Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater? Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 74 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater? Fleece Hoody

4.6/5
Kinda Large
March 8, 2022

Excellent jacket

Very well made, slim fit, very figure flattering, warm enough to wear at upper 40 degrees F. Havent washed it yet, do not know it will hold up the shape.

February 28, 2022

plainly a better better sweater

This better sweater is plainly better, especially when Patagonia offered credit instead of 'repair' for a well-worn Patagonia in need of new zippers. Applied the credit and wore this sweater, snowshoeing in the wilderness. The hood and full zip made for ease of comfort control in the mountain climate.

February 10, 2022

Love jacket but sleeves run long

I received this as a gift in an XL. It was too big but I like my jackets roomy but the sleeves were too long. Purchased a size M and L. Medium sleeves perfect length but jacket too tight. Size L fit better but the sleeves are too long. I love the jacket so much, it is warm, soft with great pockets.. so I decided to take it to a tailor to shorten th... Read Moree sleeves. So in summary the jacket is great, so good that I am willing to pay a tailor to shorten the sleeves, but the sleeves are too long on the L and XL for a woman.

February 2, 2022

Love the Frozen Jaquard

I originally got size medium but the shoulders were too small for me. I normally wear size medium in Patagonia coats/ jackets but have to size up for shirts. This material is not as stretchy as others. I like a looser fit and large fits my shoulders but is a bit big in the body and arms. I like the material very much and am happy with the purchase.... Read More

January 26, 2022

Good layer

I live in the Southwest so this item is great layered over a Merino wool sleeveless T-shirt with either a Patagonia Nano puff vest or a Nano puff jacket. I use it mostly for hiking.

December 31, 2021

Very warm

N/A

December 19, 2021

Well made, tight fit

Normally, I would wear a size large but it was really tight so I exchanged it for an XL, which was a much better fit. Very well made - great pockets and style - but not as comfortable as I would have expected.

December 11, 2021

Wonderful Jacket

Comfortable and warm sweater. Goes with everything!

December 6, 2021

Nice and warm

This jacket is light weight, and it is nice to keep me warm to wear for a night time walking.

November 25, 2021

Love the better sweaters

After Patagonia came out with hyssop purple , I had to buy another one. This is my fourth in this style. These sweaters are stylish, warm, soft to the touch and lightweight. I also like the slim fit. Im 55 and 128 lbs. and purchased a small. If youre looking to layer, you may want to size up.

November 25, 2021

Cozy

I had to return this jacket as it didn't fit right for me. Sleeves are too tight and too long for me in M and L is overall too large. Great jacket though. THANK YOU!

November 22, 2021

Seems like a great sweaterjust not for me

This sweater is heavier/warmer than I expected. I wanted to be able to wear it indoors and be comfortable and then under my Puff jacket when outdoors. Its too warm for that, unless the temps are below 20 degrees. More importantly, it was tight across the upper back and upper arms. Uncomfortable. Didnt lay right on my body. Disappointed all around. ... Read MoreHowever, it seems well made and of high quality. I have friends that really love this sweater. No me though. Boo!

November 20, 2021

Snug sweater for in-between seasons

I was looking to replace a nylon and fiberfill puffy sweater/jacket for spring and fall and layering with something more durable. This sweater fit the bill. My only complaint is that the sleeves are a bit snug. This makes it hard to layer--I have to grab my sleeve ends so they don't. bunch up. It is snug and cozy and the burgundy color is beau... Read Moretiful. I love that it's made of recycled fleece. It was a bit pricy for my budget as a retired teacher, but I see items like this as a wardrobe investment.

November 13, 2021

Better sweater

Finally a large is big enough to fit around my hips-sleeves are to long. Nice and cozy

November 12, 2021

Great day-to-day Sweatshirt

This is a great sweatshirt for daily use as well as local hikes. In terms of sizing: All of my other Patagonia jackets and sweatshirts are size small (as I've found they usually run a little large compared to other brands). I bought this one in size M, knowing this sweatshirt material is stretchy, so I could wear it through the rest of my pre... Read Moregnancy. So far it's working great with room to stretch at 8 months. I would definitely buy this style again, and likely will in a couple months.

November 2, 2021

A great warm jacket

I am usually a small but sized up to a M so I could layer under this jacket in cooler months. This jacket keeps me warm running errands, during fall gardening and protects me from the SD wind when Im at the park with my daughter.

October 29, 2021

Warm jacket

I bought this jacket to use during the south Florida winter, walking, and boating. I tried it on and found it to be quite toasty, and very flattering. I wear Medium sized shirts, and ordered up a size to a large, since I like to have a little extra room in my jackets. Jacket lays nice, the purple is a beautiful color, and has spacious zip up pocket... Read Mores. I love the sweater texture/look on the outside.

October 26, 2021

Still the Best Sweater!

I have purchased Better Sweater vests, jackets and Performance fleece jackets, so obviously I am a huge fan. This was the first hoodie that I have purchased and I found the sizing of the XS to be different from the jacket. The hips were considerably wider so I sized down. The XXS fit is spot on at the hip, but the shoulders and underarms, a tad snu... Read Moreg over a long sleeved tee. This issue could be me: wide shoulders. The Hyssop Purple color is lovely, understated and unique. The knit is as excellent as ever. I wish that the Patagonia label was half the size as it was with my first Better Sweater from 10 years ago. Nonetheless, I will enjoy wearing this fleece for many years to come.

October 19, 2021

Cozy and Functional

I alternate this with my Nano and jean jacket for work. Nice for traveling -- serves as a robe in the am.

October 19, 2021

Very comfy

I like the fit and the warmth. This was a gift and recipient liked it very much.

October 13, 2021

I love this!

This was a gift and i had to exchange for a size larger. Felt tight in hips when zipped. I love how cozy and warm this is! And I learned that this is made from recycled plastic bottles which is awesome and unbelievable, given how soft the fabric is. Id buy another one of these!

October 2, 2021

Better sweater

Patagonia doesn't fit me in my regular size, but I had a gift certificate and had to use it. Im 175 lbs and 5ft7 normally a large. The large is tight in the chest area and around my stomach so I had to go with the xl. The sleeves are a good 2 inches to long but I kept it anyway because of the gift certificate. Its very comfy and warm like a s... Read Moreweater should be. Good quality. The red is beautiful.

September 28, 2021

A travel staple.

I've always loved the better sweater line. These are great to layer for outdoor adventures but also traveling more generally. I toss one in my bag or the back of the car as a go-to layer for most adventures. But also for the travel to those adventures. No need to worry about frigid air on a flight, temperature dropping when eating outside, unp... Read Morelanned stop at an over-air conditioned museum, etc. I think that the heathered/flecked colors might look clean and presentable longer. They do eventually pill on the outer layer which makes them look a bit grubby and lessens their adaptability (my 10+ year old black one is now "outdoor adventure" only). As i've become curvier with age, they are not as flattering on my frame as they once were. I hover between a size M and L and i decided to go with large this time = more comfortable but the sleeves are a little too long. I might even shorten the sleeves slightly since my arms aren't growing and my plan is to wear this for another 10+ years! I might trim the cuffs in another color. (I wore out the cuffs of my patagonia winter coat (grey) that they repaired, on my request, with teal. It looks amazing and gives the coat new life.)

September 12, 2021

Really cute

Purchased for casual wear, it looks great on and is perfect for the current weather, cooler but not cold.

September 9, 2021

My Uniform

I am always wearing this, it might as well be my uniform. So cozy, and easy to move in. It is great under my raincoat or with a vest.

June 16, 2021

Great everyday jacket

Love this jacket, great for everyday wear. Warm but not too thick, has warm pockets and more of a slim fit. Really love that it has the hood as well!

June 14, 2021

Soft, thick, and comfy!

My husband urged me to get one, as he has one he loves. I purchased the full zip because it allows for greater flexibility of wear, allowing for temperature fluctuations. Its soft, comfortable though the arms (I have a little larger arms), and accommodates my rather large chest. The sleeves are pretty long, to my finger tips, which is great with th... Read Moree thumb-hole high tech shirts. They fold back easily into a cuff. Even though recycled material is used, it has a new feel and look, with a perfect thickness for sitting on the deck in the early spring, or to walk on a sunny day through the snow. A windbreaker over for a windy day. Perfect for layering! Besides all that, its quality made. Love it!

May 15, 2021

Beautiful hoody but.....

Loved the hoody, fit perfectly but unfortunately, there were light and dark flaws in the fabric. Looked like I had spilt something down the front, so l returned it.

April 23, 2021

Comfy and warm

I absolutely love this sweater. It is very warm and comfortable, and the zippers are a plus. The sweater is form fitting and flattering.

March 29, 2021

Stylish Casual Wear

High quality jacket. Nicely made. It fits perfectly and keeps me cosy while shopping or on long walks. I love the addition of the hood. I bought the navy which looks very stylishly casual when paired with jeans. I will buy more like this in different colors. They are versatile and definitely worth the money.

March 8, 2021

My new go to

Really love this new jacket of mine. Ive been recently addicted to Patagonia this was my second purchase and I bought 2 more in fact.

March 3, 2021

Better sweater

The Patagonia label was sewn on crooked.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Hello Brenda, we're truly sorry to hear that the label was sewn in crooked! That is definitely a quality control issue so please feel free to exchange it for a new one. We have reached out to you privately via email to assist with this.

February 24, 2021

It is good - just buy it

The quality you expect from Patagonia. If the style works for you, it delivers with the quality you expect.

February 2, 2021

Light and warm

The sleeves are too long but other than that I really like it. I am just 51

January 29, 2021

So soft and warm

Nice and comfy sweater! Will be purchasing another one in a different color.

January 27, 2021

Cozy and warm

A great sweater. Its warm without being too bulky. It feels cozy and soft. I highly recommend.

January 18, 2021

Love it!!!

This is one of the cutest jackets I own its so comfortable fuzzy it looks really nice on. It goes with everything

January 14, 2021

Christmas Gift

I purchased this item originally in a size medium. Runs small so exchanged it for a large. This item is very well made and looks great. I purchase Patagonia products because they perform as advertised and are well made, functional, as well as stylish. My wife has a Patagonia Ws Down Sweater and a Down With It parka which she loves.

January 11, 2021

Very comfey!

Love this jacket!!!

December 28, 2020

Perfect three season piece.

Super warm, breathes well, looks amazing, and its soft. Works well as a layer under a shell or over a t-shirt. This version is actually more refined than the previous three Ive purchased which is nice. The wife loves it. 5/5 stars. Wood buy again.

December 28, 2020

Thinner than it looks

Bought a black one for my wife. Whos small in stature and gets cold easily. It appeared to be a thicker, warmer coat that what it is. I was disappointed but she has a warmer coat by another popular brand! She ll wear it when it gets cold in South Carolina. Not worth the money i paid in my opinion for a light jacket.

December 27, 2020

Super warm close weave

Roomy enough to have layers beneath. My warmest hoodie and bought another color previously

December 27, 2020

Love the hood

I have a better sweater from prior years that I love, and this latest is no different. The hood is a great addition! I live in Charleston, SC so this jacket is the perfect weight for a mild winter.

December 25, 2020

Super snuggly

I love this hoodie. On Patagonias slim fit pieces, I tend to fall between a medium and large and often size up in order to layer underneath. Im glad I did. This hoodie is cozy and warm, and I can easily wear a long-sleeve T under it and stay toasty warm all winter. Great wfh piece.

December 16, 2020

Warm, light fabric

The fabric is very comfortable, I use it for work when I have an early start with my nursing rounds.

December 10, 2020

Love love love.

I absolutely love Patagonia clothing. Not to mention their return policy - they stand by their products! I mainly use this for work/snowboarding - I work nights and it keeps me warm in a freezing ICU! These sweaters tend to pill- but I read a review about the sweater stone, makes it brand new again!

December 7, 2020

so disproportionately built! I want Patagonia to go back to its good old times!

built purely, long, too large, uncomfortable, I am very disappointed with Patagonia lately, clothes is uncomfortable, colors are ugly, I want my favorite old Patagonia back!

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

We are very sorry to hear the disappointment in our recent fit changes and color options. We appreciate this feedback and hopefully, there will be some better options for you in the future. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one back to us.

December 3, 2020

Love the better sweater fleecy but long sleeves

I love the better sweater fleecy hoody, I've purchased several of the vests in years past, a 1/4 zip too and like them very much but wanted to have a better sweater jacket when I was in the home (or out) during the colder temps. This works great. And the one I bought was a wonderful blue and on sale. I am a size medium but ordered a large in t... Read Morehis even though I knew the sleeves would be way too long but I wanted a looser fit so I can put this jacket on over my clothes, without it being so snug. I planned to mend the sleeves to a proper length (yes, I cut off about an inch on brand new jacket) and sewed a seam around. Honestly I'm so glad I did that, it looks great, is warm and fits me well. I'm a more petite build but even I think patagonia tends to make there sleeves a little too tight, snug in these jackets. So I got a large and made the sleeves a proper length for me and now it fits like how I like to wear a fleece, with a little room in it, not as a glove. Hence, docked the one star for that. But love what I've got. Make it your own!

December 2, 2020

Take a hike!

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Hoody Is a nice fall/early winter jacket for walking and hiking. Size up if you typically tend to wear layers, as the cut is slightly fitted. I wear an 8/10 in misses jackets, but am wearing a large in this brand.

November 17, 2020

Beautiful color and material

I purchased a better sweater in the chicory red color. It looks a bit dark online, but when it arrived it was a beautiful warm plum color. I really appreciate when there are beautiful, earthy color options for women, too (for most brands I usually like the men's side of the store much better for color options, but I'm too petite to wear m... Read Moreen's clothing, so earth tones for women's clothing are highly appreciated). My bust measurements were for a size small, but my other measurements are for an XS (35"bust/26.5" waist/35" hips). I found the large bust measurement wasn't an issue, and the XS fits perfectly. The hood is great when it gets chilly (fits nicely, not too snug, but enough to keep you warm), and the sweater blocks the wind enough to be comfortable for casual use in mild/cool weather. On a truly windy day I would wear an outer shell, but it's been great in mild wind. It feels very cozy - the inside is very soft and fuzzy. It's definitely a casual sweater - I wouldn't wear it backpacking (or for other strenuous activity), since it is not breathable. Also, I really appreciate that I will be able to easily repair the sweater after a few years if I need to.

November 7, 2020

Warm and cozy

I love this sweater jacket. The lines are flattering, not boxy like some hoodies. Its my go to for all activities since its arrived.

September 17, 2020

Lightweight

Great jacket with a hood! Lightweight and warm, perfect for hiking and casual wear.

September 14, 2020

Super Warm hoodie

The hoodie fits just right. Love the feel of the material and warmth

September 2, 2020

soft and cozy

It's my first time buying the fleece hoody, and I've read in the reviews that the fit was quite slim so I went for the XL. It is not super tight but just right for me, I am usually a size 12/Large when buying tops from other brands. The inside is really soft and keeps you warm, but the overall jacket is really lightweight so makes it easy... Read More to carry around. I am a fan of pockets with zips, fits my phone, travel card, keys etc. Overall happy with the product.

July 15, 2020

Errand runner

I wear this while running errands as well as around the house when I need another layer. It is easy to throw on and love that it has a hood in case of cooler temps.

June 17, 2020

Beyond expectation!

Fleece hoody is made of excellent quality fabric! Construction is perfect! Hoody is comfortable to wear daily and neat for large gatherings.

May 8, 2020

Super Long Sleeves

I love this hoody and I have the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket as well. However, the sleeves on this one are exceptionally long. I did measurements on the sleeves and they are longer than the specs listed. I called Patagonia and they confirmed that the sleeves are longer than stated. However the fit everywhere else is nice. And the jacket version sl... Read Moreeeves fit perfectly just FYI. I wear these all the time and they are super snuggly.

April 20, 2020

Disappointing

I really wanted to like this fleece jacket, but I dont. The fit is fine, but it attracts pet hair like a magnet and the material started pilling after a few months of wear. I have many other Patagonia products that I love, but I cant recommend this one.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. Pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. Nonetheless, we know it can be a pain and we'd recommend a product like the Sweater Stone. With that being said though, we guarantee everything we make you and you're always welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back that doesn't work for you.

January 4, 2020

This was also given to

This was also given to our daughter-in-law as a Christmas gift. It fit her perfectly, and she loved the color.

December 30, 2019

Love it

Slim fit but comfy!!

December 29, 2019

Got this as a gift

Got this as a gift for my mom, and it fits her so well! She loves how soft and warm it is, and the hood is another plus. Not only is it warm, but it’s also lightweight so it’s not a hassle to wear. I definitely want my own after seeing it!

December 26, 2019

Ws Better Sweater

FIVE STARS....great quality very comfortable fabric

December 11, 2019

As described

As described

November 20, 2019

Sweater with hoody

Love the hoodie, keeps me nce and warm.

November 18, 2019

Excellent service and fast delivery.

Excellent service and fast delivery. The Better Sweater Hoody is a staple in our house. I live in mine.

November 12, 2019

Pretty Awesome!

Fits well over Better Sweater Vest. I alternate between BS hoody and Nano puff jacket.

November 6, 2019

Very fitted

Great fabric - soft on inside and sleeves are long for my long arms. But I am fairly flat chested with no hips 5’ 7” 135 and a medium is right through my chest and shoulders. Buy a size up if you want space for anything other than a light t-shirt underneath.

November 5, 2019

Cozy cozy cozy, me love.

Oh yeah, totally recommend. You’ll live in it. Form fitting, I got a medium & it fits perfect. I can wear my puffys over it no problem. It’s a great layer.

November 3, 2019

Soft & Warm

Soft & Warm

October 22, 2019

My all time favorite!!

This sweater is definitely my favorite Patagonia product. Ive been wearing it for years, and still love it. I have 6 colors in total:D

October 21, 2019

My new go to!

I love this sweater - I bought it because I liked the look but it's just so comfy and the perfect weight that I've worn it almost every day since I bought it :)

October 17, 2019

Wish It Was Thicker

I truthfully expected this jacket to be a thicker material and a little bit more heavier weight. Still a nice jacket over all and I do love the hood.

September 21, 2019

This is my second Better

This is my second Better Sweater hoody & I love them. Super warm & comfortable!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches