Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 679 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
May 14, 2022

Perfect transition jacket.

Perfect transition garment for either Winter into Spring or Summer into Fall. Quality construction.

May 9, 2022

Nice

Dont even think about low dryer. It shrinks. Hang it outside,

May 4, 2022

Ugh! The pilling!

This jacket looks fantastic. Really, just makes you look better. One of my neighbors saw me in it and immediately bought one for her partner. Alas, it started pilling like crazy. Not sure how/why. (It was hung next to an older/never-pilling fleece). If it didn't pill. Ugh! You broke ... me back down to my old fleece. Ended up donating it. ...

May 2, 2022

Very flexible and surprisingly warm

I wear mine primarily playing golf on cold mornings. This sweater is now my go-to. It is not bulky, moves with me without any restriction, blocks wind and keeps me very comfortable.

May 1, 2022

Feels good

Fabric feels good, just right for slightly warmer temps.

April 28, 2022

Best sweater ever

I've never owned any Patagonia gear prior to this purchase. I can now understand why so many people love Patagonia clothing, it's high quality, great feel and fit. Patagonia is my new favorite clothing brand!!

April 26, 2022

Great jacket could use tall sizes

Love this jacket. Works for every situation. The only thing that could make this better is tall sizes

April 23, 2022

Comfortable and Looks Great

I own five Men's Better Sweater Fleece Jackets now. Very comfortable, provides good warmth on cooler breezy days with the addition of a long sleeved t-shirt. The Jacket in Industrial Green is my new favorite. Over the years there seems to have been some inconsistency in the sizing of the the body and sleeve length (longer). My new jacket seems... Read More to be a true size XL.

April 13, 2022

Soft and warm

Its become my everyday use in the winter,fall, spring, and any other chilly day. The material is soft and comfortable yet keeps you warm. Love it!

April 12, 2022

Super Comfortable

I purchased my first sweater jacket while on a cruise when I needed something to keep me warm. It fit the bill perfectly. The fit and comfort are excellent. Purchased two more.

April 11, 2022

Great fit and comfortable

Love the feel of this jacket, it is super comfortable and fits really well.

April 8, 2022

Best item of clothing that I own

I do not often write reviews, but I feel compelled to for the better sweater. This is singularly the most versatile and most used item of clothing that I wear and own. It fits true to size, keeps its shape, is packable, and supremely comfortable. It is a very breathable material, and know that it allows wind to cut through it, but on the flipside i... Read Moret breathes very well. It can be worn with a short or long sleeve t-shirt or thin sweater underneath, as layered under a harder shell jacket- it is a good middle layer. It fits in the office or the trail, and layers well. Over the past several years, I have worn this effectively every day during pandemic isolation, travel, and camping trips, and to the office and is now a wardrobe staple. I am 5'11" about 170lb and size medium is perfect. In black, it goes with everything. I could not recommend this enough, and in fact purchased a better sweater for my father.

April 6, 2022

Love the sweater but annoyed with the pilling issue

I love my better sweater. I use it almost everyday. It fits well and I feel good to support a brand which protects our environment and uses sustainable practices in its supply chain. However the pilling issue is real. I started noticing pilling on the back side of the sweater just 1 week after i purchased it. This is because i was wearing a backpac... Read Morek which causes friction and the fabric pills. This is understandable but I don't expect this to happen for an expensive sweater from a reputed brand like Patagonia. I heard from the store associate that a lot of people have the same issue and a lot of my friends have the same issue. This is not great both for me because I expect good quality from Patagonia and also this adds to the carbon footprint of the company, think about all the returns of this product. Please make a new version where u solve the pilling problem. I love the jacket and want to get it if u can solve the pilling problem.

Response from Patagonia
April 7, 2022

Hi Madhav! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear how your jacket started to pill. Like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. All of that said, this feedback is truly appreciated. We always want to do our best to produce the most durable product possible. We've shared this with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 2, 2022

Very comfortable

This sweater keeps me wam, even when the temperatures drop into the 30's with moist air. Very comfortable and lots of pockets (with zippers for security). Just an exceptional sweater over all. Can't recommend this highly enough!

April 1, 2022

Warm, but weird sizing and pills

Overall fit in finish of the jacket is decent. My zippers feels a little cheap and sticky, but remain functional. I really wish they would add some pull strings to the bottom of these jackets considering they arent exactly a lightweight piece to begin with. See sizing comments below. As for the longevity of the piece: I expected a little bit of pil... Read Moreling with this kind of fleece, but this iteration seems to be much worse than other better sweaters that Ive had in the past. The bottom of my jacket sees the most wear for some odd reason. Ive only had it a few months, washed it probably five times and it already looks like trash. I suppose I could go at it with a de-pilling apparatus, but I dont know.. Id be willing to sacrifice sustainability for a bit better build that I wouldnt have to take care of so much. The fit is properly sized up at the arms and shoulders, but it definitely has that defined belly bulge that caters to those who uh.. well, the American waistline, lets say. For me, it works - but just. Again, the pull strings would help retain more warmth from escaping the bottom of the jacket if the design is to remain bell-like at the bottom. Try before you buy and be aware that youll probably have to buy a sweater shaver to care for it as part of your routine. I can still recommend it because its warm and mostly fits well (probably will fit the vast majority of folks), but there are some glaring sustainability and firmest issues that I thought Patagonia would have ironed out at this point in this products life.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2022

All fleece is subject to pilling, and the knit fabric of the Better Sweater makes it no exception. To help prevent pills we recommend handwashing in cold water and laying flat to dry. If you use a machine, use the gentle cycle but be wary of abrasion. This will also help keep the jacket in good condition. In addition to a fabric shaver you can also try a sweater stone but even a simple razor will remove pills with enough patience and care. We appreciate your comments Andy, and if you're not completely satisfied we're happy to help you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2022

Awesome

Great , I use it for every occasion

March 31, 2022

Super blousy

Tall people with large chests or athletic build this fits poorly. Fits perfect in the chest but the waist is wicked blousy. Might try to get it tailored since the 2x is too small in the chest

March 30, 2022

Warm but

This sweater has a nice thickness and warm for cold days however, it piles/lint balls with minimal wear. The sweater also runs large to size but also easily shrinks in the dryer. Pros: Warm, comfortable Cons: Easy to get pile/lint balls, expensive, large not pre-shrunk

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2022

Hi Alma! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate this feedback, and we're happy to hear it's kept you warm on cold days. That said, its definitely a bummer to hear that the sweater has started to pill. We encourage our customers to wash it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. Also, a sweater stone/sweater shaver is a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred. Of course, if you're unhappy with the appearance of the sweater you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 29, 2022

Better sweater is excellent

Love his sweater! The fit. The feel. Everything about it is excellent

March 28, 2022

Killer

I really like this jacket. Its super comfortable and I can easily wear it with a t shirt and jeans or with a button down and slacks. I got a large because I have a long torso and fairly broad shoulders. I suspect other guys my height might prefer a medium if they have a more average torso length/shoulder width.

March 25, 2022

Wonderful Stylish medium warmth

I loved this so much I bought another one in a different color. Looks sharp and provides great warmth.

March 25, 2022

Very warm

Comfortable and warm

March 24, 2022

Sleeves fit slim, body too big

I love Patagonia products. But this jacket just didnt work for me. I purchased a large. The arms were slim but the body was way too big. Sorry but didnt work for my build.

March 21, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket to be used in the not as cold months. Pockets are all great and the fit is great. Only drawback would be to add pull strings along the bottom to give a more fitted look. Other than that great.

March 20, 2022

sufficiently warm

I was very disapointed when the zipper of the sweater jacked did not work. However Padagonia replaced it very promply. This econd try was perfect and fit is great. Thank you.

March 20, 2022

Fantastic

Very warm and comfortable jacket.

March 19, 2022

Very nice

The jacket is awesome, get a lot of compliments on it, and it makes me feel good. I wish I had ordered a large because it runs small on me. Unfortunately I took all of the tags off of it so I wont be able to send it back. 10/10 on the quality for sure

March 19, 2022

Nicer than earlier version in some ways

The fabric quality, fit and feel are nicer. the zippers are not as nice and the earlier version had a chin guard at the top of the zipper, a nice feature for bearded wearers like me.

March 18, 2022

Stylish, Comfortable and Practical

Warm and comfortable with good resistance to moderate wind. Regulates well for hiking. The large interior pocket was a welcome surprise. Stylish enough to wear for nice occasions.

March 17, 2022

Great Sweater

Great Sweater, only one request, the forearms are a little tight over a shirt, if they were just a little larger that would be wonderful. Thanks.

March 17, 2022

Super comfortable

Keeps me warm on spring weather SoCal. Best sweater ever!

March 17, 2022

Great quality and warm

Excellent quality and a very warm sweater perfect for cold winter nights.

March 15, 2022

Sleeves Too Long

The garment itself is great. I love the material and style but the one thing that is wrong is the length of the sleeves. Sleeves are too long for the body of the garment. I liked it so much that I took mine to a tailor and had it altered. I did not like having the sleeves rolled up all the time. You could tell the sleeves were too long just by layi... Read Moreng it out on a flat surface. The sleeves were disproportionately long for the body of the sweater.

March 14, 2022

Great Sweater; Too Bad It didn't Fit

Nice sweater but the Medium was clearly too small and the large was clear too big. I bought a Medium M's Reclaimed Fleece Jkt which fit perfectly. This garment is mis-sized.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Thank you for this review regarding the sizing of this jacket, Jerry. We're sorry neither of those fit you right! Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you, and we'll try to hook you up with something that will work better for you.

March 13, 2022

comfort

Love the product. Comfortable and warm.

March 11, 2022

Long Sleeve Sweater

Sleeves are disproportionately long for the sweater. I would not buy again nor recommend.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Joseph. We're sorry to hear those sleeves were too long for you! We hope we can find something that will work better for you. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. You can always consult with our Customer Service Team, who can provide specific measurements for any garment, so you can feel confident about what you're purchasing.

March 9, 2022

Great jacket but...

I love this jacket. It's comfortable and goes with everything. However, it just doesn't look good past a year or two. This is my 3rd jacket. It pills really bad. I need to use a de-piller on it once a month or two. Then after a while it just always looks worn so I replace it. Very disappointing considering how much it costs and with the P... Read Moreatagonia name. I had someone stop me the other day with the same exact jacket and we talked about how much we loved them...but then he said does yours gets all the little pills on it? Yes, yes it does. Very annoying.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're very sorry to hear about the disappointing experience with our Better Sweater. We're reaching out by email to follow up with you on a a solution.

March 4, 2022

Not ok

I purchased this jacket after I grew out of my old one. I honestly dont know what went wrong but this thing pilled so fast and after one wash with cold water and hang drying. I can confidently say that it is no longer black. Super sad and really crappy

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2022

Hi Noah, we're so sorry to hear about the pilling issues. Due to its knit appearance, the Better Sweater does have a tendency to pill. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. If you're still not pleased with your gear, feel free to begin a [warranty return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

February 28, 2022

Its good

It replaced my original dark green one. I like it

February 27, 2022

Perfect

Its perfect. Would like to see better colors. A plain red , yellow and blue.

February 27, 2022

Warm enough but questionable comfort

I bought this jacket primarily for work and the warmth it provides is sufficient for both outdoor and indoor activities. It's also light enough that I don't feel weighed down while performing procedures. The comfort as far as the main body is concerned is good. The one issue I've noticed however, in the time that I've had it is ... Read Morethe stitching on the INSIDE of the sleeves; It feels sharp and scratchy and overall extremely irritating on the skin when I have to move my arms. I'm not sure if my product is simply defective or if this is an issue on all of them. I am considering returning this jacket because of this problem.

February 26, 2022

M too Tight. L too Baggy

I'm 5' 9" and 175 lbs regular build. I tried th Medium and it was too tight in the shoulders and arms. Let like the fabric was grabbing onto my undershirt. I returned it and tried a large. The arms felt better but it hung down over my butt and when I sat down it was all bunched up in the belly and chest. I returned the large. Too bad... Read More, the material and general style is great. I'm going to try the Lightweight Better Sweater in large and keep my fingers crossed.

February 25, 2022

Perfect design, but horrible pilling!

I love the structural design of this fleece jacket. The pockets are full and comfy, not the weird mesh pockets of the classic synchilla fleece. The extra zippered chest pocket is perfect for my glasses. The style and shape fit like classic Patagonia (I'm 6'2" 180 pounds and large fits perfectly). Fits well -- not too tight or loose. ... Read MoreUnfortunately, the pilling is horrible! I expect a few pills in a woven fabric like this, but this shedding is all over the piece - elbows, chest, stomach, arms -- everywhere! With all the trouble Patagonia takes to make a sustainable product -- I doubt they consider the volume of plastic that is shed off of this product when I have to use the sweater stone on the daily to make it look presentable. C'mon, Patagonia -- live up to your sustainable goals and make a product that will last without looking like crap. Wish I could return both of the ones I have -- which have never seen the drier -- and look dumpy after less than one year. Would give it a zero, but for the perfect structural design.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Hi Craig! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear how badly your jacket has pilled. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. That said, we consider this a warranty issue so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 25, 2022

The Most Versatile Sweater Ever!

I consider myself a stylish guy but I don't wake up every day wanting to dress to the nines! Sometimes I wanna keep it casual, ya know?! That's where Patagonia's Better Sweater Fleece Jacket comes in handy. From running errands to grabbing dinner and drinks with friends and everything else in between, this jacket looks good in all en... Read Morevironments all year round. It's stylish, durable, warm, and just well built. You should buy one or two...or six like I did :)

February 25, 2022

Super comfortable and durable jacket

Really like the jacket I wear it everyday. Get compliments on it all the time and it helps me stay warm

February 24, 2022

Too boxy

The materials and solid build quality are what I have come to expect from Patagonia. I purchased a Medium (I have a medium build) and found it way too Boxy. Hung way down below the vest I wore over it. Definitely a "Dad-Fit". I gave it to my 75 year old dad. He loves it!

February 24, 2022

Really warm.

Nice material. It really warm you up.

February 22, 2022

Cozy and Stylish

I wear this from the moment I wake up to when I go to sleep! Comfortable inside and outside, easy to layer. A great jacket for all occasions.

February 21, 2022

Great jacket

I bought this for my dad for his birthday. He loves it. It is comfortable and looks great. His favorite thing about it however is that it's made from recycled bottles and fair trade.

February 19, 2022

Warm and confortable

Excellent choice for cool places and indoors

February 19, 2022

Toasty warm

Love the fit and the colors available . Can dress up or dress down . Pair of jeans and the wonderful jacket sweater looks very sharp Have gotten quite a few compliments!!

February 18, 2022

Warm and comfortable.

Its super comfortable and warm, I can wear it work casually or wear it on hikes.

February 17, 2022

Favorite Piece of Clothing

This jacket is my favorite piece of clothing. I've owned this Patagonia sweater for over 4 years now and it has held up like no other. I would recommend it to anyone.

February 14, 2022

Please don't change this sweater

This was my second sweater. It took me 10 years to wear out the previous one. The breast pocket was a nice improvement. I like these sweaters so much I bought one for my daughter. She agrees that it is probably the best sweater on the market.

February 13, 2022

Incredibly warm

Great jacket. Fits for all occasions. True to size. Highly recommend.

February 12, 2022

Amazing!

Warm, comfortable, durable. Love it. I don't know why I waited so long to purchase.

February 11, 2022

Splendid!

Another great example of how wonderful is Patagonia. Quality materials and craftsmanship. Consider sizing up for layering

February 11, 2022

Better Sweat Fleece jacket

I fit one navy jacket and find out the sleeve size between left and right are different. Left is more tight, it looks better when I try on the other one with better fitting. Nice jacket, not bulky. And keep warm, just wear tee at the bottom is fine. Workmanship is fair, but the fabric is great, the fleece side is on the back side, while the face i... Read Mores interlock without hairy. It looks clean and nice. Always not disappointing me for Patagonia items, great.

February 9, 2022

Sleek sweater jacket for work

Navy color and zippers and other materials are superior quality. Fits snug on me. I'm slim but wear an in-between size between Large and Medium. The large was too blousy. This fits close but fits well.

February 9, 2022

GReat a product!

A nice fit and a great degree of comfort.

February 7, 2022

Great jacket, poor sizing

I really liked the jacket materials, the style, everything...except the sizing. I'm a large in any other brand (and other Patagonia clothes) but this Large is huge -- long sleeves, big jacket. I tried the medium and it almost fit except it was tight around the body (and I'm slim). The medium fits like a very slim large in other jackets. S... Read Moreo I had to return it, but if Patagonia normalizes the sizing I'll buy it.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2022

Hi Ryan, we're so sorry to hear about the for issue with the Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket. We'll reach out to you privately to offer more assistance.

February 6, 2022

At a glance it appears to be a fine woven wool sweater- but it is, in fact, fleece.

This is an outstanding mid-weight zippered jacket. It is substantial and warm, and it can be warn as an outer layer because, as I said in the title, it does not appear to be fleece, but instead, a finely woven wool jacket.

February 3, 2022

Better sweater really is better

Fits well, warm for its weight, good base layer, can unzip too cool down. Versatile sweater for the pandemic: great for casual, active and semi-professional in front of the zoom. Also works well with a collared dress shirt for periodic days in the office. I need more in varied colors.

February 2, 2022

Love this sweater!

I wear this sweater for everything. I wanted the industrial green color and was bummed when they replaced it with more vibrant green colors because the muted colors work well for business dress and allow for me to wear this for both business and casual. So i was really excited when she got it on a random restock for me. It it literally a staple pie... Read Morece in my wardrobe. Fantastic purchase.

February 2, 2022

Looks great but runs small

Definitely runs small. Have the same item in another color. The other color is a M, like all my pullovers/sweaters. This color in an M was smaller. Very durable and comfortable, easy to care for, and holds its shape.

February 2, 2022

Comfortable and warm

I love how the jacket is thick enough to keep me warm, but not TOO thick that it makes me sweat throughout the day. I wear it to work to the hospital and keeps things casual. Love the fit and the look. Would buy again.

February 1, 2022

Fit a little larger than expected.

The full zip better sweater fleece fits a little large, kind of baggy. I'm 5'9" 158lbs, purchased a Med. Maybe this was the look that Patagonia's designers had in mind?

February 1, 2022

Deceptively warm, slightly tight

For the thickness of this jacket it is deceptively warm. Comfortable enough in the 30s. Slightly tighter fit than expected but still amazing.

January 31, 2022

Pilling after 1 wash

I bought this as a gift for my husband. After 1 wash (Cold and inside-out), it is extremely pilly. I am disappointed and now need to return it. Whats up with this design?

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2022

Hi Susan, we're so sorry to hear about your experience after washing the Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket. The Better Sweater is prone to pilling due to its knit fabric face. If you feel that the pilling is excessive, please feel free to begin a [warranty return or exchange](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges).

January 31, 2022

very comfy

Perfect not too heavy. Comfy and the perfect warmth

January 31, 2022

Perfect Fit

This was exactly what I was looking for in a fleece. Super warm and fits perfectly.

January 30, 2022

Comfortable fit

This is my second sweater fleece jacket purchased in 2 months. The pentagona brand style sold me.

January 28, 2022

Weight Lifters Beware

This is the second better sweater I've purchased. The first was an XL. The issue was the sizing of the arms. They were so tight I couldn't move my them without worrying about ripping the Better Sweater. I'm 6'3 about 230 LBS. I do go to the gym regularly, but I certainly don't have a set of 24' pythons brother. The bod... Read Morey fit perfectly, but not being able to move my arms was an issue. I tried sizing up to the XXL. The arms fit but the body could have doubled as a parachute. I don't have this issue with their other items, just the Better Sweater. It's a shame because I love the look, but being unable to move my arms is a deal breaker on the XL and since I'm not joining Bodhi and Johnny Utah on their sky diving adventure, the XXL doesn't work for me either. If you lift weights and have decent sized arms, look for something else. I will say Patagonia has amazing customer service. I have no qualms with that. But I thought I'd save anyone some trouble if they are looking to purchase and are a gym person. I'd give this a 5 star review if only I could move my arms in the XL...

January 28, 2022

Great Sweater

Just a great fit and quality. Very happy with it

January 28, 2022

Comfortable, Functional and Stylish but Runs Large

This is really a warm jacket and use it to layer over a shirt and under a jacket. Arms are a little long and so is the overall length. I always wear a medium but this is a little on the large side. I have a 16" neck, 34/35 shirt, 5'10", and a 33 waist but this is a little longer than it should be if you have an athletic body, so thei... Read Morer measurement is off for being a medium. A small would be too tight and a large would be a potato sack, so they should modify the design size to make it slim fit medium instead of regular medium, which is an outdated size style since you don't want baggy clothes when hiking/biking with the sleeves and bottom sticking out of your outer jacket. Also looks a little baggy when wearing around the office, especially while sitting since it bunches up around the waist. I like it though for its pattern and warmth. Everything else fits nicely around the neck, shoulders and chest. I still get a lot of compliments and it's really comfortable to wear.

January 27, 2022

Great fit!

This jacket is very warm, but also light enough to wear when its just cool out. The sizing was perfect as I am tall and normally have a hard time finding a large that isnt short on the arms but this was perfect! 10/10 recommend

January 26, 2022

Looks really good on him

He love it!

January 26, 2022

Great purchase

Nice fit, fabric and comfort

January 25, 2022

In between sizes

Love this Fleece. Tried the L and just a little to tight in shoulders and waist. Tried the XL and it was way too big. Weigh about 170-175. Wish you made more Relaxed fit fleece in styles I like. I returned both sizes-disappointed.

January 25, 2022

Great quality

Love the company, great product!

January 25, 2022

Nice jacket could be warmer

The jacket is nice and easy to wear but is not as warm as I thought it would be.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2022

Hey Michael, thanks for the review on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. While it is pretty warm, it's also a casual piece so it won't do the job of something technical. We're not sure how you were planning on using the jacket, but if you needed it for really cold conditions, we'd recommend checking out some of our [technical pieces](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-technical-fleece).

January 25, 2022

Perfect All-Rounder

This sweater is amazingly versatile. Zipped up it keeps you really warm and can act as a jacket. Zipped open it can act as a sweater in higher temps. The quality and finish is great. Regarding fit, I'd say the sleeves run a bit long, so probably err on the smaller size.

January 25, 2022

Looks great and super warm.

I love the look and warmth of this coat. Im 56 and about 173 pounds athletic build and it was a little tight around the belly area. I didnt want to go medium as the sleeves would run long and the bottom. If it was a little looser around the belly area and arms it would be perfect or I can lose weight too lol.

January 22, 2022

Have not worn outside yet!

I had to return the large and order a medium. Sometimes Patagonias large fit and other times I need a medium.

January 22, 2022

Warm & Cozy Fleece

This is the second one I have purchased, just in the same color. The first was a Christmas present for my partner. He has literally worn it every day since opening the package. Because he was wearing every day - around the house and outside - I decided he needed a second one, in another color. So I bought a second for his birthday, which is in Janu... Read Moreary. He loves them both. He says they fit perfectly and are super cozy.

January 22, 2022

Love it!

I bought one in Light Khaki XL and it fits me perfectly. I'm 6'4", 200lbs. Bought another within a month in Nickel. Going to pick one up in New Navy shortly. They fit well, very comfy and well made. I get tons of compliments on them. Highly Recommend!

January 18, 2022

Warm

Great fit for my college grandson.

January 18, 2022

Very Comfortable

These jackets are very comfortable to wear at any time of the year. It will keep you warm if it's an extremally cold day but can still be worn as a comfortable pull over on a typical fall day. I would recommend this to anyone, no matter where you are.

January 18, 2022

Highly Recommend

The materials are great, an ideal jacket under a parka or casual winter wear. Not ideal below 35 degrees very comfortable in the jacket on sizing. Im a active person on body shape. Great work Patagonia.

January 17, 2022

Very comfortable

My son usually takes a medium but felt it a bit too tight of a fit. Large was perfect

January 15, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable and warm.

January 12, 2022

Another Patagonia homer

This is my third Better Sweater. I gave my first two to my adult children because it is an essential piece of winter wear in the northern states. I definitely recommend Patagonia's Better Sweater.

January 12, 2022

perfect

It is perfect for me and winter. This jacket plus layers is terrific. With my 2000 storm coat I can handle anything.

January 11, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Purchased the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket and I am happy with the purchase. The jacket is warm and comfortable which is suitable for Southern California. I also like the sustainability efforts by the company. I am sure I will buy other Patagonia products in the future.

January 10, 2022

Warmth on a cool day

This sweater was purchased to replace a worn fleece sweater. It does that well and looks nice. The fit is slim compared to the fleece it is replacing.

January 10, 2022

Super warm.

I purchased this for my Sons Christmas present. He loved the way it fit. He loved the fabric. It was true to size. Very impressed with the all over quality.

January 10, 2022

Its not super warm, but dense and allows some chill to come in, which is perfect for me.

Its a bit dense, but still able to let some air in which is fine with me as I dont abide too warmish sweaters.

January 9, 2022

Great sweater

Love this!!

January 9, 2022

Comfy and warm

Runs true to size and is super comfortable per owner of the sweater! Great quality product

January 9, 2022

Comfortable

Warm and feels comfortable at work. Its great feel and quality material as a travel nurse I want something that is quality and will hold up. I can tell it will meet those standards.

January 9, 2022

Well made

I saw this in a shop and was reluctant until I put one on! Guys we can feel quality right? This is like a tailored suit feels so good. Warm, and best of all handsome!

January 9, 2022

Warm Comfortable

Very comfortable go to jacket for colder days where dont quite need a down jacket

January 6, 2022

Versatile and Extremely comfortable.

I bought a second better sweater in black just because I loved my stone grey one so much. Ha! Its my favorite zip up jacket that I own. Amazing for a fall day, and makes an EXCEPTIONAL layer piece under a down sweater coat if you live in a cold climate like I do during the winter season. 10/10 recommend getting one. You wont be disappointed. You ma... Read Morey even buy 2 like I did. LOL.

January 5, 2022

Warm without being too bulky.

My husband loved his first better sweater so much that I got him another one!

January 5, 2022

Comfortable

I'm 130 pounds and 5' 7" and usually I purchase size XS because I prefer true size

January 4, 2022

vanity sizing

cant believe that patagonia is vanity sizing now. make sure you order down one size if you want your sweater to fit properly.

January 4, 2022

Husband Loves This Sweater

We got one of these Better Sweaters a few years ago on sale and my husband likes it so much he wanted another one. He wears them all the time.

January 3, 2022

Unofficial Doctor's Uniform

Comfortable. Warm. Stylish. Pockets. Glorious.

January 3, 2022

DOESNT FIT

58 150lb male Bought medium size which was tight so exchanged at local Patagonia shop for large size. Unfortunately this was too large so will return. Perhaps Ill try Womens large

January 3, 2022

Slightly baggy but very comfortable

Would recommend trying on a sweater in-store before buying it. For me, medium was a tad bit tight and large fits but a bit too big at the chest and waist (that's probably just the style). Normally a large for jackets though. Sweater has been comfortable enough that I bought a second one in a different color a week after wearing the first one c... Read Moreontinuously. Minor complaint if I had any is the Better Sweater could have better wind resistance. Felt chilly with it on in 50F temp with wind using it as outer-layer.

December 31, 2021

My Son Loved it!!

My son loved this jacket. He always wanted one but didn't want to splurge on himself. Glad we purchased it. It looks great on him and he loves it.

December 31, 2021

Great Item

This jacket fits great!

December 29, 2021

Fit

The sweater runs slim on the body. Looks great a must have for a sporty casual lifestyle.

December 29, 2021

Patagonia doesnt miss

This is my 3rd better sweater and I love it. Quality of finishing is superb. Fit is true to size. Keeps me warm and looks good. Definitely recommend.

December 29, 2021

Great looking

Bought for my Grandson. He loves it!

December 28, 2021

I now have 4

I now have 4 better sweaters and I wear them to work every day.

December 28, 2021

Super warm and comfy!

Jacket was a little big but after a machine wash and dry it shrunk to fit perfectly. I'm a bigger build with broad shoulders and a broad chest. I recommend sizing down if you're in question between sizes. Overall, I love the jacket. 10/10 would buy again.

December 27, 2021

Husband Gift

I bought this jacket as a gift for my husband and he absolutely loves it! Great quality and fits true to size!

December 27, 2021

A super Gift

This was a gift for my husband.He knows it will be very warm and stylish.He has several Patagonia products and appreciates to quality of each item.We will continue to purchase your fine clothes.

December 27, 2021

Very warm

I got this sweater for my husbands Christmas present. He is 58 and around 130lb so S size is perfect for him. He said its very warm and comfortable. He really loves this sweater so he ordered another color.

December 26, 2021

Husband loves it

Great quality! My husband is 6 and 190lbs! He needed a warmer yet lighter jacket and this is perfect for San Diego, CA weather!

December 26, 2021

I like this!

This is a great piece. Fits well, great new color (to me, at least). Its very warm on its own, but theres room to put a layer or two underneath. I recommend this fleece.

December 26, 2021

nice but almost too "true to size"

The quarter zip Better Sweater are great and are the new uniform of certain office stiffs like myself. The only complaint I have about this full zip model is that it is basically exactly the same fit as the other one... you can't fit anything beside a t or button up underneath. If you size up to wear as a jacket, it's proportionally bigge... Read Morer in every way... i.e. the sleeves are super long. It just becomes ill fitting, not "oversized." The retro design fleeces like the Snap-T and Retro-X are a better choice for sizing up for an oversized fit. I wish Patagonia made a couple more retro 90s relaxed fit items

December 26, 2021

Warm

Good quality and warm

December 26, 2021

Great

Got a size small first but the sleeves where kind of long so ended up exchanging it for an xs and it fits perfectly... its perfect for any occasion !

December 24, 2021

Perfect!

It was everything I wanted and more. Super comfortable, great fit. Flattering to the cut of my jib!

December 23, 2021

They Keep Messing with Sizes.

I am a daily wearer and huge fan of Patagonia. But will never understand why they continuously have to tinker with sizes. I've recently discovered that the Better Sweater jacket is perfect for me. I have 2 that I wear from SPRING 2019 that fit perfectly. Wear around the house, as a jacket, as a midlayer. Just got my new one and it is so small... Read More and slim it feels like 2 sizes too small. I don't get it. Waste of time . Now have to wait weeks for a refund and a repurchase of the larger size that apparently I have to buy

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2021

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Better Sweater Jacket. We're so sorry to hear the fit of the newer model wasn't right for you, especially after you've been happy with our products for so long. This feedback is super helpful for our designers, so that we can continuously improve our products. If you ordered through our website you can exchange any product that isn't working for you for a different size without having to repurchase it; we release the new item when we get your return back. You can find that link here: [Auto Exchange](https://returns.narvar.com/patagonia/returns).

December 21, 2021

Even XS is too big

I had the same better sweater from a couple years ago, and the XS fit me well (I'm short and athletic, 5'6" 145lbs). This version in an XS is baggy and boxy even after trying to shrink it!

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2021

We're sorry to hear this jacket isn't working for you. We don't recommend intentionally shrinking it, as it could ruin the jacket entirely. You may prefer one of our [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim) designed in a "slim" fit.

December 20, 2021

Helpful and warm

Its a good sweater for work, and ocasional wearing. Works good from 40° to 60° Fahrenheit for me.

December 18, 2021

The best!

I have 4 of the above jackets in different colors just because they are great. Warm, cozy, comfortable and fits perfect. No matter how many times you wash it, always looks good.

December 18, 2021

Its warm

Fits nicely, like its made for me.

December 18, 2021

medium weight

I was between a large and an large x.Large is perfect. Not a slim fit.

December 18, 2021

Staying warm in the office

Bought this to stay warm in the office and its pretty awesome. Love it.

December 17, 2021

Warm and Stylish

This sweater is the nicest warmest jacket I have ever owned. The fit is true to size and the sweater is made with the highest quality materials. Made to withstand the test of everyday life and time.

December 14, 2021

These are fantastic

I own several of these. I bought this one in large so I could wear it over a canvas or flannel shirt. I am between medium and large in just about all Patagonia clothes at 5-10/180 (+/- 5 pounds).

December 12, 2021

Comfortable but

Ive owned this garment now for a while. The fit is good and the fabric is comfortable with one proviso. This jacket is totally worthless when theres the slightest breeze.I love Patagonia and the products they offer, but this garment is a huge disappointment.

December 11, 2021

Material now cheaper, flimsier, thinner. Not worth the price IMO.

I have this same sweater from 2 years ago and decided to buy a new one since the original was showing age. I compared them side to side. The material is noticeably thinner than my old one, and this cheapens the look since it's flimsier, looser fitting and more wrinkled. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hey Chris, we're sorry to hear of the disappointment with the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. The main difference you'll find is we went from 0% to 100% recycled polyester fabric and trims. We're sorry to hear that you're not a fan of these changes, and we'll share your input with the team. If you'd still like an older version you're always welcome to check [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/).

December 10, 2021

Versatile, warm fleece jacket

I bought the Better Sweater Jacket in the Dark Borealis Green. I really like the color and it is very soft and warm. It is definitely not a technical fleece as it's not the lightest weight and not wind/weather resistant. Therefore, in my opinion, it's best suited for casual wear. It transitions well between office and leisure, business ca... Read Moresual to casual. It works well with a pair of jeans or khakis; T-shirts, henleys, and collared shirts and it is comfortable and keeps you warm as long as there is not a whole lot of wind. I prefer using my R2 Techface jacket when outdoors in breezy conditions for extended periods of time and when engaging in more active pursuits outside. My one minor issue with this jacket is that the sleeve cuffs are not quite tight enough. The sleeves are a decent length for a jacket, but since the cuffs seem a bit loose, the jacket sleeves hang down a bit and sometimes get in the way of my hands. The sleeves don't stay up when you pull the sleeves up which can get a bit annoying especially when washing your hands. I tried a Better Sweater Jacket a couple years ago and found the exact opposite- the sleeves, particularly in the forearms and cuffs, were too tight to the point that it would be difficult to wear a thin long sleeve under it. Maybe Patagonia changed the sleeves(?) and went a little too loose (?) Other than that, awesome, warm, cozy and comfortable casual fleece jacket.

December 10, 2021

Better sweater full zip

Great fit and very warm

December 10, 2021

Excellent kit

These are great sweaters I love the weight and really like the full zip version. I tend to overheat on occasion with the quarter zip version but these can be unzipped. These are great for layering and on their own.

December 7, 2021

Fit is perfect

Fit is perfect. Love your fleece jackets.

December 7, 2021

Perfect Fit

6'0 and 170 lb male. Had large in the past and it was slightly baggy. The medium fit perfectly. Love the pockets on the side. Zipper is nice to be able to take on and off easily for work. Super comfortable and warm

December 5, 2021

City and country

I love this piece has body length l need .substantial feel very warm feels great .. Im a sweater guy .

December 5, 2021

Super warm

Feel nice

December 4, 2021

Love the look

The quality of the product is excellent. Good quality will last for years. I have had my eye on this for a while. Glad I bought it!

December 1, 2021

Good sweater

I wear it at work, looks great.

December 1, 2021

Okay, but....

I am 5'10" and 190 lbs with a 34 sleeve length and I ordered a medium. While the fit was good in the body and length, and the sleeves weren't tight like other reviewers have commented, the sleeves were too long. If there was elastic to keep the sleeves from extending so far past your wrist it be better. So it not only looks long and ... Read Moresloppy while wearing, but having the cuffs hitting the middle of the back of my hand is annoying. Also, as other reviewers have stated, the zipper seems flimsy. I would have expected a much sturdier zipper for the price.

November 30, 2021

Another color!

Gift for my husband. He loves the new color and great fit!

November 28, 2021

Cool pattern, but different feel

This is my 5th better sweater. IMO they are the BEST fleeces on the market. Got this one because of the pattern and needed one more in my winter rotation. My only complaints are that its a bit boxy around the waist, and not as soft as the other better sweater material. But from experience with my others, it will shrink a bit with drying.

November 27, 2021

QUALITY QUALITY QUALITY

Love my purchase . Jacket is very well made. It's sturdy with zippers reinforced. It shouts excellent workmanship and worth the purchase price. Only sorry it isn't a bit bigger as O would wear a sweater underneath the jacket ALL IN ALL FABULOUS

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches