Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.28 /5

Filter Reviews

All 336 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.28
True To Size
September 9, 2020

Snug fit

Im 58 and I have a muscular build, I initially ordered a small because under the pictures it stated that the model was 62. Im no pro body builder but it was very tight on me. The medium fits me much better I honestly could see the large fitting comfortably as well.

September 7, 2020

Warm friend

This recycled better sweater jacket fits great, provides great warmth, and is well tailored. The weight is a bit more than anticipated and you can certainly feel you have it on...like a sweater rather than a light-weight synthetic.

September 6, 2020

Awesome

Even though I haven't had the opportunity to wear this since purchasing it (temps in the 90's) , I do have a quarter zip Better Sweater that i know is very warm and durable. i ordered this an actual size larger than i normally wear, in order to be able to layer under it. I plan on wearing this as my outerlayer this winter, providing it is... Read Moren't raining. always had amazing articles of clothing from Patagonia, and I'm certain this will be the same!

September 3, 2020

Awesome garmet.

Perfect fit, warm and comfortable for anything outdoors that requires a layer.

September 1, 2020

Best fit ever!

I dont know if its because of my Asian gene, but this fit on me so well that it feels like it was made for me. The material is superb cause I just dont want to take it out at all. Well done Patagonia!

August 28, 2020

AMAZING

This was my first ever Patagonia product, thought it was worth the money so i gave it a try.... BOY did it send me down an addiction path with this company. This sweater is amazing. Beyond warm, pockets are perfect size, and breast pocket is big enough for all the new cell phones. You can easily double this sweater as a winter coat depending on wea... Read Morether. The zippers were made really well and i enjoy the loop, on the collar, for hanging on clothes hooks. The only bad thing is, that it's so warm, i can't wear it more. 10/10 would recommend to anyone!

August 11, 2020

Poor Quality

Huge fan of Patagonia. But this piece does not live up to Patagonias reputation. The pilling is do bad people ask me whats wrong with my jacket. Tried the recommendation for removing the puffs and pill and in some places it left holes in the jacket. Sad because I have so many pieces from Patagonia that are superior in quality.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

Hi Jeff! Thanks so much for leaving your feedback, and we're really sorry to hear about your troubles with removing the pills on your Better Sweater. Please note, your purchase is protected under our Ironclad Guarantee and you are welcome to initiate an online [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

August 3, 2020

Amazing

Beautiful fleece! Definitely worth every penny! Highly recommend

July 1, 2020

Great Daily Kick-around

This is my go-to for something to put on no matter where I'm going. Great fit, soft, subtle color. My only complaint is that the chest pocket zipper is shot and the main zipper is failing. Admittedly, I bought this in 2018, but I don't know how to replace zippers so it might be getting retired soon, unfortunately.

June 17, 2020

I love these sweaters

I have three of them in different colors. They're the ideal business casual day-to-night Pacific NW accessory. Ideal number of pockets and not too warm or too cool.

June 17, 2020

All purpose jacket

This is a great sweater/light jacket for everyday use. Super soft and comfortable.

March 26, 2020

Great Jacket - Too Long for Some Reason

I'm 5'9" and always order large jackets/fleeces, etc. from Patagonia. Until this one, they fit perfectly. This sweater/jacket is unusually long and I can't figure out why. I had to check to make sure I didn't order a tall size but I didn't. It's just longer than normal. Otherwise the product is great. Unfortunatel... Read Morey, I plan to return it.

March 11, 2020

Fabric needs improvements

I have owned the jacket for five months. I really like the fit and color of the jacket. Unfortunately the outer surface of the fabric is now rough with pills. A soft roughness like an old teddy bear. The arms have deep creases and washing won't remove the creases. Which is strange. Not at all what I was expecting in a Patagonia jacket.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hey David, thanks for the feedback about the pilling on your jacket. This is something that is unfortunately common, and inevitable, with knit garments due to the nature of those fibers. We recommend using a product like a Sweater Stone to remove pilling, there are many other products and techniques you can use. You are also welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us.

February 16, 2020

Christmas gift

Warm, comfortable and attractive

January 29, 2020

Great Product!

Very happy with it. :)

January 29, 2020

Never again

Bought a "Better sweater" in November of 2019. By the end of January 2020 it is pilling badly. And... the thought that I am releasing micro-sized bits of plastic into the environment every time I wash it is unbearable to me now. I veered off the track of natural fibers to purchase this product and really regret it. The pilling is so bad I... Read More can't wear it in front of clients and co-workers anymore, plus I'm polluting the environment every time I wash it. Never again.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Nick, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear that your Better Sweater has pilled so badly after such little time. To prevent pilling we typically recommend washing the jacket on warm and laying it flat to dry. To remove pilling that has already occurred we suggest using a sweater stone which is a great tool that will help it to look new again. With that said, if this doesn't help you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

January 15, 2020

Wonderful style and fit

I always like Patagonia for its variety of colors and excellent style. I bought several family members sweaters and vests. They all loved them.

January 13, 2020

Happy with the full-length zipper

Happy with the full-length zipper version of this sweater. It is comfortable, the tight-knit fleece performs well, and I like the color pattern. I'm 5'10" 175 lbs and a Medium may have been better fitting (but the Large works fine, just a little long).

January 8, 2020

Immediate pilling

I purchased both the Better Sweater jacket and the 1/4 zip version. Both came on time and looked great out of the box. Both are very warm and feel substantial on, without being overly heavy. However, within the first week of owning (and wearing) both, the jacket started to pill like crazy, particularly on the chest and arms. I have tried to attach ... Read Morea picture, but not sure how easy it is to see given the jacket's color. Note that I had just been wearing it as a casual top layer for a couple of days and had not even put it through the wash yet. The really odd thing is that I noticed none of this pilling on the 1/4 zip version, even though I wore them about the same amount. Not too sure what could have accounted for this difference, but I am definitely a little disappointed given the price point and Patagonia's usual reputation for quality.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Jackson! Thanks for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the pilling on your Better Sweater. I would recommend using a sweater shaver or sweater stone – these tools will remove the pilling and help your pullover to look brand new again. Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

January 8, 2020

The *Almost* Perfect Sweater

This thing is awesome! Very comfortable/soft/warm. I’ve wanted one a long time and finally caved and got one after Christmas. I tend to struggle finding the perfect size no matter the kind of clothing, and that happened again here. I wish there were something between the large and medium. Medium fits too tight and a little short, but the sleeves ar... Read Moree just right. Large fits slightly big, a little long, and sleeves are too long and bunch up. Also a lot of material under the arms. I ended up going for the large because it was more comfortable - not a new issue here, being between sizes. It’s a reality I’ve grown used to regardless of the brand. For reference, I’m 6’2” and 170lb with a slim build.

January 8, 2020

sweater jacket

I LOVE this jacket! It is SO warm, so well made. I can't recommend it enough. Art

January 8, 2020

Great overall but wish arms were longer

I like almost everything about this. It's quite warm, looks good, and is well made. It's geared towards casual, non-active uses since it's pretty heavy and doesn't breath too well. But for static use it's terrific. Just one nit - I'm 6'1", 175 lbs and a medium fits perfect except the sleeves are a bit short.... Read More If I tug on them they'll just barely reach to my wrist, and as soon as I start moving around they start to ride up a few inches on my arm. The large was too baggy for me, so I'm still on the fence about whether to keep it.

January 6, 2020

Great Product

Great Product, however what I noticed with the Better sweater as well as the Better Vest is the chest pocket's develop holes in them. It was easy to repair myself but it was annoying have small items (chapstick) getting stuck in the linings of the sweater. Other than that this is a great product that fits my frame well. Highly Recommend!

January 6, 2020

Sleeves generous

Husband 6’2”, 180lbs and extra long arms. Fits well

January 4, 2020

Great product!!! Highly recommended

You will not regret buying this product

January 3, 2020

The Better Sweater is!

I’ve been super cozy in my new better sweater.

January 3, 2020

Wore in 10 F snow drift

Wore it as under layer to shell. Kept me warm!

January 2, 2020

So warm

Cozy and warm!

January 2, 2020

Great as always

Great as always

January 2, 2020

wrong sizes

I love Patagonia but these sweaters didn't fit right. . I ordered two size L and they were different sizes. The XL wasn't big enough either. I'll return them for a refund. Thank you. Marti Willens

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

Hi Marti, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with our sizing. We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products and fit for future seasons.

January 1, 2020

My favorite item of clothing.

My favorite item of clothing.

January 1, 2020

better sweater jacket

not suitable for winter, fine for spring & fall .

January 1, 2020

Men's navy Patagonia full zip better sweater

Like the fit, look, and how it keeps me warm.

January 1, 2020

My husband loves his Christmas

My husband loves his Christmas present!

January 1, 2020

It is better!

It is good to have a functional and nice looking piece all in one.

December 31, 2019

TJB

Nice sweater, but arms are cut a little tight.

December 31, 2019

Truly the better sweater

Amazing casual or mid layer piece. Very soft and comfortable. Fit is slightly weird as it runs a little boxy in the bottom half but the sleeves are a bit tighter than normal. I fit in a medium pretty well except for the forearms so I went up to a Large and it works pretty well except I feel a litle bulky when it's paired underneath another jac... Read Moreket Very warm sweater for the weight. Pleasantly surprised walking the dog around in the winter with a long sleeve baselayer and this sweater. Personally too warm to wear at the office for extended periods of time but I tend to run hot. Definitely grabbing another of these in a different color. Great sweater!

December 31, 2019

So warm. So brown.

I am really enjoying the "sweater." It feels a bit more like a jacket though. I am getting a lot of second looks from attractive people who look like they want to get to know me and my sweater jacket better. Sometimes I'll wear it open with no shirt on underneath just to tease the world. Sorry. Not sorry.

December 31, 2019

good quality, fits well

good quality, fits well

December 31, 2019

TBerg5

My husband was surprized, and delighted to recieve the Black, Sweater Jacket for Christmas! We have given these jackets as gifts to both of our Sons for past Christmases. Also to our Nephew. for a H.S. graduation gift. Wonderful gifts, which have been worn for years!

December 31, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

I already own two other jackets in different colors. I love the upper zipper pocket for my passport when going through airport security around the world. In Southern California, the perfect jacket for layering when temperatures drop below 70 degrees.

December 30, 2019

Great quality and perfect fit!

My husband already had the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket in Black that he seriously wears everyday. We just got him another one in Stonewash. It is a really nice grey color. Great quality and the fit is perfect. He couldn't be happier!

December 30, 2019

Perfect present

Wonderful jacket and great fit.

December 30, 2019

Better sweater

Warm, functional, and made from recycled materials. Keep up the sustainable practices.

December 29, 2019

Warm, great looking and comfortable.

I’ve had a black one for years that is just starting to pill a bit. It is trim cut and fits well under a down sweater. With a base layer this handles everything 20F and above. It’s just a little long for my body type.

December 28, 2019

Great Value

Love my sweater. Great value and quality product.

December 28, 2019

Perfect fit & perfect look!

It was my husband Christmas gift. He is very picky. I took my chance and he loves the way it fit and the way it looks.

December 27, 2019

It IS warmer!

Nice fit, good style and coloration, it really is warmer than other just fleece brands. Based on this, will be purchasing more Patagonia.

December 27, 2019

So far I am very

So far I am very satisfied with both.

December 27, 2019

Better Sweater=Best Sweater

I have several better sweaters, and I absolutely love them. The full-zip provides awesome temp control and they look classy enough to wear to your families christmas party and casual enough that you don't upset your aunt by "overdoing it this year." I love these things!

December 27, 2019

My son in law loves

My son in law loves this sweater. Not heavy and bulky but just right!

December 26, 2019

My son loved his sweater.

I bought my son a sweater from Patagonia for Christmas, and he absolutely loved it. It is worth paying a little more for great quality.

December 26, 2019

Greatest sweater evwr

Love the better sweater couldn’t be better!!

December 26, 2019

sleeves a little long.. Good

sleeves a little long.. Good looking. right weight autumn and indoor winter in N.E.

December 25, 2019

Sweater

Everything I hopped for.

December 24, 2019

Great gift

My 18 year old loved his jacket. The fit was great and so was the quality. A very pretty shade of green

December 23, 2019

Small size: Good fit (I

Small size: Good fit (I am 136 lbs and 5’6”). This sweater is not for temperatures below 50F or windy conditions.

December 23, 2019

Yeah!

We made a big impact when we gifted this to our 19 yr old grandson!

December 21, 2019

Best sweater ever

Here in Florida, I wish we had more cool days so I can wear it more often! Very comfortable on those cool mornings and evenings.

December 19, 2019

Staple

Better sweater is always my go-to!

December 18, 2019

Sleeves are tight

I really really want to live these as I recently bought both New navy and Stonewash colors but the sleeves are really really tight for my arms. It feels great and keeps me warm when it is cold outside but lets the wind through. I purchased M size but maybe I should've gotten a L for better blood circulation on my arms.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2020

Hi Justin! Thanks for your feedback - we're sorry to hear those sleeves were too tight for you! If you'd like to return or exchange it for a larger size, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). The exact garment measurements for the bicep width are as follows: Medium 9.25" / Large 9.87". This measurement is taken one inch down from the seam located at the armpit.

December 17, 2019

Perfect fit! Amazing quality!

Perfect fit! Amazing quality!

December 17, 2019

Good quality, kinda tight in

Good quality, kinda tight in the shoulders

December 17, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

This purchase provided my fourth Better Sweater -- 3 are full-zip sweaters and one a 1/4-zip pullover. I really enjoy these fleece sweaters in winter -- warm and with full zips are easy to regulate temperature when moving from outdoors to indoors. They remain looking nice longer than standard fleece, which tends to pill or wear quickly. Compared to... Read More Marmot, Columbia, and Mountain Hardwear fleece products that I own, these Patagonia Better Sweaters are more slim cut with slim arms (especially in the pullover). I wear a medium in all and find the Patagonia fit is comfortable but is slim.

December 17, 2019

You can wear it anywhere.

Comfortable. Good quality. Highly recommended!

December 17, 2019

Excellent product — would purchase

Excellent product — would purchase again

December 14, 2019

Great

I bought sweatshirt for my son,as a Christmas gift and he couldn’t resist to wear that before Santa will come😍

December 13, 2019

A Patagonia Classic

For reference, I am 5' 11" 160 Lbs and wear a men's medium in everything Patagonia makes. The Better Sweater jacket is a Patagonia classic garment. On cold days, say 35 deg or so, I will layer my Better Sweater on top of a Fjord Flannel. This combination is perfect for running around town, errands to the grocery store, trips where th... Read Moreere are several stops in and out of the car. When the temperature rises, say to 45 deg and above, I will wear just a long or short sleeve t-shirt underneath. For me, the fit is perfect, not too tight nor too loose. Be advised, when your Better Sweater is new, it may feel a little tight. However, as you wear the jacket, the fleece will gradually pack down and the jacket will feel more relaxed in fit. Also, I prefer the heathered or mixed colourways(i.e. Nickel, Stonewash, Khaki) over the solids(Black, Navy, Green). The inevitable fabric piling that occurs over time is more pronounced, more obvious, on the solid colourways. Finally, I prefer this version(Better Sweater Jacket-full zip) over the 1/4 zip pullover because it is easier to put on, easier to layer over, and it has side hand-pockets.

December 13, 2019

Great Sweater. I want to wear it all the time!

I love the better sweater. I got my usual XL and it fits a little lose but looks good according to my wife. The large was a little too perfect fitting. The XL is a tad long on me, but I’m a short guy so that’s my problem. Shipping was bad and wasn’t Patagonia’s fault but the On Trac people were no help and my jacket came a week after it’s promise d... Read Moreate. Patagonia’s customer service was amazing and had a new jacket sent to me overnight. Can’t say enough about their customer service and great products.

December 9, 2019

Great product at a very

Great product at a very good price

December 8, 2019

OK

This jacket is OK, but not all that impressive. I was expecting something either less bulky or warmer for the weight. For the price range, and fancy branding, I was actually expecting... a better sweater. It's not that. Obviously, you can buy wool and cashmere sweaters in the same price range, and they are warmer and comfier. As a jacket, bewa... Read Morere that it doesn't stand up to a little bit of wind. I have better sweaters, and I also have a better jacket. My use for this jacket will be an extra layer on very cold days (over a sweater, but under a coat) or just around the house. Don't get me wrong. It's fine. It's well-built and looks good. You'll probably wear it if you buy it, but it's being a bit overrated by other reviewers, and I would not recommend it, based on there being better options.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

We appreciate your honest feedback on this. We always want to ensure you are satisfied and if you are not totally sold on this, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back. Let us know if we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/clothing-gear/).

December 7, 2019

Great quality and feels amazing!

Great quality and feels amazing!

December 3, 2019

Very nice😁

As good as a sweater can be. Extremely comfortable.. few points tho.. the internal lining for the hands and chest pocket does create another pocket for the inside.. the right side is fine, but the left side could be done better.. Sleeve is on the small side.. guys with big arms do need to take note. Only one thing to make this better.. thumb hole... Read Mores!

December 3, 2019

Fit does not flatter

Am 6’ 195#. Broad shouldered- 44L suit jacket. The shoulders, chest and sleeves on the better sweater jacket are designed for folks with narrow shoulders, no chest, and skinny arms- or for people who like tight fitting clothes. So although I’d normally order an L, I went up to an XL to fit my upper body. The problem is the cut of this jacket is ver... Read Morey boxy—- so now there’s too much material at the waist. I’m shaped like a V and this jacket is designed for people shaped like a pear.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi Greg, we're sorry this was an odd fit for you. If you remain unsatisfied with it, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us as soon as possible. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

December 2, 2019

My favorite item is my Better Sweater!

I wear this daily in the winter and love it! But my new one does not fit like the old one. The new one has sleeves that are not comfortable if i wear a long sleeve shirt. I bought one last year and the same thing. I'm not sure what you use as a pattern but it is not realistic for the average guy. My arms are average and this is NOT comfortable... Read More. I am disappointed with your usual spot on designs and customer responsiveness.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi Fred. We're sorry to hear the fit change isn't up to your satisfaction. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

December 1, 2019

Best sweater/jacket ever

My father-in-law’s favorite sweater - bought him a second one so he’s always got one handy!

November 29, 2019

The arms could be alittle

The arms could be alittle bit bigger. Not longer but roomier. I workout and have bulky biceps. Its feels too fitted. Also after one wash it shrinks. Maybe you can preshrink before selling them? Or just have another version for bulkier people. Not everybody has a slim model like figure.

November 29, 2019

New Design of Men’s Better Sweater has failed

My favorite lightweight jacket changed. I have owned 3 Better Sweater Jackets/vests and absolutely love them. They are a staple of my wardrobe during the winter months. Although this new edition of the Better Sweater Jacket does not work for me. The sleeves are cut way to narrow. I do not have Pop-eye forearms by any means. I blindly ordered the ja... Read Morecket because it has always worked for me. Now I have to wrestle my arms through the sleeves. I truly hope this design gets changed quickly.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi Jason! Thank you for your feedback! We're very sorry to hear that the sleeves are too narrow for you. If you would like to return your Better Sweater, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). In the meantime, I went ahead and passed your comments about the item revisions along to our design team for consideration.

November 28, 2019

Patagonia Better Seeater

I love the feel of this sweater but it balls up and looks ugly as sin . Shaved off pills several times ( 6 yrs old). My much older Pat. Fleece never pilled ! This one did almost immediately.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the pilling issue you've been having with your Better Sweater. If you are not pleased with its performance, you are absolutely welcome to send it in to us for a [warranty returns evaluation](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 27, 2019

Great

Perfect sweater

November 26, 2019

Warm and reliable

I'm 5'10", 155lbs, and I bought the Small. It fits perfectly. Not something to layer over more than a thin single layer. If you want to wear it as more of a jacket, size up. I found it warmer than I expected, but not too thick or hot. Ideal as a mid-layer with coats/jackets or just a cozy top layer on those 50+ degree days.

November 25, 2019

Awesome sweater!

Awesome sweater!

November 23, 2019

Patagonia better sweater jacket

Comfortable, lightweight and stylish.

November 22, 2019

Great quality and fit

Great quality and fit

November 22, 2019

Better than 1/4 pullover

The sleeves are slimmer and the body of the full zip jacket does not drape over your mid area like the 1/4 zip jacket

November 21, 2019

Love My Better Sweaters

I have a few of these now that I wear almost daily in the fall and winter. Nice warm yet breathable. It's uncommon for me to find a sweater that fits my sleeve length, I love that the sleeves are slightly longer than most others.

November 20, 2019

Great jacket/sweater

This one is a Christmas gift but I brought another one for my son in Italy 2 years ago. He says its great. He lives in the Seattle area and this keeps him warm all through the winter. He really likes the pockets. Been washed several times and no pilling.

November 20, 2019

Great product as usual. I

Great product as usual. I love the fit and look and Patagonia customer service is top notch as always.

November 20, 2019

Great fit and warm.

Great fit and warm.

November 20, 2019

Jacket fits great, keeps me

Jacket fits great, keeps me warm, and looks great.

November 20, 2019

As always, Patagonia products are

As always, Patagonia products are the best on the market. Pricey, but always quality, quality, quality.

November 20, 2019

Better sweater

Nice coat-like sweater. Good neck warmth. Fit is sl. large but very acceptable. It took a lot of rain exposure to get me wet, but I stayed warm. Live in the NW where wet is common. A good layer under a raincoat.

November 19, 2019

Men's Best Sweater Ever

This is the 2nd Better Sweater I've purchased for my husband of 44 years. The last one was 10 years ago...it still looks amazing!

November 19, 2019

Comfy

This sweater is essentially a Patagonia must have. I wear it frequently and it is incredibly comfortable. I would recommend wearing a windproof jacket over the sweater if you decide to wear it on a blustery day.

November 18, 2019

Ms Better Sweater Jacket

Great quality and color. Good fit as well. I like it better than my Better Sweater quarter zip.

November 18, 2019

Great product, looks great on

Great product, looks great on the outside and feels just as good on the inside

November 17, 2019

Sweater review

Great sweater

November 17, 2019

Disappointed with price vs. material quality

Thinner material than expected. Doesn't stop our Chicago fall season wind. Fits tight with even tighter armpits. Will return it.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

Hi Jeffery, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated!

November 16, 2019

Haven’t taken it off in

Haven’t taken it off in days

November 16, 2019

2018-19 last year’s model

Quite happy I was still able to purchase last year’s model. They have changed It up this year and made the better sweater very tight in the sleeves. Impossible to wear over layers.

November 16, 2019

Great sweater

Usually would not spend this much money on a sweater jacket, but the warmth, quality, look, and fit are just perfect. I got the large and I am a little over 5’11 and weigh 210 lbs.

November 15, 2019

Very comfy.

Very comfy.

November 15, 2019

Better sweater jacket

The large was too roomy so it was returned for a medium. There seems to be too much difference between the M and the L, and I wish you made a M+ size. But for now the M works (almost) perfectly fine. As always, thank you for your outstanding service and great quality.

November 14, 2019

Best sweater!

Love this sweater! Perfect fit, very warm and good looking!

November 14, 2019

Puurfect

My 2nd color and very pleased.

November 14, 2019

Surprised comfort and warmth

I buy a lot of TNF and This was my first Patagonia purchase. My sons (19, 21) told me my jacket was cool. That was a first. The sweater jacket is very warm without bulk. The quality of the workmanship is a bit more (IMO) than TNF. The sleeves are snug. Compared to my other jackets but not to the annoying point. Would I buy this again and would I re... Read Morecommend this to a friend ... yes. Without hesitation. Pleasantly surprised with my online purchase. I wear it daily and on colder days I wear it as a base layer.

November 13, 2019

Comfy, cozy, but too big

I purchased this item in the same size as the Better Sweater 1/4 zip in an XS. I got this delivered recently, and it's much, much larger and doesn't fit as well as the 1/4 zip that I have in the same size. I had to return it as there isn't a size smaller than XS. :(

November 13, 2019

Great sweater jacket. We love

Great sweater jacket. We love Patagonia !

November 13, 2019

Nice

Nice

November 13, 2019

Great sweater

I have been meaning to buy this sweater for a while now so glad I did I use it every day for work and it’s holding up well in the ruff conditions very happy and warm

November 12, 2019

Best bet for the tropics

This is a beautiful looking - and fitting - piece of gear which has almost no insulating value whatsoever. It’s not just that it’s porous to the wind, like many pile garments - it’s just not warm. Someone else compared its warmth to that of a flannel shirt. I would say that would be a pretty skimpy flannel shirt. Too bad, because the design is grea... Read Moret.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 11, 2019

Best sweater jacket

Love the better sweater full zip. Warm, moves with you and is not too bulky. Cleaner drape than the R2’s although I am a huge fan of the R2 as well, the Better sweater is more of a sweater than a jacket, which I guess is precisely the point!

November 11, 2019

Good for casual wear

Got this jacket for casual wear, not for serious outdoor pursuits. Understated style works well for that purpose because it doesn't look as teched out as some other fleece jackets.

November 11, 2019

Great fleece

Can’t go wrong with better sweaters. They’ve been proven. Sleeves are a bit slimmer in this model than some of my other Patagonia gear like the quilted snap sweater. I ordered a small and the length is a tad bit short (hits about mid pocket on my pants, ideally I’d like it to hit the bottom of the pocket). Small issues, otherwise I love it.

November 9, 2019

Great for fall weather

Great color and great functionality. This sweater is very warm and is great for staying warm while you are moving outside. I'm 6'0" and 165 lbs and a medium fits me well. The material is very soft and the zipper works great.

November 8, 2019

Excellent

Jacket is warm and is super high quality. Would def purchase again if/when I want a different color.

November 6, 2019

Love this jacke.

The jacket is very warm. It is soft on the inside and fits me very well. It also is very stylish absolutely love everything about the Patagonia brand and what they stand for

November 5, 2019

Love it!

Excellent quality, perfect fit!

November 5, 2019

Great jacket with with fit issues

Large is too big and the medium is right through arms and shoulders. I’m a large with everyone else but struggle with a Patagonia medium. Love the jacket though.

November 4, 2019

Full Zip Sweater

A must have for the fall / winter months for around the house and outdoors. Well done! Like the weight of the fleece and liner. I know this one will last....

November 3, 2019

Now patogonia owner

Loved the sweater jacket

October 30, 2019

Great product

Great product

October 29, 2019

Very warm and reliable. Positive

Very warm and reliable. Positive feedback from friends and family. I look good ! Thanks

October 29, 2019

Sharp look

It’s tough finding an XS-anything that fits well and isn’t too big. The Better Sweater Jacket fits true to size and looks amazing! I love the navy blue color, too. I’m able to wear this to the office or dress it down and wear it when I go out during the evening.

October 28, 2019

Great Sweater But....

Great sweater as advertised. Just need to put smooth material in the sleeves to make it easier putting it on with long sleeve clothes.

October 27, 2019

Perfect

Great fit and function!

October 26, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

October 25, 2019

Not better - BEST sweater!

After having owned and loved this product for years, I have recently introduced my husband to it. He is SOLD! This is the perfect multi season sweater/jacket. Very comfortable, looks nice, washes well. Works well as a layer. Goes from skiing to the office. My husband is 6’4” with very long arms. Has a hard time finding brands with long enough sleev... Read Morees and not too wide and short in the body. Patagonia XL fits him perfectly! This is the second one of these we’ve bought - he wanted a second color!

October 24, 2019

Comfy

Warm and cozy

October 23, 2019

Better sweater

Looks great, feels great, provides warmth but also breathable. Perfect for fall and spring and can be used as a layer if it gets really cold.

October 23, 2019

I have the half zip and full zip version of this.

Great for Fall and Spring as well as a layer for the Winter. These two get a lot of use from me and likely will continue to for many years.

October 22, 2019

Better Sweater

Perfect! Love it!!

October 21, 2019

Fits and looks great!

I bought this jacket for my husband and it fits and looks great. He’s a pretty fit guy 6’ tall, 205 lbs., broad shoulders and slim waist at 32”. I bought him a Large. He won’t be able to fit a very heavy sweater under the jacket, but a shirt or light sweater will be fine. I have one of these jackets in a women’s and I love it and I think he will to... Read Moreo!

October 19, 2019

Great fit and quality

Great for colder days 30 plus degrees 0 Celsius. Fit is very comfortable and material is pretty thick. A medium fit perfect as I’m 5”11 and about 150Lbs.

October 18, 2019

Very warm

The jacket is great and the pockets are huge! I can fit my whole hand in there and still have room. It is also very soft and thick and fits well

October 18, 2019

My son loves it!

I got this for my 13 year old son. He loves it! He wants it to be cold everyday so he wear it. The fit is great too.

October 13, 2019

Great sweater.

Love the fit and feel. Wear it to work at a hospital. Looks casual yet professional. Many compliments from coworkers.

October 12, 2019

Now have several Better Sweaters...using

Now have several Better Sweaters...using almost daily. My "go to" clothing item for every function!

October 8, 2019

Quality fleece

Fits perfect. Good quality as expected from Patagonia.

October 6, 2019

Instantly my favorite.

One word: Cozy. Looks great. Love the color (I got the green). I have a few BS, but this is my first in the full zip jacket-form. I like it better than the pullovers. On my Xmas list for sure.

October 5, 2019

Very nice fit and I

Very nice fit and I love the color!

September 23, 2019

Great comfort but loosely fit

This is jacket is very comfortable and cozy but I feel the sizing chart was inaccurate. I’m 6’0 tall and 160 pounds and the medium I purchased runs a tiny bit big. Overall, great quality!

September 19, 2019

Great Jacket but just didn’t like the fit.

Quality and look of the jacket are perfect, I mean, that’s why I bought it! But I really hoped it would have more of an athletic fit. Maybe if I planned on wearing a hoodie underneath? Had I been in-store I’d have never have bought it. I bought it online and hoped for the best. I don’t know if this Size L is indicative of all Patagonia fleeces b... Read Moreut I wish they’d have a slimmer cut.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the fit wasn't what you were looking for. You are more than welcome to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 15, 2019

Perfect

I bought this for my Dandy 95 year old Dad- he loves it and looks so great in it. He's on the small side 5'4 and about 120 lbs. He got a medium so he could wear layers under it. It's perfect!

September 14, 2019

better sweater is a great

better sweater is a great lightweight cover

September 14, 2019

Best not better

Love this jacket for cold fall morning in the mountains

September 13, 2019

Sweater Jacket

This jacket was a gift for my grandson. He is 17, slim and about 5’ 10”. The fit is perfect and he is thrilled with this sweater jacket

September 9, 2019

Honestly unisex

I just bought the men’s because I like things to go down to the bottom of my butt, and to give me some arm room for sweaters and stuff. Fits great and so toasty!

September 3, 2019

Very nice! Warm, but not

Very nice! Warm, but not bulky

September 3, 2019

Great item ... warm and

Great item ... warm and easy to care

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches