burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Better Sweater 1/4-zip Fleece Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 541 Reviews

Clear All

Men's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.8/5
True To Size
January 31, 2023

All good

Warm and comfy.

January 29, 2023

Don't hesitate just go get it while it last.

It is worth to buy. Good quality and keep my hubby warm

January 27, 2023

Nice pleasing casual look

The charcoal color is very nice for every day dress. Appropriate for most cool to cold weather. Delivery was very fast to our home. My wife is very happy with the purchase. Highly recommend.

January 24, 2023

Excellent Feel

The sweater is a 1/4zip that fits perfectly (xxl) for my size and weight. It keeps me warm in the cool mornings and is very comfortable. I strongly recommend this item.

January 23, 2023

Great product

Excellent fit and comfort! Highly recommend for those customers who reside in the Southeast US where the climate is moderate during winter months.

January 22, 2023

Great Print

This pullover rocks

January 21, 2023

Fits perfectly

Fits perfectly. Feels well made. Warm, great by itself or as a layer.

January 20, 2023

Do not wash

Everything works fine until I washed it. After the clothes were washed, the surface of the clothes raised a lot of small pompoms, which looked particularly dirty and could not be removed. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2023

We're very sorry to hear that you've experienced excessive pilling on your Better Sweater. We recommend turning it inside out, closing all zippers, and washing and drying according to our [Product Care Guide](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) and try removing the pilling with a fabric shaver or sweater stone. If this doesn't help, please reach out to your local Patagonia-owned store or contact our Customer Service team to discuss your options under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to help!

January 20, 2023

I ordered this for my

I ordered this for my son so the size and height are for him. He was very happy with it.

January 20, 2023

Well-Made

I wear this almost everyday (too much) to work and after, and it looks the same as the day it arrived. Its warm and looks fantastic.

January 19, 2023

Very Comfortable For the Workplace

When I mean comfortable I mean the actual fit and feel but also how you dont feel under dressed during working hours, its the perfect addition for professional environments and fun ones!

January 17, 2023

Warm but not Hot

Got this for Christmas and haven't taken it off since. For years I spent winters in fleece pull overs, which didn't breathe much and could get too warm indoors. The "Better Sweater's" advantage is its knit fabric with a fleecy interior that maintains an ideal balance of warmth and a light airy quality. Nice fit as well.

January 16, 2023

Great pullover - have every color and this one is the most versatile.

Love these pullovers. Warm. Cozy. Stylish!

January 16, 2023

My go to for cold winter days

This sweater is the warmest 1/4 zip. Super comfy and fits well. Living in northern Midwest, our days are cold and this sweater suits everyday life. Its my 4th better sweater. I cant have enough of them.

January 14, 2023

I like this product and

I like this product and have bought three in different colors.

January 14, 2023

Top notch

First purchase and definitely not my last purchase. Top top quality stuff.

January 12, 2023

Comfortable and Warm

I wear my better sweater anytime that I need a bit of extra warmth, it serves equally well as a top layer on a cool fall day or as an insulating layer on a cold day of skiing. I do wonder about the zipped chest pocket, as I haven't really found a good use for it. I recommend this sweater for anyone.

January 10, 2023

Cozy and practical

True to size, soft on the inside and warm. Perfect for the everchanging California climate. I haven't taken it off much since I got it.

January 9, 2023

Warm and comfy

Warm and cozy. Fit was a little larger. Product of good quality.

January 8, 2023

Sizing is off

I already own a better sweater which I bought 4 years ago. It fits great. I bought a second color recently but returned it because the arms were way too baggy. The rest of the sweater was fine, its not as long as my previous one, but the baggy arms ruined the sweater for me.

January 8, 2023

Super comfortable & warm

The better sweater is an amazing fleece. It runs true to size, fits comfortably but looks stylish and trim, not bulky like other fleeces. The feel is very comfortable and the tight weave provides great warmth without feeling at all heavy. Looks great and feels great. My wife gave it to me as a gift and I wear it all the time! I highly recommend thi... Read Mores terrific fleece for fit, style, feel, comfort, warmth & versatility.

January 7, 2023

Pilling within a week

This fleece is warm but it started pilling heavily within a week of use. Have only used it lightly and have not put in the wash yet either. Read a lot of reviews before purchasing this and did not think it would be an issue. Would not recommend this product.

Response from Patagonia
January 19, 2023

Hey Nora, thanks for the review. We're very sorry to hear of the premature pilling, we'll report this to our product team. In the meantime, you're welcome to start a warranty evaluation on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 6, 2023

Great quality & warm

Both of my boys have worn Patagonia ¼ zips over their polo shirts (private school dress code) in the colder months for years. They love them! And I love them because they hold up to the many washes they get & still look great. I highly recommend them.

January 5, 2023

Very Comfortable

This sweater is very comfortable and regulates temperature well. It is substantial and the workmanship is excellent. I have 2 sweaters.

January 5, 2023

Warmest 1/4 zip around

The sweater is one of the best that I own. Living in the north, it is cold here for 2/3 of the year. This sweater is a go to, to stay warm. I use it for skiing, outdoors play, work and everyday wear.

January 3, 2023

Rich color and very comfortable!

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it! Great fit and length and very comfortable. The color (green) is so rich and luxurious!

January 3, 2023

Very comfy

I love the Better Sweater, it fits true to form, its comfortable and its very warm!

January 3, 2023

Stylish & Warm

Love this sweater - fits great and looks great with jeans.

January 2, 2023

Super comfortable, light weight, warm

I love the fit and weight of this sweater. It's warm for around the house on cold days. Good for those cool mornings walking the dog. Easy to layer just like all Patagonia clothes. Just add a micro puff jacket and you will be warm for those cool mornings and evenings. Let me clear, it is warm but not the warmest sweater. For the weight of it, ... Read Moreit is warm. I love this sweater!

January 2, 2023

Beautiful top

The pattern looks nicer than in the photos. I saw this locally then looked for it online. i am a woman so ordered the small based on the measurements provided. Other than it just a little long in the arm it fits perfect. it's fairly heavy and is warm. Wish Patagonia would make woman's styles in nice patterns such as this.

January 2, 2023

Great quality, color and fit

I bought this for my college-aged son for something a little nicer to wear on dates, holidays, outings, etc. I love this brand for its quality and this 1/4 zip is no exception. It's warm, soft, is a beautiful color and washes well. I would highly recommend it.

December 31, 2022

Great fit and beautiful color.

Great fit and beautiful color. Have not washed it yet but fabric looks to be very high quality and feels that way.

December 31, 2022

The perfect neck zip up sweater

I give my brother in law this sweater every Christmas. He loves them.

December 29, 2022

Nice Fit

Purchased this for my son for Christmas. He put it on right away and received compliments the entire evening

December 29, 2022

Good look

Bought these as Christmas gifts for clients of mine. They were very great full when they saw the quality of the gift. Patagonia is a great brand that people expect great quality out of.

December 29, 2022

Warm

Comfortable

December 28, 2022

The Better Sweater fits well

The Better Sweater fits well and is toasty. I can go outside in 30° weather and just wear this garment while I shovel snow. I feel it looks nice enough to wear as an outer layer if I am going our socially. I am completely happy with this purchase.

December 27, 2022

Beautiful!

I am writing this for my 15-yr-old grandson, who LOVED the sweater, and wore it all day Christmas. However, he probably won't be able to wear it next season, as he is still growing. Do you have extra long items? I've always loved Patagonia, and would like to be able to gift him again: but I need extra long next time.

Response from Patagonia
January 18, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! Sadly, at this time we do not lave "long" versions of our items. Please rest assured that we will be passing along this feedback to our Product Design Team so they can look into making longer versions of our products for situations like this.

December 27, 2022

Nicely arm

Great quarter zip with nice fit, nice quality. If you're considering this, buy it. You'll be pleased.

December 27, 2022

Fantastic

Love the look, fit, and feel, but wish there were hand pockets like in the jacket version.

December 26, 2022

Warm and festive

I bought the "Pine Knit: Northern Green" color, which has a pine tree theme, and it was perfect for the holidays. It fit me snugly but not too tight.

December 26, 2022

Warm and comfortable

My husband wanted a size larger to fit multiple layers and still have enough movement to be comfortable jogging. This worked beautifully.

December 26, 2022

Just right

The better sweater is wonderful. The fit is great and the warmth is just right for casual wear going in and out of the cold. The quarter zip gives some cooling options. Classic sweater! Very pleased!

December 26, 2022

My grandsons loved this gift!

My grandsons loved this gift! They are in high school

December 25, 2022

This fleece pullover is very

This fleece pullover is very warm and very comfortable. This is my go to outfit when it gets cold. Great pullover recommended highly.

December 22, 2022

Covered in pills after 2 washes

Owned several of these sweaters, both full zip and 1/4 zip. They don't last. Covered in pills after regular wear and a wash or two.

Response from Patagonia
January 4, 2023

Hi James, thank you for sharing this review. Some pilling with knit garments can be inevitable because of the nature of those fibers, especially in friction spots. To help prevent pilling we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. To remove pilling that has already occurred we recommend using a product like a fabric shaver, which is gentler on fabric than a sweater stone. Even so, if you are dissatisfied with your fleece for any reason we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 21, 2022

Perfect fit

I usually wear XXL in Patagonia jackets but the better sweater I fit in a XL. 235lbs athletic build.. very stylish and warm.

December 20, 2022

Comfortable and Warm

This is the second of these I have purchased. Love the weight and warmth. Love the new colors and will likely buy another one next year.

December 20, 2022

Great fleece design w two

Great fleece design w two colors. More formal than a typical fleece. Wear them all the time

December 19, 2022

Patagonia

I ordered the sweater because it's offered by Patagonia, I have other products of theirs and I've always been satisfied. The sweater was a good fit and the quality is always good. In my case the arm length had to be altered by that was easily done at my cleaners. If Patagonia has an item I'm looking for in the future, they'll ge... Read Moret my business again.

December 19, 2022

All good thanks!

Looks great, fits great, feels good knowing the sustainability profile of the company.

December 17, 2022

Men's Better Sweater

This is my husbands fav for winter/alaskan outdoor activities.

December 17, 2022

10/10 coziness

I am obsessed with the better sweater! It is so warm and comfortable and looks professional at work. I am a women's medium, and bought a men's small because I loved the pattern to much to pass on it! It is quite large on me, but it is cozy, and I imagine it would fit a man much better. It is a staple in my wardrobe, especially because it ... Read Moreis such a cool pattern. I get compliments all the time! Definitely worth the value.

December 16, 2022

Quality Comfort

Worn as an outer layer in cold weather, or as a quarter-zip in the office, this sweater passes the test. High-quality stitching, durable fabric, soft to the touch.

December 12, 2022

Great for Long Arms

Great product, especially for my long arms (36 inch sleeve), even after washing.

December 11, 2022

Runs small

I am 6 feet tall and not only is it too short, but also the arms length is too short.

Response from Patagonia
December 15, 2022

Hey Jeremy, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear that this fleece ran small for you. We checked on the measurements and it looks like the [Men's Lightweight Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-synchilla-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25551.html?dwvar_25551_color=WATL) runs about a half inch longer for both the sleeves and torso, so perhaps it would be a better match for you. If you see any others you're curious about, feel free to reach out to customer service and we could compare measurements for you.

December 5, 2022

Man, I look good! ;)

I love the fit, warmth, and color of my Better Sweater.

December 2, 2022

Warm, comfortable and good looking.

I'm in love with the sweater. It goes with me everywhere, doesn't matter if that's casually, on a hike or in the snow. It's very warm and seems durable (will have to test that :) ). For me (6'0", M), it was true to size. Overall a great product.

November 30, 2022

I ordered the the sweater

I ordered the the sweater because I was gifted this sweater before and loved it. However I ordered the same exact size and style and it came in too small. I still love the design but the fit was not the same.

November 28, 2022

Shipping

Item shipped in paper wrap. Unfortunately I was not home and it was raining sweater is soaked. Trying to dry out but not looking good. No complaint about product just the way packed.

November 27, 2022

Great fit.

Great fit.

November 25, 2022

Comfortable, warm, and perfect with fleece outerwear.

Comfortable enough to wear on walks or workouts. Warm enough for chilly mornings. Add a fleece jacket to it for frigid mornings. The zipped chest pocket makes storing lightweight items easy (credit cards, AirPod case, etc.)

November 20, 2022

The M's Better Sweater Looks Good But Does Not Last

My wife purchased this for me in April. It is November and I only used the sweater fleece a handful of times. It's been cleaned using Patagonia's directions. It is pilling heavily. The pilling is so drastic that you can not use a pilling shaver. The seams also are unraveling a bit near the hem. I love Patagonia items, but I do not sugges... Read Moret this model. I have another one that I have not used yet. I am hoping it does not have the same issues.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2022

Hey Mike, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear that your Better Sweater is wearing so drastically. If you think you might have a warranty issue on your hands, you're more than welcome to send it in for an evaluation. To begin that process, [click here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We will make sure to notify our product team of the issue.

November 20, 2022

Love it but...

I love this sweater. Great fit and warmth. This is my second sweater, I loved my first one so much that when it started to 'pill' in the area of the pocket I bought a second one - however now the second one is doing the same thing. That's very disappointing. My second one is only a year old.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2022

Hi Hal! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece has started to pill. All fleece materials have a tendency to pill. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. That said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the sweaters that have pilled.

November 19, 2022

Saw this, wanted this. Perfect

Saw this, wanted this. Perfect fit, sleeves about a 1/2 long for comfort. Super warm even for cold Colorado 16 degree mornings. Great price too. Im betting I buy another is a different color real soon.

November 18, 2022

Incredibly comfortable

The jacket fits true to size and is exceptionally well made. It is comfortable and great for everyday use.

November 17, 2022

Great Sweater

The better sweater is a everything its supposed to be - warm, good looking, washes up great and wears like iron. Patagonia products tend to run a bit small. I wear size L in most brands but need XL for Patagonia. This makes the sleeves a touch long but does not diminish my love for this product.

November 15, 2022

Perfectly Casual

Perfect for all occasions-outdoor activity, work, or lounging at home

November 14, 2022

Very warm

Very warm fleece, very nice looking. I like the look and feel of the sweater look on the outside with the warm and comfortable fleece on the inside. Not very wind proof but still quite warm.

November 11, 2022

Excellent fit and quality. I

Excellent fit and quality. I wear a large, however the sleeves are several inches too long.

November 8, 2022

As good as ever

My go-to on fall days and colder. Soft, roomy and comfortable. Classic cut and a perfect layer.

November 5, 2022

Perfect Fit, Very Warm

Got this for casual wear for the coming fall/winter months as well as something to wear to work. It doubles as a business casual fleece! Very warm and comfortable! Would definitely recommend.

November 4, 2022

Great Zip Up

Fits great, is incredibly warm, comfortable, and looks good. Sleeves were a bit longer than expected, but dont detract from the piece at all.

November 3, 2022

Super Comfortable

Super comfortable could be a little warmer but I still love it and the look

November 1, 2022

It's called the Better Sweater for a reason...

Just buy it.

October 31, 2022

Nice for autumn

Excellent choice

October 27, 2022

Great

Wears as advertised.

October 24, 2022

Comfortable and Professional

This item is a little pricey; if that got knocked down to a decent amount, I'd give 4 stars. It also runs just a little smaller than what I would expect of an XL; if it ran true to size, that would bump it to 5 stars. Overall, decent item.

October 19, 2022

Fit and sizing are off.

Length of this sweater is off.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Hi Juan, we're so bummed to hear that the length of the Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece had a sizing issue concerning length. This could possibly a quality control issue, and we'd be happy to help out with a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out to you privately, just in case you need further assistance with getting that started.

October 18, 2022

Unexpectedly Warm!

Thought this would be warm but it definitely keeps you toasty! Minor gripe is that the sleeves are just a touch short, but could be just me. A t-shirt underneath and you're good to go!

October 15, 2022

Warm & Cozy

I have been waring Better Sweaters for years. I gained a few extra pounds during COVID... OK, more than a few... so I needed to size-up. The 3XL is a little too big, but the 2XL is a little too snug, so I'm happy. Soft, cozy, sturdy, and warm. Exactly what you want in a sweater.

October 15, 2022

For cool morning hunts

Sweater is comfortable to wear on cool morning hunts. The 1/4 length zipper is great for ventilation and your sweater is not needlessly flapping while pursuing upland game.

October 7, 2022

Super Comfy

Love, love, love this sweater. As the weather gets cooler I look forward to wearing this sweater. My only regret is not buying it sooner.

October 4, 2022

Great sweater -- wish it was longer!

Super cozy, perfect for chilly autumn nights! Great quality, I've had two for probably 10 years and wear them all the time seasonally. I will say if you snag it and get even the tiniest hole, the way it's knit means you better repair it immediately or it's gonna expand rapidly. My only gripe is the length. Being 6'4" I&#x2... Read More7;m pretty used to shirts being a bit too short but this thing barely hits the beltline and the sleeves don't even reach my watch. I'd jump up to a 3XL for the extra 2" length, but then the chest is 6" larger and I'll be swimming in it. Patagonia please offer TALL sizing!

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hi Dallas! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the sweater fits. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

September 22, 2022

All that and a bag of chips

This is my 4th or 5th better sweater. I absolutely love these things. I wear them out on the river fly fishing when it a little chill out. Quick drying and super comfy.

September 9, 2022

Comfortable fleece

Fits well in the torso. Material is comfortable. However, after receiving it noticed that my left sleeve is significantly looser or baggier than the right. So one sleeve sits at my wrist while the other falls over my hand. Disappointing but I will chalk it up to getting a lemon as everything else from patagonia has been quality.

August 12, 2022

Very comfy

I love this 1/4 zip. I'm not a fan of the Women's fit. I saw the northern pine print and had to have it. Very soft and cute. I'm usually a M/L in Women's tops, and the Men's S works well for me since I don't mind long sleeves and enjoy a loose fit. It fits me well in the shoulders too. Curious to see how it will wash.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2022

Hello there! Thanks for leaving such a helpful review! We see you are worried about how it will wash and we are here to help you take the best care of your new Better Sweater! Be sure to machine wash on a warm setting, do not bleach, hang dry or tumble dry on low if you must, and do not iron your Better Sweater. With time and use, you will notice pilling occur. Pilling is a naturally occurring process that happens when groups of short or broken fibers become tangled in a knot or ball. Pills form due to rubbing or abrasion during normal use and wear. Think backpack straps, seat belts, arm swings, etc. To help prevent Pills: -Turn inside out before laundering -Wash in Gentle Cycle or Hand Wash garment -Wash with like items and avoid washing with lint-prone items such as towels or sheets -Do not overload the washing machine -Hang to dry and avoid the dryer altogether -If a dryer is used, remove items as soon as they are dry

July 22, 2022

Super comfortable

Absolutely love this

July 7, 2022

Good Stuff

It's a great 1/4 zip. I had one when I was a freshman in high school, but I wanted to get another one without the school's embroidering for college. Just as comfy as the first one. Good for 55F-35F weather

May 25, 2022

Great warmth with breathability for days that start out cool but warmer in afternoon.

I have several of these that i use for cool days and warm afternoons . Wear it at the lake to take the chill off after swimming.

May 23, 2022

Warm and looks good but

The sweater is a good one but like The North Face I dont know why all the sleeves are so long. this one actually is not that bad, but some of the coat are too long

May 20, 2022

Great piece

Great piece! Warm, but lets air through as well. Runs a little on the short side, but slim and fitted in the body.

May 15, 2022

A trim warm fleece for casual wear

The fleece fits true to size, a bit loose, so it can be worn over a base layer or a T shirt. On colder days just add a wind proof layer and you have a versatile, minimalist fleece. Love the chest pocket -- good enough for a phone or keys

May 9, 2022

comfy

Love this better sweater. The fabric is soft and warm. I like the 1/4 zip option so I can unzip if it is a little warm. The only improvement I would make is adding some elastic at the bottom so it would fit snugly.

May 8, 2022

Stop changing the fit.

I have 2 of these. The first from 18 years ago. The second from 7 years ago. I have also purchased and returned the same sweater in subsequent years. I wanted another. The problem is that the fit keeps changing. Every time. Please stop changing the fit every year!

May 7, 2022

Product is will made lasts for years

Well made no negative

May 7, 2022

Fits to body

Fits close to body which in this case is critical as it generates greater warmth. I liked it so much I now have three.

May 7, 2022

Gets lots of compliments

Love it Keeps me warm and looks great

April 25, 2022

Great casual pull over

Great pull over for casual at work or extra layer. Great quality. True to size.

April 24, 2022

Love it

Great sweater - true to size

April 20, 2022

Classic Comfort

Another great Patagonia product. I am right between sizes (S and M) and the small still fits comfortably and is not constricting. Nice warm top to wear hiking or on cold days around the house. This is my second "better sweater"!

April 17, 2022

Comfy.versitile

I have skied in it, golfed in it and worn it in a upscale restaurant.

April 2, 2022

Soft & Durable

I bought this one because I had the matching gray fleece and loved it so much. Soft but durable. Love it.

April 2, 2022

Durable BUT Soft and Comfortable!

Love it! My new GO TO fleece.

April 1, 2022

comfortable

comfortable, nice fit& warm

March 29, 2022

Classic. Perfect for what it is

Just the right mix of comfort and warmth

March 28, 2022

Super warm

Its the best like always

March 27, 2022

Perfect fit

This is one of the most comfortable sweater pullovers I own. The sleeves are nice and loose, and the open bottom let's it hang very well. I will definitely buy more items from this company.

March 26, 2022

Nice color warm

Can dress up it down, as always, great quality.

March 24, 2022

Just what I was looking

First Patagonia item I owned, it isnjust as it had been recommended by friends

March 24, 2022

Love it!

Bought this for my husband. He loves the Better Sweater. Adding a 3/4 zip to his collection.

March 21, 2022

Good quality, nice color!

Good quality, unique color, warm and comfy.

March 19, 2022

Super comfortable

The sweater did shrink a little. Probably won't put it I. The dryer any longer. But this is an excellent product. Wear it all the time.

March 18, 2022

Versatile outer wear

Great fit and design. Perfect for late fall or early spring activities.

March 17, 2022

Classic Comfort

I have owned several of the Better Sweaters through the years. They hold up and never go out of style. Pilling was a problem with my older ones, but I will more closely follow Patagonia's care instructions for this and my other, newer Better Sweaters.

March 16, 2022

Very warm

Very warm! Used for all around comfort....especially on air planes.

March 16, 2022

Nothing better than a Better Sweater

Better sweater is second to none. I now have 6 quarter zips in assorted colors. They get better every washing and every year! Im a huge fan and you will be too!

March 15, 2022

Love these

I bought the Kansas Sky camo. This is my second Better Sweater. I love them, they are warm, comfy, durable, and the camo patterns are excellent. I like my fleece a little loose so I ordered Large and it is just what I wanted. Im 5 10 and 165 lbs. when Im out breaking up ice in the driveway at 0 F, I am almost too warm.

March 15, 2022

Casual Pullover

The sweater has a good look for being outdoors or at the office. The fit will make it one of your favorites for years to come.

March 13, 2022

Fits great. High quality.

I love the fit. Its very warm and comfortable. I bought two more.

March 9, 2022

Comfortable

The jackets we ordered fit extremely well and were exactly what we ordered. They are comfortable and material is warm.

March 7, 2022

For my son

I bought this for my growing (6 +) 15 year old son and the large fit him very well. Excellent fabric and fantastic quality as always. It came in the mail- opened it up, put it on and off he went to school! Recommend !

March 6, 2022

Great Patagonia Product!!

Like each Better Sweater product this is amazing! Never remotely disappointed!!

March 3, 2022

Very good color selection.

This is a close to perfect pull over. Mid weight and warm in cool weather. Well sewn and sleeves are long enough for tall slender people.

March 3, 2022

Well done on the fit and camo pattern.

The body is a near perfect fit and sleeves are long enough to fit tall slender people like me. Zippers are easy and durable. Hems and collar are comfortable and well sewn

February 27, 2022

Super comfy

Great for anything from work to sports. Im a female a prefer mens sizing bc its a bit longer for my longer torso.

February 25, 2022

Perfect sweater

This sweater was bought for a hiking trip. Perfect for the event. Now, I ware it to work and get many compliments. My favorite to wear.

February 23, 2022

Style changed

I ordered this in a medium because I have one in gray in a medium that I love that Ive had for years so Im ready to upgrade to a new one. When it arrived I tried it on and noticed right away that the style is different than the one I have. This new one fits more like a garbage bag rather than a snug fit that Im used to with the older style better s... Read Moreweaters . I quickly noticed the stitching on the arms was different and realized they mustve change the style for some reason. Kind of bummed but oh well hopefully someday theyll change the style back to the better version.

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2022

Hi Eric, thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We're so sorry to hear the fit of this Better Sweater !/4 Zip was disappointing! The Men's 1/4 Zip is designed to be a regular fit, rather than slim. If you would like to return it or exchange it, please let us know and we'll be happy to help!

February 19, 2022

A go to sweater

Feels great and looks great. A nice sweater to have on hand.

February 17, 2022

Since fit for a big guy. Super warm

I usually only order 3xt. This one, though not a tall fits perfect length. Quality construction. Ill be buying more Patagonia products for sure this is my second item from them.

February 12, 2022

A Great Look

This sweater fits great and looks great. Its warm and very comfortable.. i got it for my birthday, and I love wearing it.

February 11, 2022

Cozy

I first saw it on a snowboarding trip in Vermont but the store didnt carry the color I wanted in my size which is perfectly fine. The outside is smooth and not irritating to the touch and the inside is warm and cozy without being overly stuffy. Its one of my favorite sweaters and I have to remind my lovely girlfriend every time I see her its one of... Read More the few shes not aloud to steal.

February 10, 2022

Great product

I bought this as a gift for a friend who has everything they need. He complimented mine so I got him one- he loves it so much. We are both happy now.

February 10, 2022

Very Comfy. Runs a little big.

Good product. This is the 2nd one I've purchased. Runs a little big. I'm normally a small, but the small had a large belly area on me, so I got the XS. One issue is that if I wear this under things it starts to pill a little (I guess from the outer layer rubbing against it), making it less of a great fit for work, but still excellent all ... Read Morearound.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2022

Thank you for sending in your review, Arion! Some pilling with knit garments is inevitable because of the nature of those fibers, especially in friction spots such as inner arm and back (if wearing a backpack). To do the most you can to prevent pilling we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. To remove pilling that has already occurred, and to make your jacket look as good as new, we recommend using a product like a fabric shaver, which is gentler on fabric than a sweater stone.

February 9, 2022

Very warm and cozy!!!!

Helped keep me warm when I was in NYC for a weekend get away and went out for coffee at 7:00 a.m. in 19° weather!

February 7, 2022

Pills up immediately, fits like a trash bag

After 27 years of wearing Patagonia 4-5 days a week, I have found the worst product I have ever purchased from Patagonia. The original better sweater was not this cheap feeling garbage that pills up the first time you wear it, and continues each consecutive wearing. It was a nice low, dense fleece that never pilled. I thought fleece that looked and... Read More acted this poorly was a thing of the 1990s. Super weak job, Patagonia. Super lame.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Hi Erich, thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Better Sweater 1/4 Zip. We're so sorry to hear it didn't meet your expectations! Like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable on our Better Sweaters. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. But it sounds like this sweater just may not work for you. If you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

February 7, 2022

His new go-to

bought my husband the navy as a gift. he loved it so much we ordered a second in gray. he is now asking for more colors so he can wear one every day of his life! perfect for our chilly northern california winters.

February 7, 2022

Very comfortable & Very warm

The Men's Better Sweater is working superbly! Went cross country skiing for 2 hours at 18 degree fahrenheit in light wind with only your fleece over a long sleeve polyester t-shirt, jeans, and high gaiters. I was very comfortable by occasionally adjusting the 1/4 zipper and only sometimes I put on a stocking cap when I was out of the trees int... Read Moreo the open breeze. I like it so much, I bought two more. Please do something to your website. It doesn't scroll smoothly, isn't sized to the screen, hard to navigate.

February 5, 2022

Great Layer under down hoody.

Bought this as an extra layer under the down hoody jacket. I spend a lot of time on building sites in New England for my work and the combo seems to be working very well. Only comment is it is a tad bit too roomy and longer sleeves for my 5 8 180 lb frame.

February 5, 2022

Comfortable and Warm

Love this fleece, true to size Definitely worth the investment

February 4, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Fits well. Im 63 and 215lbs. Large fit well the XL was too big and boxy on me.

February 2, 2022

Appropriate in any social setting

The better sweater could be called the "best" sweater. I wear it on the slopes as well as casual wear. This is a durable product, very comfortable and warm.

February 2, 2022

Comfortable

Nice feel, substantial and warm, great for casual wear.

January 30, 2022

Very Disappointed

I am returning this product as I was disappointed in the poor quality. I was also disappointed that there were no pockets. Will not recommend.

January 28, 2022

Better sweater 1/4 zip

The best 1/4 zip fleece I own I purchased a second one in black I loved my first one so much. If you want pockets go with the full zip.

January 28, 2022

Warm Wonter shirt

Just wish the arms were a little shorter

January 26, 2022

Better sweater

I love the better sweater it is warm, very comfortable. Made from recycle materials make it even better.

January 26, 2022

Comfortable

Warm but breathable, comfortable.

January 25, 2022

great sweater

The better sweater is a great mid layer piece of gear. I wear this while skiing on days when it's in the teens. I tried a small, which would work as a base layer, but I wanted something on top of my base & normal ski shirt, then my ski jacket. Looks great for après ski, in the lodge or at the dinner table. Most certain it can be worn as a ... Read Morefleece on spring or fall nights. Definitely needs a windproof jacket on the blustery days. Just what I needed, for that extra layer, while skiing in the Northeast.

January 24, 2022

Love it, but wish Tall sizes were offered

I love this product. However, being 64 with a slender build, I wish a large tall option was available. Like with most clothes, xl sizes get wider, but not much longer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches