Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 277 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.6/5
True To Size
January 25, 2022

Versatile piece!

Love this quarter zip! Comfortable for every day wear and warm enough to wear outdoors. Form fitted but not too tight to wear with a long sleeve shirt underneath. Perfect for layering under a vest or coat for when its colder.

January 24, 2022

LOVE AFFAIR

I owned a quarter zip sweater that was a hand me down from my daughter. I loved it and wore it often to walk my dog along the river in the bosque. It always seems to be the correct weight. My husband knew how much I wore and enjoyed wearing it. He encouraged me to order another to have a spare. I ordered another in a very different color and now am... Read More enjoying two great options! Knowing how durable your products are I wasnt certain I needed two, but it makes-me smile each day as I make my decision. Thanks

January 24, 2022

Comfortable, stylish & lasts FOREVER- timeless style!!!

I have to dress professionally for my job but my go to style for down time is Patagonia! I love the philosophy behind this brand and the quality of everything I have purchased over several years! Patagonia never wear out or goes out of style. Im still wearing better sweater jackets that I have had for around 10 years. They still look like new and a... Read Morere relative to todays style. I add to my collection each fall and winter season and look for to supporting this brand for many years to come!!!

January 24, 2022

Very comfortable and looks great.

We recently moved to Northern CA and have had to rethink our wardrobe. We are in love with everything Patagonia. Great products with a great message.

January 22, 2022

Very comfortable!

Excellent quality and very warm

January 19, 2022

wear all the time

I have been wearing my new Better Sweater almost constantly since I got it because its versatility. It feels good to wear around the house. I looks professional to wear on my online meetings (as a hiking guide). It is warm and flexible to wear on my daily Utah canyon land winter hikes. The one drawback to my other fleeces is that it packs more bulk... Read Morey so I may not bring it on my hiking tours. I prefer simpler fleeces that are more flexible for trips.

January 17, 2022

Comfortable and warm

Sweater is comfortable and warm. Runs small. Great for casual wear and dressy occasions.

January 16, 2022

Super Warm

I love the quality of this piece. Its warm and fits just right. I have to stop myself from wearing it so much.

January 16, 2022

Exactly what I was looking for

I wanted a comfy, stylish black pullover and this sweater fit the bill, exactly what I was looking for.

January 15, 2022

Great product, runs small

Had to exchange due to size, the process was very easy love the item. Would recommend this product.

January 13, 2022

Better Sweater - womans

I always love Patagonia clothing but was disappointed in this and returned it. I usually wear a small or medium but this medium was snug...didn't feel comfy

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hey Christine, thanks for the review. It's worth noting that the Better Sweater has a slim fit, which could be why the medium felt tight for you. If you were looking for a regular or relaxed fit we'd recommend checking out the [Women's Lightweight Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-synchilla-lightweight-fleece-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25455.html?dwvar_25455_color=CBAP&cgid=root).

January 13, 2022

Great Sweater, Super Warm

My wife loved the sweater. The "S" was way too tight. The medium was a much better fit.

January 12, 2022

Love it BUT

Bought 2, black and birch in Large. Black fits great but it's piling already. Birch fits tight in the armpits, drives me crazy! Warm-yes, love-yes, but please leave more room under the armpit! I'm a petite, large busted (39") woman. This is the only pc of clothing I own with this issue. I've got many other patagonia items and ot... Read Moreher brands. Thinking of buying another because I love it so much and selling the one that's the pits! Hahaha.. lame

January 10, 2022

Sleeves to long

I have several of these and they fit fine but the sleeves are to long on this purchase.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2022

Thank you for sharing this, Jocelyn. We're sorry to hear the sleeves for the 1/4 Zip you received are too long for you. Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything doesn't work for you.

January 9, 2022

Good quality sweater

I love the quality of this 'fleecy' sweater. I would say it does run a bit small especially if you are of a curvy build or if you want to wear a layer underneath it. It's warm though and the color is a nice neutral (pelican). Is works well worn under a vest or by itself and also launders nicely.

January 8, 2022

too small

I purchased a size xs for my wife; she is under 5' and 95 lb. It was so tight I had to help her try it on on Christmas morning. It was too small for a very small woman like her. We had to reorder at REI and get her a small. The small fits her torso, but the sleeves are several inchers too long.

January 5, 2022

Welcomed gift

My daughter was very pleased with the gift. Has one already and wanted another color.

January 1, 2022

Love this sweater!

I was skeptical about a polyester sweater but the knit is very sturdy. I usually wear a fleece jacket in the house but this sweater is very warm. Love the color too

January 1, 2022

Great

Love this top

January 1, 2022

A little warm

Runs a little small, my size is usually a small but I went for a medium wanting it to fit a little loose but it ended up fitting a bit tight

December 31, 2021

Super Warm

This top ran a little small, had to return 2 tops that were different sizes. I notified Patagonia and instantly they sent me a label to return them. I purchased another in a larger size but they didn't have the second so they put me on the list when it comes in. I mailed the original order back on a Thursday and on Friday I got notification my... Read More account had been refunded. I don't think you could ask for better service. I would definitely recommend this company!!!!

December 31, 2021

Good defense against cold & wind

Got the Medium (5'6" & 140) and was too snug. Large is perfect and I wear a layer under. This is breathable and also like the collar- - good height and doesn't rub. Well made product & has the Patagonia guarantee which is always a bonus.

December 30, 2021

Sleeves too short

I absolutely love this sweater, only downside it that the sleeves are too short. I am a tall woman and have long arms so I am a little sad it does not fit. I will follow up with customer service to see if I cant swap out my items.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2022

We're sorry to hear the proportions of this Better Sweater weren't quite right for you. We hope you can get some great recommendations and measurements from our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 30, 2021

Runs Small

The fit is very small. I am a true medium in high quality clothing. The construction is perfect and built to last. Too much trouble and time to return.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2022

Hi Jacqueline, we're so sorry to hear about the fit issue. You're more than welcome to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) or exchange at your convenience.

December 29, 2021

Warm and Festive

I gave this sweater as a gift. The recipient was very pleased with the softness of the fabric and the seasonal color, red.

December 29, 2021

Good Product

I got this for my fiance. Her only complaint was that there were no pockets besides the one on the sleeve. She still loved it. Soft, warm, and looks great.

December 28, 2021

Comfy

Love this sweater! Could wear everyday!

December 28, 2021

Super warm

comfortable and good for everyday wear

December 27, 2021

Grey Better Sweater 1/4 zip

This item was what my 17 year-old daughter wanted for her birthday. She chose this particular color in order to wear it to school (other acceptable colors were out of stock). We werent sure she would like the pattern on the grey (as she is younger) but it is beautiful and actually grows on you. After reading many reviews, we decided to order a medi... Read Moreum hoping it would not be too big - she would normally wear an XS or a small depending on the fit. The medium works with very little room for anything under it. If Mississippi weather calls for it, she can layer over it. So, yes, I agree with many of the other reviewers, it is VERY important to size up at least one size. Overall, we are happy.

December 27, 2021

Very comfortable, just right for winter

The whole family has some version of this sweater. Cozy for inside winter wear and great for layering outside.

December 27, 2021

Warm & comfortable

Just a very good sweater

December 26, 2021

VERY Nice and warm~!!

This was a gift for my DIL~ Seemed nice and warm and very cozy~ Thanks so much~ Great gift~

December 20, 2021

Great quality but too small

I decided to buy an XS based on the size chart. I am 54 and 120lbs and usually am between an XS-S depending on the brand. I kept checking other reviews for sizing help, but most of them were for L or XL products. I am going to have to return the product unfortunately because it is far too small. I guess I shouldve kept in mind that I would likely b... Read Moree wearing other layers underneath it. I wanted to exchange for a S but my mom found out the price and flipped. Maybe Ill buy it once I graduate from PA school and make big bucks myself.

December 19, 2021

Beautiful color and snuggly warm

I purchase the green pullover for myself and am so happy with this sweater. Its soft enough inside to wear without an undershirt. This is so warm and keeps the cold air away from my body. I especially like the neck as it keeps me warm when walking in cold climates. I plan to wear this when I snowboard this winter, too.

December 15, 2021

Already pilling

Ive only had the sweater for about 2 months and have only worn it a handful of times and mine is already pilling everywhere, especially along the front of the sweater. I've tried getting them off multiple times but they keep coming back. Such a disappointment considering how expensive it is

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2021

Hey Pooja, we're so sorry to hear this. We also expect longer wear out of our gear. We've emailed you to see if you'd like to send the sweater back for warranty evaluation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! If you'd like to hold onto it, and attempt to remove the pilling, that is an option as well. We do have this [handy guide](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2aFbPb6Rn8o) that's super helpful!

December 13, 2021

1/4 zip

Ordered a medium, which I wear in most things but needed to up size for a large. The exchange process was VERY easy, and relatively quick. Overall very happy

December 13, 2021

Will purchase in other colors

Love the timeless style this sweater has, its incredibly warm as well!

December 12, 2021

Womens better sweater 1/4 zip

Very warm, true to fit. Didnt have pockets. Returned because I have this color already.

December 4, 2021

Super comfortable

I bought this sweater for my girlfriend and she loves it. She says it super comfortable and warm. Fit is excellent true to size.

December 2, 2021

perfect layering piece

this has been a staple for me this winter! keeps me warm but not too warm. seems to hold up in the wash. would recommend!

December 1, 2021

Was my go to

I am a small build 5'7" 128 lb female. I do not understand why the medium is too small and the large is too long? Plus.. I wear a small in the down sweater. (?) I am no longer able to purchase anything on line from Patagonia because of the size differences-unfortunately I do not live close to a retail Patagonia, what to do.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hello Lauren, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry the sizing did not work out on the pullover. It appears that you were able to sort out the return with Customer Service. If you are interested in a different style in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us for the garment measurements for reference.

November 30, 2021

Third Sweater

I have two 1/4 zip sweaters and one full zip sweater. They are an easy go-to for working at home, and I dont have to change to go ride my horse. My oldest sweater, probably about 6 years old, is pilling a bit in the front. The only thing I can think of to improve the garment is to add a lower pocket on the 1/4 zip. I dont find the sleeve pocket tha... Read Moret convenient.

November 17, 2021

Great color and very warm

Easy transaction and fast shipping.

November 16, 2021

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Not only does it look wicked sharp, (I am constantly receiving compliments whenever I wear it), it is also super warm. Its light weight so its perfect to use as a top layer and fits fine in a pack. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

November 16, 2021

Sleeves are way too short

This is exactly what I was looking for as far as style, quality and warmth. Unfortunately Patagonia does not serve the tall community. I am a taller woman with longer arms. This fleece sweatshirt was WAY too short in the sleeves. Patagonia does not offer tall sizes in their fleece tops so I will be returning. I hope in the near future Patagonia wil... Read Morel also cater to their tall customers. It's a huge disappointment that it's 2021 and not all stores offer sizes to fit every body type comfortably. If/when Patagonia adds tall sizes, I would most definitely purchase this fleece sweatshirt.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hey Tashney, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Better Sweater 1/4 Zip. We're sorry to hear that the sleeves were too short for comfort on this particular fleece. We know we have a long way to go before we are truly size inclusive, and it's something our team has actively been working on improving. It does take a couple years for patterns to be made and put into distribution, so we appreciate your patience as we work on having more offerings. In the meantime, we'd be happy to provide measurements. With some searching, we've found that the [Women's Micro D 1/4-Zip Fleece](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-micro-d-quarter-zip-fleece/26278.html?dwvar_26278_color=NENA&cgid=root) has sleeves that are longer by about half an inch.

November 14, 2021

Very warm and stylish

I returned this sweater three times because the sizing is so off. Your customer service is absolutely exceptional but I am surprised at your sizing. I will continue to buy products from you.

November 10, 2021

Super cozy and professional yet stylish

I like the material and it definitely keeps me warm. The packing could have been more discreet and tougher. Im usually a size small and I order the medium to size up and I wish I would have bought a large. Its definitely professional in my setting and I cant wait to purchase another one in a different color.

November 9, 2021

Does not run true to size

Have one of these already and they did run small. Reviews said they ran small and when I checked sizing I decided to go with extra-large instead of large. I am trying to wash it in hot water and dried in a hot dryer it is excessively large and has change since when I got the other one and does not match the reviews anymore.I otherwise love these sw... Read Moreeaters it is disappointing that you have changed your format and sizing.

November 9, 2021

Well made runs small

I am usually a medium and got a large because of the reviews. The large fits comfortably on the abdomen but too tight on the arms. I also wouldnt expect something thats recycled to be this pricey

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2021

Hey Adriana, thank you for the review on the Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece. Please note, you're always welcome to reach out for measurements if you're unsure on what size to purchase. We checked around with other fleece options and it looks like our [Women's Micro D 1/4-Zip Fleece](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-micro-d-quarter-zip-fleece/26278.html?dwvar_26278_color=NENA&cgid=root) is a similar style but will be slightly roomier in the sleeves, check it out!

November 1, 2021

Perfect Fleece

I absolutely love Patagonia! True to size, lightweight, super warm without feeling suffocated. I purchased the 1/4 zip in Dark Borealis Green & I get so many compliments on the color.

October 31, 2021

looks sharp

great quality, looks nice

October 21, 2021

Super warm

Fits perfect, extremely warm and great color.

October 19, 2021

Great jacket for layering

I have now purchased four of these. They fit me perfectly in a size small - but I suspect that they are smaller than a typical small - so I'd suggest sizing up. They are great to layer, but also good when you just need something extra before it gets really cold. I am in PA and wear them both in May and September without any other jacket and th... Read Moreen in between those two months with more layers.

October 8, 2021

Soft and cozy

Love this sweater. Will be my go to for hanging out.

October 8, 2021

Love it!

Best sweater ever! I love it, super cozy, lightweight, snug fit

October 2, 2021

amazing quality and very warm

Initially, I ordered an XL since this sweater has a slim fit and reviews said that it ran small, but I exchanged it for a size large. Patagonia has an easy return/exchange system online, and the exchanged sweater shipped very quickly. Very happy with my first purchase.

September 27, 2021

Great Mid Layer

Love the Better Sweater as an excellent mid layer. It's not bulk, and cozy warm. Color selections are great, suitable for all types. Washes well. Two tiny drawbacks: it's a little short in the torso and could fit just a tad more relaxed at the waist.

September 26, 2021

Quality and Comfort

Loved it so much, I bought it twice!

September 14, 2021

Medium a tad snug/Large too big

I normally wear a medium (5'6"/142 lbs.) but this was just a little too snug. So I returned it and ordered a large but that one was too big. So I returned that one. Some people may like the snug fit, but for me, I like a little room but not a lot. Otherwise the pullover was very nice and a unique color.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Rebecca, the slim fit of the Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece does hug the curves a bit more. We think you might like the regular fit of our Women's Micro D® 1/4-Zip Fleece, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-micro-d-quarter-zip-fleece/26278.html?dwvar_26278_color=DBGR&cgid=root. It's a bit roomier and still has the 1/4-zip style.

September 7, 2021

Gorgeous color!

Love the color and material of this pullover. Definitely fits on the snug side so if youre wanting an oversized look go up a size!

August 31, 2021

Small and short

I really wanted to like this item, but it runs small and short. I know Patagonia products sometimes run this way. I have the sweater vest in the same size and it fits wonderful over layers. I wear small to medium in almost every other brand out there. I am not sure if I could bring myself to purchase a large. Unfortunately it will be returned. I di... Read Mored like the color.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2021

Hey Wesley, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us on the Better Sweater 1/4-Zip Fleece. We're sorry to hear that you faced some difficulties with the sizing. This particular fleece does have a slim fit, so that could be part of the issue. We recommend checking out the [Women's Micro D 1/4-Zip Fleece](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-micro-d-quarter-zip-fleece/26278.html?dwvar_26278_color=DBGR&cgid=root), you might find the regular fit to be more comfortable.

August 14, 2021

Runs Small

I'm always a women's size S. 5'5", 125lbs, 34" chest. However, this jacket feels a bit tight under the armpits. Definitely true to the slim fit category...I would size up next time.

August 12, 2021

Smaller than all my previous jackets? Size up

I own a four year old grey better sweater full zip jacket and 2 better sweater vests, all size small. Both of my micro D quarter zips are also size small as is my nanopuff jacket. Bought the berlin blue (love the color) quarter zip in size small without trying it on. I mean, size small, right? Arms are very tight, especially upper arms. Tight acros... Read Mores bust and shoulders. Torso o.k. I exchanged for a size medium which may be a tad roomy, but I wanted a relaxed fit, not a form fitting squeeze. I'm 5'4 127 pounds 32D bust.

July 30, 2021

Cozy and comfortable

Perfect for cool weather casual situations.

July 23, 2021

Better Sweaters

Love the fit and the soft feel of this sweater. The fit is true to size. No shrinkage with washing and drying. I have Better Sweaters I've had some years and they still hold their shape , Still look and feel great

June 22, 2021

Excelent

Very comfortable and warm. Love it

June 20, 2021

Versatile, comfy, warm

I wanted a sweater I could wear hiking but also for daily casual use. I was debating whether or not to get a small or medium and I am glad I went with a small. Im 59 and about 140ish lbs. Small was perfect. Little snug and slim fitting but I can still comfortably wear a long sleeve underneath. Only downside is that it doesnt have pockets for your h... Read Moreands (it does have a small pocket on the arm).

April 23, 2021

Style with warmth!

I lost weight so I came back to buy this sweater in medium. Ill be back for more!

April 23, 2021

Super warm

The sweater is super warm and true to size!

April 17, 2021

Always living up to the hype!

I absolutely adore Patagonia's better sweater! I am about to purchase my fourth color and I wear them constantly! They are warm, durable, and look great with almost everything. I am 5'2 and weigh around 130, the small fits me well but I recently purchased a medium and really love the extra room... great for layering! I will always recomme... Read Morend these and can't wait to keep adding more colors to the collection!

April 11, 2021

Extremely Warm

Great sweatshirt for the winter or fall, super warm and cute!

April 6, 2021

Great product

After a couple of size tries and great customer service, I have my sweater and love it.

March 31, 2021

Love this sweater

It took a couple of tries to get the right size, but it was worth it. It fits fine, keeps me warm, and is eco friendly. Whats not to like?

March 27, 2021

Nice and warm but build for taller person

I really love Patagonia for their commitment to environmental and social justice. My whole family wears patagonia gear but I keep having trouble fitting in their/ your clothes. The torso is generally too tall for my petite Andean body. I wish Patagonia would have more petite sizes. I love the sweater. It is warm and cozy. I love the color to. It&#x... Read More27;s just the fit that is a little bit off.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hey Paola, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We really appreciate your support and the feedback you provided about fit. We have passed it along to our Design Team who aim to revise and improve the style and fit of our products.

March 26, 2021

Incredible statement

Love Love The look & the warmth it provides!

March 22, 2021

Better sweater

I wish it was a bit longer in the body. Other than that I really like it.

March 22, 2021

Warmest top Ive ever owned!

My husband bought this for me as Im always cold. I absolutely love it. It super warm, toasty and fits perfectly, sleeves especially.

March 17, 2021

The best ever

Wanted this forever and finally caved. I LOVE this. I hope we get a few more cool days before the warm weather settles in

March 13, 2021

Super warm

These better sweaters are perfect. I want every color. Lol. They are very comfortable, casual, nice, warm and the quality is amazing.

March 10, 2021

Best half zip

Quality cozy warm slim fit half zip great out of doors activity piece for nordic skiing, snow shoeing, hiking

March 7, 2021

Excellent Quality!

The sweater is so warm and comfortable, thank you for the excellent quality and good customer service. I am going to buy different colors for me and my sister.

March 6, 2021

Very comfortable

So comfortable and warm!

March 6, 2021

Warm and comfy

Bought this for my wife. She loves it. Perfect fit and the quality is there as always.

March 4, 2021

Love this

This is definitely a slim fitting top. But I love the quality and color.

February 25, 2021

Very warm

I like that it is warm and also dressy

February 25, 2021

Really warm and cozy

Love this sweater!

February 25, 2021

Better sweater is true to its name

I was introduce to Better Sweater fleece by my daughter-in-law. She is a big fan & now I understand why. Very flattering, but would recommend going up in size if you desire a less fitted look. The colors have been exactly as described. Washes well. I do hang mine to dry after just a 5 minutes in the dryer. Plan to purchase other colors!

February 21, 2021

Great sweater

very warm, slightly baggier fit in some areas but fits in the right places so that it's cozy and still fitted. I can wear it under a jacket in colder NYC weather and feel warm.

February 16, 2021

Nice and warm

I have four Better Sweaters. All size large. Two purchased last year and two purchased this year. The two purchased this year are noticeably larger than the two purchased last year. I still wear all of them but two are larger then the other two.

February 10, 2021

My new favorite!

I love this sweater inside and out!

February 8, 2021

Runs small

I like the product. Warm and soft on the inside. I am all over the place in terms of sizes in Patagonia gear. My jackets are size small, my cashmere sweater is M and I got a large in this. I wanted length and movement in the piece so I went with the bigger size. The small and medium felt very short in the length.

February 7, 2021

Great layer

Perfect as an over layer for a 25 degree or less day

February 7, 2021

SUPER COMFY AND SO WARM!!!

Great fit!! And their customer service is absolutely amazing... I read the reviews and most said it ran on the small size so I ordered an XXL. It was too big so I started the exchange process for an XL instead. It was SO convenient and easy!!! I will be ordering directly from them again!!! Thank you so much Patagonia! You have an awesome team!!!

February 5, 2021

Warm and comfy

I bought two of these sweaters in different colors. I initially ordered a Medium as this is my typical size in tops, however it was too tight in the bust. The Large fits much better although the sleeves are a tiny bit too long. I just roll them once. Super warm and comfy sweater. I can wear this with a vest outside in 20-30 degrees and still feel v... Read Moreery warm.

February 2, 2021

Comfy yet sophisticated

Im very pleased with this fleece. As a tall female, I do wish it was offered in a tall size, but the sleeve length is fine. This is slightly fitted. I would say it runs on the brink of true to size and small. Im usually between a small and medium and the medium fit like a glove. If you prefer a looser fit, size up. I love that I can dress this up o... Read Morer down.

January 31, 2021

Super cozy and warm

I love this Better Sweater!!! I love the way it feels. Before ordering I read the reviews and saw that a lot of customers said it ran small so I ordered an XXL. I had to return it for an XL and I absolutely love the fit!! The return/exchange was so effortless. And I received my new size within a couple of weeks. Thank you Patagonia! I will be purch... Read Moreasing possibly the better sweater jacket with full zip at a later date. This purchase was the 3/4 zip pullover. I am 54 and weigh 200 lb and losing. I Love it!!!

January 28, 2021

Classic style and super warm.

Theres something about a grey quarter zip better sweater that screams classic. I am so happy about the fit. I have the full zip and it fit snugly, the quarter zip is perfect. Perfect fit on the shoulders, arms, and waist. Then just the right amount of extra space in the body. Its so warm. I love it for casual wear and hiking in colder weather.

January 26, 2021

Great Fit

Small would have been tighter with no room for layering. Medium gave just enough room for comfort and layering possibilities. Incredible quality and feel.

January 24, 2021

super comfortable

warm, comfortable and stylish sweater...looks great with Patagonia tights. I generally wear a small but sized up to medium for more wiggle room. I love the green concept of Patagonia and am happy to support the company. my only criticism of this sweater is it tends to pill after a while. I machine wash it inside out and hang to dry.

January 23, 2021

My second

This is my second one. The first pulled terribly. I loved the fit and the feel so much I finally bought another. 58 140 lbs. I am typically a medium in most clothes but a large in this.?

January 22, 2021

Style with warmth

I am writing review because other reviews with useful information help me purchase right item and size. I am 110-113lbs 53and I purchased this in XS for my friend and she is same size like me. It fits just right for her. FIY: this sweater is slim fit compared to other patagonia products. However, she can still wear thin and tight layer under this s... Read Moreweater. This is very warm, cozy, stylish w/ comfort. She loves it!

January 21, 2021

Great sweater!

I purchased this sweater for my daughter as she loves to go hiking in the winter. She tells me the sweater is supper warm and it looks great on her. Patagonia is such a great company that is serious about sustainability, so I am very happy with my purchase.

January 21, 2021

Warm

Hard to put my arms in holes after slipping over my head. Also hard to get off

January 20, 2021

Slim Fit

My daughter actually purchased a size Medium, and it ran very small, it is slim fit. I wear this to play tennis in and thought I should reorder it in a bigger size. Not sure a large would be sufficient, so I ordered an XL. I did not want to exchange it again. The XL is just fine, it is warm and plenty of room to play tennis in. I am 5.4 athletic bu... Read Moreild and 140 lbs. I know I never wear an extra large, but this is slim fit. I love the fabric and I would buy another one. It's a great sweater/jacket for the outdoors. Your customer service is amazing, best customer service I have every experienced. Thank you.

January 18, 2021

Warm and stylish.

Just love the look, feel and its well made. I have several different styles and bought my daughter one for Christmas. She loves hers also.

January 18, 2021

Love this

I really love this quarter zip!! Ive had my eye on it for a while and got it for Christmas. I originally thought I needed a large, but got it and realized I needed to size up since it was a little tight. With that being said I really love the quarter zip. Its one of my favorite jackets.

January 17, 2021

Perfect for everyday

I love this pullover - its perfect for everyday and keeps me warm weather out for a walk, a run at the beach or out with friends.

January 17, 2021

Snug & warm

Fits snug & perfect for everyday casual wear. The item is a little short in length. But the overall fit & warmth is great.

January 17, 2021

Warm and cozy

Really happy with this purchase. Warm and soft. Exactly what I was looking for. Patagonia never disappoints!

January 17, 2021

Comfy

Comfy. I find the style fits on the small side so I went with large size. I like a little room.

January 16, 2021

Really Soft

Im 56 and weigh around 120-125. Normally Im a small, but an XS fits just fine sleeves and everything. Very happy with purchase even though color isnt quite as vibrant as picture.

January 14, 2021

Wide shoulders

I originally ordered a medium but once I tried it on I noticed my shoulders got a little wide from rock climbing. It is very true to size, extremely comfortable and warm (upstate New Yorker in the middle of winter :)).

January 9, 2021

Very nice material and it keeps you warm in the winter

Love these better sweaters.

January 8, 2021

Have to stop myself from wearing all day everyday

So soft, so warm - I can easily layer underneath it for colder days. But if you prefer wearing it on your own, I suggest going with your regular size in tops, I would have been a small for a snug fit.

January 8, 2021

Winter fleece

I purchased this fleece for winter hiking in the sierras. The fit sizing is generous. As a tall woman, I was thrilled that the sleeves were long enough to cover my wrists and the fit allows for layering. I would recommend this fleece!

January 7, 2021

Wife Likes It

Wife likes the material. She is fairly tall and has longer arms. The XL has a good length sleeve for a 5'-11" woman. Only dislike is no pockets.

January 7, 2021

Beautiful Sweater for short people

I'm 5'10" about 150 lbs and have long limbs. This sweater fits perfectly on my body (form fitting) but it is pretty short (sleeves and entire body length). I also have a shorter friend who purchased a medium and it was short on her. An inch or two needs to be added to the length and sleeves (or I wish there was a "long" opt... Read Moreion). I know I could have purchased a larger size but I wanted something form fitting (with the sleeves rolled up it's really nice so I'll be keeping this sweater). I also have something else in large and it's long enough but baggy on me. Otherwise this sweater is great for when I climb, hike, etc. It's quite warm and you get kind of sweaty sometimes but it's not extremely hot. The material is very sturdy as well and so far after multiple hard uses nothing is out of place. I also purchased the sweater in "Century Pink" which is actually a burnt orange/red color that I adore. I knew what I was getting myself into with the sizing and went with the small anyway because the length wasn't that bad on the torso and I could just roll up the sleeves... This will probably prevent me from purchasing items in the future because I want something that is both form fitting and long enough.

January 7, 2021

My most comfortable sweater/sweatshirt

I have the 1/4 zip better sweater in many colors. I typically take an XS in other clothing. This sweater is slightly tapered and I like a little more roominess in this style so I bought an S and I am very happy with it. It is not only comfortable, it is warm and soft.

January 7, 2021

Cozy

I love the better sweater. I have several. This version would be better if it had pockets as my other versions have, side or marsupia! It does pile, so wash carefully. All and all, I wear daily in the winter, layering under my jackets. Keep new colors coming please.

January 6, 2021

Great

Was a great looking Sweater

January 6, 2021

Comfy

Good

January 2, 2021

This is so perfect! Great quality!

100% satisfied! You won't regret making a purchase from this website!

January 1, 2021

Comfy and versatile

Love the material and overall look for this piece. Very versatile, can be worn casually and also performs well for light outdoor activities such as hiking and camping.

December 31, 2020

Wonderful quality

I love the Better Sweaters. I am typically a size small in most things but took this in a size medium. I find it fits well but is just a bit slimmer than I would normally prefer. It looks nice, not too small just I often prefer some extra room. So size up if you want something with a bit more wiggle room! I own many different versions of the Better... Read More Sweater and am so glad I found this wonderful color. It is beautiful.

December 30, 2020

The Best

I have had many better sweaters over the past 15 years so I am very comfortable writing a review. They are simply the best Sweater you can buy. They are warm, comfortable and stylish. Patagonia is the best

December 30, 2020

Amazing!

I absolutely love this sweater! I bought a size up just in case and Im glad I did because it smaller than I expected, however it fits perfectly!!!

December 29, 2020

Very warm!

Breathable but comfy warm!

December 27, 2020

Super soft

This is so warm and soft. Absolutely love it and I just ordered 1 for daughter.

December 27, 2020

Dont Recommend

This is the first Patagonia product Ive been unhappy with. This sweater runs at least a size small. I am 51 and have a big chest. The Large was tight and the arms are astronomically long. They dont look right rolled up because the inside material is different than the outside. Sad because this was a Christmas gift but will be returning.

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out for you with our Better Sweater 1/4-Zip. Please note that for the future, you're welcome to get in touch with our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can ensure you're getting the perfect fit for you. We have access to measurements on each size for each item so don't be afraid to use us as a resource.

December 22, 2020

Super Warm

5'3" 115 lbs. and debated between XS and S. I would recommend XS if you're planning to wear only a tank top underneath and S if layering over a thermal or long-sleeved shirt. I settled on the XS for a more fitted look.

December 19, 2020

Love this!

This is my first time buying anything from Patagonia and I definitely am happy with this sweater! Nice and warm and has a nice fit. I am 54, 130lbs and have an athletic build. Sometimes I wear a small and other times a medium depending on the brand, so I opted for a medium because I heard they run a little tight in the shoulder/arm area. Medium fit... Read Mores nicely; it is a little loose but I feel the small would have been too tight. Also love the blue color! Will be buying in other colors too!

December 17, 2020

Nice and warm~

I was looking for something to wear during work and at home. We have to keep windows open at work due to covid, and I live in VT...so, this pull-over is nice and cozy warm. Initially, I read the reviews and ordered up from a small to a medium. It was too big. Sent the medium back and got a small. Much better fit. So, go with the size you usually we... Read Morear is my recommendation.

December 13, 2020

Great weight and warmth

This forever jacket is just the right weight and level of warmth to wear alone or under a warmer jacket.

December 11, 2020

Love this!

I love this sweater; it fits great and feels like it is very good quality. I am pleasantly surprised! I was not sure what size to buy, so I ordered an extra small and it fits great. I am 5'3" and 120 pounds for example.

December 11, 2020

Love it for a little while

I loved this jacket, when I first bought it. It's warm, fits great, and then comes the pilling. I have not washed this jacket once, and only worn it a handful of times and it's balled up like crazy. Usually Patagonia is my go too, I don't mind paying a little extra for a quality product, however this one isn't worth it unless yo... Read Moreu want to be picking balls off your sweater all day long. I reached out to express this concerned and I was told it was just part of owning a Better Sweater. Maybe it's unrealistic of me, but a jacket worn a handful of times and never washed, shouldn't look like you've owned it for years.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Hi Audrey, we're sorry to hear about the pilling issue you've experienced. It's true that the Better Sweater is prone to pilling. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again.  Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a warranty returns evaluation under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 11, 2020

Nice quality sweater with a sleeve pocket

Im all about a well-placed pocket, and the one on the sleeve is perfect for what I need to carry around each day. I usually wear medium sized tops, but I wanted a slightly oversized sweater. So I bought one size up to achieve that look.

December 4, 2020

Warm and comfortable

I have purchased several better sweaters. I love then both for casual wear and for work. We are architects and work both in the office and on job sites. These are very versatile and I love it!

November 24, 2020

Warm

Love how warm it keeps me!!

November 21, 2020

Warm and comfortable. Dont size up

Im a 56 140lb busty woman and got a size small that fits perfectly in shoulders, length of sleeves and hugs the body very nicely. Its really warm and comfortable. I tried medium but it was too big in shoulders and sleeves. It runs true to size so if you like a regular fit, dont size up.

November 16, 2020

Very Comfortable

This was a gift for a girlfriend of mine. She loves it and it fits here well. She has said on numerous occasions that it is very comfortable to wear compared to other brands.

November 12, 2020

Maintains warm without overheating

I wear this for riding horses and while you start out cold you get heated very quickly. I was amazed that I did not sweat in this. It maintained a comfortable temperature. It's a roomy fit and very cozy. Colour selection is great.

November 11, 2020

Love it!

This is a great sweater for every day wear, outdoor activities as well as work! It's definitely on the slim side. I am 5'6" but with fairly petite/narrow shoulders and it's a perfect fit. If you have wider shoulders, best to size up - but the Medium is quite a bit bigger.

November 10, 2020

Cozy

Love the color of it, cozy!

November 9, 2020

Very cozy, but ran small for me!

Love the feel and coziness of this sweater! I read some reviews and decided to size up and Im so glad I did! Im petite, 125 lb, athletic build with a small bust and normally wear a small, but theres no way I would have fit comfortably into a small! Sooooo glad I got a medium! It fits just perfectly.

November 9, 2020

So Warm - Perfect Layering Item

I have been hesitant to purchase this item despite the recommendations because of the price point. However, it is well worth the money and one of the better pieces I have invested in upon moving to Alaska. It's shorter than I would normally prefer, the cut isn't all that flattering, but that is something that can be sacrificed for the sak... Read Moree of insulation. This keeps me TOASTY! Very pleased with it.

November 8, 2020

Better sweater

I like your better sweater quarter zip, I do wish that it didnt run so small. Im a size 6 and needed to buy a large. I like Patagonias quality and the length of this item. I hope that youll bring back the synchilla fleece of old, it was lightweight, soft, warm and durable. Customer of 30years.

November 7, 2020

It breathes!

My last patagonia fleece pull over was perhaps 25 years old. This new one seems to breathe so I can leave it on during a hike and not sweat so much that my t shirt is drenched. The color is great too.

November 1, 2020

Love!

I cannot say enough good things about the better sweater. I love both of mine and wear them all the time! They are cozy and durable. I bought mine a little big so I could layer. Ive bought one for everyone in my family and they all love them too.

September 25, 2020

First Patagonia Purchase - So Far So Happy!

I knew that if I was going to invest in this I had to read the reviews beforehand. The reviews were very promising! Choosing the size was a bit of a challenge. I usually wear a M-L, size 8-10 for tops and jackets but it really depends on the material and fit. After reading many reviews some people were saying to size up for a looser fit. I was co... Read Morentemplating whether I should order the L or XL. I've ordered L's before but never XL but I went for it! So tip for anyone out there that usually wears a M-L, size 8-10, doesn't have a big chest area, plans to wear a light layer underneath, and wants a loose fit - go for the L! it should fit you just fine. After this arrived in the mail and after trying it on, the XL is def looser fit honestly I could've gone with the L. I can prob wear a lot of layers with the XL. It's not a boxy fit for me. I just don't really want to go through the hassle of returning it and waiting. Especially because I have an upcoming trip and I was really looking forward to bringing/wearing this. Sooo I think I'll just stick with this size and wear it bit loose/oversize. I wasn't looking for a tight fit anyway. And I'll probably order more from Patagonia in the future so now I'll know to go for an L. Happy with my purchase!

September 17, 2020

Love the color and the fit!

I love the color of this as well as the 1/4 zip is easy to get on and off. Warm, comfy and looks great!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches