouldn't recommend it. It is great for walking around town and being somewhat active. It is not too light so not the best for thru-hikers. I still love it an... Read Mored use it everywhere I go just short of the trails.

November 23, 2015

Best sweater for any given day

I just received my Better Sweater, this is my second one. I just keep falling deeper in love with in Patagonia. I read some complains about the new cut of the latest version! I loved it! It's just perfect. I am 5'11'' and 190 pounds, medium complexion. The M size fits perfect, not too loose, not to tight!

November 5, 2015

Quality has gone down hill but the price has not

This is my second Better Sweater. The first one was great and the second one is okay but I did mark some noticeable changes in quality. The new one doesn't have a zipper garage at top of the zipper anymore. The zipper pulls are bulkier and cheaper looking. The stitching and construction has also changed as well. It seem like a watered down ver... Read Moresion of the original but for the same price. I expected more from Patagonia. Disappointed.

November 2, 2015

Staple Sweater

This is a perfect sweater. It's warm, durable, and bridges the gap between casual and formal quite well. It looks at home with jeans and a T-Shirt as well as a pair of khakis and a tie.

October 28, 2015

Better sweater

This is a great 1/4 zip sweater that has multiple uses. Skiing, casual wear, hiking, treckking, climbing come to mind. It is a great fit, and very well made. _

October 17, 2015

Awesome all round sweater

I'm 5'10, 175 lbs and the Medium fits perfect, not too big and not too small. This is a great mid layer or just a solid sweater on those slightly cooler days. Zero complaints and loving it. Cheers.

October 9, 2015

This one stays in the jeep.

Well worth the price tag. The near c-note is at times hard to justify on just a fleece, but from what I can tell so far its well worth it. I am a student at Rutgers University and this fleece has proven to be able to be easily stowed away in my backpack without taking up to much space or adding to much weight. The fit is also pleasing. I am 5'... Read More10" and 140 pounds and the Medium fits wonderfully over a t-shirt or a Button Up. Fall in New Jersey can mean temps ranging from the 40s-80s the 1/4 zip makes it easy to go on and off without much issue.

September 23, 2015

Better Sweater - Best Sweater

Once again, the better sweater proves to be right in the sweet spot for warmth and comfort. Just enough to keep you warm, but not too much that you can't go for a walk without sweating. Solid construction. This is not my first better sweater and it probably won't be my last. On sizing, this is very standard for Patagonia; the medium is on... Read More the small side, the large is on the large size. I have both sizes and find myself right in between (athletic, 5'10" 177lbs).

September 21, 2015

The Better Sweater: An All Around Great Jacket

I purchased the Patagonia Men's Better Sweater _-zip Fleece for the versatility, comfort, and fit. In this review I will critique the product based on these criteria and my experience using the product. The Better Sweater is an all-around great purchase. I believe it is a great addition to your spring or fall wardrobe, especially when the wea... Read Morether is transitioning. Weather in Midwest is very unpredictable. In the spring and fall months, the temperature is around fifty degrees throughout the morning and warms up to about seventies in the afternoon. In the winter, it is often bitterly cold due the large gusts of wind and blowing snow. I live off campus and walk to my classes each day; I need clothes that are versatile and practical and I have found that with the better sweater. This product is useful for a variety of activities and is extremely versatile. I would strongly recommend it for general everyday wear because it is functional yet fashionable. This sweater can be worn alone as a jacket during the spring or fall months, but also works well for layering when the weather gets cold. The _-zip makes it easily pulled on over tee shirts or long sleeve shirts. The variety of colors is great for finding exactly what complements your style. I currently have the stonewash sweater and find it great for matching a diverse number of outfits. I really enjoy the flexibility of this sweater and will certainly be purchasing more Better Sweaters in the future. This sweater has moderate thickness but soft polyester fleece material that makes it warm and comfortable. I often wear it to relax in or lounge around the house in. The comfort of this sweater makes me thoroughly enjoy wearing the piece and really adds to its versatility. This product is great for keeping you warm during brisk mornings, but is lightweight and can easily be packed away when it warms up in the afternoon. The sweater is true to size and fits the measurements that are stated on the Patagonia website. I believe the arm, neck, and chest sizing are appropriate, but I wish it were a bit slimmer fitting around the waist. A slim fit option would allow customers to make purchases that more appropriately match their style and body type. Ultimately, this is a product I would highly recommend. The versatility and comfort strongly overpower the slight bulkiness around the waist. If you are comparing this sweater to other pullovers or sweatshirts this product definitely gives you a lot for you money.

September 18, 2015

Very good sweater

Very good sweater very comfortable and warm. I've had my sweater for about a year now and I can defiantly say that this is one of the best Patagonia products I have purchased. I plan on purchasing another one.

September 18, 2015

Go to Fall outerwear

Absolutely love this piece of gear as its very comfortable and stylish as well. Nice for cool mornings around town. I don't use it much for physical activity as it heats up too quick for my liking but it has found its way under my ski shell at the mountain and worked well. Sizing is always odd with Patagonia stuff, sometimes I'm a large a... Read Morend sometimes an extra large. This one I have is a large, I'm 6'2" and 215 lbs with a 33 inch waist, so I'm obviously top heavy. It fits well but i can't layer much under it other than a long sleeve T-shirt, which is fine with me. I tried on an extra large and it was too wide at the waist for my liking. I highly recommend this product and i bought it after my wife having one for years. And on a side note, my wife's got a big burn hole in it from an ember from a campfire and Patagonia was able to repair it.

August 31, 2015

Great sweater

This is my 5th Ms Better Sweater 1/4 Zip that I've purchased on the past 3 years. They are fantastic, very comfortable, and durable. My most recent was purchased this month (2-tone blue) seems to be slightly more snug in the upper chest and upper arms - not overly objectionable, but just a bit restrictive. Whatever Patagonia did with the specs... Read More for the current one, Patagonia needs to go back to previous specs. While I can comfortably wear the previous 4 over a long-sleeve shirt, I can't with the new one. I'm 5'9" and 150 cyclist with 38" jacket size - slight upper body and most of my shirts are either SM or M, depending on manufacturer. All my M sweaters are M size. I dropped the rating to 4 stars because of the fit. Will I purchase another? Most likely but I'll try it on first, rather than order online.

August 25, 2015

One of my favorite articles of clothing

I own several of these things. They're pricey, but flexible enough to wear to work one day, and then under a shell the next. Great fit (small/true to size), comfortable and pretty durable.

August 24, 2015

Good but...

Overall I like this fleece. However, I wish the elastic around the waist was tighter or that there was an adjustable cinch cord. The fleece always bows out around my waist allowing wind to easily enter and making for a less than ideal fit. This has not been a problem on the Synchillas I have owned.

August 19, 2015

You Can't Stop At One!

I started with the black one and just fell in love with it. The fit is perfect and it's comfortable enough to sleep in. I have worn it to casual dinners, to work, trek and while just lounging. It's warm and acts a veritable shield when worn as a layer. After putting my black one through so much I got insecure and bought more. : )

August 15, 2015

Classy and comfortable

Very comfortable and warm, but still feels light when walking around. I travel with it constantly. It compresses down well in a day pack, but also looks classy enough that you could wear it in (slightly) more formal situations than hiking.

August 8, 2015

Classy

This is a nice fleece that looks great on the colder days. I walk or bike to work and in the fall and spring this keeps me warm. The fleece is soft, and pretty durrible. The neck can be a little tight at times but usually it's not a problem. As far as fit goes its reasonablly large. A can't say that it runs big, because I'm very skin... Read Moreny. I have a medium which is fine and a better fit in the cold but if I was going for style a small would be my choice. All in all. A solid choice that is earth friendly too.

June 14, 2015

Better Sweater 1/4 Zip Pullover

This sweater is absolutely the best purchase I have made from Patagonia. I wear it from early fall through late spring to keep warm. It is outstanding quality. Have never had a problem with any of the fabric after 2 years of ownership. The only thing that could make this a better product is a little more wind proofing. Absolution worth owning if it... Read More gets below 55 out where you live.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches