Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 492 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
July 19, 2021

Great looking and warm

Good looking, warm. Using recycled materials also please me.

July 8, 2021

Good quality

Bought this for my son, he loves the quality and more important keeps him warm.

July 2, 2021

Super comfortable, warm, and looks great!

Purchased to have a nicer looking zip up sweater and am so impressed by the quality. Keep it up Patagonia!

June 24, 2021

more casual than athletic

The M's sweater jacket is a great item incorporating the usual superb Patagonia quality and I love the weight. For my taste and being 6'2"/ 175lbs, and wearing a t-shirt, the L size was too big in lower half (ie, around my mid-section) and the body of jacket itself too long. The sleeve length was generous which is great. Alternativel... Read Morey, the size M was way too tight. If a future design embraces more of a "slim fit" style, or I gain/lose 20 lbs, I will take another look at the Better Sweater.

June 12, 2021

Perfect Jacket

The perfect Jacket. Had the same one for about 2 years but unfortunately lost it. Had to order a new one the next day. Im 60, 175 lbs and the Medium was too small.

May 20, 2021

Great to wear for spring and fall

I bought this for my husband and it fit perfectly well. He is 135 lbs. The pockets are useful for keys, cellphone and wallet

May 14, 2021

Super comfortable

This is an awesome article of clothing. Super warm and super comfortable. Patagonia is such a high quality company. They make the process of returning goods for a different size very easy and smooth. You know you are getting the best when you purchase from them.

May 14, 2021

Perfectly light!

I've been waiting for this jacket for years! It's light enough to wear it during the day, yet cozy and warm enough for a cool evening. The workmanship is outstanding and it fits me like a globe. Perhaps the sleeves may not be conducive to wear something thick under it (e.g., a sweater), but a regular t-shirt or dress shirt works just fine... Read More. I was concerned M was going to be too big (that's the case with me and North Face), but it feels tailor made. I don't remember whether it's wind proof, though in any event it does a great job preventing cold wind to go through. The quality of the fleece is better than any other fleece item I own.

May 14, 2021

Great Sweater. Warmer than expected.

Two things. I'm 6'3" and 180 pounds. I wear a size "Large" for most of my shirts and jackets. Subsequently, I ordered a "Large". However, it was way too big. When I returned it and ordered a medium, I was worried the sleeves would be too short. However, the medium fits me perfectly. Second, it's warmer than y... Read Moreou think. I would call it a "medium grade" sweater-jacket. Not like the pull-overs I have. Overall, a great product.

May 11, 2021

Just Right

I received this as a gift after admiring my brother in law's. Haven't had it off much during this May chill. Exactly the right weight and looks better than my beloved old soft sweatshirt.

May 6, 2021

Great fleece jacket

Great jacket and as expecteed from Patagonia very well put together. I love the brown color. It runs a bit small, at least for me.

May 5, 2021

Comfort

Comfort, warm, cozy feeling.

April 30, 2021

Comfy

Love these Better Sweaters. This is my second. It's warm and comfy. The dark blue color is a true one. The sleeves are long enough for me (16 X 35 shirt size). The length in the body goes past my hips. Patagonia has kept sizes consistent in this product over the years which is excellent. (Other products from Patagonia have wildly varying sizin... Read Moreg depending on years of manufacture.)

April 25, 2021

?

I bought this for my husband and he loves it. It is very warm and looks very sporty. I also love the grey color. thanks!

April 23, 2021

Feel Great

I love it, feels warm, comfortable. the fit is just right and most of all I love the quality of it. washed it a few times, and still looks brand new.

April 23, 2021

Terrible! Think Twice Before Purchasing.

I have owned 33 pieces of Patagonia since 1988 and have always been a fan and great ambassador to the brand until now. This item is the WORST Patagonia I have ever produced. Purchased in January of 2021. First, the jacket is NOT warm at all. A slight breeze goes right through it. Unfortunately, it makes for an ok, just an ok indoor jacket. Not my i... Read Morententions of using and purchasing this item. Secondly, the material just seems cheap! The interior lining is very thin and the exterior just seems weak. Also, attracts every piece of animal fur and lint like a magnet. Thirdly, the zippers do not have the additional "zipper pull" tabs as Patagonia was always good for. This makes finding pocket zippers very difficult! Patagonia was ALWAYS good at providing these until now. Terrible way to save a few cents Patagonia. Forth, the sleeve cuffs always bend back and are not holding their shape and are loose. Not something I ever experienced from previous Patagonia items. Am I being picky? Maybe, but I have come to expect great products from Patagonia and this falls VERY short. Patagonia, PLEASE do not go the way of other manufactures and "cheapen" your items!

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2021

Hello Scott, thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. Your feedback has been passed along to our Design and Product Teams. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your jacket if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

April 19, 2021

Great sweater!

I gave one of these to each of my sons and then realized I wanted one, as well. I love the color and the fit. Perfect for cool evenings or mornings.

April 16, 2021

Ron

Another great Patagonia product!

April 16, 2021

Perfect addition to my easentials

Better than a sweater for sure - fits snuggly enough to keep you warm - fashionable enough to wear alone and not bulky if you want to layer. Perfect purchase

April 15, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Got this for walking in 45 -50 degree weather with long sleeve T-shirt underneath . Very warm and comfortable in those conditions. Perfect fit , stylish , with enough pockets for phone, gloves, keys, etc...... Bought a grey one and liked it so much ordered a 2nd brown one!

April 15, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Absolutely love this sweater very warm and soft. I got the khaki color because I work somewhere with lots of dust and pets.

April 14, 2021

Great Gift!

I bought these sweater/jackets as a gift. I have them also and love them! Great for men and women! Warm, easy to wash and so very comfortable! Thanks!

April 12, 2021

Needed a nice fleece jacket

I'm 6'1, and about 225. So it runs true to size. It's not loose fitting and if you want that pending your size I'd go up but it fits great for me with either a dress shirt or something light underneath. Got this for everyday use as well as going out as it looks amazing and hiking as it gets colder of needed.

April 11, 2021

Perfect fit

I had wanted a lightweight sweater but womens size were too small and found one that was perfect fit and ordered this one online. I love it.

April 10, 2021

Very comfortable, keeps me warm but not too hot, perfect for a mid layer on cold days or an outer layer on cool days

Love this sweater!

April 6, 2021

Lovely color and great jacket

Love the color and the fit, a bit bigger but longer in the torso and arms. It will be a welcome change from gray and orange! Better sweaters work well year around in our climate!!

April 4, 2021

I am kind of disappointed, they sizing is not good.

So I originally ordered a large. Using the size guide, I thought that this would be the best option for me. However, when I got the jacket it was super tight in the shoulders and did not really fit me properly, it felt tight in all of the wrong places. I then was able to do an exchange for an extra-large, which customer service was amazing about. T... Read Morehough, when I received the jacket it was literally way too big. The sleeves were too long and it looked like I was wearing a dress...so now I am just stuck with an oversized jacket that I will never wear.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2021

Hi Hunter, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We're really sorry to hear the the XL didn't work out either and we completely understand the disappointment. With that said, you are welcome to return it to us. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance!

April 1, 2021

Great quality

Use almost everyday, especially in the morning getting ready for my day. Seems to be able to hold up to the consistent use.

March 30, 2021

Great sweater/jacket

Have worn this jacket for years. A favorite from Patagonia and great for layering when needed.

March 29, 2021

Very comfortable and nice looking.

This is nice looking and comfortable sweater jacket. This is a nice upgrade to similar jackets I have purchased over the last 10 years

March 29, 2021

warm and comfortable sweater jacket

Patagonia's sweater jackets are warmer than other brands in the market, made with excellent zippers which you do not need to fight to engage and fit snuggle around the waist, wrist and neck when it warrants snugness. They are not inexpensive but made well for long lasting.

March 27, 2021

good quality

I love all the better sweater fleece products, I have 2 of the better sweater fleece button up shirts also. I plan on wearing these things for a long time.

March 26, 2021

Stylish and warm

Excellent quality, and functional with ample storage (pockets). It does run relatively snug over any long sleeved shirt.

March 26, 2021

My new favorite

This is actually my second review of this jacket. So far it has performed better than I ever could have dreamed. I throw it on for any setting where I want to be comfortable and classy. If you want a sweater that feels like a jacket this is for you! With that being said I do have one suggestion for the Patagonia design so listen up guys and gals! P... Read Morelease, please, please put the chest pocket on the inside. It would make the jack look even more clean. Also, drop the size of the left inside drop pocket to that of the current right one. At the very least add a zipper garage for the current chest pocket. I would recommend this to just about anyone. Also note that while this jacket is best suited for casual use it can be use for some more demanding things. I have already hit mtb jump lines and hiked in this thing with no complaints. It is surprisingly hardy!

March 25, 2021

A Wardrobe Staple

My husband now has 3 of these sweaters. I have 2. We both use them all the time. They are warm as a light "jacket", but also layer well. Great for An upgraded sweatshirt alternative, but the same comfort. Great for travel. Just the right multi purpose item! Wears like iron and machine washes and dries perfectly. Highly recommend!

March 24, 2021

Quality appearance

Fits snugly, but, not meant to be worn over fleece etc. With polos great!

March 22, 2021

Looks good, warm but ages really poorly.

Love my other Patagonia gear except this one. I've purchased a few for gifts but I'm disappointed in my own and how poorly it has aged. I've had it for less than a year and it develops a lot of pilling. Great otherwise. It's warm, looks good and well priced but it just looks bad after a few months of heavy use.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hi Ricardo, we are sorry your Better Sweater has begun to pill. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your jacket can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Just give us a [call or chat in](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can set that up for you.

March 22, 2021

Wish it had drawstring

Its great for layering and I wish it had a drawstring around the hem at the bottom to keep the wind out.

March 19, 2021

Really good, have one or two suggestions

First off I would like to make it clear that this is not a full review as I have only owned this jacket for a few days. I bought it to replace an aging better sweater vest. This is a really similar item, basically a better sweater vest with sleeves. So, I think I know enough to share with y'all but take this with a grain of salt. Pros: very c... Read Moreomfortable, good materials, good Patagonia quality, nice zippers, warm but not too warm, and looks really good Cons: I don't understand the left side inside pocket. Why is it so, so long and deep? I would much rather a shorter wider one like on the right. Maybe there's a reason I'm missing but the positioning of it makes it hard to use. It also would have been nice to have thumbholes on the sleeves. Overall: I would 100% recommend this jacket. I only gave it 4 stars because it didn't blow me out of the water the same way products like the micro puff hoodie (also by Patagonia) has. Its a great sweater jacket and I can tell it will be one of my favorites for years and years to come.

March 13, 2021

Perfect

Love the color and material. Not too thick for spring. This is a perfect everyday casual jacket.

March 12, 2021

why the pilling problem

nice jacket but the fabric will definitely 'pill'

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hello Gary, thanks for your review! Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if needed.

March 10, 2021

So comfy

My go to choice to be warm, look nicer than a sweatshirt and feel good all at the same time.

March 9, 2021

Well Made and Super Warm

This is a toasty warm zip up for both indoor and outdoor. Zippered pockets provide a secure place for valuables. Patagonia not only makes high quality products but is a customer oriented company. I received an apology from them due to not having a jacket in the color I ordered. I highly recommend Patagonia!

March 8, 2021

excellent quality

Very happy with quality. Only gripe is that the Medium runs small and the large is more accurate. The medium was small and uncomfortable across the chest. Im 59 155 lb. I exchanged for large, which is bigger than what I prefer (sleeve and body length for example). But I kept. Mediums should be made a bit fuller.

March 5, 2021

Comfortable

Comfortable and warm

March 4, 2021

Perfect sweater

This is one of my favorite sweaters and I have a bunch of Patagonia's. I'm 170, 5' 11" with a 41" chest and a size Medium fits perfect. One thing I really like is the high collar that fits well and is not loose around my neck. It is perfect to layer underneath a jacket/ windbreaker .

February 28, 2021

Excellent jacket

Fantastic jacket great fit and material

February 27, 2021

Great Gift

I bought this for my husband. It was his first Patagonia. He was not keen on the price at first, but quickly changed his mind when he tried it on.

February 27, 2021

Soft & Warm

3 zippered pickets, full zipper, good fit, warm and soft. Another great item from Patagonia.

February 26, 2021

Oddly right, but seems comfy

The fit seems off. Tighter than even a slim fit shirt in my normal size. Could barely fit my sleeveless as through the sleeves. Seems an absolute requirement to size up if you are not very skinny or if you want to wear more than a t-shirt underneath. Quality doesn't seem quite on par with the cost and the mystique. I'll look for a differe... Read Morent sturdy fleece jacket.

February 26, 2021

Great All Around Jacket

I purchased this in Log Brown after scouring the reviews for a quality durable Spring and Fall sweater. It is very soft and has a classic look that you can wear to the office or out for a hike. The fit is true to size (for reference Im 5-6 tall, weigh 170 lbs., 39 chest, 32/33 sleeve, 32 waist), the only area that fits a little snug is the sleeve o... Read Moren my forearm. It is a warm and light sweater to use stand alone or as a mid layer. Zipper quality is very good with smooth operation. Too soon for me to tell on the durability, but very happy with the product.

February 25, 2021

AWESOME

feels great, warm and reliable, used to have one back in 7th grade, really happy i found the same one!

February 25, 2021

Very warm and cozy!

Enjoy wearing it on cold days. Soft and very warm.

February 25, 2021

Warm

Fits right

February 25, 2021

A Classic

The better sweater is truly that, a better sweater. It provides good warmth and where as well. The fabric is thick and rich and feels great on your skin. I recently purchased the dark brown and absolutely love the color of the fabric. I own a number of better sweaters and I plan to keep buying them in the future, theyre great!

February 25, 2021

Comfortable, Simple, and Stylish

Love this sweater so much that I got two. It's incredibly comfortable, fits nicely, and matches any outfit. I can wear it at work in a professional setting, or lounging about the house Sunday morning with a cup of coffee.

February 25, 2021

Repeat purchase

My second of the same. Great weight and layers well. Quality is always top tier. Five stars.

February 24, 2021

good fleece

while much of the Patagonia line has seemed to suffer reduction in general quality / durability the better sweater fleece pieces are still dependable layers

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

"thanks for your feedback! Our product designers and other customers really appreciate any details you can provide regarding fabric, sizing, fit, features and performance. Please reach out if you need any assistance from our Customer Service team.

February 24, 2021

Quality and great sales price

Delivery on time so much better than last year!

February 23, 2021

Awesome.

Perfect fit. Didnt have to give it to one of my children. :)

February 23, 2021

Perfect

I got this sweater for my husband, he works in a hospital and it is just perfect for him, keeping him warmed enough, light weight and looks professional for see his patients even though when he is wearing his scrubs.

February 23, 2021

great for women too

The BSJ is my staple clothing item in the winter. Having both women's & men's version of the BSJ, I actually prefer the men's version because the arms are more relaxed where it joins the shoulders. I have read other women complaining about the women's version because of this, so I invite them to try the men's version. S... Read Moreure, the silhouette is not hourglass-y, but so what? I think this current version is a little longer so with my hips being more flared than a man's & having a shorter torso, the bottom of the jacket "grabs" at my hips whereas the torso is looser. Fortunately, I'm still trim enough that the sweater bottom doesn't bunch up around my waist. The other bonus to purchasing the men's version are the better color options like the olives, rusts, & browns.

February 19, 2021

Could be warmer

Could be warmer

February 18, 2021

Comfortable and warm

I love this sweater. Its a little larger than I expected but a medium would be too small. Overall, its a favorite and its been great with the winter weather in Chicago.

February 18, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Warm and comfortable to wear !

February 18, 2021

Super Sweater

This is a super well-designed sweater with a solid weight to the fabric and very effective balance of insulation and breathability. It's the kind of sweater you grow old with. As it ages, it'll fit like a glove.

February 15, 2021

2 bad jackets

I received a green version of this jacket for Christmas. I enjoyed it until I pulled it out of the wash with holes in it. I had followed the tags instructions for washing, so I was upset this gift didnt even last a month with how expensive it is. I tried to find an exact replacement, but the color I had was sold out of everywhere I looked. I bought... Read More a second jacket a different color, and the seam on one of the sleeves is very rough and uncomfortable. I used to love these types of jackets as a teenager, but it seems the quality is going down, which is very disappointing

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Hi Edward, we're sorry to hear about the untimely wear and tear and disappointment with the Men's Better Sweater Fleece Jacket in general. As always, if you're at all unsatisfied with your gear, your welcome to return or exchange that under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 11, 2021

Runs a little big

Great fleece! I ordered the large but returned for the medium. Medium fits perfect over a T-shirt or polo- 6ft tall/ 42 chest/ 34 waist.

February 9, 2021

Great sweater

I LOVE this sweater. It is warm and fits me like a glove. It is not scratchy so I wear it all the time. Wearing under a down sweater keep me warm I all but the coldest weather.

February 9, 2021

Super Comfortable

I wear this comfortable sweater over t-shirts, polo style, or button-down shirts nearly every day from October to March with shorts, sweats, jeans, or khakis. I am 6'2" - 250 LB, and the XXL fits perfectly. The only reason I would buy another is to have multiple colors (I have industrial green).

February 8, 2021

Gorgeous high quality

Purchased hunter green, so beautiful, fits perfectly, and warm but not too warm

February 7, 2021

Great Fleece Jacket

The style and fit are excellent. Surprisingly comfortable and plentiful pockets.

February 6, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

All the things that are great about this better sweater from the other reviews are true! Being a taller gentleman, however, the sleeves are a smidge short on me. This is a little different than other products I own so keep in mind when you are shopping.

February 6, 2021

Not great if you arent tall & skinny

This is a cool sweater overall, good workmanship and quality material. However, if you are in the short range and stocky, 5 foot eight & below, the M will have sleeves mid palm on you and the bottom of the shirt will be at your privates and below. Funny thing is I am about the same size as Yvonne Chouinard and very seldom does Patagonia fit me.... Read More Id like to see how he looks in his own product.

February 6, 2021

Super Warm

Love the fit. Super warm and quality material. Very fashionable for hiking and at work!

February 4, 2021

Functional and beautiful

The Patagonia Better Sweater just keeps getting better I think: the weave is now even more reminiscent of a wool sweater but it's more durable. Good looking enough for casual work and going out for dinner, but still works great for short hikes.

February 3, 2021

Nice looking jacket.

Like the fabric, color, and detail. Well worth the price.

February 1, 2021

Toasty warm

I own more than one of your products, and I have always been satisfied. More what do with your product they perform great,always happy with my purchased.

January 31, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Very comfortable sweater

January 30, 2021

My favorite light jacket

I had wanted one for a while and it lives up to expectations. Very comfortable.

January 30, 2021

Not the Same As the Older Better Sweater

I have owned this Better Sweater jacket for about two months (L Logwood Brown), washed it 2-3 times total and it has pilled incredibly fast. The zipper is also slightly curled and the overall fit feels a lot smaller than my other Better Sweater jacket from 2016, despite being washed with cold water and air dried. Overall I would say the material is... Read More of a lesser quality than previous seasons Better Sweaters. I typically love everything from Patagonia, but this was a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're welcome to return it for a warranty.

January 29, 2021

Classic elegance

Looked comfortable and sharp on my teenager.

January 27, 2021

Sleeves are long

Got the XS size. Love this jacket a lot. However, those sleeves are too long

January 26, 2021

A really good sweater

I actually have bought several of these Better Sweaters over the years, and they have held up well and I pretty much live in them through our five-month winters here in Ithaca, NY. The old ones are still good, but the current crop is appreciably better, and I highly recommend these sweaters. They are warm, sturdy, well-designed, and they look great... Read More in a well-turned out casual sort of way. In fact, I have gotten a couple of Better Sweater vests for fall and spring, and when it gets fairly cold in the house, I put a sweater over a vest over a t-shirt, and I'm as cozy as can be!

January 24, 2021

Comfortable & practical

My bf likes efficiency in gear, and I like looks- we both win with this sweater (which has long been a fixture in my own closet! But I wasnt sure he was ready...) Runs about 1/2 size small.

January 22, 2021

Great jacket

Great color. Love the Chest pocket!

January 21, 2021

Very comfortable , lightweight and warm

Same as above , will buy more in the future. Love it , Thanks !!!

January 21, 2021

Great look, great fit!

Im 61 & 200lbs and i bought the navy blue in an XL. It fits just about perfect. Its not slim fit but its also not baggy around the torso. Theres room to layer another lighter sweater or a flannel underneath without it being too tight or restricting your movements. Looks great and super happy with the purchase!

January 20, 2021

Durable and warm

True to size and comfortable!

January 20, 2021

Great jacket

Husband loves it, fits perfectly. True to size and slimming.

January 17, 2021

Great Quality

Great fit and well made. Warm jacket that can be worn by itself as a zipped sweater or as an under layer for an outer jacket. Love this fleece!

January 13, 2021

Perfect over tee around house

I bought this to try as I have a couple Polar Fleece jackets. I wear over one tee shirt around the house and under a jacket for walks. Live in cold northeast its perfect around drafty house and quick trips outside. Have 6-8 Patagonia items, this is my favorite.

January 12, 2021

Comfortable and stylish

Bought this for my dad for Christmas and he loves it!!! Fits a little long on him since hes not super tall but other than that, great fit!

January 12, 2021

Stylish and light-weight jacket

The jacket is comfortable and stylish . It is lightweight to medium weight. It keeps you warm but not good for cold under 50 degrees. Nice for a walk, hike, casual work or a everyday jacket

January 11, 2021

A joke

Got this for Christmas and was super excited to try it out. It looks nice and fits well, but I got this for outdoor activity in cool weather, and at this the jacket is a big fail. I've been out on light to moderately windy days where the temps were between 50 and the low 60s. I was shocked how the wind just blows right through it, especially i... Read Moren the arms. I realize it's a fleece jacket and not a shell, but I've had other fleece jackets that have performed much better--even significantly cheaper ones. I have a simple hoodie that's 1/3 the price, and it's warmer. The first time I tried it I remember saying to myself that I must be mistaken, but now I've had a few experiences that were just like the first one. Very disappointed. Also, I tried wearing it over a long sleeve shirt, and it's really hard to get on over anything long sleeve--the fabric of the jacket really wants to pull at and stick to the sleeves of the shirt. I will definitely be taking this jacket back.

January 11, 2021

Great buy

Really content with everything about it!

January 10, 2021

Comfortable,stylish jacket

My husband loves this jacket. It fits perfectly. He wears it all the time both inside and outside!

January 9, 2021

Nice Fleece Jacket

Love the fleece jacket! Bought a medium size and it fits just right. Its warm, very light weight and perfect for cold weather.

January 9, 2021

Warm with great fit!

This was a gift for our son. Usually large jackets are wide but this fits great. Many people need length but not an automatically a wide fit. Thank you for getting it. With so many grey and black jackets the brown is a nice change. This looks great with jeans or dress pants. A nice upgrade to his outerwear collection!!

January 9, 2021

Great cold weather sweater for work

My son, who is a young professional and very picky with his work clothes, loves this sweater for cold weather work wear.

January 8, 2021

Very warm, looks great on

Fits well, love the color. Very pleased. Thanks, Dale

January 7, 2021

Nice and warm

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he is obsessed with it. He has already asked for another one for his birthday.

January 6, 2021

Love the better sweater

Xx

January 6, 2021

The Perfect Gift for Christmas

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He has a blue already and wears it all the time.

January 6, 2021

Versatile

One of the best fleeces out there. I have two and bought one for a friend for Christmas present.

January 6, 2021

Looks nice on the outside, super comfortable and warm on the inside.

Looks nice on the outside, super comfortable and warm on the inside.

January 4, 2021

Piling after a few wears

After wearing for just a few hours, the fabric started piling along the entire front. Looks like its years old after having it for only a week. I assume it will get worse after laundering. Im a huge Patagonia supporter and have always been super happy with my purchases. This sweater gets a major thumbs down.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Thank you for providing feedback on your fleece. All fleece is prone to pilling when exposed to friction. The good news is you can easily fix it. We've put together a [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o) on how to remove those pills.

January 3, 2021

It is warm

I like it. The only thing I would maybe see about changing is the zipper. I would like to see it bigger.

January 3, 2021

Best fleece ever

The only reason I had to order a new one is because Patagonia is currently repairing the zipper on my old one. Like 12/13 years old, used for EVERYTHING, worn in every condition throughout the year. I have other specialty fleece for specific usage, but this is the swiss-army-knife of fleece jackets. Period.

January 3, 2021

My 3rd Better Sweater

Love this product, tried a similar product from the "Arc" company and it pilled after a season. One of mine is now 10 years old and looks great. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone, you decide your activity.

January 3, 2021

very warm

The body of the sweater fits but the sleeves run about 2 inches to long for me. The sweater is super warm.

January 3, 2021

Great Quality!

Bought for my husband. Super warm, very professional.

January 2, 2021

Beautiful jacket

I accidentally ordered my husband two jackets and he loves this one too. Very warm with great pockets.

January 2, 2021

Comfortable and warm

Got this as a present. I like the front zippered pocket, really warm fleece and fits right. Great for mild weather or slightly colder weather without the bulk. Would recommend.

January 1, 2021

Super Comfy

A good, warm fleece that is now my go to jacket. It is also perfect for layering under a hard shell when it gets wet. Grabbing this and my Torrentshell jacket makes me prepared for anything.

December 31, 2020

It's a better sweater jacket

I chose a size XL and sizing is spot-on. I usually downsize to a large on most Patagonia jackets. I'm 6-0. 205#. My chest measurement is about 23-24 inches across. It fits me perfect and it's not a bulky fleece jacket which is what I'm looking for. So far no complaints.

December 30, 2020

Best on market

I have purchased a few of these sweaters. The quality and feel is above and beyond other competitors so called better sweater. Dont waste time with them! BUY PATAGONIA!!!

December 30, 2020

Warm

Very surprised how small it is compared to other ones I bought through the years

December 29, 2020

Excellent Jacket

excellent jacket

December 28, 2020

I love patagonia, but do not give one as a gift

I own 3 patagonia's sweaters and I love them they are the best!!!! Quality speaking cannot be beaten by any brand... With that being said... I purchase a sweater for my husband's bday with a message for him and when I received the package the box said patagonia and the message was printed in the bill, definetly it ruined the surprise!!!!!... Read More! But anyways he loves it and it fits perfectly.

Response from Patagonia
February 6, 2021

Sorry to hear the surprise was ruined but happy to know the gift was appreciated! We'll make note of this and pass the word along, thanks.

December 26, 2020

Husband loves it.

Gift for my husband. Its nice enough to dress up, but casual enough to wear for the warmth. Well made. Very warm.

December 24, 2020

Great Fleece

This fleece is super warm and great for a variety of activities.

December 23, 2020

Warm and fits nicely

Warm enough for hiking at about 30°F (0°C). Fits nicely.

December 22, 2020

Style and Comfort

Very comfortable and better looking than a hoodie.

December 22, 2020

L was too small. XL was too large. Otherwise a nice sweater. I bought it to replace an old L sweater of the same type which I loved but on which the zipper ceased to function.

The L size which I bought and returned was too small and the XL which I bought is too big. Otherwise, the sweater is fine. I bought it to replace a similar Patagonia sweater which I had for many year on which the zipper ceased to function.

December 21, 2020

Comfy, slim fit

6'1", 205lbs. I generally wear a medium for patagonia tops, couldn't even get my arms into the medium. Got a large and it fits beautifully. I run a bit warm at baseline, this will work as a solo layer for t>40f or paired with a vest for 30f

December 16, 2020

One of the best jackets ive ever bought!

Jacket is warm, soft, and comfy. Beat jacket in the world.

December 13, 2020

Great quality and look!

Great quality. Looks good. Would definitely purchase again.

December 12, 2020

Fabric quality is very poor!!

I had ordered this top for my dad as birthday gift. My dad had started wearing only few times, and the fabric pills like crazy like defected so he couldnt wear it anymore. He didnt even wash once! I have several tops from Pantagonia and know the quality of product is good but this time I am very disappointed and asked for refund.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review for us. Our Quality Analysts do read each and every one that's submitted, so your feedback is helping us improve on future iterations! If you come across any other pilling, we do have a handy [guide](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Remove+Pilling+from+a+Patagonia+Sweater/19439) on our website to help navigate you through it.

December 10, 2020

The perfect fleece

I love this jacket. Its warm and fits like a glove. I bought three more for relatives.

December 10, 2020

Gorgeous!

Its perfect!

December 10, 2020

Super Warm

I purchased this sweater for my son for the second time. He has a long walk across the parking lot into work each day, starting at 6:30 am and it gets mighty cold in Idaho. This is his favorite sweater and I hope you keep it in stock because I will probably want to buy it again! Thank you Patagonia.

December 9, 2020

warm

It was a gift

December 8, 2020

Warm

This jacket keeps me warm but not hot. The only negative is if the wind is blowing it gets cold.

December 6, 2020

narrow sleeves

I like everything about this jacket except (and this is a big exception) for the fact that the sleeves are too narrow, and it isn't as though I have overly large muscles. If I wear a long sleeve t-shirt, the fit could be acceptable. If I wear an oxford cloth shirt, it is almost comical how difficult it is to get the jacket on AND off. My wool ... Read Moresweaters are far easier to don and doff than this. It is a lot of money for something that is a struggle to wear.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2021

Hi H, we're sorry to hear about the odd fit of the sleeves on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. The Better Sweater line does tend to run small and we do recommend sizing up. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 4, 2020

Excellent

Regulates body temp extremely well. Warm in cold weather, cool in warm weather!

December 2, 2020

Pilling Like Crazy

I love these sweaters but man do they pull. You would think for 155 dollars they would figure out a way to not have this be an issue. Other than that it fits great and looks great. I have 3 of these but the black one seems to be the most noticeable with the pilling.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

Thanks for writing this review. To remove those pills we've created a handy [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o).

December 2, 2020

Well Made but Sizing Difficult

Its a nice sweater but the sizing is weird. The medium was ridiculously tight and the large too large. The bottom is not tapered so it allows cold air to get in underneath

November 29, 2020

Still my favorite

I've been wearing the better sweater jacket model for a long time. The perfect garment for me. Fit & finish excellent. Good bang for the buck.

November 25, 2020

High quality warmth but cut is small

I have 3 of the Better Sweater style vests. Love them and wanted one with sleeves. As a larger man I do not like pullovers and wanted the zip up. The quality is just great but I found the Size was not what I thought it should be. The vests are reasonably loose on me allowing thick clothing underneath but the zip up sweater has a body that is too sm... Read Moreall . More importantly are the sleeves which I found to be way too tight. This I assure you was not due to the muscular size of my arms. The sleeves make it hard to get on over layered clothing. Also I would like to see a better, more sweater like cuff on the sleeves. I would not trade the sweater for another brand and love the quality .

November 19, 2020

Love it

Love everything about Patagonia!!!!

November 18, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Fits great. Looks great. Keeps me warm. Whats not to like.

November 18, 2020

Flawless

This is my first ever purchase from Patagonia. Very well made, paying attention to minute details. Very happy and satisfied. For sure gonna be a returning customer. So glad I bought it. If you want something casual on a pair of jeans, its a no brainer. Just get it. Thank Patagonia for such a quality product.

November 18, 2020

Comfort and Quality

These two words sum it up. Great style and true to fit. Love the chest zip pocket. I wear this for going on walks, running errands our outside playing with my kids. Love it!

November 15, 2020

Perfect for work and for weekends

I have this sweater and a few vests and they are my go to when the weather is cool. I can throw it on with dress pants at the office or with jeans on my days off.

November 13, 2020

Perfect Fit, Looks Terrific

The fleece jacket/sweater looks great and fits perfectly. It is new and so I have no feedback to give as yet about how it wears or launders. A 5-star start!

November 13, 2020

Fit is off

I find the fit on these jackets to be way off. It is supposed to be a regular fit not a slim fit. Well its the slimmest regular fit ever. I ordered both a M and a L as I often fit in one or the other. I started with the L and it was too small so I didnt even get the M out of the package. I returned both. Im 59, 185.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Hey there, thanks for the review! We're sorry that the sizing felt off for you. If you're interested in a fleece that has more of a relaxed fit, please check out our [Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-synchilla-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25450.html?dwvar_25450_color=NKNV).

November 10, 2020

Cant figure out Patagonias sizing

I purchased a Medium, a Large and an Extra Large in the Regular Fit, Better Sweater. None fit me. Im 59, 185 lbs. Obviously not the build of a model, but Im athletic and fly fish over sixty days a year. I have to ask, when you are cutting these size patterns, who are they cut for? Ive made several returns to Patagonia this year as things just dont ... Read Morefit like they did back in the old days. I guess its time to move to another brand and leave Patagonia to the super slim rock climbers and such. Thanks for many years of quality garments!

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Scott! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and tell us about the difficulty you've had with sizing. We are very sorry to hear about the trouble you've had, but we always welcome the feedback. It's important to us to hear from our customers so we can improve things for future seasons. We've reached out to you directly to ask for some further detail regarding the fit you experienced.

November 7, 2020

Great jacket

This jacket is great for everyday wear and plenty warm for KY winters. Looks nice as business casual or with jeans. Fits well, not too snug or loose:

November 6, 2020

Perfect for fall

When its cold in the morning and warm in the afternoon I cycle through 3 of these everyday. It is well made, true to size, and very comfortable.

November 6, 2020

Love these sweaters

I love these sweaters, this is now my third one. They wear like iron, are very warm and move easily with whatever you're doing.

November 4, 2020

Good Quality.

Runs large so better to size down. Good quality and Very comfortable. Perfect for minimalist.

November 2, 2020

The perfect sweater

I have a lot of jackets that act as shells and then I have my massive coat. But I was looking for a think lightweight warm jacket, and oh boy did I find it. The size was perfect and quality is perfection.

October 31, 2020

Good Find

Comfortable, warm and good looking.

October 30, 2020

Nice looking garment

Nice looking garment and warm!!

October 28, 2020

Daily outfit staple

I live in the Minneapolis area and I wear this every day. When it gets cold inside, this is my go-to for staying warm. For especially cold winter weather, it works as a base layer. I recently went on a mid-October trip to Colorado and this was perfect for hikes in their fall weather. From a style standpoint, it goes with pretty much everything. It&... Read More#x27;s also quite comfortable with warm pockets to keep the hands warm. Couldn't recommend more strongly.

October 26, 2020

Isn't this year's jackets a tad bigger than last year's??

Size M seems to be a little roomier than last year's product. Also thinner all around, less material used. IDK, just my impression, Your?

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2020

Hey there, thanks for the feedback. Note, you can always make an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if it feels like the fit is off. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team if you need help with navigating the process.

October 9, 2020

Good Looks and Warm

Best looking fleece jacket striking a perfect balance between work and casual situations. I looked through nearly 100 before choosing this one. My body dimensions match size medium dimensions across the size chart. The size medium jacket fits me great which is surprising as I was expecting the waist to be oversized after a previous Patagonia jacket... Read More purchase years back. I heard they adjusted the size of these a bit ago which is good for me considering they don't have an adjustable drawcord hem. The size would allow for a shirt and mid-warmth sweater to be layered underneath. The chest pocket fits a phone, hand pockets are warm. Jacket overall is warm but I wear polos to work so I'd prefer it to be a bit warmer and more wind resistant with perhaps a secondary layer of thin, dense fabric inside. An adjustable hem would probably benefit some people with multi-sized dimensions. New navy is a solid color especially with the heathered look.

September 7, 2020

Warm friend

This recycled better sweater jacket fits great, provides great warmth, and is well tailored. The weight is a bit more than anticipated and you can certainly feel you have it on...like a sweater rather than a light-weight synthetic.

September 6, 2020

Awesome

Even though I haven't had the opportunity to wear this since purchasing it (temps in the 90's) , I do have a quarter zip Better Sweater that i know is very warm and durable. i ordered this an actual size larger than i normally wear, in order to be able to layer under it. I plan on wearing this as my outerlayer this winter, providing it is... Read Moren't raining. always had amazing articles of clothing from Patagonia, and I'm certain this will be the same!

September 4, 2020

Bigger fit than usual

I bought this for my husband who has other better sweaters and is a consistent XL. We were both surprised that it was big on him because the fit on patagonia sweaters are usually so consistent. He kept it because it's a nice color and he'll make it work.

September 3, 2020

Awesome garmet.

Perfect fit, warm and comfortable for anything outdoors that requires a layer.

September 1, 2020

Best fit ever!

I dont know if its because of my Asian gene, but this fit on me so well that it feels like it was made for me. The material is superb cause I just dont want to take it out at all. Well done Patagonia!

August 28, 2020

AMAZING

This was my first ever Patagonia product, thought it was worth the money so i gave it a try.... BOY did it send me down an addiction path with this company. This sweater is amazing. Beyond warm, pockets are perfect size, and breast pocket is big enough for all the new cell phones. You can easily double this sweater as a winter coat depending on wea... Read Morether. The zippers were made really well and i enjoy the loop, on the collar, for hanging on clothes hooks. The only bad thing is, that it's so warm, i can't wear it more. 10/10 would recommend to anyone!

August 26, 2020

TM

I like the sweater. I have several but the zippers are terrible. I have had to replace the zippers on every better sweater I have owned. I go to an alteration place to get a better zipper once these fail.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hello Terry, we're really sorry to hear that the zippers have been failing. If this becomes a bigger issue down the road, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

August 3, 2020

Amazing

Beautiful fleece! Definitely worth every penny! Highly recommend

July 1, 2020

Great Daily Kick-around

This is my go-to for something to put on no matter where I'm going. Great fit, soft, subtle color. My only complaint is that the chest pocket zipper is shot and the main zipper is failing. Admittedly, I bought this in 2018, but I don't know how to replace zippers so it might be getting retired soon, unfortunately.

June 17, 2020

I love these sweaters

I have three of them in different colors. They're the ideal business casual day-to-night Pacific NW accessory. Ideal number of pockets and not too warm or too cool.

June 17, 2020

All purpose jacket

This is a great sweater/light jacket for everyday use. Super soft and comfortable.

February 16, 2020

Christmas gift

Warm, comfortable and attractive

January 29, 2020

Great Product!

Very happy with it. :)

January 15, 2020

Wonderful style and fit

I always like Patagonia for its variety of colors and excellent style. I bought several family members sweaters and vests. They all loved them.

January 13, 2020

Happy with the full-length zipper

Happy with the full-length zipper version of this sweater. It is comfortable, the tight-knit fleece performs well, and I like the color pattern. I'm 5'10" 175 lbs and a Medium may have been better fitting (but the Large works fine, just a little long).

January 8, 2020

Great overall but wish arms were longer

I like almost everything about this. It's quite warm, looks good, and is well made. It's geared towards casual, non-active uses since it's pretty heavy and doesn't breath too well. But for static use it's terrific. Just one nit - I'm 6'1", 175 lbs and a medium fits perfect except the sleeves are a bit short.... Read More If I tug on them they'll just barely reach to my wrist, and as soon as I start moving around they start to ride up a few inches on my arm. The large was too baggy for me, so I'm still on the fence about whether to keep it.

January 8, 2020

Immediate pilling

I purchased both the Better Sweater jacket and the 1/4 zip version. Both came on time and looked great out of the box. Both are very warm and feel substantial on, without being overly heavy. However, within the first week of owning (and wearing) both, the jacket started to pill like crazy, particularly on the chest and arms. I have tried to attach ... Read Morea picture, but not sure how easy it is to see given the jacket's color. Note that I had just been wearing it as a casual top layer for a couple of days and had not even put it through the wash yet. The really odd thing is that I noticed none of this pilling on the 1/4 zip version, even though I wore them about the same amount. Not too sure what could have accounted for this difference, but I am definitely a little disappointed given the price point and Patagonia's usual reputation for quality.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Jackson! Thanks for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the pilling on your Better Sweater. I would recommend using a sweater shaver or sweater stone – these tools will remove the pilling and help your pullover to look brand new again. Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

January 8, 2020

sweater jacket

I LOVE this jacket! It is SO warm, so well made. I can't recommend it enough. Art

January 8, 2020

The *Almost* Perfect Sweater

This thing is awesome! Very comfortable/soft/warm. I’ve wanted one a long time and finally caved and got one after Christmas. I tend to struggle finding the perfect size no matter the kind of clothing, and that happened again here. I wish there were something between the large and medium. Medium fits too tight and a little short, but the sleeves ar... Read Moree just right. Large fits slightly big, a little long, and sleeves are too long and bunch up. Also a lot of material under the arms. I ended up going for the large because it was more comfortable - not a new issue here, being between sizes. It’s a reality I’ve grown used to regardless of the brand. For reference, I’m 6’2” and 170lb with a slim build.

January 6, 2020

Great Product

Great Product, however what I noticed with the Better sweater as well as the Better Vest is the chest pocket's develop holes in them. It was easy to repair myself but it was annoying have small items (chapstick) getting stuck in the linings of the sweater. Other than that this is a great product that fits my frame well. Highly Recommend!

January 6, 2020

Sleeves generous

Husband 6’2”, 180lbs and extra long arms. Fits well

January 4, 2020

Great product!!! Highly recommended

You will not regret buying this product

January 3, 2020

The Better Sweater is!

I’ve been super cozy in my new better sweater.

January 3, 2020

Wore in 10 F snow drift

Wore it as under layer to shell. Kept me warm!

January 2, 2020

So warm

Cozy and warm!

January 2, 2020

wrong sizes

I love Patagonia but these sweaters didn't fit right. . I ordered two size L and they were different sizes. The XL wasn't big enough either. I'll return them for a refund. Thank you. Marti Willens

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

Hi Marti, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with our sizing. We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products and fit for future seasons.

January 2, 2020

Great as always

Great as always

January 1, 2020

Men's navy Patagonia full zip better sweater

Like the fit, look, and how it keeps me warm.

January 1, 2020

It is better!

It is good to have a functional and nice looking piece all in one.

January 1, 2020

My favorite item of clothing.

My favorite item of clothing.

January 1, 2020

My husband loves his Christmas

My husband loves his Christmas present!

January 1, 2020

better sweater jacket

not suitable for winter, fine for spring & fall .

December 31, 2019

TBerg5

My husband was surprized, and delighted to recieve the Black, Sweater Jacket for Christmas! We have given these jackets as gifts to both of our Sons for past Christmases. Also to our Nephew. for a H.S. graduation gift. Wonderful gifts, which have been worn for years!

December 31, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

I already own two other jackets in different colors. I love the upper zipper pocket for my passport when going through airport security around the world. In Southern California, the perfect jacket for layering when temperatures drop below 70 degrees.

December 31, 2019

TJB

Nice sweater, but arms are cut a little tight.

December 31, 2019

So warm. So brown.

I am really enjoying the "sweater." It feels a bit more like a jacket though. I am getting a lot of second looks from attractive people who look like they want to get to know me and my sweater jacket better. Sometimes I'll wear it open with no shirt on underneath just to tease the world. Sorry. Not sorry.

December 31, 2019

Truly the better sweater

Amazing casual or mid layer piece. Very soft and comfortable. Fit is slightly weird as it runs a little boxy in the bottom half but the sleeves are a bit tighter than normal. I fit in a medium pretty well except for the forearms so I went up to a Large and it works pretty well except I feel a litle bulky when it's paired underneath another jac... Read Moreket Very warm sweater for the weight. Pleasantly surprised walking the dog around in the winter with a long sleeve baselayer and this sweater. Personally too warm to wear at the office for extended periods of time but I tend to run hot. Definitely grabbing another of these in a different color. Great sweater!

December 31, 2019

good quality, fits well

good quality, fits well

December 30, 2019

Great quality and perfect fit!

My husband already had the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket in Black that he seriously wears everyday. We just got him another one in Stonewash. It is a really nice grey color. Great quality and the fit is perfect. He couldn't be happier!

December 30, 2019

Better sweater

Warm, functional, and made from recycled materials. Keep up the sustainable practices.

December 30, 2019

Perfect present

Wonderful jacket and great fit.

December 29, 2019

Warm, great looking and comfortable.

I’ve had a black one for years that is just starting to pill a bit. It is trim cut and fits well under a down sweater. With a base layer this handles everything 20F and above. It’s just a little long for my body type.

December 28, 2019

Perfect fit & perfect look!

It was my husband Christmas gift. He is very picky. I took my chance and he loves the way it fit and the way it looks.

December 28, 2019

Great Value

Love my sweater. Great value and quality product.

December 27, 2019

Better Sweater=Best Sweater

I have several better sweaters, and I absolutely love them. The full-zip provides awesome temp control and they look classy enough to wear to your families christmas party and casual enough that you don't upset your aunt by "overdoing it this year." I love these things!

December 27, 2019

My son in law loves

My son in law loves this sweater. Not heavy and bulky but just right!

December 27, 2019

It IS warmer!

Nice fit, good style and coloration, it really is warmer than other just fleece brands. Based on this, will be purchasing more Patagonia.

December 27, 2019

So far I am very

So far I am very satisfied with both.

December 26, 2019

My son loved his sweater.

I bought my son a sweater from Patagonia for Christmas, and he absolutely loved it. It is worth paying a little more for great quality.

December 26, 2019

Greatest sweater evwr

Love the better sweater couldn’t be better!!

December 26, 2019

sleeves a little long.. Good

sleeves a little long.. Good looking. right weight autumn and indoor winter in N.E.

December 25, 2019

Sweater

Everything I hopped for.

December 24, 2019

Great gift

My 18 year old loved his jacket. The fit was great and so was the quality. A very pretty shade of green

December 23, 2019

Small size: Good fit (I

Small size: Good fit (I am 136 lbs and 5’6”). This sweater is not for temperatures below 50F or windy conditions.

December 23, 2019

Yeah!

We made a big impact when we gifted this to our 19 yr old grandson!

December 21, 2019

Best sweater ever

Here in Florida, I wish we had more cool days so I can wear it more often! Very comfortable on those cool mornings and evenings.

December 19, 2019

Staple

Better sweater is always my go-to!

December 18, 2019

Sleeves are tight

I really really want to live these as I recently bought both New navy and Stonewash colors but the sleeves are really really tight for my arms. It feels great and keeps me warm when it is cold outside but lets the wind through. I purchased M size but maybe I should've gotten a L for better blood circulation on my arms.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2020

Hi Justin! Thanks for your feedback - we're sorry to hear those sleeves were too tight for you! If you'd like to return or exchange it for a larger size, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). The exact garment measurements for the bicep width are as follows: Medium 9.25" / Large 9.87". This measurement is taken one inch down from the seam located at the armpit.

December 17, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

This purchase provided my fourth Better Sweater -- 3 are full-zip sweaters and one a 1/4-zip pullover. I really enjoy these fleece sweaters in winter -- warm and with full zips are easy to regulate temperature when moving from outdoors to indoors. They remain looking nice longer than standard fleece, which tends to pill or wear quickly. Compared to... Read More Marmot, Columbia, and Mountain Hardwear fleece products that I own, these Patagonia Better Sweaters are more slim cut with slim arms (especially in the pullover). I wear a medium in all and find the Patagonia fit is comfortable but is slim.

December 17, 2019

Good quality, kinda tight in

Good quality, kinda tight in the shoulders

December 17, 2019

You can wear it anywhere.

Comfortable. Good quality. Highly recommended!

December 17, 2019

Perfect fit! Amazing quality!

Perfect fit! Amazing quality!

December 17, 2019

Excellent product — would purchase

Excellent product — would purchase again

December 14, 2019

Great

I bought sweatshirt for my son,as a Christmas gift and he couldn’t resist to wear that before Santa will come😍

December 13, 2019

Great Sweater. I want to wear it all the time!

I love the better sweater. I got my usual XL and it fits a little lose but looks good according to my wife. The large was a little too perfect fitting. The XL is a tad long on me, but I’m a short guy so that’s my problem. Shipping was bad and wasn’t Patagonia’s fault but the On Trac people were no help and my jacket came a week after it’s promise d... Read Moreate. Patagonia’s customer service was amazing and had a new jacket sent to me overnight. Can’t say enough about their customer service and great products.

December 13, 2019

A Patagonia Classic

For reference, I am 5' 11" 160 Lbs and wear a men's medium in everything Patagonia makes. The Better Sweater jacket is a Patagonia classic garment. On cold days, say 35 deg or so, I will layer my Better Sweater on top of a Fjord Flannel. This combination is perfect for running around town, errands to the grocery store, trips where th... Read Moreere are several stops in and out of the car. When the temperature rises, say to 45 deg and above, I will wear just a long or short sleeve t-shirt underneath. For me, the fit is perfect, not too tight nor too loose. Be advised, when your Better Sweater is new, it may feel a little tight. However, as you wear the jacket, the fleece will gradually pack down and the jacket will feel more relaxed in fit. Also, I prefer the heathered or mixed colourways(i.e. Nickel, Stonewash, Khaki) over the solids(Black, Navy, Green). The inevitable fabric piling that occurs over time is more pronounced, more obvious, on the solid colourways. Finally, I prefer this version(Better Sweater Jacket-full zip) over the 1/4 zip pullover because it is easier to put on, easier to layer over, and it has side hand-pockets.

December 9, 2019

Great product at a very

Great product at a very good price

December 8, 2019

OK

This jacket is OK, but not all that impressive. I was expecting something either less bulky or warmer for the weight. For the price range, and fancy branding, I was actually expecting... a better sweater. It's not that. Obviously, you can buy wool and cashmere sweaters in the same price range, and they are warmer and comfier. As a jacket, bewa... Read Morere that it doesn't stand up to a little bit of wind. I have better sweaters, and I also have a better jacket. My use for this jacket will be an extra layer on very cold days (over a sweater, but under a coat) or just around the house. Don't get me wrong. It's fine. It's well-built and looks good. You'll probably wear it if you buy it, but it's being a bit overrated by other reviewers, and I would not recommend it, based on there being better options.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

We appreciate your honest feedback on this. We always want to ensure you are satisfied and if you are not totally sold on this, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back. Let us know if we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/clothing-gear/).

December 7, 2019

Great quality and feels amazing!

Great quality and feels amazing!

December 3, 2019

Fit does not flatter

Am 6’ 195#. Broad shouldered- 44L suit jacket. The shoulders, chest and sleeves on the better sweater jacket are designed for folks with narrow shoulders, no chest, and skinny arms- or for people who like tight fitting clothes. So although I’d normally order an L, I went up to an XL to fit my upper body. The problem is the cut of this jacket is ver... Read Morey boxy—- so now there’s too much material at the waist. I’m shaped like a V and this jacket is designed for people shaped like a pear.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi Greg, we're sorry this was an odd fit for you. If you remain unsatisfied with it, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us as soon as possible. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

December 3, 2019

Very nice😁

As good as a sweater can be. Extremely comfortable.. few points tho.. the internal lining for the hands and chest pocket does create another pocket for the inside.. the right side is fine, but the left side could be done better.. Sleeve is on the small side.. guys with big arms do need to take note. Only one thing to make this better.. thumb hole... Read Mores!

December 2, 2019

My favorite item is my Better Sweater!

I wear this daily in the winter and love it! But my new one does not fit like the old one. The new one has sleeves that are not comfortable if i wear a long sleeve shirt. I bought one last year and the same thing. I'm not sure what you use as a pattern but it is not realistic for the average guy. My arms are average and this is NOT comfortable... Read More. I am disappointed with your usual spot on designs and customer responsiveness.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi Fred. We're sorry to hear the fit change isn't up to your satisfaction. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

December 1, 2019

Best sweater/jacket ever

My father-in-law’s favorite sweater - bought him a second one so he’s always got one handy!

November 29, 2019

New Design of Men’s Better Sweater has failed

My favorite lightweight jacket changed. I have owned 3 Better Sweater Jackets/vests and absolutely love them. They are a staple of my wardrobe during the winter months. Although this new edition of the Better Sweater Jacket does not work for me. The sleeves are cut way to narrow. I do not have Pop-eye forearms by any means. I blindly ordered the ja... Read Morecket because it has always worked for me. Now I have to wrestle my arms through the sleeves. I truly hope this design gets changed quickly.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi Jason! Thank you for your feedback! We're very sorry to hear that the sleeves are too narrow for you. If you would like to return your Better Sweater, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). In the meantime, I went ahead and passed your comments about the item revisions along to our design team for consideration.

November 29, 2019

The arms could be alittle

The arms could be alittle bit bigger. Not longer but roomier. I workout and have bulky biceps. Its feels too fitted. Also after one wash it shrinks. Maybe you can preshrink before selling them? Or just have another version for bulkier people. Not everybody has a slim model like figure.

November 28, 2019

Patagonia Better Seeater

I love the feel of this sweater but it balls up and looks ugly as sin . Shaved off pills several times ( 6 yrs old). My much older Pat. Fleece never pilled ! This one did almost immediately.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the pilling issue you've been having with your Better Sweater. If you are not pleased with its performance, you are absolutely welcome to send it in to us for a [warranty returns evaluation](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 27, 2019

Great

Perfect sweater

November 26, 2019

Warm and reliable

I'm 5'10", 155lbs, and I bought the Small. It fits perfectly. Not something to layer over more than a thin single layer. If you want to wear it as more of a jacket, size up. I found it warmer than I expected, but not too thick or hot. Ideal as a mid-layer with coats/jackets or just a cozy top layer on those 50+ degree days.

November 25, 2019

Awesome sweater!

Awesome sweater!

November 23, 2019

Patagonia better sweater jacket

Comfortable, lightweight and stylish.

November 22, 2019

Better than 1/4 pullover

The sleeves are slimmer and the body of the full zip jacket does not drape over your mid area like the 1/4 zip jacket

November 22, 2019

Great quality and fit

Great quality and fit

November 21, 2019

Love My Better Sweaters

I have a few of these now that I wear almost daily in the fall and winter. Nice warm yet breathable. It's uncommon for me to find a sweater that fits my sleeve length, I love that the sleeves are slightly longer than most others.

November 20, 2019

Great product as usual. I

Great product as usual. I love the fit and look and Patagonia customer service is top notch as always.

November 20, 2019

Better sweater

Nice coat-like sweater. Good neck warmth. Fit is sl. large but very acceptable. It took a lot of rain exposure to get me wet, but I stayed warm. Live in the NW where wet is common. A good layer under a raincoat.

November 20, 2019

Great fit and warm.

Great fit and warm.

November 20, 2019

Great jacket/sweater

This one is a Christmas gift but I brought another one for my son in Italy 2 years ago. He says its great. He lives in the Seattle area and this keeps him warm all through the winter. He really likes the pockets. Been washed several times and no pilling.

November 20, 2019

Jacket fits great, keeps me

Jacket fits great, keeps me warm, and looks great.

November 20, 2019

As always, Patagonia products are

As always, Patagonia products are the best on the market. Pricey, but always quality, quality, quality.

November 19, 2019

Men's Best Sweater Ever

This is the 2nd Better Sweater I've purchased for my husband of 44 years. The last one was 10 years ago...it still looks amazing!

November 19, 2019

Comfy

This sweater is essentially a Patagonia must have. I wear it frequently and it is incredibly comfortable. I would recommend wearing a windproof jacket over the sweater if you decide to wear it on a blustery day.

November 18, 2019

Great product, looks great on

Great product, looks great on the outside and feels just as good on the inside

November 18, 2019

Ms Better Sweater Jacket

Great quality and color. Good fit as well. I like it better than my Better Sweater quarter zip.

November 17, 2019

Disappointed with price vs. material quality

Thinner material than expected. Doesn't stop our Chicago fall season wind. Fits tight with even tighter armpits. Will return it.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

Hi Jeffery, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated!

November 17, 2019

Sweater review

Great sweater

November 16, 2019

Haven’t taken it off in

Haven’t taken it off in days

November 16, 2019

2018-19 last year’s model

Quite happy I was still able to purchase last year’s model. They have changed It up this year and made the better sweater very tight in the sleeves. Impossible to wear over layers.

November 16, 2019

Great sweater

Usually would not spend this much money on a sweater jacket, but the warmth, quality, look, and fit are just perfect. I got the large and I am a little over 5’11 and weigh 210 lbs.

November 15, 2019

Better sweater jacket

The large was too roomy so it was returned for a medium. There seems to be too much difference between the M and the L, and I wish you made a M+ size. But for now the M works (almost) perfectly fine. As always, thank you for your outstanding service and great quality.

November 15, 2019

Very comfy.

Very comfy.

November 14, 2019

Best sweater!

Love this sweater! Perfect fit, very warm and good looking!

November 14, 2019

Puurfect

My 2nd color and very pleased.

November 14, 2019

Surprised comfort and warmth

I buy a lot of TNF and This was my first Patagonia purchase. My sons (19, 21) told me my jacket was cool. That was a first. The sweater jacket is very warm without bulk. The quality of the workmanship is a bit more (IMO) than TNF. The sleeves are snug. Compared to my other jackets but not to the annoying point. Would I buy this again and would I re... Read Morecommend this to a friend ... yes. Without hesitation. Pleasantly surprised with my online purchase. I wear it daily and on colder days I wear it as a base layer.

November 13, 2019

Comfy, cozy, but too big

I purchased this item in the same size as the Better Sweater 1/4 zip in an XS. I got this delivered recently, and it's much, much larger and doesn't fit as well as the 1/4 zip that I have in the same size. I had to return it as there isn't a size smaller than XS. :(

November 13, 2019

Great sweater

I have been meaning to buy this sweater for a while now so glad I did I use it every day for work and it’s holding up well in the ruff conditions very happy and warm

November 13, 2019

Great sweater jacket. We love

Great sweater jacket. We love Patagonia !

November 13, 2019

Nice

Nice

November 12, 2019

Best bet for the tropics

This is a beautiful looking - and fitting - piece of gear which has almost no insulating value whatsoever. It’s not just that it’s porous to the wind, like many pile garments - it’s just not warm. Someone else compared its warmth to that of a flannel shirt. I would say that would be a pretty skimpy flannel shirt. Too bad, because the design is grea... Read Moret.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 11, 2019

Good for casual wear

Got this jacket for casual wear, not for serious outdoor pursuits. Understated style works well for that purpose because it doesn't look as teched out as some other fleece jackets.

November 11, 2019

Great fleece

Can’t go wrong with better sweaters. They’ve been proven. Sleeves are a bit slimmer in this model than some of my other Patagonia gear like the quilted snap sweater. I ordered a small and the length is a tad bit short (hits about mid pocket on my pants, ideally I’d like it to hit the bottom of the pocket). Small issues, otherwise I love it.

November 11, 2019

Best sweater jacket

Love the better sweater full zip. Warm, moves with you and is not too bulky. Cleaner drape than the R2’s although I am a huge fan of the R2 as well, the Better sweater is more of a sweater than a jacket, which I guess is precisely the point!

November 9, 2019

Great for fall weather

Great color and great functionality. This sweater is very warm and is great for staying warm while you are moving outside. I'm 6'0" and 165 lbs and a medium fits me well. The material is very soft and the zipper works great.

November 8, 2019

Excellent

Jacket is warm and is super high quality. Would def purchase again if/when I want a different color.

November 6, 2019

Love this jacke.

The jacket is very warm. It is soft on the inside and fits me very well. It also is very stylish absolutely love everything about the Patagonia brand and what they stand for

November 5, 2019

Love it!

Excellent quality, perfect fit!

November 5, 2019

Great jacket with with fit issues

Large is too big and the medium is right through arms and shoulders. I’m a large with everyone else but struggle with a Patagonia medium. Love the jacket though.

November 4, 2019

Full Zip Sweater

A must have for the fall / winter months for around the house and outdoors. Well done! Like the weight of the fleece and liner. I know this one will last....

November 3, 2019

Now patogonia owner

Loved the sweater jacket

November 1, 2019

ONE OF THE BEST

ONE OF THE BEST

October 30, 2019

Great product

Great product

October 29, 2019

Sharp look

It’s tough finding an XS-anything that fits well and isn’t too big. The Better Sweater Jacket fits true to size and looks amazing! I love the navy blue color, too. I’m able to wear this to the office or dress it down and wear it when I go out during the evening.

October 29, 2019

Very warm and reliable. Positive

Very warm and reliable. Positive feedback from friends and family. I look good ! Thanks

October 28, 2019

Great Sweater But....

Great sweater as advertised. Just need to put smooth material in the sleeves to make it easier putting it on with long sleeve clothes.

October 27, 2019

Perfect

Great fit and function!