Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

Write Your Review

4.74 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 100 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.74
True To Size
March 14, 2020

Perfect fit, not too snuggly! RECOMMEND

I usually don't wear clothes that are too snuggly in general and after reading the reviews that this is a slim-fit, I opted for a S size and it's perfect! It doesn't look slim, but it's fine because I can layer underneath! The material is great and perfect wear for most occasions!

February 25, 2020

One of my favorite Patagonia tops!

This top is probably one of Patagonia's most popular tops and has been reviewed widely. I'm 5'3, 110lbs and of petite frame and the XS is pretty fitted on me. So if you're after a roomier fit, maybe size up although I haven't tried the S. It's held up well over several washes and I don't use put it in the dryer fo... Read Morer fear it might shrink. Length and sleeve length is perfect for my frame. Would purchase it again for sure!

February 20, 2020

Couldn’t be happier.

Beautiful, quality product. I’m roughly 120 lbs and ordered a small. I probably could’ve ordered a xs and been fine with the size but the small allows me to wear layers underneath.

February 14, 2020

Comfortable

I am 5'2 and 112lbs, I purchased a size XS and it fits great! The sleeves fit my arm perfectly and in the waist area has some room for a under shirt. It is very comfortable and cozy. The color Birch White is very nice and settle, its a grayish colored color. I can see why it is expensive, the material feel very strong and premium. Overall, I r... Read Moreeally like the sweater. Great to wear alone and underneath a jacket during cold winters!

January 30, 2020

Nice Sweater

This sweater keeps me nice and warm, even when it is freezing cold outside. The quality is amazing! However, this sweater runs a bit small and I had to buy a larger size. Even though I sized up, it feels very tight and uncomfortable when I wear a long-sleeved shirt underneath.

January 21, 2020

Patagonia Better Sweater

Love it! Bought one in a womens XS (runs a little small) and one mens medium.

January 19, 2020

I own 7 of them now

I wear these to to the office almost everyday. I just got back from wearing one on a snowshoe trip in 32 degree weather. I took off my packable jacket and wore better sweater (Tomato color) with two layers under it. Worked perfect for preventing sweating and I was cozy warm. The bright tomato color is excellent for safety while snowshoeing.

January 19, 2020

Every hair I’ve ever shed is forever attached to this quarter zip

I’m not even like a crazy shedder, just an average girl with average length and thickness of hair. This just has THAT material that literally everything attaches to. Before putting it on, I take 5ish minutes just picking my hair off of it because I got that oyster color one and my brown hair is very noticeable. That’s kinda my only problem, but it’... Read Mores just such a downside for me that it ruins the entire (expensive) product.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Katie! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with they way your sweater easily attracts hair and lint. If this issue continues and you remain unsatisfied, please feel free to return your sweater back to us under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). Thanks so much for your feedback.

January 13, 2020

The Better Sweater is my

The Better Sweater is my all-time favorite warm piece of clothing. I own a few, my oldest being over 12 years old and still in great condition despite my lifestyle and use of it.

January 6, 2020

Excellent sweater

Fast shipping, great product. My daughter is so in love with this sweater.

January 6, 2020

Sweater

They don’t call it better sweater for noth. Love the knit fabric very soft not scratching. Wash is well and does not loose its shape. So good I bought another.

January 6, 2020

best pullover i've ever had

this is the first patagonia item i've ever had, and i absolutely love it! the pullover is so warm and comfy when it's cold outside, and looks really nice when i wear it. i always get compliments when i wear it out. i mostly wear it in more casual settings or at work, so i haven't tried it while hiking outside, but i imagine it would ... Read Morebe really great to have for that.

January 5, 2020

Super warm and great fit!

This is my new go-to pullover for Winter. Great quality, very warm, nice fit too. I like supporting a company with such environmentally conscious practices.

January 2, 2020

i love this

i love this fleece it is so comfy and a basically live in it. it has great colors and i recommend the birch white one the color goes with everything.

January 2, 2020

Great for hanging out being active.

This is a great layer. Warm, comfy and practical. I usually get a women's medium in Patagonia jackets thinking I'll layer up underneath. I purchased a small in the better sweater 1/4 zip, T underneath and it fits me well. I do wish the sleeves were a touch longer and had thumb holes. Also would like a zipper garage for the neck zip .

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2020

Hi Nicky, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We rely on feedback like this to make improvements for future season so it's truly appreciate. We've passed this along to our design crew!

January 1, 2020

Better Sweater

Love..Love...

December 31, 2019

Great product. Fits perfectly.

Great product. Fits perfectly.

December 31, 2019

Love this pullover!

Love this pullover. Super warm for cooler days. Great color selection. Bought one as a gift and then had to buy one for myself too!

December 31, 2019

Soft sand comfy

Soft sand comfy

December 30, 2019

Like a box

No tapered fit for waistline Just a chunky box

December 30, 2019

Quality and Style

I love Patagonia. No finer product on the market. Great fit made with quality materials.

December 30, 2019

Warm, comfortable, and looks great.

Warm, comfortable, and looks great.

December 30, 2019

Very cozy!

Bought this in green, it is awesome- great color, falls at just the right spot on me!

December 29, 2019

So comfy and keeps you

So comfy and keeps you warm!

December 29, 2019

Great color and snug fit

Great color and snug fit

December 29, 2019

Love everything about this pullover.

Love everything about this pullover.

December 28, 2019

Very nice!!

Very nice!!

December 28, 2019

Want every color

Super comfy and warm. Love.

December 28, 2019

Love this!

Bought this for my daughter. Her fourth one. She loves them!

December 28, 2019

So Warm

I love this sweater so much. It is incredibly soft and insanely warm, and I can’t wait to wear it for many adventures to come!

December 28, 2019

Great color, design, and functions

Great color, design, and functions wonderfully! Loved it

December 28, 2019

Very suburban chic. Love.

Very suburban chic. Love.

December 27, 2019

Ws Better Sweater

Gave this item to my daughter for a gift . I have purchased Patagonia for her for around 10 years . She loved the Better Sweater in black. This item shipped very quickly to me in a very safe package. Thanks for the exceptional quality.

December 27, 2019

Fast delivery

Fast delivery

December 26, 2019

Sweater

I bought it for my daughter for Christmas. She already has one in a different color. She loves it and wanted it in another color.

December 26, 2019

Great

This sweater is warmer than I thought with such a thin layer. My work doesn't require suit, so this makes a perfect work outfit to wear. I am 5"3 and this fits great with 2 layers inside.

December 25, 2019

We Better 1/4 zip sweater

Perfect! I read reviews that said they run a bit small. Normally would order a small for my daughter, ordered a medium and it looks perfect. She loves it!

December 25, 2019

Favorite future Mother in law

Gave this pullover to my soon to be daughter in law and she loved it. She actually wore it Christmas Day at our family get together. She was so happy and so was I.. Thank you

December 25, 2019

New Favorite Sweater

So comfortable and cute!

December 25, 2019

New favorite

Better sweater in Piki Green is gorgeous color.

December 23, 2019

Efficient and post-purchase adjustment

Very positive experience. Especially given the fact that after the purchase I realized had a 15% coupon which Patagonia kindly agreed to allow me to use.

December 22, 2019

Great sweater

Great sweater

December 22, 2019

Sizing is way too small

My daughter wears an adult small in clothing and this was ridiculously tight and short on her. We went to a store to find another and she finally fit a large. Still did not purchase because it was just not attractive in the end.

December 22, 2019

Great!

Great sweater - warm, soft, comfortable, casual but still looks nice. Excellent customer service too!

December 21, 2019

Love it!!

Love it!!

December 21, 2019

1/4 zip women’s sweater

Love the sweater and would give it a 5 but it seemed to run small. Had to buy both small and medium because it is a gift for my granddaughter. Will have to return one after Christmas. It is a well made sweater and the neutral color she azures is very pretty. We will see which one fits her better snd I will update the review after Christmas. Custome... Read Morer service so far has been super.

December 19, 2019

Beautiful Sweater!

Bought this for our boss, she loved it! Thank you! :)

December 18, 2019

given as gift and she

given as gift and she liked very much & fit well

December 16, 2019

Got this for my

Got this for my girlfriend and she loves it

December 13, 2019

love it. my mom wants

love it. my mom wants one now

December 13, 2019

The sweater didn’t fit like

The sweater didn’t fit like it looks like it should. It is uncomfortable and not well fitted

December 12, 2019

great sweater

love the sweater and the quick shipment

December 11, 2019

Perfect

Cozy, comfy, classic. Love the better sweater!

December 7, 2019

Excellent customer service. Had to

Excellent customer service. Had to exchange for size and it was an easy process.

December 4, 2019

Love it!

Fits true to size and I love how warm it keeps me. The light blue one is holding up fine however the black one has so much lint. It is a little sad that areas like under the arms are linting.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Kat, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the 1/4 Zip. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

My girlfriend is obsessed with it!

It has become my girlfriend's daily go-to outdoor sweater. Fits her perfectly, so soft and warm, and lightweight too. The blue also goes with everything she wears!

December 1, 2019

Layering sweater

I love this casual sweater to layer with other clothes

December 1, 2019

Couldn’t ask for a better

Couldn’t ask for a better pull over

November 30, 2019

Warm and comfortable

Wanted a vest that could be worn indoors and keep your core warm and this vest does the trick. A little 'fluffier' than I expected, but it is nice.

November 28, 2019

Love it!

I wish I could wear this everyday!

November 28, 2019

I love them! Patagonia makes

I love them! Patagonia makes a great product always!

November 27, 2019

Great product and customer service

Great product and customer service along with it. Love the colors this season!!

November 27, 2019

so warm

Love my better sweat. packs so much warmth. only con is arms run on the skinny side.

November 25, 2019

Bought for casual wear. Love

Bought for casual wear. Love the fit.

November 20, 2019

Great addition for the chilly weather

Fit is true to size, allowing for layering under and over. This is a soft, warm sweater that can be worn alone or sandwiched for added warmth. Nice fall colors, although I'm sure this will be worn in all seasons.

November 20, 2019

Great quality product.

Great quality product.

November 13, 2019

Great product

Great product

November 13, 2019

Love

Fits great and looks professional. It is a nice warm layer. Also I have an iPhone XS Max and I surprisingly can squeeze it in the arm pocket if desired.

November 12, 2019

Great product

Great product

November 12, 2019

good. but for me not great.

I can see why lots of people love this. but not sure its great for me. It feels a little bulky. And in my opinion, something that bulky should have pockets! I keep looking for a place to put my hands. I like the color. but probably wouldn't get it again.

November 10, 2019

Love the style and way

Love the style and way it fits!

November 9, 2019

Warm and cozy

Classic warm sweater... often too warm. I like my older one better, with the same fabric collar lining instead of contrast fabric. As all my Patagonia gear, it is a bit tight through the shoulders.

November 8, 2019

Incredible fit and feel!

Incredible fit and feel!

November 8, 2019

Favorite Sweater!

I love this sweater. It's quickly become my favorite. I advise getting a size larger then you typically wear as it's a slim fitting one.

November 7, 2019

Love it!

It's so warm, but not too warm. It's soft and cozy, I would buy all of these sweaters up if I could!

November 6, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 6, 2019

Better sweater

I love this sweater!

November 6, 2019

Warmth for your winter

I love these "sweaters"! My friend had one last year and I bought 2! And I bought 2 more this year! I am 5'5" and 115 and wear a medium, although I like things with a little room. I have washed them numerous times and they are still my favorite sweaters! I live in NH and we had a really cold winter in 2018 and I wore my first 2 ... Read Moresweaters all winter long!

November 5, 2019

Dressy and warm

I live this so much I bought a new color this year!

November 5, 2019

Favorite piece

I love the 1/4 zip, its comfy, functional, and holds up well after washing. Would suggesting sizing up for this style.

November 5, 2019

So warm!

So warm!

November 5, 2019

Love it!

This is one of my favorite sweaters. It’s soft and warm. I love it!

November 5, 2019

From the city to the mountains

Warm, cozy, easy to move in, and a flattering fit. This is a versatile sweater that I've worn relaxing at home, to casual work meetings, and on outdoor adventures.

November 2, 2019

Sizes right?

I ordered a small since that what is what my mom always wears. She told me to keep it because it’s way too small for her. She can barely get it over her head. 😢

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Hi Mary! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the sizing trouble. The Better Sweater 1/4 Zip is a slim fit so that could be causing the discrepancy. Nevertheless, you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it for a medium!

November 1, 2019

I've got 7 of them

I love them so much I have seven. Two are the same color because I lost track. I think I wear one everyday to work. My office is cold and this is warm. It always looks spiffy.

October 31, 2019

Perfect!

The quality is great, the fabric is so soft and looks durable. I'm always between two sizes ; x-small and small. For a less adjusted and a more versatile look I opted for the small with this model. The shape of this fleece is relaxed but not too loose, it perfectly fit under my coat when I need multiple layers. 5'2 ", 120 lbs, 32D,... Read More size small is the perfect option for me.

October 31, 2019

Great item

Nice quality, fast shipping.

October 28, 2019

I live in this

This is my ideal quarter zip--I basically live in it anytime it's below 60 degrees. Honestly my plan right now is to buy one per paycheck until I have every color. Also, just FYI: I'm 5'1 and 95-ish pounds, pretty slim build but with a 36D chest and I wear the XXS and it fits well.

October 28, 2019

1/4 zip better sweater

Just right for fall morning walks under a rain trench jacket if needed

October 26, 2019

Perfect

Great sweater. This sweater is thick but the cut makes it not bulky. It will keep you warm without looking like a linebacker. Love.

October 22, 2019

Love this sweater

I absolutely love this sweater. It is WARM and the fit is amazing--true size medium. Because of the fit and design, I'm comfortable, casual, but still a tad dressy. Well done!

October 21, 2019

1/4 zip

Fits well and looks good..sleeves were at a minimum, could be longer.

October 15, 2019

Nothing better than a better sweater

Always love having a better sweater around for layering. Fall just came and it is so nice to throw on a layer that is warm, looks attractive, and is very comfortable. Expect the fit to be a form fitting fit (not your typical sweatshirt looseness).

October 13, 2019

I purchased the full zip

I purchased the full zip as well and this one fits a little differently. I love the knit where it keeps me warm in most conditions besides cold windy days. Also it gives a nice casual fitted look. I may try the next size up because it's a bit tight on the arms for me.

October 13, 2019

Great, warm sweater!

This so far is my favorite piece I've purchased from Patagonia. Its warm and functional. If you're on the fence, buy it. You won't be disappointed!

October 9, 2019

Would Recommend

I really like this zip fleece. It's very comfortable on the inside and is made of good material. I will say it does run a little small, so it is a true Slim Fit as advertised. I actually received this fleece for Christmas last year and I haven't really been able to wear it because it is a little small. So I called and Patagonia agreed to ... Read Moreexchange it. I thought that was great customer service and I really appreciate the company for being willing to exchange it. I have muscular shoulders so one size up is good for me and if you're like me then that may be helpful for you too.

October 7, 2019

Cute and functional

Love the color of this fleece. It is extremely cute to wear around town and yet just as fitting out camping and hiking. As the colder months role around I can already tell this is going to become a staple in my wardrobe.

September 30, 2019

Staple Piece

I love the better sweaters they are great for working in cold weather with out being too bulky. Very easy to hike around in. I wear mine to work wear I hike in the forest almost daily.

September 24, 2019

Not a better sweater

This “sweater” is not what I expected. It wrinkles, is too heavy and is made from very unattractive fabric. If I hadn’t taken the tag off of it you’d be getting it back.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

August 29, 2019

Ready for fall

Love the new colors so I had to get one! This fits like a glove that has been worn in, but looks sparkling new , “ the best of both worlds!!! A must get for anyone’s fall/winter wardrobe.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches