burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Better Sweater 1/4-zip Fleece Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 407 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.6/5
True To Size
February 6, 2023

Super warm and practical

It's perfect for a chilly day. California is going through a cold wave and it's been great for 35-40 degree weather. Great purchase!

February 5, 2023

Warm and well designed

Now I undertand why this is so popular. It is well designed, well made, comfortable, and warm. The sizing was bit tricky for me. The medium was form fitting and the large was roomy without being too baggy. However, arm length was too long with the large size so I had to fold it twice. For reference, I am 5'3, waist 28, and 126lbs. I do have a ... Read Morewide shoulder. I ended up buying both sizes so I can wear the medium under a jacket and the large on its own with a thicker shirt under it.

February 3, 2023

Very warm and always looks

Very warm and always looks great

February 1, 2023

Can wear anywhere and everywhere

This jacket keeps me so warm, I can wear it to the office, outdoors, and for any occasion. I usually wear a medium but wanted something I could wear under and they run small so I sized up.

January 30, 2023

LOVE!!!

Perfect fit. Love the color and its really nice and warm! Had an issue with an incorrect address and the customer rep was awesome to work with! Best customer service I have ever received!

January 26, 2023

The better sweater is one

The better sweater is one of my favorite fleece tops. I do not usually wear red but Im so glad I bought it. I absolutely love the color. I just wish the length on the better sweater was a little longer.

January 25, 2023

Perfect!

This sweater is perfect in every way!

January 24, 2023

toasty

Flattering fit and very warm great for the weather in California lately

January 24, 2023

Great warm topper

Love the comfort and warmth of this sweater. The green is very nice color and looks good with everything. I bought a medium and am glad I did so that it is not too fitted and I can wear a tee shirt underneath. It has become my go-to selection.

January 22, 2023

Crazy warm

I bought this for a trip up north. It is the warmest sweater I have ever purchased! I am in love and already contemplating another sweater or jacket. Its casual yet preppy.

January 22, 2023

Body Hugger

I am usually M, i did check the size chart cause it slim fit, according to the chart i am still M, however, the material conforms to the body too much, meaning, shows your shape, not only the love handles but also shows the pants line. If i size up, the sleeve will be too long and the shoulder will be too wide. The M already shows bulging at the ba... Read Moreck shoulder. Look so nice in the photo but i guess not for my body shape. I have to return this one unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We also want to extend our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered with your new Better Sweater which led to a return. Please know you can always reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1vgpcmh*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3NTExNTAxMy4zNjMuMS4xNjc1MTE2MTQxLjAuMC4w) at any time and we will be more than happy to give you more exact measurements for any of our products. This way you will have a better idea of how everything will fit before it is received. In the case of our Better Sweaters, we would highly encourage sizing up at least one size due to the slimmer fit of the product to get a more relaxed fit.

January 21, 2023

Very warm

The sleeves are a little long on me but I just turn them back a roll. I love the sweater! I have ordered another one in a different color.

January 21, 2023

So much love for this iconic sweater

I actually have 4 of these already. Always love this sweater. One thing with this sweater that it has always run small. So if you like it loose better size up.

January 20, 2023

Traditional roomy fit. Warm but

Traditional roomy fit. Warm but not overly hot. A little long, but better long then short!

January 19, 2023

I think the sizing is

I think the sizing is not all that accurate. I should have went up two sizes than what was shown on the sizing chart, but only went up one when I returned for a larger size. I didn't want to return again. Otherwise, I like everything else about it.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2023

Hi Teri! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the fit. The 1/4 zip features a slim fit so it will fit closer to body. That said, we appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design team to keep in mind for future seasons.

January 19, 2023

Versatile for outdoor activities and

Versatile for outdoor activities and daily use.

January 19, 2023

Super warm

Bought a size up as ran tight and if it may shrink. Great for the winter for walking, hiking and even a casual Friday at work.

January 17, 2023

Nice & warm sweater fleece

1/4 Zip Sweater fleece is warm and comfortable, fits well, goes great with jeans.

January 17, 2023

Beautiful color

This was my first time purchasing a Patagonia sweater and I was so sad that I had to return it. It runs small. It is a wonderful color and material though.

January 15, 2023

I love Patagonia clothing but

I love Patagonia clothing but the sizes run way to small for me. I typically wear 2X and your 2X sizes are not true to size.

January 14, 2023

It fits perfect for me

It fits perfect for me and so warm to wear.

January 12, 2023

I bought this as a

I bought this as a gift for my daughter and she loved the color. It also fits her perfectly. This is her 3rd better sweater. Patagonia never disappoints. I own a lot of Patagonia clothing and I plan on owning more lol

January 10, 2023

Very Comfortable

Like the style and color. Perfect for casual wear.

January 8, 2023

My husband has several of

My husband has several of these sweaters and he loves them, but I must not fit the Patagonia size profile, as the M was too small and the L was too large.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

Hi RW, we're so sorry to hear that you're having trouble finding the correct size Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece. Please feel free to begin a [return or complimentary exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

January 6, 2023

Purchased this because i had

Purchased this because i had bought one several years ago and have worn it extensively. Felt it was time for another as a backup. It hasn't changed from the original. I was glad the design stayed the same. Very useful layering or with a long underwear top in warmer winter weather. I live in high desert so it is very versatile in our climate.( ... Read MorePS. Please bring the El Cap Jacket back.) Happy New Year

January 6, 2023

Slightly too small, and I wanted my husband to get me the full zip version

Slightly too small, and I really wanted the full zip version, but my husband didnt want to ask me too much and burden me with more choices, so he just bought it for me. I returned it for the full zip XL size, and I love that one!!

January 4, 2023

Great Fleece

Perfect fit for my wife. Great color and most important, very warm.

January 2, 2023

Very warm

My granddaughter wore this day after Christmas to barn to care for her horses, she stated its very warm and would like one one in different color.

January 2, 2023

Super Warm And Soft

I received mine as a gift. It was a size large. I exchanged it for a double extra large. (Very surprised to see larger sizes) I really wanted it to fit more like a tunic with my tights. Now its just how I wanted it to fit. Seriously I haven't worn anything else since I put it on!! Love it!

January 2, 2023

Can't take it off!

Received this for Christmas and have worn it 4 days in a row. I don't want to take it off. It is warm, soft, stylish, and fits great. I'm 190 and ordered the XXL. The arm and torso length is perfect and I still have a little wiggle room for a second layer. The arm pocket is perfect for a phone, car keys, or a chap stick. I love this item ... Read Moreso much I ordered one for myself.

January 2, 2023

Purchased this as a Christmas

Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She loves it!! Great fit!!!

December 29, 2022

Comfortable. Great fit.

The Better Sweaters are true to size and don't shrink. I have 4 of these. They are my favorite sweaters to wear in the winter time. I highly recommend this product.

December 26, 2022

Keeps me warm, indoors and out!

Purchased for my wife as a gift. Runs true to size. She is already wearing it indoors over a shirt, and outdoors under a jacket. Great product!

December 25, 2022

Tighter Fit But Warm & Cozy

I mostly fit XXS in Patagonia. I am 5'1 and 95 lbs. But upon reading reviews, and trying on at the store, I opted for XS. It is still a tighter fit because of the knit and stiffer weave of the Better Sweater. I have the Vest and it's the same tighter/stiffer feel. It's still cozy and warm - I just suggest going up one size. Wish ther... Read Moree were hand pockets. I bought it for work. I don't think it would be that conformable as a midlayer for outdoor pursuits as it's stiffer, not breathable, and thicker. Good for going on a casual winter/fall walk on trails in the neighborhood though!

December 21, 2022

Casual elegance, toasty warmth

The XXS fit is perfect for a petite. It is warm and soft. I like the option of zipping up or down, depending on the degree of warmth needed and the slim styling and sweater knit. Casual elevated!

December 18, 2022

Better Sweater

I would say the Better Sweater does run true to size. It is a slim fit though so I would understand if someone thought it ran small. I prefer a quarter zip over a full zip and think its an awesome fleece option for not only work/indoors but also outdoors and layering!

December 3, 2022

Sweater zip up

The fit is perfect and I absolutely love the sweater. It is incredibly comfortable and soft. May have to purchase in every color available

November 23, 2022

Runs small

I got a medium and its a little snug, still wearable. I like my sweaters to be a bit oversize. This was right in my arms and i couldnt wear it over bagging shirts. Def size up a size or two

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2022

Hi Chelsea, thank you for this review. Yes, the Better Sweater is designated as a "Slim Fit", and so it may require sizing up if you want an oversized fit. Thank you for your contribution to our customer community!

November 18, 2022

Disappointed

Arrived smelling bad and sleeves way too short

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2022

We are incredibly sorry to hear about the condition your Better Sweater arrived Hannah. Please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*18nca9z*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2OTQxNDk4MC4yMDAuMS4xNjY5NDE0OTgyLjAuMC4w) so we can help get you into a new product. Again, we are truly very sorry about this, but we will do our best to ensure this is remedied.

November 17, 2022

Runs a little small but overall love the sweater.

I received a size large for a gift. It a little on the small side. I went to exchange it for an extra large which was huge on me. So, I settled on the large. I just wont be able to wear anything under it. Overall, love your company and your mission.

November 16, 2022

Great fit

It is very warm and light weight. I really think the close fit enhances its warmth and looks very attractive. It is so much nicer than the looser styles that are popular. It is very unique and I hope the cut and styling never change.It is fitted to the hips which I like.

November 15, 2022

Great product, cozy warm, good

Great product, cozy warm, good fitting, and great looking. Definitely recommend!

November 13, 2022

New favorite

Normally, I wear a womens medium in tops due to my arms being on the muscular side. I went in store to find this sweater and didnt like how narrow the arms were so I grabbed a mens small and found that it fit perfectly and exactly how I wanted (slightly loose) so for anyone with larger arms, definitely try mens If you want this to be looser

November 8, 2022

Very Nice, but Sizing Way Off

This is a very nicely made product. It is warm, comfortable, and flattering. Unfortunately, the sizing is way off from what is presented in the sizing chart, and I am very disappointed with how it fits. I usually wear XS (0-2) tops, and my measurements put me at the lower end of the XS presented in the sizing chart. The XS is way too small - the sh... Read Moreoulders are very tight and the arms are barely long enough. I would recommend sizing up!

November 6, 2022

Returned - too snug for an outer layer

Returning this sweater as it's too snug for an outer layer. The interior needs to be reworked as it catches on everything and makes layering very difficult.

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Kate. We're glad to see you've returned a pullover that wasn't going to make you happy! The Better Sweater line is designed with a slim cut, and some people do prefer to size up to allow layering. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

November 6, 2022

Love this!

I have had this for 3 years and I still wear it all the time. I love it for casual walks, base layer when skiing, and for hiking in the fall. It keeps me warm without being too heavy and making me sweat. I highly recommend!

November 2, 2022

Practical and Stylish

I decided to purchase this product based on a recommendation from my son who currently owns two. I received mine just in time for planned hiking trip in the Pacific Northwest. It provided a nice additional layer for a chilly morning hike in the Northern Cascades. I currently wear it daily at work - it is comfortable and stylish enough for business ... Read Morecasual dress. Washes easily - I wash mine inside out and hang dry. I don't think the sweater would work for rugged conditions as it could snag, probably best as a layer underneath another top layer.

October 31, 2022

A more polished fleece .

First let me say I love the smooth , polished look this fleece has on the outside while still being super cozy and warm ! It is a more fitted sweater than most casual fleece and looks good on a small , lean person ! Very flattering for someone like me , it might not work for a thicker person or someone who likes a roomy fit unless they size up ! I ... Read Morewill order another in a brighter blue as I would love to have a collection of theses ! I also adore the half zip design as again it tends to work well with an over jacket or coat without being bulky ! Truly great quality , well finished with knit edging ! Really love theses year after year ! Thank you ! Don't change a thing ( except maybe more colors ) !

October 27, 2022

Comfortable

I am a bit rotund and this is such a flattering sweater.

October 21, 2022

Warm, but arms are way too long.

I am 5'3" and 124lb, slightly athletic build. I was so excited to get the sweater. Everywhere else fit fine. It's nice and warm. But the arms are way to long ! Although Patagonia is so popular, it might not for me. So sad.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2022

Hi Makiko! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fleece didn't fit correctly in the arms. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 17, 2022

My wife was so delighted

My wife was so delighted with the first one that I got her a second. Soft, warm, flattering fit and aesthetically pleasing. Highly recommend.

October 16, 2022

lovely sweater

I love my sweaters oversized so I got an XL and it fits great, sleeves are a bit long but they look cute rolled up. I would caution you to get a sized bigger than you are because it does run snug. Im 130 lbs with a size c bra and the XL is oversized but not giant. I got it in black and its my new fav sweater. I wish it had pockets on the sides tho... Read More

October 15, 2022

Nice Pullover for Cool Mornings

As a coach, this is my main pullover to wear over my polo for morning games. I sized up to an XL, usually I wear L, to have the fit that I wanted without it appearing too tight. I definitely recommend.

October 11, 2022

Super Soft and Warm

This zip up is so comfy. It's great to throw on when I'm running out for an errand or even just around the house. It's great for fall temperatures. I ordered a size up because I wanted to wear it over other shirts, and I'm glad I did. It is snug fitting.

October 10, 2022

Nice, but

The color, style and material is great! But for a winter outer layer, it just is much too fitted. No freedom of movement at all, a little short, and too snug over the hips.

Response from Patagonia
October 11, 2022

Hi Melinda! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 7, 2022

Runs very small. I normally

Runs very small. I normally wear x-small to small. The medium just fits with no room at all for shrinkage with washing. Recommend sizing up.

October 7, 2022

Warm

Great quality but not as warm as I expected. It fits snugged around the shoulders making difficult to layer up.

October 1, 2022

Fit is off

I really wanted this to fit. I am a small to medium for sweaters and other tops. I read many reviews saying it is too narrow and difficult to get off, so I ordered a medium & large. I am a 34D bust and the medium was too tight and difficult to get off although the sleeves were too long. The medium fit my chest but the sleeves and length were wa... Read Morey too big. It is listed as slim fit, but it is beyond slim and a struggle to get off.

September 30, 2022

So excited to see this

So excited to see this in brown-and have always been a M but this was disappointing . Sizing way off.

September 29, 2022

Better Sweater

Cozy sweater!! Love it !!

September 22, 2022

Too tight

I am bummed, I ordered 3 last year as gifts, 1 this yr for me. Too small and ordered according to directions . I ordered 2 more for gifts.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2022

Hi Amy, the Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece does run a bit snug, and we'd be happy to help out with a [return or free exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'd also be happy to help the people you gifted with both options as well if they're having the same issue. We'll reach out to you privately, just in case you need further assistance.

September 15, 2022

Cozy

This sweater is my favorite from all my collection, stylish and warm.

September 14, 2022

I am usually a large,

I am usually a large, but I find that Patagonia is sized a wee-bit some. However, I love my Better Sweater!

September 8, 2022

Super warm

Love this pullover very warm and soft. Comfortable.

September 8, 2022

Herringbone version doesn't stretch

It's lovely. But if you buy the herringbone version it doesnt have any give. Size up. I generally run small to medium in tops due to broad shoulders and had to wrestle my way out of it. Wish I could have exchanged for a medium but they were out of stock.

September 7, 2022

Awkward sizing

I am 5'1" with narrow shoulders. I tried on a S and a M and the sizing is just awkward. The difference between the small and medium is the wider shoulders, but the armscye is a little tight and there is absolutely no stretch or give in the bottom hem. I can get it on my hips, but the sweater has no give or stretch and it just looks odd wi... Read Moreth the roomy shoulders with the tight bottom hem. The bottom hem falls at the widest part of the hip, and the sizing should accommodate the hips, which are typically the widest part of a woman's body. Patagonia appears to have their patterns drafted for junior sizing. I can't go any larger, or the shoulders will be awkwardly large on my curvy petite frame.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2022

Hi Vera! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. We truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 6, 2022

Súper warm

Super comfortable and warm. I just wish it had pockets !

August 26, 2022

Love Better Sweater

My second better sweater, love them for hiking or cozy days at home.

August 25, 2022

Super Warm but awkward shape and pills BAD!

I loved this fleece at first- it was great for fall weather or mild winter day hikes. The bottom hem is a little boxy and awkward and it pills really bad. I don't wear mine out anymore because of the pilling. For the $$ I think there are better options

August 7, 2022

Freaking great!

I bought this as a higher end sweater for my freezing office. I love it! So warm and looks so professional on. I would say they run true to size but they are snug. If you plan to wear a shirt underneath I would size up!

July 19, 2022

Love this sweater!

This was the perfect weight to go under a raincoat for our trip to Ireland in late spring/early summer! I wore it everyday, hiking, sightseeing, just for warmth. It was awesome! Super comfortable and versatile and didn't feel hot or bulky when I was working up a sweat on an intense hike.

May 21, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

Love how the fabric feels and how it feels on my body. Keeps me really warm!

May 20, 2022

Lightweight Warmth

Ive wanted a quarter zip like this for years. So happy I finally bought it for myself! Its warm and lightweight, with a very durable construction. Thanks, Patagonia.

May 15, 2022

Boxy, not very stretchy

I returned this because I did not like the styling. I have many other Better Sweaters and I like the color, but the fabric is not stretchy and the style is much boxier than other better sweaters. Not worth the price for such a blah piece, even on sale.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hi Gretchen, we're sorry to hear that you weren’t happy the Patagonia Women's Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece this time around. Please feel welcome to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

May 13, 2022

Different Better Sweater

I love the Better Sweaters; I have about 15 of them in different colors and zip configurations. But this one has an attractive pattern woven into it (the first Better Sweater I've seen like it). I like the pattern and will probably wear it for casual errands but it won't be a go to as much as the others as it doesn't stretch as much ... Read More(hardly at all) and is not as suited for cold weather. It's just not as comfy. I'm glad I have it and I'll enjoy wearing it; it's just not the better sweater I'm used to.

May 13, 2022

Pretty Sweater

I love the style and the warmth this sweater provides. It is a little tight in the armpits- but I only notice it when I am trying to take it off. I am a bit claustrophobic and when my arms get even slightly stuck I panic.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Hey Patti, thank you for the feedback. This fleece has a slim fit which could be why it feels a little tight when you try to take it off. You can check on the fit of any item by going to it's product page and checking underneath the size range options. We do have regular and relaxed fit options for women's fleeces which you can check out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Crelaxed).

May 6, 2022

All around sweater

Love my Patagonia sweater plus the half zip. Material always high quality soft.

May 5, 2022

Cozy

Bought this as an alternative to other fleece. Very warm and comfy. I sized up to give room to layer. Sleeves are long. Body length is great in the larger size. Much warmer than I expected it to be so I was very pleased to receive it just before a week of cold weather.

May 3, 2022

Mostly great

Love the low zip neckline, would like something a little less heavy weight wise/

Response from Patagonia
May 6, 2022

Hey Marsha, thanks for the review. We do have a lightweight version of the Better Sweater that you can check out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-lightweight-better-sweater-shelled-fleece-jacket/26100.html?dwvar_26100_color=FEA).

April 21, 2022

Runs small and is heavy weight

I returned this sweater although I liked the grey and white pattern. It runs really small and was tight and stiff everywhere, especially on my arms and shoulders. The heavy weight would prevent it to use as a layering piece when hiking. Another reason to return.

April 9, 2022

Eye catching

Casual yet kinda dressy. Pattern and fabric are beautiful. Very happy with this purchase.

April 7, 2022

Very warm, but stiff

This is a super warm fleece, but had no flex in the body or arms.

April 6, 2022

Warm, soft, great color

Happy to add another better sweater to my wardrobe.

April 4, 2022

soft

I really enjoy this sweatshirt. It's very soft and great styling. I originally ordered a XS but it was too small. The exchange was so easy even though I ordered the wrong size. No questions asked I received a replacement. Super Pleased.

March 31, 2022

Warm and Comfortable

Purchased one a year ago and it was cut funny and did not fit right. Patagonia took it back and replaced it with no hassle. The new one is perfect like the other 3 that I own. Patagonia is a great company with quality products and superior customer service.

March 30, 2022

Super warm

Love how its super warm and how its true to size.. love the fitted look!!

March 30, 2022

Refined Fleece

I bought the oyster white I just love it. It definitely is the opposite of a big comfy fleece in the size I bought but that's what I wanted and this fleece fits the bill. For sizing reference, I'm a 34 B chest size, athletic build. My daughter's XS full zip better sweater fit me perfectly so I sized up to a S based on the reviews and... Read More the S 1/4 zip fits perfectly. It is quite fitted, which I like, because it's not bulky under my shell when snowboarding. And it looks fabulous and slimming with jeans, leggings, or hiking shorts. Now I'm eyeballing other colors!

March 29, 2022

classic, lovely better sweater

I love better sweater products and this one is no exception. Super soft, super comfy, a great layer for casual wear or for skiing/snow or hiking.

March 26, 2022

Flattering & Durable

Love love love these tops. Had 2 that my sons had gotten me for Christmas one year and just loved wearing them! Im usually a girl that likes to layer and these are perfect for layering. Following instructions they also wash very well. Definitely my go to top for three seasons a year, and perhaps on a chilly summer night.

March 25, 2022

Perfect overall sweater

This sweater is comfortable, warm, easy maintenance and also elegant. It keeps my neck warm

March 22, 2022

Fabulous quality and gorgeous color, just wish it had pockets

This is my third Better Sweater but my first 1/4 zip. Overall, Im very happy with it. Its a beautiful color and the high quality you always get with Patagonia. I have only two small complaints: 1. I wish it had pockets at the waist/hips. It only has the one on the sleeve, which is good for a mask or an ID and a credit card, but not great for keys o... Read Morer your phone. 2. I love the fabric, but wish it had a little more give. Never a problem with the full zip, but harder to get on and off in the pullover. Relatedly, because the fabric is fairly stiff, I had to size up for the hips so its actually a little bit big on me up top. Still love it though!

March 21, 2022

Soft and warm

I have a lot of Patagonia fleece, but this is my first better sweater. I love it! It is very soft and warm. And for me maybe a little too warm to keep on indoors at work. Since this is labeled slim fit, I think it does run true to size. Some reviews said it runs small, so I ordered up a size. I should have stuck with my original xs to get the slim ... Read Morefit because the small is a little bulky under my arms.

March 21, 2022

Soft outerwear

I love this Better Sweater. It's pretty fitted, and I wish the armholes were a little lower, but other than that the fit is terrific. Super soft inside and a nice medium weight. I wear mine all the time.

March 20, 2022

Love the texture and color

Very pretty color and texture, makes it marvelous for outdoor adventures and office work. Possibly even more!

March 17, 2022

Smart casual

Warm, a gorgeous color and so cozy! I am curious to see how long it will last. Runs a size small

March 17, 2022

cozy and soft inner lining of it helps to keep warm.

It is really nice and warm casual wear at home and outside. It is very comfortable to wear without having bulky feeling.

March 16, 2022

Best fleece around

Since I bought my first better sweater it is the only fleece I buy now. Its the warmest pull over I have ever tried.

March 15, 2022

Cozy

Really love the warmth of this. Biggest challenge is that the fabric doesnt have any stretch which can make it a little tight to pull on/off with layers underneath. Id likely feel stuck in a small.

March 15, 2022

not quite the 'better sweater" material

This is a fun fleece top with a slim fit which I like. Not tight. I was expecting a heavier fleece so I returned this product. The fleece pattern did not match up and was not centered as it should be.

March 15, 2022

Super comfy

Super soft and not bulky keeps you warm

March 14, 2022

Snug

I didnt keep this item and have several Patagonia tops that I wear. This says slim fit and though it fit me it was awkward to put on. Also the material felt stiffer to me than my cozier tops.

March 10, 2022

Not like my previous purchases

I have several Patagonia Better Sweaters, even a purple one that I was lucky to buy since I havent seen them again. Although the Berlin Blue was a nice color there was a strong perfumed fragrance when I received it and the material was itchy. I had to wash it several times and I even used fabric softener sheets. Not soft and warm like my previous p... Read Moreurchases.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Hi Karen, we're sorry to hear that the Women's Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece in color Berlin Blue was uncomfortable against your skin. We want you to feel cozy in your gear, and we’d be happy to help out with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We’ll reach out to you privately to further assist with either of those options.

March 10, 2022

Womans better sweater

I have broad shoulders and would have liked it more generous in shoulders! It is warm.

March 9, 2022

Comfortable but runs small

This item is very soft and comfy as far as material. Personally, I like my pullovers to fit a little loose so I would recommend sizing up. The sizing charts were a little misleading. I would order again but a size larger than what is normally worn.

March 9, 2022

My Favorite Sweater

I held off on buying one for a while - what a regret! I wear this 5 days a week working from home - it keeps me warm but feels breathable, I love the light blue color and the little arm zipper pocket (though I found it a little weird at first); couldn't ask for a better sweater (no pun intended).

March 5, 2022

Many functions

I love this sweater! It keeps me warm and comfortable during rainy Oregon winters. I wear it while walking my dog, to work, and out for casual outings with friends. I plan to buy it in more colors!

February 27, 2022

Very comfortable

I'm on the spectrum and have always struggled to find sweatshirts that feel good against my skin. This one has been great--I love it!

February 26, 2022

Fit runs small... Arms run long!

Patagonia always has great quality. However, unless my arms have shrunk since my last Patagonia purchase... The sleeves are really long!

February 21, 2022

Better Sweater - No Way to Wash

Nice well made piece of clothing. Inside the Care Instructions are how to properly wash the garment in every language EXCEPT English.

Response from Patagonia
February 28, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Mark. Yes, those care symbols aren't as universally understood as they were intended to be! To care for your Better Sweater, machine wash on Warm, do not bleach, tumble dry on Low, and do not iron. In addition, you can help prevent pilling on your knit garment by turning it inside out before laundering, washing in Gentle cycle or hand washing, removing it from the dryer as soon as it’s dry, or skipping the dryer and hanging it to dry.

February 19, 2022

Better sweater

It was perfect. I just was expecting the color to be more vibrant

February 15, 2022

Amazing quality!

I purchased a Large, and it feels like a Medium! I am fairly skinny so I was surprised it didn't feel too big on me. The jacket pairs great with some black leggings, I bought the black color but its more of a dark, dark grey. I wish Patagonia allowed you to upload photo reviews, because I think that would help customers get a feel for how an i... Read Moretem truly fits., rather than simply reading a description.

February 14, 2022

Favorite Sweater

Ive bought these for all the men in my life, and finally treated myself! The fit is tailored, which is rare in an anorak and looks feminine. I love the fine weave, which looks good with jeans or nice pants. Ive had mine for three months now, and wear it at least three times a week. Its been through lot of washes, and theres very little pilling. Thi... Read Mores is truly my favorite sweater!

February 12, 2022

Really fits small

Long time Patagonia fan, my recent orders of this zip and the Better Sweater have been less than exciting, I weight 135, 5"3, wear 6-8 in most everything, and yet the small in these both are really tight in shoulders, just feels like designer is either cost cutting or has re-invented sizing, for those of us who want comfortable flattering form... Read More fitting, this feels uncomfortable. And yet a medium would be bulky.

Response from Patagonia
February 15, 2022

Hey Diana, thanks for the review. An important point we'd like to make about the Better Sweater 1/4 Zip is that it has a slim fit, which could be why you were experiencing tightness in the shoulder area. All of our products have either a form-fitting, slim, regular or relaxed fit. You can check on the fit of an item by going to it's product page and looking below the size range options. Since you're looking for something with a close-to-body fit that's not restricting, we'd recommend a fleece with a regular fit such as our [Women's Lightweight Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover ](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-synchilla-lightweight-fleece-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25455.html?dwvar_25455_color=OLTP&cgid=root).

February 10, 2022

Cute but odd fitting

I first purchased a large for extra room, Im normally a medium. The large was too baggy looking so I exchanged for a medium which was way to constricted feeling. Disappointed I really like this sweater but just didnt work out for me.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2022

Hey Linda, thanks for the review. Our Better Sweaters typically have a slim fit, so they're not really intended to sit looser on the body. If you're looking for something you can comfortably size up in, we recommend the [Women's Micro D 1/4-Zip Fleece](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-micro-d-quarter-zip-fleece/26278.html?dwvar_26278_color=CUBL&cgid=root) since it has a regular fit. You can check the fit on any item by going to it's product page and looking underneath the size range options.

February 5, 2022

All around perfection

From the over the top material quality to the great design and fit......this is my new favorite go to sweater....I just love it!

February 3, 2022

Great sweater

I order a large even though I normally wear mediums. I have found that after the first wash the sweater is a little smaller and I like a loose fit sweater. I love this sweater and I would like to see more light colors.

February 2, 2022

Warm and comfortable

I own three of these 1/4 zip sweaters and I love them for all outdoor sports. Very warm and comfortable. Fits great under a nano puff.

February 2, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Fit is true to size - but fitted. Very comfortable- kept me warm on a 5 degree cold day. Highly recommended !

February 1, 2022

Very warm and light

This jacket is so warm, its perfect for work and walking my dogs, looks great with everything because of the neutral gray color, not bulky and the arm pocket is a nice bonus, not uncomfortable under tank tops or other long sleeves, I would recommend getting a size slightly larger if youre on the fence about it, I can fit into small and medium but I... Read More went with the medium size because I prefer jackets to be not as tight fitting. Great purchase, high quality and I know it will last me years.

February 1, 2022

Awesome!

This is a great quarter zip. I sized up because the other one felt a little short but now it fits perfectly. Would buy again!

January 31, 2022

Inconvenient

Really disappointed that theres no hand pockets. For the price of the item, I would expect there to be more than just a small pocket on the sleeve that holds nothing. Its a warm enough sweatshirt to wear when its really cold, but I have no where to put my hands or throw my phone or keys if Im running errands.

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2022

We're sorry to hear that you've been disappointed by the lack of pockets in this pullover, Hannah! We'll be happy to help you return it for one of our many [fleece tops](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece) that have handwarmer pockets.

January 30, 2022

Exceptionally warm for a sweater.

This sweater is lighter, less bulky than a sweatshirt and warmer than a sweater.

January 30, 2022

Soft, warm, comfortable: perfect

I bought this sweater for all day wear at work. I am all day in/out of my construction site office. I needed something comfortable, warm and stylish. This hit all the marks. Extremely happy with the purchase. Patagonia quality is the best.

January 30, 2022

BEST SWEATER EVER!

I had always wanted the Better Sweater but, never really had the extra money to buy a new "sweater". I wish I had done it before! This is the WARMEST SWEATER EVER! I bought a second one recently! I absolutely LOVE it!

January 29, 2022

Patagonia fan

Love this pattern but usually wear medium and found the medium very tight. Got the large (which Ill keep) but its a bit to big.

January 29, 2022

Be careful on sizing

I ordered this in black in a medium. I am 5 feet 7 inches and 145 pounds. Love it. I then ordered the cream/camel in a medium. Way too tight. Ordered it in a large and a bit big but good enough. Sizing is sketchy from one color to the next.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on this "slim" fit Better Sweater fleece. We're sorry to hear that the second color fit differently than the first, as it sounds like there may have been a difference in the batches or season of the product. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to return or exchange it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 28, 2022

Christmas Gift Exchange

I ordered this for my daughter for Christmas. It was a bit small, so I exchanged it for a Large. That size fits perfectly. The return process could not have been easier - it took me about 5 minutes to fill out the forms and process the exchange. I mailed the product back with the label and had the new size within 7 days - which considering the curr... Read Moreent world situation - I was amazed! I love Patagonia and they never fail to impress me with their customer service. Thank you!

January 27, 2022

It is super warm

I love my Patagonia sweaters!!! They are comfortable and warm. I wish you would make more of a variety of brighter colors. Please dont get rid of this style!!!!

January 25, 2022

Versatile piece!

Love this quarter zip! Comfortable for every day wear and warm enough to wear outdoors. Form fitted but not too tight to wear with a long sleeve shirt underneath. Perfect for layering under a vest or coat for when its colder.

January 24, 2022

LOVE AFFAIR

I owned a quarter zip sweater that was a hand me down from my daughter. I loved it and wore it often to walk my dog along the river in the bosque. It always seems to be the correct weight. My husband knew how much I wore and enjoyed wearing it. He encouraged me to order another to have a spare. I ordered another in a very different color and now am... Read More enjoying two great options! Knowing how durable your products are I wasnt certain I needed two, but it makes-me smile each day as I make my decision. Thanks

January 24, 2022

Not comfortable or well sized

This feels like wearing heavy curtains that do not stretch or move with your body at all. It was too small in the size I normally wear (S) and so I exchanged it for a M, but it still isn't comfortable and doesn't have any stretch to it. Better sweaters in general don't seem to have much stretch, but this was even worse than the other... Read More ones I have. And it makes it difficult to take it off after wearing. I would not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
January 26, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece . We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

January 24, 2022

Comfortable, stylish & lasts FOREVER- timeless style!!!

I have to dress professionally for my job but my go to style for down time is Patagonia! I love the philosophy behind this brand and the quality of everything I have purchased over several years! Patagonia never wear out or goes out of style. Im still wearing better sweater jackets that I have had for around 10 years. They still look like new and a... Read Morere relative to todays style. I add to my collection each fall and winter season and look for to supporting this brand for many years to come!!!

January 24, 2022

Very comfortable and looks great.

We recently moved to Northern CA and have had to rethink our wardrobe. We are in love with everything Patagonia. Great products with a great message.

January 22, 2022

Very comfortable!

Excellent quality and very warm

January 19, 2022

wear all the time

I have been wearing my new Better Sweater almost constantly since I got it because its versatility. It feels good to wear around the house. I looks professional to wear on my online meetings (as a hiking guide). It is warm and flexible to wear on my daily Utah canyon land winter hikes. The one drawback to my other fleeces is that it packs more bulk... Read Morey so I may not bring it on my hiking tours. I prefer simpler fleeces that are more flexible for trips.

January 17, 2022

Comfortable and warm

Sweater is comfortable and warm. Runs small. Great for casual wear and dressy occasions.

January 16, 2022

Super Warm

I love the quality of this piece. Its warm and fits just right. I have to stop myself from wearing it so much.

January 16, 2022

Exactly what I was looking for

I wanted a comfy, stylish black pullover and this sweater fit the bill, exactly what I was looking for.

January 15, 2022

Great product, runs small

Had to exchange due to size, the process was very easy love the item. Would recommend this product.

January 13, 2022

Better Sweater - womans

I always love Patagonia clothing but was disappointed in this and returned it. I usually wear a small or medium but this medium was snug...didn't feel comfy

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hey Christine, thanks for the review. It's worth noting that the Better Sweater has a slim fit, which could be why the medium felt tight for you. If you were looking for a regular or relaxed fit we'd recommend checking out the [Women's Lightweight Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-synchilla-lightweight-fleece-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25455.html?dwvar_25455_color=CBAP&cgid=root).

January 13, 2022

Great Sweater, Super Warm

My wife loved the sweater. The "S" was way too tight. The medium was a much better fit.

January 12, 2022

Love it BUT

Bought 2, black and birch in Large. Black fits great but it's piling already. Birch fits tight in the armpits, drives me crazy! Warm-yes, love-yes, but please leave more room under the armpit! I'm a petite, large busted (39") woman. This is the only pc of clothing I own with this issue. I've got many other patagonia items and ot... Read Moreher brands. Thinking of buying another because I love it so much and selling the one that's the pits! Hahaha.. lame

January 10, 2022

Sleeves to long

I have several of these and they fit fine but the sleeves are to long on this purchase.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2022

Thank you for sharing this, Jocelyn. We're sorry to hear the sleeves for the 1/4 Zip you received are too long for you. Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything doesn't work for you.

January 9, 2022

Good quality sweater

I love the quality of this 'fleecy' sweater. I would say it does run a bit small especially if you are of a curvy build or if you want to wear a layer underneath it. It's warm though and the color is a nice neutral (pelican). Is works well worn under a vest or by itself and also launders nicely.

January 8, 2022

too small

I purchased a size xs for my wife; she is under 5' and 95 lb. It was so tight I had to help her try it on on Christmas morning. It was too small for a very small woman like her. We had to reorder at REI and get her a small. The small fits her torso, but the sleeves are several inchers too long.

January 5, 2022

Welcomed gift

My daughter was very pleased with the gift. Has one already and wanted another color.

January 1, 2022

Love this sweater!

I was skeptical about a polyester sweater but the knit is very sturdy. I usually wear a fleece jacket in the house but this sweater is very warm. Love the color too

January 1, 2022

Great

Love this top

January 1, 2022

A little warm

Runs a little small, my size is usually a small but I went for a medium wanting it to fit a little loose but it ended up fitting a bit tight

December 31, 2021

Super Warm

This top ran a little small, had to return 2 tops that were different sizes. I notified Patagonia and instantly they sent me a label to return them. I purchased another in a larger size but they didn't have the second so they put me on the list when it comes in. I mailed the original order back on a Thursday and on Friday I got notification my... Read More account had been refunded. I don't think you could ask for better service. I would definitely recommend this company!!!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches